أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 2218

صفقة الأسلحة المصرية مع روسيا: التكاليف الاستراتيجية المحتملة

ديفيد شينكر و اريك تراجر

متاح أيضاً في English

4 آذار/مارس 2014


مع دخول الأزمة في أوكرانيا أسبوعها الثاني، يقارن المصريون بين دعم واشنطن للثورة الشعبية التي أطاحت بالرئيس فيكتور يانوكوفيتش وانتقاد الولايات المتحدة لانقلاب العام الماضي في القاهرة.  إن المشاعر السائدة - المتمثلة في افتتاحيات الصحف اليومية الرائدة في مصر - هي أن الولايات المتحدة تفتقر إلى الاتساق في المواقف والموثوقية.

وفي الشهر الماضي، دفعت حالة انعدام الثقة هذه قائد الجيش المصري عبد الفتاح السيسي إلى اختيار روسيا كوجهة لأول زيارة له إلى دولة غير عربية منذ الإطاحة بالرئيس الإسلامي محمد مرسي في تموز/يوليو. وفي أعقاب ذلك الانقلاب، قامت الولايات المتحدة بتعليق نقل بعض الأنظمة العسكرية إلى مصر، الأمر الذي دفع السيسي إلى طلب مساعدة موسكو لتنويع مصادر البلاد من المشتريات العسكرية. ووفقاً لعدة تقارير، وقّع قائد الجيش المصري على صفقات لشراء أسلحة بقيمة ملياري دولار من روسيا خلال زيارته لموسكو في 12-13 شباط/فبراير.  وفي المرحلة القادمة، يمكن أن تؤدي مبيعات الأسلحة هذه إلى إضعاف الميزة العسكرية النوعية لإسرائيل وتصبح عامل إثارة آخر في العلاقات الأمريكية المصرية.

الخلفية

 منذ عام 1979، أمدت الولايات المتحدة مصر بتمويل بلغت قيمته نحو 70 مليار دولار، ذهب أكثر من نصفه إلى شراء معدات عسكرية أمريكية. وتمثل المساعدة الأمنية الأمريكية، التي بلغت قيمتها 1.3 مليار دولار سنوياً، 80 في المائة من ميزانية المشتريات السنوية للجيش المصري. وبالإضافة إلى توحيد ترسانة القاهرة من الأسلحة وتعزيز إمكانية التعاون البيني مع الولايات المتحدة، فإن مبيعات الأسلحة تمنح واشنطن درجة محدودة من النفوذ السياسي على - ونظرة ثاقبة داخل - المؤسسة المصرية الأكثر الأهمية المعروقة بغموضها.

وللوهلة الأولى، يبدو أن شراء القاهرة للأسلحة الروسية غير ضروري وربما محفوفاً بالمخاطر في ضوء التزامات أمريكا المالية المستمرة تجاه مصر، والتي ظلت قائمة منذ اتفاقيات كامب ديفيد عام 1978. بيد أن القيود التي فرضتها واشنطن عقب الانقلاب على العديد من النظم العسكرية الرئيسية دعت إلى الحاجة لوجود مورد إضافي. ومن بين النظم الأخرى، علّقت إدارة أوباما لأجل غير مسمى تسليم أربع طائرات إف 16، وخمس نظم صواريخ "هاربون" سفن - سفن وعشرات من أطقم دبابات "أبرامز إم وان أيه وان" ("M1A1") المقرر أن يتم تجميعها في مصر، و- الأهم من ذلك - علقت تسليم عشرة مروحيات "أباتشي" هجومية.

التركيز على المروحيات

وبالنسبة لمصر، يمثل الحصول على مروحيات إضافية من طراز "أباتشي" أهمية جوهرية في ظل مواجهة تمرد إسلامي ناشئ في شبه جزيرة سيناء. ويبدو أن المروحيات الأمريكية هي نظام القاهرة المفضل في حملتها لمكافحة الإرهاب في سيناء، إلا أن توافرها قد يشكل صعوبة. وتعمل جداول الصيانة الدورية عادة على تعطيل أكثر من ثلث قوتها الحالية البالغة خمس وثلاثين مروحية "أباتشي". ومما زاد الأمور تعقيداً أن مصادر في وزارة الدفاع المصرية ذكرت أن تحذيرات السفر التي أصدرتها وزارة الخارجية وعمليات الإخلاء المتفرقة والمؤقتة للأفراد الأمريكيين "غير الضروريين" من مصر قد أعاقت الصيانة المستمرة اللازمة التي يقدمها المقاولون الأمريكيون.

