أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 2789

هل تحتاج مصر إلى اتفاقية تجارة حرة مع الولايات المتحدة؟

هيثم حسنين

متاح أيضاً في English

24 نيسان/أبريل 2017


خلال الزيارة التى قام بها الرئيس المصري عبد الفتاح السيسي مؤخراً إلى الولايات المتحدة، شدّد على الوضع الاقتصادي السيئ فى بلاده، من بين أولويات اخرى، والحاجة المقابلة للمساعدة الأمريكية فى تحقيق الاستقرار في الاقتصاد. ولتحقيق هذه الغاية، دعا السيسي ومختلف الوفود التي انضمت إليه إلى إحياء الشراكات التجارية مع الولايات المتحدة، بما فيها احتمال توسيع اتفاق التجارة الحرّة بين الولايات المتحدة ومصر.

وفي المحادثات الثنائية حول هذا الموضوع، التي من المحتمل أن تجري في موعد قريب، يجب على الولايات المتحدة أن تؤكد على أهمية "المناطق الصناعية المؤهلة"، التي تشير إلى المواقع الصناعية في مصر التي تستفيد من اتفاقات التجارة الحرّة مع إسرائيل. وبالفعل، سيتعيّن على مصر زيادة إمكانيات هذه المناطق الصناعية المؤهلة إلى أقصى حدّ ممكن. وفي حين تشكّل الأقمشة الجزء الأكبر من المنتجات المصرية التي تدخل الولايات المتحدة اليوم، يمكن إضافة مجموعة من السلع الجديدة إلى القائمة إذا استفادت مصر من "المناطق الصناعية المؤهلة" بشكل كامل. غير أن المصريين لم يكونوا مستعدين لاتخاذ مثل هذه الخطوة بسبب المخاوف التي تساورهم إزاء توطيد العلاقات بين الشركات المصرية والإسرائيلية.

وللوهلة الأولى، قد ينظر المصريون إلى اتفاق التجارة الحرّة كخيار أكثر جاذبية من مجرد تعزيز استخدام "المناطق الصناعية المؤهلة". وبالفعل، من شأن مثل هذا الاتفاق أن يزيد قدرة الأسواق المصرية على دخول السوق الأمريكي الأكبر حجماً، مما يعزز صادراتها. غير أن تحليلاً أكثر دقة يُظهر أن نحو 45 في المائة من الصادرات المصرية إلى الولايات المتحدة تمر أساساً عبر "المناطق الصناعية المؤهلة"، في حين يتمّ تأمين الصادرات الأخرى عبر وسائل بديلة. والأهم من ذلك، أنه من أجل الوفاء بشروط اتفاق التجارة الحرّة، سيتعين على مصر إجراء تعديلات مكلفة لأن البنية التحتية المؤسسية للبلاد غير مهيأة لها. وعلى سبيل المقارنة، ففيما يتعلق بمنشأ المنتجات، تسمح القواعد المرنة لـ "المناطق الصناعية المؤهلة" بواردات سخية من الأقمشة، بما فيها الملابس الجاهزة، فضلاً عن السلع الأخرى.

ووفقاً لأحدث الإحصاءات الصادرة عن موقع "مكتب الممثل التجاري الأمريكي" على شبكة الإنترنت، بلغت الصادرات المصرية إلى السوق الأمريكية ما مجموعه 1.6 مليار دولار في عام 2013. وبصرف النظر عن الأقمشة والملابس الجاهزة الخاضعة للمعاملة التفضيلية في "المناطق الصناعية المؤهلة - التي تشكل نسبة الـ 45 في المائة المذكورة آنفاً - تشمل الصادرات الرئيسية الأخرى النفط والحديد والصلب. وتتمتع هذه المنتجات أيضاً بإمكانية الوصول إلى التجارة الحرّة أو لديها ترتيبات خاصة لدخول السوق. فضلاً عن ذلك، يوفر برنامج التجارة الأمريكي الذي يُعرف باسم "نظام التفضيل العمومي" بدلات إعفاء من الرسوم الجمركية [لبعض] السلع المؤهلة مثل المجوهرات والمنتجات الزراعية والمواد الكيميائية والمعادن والرخام والسجاد، على الرغم من أن هذه النسبة لا تمثل سوى 4.8 في المائة من إجمالي الصادرات المصرية إلى الولايات المتحدة.

