أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 2001

مستقبل مصر الثيوقراطي: الأزمة الدستورية وسياسة الولايات المتحدة

روبرت ساتلوف و اريك تراجر

متاح أيضاً في English

3 كانون الأول/ديسمبر 2012


تمثل مسودة الدستور المصري التي ستطرح للاستفتاء في 15 كانون الأول/ديسمبر خطوة هائلة إلى الوراء بالنسبة لآفاق الديمقراطية في البلاد. فقرار الرئيس محمد مرسي بالإسراع في إصدار الوثيقة من خلال جمعية لصياغة الدستور - التي انسحب منها غير الإسلاميين إلى جانب العديد من المواد التي يمكن للإسلاميين الممسكين بالسلطة في البلاد استغلالها بسهولة -  تكاد تضمن مستقبلاً ثيوقراطياً لمصر. كما تؤكد هذه الوثيقة على الصفقة التي تمت بين جماعة «الإخوان المسلمين» والقوات المسلحة، حيث منحت كبار الضباط في القوات المسلحة حكماً ذاتياً نسبياً مقابل الاستجابة لطموحات «الإخوان» السياسية.

الخلفية

واجهت "الجمعية التأسيسية" في مصر تحديين رئيسيين منذ أن عينها "مجلس الشعب" - الذي تسيطر عليه جماعة «الإخوان» -  لصياغة دستور جديد في حزيران/يونيو. الأول، هيمنة الأعضاء المنتمين إلى تيارات إسلامية مما أزعج الأعضاء غير الإسلاميين، حتى أنه بحلول منتصف تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر انسحب تقريباً جميع الأعضاء غير المنتمين إلى تيارات إسلامية من الجمعية احتجاجاً على تلك الهيمنة. الثاني، بعد صدور حكم "المحكمة الدستورية العليا" في منتصف حزيران/يونيو حول عدم دستورية "مجلس الشعب" المنتخب، أصبحت الجمعية هدفاً للدعاوى القضائية. وبعد العديد من التأجيلات كان يتوقع صدور حكم حول قانونيتها هذا الأسبوع.

ومع ذلك، فلاستباق هذا الحكم أصدر مرسي إعلاناً دستورياً في 22 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر يحصن الجمعية من حلها من قبل المحكمة ويقضي لنفسه سلطة مطلقة تقريباً. وعندما بدأ الأعضاء غير المنتمين إلى تيارات إسلامية باحتجاجات واسعة ضد القرار، رد مرسي بالدعوة إلى إنجاز مسودة الدستور في غضون أربع وعشرين ساعة، فقامت الجمعية بدورها باستبدال العديد من الأعضاء غير الإسلاميين الذين انسحبوا من الجمعية بأعضاء من التيارات الإسلامية. ويوم السبت وافق مرسي على المسودة النهائية التي أصدرتها الجمعية ودعا إلى إجراء استفتاء وطني في 15 كانون الأول/ديسمبر. ومن المتوقع أن تتم الموافقة على هذه المسودة على نطاق واسع بسبب: الدعم الذي تحصل عليه من قبل الإسلاميين (الذين ما زالوا أفضل القوى السياسية المعبأة في البلاد)، ولأن كل استفتاء حدث في تاريخ مصر المعاصر انتهى بـ "نعم".

وتحتوي المسودة على بعض المواد الواعدة؛ حيث تورد أن "السيادة للشعب وحده"، وليس لـ الله، وتتضمن بنوداً بشأن عدم التمييز والحرية الشخصية؛ وتتيح حقوقاً خاصة مثيرة للإعجاب، بما في ذلك في مجال الاتصالات الالكترونية؛ وتحدد الفترة الرئاسية بولايتين فقط. ولكنها تمنح أيضاً نظاماً سياسياً يهئ هيمنة التيار الإسلامي، وتوفر حماية دستورية للجيش لم يسبق لها مثيل، وذلك كجزء من صفقة واضحة لضمان إقرارها.