ولم تتأكد بعد تفاصيل اتفاقات شباط/فبراير مع موسكو، لكن التقارير الصحفية المصرية تشير إلى أن المروحيات الهجومية من طراز "روستفيرتول إم أي 35" و/أو طائرات الهليوكوبتر من طراز "إم أي 17" متعددة الأغراض هي جزء من الصفقة.  ولدى مصر بالفعل 100 من هذه الطائرات إلى جانب مروحيات "إم أي 8" الأقدم التي تعود للحقبة السوفيتية، والتي تشتمل على إمكانيات لنقل القوات والشحنات وأجهزة إشارة واستخبارات فضلاً عن طائرات هجومية، والأخيرة مجهزة بمدافع من عيار 23 مم وقادرة على حمل قنابل سعة 500 كجم وصواريخ موجهة مضادة للدبابات. وتعمل بعض هذه الأنظمة في سيناء ؛ ففي أواخر كانون الثاني/يناير، على سبيل المثال، استخدم متشددون إسلاميون صواريخ دفاع جوي محمولة (MANPAD) لإسقاط طائرة من طراز "Mi -17" أفادت التقارير أنها كانت في مهمة استطلاعية فوق شبه الجزيرة، مما أسفر عن مقتل خمسة جنود مصريين.

مشتريات أكثر إثارة للجدل

لا ترغب واشنطن أو إسرائيل في إثارة مشاكل حول نقل مروحيات روسية إضافية، حيث إن هناك إجماع عريض بأن جهود مكافحة الإرهاب في سيناء التي تضطلع بها مصر قد تستفيد كثيراً من مثل تلك المعدات. بيد أن هناك بنود على قائمة المشتريات المعلنة لمصر هي أكثر إثارة للجدل. على سبيل المثال، أفادت التقارير أن القاهرة تسعى للحصول على أنظمة دفاع جوي من موسكو - يحتمل أن تشمل صواريخ متطورة من نوع S-300 - وكذلك طائرات مقاتلة من طراز ميغ وأسلحة مضادة للدبابات من نوع كورنيت.

لقد مارست واشنطن وإسرائيل على مدار عقود ضغوطاً على روسيا لعدم نقلها صواريخ "إس 300" إلى إيران، خشية منها من أن تحول تلك القدرات المتطورة التي ستملكها طهران دون شن ضربة استباقية ضد مرافق الأسلحة النووية الإيرانية. وفي حرب لبنان 2006، قام «حزب الله» باستخدام صواريخ "كورنيت" التي تبرعت بها سوريا بفعالية كبيرة ضد المدرعات العسكرية الإسرائيلية. ومن الواضح أن مصر لا تشكل ذلك النوع من التهديد الذي تمثله كل من إيران و «حزب الله» - فقد أوفت القاهرة بالتزاماتها تجاه معاهدة السلام مع إسرائيل لأكثر من ثلاثة عقود. بيد أنه حال نقل هذه النظم المتطورة إلى مصر فإنها سوف تضعف الميزة العسكرية النوعية لإسرائيل. وفي ضوء سجل مصر الشائن في انتهاك "قانون الرقابة على صادرات الأسلحة الأمريكية"، فإن فكرة إمكانية إقامة فنيي طائرات "ميغ" الروس في نفس القواعد التي توجد بها طائرات "إف 16 إس" أمريكية الصنع لا تبعث على الثقة.

ومبعث القلق الآخر هو رغبة المملكة العربية السعودية المتزايدة في استخدام سخائها للإعراب عن استيائها من واشنطن. فالرياض، إلى جانب الإمارات العربية المتحدة، تتكفلان بشراء الذخائر الروسية لمصر. وهذا الإسهام يأتي عقب إعلان المملكة في كانون الأول/ديسمبر بأنها سوف تمد "القوات المسلحة اللبنانية" - التي تم التعهد سابقاً بأن واشنطن ستتكفل بمعظم ميزانية مشترياتها - بمبلغ 3 مليار دولار لشراء أسلحة فرنسية. إن قرار الرياض تمويل شراء أسلحة روسية وفرنسية بقيمة 5 مليار دولار لعملاء تقليديين للولايات المتحدة يعد إشارة واضحة على استياء السعوديين من السياسة الأمريكية بشأن قضايا إقليمية حساسة، ولا سيما إيران وسوريا ومصر. إن مواصلة الاستياء بين الولايات المتحدة والسعودية قد يمكِّن القاهرة من شراء نظم أسلحة غير مسبوقة ومتقدمة للغاية ومثيرة للجدل رغم اعتراضات واشنطن وإسرائيل.