عقبات أمام اتفاق تجاري بين الولايات المتحدة ومصر

استناداً إلى السلع التي تحظى بمعاملة تفضيلية حالية فقط - سواء من خلال "المناطق الصناعية المؤهلة" (الأقمشة في الوقت الحاضر) أو "نظام التفضيل العمومي" (مثل المنتجات الغذائية أو المفروشات المنزلية) أو طبيعة التصدير (مثل النفط) - من الواضح أنه لا يجدر بالولايات المتحدة التوقيع على اتفاقية تجارة حرّة مع مصر. فآليات التجارة المفتوحة قائمة أساساً. وعلاوةً على ذلك، تشير الديناميات المصرية الداخلية إلى أن مصر ستعجز عن تلبية الشروط الأمريكية التي يتطلّبها مثل هذا الاتفاق، المنتشر في حوالي خمسة مجالات.

أولاً، يسعى المستثمرون الأمريكيون إلى تحقيق الكفاءة، وليس فقط إلى بيئات إنتاج منخفضة التكلفة. وعلى الرغم من تكاليف الإنتاج الرخيصة نسبياً، لا تحتل مصر مرتبة عالية في إنتاجية عمالها، وقد بلغت المبيعات الكلية لـ "المناطق الصناعية المؤهلة" 30 في المائة. وتُعتبر المخاطر عنصراً ثانياً. فاستناداً إلى تقرير أعدّه "البنك الدولي" نظر بموجبه في أفضلية بيئات الأعمال الوطنية، احتلت مصر المرتبة 131 بين 189 بلداً. ومن ثم، فإن الجمع بين المطالب الأمريكية المفرطة ومناخ الأعمال الضعيف من شأنه أن ينذر بالتنفيذ الضعيف لأي اتفاق، مما يثبط الأمريكيين عن الدخول في اتفاق. أما العقبة الثالثة فتنطوي على عدم قدرة المصريين على إنفاذ قوانين العمل في خمسة مجالات، على النحو الذي وضعته "منظمة العمل الدولية" التابعة للأمم المتحدة، وهي: الحق في تكوين الجمعيات، والحق في التنظيم والمساومة الجماعية، وحظر العمل القسري، والحد الأدنى لسن العمل، وظروف العمل المقبولة. وكلما جلست الولايات المتحدة على طاولة المفاوضات مع مصر، يجب أن تكون حساسة بشكل خاص فيما يتعلق بمعايير العمل، مع الأخذ في الاعتبار أن الكونغرس الأمريكي قد يرفض إبرام اتفاق تجارة حرّة يُبنى على هذا الأساس.

ويتعلق مبعث القلق الرابع، كما هو الحال بالنسبة للثاني، بالتنفيذ. فإلى أن تم إبرام "اتفاقية التجارة الحرّة لأمريكا الشمالية" ("نافتا") في عام 1994، ركّزت اتفاقات التجارة الحرّة على الاستثمار الأجنبي المباشر. غير أنه مع إبرام اتفاقية "نافتا"، بدأت اتفاقات التجارة الإقليمية للولايات المتحدة تعتمد تعريفاً أوسع نطاقاً للتجارة، مركزّة بشكل إضافي على تدفقات المحافظ والديون الخاصة وقضايا الديون السيادية والملكية الفكرية. ومن شأن المتطلبات التشريعية والتنفيذية المتعددة المرتبطة بهذه المكونات أن تضغط على الحكومة المصرية، مما يحول دون امتثالها لالتزاماتها.

ويمثّل الالتزام المصري المتزعزع بمتطلبات حقوق الملكية الفكرية في الولايات المتحدة، على وجه الخصوص، مبعث القلق الخامس بشأن اتفاقية تجارة حرة محتملة. وعلى الرغم من أن مصر راجعت في القانون رقم 82، الذي سُنّ في عام 2002، الإطار القانوني لحقوق الملكية الفكرية وقدرتها على تطبيقها، إلا أن البلاد لا تزال متخلفة كثيراً عن العديد من البلدان، سواء في العالم العربي أو على الصعيد العالمي. وفي آخر تقرير "خاص 301" أعده الممثل التجاري الأمريكي، الذي يركّز على البلدان التي تعاني عجزاً في حماية حقوق الملكية الفكرية، لا تزال مصر على قائمة المراقبة. وبالمثل، فإن "تقرير التنافسية العالمي 2016-2017" الصادر عن "المنتدى الاقتصادي العالمي" قد صنّف مصر في المرتبة 124 من أصل 138 بلداً من حيث حماية حقوق الملكية الفكرية. 

