أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

تنبيه سياسي

استطلاع جديد يكشف انفتاحاً مفاجئاً على أبرز سياسات ترامب في صفوف المصريين

ديفيد بولوك

متاح أيضاً في English

12 تشرين الأول/أكتوبر 2017


في الوقت الذي يطرح فيه الرئيس الأمريكي دونالد ترامب خطته لمواجهة إيران، يُظهر استطلاع جديد موثوق في مصر أنّ هذا الموقف يتحلى بدرجة ملحوظة من الدعم الشعبي في هذه الدولة العربية الأكثر اكتظاظاً بالسكان، حيث لا يُصنِّف سوى 1% من المصريين سياسات إيران الإقليمية بشكل إيجابي. أمّا فيما يخص النزاع المستمر بين البلدان العربية مع قطر، فيوافق ثلثا المشاركين في الاستطلاع أنّ "القضية الأهم" تبقى "التوصل إلى أٌقصى درجة من التعاون العربي ضد إيران".

كما ونال حلفاء طهران في المنطقة الذين تستهدفهم أيضاً العقوبات الأمريكية الجديدة حصةً من التعليقات السيئة بأغلبية ساحقة، حيث أعرب 91% من المصريين عن رفضهم لـ «حزب الله» في تحوّل كبير في الصورة المجيدة للحزب التي تمتع بها مباشرةً بعد حربه مع إسرائيل في [تموز/يوليو] 2006. كما وأعربت النسبة العالية نفسها عن وجهة نظر سلبية لحوثيي [«أنصار الله»]، وهي الحركة المحببة لإيران في الحرب الأهلية اليمنية المستمرة.

وعلاوة على ذلك، لم تقل سوى نسبة 14% من الذين شملهم الاستطلاع إنّه من "المهم بعض الشيء" أن تتحلى مصر بعلاقات جيدة مع إيران، في حين أعارت نسبة 56% "أهميةً" للروابط الجيدة مع الولايات المتحدة. ويساعد هذا التناقض الصارخ في النظر إلى مشاعر مصر المعادية للولايات المتحدة من المنظور الصحيح. فبينما ترفض غالبية الجمهور المصري سياسات الولايات المتحدة بشكل عام، إلّا أنها تقدّر بشكل واضح قيمة إقامة روابط رسمية مرضية مع واشنطن.

ورداً على سؤال اختيار الأولوية القصوى بالنسبة إليهم فيما يخص السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط، فقد اختار 13٪ فقط من المصريين "الحد من تدخل الولايات المتحدة في المنطقة". وقد شكل خيار الأكثرية، 36% من المشاركين، مجال توافق آخر مع ما تُركز عليه سياسة ترامب، وهو "توسيع دورها الناشط في محاربة تنظيمي «الدولة الإسلامية» و «القاعدة» والجماعات الإرهابية المماثلة". وقد تبع ذلك بنسبة 33% القريبة جداً سياسة أخرى معلَنة للولايات المتحدة، وهي "الضغط أكثر باتجاه التوصل إلى حل للصراع الفلسطيني-الإسرائيلي".

وفي هذا الصدد، يؤيد المصريون بشدة نظرة إدارة ترامب المختلفة لموضوع صنع السلام، إذ يوافق 72% على أنه "يجدر بالدول العربية أن تؤديَ دوراً جديداً في محادثات السلام الفلسطينية-الإسرائيلية، من خلال تقديم حوافز لكلا الجانبين ليعتمدا مواقف أكثر اعتدالاً". وبإمكان الجهود الدبلوماسية التي تبذلها مصر نفسها من أجل التوسّط في الترتيبات الأمنية الجديدة في قطاع غزة، إلى جانب المصالحة الفلسطينية المحتملة بشروط معتدلة نسبياً، أن تتناسب تماماً مع هذا الإطار.

وقد أعربت الأغلبية في مجتمعات عربية أخرى عن مستويات دعم مماثلة غير متوقعة في هذه المسألة. ولكن، ما يثير الدهشة فعلاً بشأن البيانات المصرية هو الأقلية الكبيرة نسبياً التي أعربت عن موافقتها على اقتراح مثير جداً للجدل حول إسرائيل، حتى من دون أي محادثات سلام، وهو أنّه "على الرغم من الخلافات بين الدول العربية، عليها أن تعمل مع إسرائيل حول مسائل أخرى مثل التكنولوجيا ومكافحة الإرهاب واحتواء إيران". وقد بلغت نسبة المصريين الذين يوافقون على الأقل "بعض الشيء" على هذا التصريح نسبة 29%، وذلك أكثر مما سجّله أي استطلاع عربي آخر أجري مؤخراً. وفي هذا الإطار أيضاً، قد يكون الوقت قد حان لإعادة النظر في عداء الشعب المصري تجاه منافسيه القدامى والبحث عن فرص جديدة لبناء جسور خلّاقة مع الولايات المتحدة.

بيد، يسلّط الاستطلاع أيضاًيسلّط الضوء على أحد المجالات المثيرة للقلق: ففي ظل الركود الاقتصادي والسياسي في الداخل المصري، لا يعتبر المصريون أن أي من القضايا المذكورة أعلاه تشكل أولويةً قصوى، بل يوافق 82% على أنّه "في الوقت الحالي، يتحلى الإصلاح السياسي والاقتصادي الداخلي بأهمية أكبر للبلاد من أي قضية تتعلق بالسياسة الخارجية".

