أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 1476

جماعة الإخوان المسلمين في مصر وإيران

مهدي خلجي

متاح أيضاً في English

12 فبراير 2009


خلال زيارته إلى إيران في شباط/فبراير، أشاد زعيم «حماس»، خالد مشعل، بالقادة الإيرانيين على دعمهم خلال الصراع [الأخير] في قطاع غزة، وهذا دليل آخر على تعزيز العلاقات بين الجماعة الإسلامية السنية، التي كانت الولايات المتحدة قد صنفتها على أنها منظمة إرهابية، والنظام الشيعي في طهران. وقد جاءت تصريحات مشعل في أعقاب تصنيفات وزارة الخزانة الأمريكية لقادة تنظيم «القاعدة» وناشطيها الذين حصلوا على ملاذ في إيران على أنهم إرهابيون. وتثير الأمثلة الأخيرة عن التعاون السني-الشيعي أسئلة جديدة حول ما إذا كان بوسع إيران تحسين علاقاتها مع جماعة الإخوان المسلمين في مصر.

وفي حين يبدو من غير المحتمل حدوث مثل هذا التقارب، يشير التاريخ أن ذلك ليس مستحيلاً. فلسنوات عديدة حافظت إيران على علاقات غير رسمية مع جماعة الإخوان المسلمين، وربما يتمتع الإسلام الشيعي بقبول أكبر لدى أهل السنة المصريين مما يتمتع به بين أهل السنة في بلدان عربية أخرى. ومن المرجح أيضاً أن تلقى الانتقادات الحادة التي وجهتها إيران للرئيس المصري حسني مبارك، صداها لدى المتطرفين المصريين الخاضعين لسيطرة النظام في القاهرة. وإذا [نجحت] إيران في بناء علاقات وثيقة مع جماعة "الإخوان"، فسينمو النفوذ الإيراني بشكل كبير في العالم العربي، مما يجعل لطهران رأي هام بين المتطرفين العرب، وسيؤدي هذا بدون شك إلى تطورات خطيرة على المصالح الأمريكية في المنطقة.

الروابط بين إيران والمتطرفين السنة

تشك مصر منذ فترة طويلة بالعلاقة بين جماعة الإخوان المسلمين المصرية وإيران، وهذا يرجع بشكل كبير إلى علاقات إيران القوية مع «حماس» – المنبثقة عن جماعة الإخوان المسلمين. ومن المرجح أن يثير الصراع الأخير في غزة المزيد من الشكوك لدى القاهرة. فخلال [فترة] القتال، تبنت إيران أسلوباً كلامياً قوياً في دعمها لحركة «حماس»، منتقدة الحكومة المصرية على تقاعسها. وقد شكر زعيم «حماس»، خالد مشعل، إيران على دعمها لمنظمته، مؤكداً أن "شعب غزة لطالما قدر الدعم السياسي والروحي الذي تقدمه له إيران زعماء وشعباً". ووفقاً للتلفزيون الرسمي الإيراني، ذكرت التقارير أن مشعل قال "إن إيران لعبت بالقطع دوراً كبيراً في انتصار أهالي غزة وهي شريك في ذلك الانتصار".

كما أقامت إيران علاقات عمل قوية مع متطرفين سنة آخرين. فوفقاً لصحيفة "نيويورك تايمز"، تزعم السلطات السعودية أن زعيم "تنظيم «القاعدة» في الخليج الفارسي"، "عبد الله القاروي"، يعيش ويتحرك بحرية في إيران، إلى جانب أكثر من مائة سعودي يعملون لصالحه. وفي إجرائها التطبيقي الأخير، أعلنت وزارة الخزانة [الأمريكية]، أن السلطات الإيرانية كانت قد اعتقلت سعد بن لادن، نجل أسامة بن لادن، في مطلع عام 2003، ولكن "اعتباراً من أيلول/سبتمبر 2008، من المحتمل أن لم يعد سعد بن لادن محتجزاً في إيران". ووفقاً لمدير الاستخبارات الوطنية [الأمريكية] مايكل ماكونيل، فإنه على الارجح أن يكون سعد بن لادن [مقيماً] حالياً في باكستان.