وجهة النظر المصرية

يُصر القادة السياسيون والعسكريون المصريون على أنه ليس لديهم أي مصلحة في تخفيض العلاقات مع واشنطن، ويعترفون بأن مصر لا تستطيع أن تستبدل على الفور اعتمادها على الأسلحة الأمريكية حتى لو كانوا يميلون إلى ذلك. لكن ردود الفعل الإعلامية المصرية على زيارة السيسي لموسكو تشير إلى أن القاهرة تحظى بدعم قوي لتنويع جهات توريد الأسلحة إليها. إن انتقاد واشنطن المحدود جداً لـ «الإخوان المسلمين» أثناء العام الذي قضوه في الحكم، إلى جانب تكثيف موجة نظريات المؤامرة بشأن دور الولايات المتحدة في مصر عزز بشدة المناخ السياسي المناهض للولايات المتحدة والذي قد يرحب بالابتعاد عن واشنطن. وعلاوة على ذلك، فإن دعم الرئيس الروسي فلاديمير بوتين الواضح لرئاسة السيسي المحتملة أشعل الحماس الشعبي لبناء علاقات أقوى مع موسكو، لا سيما في صفوف الكتلة الحساسة من المصريين الذين أيدوا انقلاب تموز/يوليو. وفي بعض الدوائر، تمت مقارنة تواصل السيسي مع روسيا بتوجه الرئيس السابق جمال عبد الناصر نحو الاتحاد السوفيتي في خمسينيات القرن الماضي. وفي الواقع، وصفت بوابة الأخبار المصرية "اليوم السابع" بيع الأسلحة الروسية بأنه "إعادة التوازن" للعلاقات الدولية و"ثورة ضد سياسات واشنطن."

 ومع ذلك، فبخلاف تلك المشاعر الشعبية، يرى بعض المحللين المصريين أن الميل نحو روسيا - حتى لو كان تدريجياً - يعكس المصالح الاستراتيجية لبلادهم. على سبيل المثال، قال السفير المصري السابق لدى روسيا والإعلامي البارز رؤوف سعد إن الحكومتين تشاطران رؤية مشتركة لمكافحة الإرهاب، وأن علاقة موسكو الوثيقة مع إثيوبيا ستساعد القاهرة على معالجة المخاوف بشأن بناء "سد النهضة" على النيل. كما ذكر المسؤولون العسكريون المصريون أن عدم فرض روسيا لشروط على مبيعات الأسلحة يجعلها شريكاً أكثر موثوقية من واشنطن، التي حظرت مؤقتاً [تصدير] الأسلحة ريثما يحصل إصلاح سياسي. بيد أن هؤلاء المسؤولين وغيرهم يؤمنون إلى حد بعيد بأن استمرار العلاقة مع الولايات المتحدة - رغم العثرات الأخيرة - يظل مصلحة استراتيجية لمصر، ولا يؤيدون تحولاً كاملاً بعيداً عن واشنطن.

الخاتمة

على الرغم من التطمينات من المسؤولين المصريين، إلا أن صفقة الأسلحة الروسية - حال إتمامها - تنذر بتخفيض تدريجي لقدرة واشنطن على السيطرة على نوعية وكمية الأسلحة التي تحصل عليها القاهرة، وعلى الحفاظ على التفوق العسكري النوعي لإسرائيل في المنطقة. وإذا كانت مصر تنوي في واقع الأمر الحصول على نظم تغير قواعد اللعبة مثل نظام الصواريخ "إس 300" وصواريخ "كورنيت"، ينبغي على واشنطن أن تحذر القاهرة من المخاطر التي تشكلها تلك المشتريات على المساعدات الأمنية الأمريكية والعلاقات الثنائية الأوسع. ويقيناً، إن التعاون الاستراتيجي ومستوى الثقة بين إسرائيل ومصر، وخاصة حول سيناء، لم يكن أفضل مما هو عليه الآن. لكن تغير الوضع القائم قد يقوض من تلك الثقة وربما حتى معاهدة السلام التي تم التوقيع عليها في "كامب ديفيد".

 وعلاوة على ذلك، إن التمويل السعودي لمشتريات الأسلحة المصرية قد أفسد سياسة واشنطن القائمة على ربط المساعدات العسكرية بالإصلاح السياسي. وعلى أي حال، فنظراً لأن القيادة الحالية لمصر ترى أن الصراع مع جماعة «الإخوان» والتمرد الجهادي المتنامي في شبه جزيرة سيناء يشكلان تهديداً وجودياً، فإن مساعي الولايات المتحدة لاستخدام مبيعات الأسلحة كورقة ضغط لاتباع أسلوب أكثر شمولية في الحكم من غير المرجح أن يكتب لها النجاح. وفي حين أن إدارة أوباما قد حالفها الصواب في انتقاد سياسات القاهرة القمعية، فإن استمرار حجب المعونات العسكرية لن يحقق الديمقراطية في مصر، وقد ينطوي على تكاليف قصيرة الأجل لبعض المصالح الاستراتيجية لواشنطن.

