أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 2666

الطاقة وسياسة الولايات المتحدة في الشرق الأوسط في عصر الوفرة النفطية

پاتريك كلاوسون, سايمون هندرسون, و حليمة كروفت

متاح أيضاً في English

4 آب/أغسطس 2016


"في 1 آب/أغسطس، خاطب پاتريك كلاوسون وسايمون هندرسون وحليمة كروفت منتدى سياسي في معهد واشنطن بهدف تعزيز البحث الذي نُشر مؤخراً بعنوان "سياسة الطاقة: أمريكا والشرق الأوسط في عصر الوفرة النفطية"، من تأليف پاتريك كلاوسون وسايمون هندرسون. وكلاوسون هو زميل أقدم في زمالة "مورنينغستار" ومدير الأبحاث في معهد واشنطن. وهندرسون هو زميل "بيكر" ومدير برنامج الخليج وسياسة الطاقة في المعهد، وقد نسق حلقة المنتدى. وكروفت هي الرئيس العالمي لاستراتيجية السلع الأساسية في شركة "آر. بي. سي. لأسواق رأس المال". وفيما يلي ملخص المقرر لملاحظات كروفت وكلاوسون".

 

پاتريك كلاوسون

انبثق مشروع "سياسة الطاقة" من المفاجأة التي أصابت صانعي السياسات جرّاء الاتجاهات الأخيرة التي شهدتها أسواق الطاقة والمخاوف من احتمال تراجع دور الولايات المتحدة في الشرق الأوسط نظراً لارتفاع إنتاج نفطها المحلي. وبالفعل، فإن الارتفاع في الإنتاج المحلي وما يرافقه من شعور متواصل بأن حرب العراق عام 2003 كانت مدفوعة إلى حد بعيد بالحاجة إلى نفط الشرق الأوسط، قد أدى بالبعض إلى الاستنتاج أن الولايات المتحدة ستشيح بنظرها السياسي والعسكري عن المنطقة، لا بل يجدر بها ذلك.

ومع هذا، فإن الافتراضات القائلة أن اهتمام الولايات المتحدة بالشرق الأوسط قائمٌ على النفط، تفتقر إلى المعلومات الصحيحة. وبالأحرى، إن السبب الرئيسي لانخراط الولايات المتحدة في الشرق الأوسط هو مكافحة انعدام الأمن الذي تسببه أطرافٌ ذات عقائد عنيفة، لا سيما وأن لهذه الأيديولوجيات تداعيات خطيرة ليس على الشرق الأوسط فحسب بل على المصالح الأمريكية داخل الولايات المتحدة وخارجها.

وفي الوقت نفسه، ثمة عدة مزايا - ومساوئ أيضاً - لتنامي اعتماد الولايات المتحدة على إنتاجها المحلي من النفط. ومن بين هذه المزايا، ستكون الولايات المتحدة أقل عرضةً للتضرر من ارتفاع الأسعار والمقاطعة كتلك التي واجهتها عام 1973 حين رفضت الدول المنتجة بيع النفط للولايات المتحدة. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، إنّ زيادة مستوى الاعتماد الذاتي يعزز قدرة واشنطن على الضغط على المنتجين في الشرق الأوسط في القضايا المتعلقة بالإرهاب وأسلحة الدمار الشامل. فعندما كان وضع أسواق الطاقة متأزماً تضاءل نفوذ الولايات المتحدة في هذه الأمور.

ولكن مع زيادة اعتماد الولايات المتحدة على إنتاجها النفطي الخاص، قد تُثار الشكوك لدى دول الشرق الأوسط بأن أمريكا لن تلعب بعد الآن دور الحامي من الاعتداءات الإقليمية. وإذا بدأت الدول بالقلق من تخلي واشنطن عن دورها كلاعبٍ رئيسي في أمن المنطقة، فقد تستخدم وسائل أو تكتيكات لا توافق عليها الولايات المتحدة لضمان أمنها. فضلاً عن ذلك، فبينما تقلل أمريكا اعتمادها على نفط الشرق الأوسط، فقد تواجه الإدارات الأمريكية المستقبلية صعوبات أكبر في حشد الدعم المحلي اللازم للتدخل في الشرق الأوسط. وعموماً، قد يؤدي انخفاض أسعار النفط إلى تفاقم عدم الاستقرار في المنطقة ما لم تسعَ الدول المنتجة للنفط إلى إجراء إصلاحات.