إيران ما قبل الثورة وجماعة الإخوان المسلمين

بالرغم من أنه ليست هناك علاقات تنظيمية قوية بين جماعة الإخوان المسلمين المصرية وإيران، إلا أن جماعة "الإخوان" كان لها تأثير كبير على إعادة بعث الروح الإسلامية في إيران؛ فقد سعت هذه الحركة إلى الترويج للإسلام ليس باعتباره ديناً فقط، وإنما كفكر يحكم جميع جوانب الحياة السياسية والاقتصادية والاجتماعية. كما أن "موجتبي ميرلوحي"، المعروف باسم "نواب صفوي" (1924-1955)، كان عالماً دينياً إيرانياً شاباً أسس "جمعية أنصار الإسلام (SID)" في أوائل الأربعينيات من القرن الماضي ولعب دوراً كبيراً في ربط الأصولية الشيعية بالحركات الأصولية الإسلامية في دول أخرى. وعلى غرار الآباء المؤسسين لحركة إعادة بعث الروح الإسلامية في مصر، كانت "جمعية أنصار الإسلام (SID)" تؤمن أنه من أجل مقاومة هيمنة الغرب، يتعين على المسلمين محاربة الطائفية، وتنحية الصراع الشيعي–السني جانباً، وإنشاء جبهة إسلامية موحدة.

وفي عام 1954، وبناءً على دعوة من "سيد قطب"، الذين كان يشغل حينها منصب سكرتير القمة الإسلامية والمفكر الرئيسي لجماعة الإخوان المسلمين المصرية، سافر "نواب صفوي" إلى الأردن ومصر للقاء قادتها. وبتأثير منهم، أصبح أكثر اهتماماً بالقضية الفلسطينية. وقبل ذلك الحين، لم تكن هناك سوى إشارات قليلة للمشكلة الفلسطينية بين رجال الدين أو المثقفين والنشطاء العلمانيين (اليساريين) في المجتمع الإيراني. وبعد عودته إلى إيران، بدأ "حملة فلسطينية" وجمع وعود من خمسة آلاف متطوع للانتشار في الأراضي الفلسطينية لمحاربة اليهود.

وربما الأهم من ذلك، يصف المرشد الأعلى الحالي لإيران، آية الله علي خامنئي، في سيرته الذاتية القصيرة أنه أصبح مهتماً بالأنشطة السياسية بعد لقائه بـ"نواب صفوي" في مدينة مشهد بإيران. وقبل قيام الثورة الإسلامية الإيرانية في عام 1979، ترجم خامنئي كتابين لـ"سيد قطب"، وهما "المستقبل لهذا الدين" و"الإسلام ومشكلات الحضارة".

الثورة الإسلامية في عيون جماعة "الإخوان"

في البداية، رحبت جماعة الإخوان المسلمين في مصر بحذر بالثورة الإسلامية بقيادة آية الله خميني؛ وربما منحت تلك الثورة الثقة للإخوان المسلمين بأنهم أيضاً قادرون على قلب نظام الحكم العلماني في بلدهم. ولكن بعد قيام متطرف إسلامي باغتيال الرئيس المصري أنور السادات في عام 1981، اضطرت جماعة "الإخوان" إلى اتخاذ موقف حذر من الجمهورية الإسلامية، على الأقل في العلن. وفي كانون الثاني/يناير من عام 1982، أخبر "عمر التلمساني"، المرشد العام لجماعة "الإخوان" في ذلك الوقت، صحيفة "المصور" المصرية الأسبوعية قائلاً "إننا دعمناه [الخميني] سياسياً، لأن شعباً مظلوماًً قد تمكن من التخلص من حاكم ظالم واستعاد حريته، لكن من وجهة النظر الفقهية، فإن السنة شيء والشيعة شيء آخر".

