أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 2887

هدم نفق بنته حركة «الجهاد الإسلامي في فلسطين» داخل إسرائيل

اللواء (المتقاعد) شلومو 'سامي' ترجمان، "جيش الدفاع الإسرائيلي"

متاح أيضاً في English

3 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر 2017


في 30 تشرين الأول/ أكتوبر، سُمع دوي انفجارات قوية هزّت الهدوء الهش على حدود غزة، في الوقت الذي دمرت فيه القوات الإسرائيلية نفقاً يتم التسلّل منه إلى أراضيها. وقد أسفرت الانفجارات عن مصرع عدد من كبار أعضاء حركة «الجهاد الإسلامي في فلسطين» الذين كانوا يديرون النفق، كما قًتل عدد من عناصر حركة «حماس» خلال عمليات الإجلاء اللاحقة.

وعلى الرغم من التصريحات القاسية الصادرة عن حركة «الجهاد الإسلامي في فلسطين» أو حكومة «حماس» في غزة، لم يردّ أي منهما بإطلاق النار على إسرائيل. وفي الماضي، كان لا يمكن تصور عدم القيام بعمل مسلح، حيث كانت أحداث من هذا القبيل تتصاعد حتماً إلى إلى عمليات قتالية. لكن، ما الشئ يختلف هذه المرة، وما هي الدروس التي يمكن استخلاصها؟ إن حقيقة قيام إسرائيل بهدم النفق على أراضيها لم تمنع يوماً هذه المنظمات من الادعاء بأن ذلك عمل عدواني. وبعبارة أخرى، لم ينبع قرار عدم إطلاق النار عن أي إدراك بأن تحرّك إسرائيل كان عملاً مشروعاً للدفاع عن النفس. وبالأحرى، دعا كبار مسؤولي «حماس» مثل إسماعيل هنية علنا إلى الانتقام خلال جنازات الناشطين الذين قتلوا في الانفجارات. وبالتالي، فإن عدم اتخاذ أي إجراءات لا بدّ أن يكون متأصلاً في عوامل أخرى.

عملية المصالحة الفلسطينية. قد يكون القرار نتاجاً لنفس الضغوط التي دفعت «حماس» مؤخًراً إلى القيام بجولة أخرى من محادثات المصالحة مع السلطة الفلسطينية، من بينها العزلة السياسية، والأزمة الاقتصادية المتفاقمة في غزة، والضغط المالي المباشر من السلطة الفلسطينية، ووتيرة إعادة الإعمار البطيئة. ويبدو من المستحيل تحقيق مصالحة حقيقية في الوقت الراهن نظراً للواقع الفلسطيني الحالي. ولكن، كلا الفصيلين حريصان على منع عملية المصالحة من الانهيار ولا سيما في مراحلها الأولى. وبعد يوم واحد من حادثة النفق، نقلت «حماس» السلطة على حدود غزة إلى السلطة الفلسطينية، وهي فرصة بالغة الأهمية لم تريد المنظمة بالتأكيد أن تفسدها. وبطبيعة الحال، لا تزال «حماس» تأمل في الحفاظ على سيطرتها على قواتها المسلّحة حتى بعد نقل المسؤوليات المدنية إلى السلطة الفلسطينية، الأمر الذي يسمح لها باستئناف العمل كمنظمة إرهابية غير مقيّدة بالالتزامات السياسية. ولكن حالياً، ليس من مصلحة المنظّمة أن تتحمل اللوم على انهيار عملية المصالحة.

الردع. في عام 2014، أظهرت "عملية الجرف الصامد" لقادة غزة التكاليف [الباهضة] للحرب. ولم يسترد القطاع عافيته من هذا الصراع حتى الآن. ويعزى ذلك إلى حد كبير، إلى انصباب تركيز حكومة «حماس» على إعادة بناء قوتها العسكرية وقمع المعارضة الشعبية لحكمها. وفي هذه المرحلة، من شأن التصعيد أن يعرّض للخطر سيطرة المنظّمة على السلطة وعلى جهودها لاحتواء حركة «الجهاد الإسلامي في فلسطين».

سوء التوقيت. من وجهة نظر عسكرية، إنّ حركتي «الجهاد الإسلامي» و«حماس» غير مستعدتان لمواجهة كبيرة مع إسرائيل. ويبدو أن المنظمتين تنظران في بناء شبكات نفقيّة واسعة النطاق وعابرة للحدود من أجل شنّ غارات على الأراضي الإسرائيلية، كوْن هذه الشبكات عنصراً حاسماً في استراتيجية الحرب المستقبلية. وربما كان هدم النفق في نهاية الشهر المنصرم قد استبعد من كلا الحركتين أهمّ ركيزة في هذه الاستراتيجية.