من هذا المنطلق، وسعياً إلى زيادة الفرص وتقليص المساوئ إلى أدنى حد، على الشعب الأمريكي أن يعرف أن الولايات المتحدة تنخرط في الشرق الأوسط لأسباب تتعلق بالأمن وليس بالنفط. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، على الأمريكيين أن يسمعوا مدى التزام الولايات المتحدة بالشرق الأوسط. وأخيراً،  يتعين على المسؤولين الأمريكيين طمأنة المجتمع الدولي بأن انخراط الولايات المتحدة في مناطق أخرى، مثل شرق آسيا وأوروبا، لا يأتي على حساب المصالح السياسية تجاه الشرق الأوسط.

وفي الوقت نفسه، بوسع القوى العالمية أن تعمل مع الولايات المتحدة على معالجة بعض المشاكل الناجمة عن تراجع أسعار النفط. وأحد الأمثلة عن هذا التعاون هو الاتفاق الدولي بين الدول الصناعية المتقدمة للحفاظ على احتياطيات النفط الاستراتيجية. وفي حين أن ميثاق «الوكالة الدولية للطاقة الذرية» الذي يخضع له الاتفاق لا يسمح حالياً إلا بمشاركة الدول الأعضاء في "منظمة التعاون الاقتصادي والتنمية"، ثمة اقتراح بتوسيع نطاقه ليشمل الهند والصين. وحيث أن الصين سبق وأن بدأت بتطوير احتياطها النفطي الاستراتيجي، من الممكن أن تبدي استعداداً أكبر للانضمام إلى "منتدى الطاقة الدولي" الذي ترأسه المملكة العربية السعودية عوضاً عن «الوكالة الدولية للطاقة الذرية» التي تهيمن عليها الدول الصناعية المتقدمة. هذا بالإضافة إلى الجهود التعاونية التي بذلتها القوى العالمية، ومن ضمنها "المبادرة المشتركة بين المنظمات لنشر البيانات" - التي تسعى إلى رفع درجة الشفافية في إحصاءات الإنتاج والاستهلاك والاحتياطي - إلى جانب حماية خطوط الاتصالات البحرية.

إن بحث "سياسة الطاقة" يضع احتمالين لمستقبل الإنتاج النفطي في أمريكا، أحدهما يتمثل باستمرار الولايات المتحدة باستيراد ثلث احتياجاتها من النفط، بينما يتوقع الآخر أن تصبح الولايات المتحدة مصدّراً صافياً للنفط بمعدل عدة ملايين برميل في اليوم. وفي السياق نفسه، يشكّل الإنتاج والطلب متغيّرَين مجهولين في الدول الصناعية والدول الحديثة العهد بالتصنيع. وبالنسبة للعديد من المؤسسات الحكومية والدولية والخاصة، كان إنتاج النفط خلال السنوات العشرين الماضية، وبصورة متكررة، خارج نطاق التنبؤات حول ما كان متوقع على مدى الخمس إلى العشر سنوات. وعلى الرغم من أن الافتراض السائد هو أن انخفاض أسعار النفط يؤدي إلى تراجع الاستثمار وزيادة الطلب بحيث ترتفع الأسعار، وأن ارتفاع أسعار النفط يؤدي إلى زيادة الاستثمار وتراجع الطلب بما يؤدي إلى انخفاض الأسعار، إلا أن عدداً من التوقعات تشير إلى أن التغيرات التي تطرأ على قطاع النفط تعزى إلى التقدم التكنولوجي بقدر ما تعزى إلى الأسعار.

