أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 2008

مصر على شفا الهاوية (مرة أخرى)

ستيفن كوك, اريك تراجر, و شالوم كوهين

متاح أيضاً في English

19 كانون الأول/ديسمبر 2012


"في 14 كانون الأول/ديسمبر، 2012، خاطب ستيفن كوك، إريك تراغر، وشالوم  كوهين منتدى سياسي في معهد واشنطن. والدكتور كوك هو زميل أقدم في زمالة حسيب جيه. صباغ لدراسات الشرق الأوسط في "مجلس العلاقات الخارجية" ومؤلف كتاب "النضال من أجل مصر" (2011). والسيد تراغر هو زميل الجيل القادم في المعهد، ويكتب حالياً أطروحته عن جماعة «الإخوان المسلمين» في مصر. والسيد كوهين، هو دبلوماسي مقيم سابق في زمالة باي في المعهد، وشغل منصب سفير إسرائيل في مصر بين عامي 2005 و 2010. وفيما يلي ملخص المقررة لملاحظاتهم."

 

ستيفن كوك

منذ أوائل القرن العشرين لم يكن هناك حزب مصري قادر على تلبية مطالب الشعب في الحصول على العدالة الاجتماعية، وإيجاد حكومة ممثلة والتمتع بكرامة وطنية. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، ما تزال الأسئلة الجوهرية دون إجابة بشأن المبادئ وتنظيم الحكومة، والأكثر أهمية، العلاقة بين الدين والدولة. ومنذ الإطاحة بحسني مبارك فشل «الإخوان المسلمون» بصورة مشابهة في معالجة تلك المسائل بطريقة تحدث أثراً في المصريين.

يعتقد «الإخوان» أنهم يعرفون ما هو الأصلح للبلاد، كما أن المحادثات الماضية مع أعضاء "حزب الحرية والعدالة" - الذراع السياسي لـ «الجماعة» - قد تنبأت باستيلاء الرئيس محمد مرسي على السلطة مؤخراً. وفي وقت سابق من هذا العام، صرح بعض الأعضاء أنه لو كان باستطاعتهم التخلص من بقايا النظام أو أجزاء من البيروقراطية، فإنهم سيكونون قادرين على تحقيق التحول في البلاد بين عشية وضحاها. وهذا بالضبط هو ما حاول «الإخوان المسلمون» فعله في الثاني والعشرين من تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر، عندما منح مرسي نفسه سلطات جديدة. وعلى الرغم من أن «الجماعة» قد رأت هذه الخطوة بمثابة عمل ثوري إلا أن شكل ومضمون قرار مرسي كانا على غرار ما كان يفعله مبارك.

وسوف يؤكد الجهد اللاحق لتمرير دستور جديد استمرار عدم الاستقرار نظراً لمحتوى مشروع مسودة الدستور وإصرار «الإخوان» على الدفع به من خلال إجراء استفتاء عام، وعودة ظهور حركة معارضة حقيقية على المستويات الشعبية التي فهمت قوة المظاهرات. ومع ذلك، فمن المرجح أن تتم الموافقة على الاستفتاء، ولكن «الإخوان» قد استهانوا بمدى رد الفعل الذي سينتج عن طريقة تصرفهم.

وعلى الرغم من أن مصر تدخل الآن مرحلة جديدة سيمثل فيها الليبراليون مع بقايا النظام المصدر الرئيسي لمعارضة «الإخوان»، إلا أن المعركة الأوثق صلة من أجل السلطة ربما تكمن بين القوى الإسلامية في البلاد، ولا سيما السلفيون و«الإخوان». فالتعديلات الدستورية التي تخص الشريعة الإسلامية هي مصدر النزاع الرئيسي بين هذه الفصائل وسوف تخلق توتراً سياسياً يصل مداه إلى المؤسسة الدينية.

وكالعادة، فإن الطريقة الوحيدة لبسط السيطرة السياسية في مثل هذا الصراع هي عبر التهديدات والعنف رغم أنه من غير الواضح من سيقوم بتنفيذ إجراءات كهذه في هذه الحالة. فلم تعد للجيش مصلحة في التورط ما لم يتعرض التماسك الاجتماعي للتهديد. وقد اتضح ذلك عندما قام مرسي بتنحية قادة المجلس العسكري الحاكم - المشير محمد حسين طنطاوي وسامي عنان - في 12 آب/أغسطس، وكفل للقادة الجدد حصانة وترقيات والتحرر من عبء حكم مصر بشكل يومي. وحيث إن الجيش لن ينزل إلى الشارع ما لم يكن العنف الهائل وشيكاً، تبقى المعركة حينئذ بين المعارضة و«الإخوان».

