أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 2044

التقارير الميدانية حول سوريا والمعارضة

أندرو جيه. تابلر, جيفري وايت, و سايمون هندرسون

متاح أيضاً في English

12 آذار/مارس 2013


في 7 آذار/مارس، 2013، خاطب أندرو جيه. تابلر، جيفري وايت، وسايمون هندرسون منتدى سياسي في معهد واشنطن لمناقشة رحلاتهم الأخيرة إلى لبنان وتركيا والأردن وإسرائيل والخليج الفارسي. والسيد تابلر هو زميل أقدم في المعهد ومؤلف كتاب "في عرين الأسد: رواية شاهد عيان من معركة واشنطن مع سوريا". والسيد وايت هو زميل للشؤون الدفاعية في المعهد وضابط كبير سابق لشؤون الاستخبارات الدفاعية. والسيد هندرسون هو زميل بيكر ومدير برنامج الخليج وسياسة الطاقة في المعهد. وفيما يلي ملخص المقررة لملاحظاتهم.

 

أندرو جيه. تابلر

تشعر المعارضة السورية والدول المجاورة بالارتباك جراء تأكيد واشنطن المستمر بأن الصراع سوف يصحح نفسه من الداخل، في حين أن جميع المؤشرات توضح انتقال العنف على نطاق واسع عبر أنحاء المنطقة. وقد رأينا في جميع الدول التي زرناها ضمن جولة طاقم معهد واشنطن الأخيرة أن خطر هذا التصعيد آخذ في التزايد.

إن الأحداث في لبنان تنتشر عبر الحدود رغم سياسة الحكومة القائمة على الانفصال عن الصراع. ويمثل وادي البقاع الشمالي أهمية استراتيجية خاصة لأنه يربط مناطق واقعة تحت سيطرة «حزب الله» بمعقل العلويين الخاضع لسيطرة النظام في سوريا.

وفي تركيا، تراقب السلطات الحدود بصرامة، كما تزايدت بشكل كبير أعداد السوريين النازحين الذين ينتظرون على الجانب الآخر من الحدود. يُشار إلى أن المساعدات لا تصل إلى هذه الأجزاء من سوريا، مما يجعل الوضع مشكلة إنسانية ومصدراً لعدم الاستقرار. كما أن تركيا قلقة بشأن التطورات في المناطق الكردية السورية.

وفي إسرائيل، يدرس المسؤولون احتمالية ظهور دولة فاشلة في الناحية المقابلة لمرتفعات الجولان. بيد أن مصدر قلقهم الرئيسي يكمن في احتمالية نقل الأسلحة الاستراتيجية للنظام، سواء عن قصد (إلى «حزب الله») أو عن غير قصد (إلى الجهاديين).

ويمثل الأردن الصورة الأكثر تعقيداً. فخلال الستين يوماً الأخيرة فقط، تدفق 100,000 لاجئ عبر الحدود، وأصبح معسكر الزعتري للاجئين خارج عمّان سادس أكبر مدينة في المملكة. كما أن قوات النظام السوري تغتال علانية الأفراد الذين يحاولون الفرار عبر الحدود، لذا فإن القوات المسلحة الأردنية كانت ترد على إطلاق النار رويداً رويداً، مما عرضها لبعض الخسائر أثناء تلك العملية.

وفي سوريا، تحول الثوار بشكل ملحوظ وأصبحوا أكثر ميلاً للسلفية والجهادية منذ تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر، كما زاد الغضب ضد الولايات المتحدة في ظل تقارير عن رفض البيت الأبيض خطط تزويدهم بالأسلحة. وربما يكون الأمر الأكثر إزعاجاً هو النمو السريع لـ "جبهة النصرة" التي تدور في فلك تنظيم «القاعدة»، والتي أصبحت تأتي في طليعة جماعات المعارضة المسلحة.

وفي غضون ذلك، لا تزال المعارضة الخارجية تفتقر إلى الفاعلية. ورغم الآمال المعقودة على "الائتلاف الوطني لقوى الثورة والمعارضة السورية"، إلا أنه فشل إلى درجة كبيرة في إنجاز هدفه، حيث إن "ممثليه المحليين" غير المنتخبين ليسوا على اتصال بالثوار المسلحين داخل سوريا. وسوف تعتمد فاعلية الائتلاف من الآن فصاعداً على المحفزات الخارجية للعمل مع المعارضة الداخلية على تطوير كيان سياسي عقب رحيل الأسد.