 

حليمة كروفت

مع ازدياد ثقة الحكومة الأمريكية بحصول أسواق النفط العالمية على الإمدادات اللازمة، تستطيع واشنطن أن تبدي حزماً أكبر في أجندتها مع الدول المنتجة للنفط. لنأخذ نيجيريا على سبيل المثال. في عام 2003 تقريباً، أظهرت الحكومة الأمريكية اهتماماً شديداً بمصادر النفط خارج الشرق الأوسط وتحديداً من خليج غينيا. وفي نيجيريا على وجه الخصوص، كانت الانتقادات الأمريكية على الانتخابات التي جرت في تلك البلاد عام 2003 أخف بكثير مما كانت عليه في انتخابات عام 2015، ليس بسبب التعاون الأمني الاستراتيجي فحسب بل بسبب الاهتمام بإنتاج النفط النيجيري أيضاً. وفي حين استوردت الولايات المتحدة عام 2003 نحو 10 في المائة من نفطها من نيجيريا، تكاد اليوم لا تستورد أي نفط من ذلك البلد. وفي هذا التحول الملحوظ الذي سبق الإشارة إليه، في أعقاب الانتخابات النيجيرية عام 2015، فرضت الولايات المتحدة والقوى الحليفة لها المزيد من الضغوط على الحكومة النيجيرية بحيث هددت بفرض حظر على السفر، وتجميد الأصول، وغيرها من التدابير، وذلك ردّاً على التزوير [في الانتخابات]. وقارنت النقاشات السابقة داخل مجتمع السياسات، بين مزايا إدارة العلاقات مع الدول المنتجة للنفط من جهة، والضغط على حكوماتها لإجراء إصلاحات من جهة أخرى. وفي ضوء نمو الإنتاج المحلي في الآونة الأخيرة، قد يصبح بالإمكان استبدال هذه النقاشات بمساعٍ أكبر للدفع بعجلة الإصلاح.

لقد كان للهبوط الأخير في أسعار النفط عواقبه على الدول المنتجة للنفط وعلى عملية صنع القرار في "منظمة الدول المصدرة للنفط" ("أوبك") ككل. فالعديد من الدول التي زادت إنفاقها في أعقاب "الربيع العربي" تغرق اليوم تحت ديون كبيرة، وحتى الدول الغنية المنتجة للنفط في الخليج وجدت نفسها مرغمة على التعامل مع انخفاض الأسعار من خلال تجديد إصدارات الديون. وعلى الرغم من أن دول الخليج تملك صناديق ثروات سيادية وشبكات أمان كبيرة تخوّلها التعامل مع انخفاض الأسعار، إلا أنها قد تضطر إلى النظر في آفاق إعادة التمويل، والقيام بإصلاحات هيكلية، وإجراء تخفيضات في استثمارات صناديق الثروة السيادية في مجالات معينة كالعقارات وأسواق الأسهم الأوروبية.

ومن غير الواضح إلى متى سيبقى العالم ينعم بإمداد كافي من النفط. فالخيارات المتوفرة قليلةٌ أمام الدول الأفقر المنتجة للنفط، على غرار العراق الذي يكافح تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية»، وأسعار النفط المنخفضة والمشاكل السياسية في بغداد، باستثناء خيار الاقتراض من "صندوق النقد الدولي" لدفع الرواتب والأجور. وبالرغم من الثورة التي شهدتها أمريكا الشمالية في قطاع الطاقة ومخزونها الحالي الكبير، يعجز المنتجون فيها عن توفير كافة البراميل اللازمة في غياب أي نمو لدى المنتجين الآخرين. وقد كافحت بعض الدول كالعراق وفنزويلا ونيجيريا من أجل تمويل عملية تطوير بنيتها التحتية الخاصة بالطاقة وشهدت انخفاضات كبيرة في التزوير خلال السنوات الماضية.

ومن المرجح أنّ انخفاض أسعار النفط وزيادة الاهتمام العالمي بمصادر الطاقة المتجددة قد تسبّبا باشتداد مخاوف الدوائر المعنية بالتخطيط الطويل المدى لدى شركات النفط الوطنية في الشرق الأوسط. وفي الوقت الراهن، إن أبرز عامل وراء إبقاء أسعار النفط عند مستويات منخفضة هو المخزون العالمي الهائل الذي يسجل أعلى مستوياته منذ خمس سنوات. و من المتوقع أن تنخفض هذه المخزونات خلال العام المقبل؛ وحتى لو ارتفع إنتاج النفط في الولايات المتحدة قد يكون من الصعب الحفاظ على عدم وصول الأسعار إلى 70-75 دولاراً للبرميل خلال العامين إلى الأربعة أعوام القادمة إذا لم ينمُ الإنتاج خارج أمريكا الشمالية.