وأما الدور الأمريكي في هذا الموقف فهو المجاهرة بلا تردد ضد المبادئ غير الديمقراطية. وقد وقفت الولايات المتحدة على الجانب الصحيح من التاريخ أثناء الانتفاضة ضد مبارك، لذا فلزاماً عليها اليوم الوقوف من أجل الديمقراطية والتسامح واللاعنف والمساءلة وتطبيق القانون على قدم المساواة. ومع ذلك، لا يرى المصريون الولايات المتحدة قوة خيرة ولذا فإن قطع المساعدات أو وضع شروط لها قد يكون ذات نتائج عكسية. وعندئذ، فإن السياسة الأهم هي تجنب التضحية أو المساس بالمبادئ التي تمثل أمريكا.

 

إريك تراغر

تقدم الأزمة الدستورية في مصر ثلاثة دروس عن «الإخوان المسلمين» وطريقة عملهم. أولاً، تسعى «الجماعة» بقوة إلى المصادقة على دستور جديد - وهو هدف قائم منذ فترة طويلة تراه «الجماعة» أساسياً لإضفاء الشرعية على مشروعها السياسي. ثانياً، ينسق «الإخوان» سياستهم وخطواتهم مع مرسي، والعكس بالعكس. ثالثاً، إن مرسي ليس من النوع التصالحي.

لقد سعى «الإخوان» إلى إقامة دستور إسلامي منذ انعقاد مؤتمرهم الخامس عام 1938، ويمثل هذا الهدف أيضاً مكوناً رئيسياً في "مشروع النهضة"، الذي هو برنامج "حزب الحرية والعدالة" من أجل مصر. وفي مقابلة في آب/أغسطس 2010، ادعى مرسي أن الدساتير هي آلية لتحقيق "الحرية". ومع ذلك، فالحرية بالنسبة لـ «الإخوان المسلمين» تعني وجود دولة إسلامية. فهم يرون أي نظام غير إسلامي على أنه مفروض وبالتالي ليس حراً. وحتى لو تم تمرير الاستفتاء الحالي بهامش ضيق فقط، فسيعتقد «الإخوان» أن لديهم التفويض اللازم لمواصلة الانطلاق ببرنامجهم رغم الاعتراضات من المعارضة التي يزيد صخبها يوماً بعد يوم.

وقد أبرزت الأزمة أيضاً التنسيق القوي والمباشر القائم بين «الإخوان» ومرسي. وهذا ليس شيئاً جديداً: فسابقاً اختارت «الجماعة» قائمة من المرشحين الذين عيّن مرسي من بينهم محافظين ورؤساء وسائل الإعلام التي هي تحت سيطرة الدولة، ومؤخراً ادعى أحد مساعديه السابقين أن الرئيس يدير "كل كلمة" وسياسة عن طريق نائب المرشد العام لـ جماعة «الإخوان» خيرت الشاطر. وينسق مرسي وقيادة «الإخوان» حالياً حشد الكوادر لتأييد تحركاته الأخيرة، بما في ذلك استخدام العنف ضد المتظاهرين من المعارضة أمام قصر الرئاسة في 5 كانون الأول/ديسمبر. وعشية ذلك الهجوم التقى أعضاء "مكتب الإرشاد" لـ جماعة «الأخوان» في منزل مرسي في إحدى ضواحي القاهرة لتخطيط ردهم على الاحتجاجات - وهذه حقيقة تم تأكيدها عبر المكالمات الهاتفية مع ثلاثة من القادة الذين كانوا حاضرين.

وأما عما ظهر من كون مرسي ليس من النوع التصالحي فإن هذا لا يمثل مفاجأة بالنظر إلى خلفيته. فقد كان في الفترة ما بين 2007 و 2011 تقريباً، المنفذ الداخلي لـ «جماعة الإخوان»، المسؤول عن طرد الأعضاء الذين خالفوا التكتيكات أو الأيديولوجية المتشددة لـ «الجماعة». وقد كان أيضاً نقطة الاتصال الرئيسية لنظام مبارك مع «الإخوان»، وهو الدور الذي حازه بفضل قدرته على اتباع خطى «الجماعة» دون التنازل عن أي شيء.