نهج غير تعددي ينتج وثيقة غير تعددية

تعكس مواد مسودة الدستور حول العلاقة بين الإسلام والسياسة، الغياب الفعلي للأعضاء غير المنتمين إلى تيارات إسلامية وللأقليات الدينية، من الجمعية التي قامت بصياغتها. وفي حين يعتمد الكثير على الكيفية التي ستفسّر فيها الحكومات المصرية المستقبلية الدستور، إلا أن هناك عدد من الفقرات الرئيسية التي توفر للإسلاميين موطئ قدم كبير لإقامة سلطتهم وتعزيز أجندتهم.

والأسلوب الذي تعاملت به المسودة مع الشريعة هو أحد الأمثلة على ذلك. فعلى الرغم من أنها تحافظ على المادة الثانية من دستور 1971، والتي بموجبها يعتبر "الإسلام هو دين الدولة" و "مبادئ الشريعة الإسلامية هي المصدر الرئيسي للتشريع"، إلا أن الدستور الجديد هو أكثر صرامة بكثير في تحديد كيفية قيام المشرِّعين ببحث الشريعة. وبالتالي، تحدد المادة 219 بأن "مبادئ الشريعة الإسلامية" تشمل "أدلتها الكلية وقواعدها الأصولية والفقهية ومصادرها المعتبرة في مذاهب أهل السنة والجماعة"، وبذلك تؤدي إلى تضييق نطاق التفسيرات التي يمكن أن يعتمد عليها المشرعون من خلال استبعاد المذاهب الشيعية، التي كانت تستخدم في التشريع وفقاً لدستور عام 1971. وفي حين أن المسودة لا تستبعد بالضرورة إقرار القوانين التي ليس لها أساس في الشريعة، إلا أن الأثر المشترك للمواد 2 و 219 يرجح ميزان العقائد الدينية في النقاش السياسي، وبالتالي الاسلاميين. وتعزز المادة 6 هذه الأفضلية بصورة أكثر بنصها أن النظام السياسي يقوم على "مبادئ الديمقراطية والشورى"، وهذه الأخيرة تعني أن التشاور يقتصر على العلماء المسلمين المؤهلين.

كما يمنح الدستور دوراً كبيراً محتملاً للدولة في فرض العقيدة الدينية. وفي هذا السياق، تخول المادة 11 الدولة  بأن "ترعى الأخلاق والآداب والنظام العام، والمستوى الرفيع للتربية والقيم الدينية والوطنية". وفي الوقت نفسه، تحظر المادة 44 "الإساءة أو التعريض بالرسل والأنبياء كافة" وبالتالي تعمل على تمكين الحكومة من استخدام المبررات الدينية لتحجيم حرية التعبير.

وأخيراً، يقدم الدستور نظرة محدودة عن حقوق الأقليات. ففي حين تسمح المادة 3 بأن تكون مبادئ شرائع المسيحيين واليهود المصدر الرئيسي للتشريعات المنظمة لأحوالهم الشخصية وشئونهم، إلا أن النص لا يذكر شيئاً عن حقوق الأقليات الأخرى مثل البهائيين والشيعة، الذين يعانون من التمييز في كثير من الأحيان. ووفقاً لزعيم  في جماعة«الإخوان» حلمي الجزار، كان ذلك مقصوداً لأن "البهائيين هي مجموعة غريبة الأطوار إلى حد كبير وهي أبعد ما تكون عن الإسلام"، بينما الشيعة "يعبدون الله بطريقة غريبة للغاية." وبالمثل تتجاهل المادة 43 هذه الجماعات عندما تنص على "حرية ممارسة الشعائر الدينية وإقامة دور العبادة للأديان السماوية"، والتي عادة ما يتم تفسيرها بأنها تشمل فقط السنة والمسيحيين واليهود. وحتى أن الحرية الدينية مُضمنة لهذه المجموعات الثلاث فقط "كما ينظمها القانون"، مما يمكّن من استمرار القوانين التمييزية التي تعقّد من محاولات المسيحيين بناء أو تجديد الكنائس. وفي كثير من الأحيان تستخدم مثل هذه الأحكام لتبرير العنف الطائفي.

