أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

تنبيه سياسي

نزع فتيل أزمة الكهرباء في غزة - للوقت الراهن

كاثرين باور و غيث العمري

متاح أيضاً في English

22 حزيران/يونيو 2017


في 22 حزيران/يونيو، استعادت "محطة توليد الكهرباء في غزة" نشاطها بعد أن وصلت شحنةٌ من وقود الديزل من مصر في وقت سابق من هذا الأسبوع لتخفف مؤقتاً من حدة الأزمة التي لم تترك لسكان غزة أكثر من ثلاث ساعات من الكهرباء في اليوم. وجاء هذا الخبر في الوقت الذي خفّضت فيه إسرائيل تدريجياً إمدادات الطاقة الكهربائية من شبكتها الخاصة إلى غزة بناءً على طلب "السلطة الفلسطينية". ومن شأن توليد الكهرباء المتجدد من "محطة توليد الكهرباء في غزة" أن يعوّض عن تخفيض الإمدادات من إسرائيل.

يُذكر أن محطة توليد الكهرباء، التي هي احدى مصادر الكهرباء الثلاثة فى غزة التى تشمل أيضاً الكهرباء المستوردة من إسرائيل ومصر، قد بقيت خارج الخدمة منذ نفاذ الهبات القطرية والتركية في نيسان/أبريل. وحتى أن الخط الموصول من مصر كان معطّلاً لبضعة أسابيع على الأقل لأسباب تقنية أيضاً.

ومن الجدير بالذكر أنه وفقاً لبعض التقارير، إن حركة «حماس»هي التي دفعت ثمن الوقود المصري، وليس الإمارات العربية المتحدة، كما توقع البعض، وربما تم تسديد المبلغ على الأقل جزئياً من اشتراكات الكهرباء التي تجبيها "شركة توزيع كهرباء محافظات غزة" الخاضعة لسيطرة «حماس». وبالفعل، فإن أحد أسباب الأزمة الراهنة هو رفض «حماس» تحويل بدلات الكهرباء إلى رام الله لتغطية نفقات "السلطة الفلسطينية". وكانت «حماس» قد واظبت في السابق على تحويل الأموال إلى رام الله بشكل منتظم لتغطية ثمن مشتريات وقود المحطة ولكنها توقفت عن ذلك في كانون الثاني/يناير حين أعلنت "السلطة الفلسطينية" أنها لن تزوّد الحركة بعد الآن بالمبالغ المستردة من الضريبة المرتبطة بها. وتؤدي الضرائب إلى مضاعفة تكاليف الوقود، وتشير التقارير إلى أن «حماس» لم تتمكن من تغطية المبلغ بأكمله.

وفي ما يخص الشحنة المصرية، ثمة شكوك في أن تكون الأموال متأتية عن دفعات الكهرباء المسددة للمحطة عندما كانت قطر وتركيا تغطيان التكاليف. ومن جانبها، كانت "السلطة الفلسطينية" تدفع حتى أواخر نيسان/أبريل الثمن الكامل لصادرات الكهرباء الإسرائيلية إلى غزة، التي تقدر بنحو 40 مليون شيكل إسرائيلي (حوالي 11 مليون دولار) شهرياً - وكذلك الصادرات إلى الضفة الغربية - من الإيرادات الجمركية للسلطة الفلسطينية التي جمعتها إسرائيل عن الواردات إلى الضفة الغربية وقطاع غزة.

السياق السياسي

تحْدث هذه التطورات في سياق أوسع نطاقاً. فابتداءً من 4 حزيران/يونيو، ترأس زعيم حركة «حماس» الجديد في غزة يحيى السنوار وفداً إلى مصر للمشاركة في اجتماعات مع فرع "المخابرات العامة" المصرية. كما التقى الوفد مع محمد دحلان - العضو السابق في "اللجنة المركزية" لحركة «فتح»، ومقره في أبو ظبي، الذي كان قد طُرد من الحركة من قبل الرئيس الفلسطيني محمود عباس، لكنه لا يزال يمارس نفوذاً كبيراً بين أعضاء الحركة في غزة - إلى جانب بعض مساعديه. وأفادت بعض التقارير أن الاجتماعات أسفرت عن تفاهمات بين «حماس» ودحلان، تحت رعاية مصرية، نصّت على اضطلاع دحلان بدور كبير في إدارة العلاقات الخارجية لقطاع غزة ومعالجة الوضع الإنساني فيها. ويُنظر إلى شحنة الوقود على أنها نتيجة لهذه التفاهمات.