ومع ذلك، تشير التوقعات على المدى القصير إلى أن أسواق النفط تتمتع بكمية كافية ووافية من النفط. ففي الاجتماع الذي عقدته منظمة "أوبك" في حزيران/يونيو 2015، بدا أن الانتعاش الناشئ عن الطلب - الذي سجّل أعلى مستوياته منذ خمس سنوات - يؤدي إلى تحسن ملحوظ في أسعار النفط. وعلى الرغم من هذا التفاؤل حول الأسعار، حالت التباينات بين دول «مجلس التعاون الخليجي» ودول "أوبك" الأكثر فقراً، دون التوصل إلى قرار بشأن سقف سعري جماعي. وعلى النحو ذاته، جاء اجتماع حزيران/يونيو 2016 انعكاساً لاجتماع العام السابق. وعلى الرغم من أن العديد من الدول المنتجة الكبيرة أجمعت على الحاجة إلى رفع أسعار النفط لتحفيز الاستثمار، لا تزال التفاوتات هائلةً بين دول «مجلس التعاون الخليجي» وتلك التي يُطلق عليها "الدول الخمسة الهشة" أي ليبيا والعراق ونيجيريا وفنزويلا والجزائر.

 

أعدت هذا الموجز إيميلي برلينغهاوز.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 2666

Energy and U.S. Middle East Policy in an Era of Plentiful Oil

Patrick Clawson, Simon Henderson, and Helima Croft

Also available in العربية

August 4, 2016


Three experts discuss U.S. priorities in the Middle East, the potential upsides and downsides of increased American energy independence, and the consequences of low prices for various oil-producing states.

On August 1, Patrick Clawson, Simon Henderson, and Helima Croft addressed a Washington Institute Policy Forum to promote the recent publication of Energizing Policy: America and the Middle East in an Era of Plentiful Oil, by Patrick Clawson and Simon Henderson. Clawson is the Morningstar Senior Fellow and director of research at The Washington Institute. Henderson is the Baker Fellow and director of the Gulf and Energy Policy Program at the Institute, and served as moderator of the event. Croft is the global head of commodity strategy at RBC Capital Markets. The following is a rapporteur's summary of their remarks.

PATRICK CLAWSON

The project Energizing Policy arose from policymakers' surprise regarding recent trends in energy markets and concerns about a potentially diminished U.S. role in the Middle East, given increasing domestic oil production. Indeed, rising domestic production, along with a lingering sense that the 2003 Iraq war was driven largely by the need for Middle East oil, has led some to conclude that the United States will, and should, turn its political and military focus away from the region.

Assumptions of an oil-driven U.S. focus on the Middle East, however, are ill informed. Rather, the principal reason the United States is involved in the Middle East is to combat insecurity by actors whose violent ideologies have dangerous repercussions not only for the Middle East but also for U.S. interests on American soil and abroad.

Meanwhile, increased U.S. reliance on domestic oil production has a number of advantages -- as well as disadvantages. In terms of advantages, the United States will be less vulnerable to price hikes and boycotts, such as that in 1973, when producers refused to sell oil to America. Moreover, increased self-reliance enhances Washington's ability to pressure Middle East producers on issues related to terrorism and weapons of mass destruction. When energy markets were tight, the United States wielded less leverage on such matters.

As the United States becomes increasingly reliant on its own oil production, however, suspicion may rise among Middle East states that America will no longer be a guarantor against regional aggression. And as countries worry that the United States will no longer be a major security actor in the region, they may use methods or tactics of which the United States does not approve to ensure their security. Furthermore, as America reduces its reliance on Middle East oil, future administrations may have greater difficulty generating domestic support for intervention in the Middle East. Overall, low oil prices could exacerbate the region's instability unless oil-producing states pursue reforms.

To maximize opportunities and minimize disadvantages, the U.S. population needs to hear that the United States is involved in the Middle East for reasons related to security rather than oil. Furthermore, Americans need to hear how committed the United States is to the Middle East. Finally, U.S. officials must assure the international community that involvement in other regions, such as East Asia and Europe, does not come at the expense of policy interest toward the Middle East.

