أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

صفحات رأي ومقالات

الوجود الموسّع في سوريا قد ينطوي على مخاطر كبيرة بالنسبة لروسيا

مايكل سينغ و جيفري وايت

متاح أيضاً في English

"وول ستريت جورنال"

8 أيلول/سبتمبر 2015


في تموز/ يوليو 1972، أمر الرئيس المصري أنور السادات القوات السوفياتية بالانسحاب من مصر، مشيراً بذلك إلى نهاية تدخل موسكو العسكري الخطير في المنطقة. والآن، وبعد مرور 43 عاماً، تعود القوات الروسية [إلى الشرق الأوسط].

وقد أفادت صحيفة «نيويورك تايمز»، أنه "وفقاً لمحللي الاستخبارات الأمريكيين، أرسلت روسيا فريقاً عسكرياً متقدّماً إلى سوريا ونقلت وحدات سكنية جاهزة لمئات من الناس إلى مطارٍ بالقرب من اللاذقية". وتضيف الـ «تايمز» أن "روسيا سلّمت أيضاً محطةً محمولة لمراقبة الحركة الجوية إلى المطار وقدّمت طلبات للتحليق العسكري حتى شهر أيلول/سبتمبر". وتأتي هذه التقارير في أعقاب ادعاءات مماثلة في الأسابيع الأخيرة، من بينها تقارير عن أسلحة جديدة، وحتى قوات قتالية. وقد قال مسؤولون عسكريون أمريكيون يوم الثلاثاء أنّ موسكو نقلت طاقماً جديداً من العسكريين بالإضافة إلى طائرات ومعدات جديدة إلى سوريا في الأيام الأخيرة.

إن انخراط موسكو المكثف في النزاع في سوريا ليس بالأمر الجديد. فالروابط الروسية العسكرية مع نظام الأسد تعود لعدة سنوات مضت، قام خلالها الاتحاد السوفياتي، ثم روسيا، بتشغيل قاعدةً بحرية في طرطوس لفترة طويلة، كما زوّدت موسكو الأسد بما وصفه الرئيس الروسي فلاديمير بوتين مؤخراً بكميات "كبيرة" من المعدات العسكرية والتدريب العسكري اللازم لمتابعة الحرب الأهلية في البلاد.

كذلك، تضطلع موسكو بدورٍ دبلوماسي بارز في النزاع السوري، فهي تحمي نظام الأسد من الضغوط التي تُمارس عليه عبر استعمال حقّ النقض ("الفيتو") ضد عددٍ من قرارات مجلس الأمن الدولي بشأن الصراع. وفي الآونة الأخيرة، أصبحت موسكو همزة وصلٍ في النشاط الدبلوماسي الرامي إلى إنهاء القتال، وقد استضافت أيضاً محفلاً من المسؤولين الغربيين والشرق أوسطيين بمن فيهم كل من وزير الخارجية الأمريكي جون كيري والجنرال الإيراني قاسم سليماني، فضلاً عن جولتين من المباحثات المتعددة الأطراف.

ويبدو أن الهدف المباشر للسياسة الروسية واضحاً وهو: حماية نظام الأسد، الذي كان على مدى عقودٍ حليفاً لموسكو، وأصبح في السنوات الأخيرة واحداً من آخر القنوات المتبقية لروسيا [لممارسة نفوذها] في الشرق الأوسط. وقد انتقد بوتين النظام السوري، واعترف بأنّ هناك حاجة إلى "عملية تغيير سياسي"، لكنّه أصرّ على رفض سحب دعمه للأسد أو الإشارة إلى أنه يجب أن يتم استبداله كجزء من أي عملية انتقال سياسي. وتسمح الأسلحة والذخائر وقطع الغيار الروسية لآلة الحرب الأسدية بالاستمرار في صبّ نار حممها.

وتواجه معاقل النظام السوري ضغوطاً متزايدة في الأشهر الأخيرة من قبل قوات الثوار، وهو ما ساهم على الأرجح ببلورة قرار موسكو بتكثيف دعمها. وفيما يتعدّى أيّ تأثيرٍ عسكري مباشر، قد تمثّل الخطوات الروسية إشارة للثوار، وداعميهم الأجانب، إلى عمق التزام موسكو بدعم النظام، مما يُضعف بالتالي من أملهم في تحقيق نصرٍ عسكري ويحفّزهم أكثر وأكثر على القبول بحلّ يستند إلى شروطٍ مفضلة لروسيا والرئيس الأسد.