وبالمثل، كان مرسي غير راغب في التراجع عن موقفه في الأزمة الحالية، حتى على الرغم من أن الكثيرين من مساعديه من غير «الإخوان» قد خرجوا من فريقه الاستشاري، ومؤيدين سابقين انتقدوا تصرفاته. على سبيل المثال، فإن زعيم حركة "6 أبريل" المعارضة، أحمد ماهر، قد دعمه بقوة خلال الجولة الثانية من الانتخابات الرئاسية وانضم إلى هيئة يسيطر عليها «الإخوان» أنيطت بها مهمة كتابة مشروع مسودة الدستور الجديد. لكنه وبعد أن انتقد الدستور المتعجل الذي أصدره مرسي في 22 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر، تعرض للجحود من جانب «الإخوان» واتهموه بقيادة "بلطجية" في احتجاجات خارج قصر الرئاسة.

وحالياً، لا تضغط إدارة أوباما على مرسي لأنها لا ترى بديلاً له. وتعتقد أيضاً أن علاقة العمل الجيدة مع مرسي التي قويت خلال مفاوضات وقف إطلاق النار في غزة تمثل أفضل مصدر للنفوذ. غير أن "الربيع العربي" قد أظهر أنه حتى الأنظمة التي تبدو ظاهرياً مستقرة يمكن أن تصبح غير مستقرة بشكل سريع جداً، وهو ما يفسر السبب في أهمية الانخراط بشكل أوسع بدلاً من دعم انتزاع السلطة من قبل أحد الحكام. وعلاوة على ذلك، لا ينبغي أن تتوقع الإدارة الأمريكية أن علاقات مرسي التي يُفترض كونها جيدة مع أوباما ستجعل مرسي مصطفاً مع الولايات المتحدة. فقد أظهر مراراً أنه لن يأبه بحلفائه السابقين، وذلك لتعزيز أجندة «الإخوان» القائمة منذ فترة طويلة. وهو على الأرجح سيفعل الشيء نفسه مع واشنطن بمجرد أن يبدأ في اتباع الأهداف السياسية الخارجية لـ «الجماعة».

 

شالوم كوهين

لم يبدأ "الربيع العربي" قبل عامين في تونس، بل بدأ حقاً منذ أسابيع قليلة فقط في مصر. فالاحتجاجات الأخيرة في البلاد تمثل جوهر الديمقراطية، حيث هناك تياران سياسيان يتصارعان على الهيمنة. وهذا الصراع هو التعبير الحقيقي لـ "الربيع العربي".

وللمرة الأولى في التاريخ العربي الحديث، لم يدعم الجيش النظام، كما أن المواطنين يتمتعون الآن بالحرية في التعبير عن أنفسهم دون خوف من القمع العسكري. وذلك يترك العالم العربي مع نوعين من المجتمعات: تلك التي لديها حقوق وحريات سياسية، وأخرى التي ما تزال تعيش في ظل أنظمة استبدادية ودول بوليسية. والخطوة الأولى نحو الحرية هي بداية رحلة ستستغرق عدة سنوات للاكتمال، لكنها ستنتهي بعالم عربي مختلف عما نعرفه الآن.

لقد جاء الرئيس مرسي إلى السلطة مدعياً أنه سيهتم بجميع المصريين. ومع ذلك، فعلى مدى الأشهر الخمسة الماضية استمرت حالة البلاد في التدهور. فالنظام أكثر تركيزاً على "الأخونة" من على الشعب. ولو كان قد فهم الطبيعة الكاملة للتطلعات السياسية للشعب بصورة أفضل لكان قد تصرف على نحو مختلف. وعوضاً عن ذلك، لا يواجه النظام الكثير من الصراع ضد مرسي نفسه، بل معركة أوسع ضد طغيان جديد.

ومن جانبها فإن إسرائيل لديها مبدآن صارمان يوجهان سياستها نحو مصر الجديدة. الأول هو عدم التدخل في السياسة الداخلية للدول المجاورة - فمنذ الاطاحة بمبارك، امتنعت الحكومة الإسرائيلية عن الإدلاء بأي تصريحات في وسائل الإعلام أو المحافل الدولية التي يمكن أن ينظر إليها على أنها تدخل إسرائيلي في الحياة السياسية في مصر. والثاني تأكيد إسرائيل على أهمية الحفاظ على معاهدة السلام، وانتهاز أية فرصة لتكرار هذا الموقف علناً وسراً.