عنصر المفاجأة. قد لا تزال «حماس» و حركة «الجهاد الإسلامي في فلسطين» تحاولان فهم القدرة التكنولوجيّة المتقدّمة التي أظهرتها القوات الإسرائيلية في اكتشاف النفق السري. وقد عجّلت إسرائيل بناء حاجز مستمر تحت سطح الأرض على طول الحدود مع غزة، وهو مشروع يتضمن تقنيات مختلفة للكشف عن الأنفاق. وتشير حادثة الهدم التي جرت في نهاية الشهر المنصرم إلى أن كلا المنظمتين قد تفاجأتا تماماً. وقد تحاولان الآن الاستفادة من النكسة ووضع خططاً [جديدة] للتصدّي لقدرات الحاجز الجديد قبل الدخول في مواجهة مسلحة.

اتباع إسرائيل سياسة ضبط النفس. هدمت إسرائيل النفق على أراضيها، وامتنعت عن الدخول إلى غزة، كما امتنعت عن إصدار إنذار عام لمواطنيها كما تفعل عادة عقب وقوع أحداث من هذا القبيل. ومن المرجح أن يمنع هذا النهج المنضبط ادّعاء حركة «الجهاد الإسلامي في فلسطين» بأن إسرائيل تتأهّب للمواجهة، الأمر الذي سيمكّن «حماس» من مطالبة «الجهاد الإسلامي» بعدم إطلاق النار، على الأقل حالياً.

عزل غزة وسيناء. عملت «حماس» على اتخاذ خطوات استراتيجية نحو قيام علاقات أكثر ودّاً مع مصر. وقد أدّت هذه العلاقة الموطّدة مع القاهرة إلى إلزام «حماس» بقطع العلاقات مع تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» («داعش») وعناصر إرهابية أخرى في سيناء. وإذا خفضّت غزّة التعاون مع هذه الجهات الإرهابية، فإن ذلك سيجعل من الصعب على «داعش» استخدام شبه الجزيرة كقاعدة لشنّ هجمات ضد إسرائيل. ولكن، لم يعد هذا النمط من العمليات خياراً متاحاً - وهو النمط الذي استخدمته «حماس» كوسيلة غير مباشرة لتهديد إسرائيل مع تجنب المواجهة المباشرة (على الرغم من أن عناصر تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» استمرت بالطبع باستهداف إسرائيل بمفردها).

ما هي الدروس التي يمكن استخلاصها من الحادثة؟

تبرز أربعة دروس بجلاء. أولاً، لم تتمكن «حماس» من استعادة مكانتها العسكرية والمدنية والسياسية السابقة بعد ثلاث سنوات من "عملية الجرف الصامد". وفي الماضي، لم يكن مقتل هذا العدد الكبير من المسؤولين البارزين في «حماس» و«الجهاد الإسلامي في فلسطين» قد حدث من دون استجابة مسلحة فوریة.

ثانياَ، إن عملية الهدم تسلّط الضوء على الأهمية المتزايدة للأنفاق في نظر المنظمات الإرهابية الفلسطينية. وتشكّل الأنفاق العابرة للحدود من النوع الذي دمّرته إسرائيل في نهاية تشرين الأول/أكتوبر عنصراَ حيوياَ في استراتيجيتها الهجومية ضد إسرائيل. وبينما تغرق غزة أكثر فأكثر في أزمة اقتصادية، فهي تواصل استثمار الجزء الأكبر من مواردها في البنية التحتية تحت الأرض، بإعطائها إياها الأسبقية على جميع الاحتياجات العسكرية والمدنية الأخرى. وفي الوقت نفسه، فإن عملية الهدم تُلقي الضوء حالياً على سباق التسلّح العلني الذي قد يتسارع بشكل كبير بين حفّار الأنفاق الفلسطينيين والتدابير الإسرائيلية المضادة.

ثالثاَ، قد تدفع عملية الهدم الإرهابيين الفلسطينيين إلى معضلة "استخدام الأنفاق أو فقدانها"، لأن إسرائيل تستطيع كشف الأنفاق وبالتالي قادرة على القضاء على جزء أساسي من استراتيجيتها العسكرية. وهذا يعني أنه حتى لو لم يكن التيار الرئيسي لـ «حماس» مهتماَ بالتصعيد في الوقت الراهن، فقد تبادر حركة «الجهاد الإسلامي في فلسطين» أو عناصر راديكالية داخل أي من المنظمتين في مهاجمة إسرائيل عبر الأنفاق على المدى القريب لتحول دون هدر استثمارها الضخم سدى. ومن المرجح أن يكون ضرر مثل هذا الهجوم غير مسبوق في حدّته، ممّا سيقحم إسرائيل في عملية واسعة النطاق داخل غزة.