ومع ذلك استمرت جماعة الإخوان المسلمين في انتقاد الخلافات الطائفية بين المسلمين، بحجة أن الوحدة ضرورية من أجل الجهاد ضد الحكام الفاسدين والغرب. وفي عام 1985، كتب "التلمساني" في صحيفة "الدعوة" المصرية قائلاً "إن التقارب بين الشيعة والسنة اصبح الآن مهمة عاجلة لأهل الفقه." وأضاف قائلاً "إن الإتصالات بين جماعة الإخوان المسلمين و[علماء الدين الإيرانيين] ليس الهدف منها دفع الشيعة لاعتناق [المذهب] السني في الإسلام، وإنما الهدف الأساسي من ورائها هو الامتثال لمهمة الإسلام لتلاقي المذاهب الإسلامية إلى أقصى حد ممكن".

وكانت هناك جوانب تعاونت فيها جماعة الإخوان المسلمين مع إيران بشكل أكثر صراحة. فعند انتهاء الحرب الإيرانية-العراقية في عام 1988، على سبيل المثال، وافق الإيرانيون من جانب واحد، بناءاً على طلب من أحد قيادات جماعة الإخوان المسلمين "الشيخ محمد الغزالي"، على إطلاق سراح أسرى الحرب المصريين الذين قاتلوا إلى جانب الجيش العراقي ضد إيران.

وفي الآونة الأخيرة، في 28 كانون الثاني/يناير، قال "محمد مهدي عاكف"، المرشد الحالي لجماعة الإخوان المسلمين، في مقابلة له مع وكالة الأنباء الإيرانية "مهر": "إن [جماعة] الإخوان المسلمين تُدعم مفاهيم وأفكار مؤسس الجمهورية الإسلامية". وأضاف "إن أفكار [آية الله] خميني، وخاصة فيما يتعلق بالقضية الفلسطينية، هي استمرار لتوجه جماعة الإخوان المسلمين تجاه محاربة الاحتلال".

مصر في ظل حكم الشيعة: ماضٍ بعيد لكنه [حاضر] في الذاكرة الشعبية

يُعد المصريون أكثر تقبلاً وإيجابية تجاه الشيعة من غيرهم من العرب السنة. وأحد أسباب ذلك هو حكم الأسرة الفاطمية الذي تأسس في مصر في القرن العاشر كفرع للحركة الإسلامية الشيعية. لقد لعبت الأسرة الفاطمية دوراً هاماً في "التلقيح المتبادل" بين إيران ومصر. ويمثل الحكم الفاطمي في مصر الذي دام قرنين من الزمن نقطة بارزة في تاريخ الحضارة الإسلامية في مجال التنمية الاقتصادية والازدهار الثقافي. وحتى الفن في مصر الفاطمية تأثر بالأساليب الإيرانية.

وقد تركت فترة الخلافة الفاطمية انطباعاً دائماً على المصريين، كما أن أثر حكام الشيعة منذ عصور سحيقة لا تزال واضحة في الانفتاح المصري على الممارسات والتقاليد الشيعية، وهو تقبّل غير موجود في أي مكان آخر في العالم السني. ولا يزال المصريون يحترمون الرموز والأيقونات والأماكن المقدسة التي تعود إلى تلك الفترة؛ فعلى سبيل المثال، يؤمن المصريون أن الحسين، الإمام الشيعي الثالث، وأسرته دفنوا في القاهرة، وليس في كربلاء بالعراق. وبالنسبة للمصريين السنة، فإن مقابر الحسين والسيدة زينب (أخته) والسيدة سكينة (ابنته) هي الأماكن الأكثر قدسية في العالم بعد مكة والمدينة المنورة. وكما يفعل إخوانهم الشيعة، فإن السنة في القاهرة يؤدون [طقوس] عاشوراء (إحياء الشيعة لذكرى وفاة الحسين) كل عام. وعلاوة على ذلك، قبلت مصر اللغة الفارسية في القرن التاسع عشر باعتبارها لغة الأدب والعلوم، مما انعكس في الصحف الناطقة باللغة الفارسية التي كانت متاحة في ذلك الوقت.