وفي هذا السياق، لا يزال 29% من المصريين يعبّرون عن تعاطفهم مع جماعة «الإخوان المسلمين» بشكل خفي، على الرغم من أن الجماعة محظورة رسمياً باعتبارها تنظيماً إرهابياً. ولم يتغيّر هذا العدد الكبير إحصائياً منذ الاستطلاع السابق الذي أُجري قبل عامين. وتساعد هذه النتيجة في تفسير القلق المستمر للحكومة المصرية بشأن الاستقرار الداخلي قبل كل شيء - ولكنه يشير أيضاً إلى أنّ المعارضة العلنية للرئيس المصري عبد الفتاح السيسي غير قادرة على حشد أي دعم من قبل الغالبية العظمى من المصريين.

وفي الوقت نفسه، شهد العامان الماضيان ارتفاعاً متواضعاً في نسبة المصريين المؤيدين لفكرة أنّه "يجب الإصغاء لمن يحاول من بيننا تفسير الإسلام على ضوء أكثر اعتدالاً وتسامحاً وحداثة". وفيما قد يكون بشرى أمل أو على الأقل علامة استقرار، أصبحت الموافقة على هذه الفكرة تبلغ الآن 30%.

ملاحظة حول المنهجية: تم إجراء هذه الدراسة الاستقصائية في آب/أغسطس من قبل شركة تجارية إقليمية ذات سمعة طيبة، من خلال مقابلات وجهاً لوجه مع عينة عشوائية مؤلفة من ألف مصري ممثلة على الصعيد الوطني ومراعية للانتشار الجغرافي. ويبلغ هامش الخطأ الإحصائي حوالى 3٪. ونظراً إلى المنهجية المهنية المعتمدة، وصياغة الأسئلة المحايدة، والضمانات الصارمة للسرية، توفّر هذه النتائج صورةً مفصلة، وذات مصداقية، وفي الوقت المناسب عن الرأي العام المصري اليوم على نحوٍ غير معتاد.

 

ديفيد بولوك هو زميل "كوفمان" ومدير "منتدى فكرة" في معهد واشنطن.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

Policy Alert

Egyptians Surprisingly Open to Key Trump Policies, New Poll Shows

David Pollock

Also available in العربية

October 12, 2017


From countering Iran and its proxies to working directly with Israel, Egyptian survey respondents seem remarkably willing to follow Washington's lead on multiple regional issues.

As President Trump rolls out his plan for confronting Iran, a credible new poll in Egypt reveals that this posture enjoys a remarkable degree of public support in the most populous Arab country. A mere 1% of Egyptians rate Iran's regional policies favorably, and in the ongoing intra-Arab dispute with Qatar, two-thirds agree that "the most important issue" is "to find the maximum degree of Arab cooperation against Iran."

Tehran's regional allies, likewise the target of new U.S. sanctions, receive overwhelmingly bad reviews as well, with 91% of Egyptians voicing disapproval of Hezbollah -- a stunning reversal of the group's glorious image right after its 2006 war with Israel. The same high proportion express a negative view of the Houthis, Iran's favored party in the continuing Yemeni civil war.

Moreover, a mere 14% say that it is even "somewhat important" for Egypt to have good relations with Iran, while 56% call good ties with the United States "important." This stark contrast helps put Egypt's fabled anti-American sentiment in proper perspective. While the public mostly disapproves of U.S. policy overall, they also clearly value satisfactory official ties with Washington.

Asked to pick their top priority for U.S. policy in the Middle East, just 13% of Egyptians select "Reduce its interference in the region." The plurality choice, at 36%, is another area of agreement with Trump's policy emphasis: "Expand its active role in fighting the Islamic State, al-Qaeda, and similar terrorist groups." Very close behind, at 33%, is one more signature U.S. declaratory policy: "Push harder to resolve the Palestinian-Israeli conflict."

In that connection, Egyptians are solidly behind a Trump administration variation on the peacemaking theme: 72% agree that "Arab states should play a new role in Palestinian-Israeli peace talks, offering both sides incentives to take more moderate positions." Egypt's own diplomatic efforts to broker new Gaza security arrangements, along with possible Palestinian reconciliation on relatively moderate terms, could fit well into this framework.

Majorities in other Arab societies have offered similarly unexpected levels of support on this issue. Yet what is truly surprising about the Egyptian data is the relatively large minority who express agreement with a highly controversial proposition about Israel, even without any peace talks: namely, that "despite their differences, Arab states should work with Israel on other issues like technology, counterterrorism, and containing Iran." A full 29% of Egyptians, more than in any other recent Arab poll, agree at least "somewhat" with that statement. In this area, too, it may be time to reconsider Egypt's popular animosity toward old rivals and look for new opportunities for creative American bridge-building.

Yet the poll also highlights one area of concern: at a time of economic and political stagnation at home, Egyptians do not see any of the above issues as a top priority. Rather, 82% agree that "right now, internal political and economic reform is more important for our country than any foreign policy issue."

In that context, 29% of Egyptians still voice some sympathy for the Muslim Brotherhood in private, even though it is officially outlawed as a terrorist organization. That remarkable number is statistically unchanged since the previous poll two years ago. This finding helps explain the Egyptian government's continuing concern over internal stability above all -- but also suggests that overt opposition to President Abdul Fattah al-Sisi would not muster anywhere near majority support.

At the same time, the past two years have witnessed a modest rise in the proportion of Egyptians who say that "we should listen to those among us who are trying to interpret Islam in a more moderate, tolerant, and modern direction." In what may be a hopeful or at least stabilizing sign, agreement with that idea now stands at 30%.

A note on methodology: This survey was conducted in August by a reputable regional commercial firm, using face-to-face interviews among a nationally representative, geographic probability sample of 1,000 Egyptians. The statistical margin of error is approximately 3%. Given the professional methodology, neutral question wording, and strict assurances of confidentiality, these findings provide an unusually detailed, timely, and credible portrait of Egyptian public opinion today.

David Pollock is the Kaufman Fellow at The Washington Institute and director of Project Fikra.