رابعاَ، وبالرغم من استبعاد المصالحة الفلسطينية الفعلية، إلّا أنّ وجود عملية مصالحة تدريجية بين «حماس» والسلطة الفلسطينية سيسهم في حفظ الاستقرار، طالما يستمر الوضع على هذا النحو. وفضلاً عن ذلك، ثمّة ما يدعو للاعتقاد بأن مصر طلبت من «حماس» و«الجهاد الإسلامي» عدم الردّ على إسرائيل على أمل الحفاظ على عملية الاستقرار التي عملت كوسيطة فيها منذ البداية. وقد يكون هذا التوجّه نعمة ونقمة في آنٍ واحد، إذ بمجرد أن تحاول الأطراف التعامل مع قضاياها الجوهرية من الخلاف، قد تقرّر «حماس» التهرب من التسوية السياسية، من خلال عودتها إلى المواجهة مع إسرائيل.

المحصلة

طرحت "عملية الجرف الصامد" مفهوم الردع الإسرائيلي الذي بلغ أعلى مستوياته في غزة، والذي أدّى بدوره إلى فترة طويلة من الهدوء النسبي. وقد استخدمت إسرائيل هذه الثغرة بحكمة، وقامت بتطوير تكنولوجيا جديدة أثبتت فعاليتها في نهاية تشرين الأول/أكتوبر.

وفي الوقت نفسه، فإن هذا النجاح الإسرائيلي يمكن أن يضع المنظمات الإرهابية الفلسطينية في موقف صعب قد يدفعها إلى التصعيد رغم مرحلة الردع ما بعد عام 2014، ورغم الأزمات الداخلية المتزايدة في غزة، ورغم عملية المصالحة الفلسطينية الحساسة. وفي هذا الإطار، خدمت "عملية الجرف الصامد"، بشكلٍ أو بآخر، مصالح إسرائيل من خلال منحها الوقت اللازم لاتخاذ المبادرة للدفاع عن حدودها الجنوبية.

 

اللواء (المتقاعد) سامي ترجمان هو زميل عسكري زائر في معهد واشنطن. وقد شغل سابقاً منصب قائد "القيادة الجنوبية" في "جيش الدفاع الإسرائيلي"، وأشرف على العملية الأخيرة في غزة خلال "حملة الجرف الصامد".

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 2887

Demolition of a Palestinian Islamic Jihad Tunnel Inside Israel

Maj. Gen. (Res.) Shlomo 'Sami' Turjeman, IDF

Also available in العربية

November 3, 2017


The lack of armed response by Hamas or PIJ highlights the host of military and political factors restraining both organizations and the potency of new Israeli defense technologies, though radical elements may still decide to risk an attack out of desperation.

On October 30, loud explosions interrupted the fragile calm on the Gaza border as Israeli forces destroyed a tunnel infiltrating their territory. The explosions resulted in the deaths of several senior members of Palestinian Islamic Jihad (PIJ), which operated the tunnel. Several Hamas members were killed during subsequent evacuation efforts.

Despite harsh declarations by PIJ and the Hamas government in Gaza, neither has responded by firing on Israel. This lack of armed action would have been inconceivable in the past, when events of this sort inevitably escalated into fighting. What made this instance different, and what lessons can be drawn from it? The fact that Israel demolished the tunnel on its own territory has not prevented these organizations from claiming it was an act of aggression. In other words, the decision to hold fire did not stem from any perception that Israel's move was a legitimate act of self-defense. Rather, top Hamas officials such as Ismail Haniyeh openly called for revenge during funerals for the operatives killed in the explosions. The lack of action must therefore be rooted in other factors.

The Palestinian reconciliation process. The decision may be a product of the same pressures that recently pushed Hamas into another round of reconciliation talks with the Palestinian Authority, including political isolation, Gaza's ever-escalating economic crisis, direct PA financial pressure, and the slow pace of reconstruction. True reconciliation seems impossible at the moment given current Palestinian realities, but both factions are likely eager to keep the process from collapsing in its first stages. Only a day after the tunnel incident, Hamas transferred authority over Gaza's borders to the PA, a momentous occasion that the organization surely did not want to spoil. Of course, Hamas still hopes to maintain control over its armed forces even after transferring civil responsibilities to the PA, which would allow it to resume acting like a terrorist organization unconstrained by political obligations. For now, though, it is not in the organization's interest to take the blame for collapsing the reconciliation process.