وعلاوة على ذلك، وبالإضافة إلى تأثير الإسلاميين السياسيين المصريين على علماء الدين الإيرانيين المذكور سابقاً، فقد ساعد علماء الدين الإيرانيون بدورهم على تشكيل [حركة] إعادة بعث الروح الإسلامية في مصر. ومن أبرز الأمثلة على ذلك في القرن التاسع عشر، هو [المفكر] الإسلامي "سيد جمال الدين الأسد آبادي"، والمعروف أيضاً باسم "الأفغاني". فعندما وصل إلى مصر من دولته الأم إيران، ادعى أنه أفغاني لكي يتمكن من [إقناع] الآخرين ويمرّر نفسه بأنه سني. وقد دعى فكره الجديد إلى وحدة المسلمين وسعى إلى [الحصول] على أجوبة لعلل المجتمعات الإسلامية من خلال "الإسلام الأصيل".

ونتيجة لهذا التاريخ، يتمتع الشيعة ولسنوات عديدة ببعض القبول في مصر، على الرغم من الحقيقة بأن غالبية المصريين في زمن الفاطميين، وحتى اليوم، هم من السنة.

التشيع في مصر الحديثة

في السنوات الأخيرة قلّ قبول التشيع إلى حد ما في الوقت الذي أصبحت فيه الحكومة المصرية أكثر قلقاً تجاه ما تراه تصاعداً للمد الشيعي في المنطقة. ورداً على ذلك، بدأت الحكومة المصرية ووسائل الإعلام الرسمي في شن حملة ضد التشيع والرموز الشيعية. ففي تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر 2005، ذكر الرئيس المصري حسني مبارك بأن "معظم الشيعة موالون لإيران، وليس لحكومتهم". وقد أثار تعليقه عدة تظاهرات شيعية، بما فيها مظاهرات ضمت الآلاف من الناس في النجف، وهي المدينة المقدسة لدى الشيعة في العراق. وبعدها أوضح أنه قصد أن الشيعة يتعاطفون مع إيران من حيث وجهة نظرهم الدينية، وليست السياسية.

وفي مناسبات عدة، حذر العالم الديني المصري البارز "الشيخ يوسف القرضاوي"، وهو عضو سابق في جماعة الإخوان المسلمين، من "المد الشيعي" والأنشطة التبشيرية للشيعة والحكومة الإيرانية، وخاصة في مصر. وقال إن "تزايد عمليات تسلل المذهب الشيعي في مصر قد يؤدي إلى حرب أهلية مثل تلك [التي يشهدها] العراق". وقد بذلت الحكومة المصرية جهوداً لتعبئة علماء دين أقوياء وأعضاء هيئة التدريس بجامعة الأزهر ضد جماعة الإخوان المسلمين من أجل محاربة تيار التشيع.

ولا توجد إحصائيات موثوقة حول عدد الشيعة في مصر. وبما أن الشيعة واقعون تحت ضغط من الحكومة المصرية، فإن العديد منهم يتجنبون الاعتراف بديانتهم جهراً. وتشير بعض المصادر الغربية والمصرية (مثل مركز ابن خلدون للدراسات الإنمائية) إلى أن الشيعة يشكلون أقل من واحد في المائة من السكان المصريين (حوالي 657,000). لكن "محمد الدريني"، وهو سني بارز اعتنق المذهب الشيعي، يقول إن العدد يصل إلى مليون ونصف.

كما يدعي "الدريني" أن الشيعة المصريون من الطائفة الإثنا عشرية، وهو نوع من التشيع تتم ممارسته في إيران. لكنه أنكر أي روابط بين الطائفة الشيعية والحكومة الإيرانية. ويقول الدريني "لا يوجد لإيران أي نوع من التأثير علينا"، ويضيف "في بعض الأحيان ينتقدنا الإيرانيون على بعض مواقفنا وتصريحاتنا. يجب أن يعلم الجميع أن التشيع ليس [مذهب] إيراني في الأصل، لكنها عربي، في حين أن المدارس السنية [الأربعة التقليدية] نبعت من إيران". ويرجع جزء من جاذبية التشيع في مصر الحديثة لأسباب سياسية وليست عقائدية في طبيعتها، حيث يرى بعض الشباب المصريين بالتحول إلى اعتناق المذهب الشيعي كوسيلة للاحتجاج على النظام، مثلما يتحول آلاف الشبان الإيرانيين الشيعة سنوياً إلى ديانات أخرى مختلفة لأسباب ترجع جزئياً كرد فعل على طبيعة حكومتهم الشيعية.