صفقة «الإخوان» مع القوات المسلحة

لا يعطي الدستور الأفضلية للعقيدة والطموحات الإسلامية على وجه الحصر. كما أنه يلبي مطلبين رئيسيين من مطالب الجيش، وبالتالي يكسب تعاون كبار الضباط في القوات المسلحة في تسهيل مرور المسودة. وفي الواقع، كانت المواد الأولى التي وافقت عليها الجمعية عندما سارعت على إكمال المسودة يوم الخميس هي تلك التي تتعلق بالقوات المسلحة.

أولاً، يمنح الدستور الجديد استقلالاً ذاتياً نسبياً للجيش حول شؤونه الخاصة. فالمادة 195 تنص بأن وزير الدفاع هو القائد العام للقوات المسلحة، "ويعين من بين ضباطها"، وبالتالي يُجنِّب القوات المسلحة الرقابة المدنية. وبالمثل تنص المادة 197 على إنشاء "مجلس الدفاع الوطني" لمناقشة موازنة القوات المسلحة؛ كما أن ثمانية على الأقل من مقاعد المجلس الخمسة عشر يجب أن تُشغل من قبل كبار المسؤولين العسكريين، وبذلك يتم تجنب الرقابة البرلمانية التي يخشى منها الجنرالات. وفي الوقت نفسه، تنص المادة 198 بأن القضاء العسكري هو "جهة قضائية مستقلة"، وتسمح بمحاكمة المدنيين أمام القضاء العسكري  عن "الجرائم التي تضر بالقوات المسلحة."

ثانياً، يمنح الدستور القوات المسلحة تأثيراً كبيراً - وربما حتى حق النقض - على مجرى الحرب. فالمادة 146 تنص على أن الرئيس لا "يعلن الحرب، ولا يرسل القوات المسلحة إلي خارج الدولة، إلا بعد أخذ رأي «مجلس الدفاع الوطني»، وموافقة «مجلس النواب» بأغلبية عدد الأعضاء". ويبدو أيضاً أن النص يساوي بين وزير الدفاع ورئيس الجمهورية في زمن الحرب: فالمادة 146 تعرّف الرئيس بأنه "القائد الأعلى للقوات المسلحة"، في حين المادة 195 تعلن بأن وزير الدفاع هو "القائد العام للقوات المسلحة."

وعلى الرغم من أن «الإخوان» رفضوا سابقاً تقديم مثل هذه التنازلات إلى القوات المسلحة، إلا أن مسودة الدستور الجديد توضح إدراك «الجماعة» بأنها في حاجة إلى القوات المسلحة لتحقيق أجندتها في البيئة الحالية. فبالنظر إلى أن القضاة المصريين يحتجون على إجراءات مرسي - مع رفض العديد منهم مراقبة الاستفتاء في 15 كانون الأول/ديسمبر - فعلى «الإخوان» أن يعتمدوا على السلطات العسكرية لفتح مراكز الاقتراع وإدارة عملية التصويت، كما فعلوا بنجاح خمس مرات منذ ثورة العام الماضي.

توصيات سياسية

تقف إدارة أوباما حتى الآن بشكل فعال مع مرسي ضد معارضيه من الأعضاء الغير منتمين إلى التيارات الإسلامية. فمنذ اندلاع الأزمة الحالية بعد يومين من اتفاق وقف إطلاق النار في غزة - الذي نال الكثير من ثناء الولايات المتحدة لمصر - أصدرت وزارة الخارجية الأمريكية بيانين رئيسيين - الأول بعد إصدار مرسي قراره بالسيطرة على مقاليد السلطة والثاني بعد الموافقة المتسرعة على مسودة الدستور والإعلان عن الاستفتاء. وكلا القرارين أخرسا أي انتقاد ورددا تصريح مرسي بأن المعارضين ينبغي أن يعبروا عن وجهة نظرهم في التصويت بـ "لا".