Deterrence. In 2014, Operation Protective Edge showed Gaza's leaders the costs of war. The Strip has not yet recovered from that conflict, in large part because the Hamas government's main focus is on reconstructing its military force and suppressing popular opposition to its rule. An escalation at this point would endanger the organization's hold on power and its efforts to contain PIJ.

Inconvenient timing. From a military perspective, neither PIJ nor Hamas is prepared for a major confrontation with Israel. Both organizations seem to regard building extensive cross-border tunnel networks for the sake of launching raids on Israeli soil as critical components of their future warfare strategy. This week's demolition may have taken away their most important asset in this strategy.

The element of surprise. Hamas and PIJ may still be trying to understand the advanced technological capability that Israeli forces demonstrated in discovering the secret tunnel. Israel has accelerated its construction of a continuous subterranean barrier along the Gaza border, a project that incorporates various tunnel-detection technologies. This week's demolition indicates that both organizations were caught completely off guard. They may now be attempting to learn from the setback and make plans for dealing with the new barrier's capabilities before diving into an armed confrontation. 

Israeli restraint. Israel demolished the tunnel on its own territory, refrained from entering Gaza, and even refrained from issuing a public alert to its citizens as it normally does following an event of this sort. This restrained approach will likely keep PIJ from reasonably claiming that Israel is gearing toward confrontation, which in turn enables Hamas to demand that PIJ hold its fire, at least for now.

Gaza-Sinai isolation. Hamas has been taking strategic steps toward warmer relations with Egypt, and this tightening relationship with Cairo has obligated the organization to sever ties with the Islamic State (IS) and other terrorist elements in Sinai. Decreasing cooperation from Gaza in turn makes it more difficult for IS to use the peninsula as a springboard for attacks against Israel. This mode of operation -- which Hamas has used as an indirect way to threaten Israel while avoiding head-on confrontation -- is no longer an option (though IS elements have of course continued to target Israel on their own).

WHAT LESSONS CAN BE DRAWN FROM THE INCIDENT?

Four lessons stand out. First, Hamas has not yet been able to regain its former military, civil, and political stature three years after Operation Protective Edge. In the past, the deaths of such a large number of senior Hamas and PIJ officials would never have occurred without an immediate armed response.

Second, the demolition highlights the growing importance that tunnels hold in the eyes of Palestinian terrorist organizations. Cross-border tunnels of the type destroyed this week are a critical component of their offensive strategy against Israel. Even as Gaza sinks further into economic crisis, they continue to invest the bulk of their resources in subterranean infrastructure, giving it precedence over all other military and civilian needs. At the same time, the incident sheds light on -- and may drastically accelerate -- the now largely overt arms race between Palestinian tunnel diggers and Israeli countermeasures.

Third, by bringing Palestinian terrorists to an uncomfortable realization -- that Israel has a tunnel-detection solution capable of eliminating a key part of their military strategy -- the demolition operation could push them into a "use it or lose it" dilemma. That is, even if the Hamas mainstream is uninterested in escalation for now, PIJ or radical elements within either organization might still initiate a tunnel attack in the short term simply to prevent their colossal investment from being wasted. Such an attack would likely be unprecedented in its severity, thereby dragging Israel into a broad-scale operation inside Gaza.

Fourth, despite the implausibility of actual Palestinian reconciliation, the very existence of a gradual process between Hamas and the PA will contribute to stability as long as it lasts. Additionally, there is reason to believe that Egypt has asked Hamas and PIJ not to retaliate in the hope of maintaining a process it has been brokering from the start. This is a mixed blessing of course -- once the parties attempt to deal with their core issues of contention, Hamas may decide to evade political compromise by reverting to confrontation with Israel.

CONCLUSION

Operation Protective Edge brought Israeli deterrence in Gaza to an all-time high, resulting in a long period of relative calm. Israel has used this hiatus wisely, developing new technology of the sort that proved its effectiveness this week.

At the same time, this Israeli success could push Palestinian terrorist organizations into a corner and spur them to escalate -- despite the post-2014 deterrence, despite Gaza's growing internal crises, and despite the sensitive Palestinian reconciliation process. Yet one way or another, Operation Protective Edge served Israel's interests by giving it the time needed to take initiative in defending its southern border.

Maj. Gen. (Res.) Sami Turjeman is a visiting military fellow at The Washington Institute. Previously, he led the IDF Southern Command, overseeing the last operation in Gaza during the Protective Edge campaign.