الاستنتاجات

حتى إذا اتخذت مصر، من الناحية النظرية، كافة الخطوات الضرورية لمعالجة الاعتراضات الأمريكية المحتملة المحيطة [بإبرام] اتفاق التجارة الحرّة، يجب أن ينظر المرء في التحول في الرأي العام الأمريكي المعارض لاتفاقات التجارة الحرّة، كما يتجلى بشكل واضح في الحملة الرئاسية لعام 2016. فقد احتج المرشح الرئاسي آنذاك دونالد ترامب على اتفاقات التجارة وجنى المنافع السياسية لذلك. ومن الناحية العملية، بإمكان أي اتفاق مع مصر أن يكون رهينة للمساومة على التعديلات على الاتفاقات القائمة مثل اتفاقية "نافتا". 

ونظراً إلى العديد من العوامل التي تقف في طريق إبرام اتفاق تجاري أمريكي-مصري، كما هو مبين هنا، يجب على الولايات المتحدة بدلاً من ذلك أن تحث المصريين على الاستثمار بشكل أكبر في "المناطق الصناعية المؤهلة". وقد يشمل أحد التنازلات المحتملة إلى القاهرة خفض نسبة المشاركة الإسرائيلية، وهو طلب مصري قائم منذ فترة طويلة. ومع ذلك، فعند طرح مثل هذا الحل التوفيقي، لا بدّ أن يوضح المسؤولون الأمريكيون أن مصر يجب أن تكون شريكاً واقعياً وعملياً وبناءً في "المنطقة الصناعية المؤهلة" بالنسبة لإسرائيل. وبالفعل، لن يتحسن التعاون الاقتصادي من دون تعزيز التواصل الاجتماعي بين القطاعات الخاصة المعنية [في البلدين]. وثمة سابقة لمثل هذه الروابط المعززة، التي ازدهرت لفترة وجيزة بعد إبرام اتفاق "المنطقة الصناعية المؤهلة" بين مصر وإسرائيل الذي تم التفاوض بشأنه تحت رعاية الولايات المتحدة في عام 2004.    

 

هيثم حسنين هو زميل "غليزر" في معهد واشنطن.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 2789

Does Egypt Need an FTA with the United States?

Haisam Hassanein

Also available in العربية

April 24, 2017


Given the many factors militating against a U.S.-Egypt trade deal, Washington should instead push for the Egyptians to avail themselves of existing mechanisms, especially the Qualifying Industrial Zones.

During Egyptian president Abdul Fattah al-Sisi's recent visit to the United States, he stressed his country's dire economic situation, among other priorities, and the corresponding need for U.S. help in stabilizing the economy. To this end, he and various delegations joining him called for the revival of trade partnerships with the United States, including the possibility of a broader U.S.-Egypt free trade agreement (FTA).

In bilateral discussions on this subject, likely to occur soon, the United States should emphasize the importance of the Qualifying Industrial Zones (QIZs), which refer to manufacturing sites in Egypt that make use of U.S. free trade deals with Israel. Indeed, Egypt has yet to maximize the potential of the QIZs. Whereas today most Egyptian products that enter the United States are textiles, an array of new items could be added to the list should Egypt make fuller use of the QIZs. The Egyptians, however, have been unwilling to make such a move out of concerns over promoting additional relationships between Egyptian and Israeli businesses.  

At first glance, the Egyptians might view an FTA as a more attractive option than mere enhanced use of the QIZs. Indeed, such a deal could widen its own markets' access to the larger U.S. market, thereby boosting its exports. But a closer analysis shows that about 45 percent of Egyptian exports to the United States already come through the QIZs, with the others secured by alternative means. More important, to meet the terms of an FTA, Egypt would have to make costly adjustments for which the country's institutional infrastructure is not prepared. By comparison, the QIZs' flexible rules regarding the origin of products allow for generous imports of textiles, including ready-made garments, as well as other goods.