والآن، وحيث انقسمت مؤسسة القضاء في مصر حول الإشراف على الاستفتاء من عدمه، تقدمت جماعات أخرى مثل "نقابة الدعاة" بعروض للقيام بهذه المهمة، وهنا تواجه واشنطن اختباراً آخر عما إذا كان شهر العسل السياسي الذي تقضية مع مرسي يفوق دعمها للمبادئ الدستورية العالمية. وسوف يكون لموقف إدارة أوباما هذا تداعيات قوية على محتوى العلاقات الأمريكية المصرية واتجاه التطور الدستوري في الديمقراطيات الانتقالية العربية الأخرى.

 

روبرت ساتلوف هو المدير التنفيذي لمعهد واشنطن. إريك تراغر هو زميل الجيل القادم في المعهد.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 2001

Egypt's Theocratic Future: The Constitutional Crisis and U.S. Policy

Robert Satloff and Eric Trager

Also available in العربية

December 3, 2012


Egypt's hastily drafted constitution, which will likely pass an upcoming referendum, facilitates Islamist domination by co-opting the military.

Egypt's newly drafted constitution, which will be put to a referendum on December 15, represents a tremendous step backward for the country's democratic prospects. President Muhammad Morsi's decision to rush the document through a constitution-writing assembly that non-Islamists abandoned, coupled with the many articles that Islamists in power can easily exploit, virtually ensures a theocratic Egyptian future. The charter also cements the Muslim Brotherhood's deal with the military, granting the generals relative autonomy in exchange for accommodating the Brotherhood's political ambitions.

BACKGROUND

Egypt's Constituent Assembly has faced two key challenges since the Brotherhood-controlled parliament appointed it to draft the new constitution in June. First, its domination by Islamists upset its non-Islamist members, and by mid-November almost all of the latter had abandoned the assembly in protest. Second, following the Supreme Constitutional Court's mid-June ruling that parliament had been elected unconstitutionally, the assembly became a target for litigation. After multiple postponements, a ruling on its legality was expected this week.

To preempt this ruling, however, Morsi issued a November 22 constitutional declaration that, in addition to asserting virtually unchecked power for himself, insulated the assembly from being dissolved by the court. When non-Islamists launched mass protests against the decree, Morsi responded by calling for completion of a draft constitution within twenty-four hours; the assembly in turn replaced many of the non-Islamists who had abandoned it with Islamists. On Saturday, Morsi approved the resulting draft and called for a national referendum on December 15. It is widely expected to pass: Islamists (who remain the country's best-mobilized political forces) support it, and "yes" has won every plebiscite in contemporary Egyptian history.

The draft has some promising components. It maintains that "sovereignty is for the people alone," not God; includes clauses on nondiscrimination and personal freedom; affords impressive privacy rights, including in electronic communications; and mandates a two-term presidential term limit. But it also offers a political system that is ripe for Islamist domination, and provides unprecedented constitutional protections for the military as part of an apparent deal to ensure its passage.

NONPLURALISTIC PROCESS YIELDS NONPLURALISTIC DOCUMENT

The draft constitution's articles on the relationship between Islam and politics reflect the virtual absence of non-Islamists and religious minorities from the assembly that drafted it. While much depends on how future Egyptian governments interpret the constitution, a number of key passages provide Islamists with a substantial foothold for instituting their authority and advancing their agenda.

The draft's approach to sharia (Islamic law) is one such example. Although it preserves the 1971 constitution's second article, under which "Islam is the religion of the state" and "Principles of Islamic sharia are the principal source of legislation," the new constitution is far stricter in specifying how legislators should examine sharia. Article 219 thus defines "principles of Islamic sharia" as including "general evidence, foundational rules, rules of jurisprudence, and credible sources accepted in Sunni doctrines and by the larger community," thereby narrowing the range of interpretations on which legislators can draw by excluding Shiite doctrines, which were used for legislating under the 1971 constitution. And while the draft does not necessarily exclude the passage of laws that have no sharia basis, the combined effect of Articles 2 and 219 privileges religious doctrines in political debate, and therefore Islamists. Article 6 further bolsters this privilege by basing the political system on "the principles of democracy and shura," the latter of which implies consultation restricted to qualified Islamic scholars.