غير أنّه في هذا التعاون المستبعد شيءٌ من المنطق على مستوىً ما. فالخطوات الأخيرة التي اتخذها الرئيس محمود عباس بتقليل المساعدات المخصصة لغزة وحرمان القطاع من الدعم القطري، ضيّقت الخناق على حركة «حماس»، لتصبح هذه الأخيرة بحاجة إلى إغاثة لا يمكن أن تأتي إلا عن طريق مصر. وهكذا، فإن دحلان، الذي كان مهمّشاً بشكل مطرد من قبل عباس منذ "المؤتمر العام" لحركة «فتح» في العام الماضي، قد يعزز مكانته أمام سكان غزة ويصبح مرةً أخرى شخصية ضرورية على الساحة الوطنية الفلسطينية. ويريد الجانبان أيضاً إضعاف موقف عباس. وفي المقابل، فإن مصر التي ليس لديها مصلحة في التعامل مع جولة أخرى من المعارك بين إسرائيل و«حماس»، ستستفيد من تراجع حدة التصعيد إثر التخفيف من تأثير أزمة الكهرباء، وسترحب بقيام حليفها دحلان بدور أقوى في غزة ولعب قطر دوراً محدوداً. كما أفادت بعض التقارير أن مصر توصلت إلى تفاهماتها الخاصة مع «حماس» بشأن تأمين الحدود بين غزة ومصر.

بيد، من المستبعد أن يستمر هذا التعاون. ففي حين أن مصالح «حماس» ودحلان قد تتداخل أحياناً كما حصل هنا، هناك عدد من العوامل التي يمكن أن تعرقل تحوّل هذا النوع من الخطوات التعاونية إلى شراكة كاملة. فالأهداف النهائية لكلا الجانبين متضاربة من حيث المبدأ، إذ يسعى كلٌّ منهما إلى الهيمنة على غزة، وعلى المستوى الوطني الفلسطيني في النهاية. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، يستدعي تعميق التعاون تغلب الطرفين على انعدام الثقة المتبادل بينهما والناجم عن عقودٍ من الصراع الدامي في كثير من الأحيان. أما في السياق الإقليمي الأوسع، فبينما سترحّب مصر والإمارات العربية المتحدة - الداعم الرئيسي الإقليمي لدحلان - بالتطورات التي ستحل محل الدور القطري في غزة، إلّا أن كلتيهما معاديتان بشدة للإسلام السياسي، ومن غير المرجح أن توافقان على أي ترتيبات طويلة الأجل من شأنها أن تترك «حماس» مسؤولة عن قطاع غزة. إن أي تحوّل جوهري سيتطلب تنازلات مهمّة من قبل الطرفين الرئيسيين، وداعميهما الإقليميون، ولا يبدو أن أي منهما مُحتمل في الوقت الراهن.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك، من غير المرجح أن يجلس عباس مكتوف الأيدي، حيث ستواجه سلطته تحدياً شديداً من قبل مثل هذا التحالف. وقد أثبت مهارته في الماضي في الحفاظ على أهميته في مواجهة الضغوط الداخلية والخارجية على السواء، كما أن المصلحة القوية لإدارة ترامب في إحياء عملية السلام تبعث في نفسه شعوراً بالنشاط والقوة [من هذه المستجدات].

الخاتمة

تعكس التطورات الأخيرة في مجال الكهرباء في غزة تقارباً في المصالح بين «حماس» ودحلان بشروط تعود بالنفع على مصر أيضاً. إلّا أنّ هذا التلاقي يجب أن يتعامل مع ديناميات فلسطينية وإقليمية أعمق، التي من غير المرجح أن يتم التغلب عليها في أي وقت قريب، إذا حدث ذلك أبداً. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، فحتى إذا عادت مصادر الطاقة الثلاثة كلها إلى العمل في غزة ويتم استعادة الوضع السابق، سيظل القطاع يعاني من انقطاع متكرر في الكهرباء. ويُقدَّر الطلب الحالي بضعف العرض. وكان سكان غزة وقد تمتعوا بثماني ساعات من الكهرباء في اليوم لفترة دامت عدة سنوات.

إنّ التوصل إلى حل أكثر استدامةً لمشاكل الكهرباء في غزة قد يتطلب إنشاء هياكل وآليات مستقلة لتقديم هذه الخدمة، ربما بالاستناد إلى الدروس المستخلصة من جهود "البنك الدولي" لإقامة "مصلحة مياه بلديات الساحل" في المنطقة، فضلاً عن النظر في مصادر أكثر كفاءة للكهرباء، مثل زيادة الواردات من إسرائيل. وعلى الرغم من أن التطورات الأخيرة تبدو وكأنها قد حلّت أزمة الكهرباء في القطاع، وأدت إلى خفض كبير في احتمالات وقوع حرب جديدة في غزة هذا الصيف - لمصلحة الجميع - إلّا أنّها تبقى أشبه بضمادة جروح سوف تسقط على الأرجح يوماً ما.

 

كاثرين باور هي زميلة "بلومنستين كاتس فاميلي" في برنامج مكافحة الإرهاب في معهد واشنطن. غيث العمري هو زميل أقدم في المعهد ومؤلف تقريره الأخير "الحوكمة كطريق لتجديد النشاط السياسي الفلسطيني".

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

Policy Alert

Defusing the Electricity Crisis in Gaza -- For Now

Katherine Bauer and Ghaith al-Omari

Also available in العربية

June 22, 2017


The recent deal to restore electricity to the territory will ease short-term concerns, but given the turbulent Palestinian and regional political scene, a more sustainable solution will require setting up independent mechanisms for utility provision.