خاتمة

في حين لا يزال من غير المرجح حدوث انفراجة في العلاقات بين جماعة الإخوان المسلمين في مصر وطهران، فإن النتائج المترتبة على هذا التحالف بالنسبة للولايات المتحدة ستكون مضرة للغاية. ولا تزال إيران تركز على توسيع نفوذها في الخليج الفارسي وخارجه، وكما أن بناء صلات مع أقوى حزب معارضة في الشرق الأوسط سيكون بمثابة قفزة كبيرة إلى الأمام. ولا شك أن الروابط الراسخة والمتنامية بين إيران وحركة «حماس»، فضلاً عن إلقاء نظرة على التاريخ ذات الصلة، يوضح بأنه ينبغي على صناع القرار في الولايات المتحدة أن يراقبوا هذا الاتجاه.

مهدي خلجي

مهدي خلجي هو زميل اقدم في معهد واشنطن، يركز على دور السياسة في الإكليروسية* الشيعية المعاصرة في العراق وإيران.

*الإكليروسية = قبول شخص للعمل ضمن رجال الدين من قبل هيئة دينية

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 1476

Egypt's Muslim Brotherhood and Iran

Mehdi Khalaji

Also available in العربية

Policy #1476

February 12, 2009


During a February trip to Iran, Hamas leader Khaled Mashal praised Iranian leaders for their support during the conflict in the Gaza Strip, a further indication of the strengthening ties between the Sunni Islamist group, which the United States has designated as a terrorist organization, and the Shiite regime in Tehran. Mashal's statements come on the heels of the U.S. Treasury Department's terrorist designations of al-Qaeda leaders and operatives sheltered in Iran. These latest examples of Sunni-Shiite cooperation raise new questions about whether Iran can improve its relationship with Egypt's Muslim Brotherhood.

While such a rapprochement appears unlikely, history suggests it is far from impossible. Iran has maintained informal ties to the Muslim Brotherhood for many years, and Shiite Islam probably has more appeal among Egyptian Sunnis than it does among Sunnis in other Arab countries. Iran's sharp criticism of Egyptian president Hosni Mubarak is also likely to resonate with Egyptian radicals under the thumb of the regime in Cairo. If Iran were to develop close relations with the Brotherhood, Iranian influence would grow considerably in the Arab world, giving Tehran a significant say among Arab radicals and, undoubtedly, producing dangerous developments for U.S. interests in the region.

Ties between Iran and Sunni Extremists

Egypt has long been suspicious of the connection between the Egyptian Muslim Brotherhood and Iran, based in large part on Iran's longstanding strong ties to Hamas -- an offshoot of the Brotherhood. The recent conflict in Gaza is likely to further arouse Cairo's suspicions. During the fighting, Iran was highly vocal in their support of Hamas, blasting the Egyptian government for its inaction. Hamas leader Khaled Mashal thanked Iran for its support of his organization, asserting that the "people of Gaza . . . have always appreciated the political and spiritual support of the Iranian leaders and nation." According to Iranian state television, Mashal reportedly said that "Iran has definitely played a big role in the victory of the people of Gaza and is a partner in that victory."

Iran has also forged stronger working relations with other Sunni extremists. According to the New York Times, Saudi authorities allege that the leader of "al-Qaeda in the Persian Gulf," Abdullah al-Qaraqi, lives and moves freely in Iran, along with more than a hundred Saudis working for him. The Treasury Department, in its recent enforcement action, announced that Saad bin Laden, son of Usama bin Laden, was arrested by Iranian authorities in early 2003 but that "[a]s of September 2008, it was possible that Saad bin Laden was no longer in Iranian custody." According to Director of National Intelligence Michael McConnell, Saad bin Laden is now most likely in Pakistan.