 

ديفيد شينكر هو زميل أوفزين ومدير برنامج السياسة العربية في معهد واشنطن. إريك تراجر هو زميل واغنر في المعهد.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 2218

Egypt's Arms Deal with Russia: Potential Strategic Costs

David Schenker and Eric Trager

Also available in العربية

March 4, 2014


Cairo's possible purchase of advanced weapons systems from Russia could become another irritant in U.S.-Egyptian relations.

As the crisis in Ukraine enters its second week, Egyptians are contrasting Washington's support for the popular revolt that toppled President Viktor Yanukovych with U.S. criticism of last year's coup in Cairo. The prevailing sentiment -- reflected in the op-eds of Egypt's leading dailies -- is that America is inconsistent and unreliable.

Last month, this same mistrust of Washington prompted Egyptian military leader Abdul Fattah al-Sisi to choose Russia as the destination of his first visit to a non-Arab country since the July removal of Islamist president Muhammad Morsi. In the wake of that coup, the United States suspended the transfer of some weapons systems to Egypt, spurring Sisi to seek Moscow's help in diversifying the country's sources of military procurement. According to various reports, he inked deals to purchase $2 billion worth of weapons from Russia during the February 12-13 visit. Going forward, those arms sales could erode Israel's qualitative military edge and become yet another irritant in the U.S.-Egyptian relationship.

BACKGROUND

Since 1979, the United States has provided Egypt with nearly $70 billion in funding, more than half of which has gone to purchase American-made military equipment. At $1.3 billion per year, U.S. security-assistance grants account for 80 percent of the Egyptian military's annual procurement budget. In addition to standardizing Cairo's arsenal and enhancing interoperability with U.S. forces, the arms sales give Washington a small degree of policy leverage with -- and insight into -- Egypt's most important and notoriously opaque institution.

At first glance, Cairo's purchase of Russian weapons would seem unnecessary and perhaps risky given America's ongoing financial commitments to Egypt, which have endured since the 1978 Camp David Accords. Yet Washington's post-coup limitations on several key military systems raised the need to seek a supplemental vendor. Among other systems, the Obama administration has put an indefinite hold on the handover of four F-16s, five Harpoon ship-to-ship missile systems, dozens of M1A1 tank kits slated to be assembled in Egypt, and -- most significantly -- ten Apache attack helicopters.

FOCUS ON HELICOPTERS

For Egypt, which is facing a burgeoning Islamist insurgency in the Sinai Peninsula, obtaining additional Apaches is critical. The American helicopters appear to be Cairo's platform of choice in its Sinai counterterrorism campaign, but availability may be a problem. Routine maintenance schedules typically ground more than a third of its existing force of thirty-five Apaches. Complicating matters, Egyptian defense sources note that State Department travel warnings and the sporadic and temporary evacuations of "nonessential" U.S. personnel from Egypt over the past three years have interrupted the crucial ongoing maintenance provided by American contractors.

Details of the February deals with Moscow have not yet been confirmed, but Egyptian press reports indicate that Russian Rostvertol Mi-35 attack helicopters and/or Mi-17 multipurpose helicopters are part of the package. Egypt already has nearly 100 of these aircraft and the older Soviet-era Mi-8 helicopters, which have troop-transport, cargo, signals-intelligence, and attack variants, the latter equipped with 23 mm guns and the capacity to carry 500 kg bombs and antitank guided missiles. Some of these systems are operating in Sinai; in late January, for example, Islamist militants used a man-portable air-defense missile (MANPAD) to shoot down an Mi-17 reportedly on a reconnaissance mission over the peninsula, killing five Egyptian soldiers.

MORE CONTROVERSIAL PROCUREMENTS

Neither Washington nor Israel would likely take issue with the transfer of additional Russian helicopters, since there is broad consensus that Egypt's Sinai counterterror effort might benefit from more such equipment. Yet other items on Egypt's apparent shopping list are more controversial. For example, Cairo is reportedly seeking air-defense systems from Moscow -- potentially including advanced S-300 missiles -- as well as MiG fighter jets and Kornet antitank weapons.