وحتى الآن لم تتضرر العلاقة الإسرائيلية المصرية مادياً جراء التغير الذي حدث في الأنظمة، على الأقل على مستوى العمل، حيث يستمر الحوار والعلاقات اليومية بين مسؤولي الدفاع والشؤون الخارجية والاستخبارات في البلدين. ومع ذلك، لا يمكن القول الشيء نفسه عن أعلى مستويات الحكومة حيث لا يوجد حوار بين مرسي والقادة الإسرائيليين حول القضايا الثنائية أو النزاع الإسرائيلي- الفلسطيني. ونظراً لهذا الوضع فإنه يجب على إسرائيل أن تظل يقظة لضمان أن القاهرة تنتهج نهجاً عملياً تجاه العلاقات الثنائية، خاصة فيما يتعلق بمعاهدة السلام.

 

أعدت هذا الملخص المقررة هبة دفاشي.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 2008

Egypt on the Brink (Again)

Steven Cook, Eric Trager, and Shalom Cohen

Also available in العربية

December 19, 2012


On December 14, 2012, Steven Cook, Eric Trager, and Shalom Cohen addressed a Policy Forum at The Washington Institute. Dr. Cook is the Hasib J. Sabbagh senior fellow for Middle Eastern studies at the Council on Foreign Relations and author of The Struggle for Egypt (2011). Mr. Trager, the Institute's Next Generation fellow, is completing his dissertation on Egypt's Muslim Brotherhood. Mr. Cohen, the Institute's former Baye diplomat-in-residence, served as Israel's ambassador to Egypt from 2005 to 2010. The following is a rapporteur's summary of their remarks.

STEVEN COOK

Since the early twentieth century, no Egyptian party has been able to meet the people's demands for social justice, representative government, and national dignity. In addition, fundamental questions remain unanswered regarding the principles and organization of government and, more critically, the relationship between religion and state. Since Hosni Mubarak's ouster, the Muslim Brotherhood has similarly failed to address these questions in a way that makes sense to Egyptians.

The Brotherhood believes it knows what is best for the country, and past conversations with members of the group's Freedom and Justice Party (FJP) foreshadowed President Muhammad Morsi's recent power grab. Earlier this year, some members declared that if they could get rid of regime remnants or parts of the bureaucracy, they would be able to transform the country overnight. This is exactly what the Brotherhood tried to do on November 22, when Morsi granted himself new powers. Although the group viewed the move as a revolutionary act, the form and content of Morsi's decree was similar to what Mubarak used to do.

The subsequent effort to pass a new constitution will ensure continued instability given the content of the draft charter, the Brotherhood's determination to push it through via public referendum, and the reemergence of a genuine grassroots opposition movement that has learned the power of demonstrations. The referendum is still likely to pass, but the Brotherhood underestimated the extent of the backlash that its way of doing business would invite.

Although Egypt is entering a new stage in which liberals and regime remnants will be the Brotherhood's primary opposition, the more pertinent battle for power may lie between the country's Islamist forces, particularly the Salafists and the Brotherhood. The constitutional amendments that touch on Islamic law are a major source of conflict between these factions and will produce political turbulence that pulls in the religious establishment.

Typically, the only way to establish political control in such a struggle is through threats and violence, though it is unclear who would carry out such measures in this case. The military has no interest in getting involved unless social cohesion is threatened. This was made clear on August 12, when Morsi dismissed the leaders of the ruling military council, Field Marshal Muhammad Hussein Tantawi and Sami Anan, and guaranteed the new commanders immunity, promotions, and freedom from the burden of governing Egypt on a day-to-day basis. Since the military will not take to the street unless major violence is imminent, the battle remains between the opposition and the Brotherhood.

The U.S. role in this situation is to speak out against antidemocratic principles. America stood on the right side of history during the uprising against Mubarak, so it is incumbent to stand up for democracy, tolerance, nonviolence, accountability, and equal application of the law today. Egyptians do not see Washington as a benevolent power, however, so cutting or conditioning aid may be counterproductive. The most important policy, then, is to avoid sacrificing or compromising the principles that America represents.

ERIC TRAGER

Egypt's constitutional crisis offers three lessons about the Muslim Brotherhood and how it works. First, the group is deeply invested in ratifying a new charter -- a longtime goal that it views as essential to legitimizing its political project. Second, the Brotherhood coordinates with Morsi, and vice versa. Third, Morsi is not a compromiser.

