أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 1929

هل يمكن لدول الخليج أن تتدخل في سوريا؟

مايكل نايتس

متاح أيضاً في English

17 نيسان/ أبريل 2012


 

"إذا ما قررت دول الخليج مساعدة المقاومة السورية المسلحة فإن لديها قدراً كبيراً من المعدات والخبرة التي يمكن أن تحقق بها أثراً في الواقع."

 

أظهرت مشاركة الإمارات العربية المتحدة وقطر في الصراع الليبي نشاط "مجلس التعاون الخليجي" وقدرته. ولذا تركزت التكهنات في الأشهر الأخيرة على احتمال قيام تدخل من قبل "مجلس التعاون الخليجي" في الحرب الأهلية السورية. وفي 27 شباط/ فبراير قال رئيس الوزراء القطري حمد بن جاسم آل ثاني لمؤتمر «أصدقاء سوريا» في تونس "يجب أن نفعل كل ما يلزم لمساعدة (المعارضين السوريين) بما في ذلك منحهم أسلحة للدفاع عن أنفسهم." وفي 31 آذار/ مارس كرر وزير الخارجية السعودي سعود الفيصل هذا التصريح بقوله "تسليح المعارضة (السورية) هو واجب." فما هي القدرات إذن التي يمكن أن تقدمها دول الخليج فيما يخص دعم وكلاء مسلحين؟ وما هي المخاطر المتعلقة بتدخلهم؟

الخلفية

يمكن تقسيم المساعدة الأمنية الخارجية للدول والجماعات التي لا تمثل دولاً إلى فئتين رئيسيتين: الدفاع الخارجي الداخلي والحرب غير التقليدية. ويشمل دعم الدفاع الخارجي الداخلي المساعدة الأمنية المقدمة لحكومة ما بغرض التغلب على جماعات متمردة أو إرهابية بينما تشير الحرب غير التقليدية إلى دعم مقدم من عناصر خارجية لمتمردين. وفي كلتا الحالتين قد يشمل الدعم الأجنبي توفير التدريب أو المعدات أو العمليات وفي بعض الحالات عن طريق المشاركة المباشرة لقوات قتال أجنبية.

ولدى دول "مجلس التعاون الخليجي" سجل مهم في الدفاع الخارجي الداخلي، كما أنها تكتسب بسرعة خبرة في مهام الحرب غير التقليدية. ويُبرز كل من الدفاع الخارجي الداخلي والحرب غير التقليدية التمويل والتكنولوجيا والقوة الجوية والقوات الخاصة وهي الخصائص التي تمتلكها مشيخات الخليج العربي. وبالمثل فإن العناصر التي أعاقت تقليدياً الفعالية العسكرية لدول "مجلس التعاون الخليجي" - وهي الطاقة البشرية المحدودة والعجز عن تعبئة أعداد كبيرة من الوحدات عالية المستوى - قد تقلصت. كما أن قابلية الإنكار الجزئية التي يتيحها استخدام وكلاء عسكريين هي أيضاً أمر مُغر لمشيخات الخليج الحذرة بطبعها.

سوابق للتدخل في سوريا

للسعودية باع طويل فيما يخص حملات الحرب غير التقليدية حيث انخرطت المملكة بشكل مركزي في كل من الحرب الأهلية في شمال اليمن التي استغرقت ثماني سنوات والجهاد ضد السوفيت في أفغانستان الذي دام عقد من الزمن. وفي الصراع اليمني نسقت الرياض برنامجاً جوياً طويل الأمد لإمدادات السلاح كما قدمت مئات الملايين من الدولارات في أفغانستان بشكل دعم (وصل ذروته إلى 630 مليون دولار في عام 1987). ومؤخراً جداً شمل انخراط دول "مجلس التعاون الخليجي" في الدفاع الخارجي الداخلي ومهام الحرب غير التقليدية المزيد من الدول (وخاصة دولة الإمارات وقطر) في الصراعات التالية:

• أفغانستان. منذ عام 2006 تنشر الإمارات مجموعة بحجم كتيبة من القوات الخاصة والآلية في أفغانستان. ويعمل مُكوّن القوات الخاصة في قندهار بالتعاون مع القوات الخاصة الأردنية حيث يقوم بكافة العمليات القتالية ضد مسلحي طالبان. وقد جاء هذا النشر بعد عمليات نشر كبيرة بحجم كتيبة من قوات حفظ السلام من دولة الإمارات في لبنان والصومال والبلقان منذ سبعينيات القرن الماضي.

• اليمن. منذ أن رحلت القوات المصرية من اليمن في عام 1970 لم تقلل السعودية قط من نفوذها على السياسات اليمنية كما أنها تواصل التدخل عسكرياً في هذه البلاد سواء بصورة مباشرة أو عن طريق وكلاء. ففي عام 2009 دشنت الرياض حملة قصف جوي ضد المتمردين الحوثيين في شمال اليمن استمرت تسعة أسابيع مما تسبب في فقدان 137 جندياً خلال الصدامات الناجمة عن ذلك. وفي الآونة الأخيرة، زادت المملكة من دعمها للمساجد السلفية والشيوخ في شمال اليمن بما في ذلك توفير الرواتب والمركبات المدرعة والأسلحة. ومن جانبها قدمت الإمارات قدراً كبيراً من العربات المدرعة والأسلحة لليمن عبر الجيش الأردني بالإضافة إلى تمويل نشر مدربي القوات الخاصة الأردنيين.

• ليبيا. لعبت القوات المسلحة القطرية والإماراتية دوراً رئيسياً في الحملة الأخيرة للإطاحة بمعمر القذافي. فقد نشرت كلتا الدولتين قوات خاصة داخل ليبيا ووضعتها في معمعة القتال. وقد تم استخدام الطائرات القطرية والإماراتية لنقل الأسلحة والمركبات المدرعة للمتمردين الليبيين في بنغازي وجبال نفوسة جنوب طرابلس. وقد كانت كلتا الدولتين منخرطتان بشكل مباشر في تنظيم المقاومة والتنسيق مع القوات الجوية لمنظمة حلف شمال الأطلسي. وكما ذكر رئيس الأركان الإماراتي اللواء الركن حمد بن علي العطية في تشرين الأول/ أكتوبر 2011 فإن "أعداد القطريين على الأرض كانت بالمئات في كل منطقة (وركزت على) إدارة التدريب وعمليات الاتصال...وتخطيط المعارك." ومنذ سقوط نظام القذافي تتنافس الإمارات وقطر على تقديم أكثر المساعدات الأمنية للحكومة الجديدة والميليشيات الفردية باستخدام أكاديميات التدريب الأردنية والتركية لتوصيل البرامج التدريبية.

• لبنان. منذ عام 2006 قدمت الإمارات إلى لبنان عدة مئات من المركبات وشحنات الأسلحة الصغيرة والذخائر والسترات الواقية من الرصاص ومستلزمات مقاومة الشغب لقوات الشرطة الموازية للجيش. إن اندلاع القتال بين جماعة "فتح الإسلام" المسلحة ووحدات لبنانية في مخيم لاجئين نهر البارد في طرابلس في أيار/ مايو 2007 قد شجع الإمارات على توفير تسع مروحيات جازيل من طرازSA-342L من مخازنها الخاصة تم نشرها في غضون أسبوعين من اندلاع القتال وتم تسليحها ببنادق آلية ومنصات صواريخ غير موجهة وأجهزة استشعار وأنظمة للدفاع عن النفس.