Global powers, meanwhile, can work with the United States to offset some of the problems arising from the low-oil-price environment. One example of cooperation is the international agreement among advanced industrial countries to maintain strategic petroleum reserves. While the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) charter governing the agreement currently only allows participation by countries in the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD), a proposed expansion would include India and China. Indeed, having already begun developing its own strategic petroleum reserve, China may be more open to joining the Saudi-led International Energy Forum rather than the IAEA, which is dominated by the advanced industrial countries. Furthermore, global powers have pursued cooperative efforts such as the Joint Organisations Data Initiative (JODI) -- which aims to improve the transparency of production, consumption, and reserve numbers -- and protection of the sea lines of communication.

Energizing Policy considers two potential futures for U.S. oil production: one in which the United States continues to import about one-third of its oil, and another in which the United States becomes a net oil exporter on the order of several million barrels per day. Relatedly, both output and demand are unknown variables in industrialized and industrializing countries. Over the past twenty years, oil output has repeatedly fallen outside ranges predicted in the five- to ten-year forecasts of numerous governmental, international, and private organizations. Although the prevailing assumption is that low oil prices lead to less investment and more demand such that prices rise, and high oil prices lead to more investment and less demand such that prices fall, a number of forecasts have suggested that changes in the oil industry are driven as much by technological advancement as they are by price.  

HELIMA CROFT

As the U.S. government gains more confidence that world oil markets will be well supplied, Washington can more vigorously press its agenda with oil-producing countries. Consider the example of Nigeria. Around 2003, the U.S. government became very interested in non-Middle East sources of oil, notably from the Gulf of Guinea. In Nigeria in particular, U.S. criticisms of the country's 2003 vote were far more muted than what they would be of the 2015 vote, not only because of strategic security cooperation but also because of interest in Nigerian oil production. Whereas in 2003 the United States imported about 10 percent of its oil from Nigeria, today it imports almost none from the country. In the remarkable shift already noted, following the 2015 Nigerian elections, the United States and allied powers exerted more pressure on the Nigerian government, threatening travel bans, asset freezes, and other measures in response to rigging. Previous debates within the policy community have weighed the merits of managing relations with oil-producing countries against pressuring their governments for reform. In light of recent growth in domestic production, these debates may be replaced by more significant efforts to push reform.

The recent drop in oil prices has led to consequences for both oil-producing countries and OPEC's decisionmaking capabilities. Many states that increased spending in the wake of the Arab Spring are now running significant debts, and even wealthy oil-producing countries in the Gulf have been forced to deal with low prices through renewed debt issuance. Although the Gulf countries have substantial sovereign wealth funds and safety nets to deal with a low price environment, they may need to consider prospects for refinancing, structural reforms, and reductions in sovereign-wealth-fund investment in areas such as real estate and European equity markets.

How long the world will be well supplied with oil is unclear. For poorer oil producers such as Iraq, which is struggling with the Islamic State, low oil prices, and political problems in Baghdad, few options are available except to borrow from the International Monetary Fund to meet payrolls. Furthermore, despite the North American energy revolution and the current large inventory, North American producers cannot provide all needed barrels in the absence of growth from other producers. Countries such as Iraq, Venezuela, and Nigeria have struggled to fund the development of energy infrastructure and experienced significant reductions in rigging in recent years. 

Low oil prices, as well as increased global interest in renewable energy sources, have likely heightened concern among long-range planning departments in Middle East national oil companies. Currently, the biggest factor keeping oil prices low is very large global stockpiles, currently at five-year highs. Over the next year, those stockpiles are expected to decrease; even if U.S. oil production rises, it may be difficult to keep prices from reaching $70-75 per barrel over the next two to four years if no production growth occurs outside North America.

That said, the short-term outlook suggests that oil markets have more than ample oil. At the OPEC meeting in June 2015, it seemed as though a demand-driven recovery -- with demand at a five-year high -- was leading to an upswing in oil prices. Despite such optimism on prices, disparities between the Gulf Cooperation Council and poorer OPEC countries over fair oil pricing thwarted a decision on a collective price ceiling. Likewise, the June 2016 meeting was reflective of the meeting a year prior. Although many of the larger producers expressed consensus on the need for higher prices to incentivize investment, tremendous disparities remain between the GCC and the so-called "fragile five": Libya, Iraq, Nigeria, Venezuela, and Algeria.

This summary was prepared by Emily Burlinghaus.