The Brotherhood has sought an Islamic constitution since its fifth conference in 1938, and this goal is also a key component of the "Nahda Project," the FJP's "renaissance" platform for Egypt. In an August 2010 interview, Morsi claimed that constitutions are a mechanism for achieving "freedom." For the Brotherhood, however, "freedom" means having an Islamic state, since it views any non-Islamic system as imposed and therefore not free. Even if the current referendum passes by only a narrow margin, the Brotherhood will believe that it has the necessary mandate to continuing ramming its program through, despite objections from an increasingly vociferous opposition.

The crisis has also highlighted the strong, direct coordination between the Brotherhood and Morsi. This is nothing new: the group previously selected the list of candidates from which Morsi appointed governors and state media chiefs, and one of his former aides recently claimed that the president runs "every word" and policy by Brotherhood deputy chairman Khairat al-Shater. Morsi and the Brotherhood leadership are now coordinating on mobilizing cadres to support his latest moves, including the use of violence against opposition protesters in front of the presidential palace on December 5. The evening before the attack, members of the group's Guidance Office met at Morsi's home in a Cairo suburb to plan their response to the protests -- a fact confirmed via phone conversations with three of the leaders in attendance.

As for the revelation that Morsi is not a compromiser, it is hardly surprising given his background. From approximately 2007 to 2011, he was the Brotherhood's internal enforcer, responsible for dismissing members who disagreed with the group's hardline ideology or tactics. He was also the Mubarak regime's main point of contact with the Brotherhood -- a role he was given because of his ability to toe the group's line without conceding anything.

Morsi has been similarly unwilling to back down in the current crisis, even as many non-Brotherhood aides defect from his advisory team and former supporters criticize his actions. For example, Ahmed Maher, the leader of the opposition "April 6" movement, actively supported him during the second round of the presidential election and joined the Brotherhood-dominated body tasked with drafting the new constitution. But after he criticized Morsi's November 22 decree and the rushed constitution, the Brotherhood threw him under the bus, accusing him of leading "thugs" in protests outside the presidential palace.

Currently, the Obama administration is not pressing Morsi because it sees no alternative to him. It also believes that the president's good working relationship with Morsi, forged during the Gaza ceasefire negotiations, is its best leverage. Yet the Arab Spring showed that even seemingly stable regimes can become unstable very quickly, which is why it is important to engage broadly rather than backing one ruler's power grab. Moreover, the administration should not expect that Morsi's supposedly good relations with Obama will keep him aligned with the United States. He has demonstrated repeatedly that he will run roughshod over former allies in order to advance the Brotherhood's longtime agenda, and he will likely do the same to Washington once he begins pursuing the group's foreign policy aims.

SHALOM COHEN

The Arab Spring did not begin two years ago in Tunisia; it truly began only a few weeks ago in Egypt. The country's latest protests represent the essence of democracy, with two political currents struggling for predominance. This struggle is the true expression of the Arab Spring.

For the first time in modern Arab history, the army did not support the regime, and citizens now have the freedom to express themselves without fear of military crackdown. This leaves the Arab world with two types of societies: those that have political rights and freedoms, and those that still live under tyrannical or police-state regimes. This first step toward freedom is the beginning of a journey that will take many years to complete, but will end with a different Arab world than we know now.

President Morsi came to power claiming that he would care for all Egyptians. Over the past five months, however, the country's condition has continued to deteriorate. The regime is more focused on "Ikhwanization" than on the people -- if it had better understood the full nature of the people's political aspirations, it would have done things differently. Instead, it faces not so much a struggle against Morsi himself, but a wider battle against a new tyranny.

For its part, Israel has two strict principles that guide its policy toward the new Egypt. The first is noninterference in the internal politics of neighboring countries -- since Mubarak's ouster, the Israeli government has refrained from making any statements in the media or international forums that may be seen as interfering in Egypt's political life. Second, Israel has emphasized the importance of maintaining the peace treaty, taking every opportunity to reiterate this position publicly and privately.

Thus far, the Israeli-Egyptian relationship has not suffered materially from the change in regimes, at least at the working level -- dialogue and day-to-day relations continue between the two countries' defense, foreign affairs, and intelligence officials. However, the same cannot be said at the highest level of government, where there is no direct dialogue between Morsi and Israeli leaders on bilateral issues or the Israeli-Palestinian conflict. Given this state of affairs, Israel must remain vigilant to ensure that Cairo takes a pragmatic approach toward bilateral relations, especially regarding the peace treaty.

This rapporteur's summary was prepared by Heba Dafashy.

Watch this event on C-SPAN.org.