وقد أكد الرئيس بوتين أن المساعدات الروسية إلى سوريا هي جزء من محاولة لمحاربة "التطرف والإرهاب". ولا شك في أنّ الحافز وراء مساعدة روسيا لنظام الأسد قد اشتدّ مع ظهور الحركات الجهادية في صفوف المعارضة السورية. وتجدر الإشارة إلى أنّ المساعدات الروسية إلى دمشق سبقت بروز تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية في العراق والشام» («داعش»)/«الدولة الإسلامية» أو «جبهة النصرة»، وتضع موسكو على طرفَي نقيض ليس فقط مع الإسلاميين بل مع المعارضة السورية برمّتها أيضاً. وفي الواقع أنّ النظام السوري، وبدعم من روسيا، استهدف المدنيين دون تمييز، ملحِقاً بالشعب السوري خسائر بشرية هائلة ومؤجّجاً على الأرجح نار الحركة الجهادية المتنامية بدلاً من إخمادها.

ومع ذلك، فلهذه المناورة الروسية أهداف أوسع على الأرجح. فانخراط القوات الروسية إلى جانب النظام قد يعقّد أيّ عملٍ عسكري أمريكي ضدّ الأسد، بما في ذلك فرض منطقة حظر جوي. وكما هو الحال في صفقة البيع الوشيكة لنظام الدفاع الجوي المكوّن من صواريخ "أس-300" المتطوّرة إلى إيران، تضطلع هذه الخطوة الروسية بتأثير لا يتمثّل بتعزيز النفوذ الروسي فحسب، بل بالحدّ من خيارات الولايات المتحدة ونفوذها أيضاً في وقتٍ قد تعتبر فيه موسكو أنّه من غير المرجح أن تردّ واشنطن بشكل حاد.

وأخيراً، من شأن التدخل العسكري الروسي المباشر أن يتّسق مع النمط السلوكي الانتقامي الذي انتهجته موسكو في الآونة الأخيرة على الصعيد العالمي. وقد تحدّث السيد بوتين عن استعادة مجد روسيا الغابر ووفى بوعده بتحقيق تأملاته في جورجيا وشبه جزيرة القرم وأوكرانيا، فضلاً عن اعتماد سلاحي الجو والبحرية الروسية سلوكاً عدوانياً على نحو متزايد في جميع أنحاء العالم. وهو الأمر بالنسبة لتعزيز الانخراط في الشرق الأوسط، حيث أن هذا التدخلّ قد يحاكي ماضي روسيا أيضاً.

وأياً يكن دافع موسكو، فإذا تم توسيع نطاق التدخل العسكري الروسي في سوريا، من المرجّح أن يكون ذلك بمثابة اقتراح يعود بالخسارة على الولايات المتحدة وروسيا. فبالنسبة لواشنطن، يعقّد هذا الانخراط إلى حد كبير أيّ ضغطٍ عسكري كانت الولايات المتحدة تنظر في فرضه على النظام السوري، ويمنح الأسد ثقةً متجددة من شأنها أن تجعل أيّ تسوية دبلوماسية - مقبولة لدى الولايات المتحدة والمعارضة السورية - أبعد منالاً. وفي الوقت نفسه، سترزح روسيا بصورة أكثر تحت نير حليفٍ ضعيفٍ ومحتاج في حين تستعدي عليها قوى إقليمية مثل إسرائيل والمملكة العربية السعودية. أما الوجود الروسي المتزايد فقد يصبح نفسه هدفاً للمعارضة والعناصر الجهادية السورية، مع ما يترتّب عن ذلك من ضحايا روسية. وبدلاً من استذكار أمجاد الماضي، قد تُظهر هذه الخطوة بأنها تذكيراً بالسبب الذي أدّى إلى تلاشي هذه الأمجاد في المقام الأول.

 

مايكل سينغ هو زميل أقدم في زمالة "لين- سويغ" والمدير الإداري في معهد واشنطن. وكان يعمل في قضايا الشرق الأوسط في "مجلس الأمن القومي" الأمريكي في الفترة بين 2005 و 2008،. جيفري وايت هو زميل للشؤون الدفاعية في المعهد وضابط كبير سابق في الاستخبارات العسكرية الأمريكية. وقد نشرت هذه المقالة في الأصل من على مدونة "ثينك تانك" على موقع الـ "وول ستريت جورنال".

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

Articles & Op-Eds

Expanded Syria Presence Would Carry Big Risks for Russia

Michael Singh and Jeffrey White

Also available in العربية

Wall Street Journal

September 8, 2015


Rather than recalling past glories, Russia's reportedly escalating support for Assad may prove to be a reminder of why they faded in the first place.