ومن الصعب أن نحدد كيف أن إعلان الولايات المتحدة عن الدعم الغذائي والطبي للمعارضة المسلحة سوف يساعد على إسقاط النظام. فالمساعدات التي يتم توزيعها من خلال "الائتلاف الوطني لقوى الثورة والمعارضة السورية" قد لا تصل إلى المقاتلين على الأرض. ولا بد من القيام بالمزيد من الأعمال القوية للتأثير على الجماعات المسلحة. ولا يزال هناك وقت لتقديم مساعدات أمريكية قتالية وغير قتالية مباشرة إلى الثوار -- وكلما يحدث هذا بصورة أسرع زادت فرص واشنطن في احتواء الأزمة وصياغة مستقبل أفضل للشعب السوري.

 

جيفري وايت

أبرزت رحلة طاقم المعهد إلى المنطقة جوانب عديدة حول الوضع العسكري في سوريا. أولاً، إن تحديد عدد أفراد "الجيش السوري الحر" والفصائل المسلحة الأخرى لا يزال صعب التحقيق -- ويواصل القادة والمحللون العسكريون خلافاتهم بشأن حجم المعارضة وتكوينها وهيكل قيادتها وترسانتها من الأسلحة.

ثانياً، تمثل القدرة والرغبة في القتال المصادر الرئيسية للشرعية والقوة السياسية بين صفوف المعارضة. وقد أدى هذا الاتجاه إلى تهميش النشطاء السياسيين لكنه كان في صالح الجماعات الإسلامية. فتلك الجماعات توصف بأنها متماسكة ومنضبطة ولديها قيادة فعالة وروح قتالية عالية، وهي أمور تفتقر إليها جميعاً الوحدات العلمانية. وتُوصف "جبهة النصرة" بصورة خاصة على أنها تتمتع بمهنية عالية، وهي نشطة حالياً في ثمانية من محافظات سوريا.

ثالثاً، يحول نقص الأسلحة بين صفوف وحدات الثوار دون قدرتهم على القيام بالعمليات والاستمرار فيها. فاللوجستيات وأعمال التخطيط تخضع للتفاوض بدلاً من التنظيم، كما أن الجماعات تتبادل الذخيرة والأسلحة وتتساوم حول نسبة الأسلحة من ترسانتها التي سيتم استخدامها في الهجوم على قواعد النظام. ولا تلوح في الأفق مؤشرات واضحة على أن "المجلس العسكري الأعلى" يمارس أي قيادة على الأرض.

رابعاً، أعرب الأفراد عن كراهيتهم للمجتمع الدولي بشكل عام والولايات المتحدة بصفة خاصة. كما تنتشر نظريات المؤامرة، بما في ذلك فكرة أن واشنطن وإسرائيل وإيران يتعاونون بشكل ما من أجل سحق الثورة. وفي الوقت ذاته، يرى العديد من السوريين أن "جبهة النصرة" هي بطل الثورة بسبب استعدادها للقتال وتكبد الخسائر؛ ولا يفهمون سبب تسمية الولايات المتحدة لها كجماعة إرهابية.

خامساً، ينتقل الصراع إلى جيران سوريا. فقد أصبحت الحدود الأردنية منطقة حرب -- حيث يقاتل "الجيش السوري الحر" قوات النظام للسيطرة على مختلف المعابر، كما يقع اللاجئون الفارون ضحية لنيران المعارك. وفي غضون ذلك، ترى إسرائيل أن الأمن في الجولان يتفكك مع تركيز النظام لقواته في أماكن أخرى. ورغم أن قوات "جيش الدفاع الإسرائيلي" تمتلك خبرات هائلة في منع تسلل الإرهابيين، إلا أن مشكلة أكبر قد تنشأ مع بدء المعركة النهائية على دمشق -- وتحديداً تدفق أعداد كبيرة من اللاجئين إلى الجولان.

وأخيراً، يظل النظام محافظاً على تماسكه، ويرجع ذلك في المقام الأول إلى شحنات الأسلحة التي تصل إليه من إيران و «حزب الله». كما أنه شكّل أعداداً غفيرة من القوات غير النظامية والإضافية ويعمل على نقل قدراته العملياتية إليها. ورغم ذلك، أشارت حسابات أحد المحللين الدارسين لبيانات جنائز جنود النظام بأن متوسط القتلى في صفوف هذه القوات يبلغ أربعين شخصاً في اليوم، كما أن هناك ضِعفاً أو ثلاثة أضعاف هذا العدد من الجرحى الغير قادرين على العودة إلى الخدمة. وإيجازاً، يستنفد النظام قدراته ببطء، بينما يعمل الثوار، كالأمواج العارمة، على إضعاف سيطرته على المناطق الشاسعة شيئاً فشيئاً.

 

سايمون هندرسون

تجمع الأزمة السورية بين ثلاث مواضيع ذات أهمية بالغة لـ "مجلس التعاون الخليجي" وهي: صعود الإسلام السياسي، ومعاناة الإخوة العرب، وإيران. وتتألم دول "مجلس التعاون الخليجي"، كونها دولاً عربية، جراء التقارير التصويرية المفجعة حول معاناة السوريين. وباعتبارها دولاً خليجية، فإنها تخشى من نفوذ إيران وترى الإطاحة ببشار الأسد على أنها انتكاسة استراتيجية محتملة لطهران.