Prerevolutionary Iran and the Muslim Brotherhood

While the Egyptian Muslim Brotherhood and Iran do not have strong organizational ties, the Brotherhood has had a major impact on Islamic revivalism in Iran, a movement that sought to promote Islam not just as a religion but as an ideology governing all aspects of political, economic, and social life. Mujtaba Mirlowhi, known as Navvab Safavi, (1924-1955) was a young Iranian cleric who created the Society of Islam Devotees (SID) in the early 1940s and played a major role in connecting Shiite fundamentalism to Islamic fundamentalist movements in other countries. Like the founding fathers of Islamic revivalism in Egypt, SID believed that in order to fight the supremacy of the West, Muslims have to combat sectarianism, put the Shiite-Sunni conflict aside, and create a united Muslim front.

In 1954, at the invitation of Sayyed Qutb, then secretary of the Islamic summit and main intellectual of the Egyptian Muslim Brotherhood, Navvad Safavi traveled to Jordan and Egypt to meet its leaders. Under their influence, he became more attracted to the Palestinian cause. Before that time, there were few references to the Palestinian problem in Iranian society among clerics or lay (leftist) intellectuals and activists. After his return to Iran, he started a Palestinian campaign and collected promises from five thousand volunteers to deploy to the Palestinian territories to fight the Jews.

Perhaps even more important, in his short autobiography, Iran's current supreme leader Ayatollah Ali Khamenei describes becoming interested in political activities after he met Navvad Safavi in Mashhad, Iran. Before Iran's 1979 Islamic Revolution, Khamenei translated two books by Sayyed Qutb, Al-Mustaqbal li hadha al-Din (The Future of this Religion) and Al-Islam wa Mushkelat al-Hadharah (Islam and the Problems of Civilization).

The Islamic Revolution in the Brotherhood's Eyes

Egypt's Muslim Brotherhood at first cautiously welcomed the Ayatollah Khomeini-led Islamic revolution, which may have given the Brotherhood confidence that they too would be able to overthrow their country's secular regime. But after an Islamic radical assassinated Egyptian president Anwar al-Sadat in 1981, the Brotherhood was forced to take a cautious attitude toward the Islamic Republic, at least in public. In January 1982, Umar Telmesani, then leader of the Brotherhood, told the Egyptian weekly magazine al-Msuwwar, "We supported him [Khomeini] politically, because an oppressed people had managed to get rid of an oppressive ruler and to regain their freedom, but from the doctrinal point of view, Sunnism is one thing and Shiism is another."

The Muslim Brotherhood nonetheless continued to decry sectarian differences among Muslims, arguing that unity was necessary for the sake of jihad against the corrupt rulers and the West. In 1985, Telmesani wrote in the Egyptian magazine al-Dawa that "the convergence of Shiism and Sunnism is now an urgent task for the jurists." He added that "the contact between Muslim Brotherhood and [Iranian clerics] was not done in order to make Shiites convert to Sunni Islam, the main purpose was to comply with Islam's mission to converge the Islamic sects as much as possible."

There were points where the Brotherhood and Iran cooperated more openly. In 1988, for example, at the conclusion of the Iran-Iraq war, at the request of Muslim Brotherhood leader Shaikh Muhammad Ghazzali, the Iranians agreed to unilaterally release the Egyptian prisoners of war who had fought alongside the Iraqi army against Iran.

More recently, on January 28, Muhammad Mahdi Akef, the current leader of the Muslim Brotherhood, said in an interview with Mehr News Agency: "The Muslim Brotherhood supports the ideas and thoughts of the founder of Islamic Republic." He added "[Ayatollah] Khomeini's idea, especially with regard to the Palestinian issue, is the continuation of the Muslim Brotherhood's attitude toward fighting occupation."

Egypt under Shiites: Distant Past but Popular Memory

Egyptians are more receptive and positively disposed toward Shiism than other Sunni Arabs. One reason is the Fatimid Dynasty that was established in Egypt in the tenth century as an offshoot of the Shiite Ismaelite movement. The dynasty played an important role in the cross-fertilization between Iran and Egypt. The two centuries of Fatimid rule in Egypt marks a high point in the history of Islamic civilization in terms of economic development and cultural prosperity. Even the art in Fatimid Egypt was influenced by Iranian styles.