In July 1972, Soviet forces were ordered out of Egypt by Anwar Sadat, signaling the end of serious military involvement in the region by Moscow. Now, forty-three years later, Russian troops are returning.

According to the New York Times, "Russia has sent a military advance team to Syria and has transported prefabricated housing units for hundreds of people to an airfield near Latakia, according to American intelligence analysts." The Times adds that "Russia has also delivered a portable air traffic station to the airfield and has filed military overflight requests through September." The reports follow closely on the heels of similar allegations in recent weeks, including reports of new arms, and even combat troops. U.S. military officials said Tuesday that Russia has moved new personnel, planes and equipment into Syria in recent days.

That Moscow is heavily involved in the Syria conflict is not itself news. Russian military links with the Assad regime go back many years -- the USSR, and then Russia, long operated a naval station at the Syrian port of Tartus, and Moscow has provided Assad with what Russian President Vladimir Putin recently described as "serious" amounts of military equipment and training to prosecute its civil war.

Russia has also had a prominent diplomatic role in the Syrian conflict. It has shielded the Assad regime from pressure by vetoing a number of UN Security Council resolutions on the conflict. More recently Moscow has become the nexus of diplomatic activity aimed at ending the fighting; Russia has hosted a parade of Western and Middle Eastern officials including both Secretary of State John Kerry and Iran's General Qassem Soleimani, as well as two rounds of multilateral discussions.

The proximate aim of Russian policy seems clear: to protect the Assad regime, for decades an ally of Moscow's and in more recent years one of Russia's last remaining channels of influence in the Middle East. Mr. Putin has criticized the Syrian regime and acknowledged that "a process of political change" is needed, but has steadfastly refused to withdraw his support for Assad or suggest that he should be replaced as part of any political transition. Russian weapons, ammunition, and spare parts keep Assad's war machine running.

Regime strongholds have come under increasing pressure in recent months from rebel forces, which likely contributed to Moscow's decision to step up its support. Beyond any direct military effect, the Russian moves may signal to rebels, and their foreign backers, the depth of Moscow's commitment to the regime, thus dampening their hope for a military victory and bolstering their incentive to accept a resolution on terms preferred by Russia and Mr. Assad.

Mr. Putin has asserted that Russian aid to Syria is part of an effort to fight "extremism and terrorism." While Russia's motivation to help Mr. Assad is doubtless reinforced by the presence of jihadist groups among the Syrian opposition, Russian aid to Damascus predated the rise of ISIS or Jabhat al-Nusra and puts Moscow at odds not only with Islamists but with the entire Syrian opposition. Indeed, the Syrian regime, with Russia's support, has even indiscriminately targeted civilians, inflicting a tremendous humanitarian toll and likely fueling rather than stemming the rise of jihadism.

The Russian gambit, however, likely has wider aims. The involvement of Russian forces on the side of the regime would complicate any American military action against Mr. Assad, including a no-fly zone. Like the impending sale of the advanced S-300 air defense system to Iran, it has the effect not only of enhancing Russian influence but limiting US options and influence at a time where Moscow may calculate that Washington is unlikely to respond sharply.

Finally, direct Russian military involvement would be consistent with Moscow's recent, revanchist pattern of behavior globally. Mr. Putin has spoken of restoring Russia's faded glory, and has made good on his musings in Georgia, Crimea, Ukraine, and via the increasingly aggressive behavior of Russian air and naval forces around the world. So too would deeper involvement in the Middle East hearken to Russia's past.

Whatever Moscow's motivation, expanded Russian military involvement in Syria, should it come to pass, seems likely to be a lose-lose proposition for the United States and Russia. For Washington, it would seriously complicate any contemplated military pressure on the Syrian regime, and lend Assad renewed confidence that would make more remote any diplomatic settlement acceptable to the U.S. and the Syrian opposition. Russia, meanwhile, will be further yoked to a vulnerable and needy ally while antagonizing regional powers such as Israel and Saudi Arabia. An increased Russian presence may itself become a target for Syrian opposition and jihadist elements, with resulting Russian casualties. Rather than recalling past glories, the move may prove a reminder of why they faded in the first place.

Michael Singh is the Lane-Swig Senior Fellow and managing director at The Washington Institute. From 2005 to 2008, he worked on Middle East issues at the National Security Council. Jeffrey White is a defense fellow at the Institute and a former senior defense intelligence officer. This article originally appeared on the Wall Street Journal blog "Think Tank."