ورغم تعاطفها المشترك مع الثوار، إلا أن دول "مجلس التعاون الخليجي" تتنافس أيضاً مع بعضها البعض من أجل الزعامة الإقليمية، وفي هذا الصدد أصبحت سوريا ساحة كبرى للمنافسات السياسية. ويشار هنا إلى أن المملكة العربية السعودية وقطر هما من الدول المنافسة الفاعلة بصفة خاصة، كما أن غريزتهما التنافسية قد تكون أقوى من إحساسهما بالمسؤولية عن النتيجة. فعلى سبيل المثال، لا يوجد لدى الدولتين نفس درجة التردد التي لدى الغرب بشأن تزويد الثوار في سوريا بالأسلحة، ومن المرجح أنهما تزودان الجماعات الجهادية بالأسلحة.

وفي الوقت ذاته، فإن تأثير إيران يعمل وإن جزئياً على الأقل على الحد من استعداد الدوحة للعمل داخل سوريا. إذ يتعين على قطر، أكثر من أي دولة أخرى من دول "مجلس التعاون الخليجي"، أن تحافظ على درجة من علاقات العمل مع طهران. كما أن معظم ثروة البلاد يأتي من خزان الغاز الطبيعي في "حقل الشمال" البحري، الملاصق لحقل "بارس الجنوبي الإيراني". إن مشاركة هذا الخزان الحيوي تعني أن استعداد قطر لإثارة حفيظة إيران هو أقل بكثير من استعداد المملكة العربية السعودية أو الإمارات العربية المتحدة.

وعند سؤال العديد من المسؤولين في دول "مجلس التعاون الخليجي" عن الخلافات في وجهات نظرهم حول كيفية معالجة القضية السورية، أشاروا إلى غياب القيادة الأمريكية، وعزم دولهم على القيام بشيء ما لأن واشنطن لا تفعل ما يكفي. ومن ثم فإن غياب عمل أمريكي مؤثر والمنافسات السياسية في الخليج قد تصبح أكثر إثارة للخلاف والنزاع. وعندما يسقط الأسد، قد تكون الفجوات قد بلغت إلى درجة من الاتساع بحيث لا تتيح لدول "مجلس التعاون الخليجي" الاستمرار في التوحد ضد إيران أو تبقى حليفاً فعالاً للولايات المتحدة.

 

أعدت هذا الملخص المقررة كاتي كيرالي.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 2044

Field Reports on Syria and the Opposition

Andrew J. Tabler, Jeffrey White, and Simon Henderson

Also available in العربية

March 12, 2013


On March 7, 2013, Andrew J. Tabler, Jeffrey White, and Simon Henderson addressed a Policy Forum at The Washington Institute to discuss their recent trips to Lebanon, Turkey, Jordan, Israel, and the Persian Gulf. Mr. Tabler is a senior fellow at the Institute and author of In the Lion's Den: An Eyewitness Account of Washington's Battle with Syria. Mr. White is a defense fellow at the Institute and a former senior defense intelligence officer. Mr. Henderson is the Baker fellow and director of the Gulf and Energy Policy Program at the Institute. The following is a rapporteur's summary of their remarks.

ANDREW J. TABLER

The Syrian opposition and neighboring states are baffled by Washington's continuing assertion that the conflict will cauterize itself from within, when every indication points to broad regional spillover. In each of the countries visited on the recent Washington Institute staff trip, the risk of such escalation is growing.

In Lebanon, events are spilling over the border despite the government's policy of disassociation from the conflict. The northern Beqa Valley is particularly strategic because it connects areas under Hezbollah's control to the regime-held Alawite heartland in Syria.

In Turkey, authorities are strictly controlling the border, and the number of internally displaced Syrians waiting on the other side has increased dramatically. Aid is not reaching these parts of Syria, making the situation both a humanitarian problem and a source of instability. Turkey is also worried about developments in the Syrian Kurdish areas.

In Israel, officials are contemplating the likelihood of a failed state across the Golan Heights. Their main concern, however, is potential transfer of the regime's strategic weapons, whether purposeful (to Hezbollah) or accidental (to jihadists).

Jordan presents the most complicated picture. In the past sixty days alone, 100,000 refugees have streamed across the border, and the Zaatari refugee camp outside Amman has become the kingdom's sixth-largest city. Syrian regime forces openly murder individuals who try to flee across the border, so Jordan's armed forces have been quietly responding, sustaining a number of casualties in the process.