According to the latest statistics from the Office of the U.S. Trade Representative's website, in 2013 Egyptian exports to the American market totaled $1.6 billion. Aside from textiles and ready-made garments subject to QIZ preferential treatment -- constituting the 45 percent mentioned earlier -- other major exports include oil, iron, and steel. These products, too, enjoy free trade access or have special-entry market arrangements. Moreover, the U.S. trade program known as the Generalized System of Preferences (GSP) provides duty-free allowances for eligible items such as jewelry, agricultural products, chemicals, minerals, marble, and carpets, although these account for only 4.8 percent of Egypt's total exports to the United States.

Obstacles to a U.S.-Egypt TRADE DEAL

Based solely on existing preferential access -- whether through the QIZs (textiles at present), the GSP (e.g., food products, home furnishings), or the nature of the export (e.g., oil) -- the United States clearly need not sign an FTA with Egypt. The mechanisms for open trade already exist. Furthermore, internal Egyptian dynamics suggest that Egypt would fail to meet the U.S. conditions required by such a deal, spread across roughly five areas.

First, U.S. investors seek efficiency, not just low-cost production environments. Despite having relatively cheap production costs, Egypt does not score high on the productivity of its workers, and QIZ turnover has reached 30 percent. Risk is a second element. Based on a World Bank report that considered the favorability of national business environments, Egypt ranked 131 among 189 countries. Here, the combination of excessive U.S. demands and a weak business climate would portend weak implementation of a deal, thus discouraging the Americans from entering into one. The third obstacle involves Egyptian inability to enforce labor laws in five areas, as instituted by the UN's International Labour Organization: right of association, right to organize and bargain collectively, prohibition of forced labor, minimum employment age, and acceptable working conditions. Whenever the United States sits at the table with Egypt, it should thus be especially sensitive regarding labor standards, mindful that the U.S. Congress could nix an FTA on such grounds.

The fourth concern, as with the second, relates to implementation. Up until the North American Free Trade Agreement, established in 1994, free trade deals centered on foreign direct investment. With NAFTA, however, U.S. regional trade agreements began to adopt a broader definition of trade, focusing in addition on portfolio flows, private debt, sovereign debt issues, and intellectual property. The manifold legislative and implementation requirements associated with such components would strain the Egyptian government, likely preventing it from abiding by its commitments.

Shaky Egyptian adherence to U.S. intellectual property rights (IPR) requirements, in particular, marks the fifth concern regarding a potential FTA. Although in Law 82, enacted in 2002, Egypt revised its IPR legal framework and enforcement capability, the country still lags far behind many countries, both in the Arab world and globally. In the latest "Special 301" report produced by the U.S. Trade Representative, focusing on countries with deficient IPR protections, Egypt remained on the watch list. Likewise, the World Economic Forum's Global Competitiveness Report 2016-17 ranked Egypt 124 out of 138 countries in terms of IPR protections.

Conclusions

Even if, hypothetically, Egypt took all the necessary steps to meet potential U.S. objections surrounding an FTA, one must consider the shift in U.S. popular opinion against FTAs, as amply demonstrated in the 2016 presidential campaign. Then-candidate Donald Trump railed against trade deals and reaped the political benefits. Practically, any deal with Egypt could well be held hostage to haggling over adjustments to existing agreements such as NAFTA.

Given the many factors militating against a U.S.-Egypt trade deal, as outlined here, the United States should instead urge the Egyptians to invest more in the QIZs. One possible concession to Cairo could involve reducing the proportion of Israeli input, a longtime Egyptian demand. Yet in floating such a compromise, U.S. officials must make clear that Egypt needs to be a realistic, pragmatic, and constructive QIZ partner to Israel. Indeed, enhanced economic cooperation will not happen without increased social contacts between the respective private sectors. A precedent exists for such enhanced ties, which flourished briefly after the Egypt-Israel QIZ deal brokered under U.S. auspices in 2004.

Haisam Hassanein is a Glazer Fellow at The Washington Institute.