The Fatimid period left a lasting impression on Egyptians, and vestiges of the country's long-ago Shiite rulers are still seen in Egyptian openness to Shiite practices and traditions, a receptiveness not found anywhere else in the Sunni world. Egyptians still respect the symbols, icons, and sacred places of that period; for example, Egyptians believe that Hussain, the third Shiite Imam, and his family are buried in Cairo, not in Karbala, Iraq. For Sunni Egyptians the tombs of Hussain, Sayyeda Zainab (his sister), and Assayeda Sakina (his daughter) are the most sacred places in the world after Mecca and Medina. Also like their Shiite coreligionists, Sunnis in Cairo perform Ashura (the Shiite commemoration of the death of Hussain) each year. Furthermore, in nineteenth-century Egypt, the Persian language was accepted as a language of literature and science, reflected in the Persian-language newspapers available at the time.

Moreover, in addition to the influence of Egyptian political Islamists on Iranian clerics noted earlier, Iranian clerics in turn helped to shape Islamist revivalism in Egypt. One notable example is the nineteenth-century Islamist Sayyed Jamal al-Din Asadabadi, also known as al-Afghani. When he arrived in Egypt from his native Iran, he claimed to be an Afghan so he could pass himself off as a Sunni. His new ideology advocated the unity of Muslims and sought in "authentic Islam" answers to the ills of Muslim societies.

As a result of this history, for many years Shiism held some appeal in Egypt, despite the fact that Egyptians at the time of the Fatimids, and still today, are predominantly Sunnis.

Shiism in Contemporary Egypt

The appeal of Shiism has been dampened somewhat in recent years as the Egyptian government has grown increasingly nervous about what it perceives as a rising Shiite tide in the region. In response, the Egyptian government and the state media began waging a campaign against Shiism and Shiite symbols. In November 2005, Egyptian president Hosni Mubarak stated that "most Shiites are faithful to Iran, not to their own government." His comment provoked several Shiite demonstrations, including thousands of people in Najaf, a Shiite holy city in Iraq. Afterward, he explained that he meant that Shiites sympathize with Iran in terms of their religious, not political, viewpoint.

On several occasions, prominent Egyptian cleric Shaikh Yousef Qarzawi, a former member of the Brotherhood, warned about the "Shiite tide" and the missionary activities of Shiites and the Iranian government, especially in Egypt. He said that "the increasing infiltration of Shiism in Egypt may lead to a civil war like the one in Iraq." The Egyptian government has made efforts to mobilize powerful clerics and faculty associated with al-Azhar University against the Muslim Brotherhood in order to fight the tide of Shiism.

There are no reliable statistics about the number of Shiites in Egypt. Since Shiites are under pressure from the Egyptian government, most of them avoid publically admitting their faith. Some Western and Egyptian sources (like the Ibn Khaldun Research Center) indicate that Shiites constitute less than 1 percent of the Egyptian population (approximately 657,000). But Muhammad al-Darini, a prominent Sunni who converted to Shiism, puts the figure at 1.5 million.

Al-Darini also claims that Egyptian Shiites are Twelvers, which is the type of Shiism practiced in Iran. But he denied any connection between the Shiite community and the Iranian government. "Iran does not have any kind of influence over us," al-Darini said. "Sometimes, even Iranians criticize us for some of our stances and statements. Everybody must know that Shiism is not originally an Iranian [sect], but an Arab one, while [the four traditional] Sunni schools stem from Iran." Part of the attraction of Shiism in modern Egypt is political rather than doctrinal in nature. Some young Egyptians see conversion to Shiism as a way of protesting the regime, much as thousands of Iranian Shiite youths convert each year to various other faiths partially in reaction to the Shiite nature of their government.

Conclusion

While a breakthrough in relations between the Egyptian Muslim Brotherhood and Tehran remains unlikely, the consequences for the United States of such a union would be very damaging. Iran remains focused on expanding its influence in the Persian Gulf and beyond, and connections to the strongest opposition party in the Middle East would be a great leap forward. The longstanding and growing ties between Iran and Hamas, as well as a look back at the relevant history, makes clear that U.S. policymakers should monitor this trend.

Mehdi Khalaji is a senior fellow at The Washington Institute, focusing on the role of politics in contemporary Shiite clericalism in Iran and Iraq.