Within Syria, the rebels have shifted markedly toward Salafism and jihadism since November, and anger against the United States has increased amid reports of the White House vetoing plans to send them arms. Perhaps most disturbing is the rapid growth of al-Qaeda affiliate Jabhat al-Nusra, which has moved to the vanguard of the armed opposition.

Meanwhile, the external opposition continues to be ineffectual. Despite the hopes pinned to the National Coalition of Syrian Revolutionary and Opposition Forces (SOC), the body has largely failed to fulfill its purpose, with unelected "local representatives" who remain out of touch with the armed rebels inside Syria. Going forward, the SOC's effectiveness will depend on external incentives to work with the internal opposition on developing a political entity post-Assad.

It is difficult to see how the U.S. announcement of food and medical support for the armed opposition will help take down the regime. For one thing, aid distributed through the SOC may not reach fighters on the ground. More assertive action is needed to cultivate influence with armed groups. There is still time to provide lethal and nonlethal U.S. assistance directly to the rebels -- the sooner this happens, the better Washington's chances of containing the crisis and shaping a better future for the Syrian people.

JEFFREY WHITE

The Institute staff trip to the region highlighted several aspects of the military situation in Syria. First, quantifying the Free Syrian Army and other armed factions remains elusive -- military leaders and analysts continue to disagree about the opposition's size, makeup, command structure, and arsenal.

Second, ability and willingness to fight are the main sources of political legitimacy and power among the opposition. This trend has marginalized political activists and advantaged Islamist groups. The latter are described as having cohesion, discipline, effective leadership, and high combat spirit, all of which the secular units tend to lack. Jabhat al-Nusra in particular was described as highly professional, and the group is now active in eight of Syria's provinces.

Third, weapons shortages among rebel units are interfering with their ability to conduct and sustain operations. Logistics and planning are negotiated rather than organized; groups trade ammunition and weapons and bargain over what percentage of their arsenal will be used in attacking a regime base. There is no visible indication that the Supreme Military Council exercises any command on the ground.

Fourth, individuals expressed universal antipathy toward the international community and the United States specifically. Conspiracy theories are rampant, including the notion that Washington, Israel, and Iran are somehow cooperating to quash the rebellion. At the same time, many Syrians see Jabhat al-Nusra as the revolution's heroes because of their willingness to fight and take casualties; they do not understand why the United States has designated it as a terrorist group.

Fifth, the conflict is spilling over to Syria's neighbors. The Jordanian border is a war zone -- the Free Syrian Army is fighting regime forces for control of various crossings, and fleeing refugees are caught in the crossfire. Meanwhile, Israel sees security in the Golan disintegrating as the regime focuses its forces elsewhere. Although the Israel Defense Forces have considerable experience in preventing terrorist infiltration, a bigger problem could emerge as the final battle for Damascus begins -- namely, a large flow of refugees into the Golan.

Finally, the regime remains cohesive primarily due to arms shipments from Iran and Hezbollah. It has also formed large numbers of irregular and auxiliary forces and is transferring operational abilities to them. Nevertheless, one analyst studying funeral data for regime soldiers calculated that an average of forty are killed per day, with two to three times that number wounded and unable to return to duty. In short, the regime is slowly exhausting itself, while the rebels, like rising water, are gradually shrinking its islands of control.

SIMON HENDERSON

The Syrian crisis combines three issues of primary importance to the Gulf Cooperation Council: the rise of political Islam, the suffering of fellow Arabs, and Iran. As Arab states, the GCC countries are anguished by the graphic reports of suffering in Syria. And as Gulf states, they fear Iran's influence and see Bashar al-Assad's ouster as a likely strategic setback for Tehran.

Despite their shared sympathy with the rebels, however, GCC countries also compete closely with each other for regional primacy, and Syria has become a major arena for their political rivalries. Saudi Arabia and Qatar are particularly active rivals, and their competitive instincts may be stronger than their sense of responsibility for the outcome. For example, in supplying weapons to rebels in Syria, both countries have fewer scruples than the West and are likely arming jihadist groups.

At the same time, Iran's shadow at least partially constrains Doha's willingness to act in Syria. More than any other GCC state, Qatar has to maintain some degree of working relations with Tehran. Much of the country's wealth comes from the offshore North Field natural gas reservoir, which is contiguous with Iran's South Pars field. Sharing this essential reservoir means that Qatar's willingness to poke Iran in the eye is much less than that of Saudi Arabia or the United Arab Emirates.

Asked about differences in their views on how to handle Syria, many GCC officials pointed to a lack of U.S. leadership, indicating that their countries are determined to do something because Washington is not doing enough. Therefore, in the absence of significant U.S. action, political rivalries in the Gulf may grow more contentious. By the time Assad falls, the gaps may be so wide that GCC states cease to be united against Iran or effective allies of the United States.

This rapporteur's summary was prepared by Katie Kiraly.