On June 22, the Gaza Power Plant (GPP) came back online, following a shipment of diesel fuel from Egypt earlier in the week, offering a temporary reprieve from the crisis that had left Gaza residents with as little as three hours of electricity per day. The news came just as Israel completed an incremental reduction in electricity provision from its own grid to Gaza, at the request of the Palestinian Authority (PA). Renewed electricity generation from the GPP should offset the reduction from Israel.

The power plant -- one of Gaza's three  electricity sources, which also include imported electricity from Israel and Egypt -- has been off-line since Qatari and Turkish donations ran out in April. For at least a number of weeks, the line from Egypt has also been down for technical reasons.
 
Notably, payment for the Egyptian fuel has reportedly come from Hamas, rather than the United Arab Emirates, as some had speculated, and likely at least in part from electricity payments collected by the Hamas-controlled Gaza Electricity Distribution Company. Indeed, one source of the current crisis has been Hamas's refusal to transfer electricity payments to Ramallah to cover PA costs. Previously, Hamas had regularly transferred funds to Ramallah to cover fuel purchases for the plant but stopped in January when the PA said it would no longer pass on associated tax refunds. Taxes double the costs of the fuel, and reports indicate Hamas could not cover the full amount.

Regarding the Egyptian delivery, funds are suspected to have come from electricity payments to the utility when the cost was being covered by Qatar and Turkey. The PA, for its part, had until late April been fully paying for Israeli electricity exports to Gaza, estimated at 40 million Israeli shekels (about $11 million) per month -- as well as those to the West Bank -- from PA customs revenues collected by Israel on imports into both territories.

Political Context

These developments are taking place in a wider context. Beginning June 4, Gaza's new Hamas leader, Yahya al-Sinwar, led a delegation in meetings with Egypt's General Intelligence branch. The delegation also met with Mohammad Dahlan -- an Abu Dhabi-based former Fatah Central Committee member who was expelled from the movement by Palestinian president Mahmoud Abbas but continues to wield considerable influence among its Gaza members -- along with some of his aides. The meetings reportedly resulted in understandings between Hamas and Dahlan, under Egyptian auspices, whereby Dahlan will have a large role in managing Gaza's external relations and in resolving its humanitarian situation. The fuel shipment is seen as an outcome of these understandings.

On one level, this unlikely cooperation has a certain logic. Hamas, squeezed by Abbas's recent steps to reduce support for Gaza and deprived of Qatari backing, needs the relief that can only come through Egypt. Dahlan, who has been steadily marginalized by Abbas since last year's Fatah General Conference, would strengthen his standing among Gazans and once again become an indispensable figure on the Palestinian national scene. Both sides also want to weaken Abbas's standing. Egypt, which has no interest in dealing with another round of Israel-Hamas hostilities, will benefit from the de-escalation that would result from mitigating the electricity crisis and will welcome a stronger role in Gaza for its ally Dahlan and a reduced role for Qatar. Egypt has also reportedly reached its own understandings with Hamas regarding securing the Gaza-Egypt borders.

This cooperation, however, is unlikely to be sustainable. While Hamas's and Dahlan's interests may occasionally intersect, as they did here, a number of factors could hinder the conversion of these kinds of cooperative steps into a full-fledged partnership. Principally, the ultimate objectives of the two parties are in conflict, with each desiring primacy in Gaza and ultimately at the national Palestinian level. Moreover, any deeper cooperation will have to overcome their mutual distrust resulting from decades of often-bloody conflict. In the wider regional context, while both Egypt and the UAE -- Dahlan's main regional supporter -- would welcome developments supplanting Qatar's role in Gaza, both are vigorously anti-Islamist and unlikely to accept any long-term arrangements that would leave Hamas in charge of Gaza. Any fundamental shift would require that the main protagonists, and their regional backers, make key concessions, none of which seems to be likely at the moment.

Moreover, Abbas, whose authority would be severely challenged by such an alliance, is unlikely to sit idly by. He has proven skilled in the past at maintaining his relevance in the face of internal and external pressures, and is feeling energized and empowered by the Trump administration's robust interest in reviving the peace process.

Conclusion

The recent developments regarding electricity in Gaza reflect a convergence of interests between Hamas and Dahlan under terms also beneficial to Egypt. But this confluence must contend with deeper Palestinian and regional dynamics that are unlikely to be overcome any time soon, if ever. Furthermore, even if all three sources of power to Gaza return online and the status quo ante is restored, the Strip will continue to suffer from frequent outages. Current demand is estimated to be twice that of supply. For a number of years, Gazans have enjoyed eight hours of electricity a day, at best. 

A more sustainable resolution of Gaza's electricity problems would require setting up independent structures and mechanisms for utility provision, perhaps drawing on lessons from World Bank efforts to establish the area's Coastal Municipalities Water Utility as well as considering more efficient sources of electricity, such as increased imports from Israel. Although the recent developments seem to have resolved the immediate Gaza electricity crisis and significantly lowered the chances of a new Gaza war this summer -- to the benefit of all -- they constitute a band-aid likely at some point to fall off.

Katherine Bauer is the Blumenstein-Katz Family Fellow at The Washington Institute. Ghaith al-Omari is an Institute senior fellow and author of its recent report Governance as a Path to Palestinian Political Rejuvenation.