For years, Washington and Israel have successfully pressured Russia not to transfer the S-300 to Iran, fearing its advanced capabilities might preclude a preemptive strike on Iranian nuclear weapons facilities. And in the 2006 Lebanon war, Hezbollah employed Syrian-donated Kornets to great effect against Israeli armor. Clearly, Egypt does not constitute the type of threat represented by Iran and Hezbollah -- Cairo has honored its commitment to peace with Israel for more than three decades. Still, if these platforms are transferred to Egypt, they would degrade Israel's qualitative military edge. And given Egypt's ignominious record of violating the U.S. Arms Control Export Act, the idea that Russian MiG technicians might be co-located at bases with U.S.-made F16s does not inspire confidence.

Another concern is Saudi Arabia's increasing willingness to use its largesse to signal displeasure with Washington. Along with the United Arab Emirates, Riyadh is underwriting Egypt's purchase of Russian munitions. This contribution follows the kingdom's December announcement that it would provide the Lebanese Armed Forces -- most of whose procurement budget was previously underwritten by Washington -- with $3 billion to acquire French weapons. Riyadh's decision to fund $5 billion in Russian and French weapons for traditional U.S. clients is an unmistakable sign of Saudi discontent with U.S. policy on sensitive regional issues, particularly Iran, Syria, and Egypt. Continued U.S.-Saudi discord may enable Cairo to procure unprecedented, highly advanced, and controversial weapons systems despite objections from Washington and Israel.

THE VIEW FROM EGYPT

Egyptian political and military leaders insist that they have no interest in downgrading relations with Washington, and they acknowledge that Egypt cannot immediately replace its reliance on U.S. weapons even if they were so inclined. But the Egyptian media reaction to Sisi's Moscow trip suggests that Cairo has strong support for diversifying its weapons suppliers. Washington's rather limited criticism of the Muslim Brotherhood during its year in power, as well as the intensifying swirl of conspiracy theories about the U.S. role in Egypt, have fostered a severely anti-American political atmosphere that may welcome a shift away from Washington. Moreover, Russian president Vladimir Putin's apparent endorsement of a prospective Sisi presidency has fueled popular enthusiasm for stronger relations with Moscow, particularly among the critical mass of Egyptians who supported the July coup. In some quarters, Sisi's outreach to Russia has been favorably compared to former president Gamal Abdul Nasser's pivot toward the Soviet Union in the 1950s. Indeed, the Egyptian news portal al-Youm al-Sabaa characterized the Russian arms sale as a "rebalancing" of international relations and a "revolution against Washington's policies."

Beyond such populist sentiment, however, some Egyptian analysts view a tilt toward Russia -- even if gradual -- as a reflection of their country's strategic interests. For example, former Egyptian ambassador to Russia and ubiquitous media figure Raouf Saad has argued that the two governments share a common view of terrorism, and that Moscow's close relationship with Ethiopia will help Cairo address concerns regarding the construction of the Renaissance Dam on the Nile. Egyptian military officials have also noted that Russia's absence of conditions on weapons sales makes it a more reliable partner than Washington, which has withheld weapons pending political reform. Still, these and other officials largely believe that a continued relationship with the United States -- notwithstanding its recent hiccups -- remains in Egypt's strategic interest, and they do not advocate a complete shift away from Washington.

CONCLUSION

Despite reassurances from Egyptian officials, the Russian weapons deal -- if concluded -- portends a gradual reduction in Washington's ability to control the quality and quantity of weapons that Cairo receives, and to maintain Israel's qualitative military edge in the region. If Egypt does in fact intend to procure game-changing systems such as the S-300 and the Kornet, Washington should warn Cairo of the risks such an acquisition would pose to U.S. security assistance and the broader bilateral relationship. To be sure, the strategic cooperation and level of trust between Israel and Egypt, particularly on Sinai, has never been better. But changing the status quo could undermine that trust and perhaps even the Camp David peace treaty.

Moreover, Saudi funding of Egyptian weapons procurements has nullified Washington's policy of tying military aid to political reform. In any event, given that Egypt's current leadership views the conflict with the Muslim Brotherhood and the burgeoning jihadist insurgency in Sinai as existential threats, U.S. efforts to leverage weapons sales for more inclusive governance are unlikely to succeed. While the Obama administration is correct in criticizing Cairo's repressive policies, continuing to withhold military aid will not produce democracy in Egypt, and may carry short-term costs for some of Washington's strategic interests.

David Schenker is the Aufzien Fellow and director of the Program on Arab Politics at The Washington Institute. Eric Trager is the Institute's Wagner Fellow.