The constitution also carves out a potentially large role for the state in enforcing religious doctrine. In this vein, Article 11 authorizes the state to "safeguard ethics, public morality, and public order, and foster a high level of education and of religious and patriotic values." Meanwhile, Article 44 prohibits the "insult or abuse of all religious messengers and prophets," thereby empowering the government to use religious justifications for curtailing free speech.

Finally, the constitution embraces a limited view of minority rights. While Article 3 permits Christians and Jews to be governed by their respective laws regarding personal status issues, the text is silent on the rights of other minorities such as Bahais and Shiites, who frequently suffer discrimination. According to Brotherhood leader Helmi al-Gazzar, this was intentional because "Bahais are a very eccentric group that is far from Islam," while Shiites "worship Allah in a very strange way." Article 43 similarly ignores these groups when it upholds the "freedom to practice religious rites and to establish places of worship for the divine religions," which is typically interpreted as including only Sunnis, Christians, and Jews. Even these three groups are only guaranteed religious freedom "as regulated by law," thereby enabling the continuation of discriminatory laws that complicate Christian attempts to build or renovate churches; such provisions are frequently used to justify sectarian violence.

THE BROTHERHOOD'S DEAL WITH THE MILITARY

The constitution does not privilege Islamist ideology and ambitions exclusively. It also satisfies two key military demands, thereby winning the generals' cooperation in facilitating the draft's passage. Indeed, the first articles that the assembly approved as it hurried to complete its draft on Thursday were those that pertained to the military.

First, the new constitution grants the military relative autonomy over its own affairs. Article 195 holds that the defense minister must be a member of the armed forces "appointed from among its officers," thereby sparing the military from civilian oversight. Article 197 similarly establishes a National Defense Council to oversee the military's budgets; at least eight of the council's fifteen seats must be held by high-ranking military officials, avoiding the parliamentary oversight that the generals feared. Meanwhile, Article 198 maintains the military judiciary as "an independent judiciary" and allows civilians to be tried before military courts for "crimes that harm the armed forces."

Second, the constitution grants the military substantial influence -- and perhaps even veto power -- over the conduct of war. Article 146 states that the president cannot "declare war, or send the armed forces outside state territory, except after consultation with the National Defense Council and the approval of the House of Representatives with a majority of its members." The text also seemingly equalizes the defense minister and the president during wartime: Article 146 calls the president the "supreme commander of the armed forces," while Article 195 declares the defense minister the "commander-in-chief of the armed forces."

Although the Brotherhood previously rejected such concessions, the new draft charter represents the group's realization that it needs the military to advance its agenda in the current environment. Given that Egyptian judges are protesting Morsi's actions, with many refusing to monitor the December 15 referendum, the Brotherhood must rely on the military authorities to open polling places and administer the vote, as they have done successfully five times since last year's revolution.

POLICY RECOMMENDATIONS

So far, the Obama administration has effectively sided with Morsi against his non-Islamist opponents. Since the current crisis erupted two days after the Gaza ceasefire, which itself ended with effusive American praise for Egypt, the State Department has issued two key statements -- the first after Morsi's power-grabbing decree, the second after the hasty approval of the draft constitution and announcement of a referendum. Both statements muted any criticism and essentially echoed Morsi's statement that opponents should express their view in a "no" vote.

Now, with Egypt's judiciary divided over whether to supervise the referendum and other groups, such as the mosque preachers syndicate, offering to do the job, Washington faces another test of whether its honeymoon with Morsi trumps its support for universal principles of constitutionalism. The Obama administration's position will have powerful implications for the content of U.S.-Egyptian relations and the direction of constitutional development in other Arab transitional democracies.

Robert Satloff is executive director of The Washington Institute. Eric Trager is the Institute's Next Generation fellow.