وقد كانت الحلقات الأحدث في التدخل العسكري من جانب دول "مجلس التعاون الخليجي" ذات طبيعة متحفظة أو دفاعية مثل الدعم الخارجي الداخلي لأفغانستان ولبنان واليمن والبحرين وليبيا ما بعد القذافي. ورغم أن حالات الحرب غير التقليدية ضد دولة مستهدفة هي الأقل شيوعاً إلا أن الدعم السعودي كان مركزياً في حملتي التمرد الأطول زمناً في المنطقة بينما يمثل التدخل القطري والإماراتي في ليبيا نقطة تحول في الثقة العسكرية الهجومية التي أظهرتها هاتان الدولتان.

ويبدو أن الصيغة التي تسهل انخراط دول "مجلس التعاون الخليجي" في حرب غير تقليدية ضد دول إقليمية تتكون من ثلاثة عناصر: ضغينة مسبقة أو مصلحة في الإطاحة بالنظام أو تفويض دولي قوي أو حليف قوي رئيسي يدعم العملية، وتعاون شريك إقليمي موثوق ذي قدرة عسكرية قوية (مثل باكستان أو الأردن أو تركيا). وقد أظهرت ليبيا أن دول الخليج يمكن أن تعمل بجرأة عندما تمتلك تفويضاً دولياً وتواجه نظام معزول ولا يحظى بشعبية. كما أن الروابط العسكرية لدول "مجلس التعاون الخليجي" مع مجموعة القوات الخاصة الأردنية قد تُسفر عن مجموعة قوية بشكل خاص فيما يتعلق بالتدخل في سوريا.

التداعيات السياسية

يمكن أن يوفر تدخل دول "مجلس التعاون الخليجي" في الحرب الأهلية في سوريا تعزيزاً قوياً لقدرة "الجيش السوري الحر" المعارض كقوة عسكرية. لكن مثل هذا التدخل سيحدث فقط لو تلقت السعودية وقطر والإمارات تفويضاً من منتدى دولي كبير وأيضاً في حالة التزام الحليف العسكري مثل تركيا أو الأردن بصورة قوية بالمسعى كله. كما أن المساعدة بتقديم السلاح ربما تظل أيضاً على الأرجح غير مباشرة وذات حجم منخفض (مثل القدر الصغير من المال الخليجي الممنوح لمهربي أسلحة لبنانيين وعراقيين) إلى أن تقدم إما الولايات المتحدة أو فرنسا أسلحة مضادة للدبابات وأجهزة اتصالات آمنة وموارد أخرى حيوية.

وربما كان الاعتبار الرئيسي المتعلق بتدخل دول "مجلس التعاون الخليجي" لا يتمثل فيما إذا كان باستطاعته بالفعل أن يؤثر على الصراع أم لا بل الكيفية التي ربما يجسّد بها التدخل الخليجي العربي البيئة المستقبلية في سوريا والمنطقة. ففي أفغانستان ومؤخراً في ليبيا كانت رعاية دول "مجلس التعاون الخليجي" لبعض الوكلاء قد استمرت بعد الصراع وربما كانت لها تداعيات ضارة على الاستقرار والأمن وسيطرة الحكومة المركزية. كما أن دعم الخليج للجماعات المتمردة يميل إلى تمكين التيارات الإسلامية المتطرفة داخل الأوساط المتمردة والسياسية.

وعلاوة على ذلك فإذا انخرطت بالفعل مشيخات الخليج في عمل سري في سوريا فإن الصراعين العراقي والسوري يمكن أن يتداخلا بحيث يواجه المتمردون العرب في كلتا الدولتين حكومات تحت قيادة شيعية وواقعة تحت النفوذ الإيراني. ولو شاءت واشنطن فلن تواجه صعوبة تذكر في ردع دول الخليج عن توفير مساعدات عسكرية كبيرة للمعارضة السورية، حيث يلزم وجود مجموعة هشة من العوامل لتشجيع تلك الدول المتحفظة على العمل في المقام الأول. ولو قُدر أن تحصل دول الخليج على الضوء الأخضر للتدخل عسكرياً في سوريا فإنها ستكسب كثيراً لو نسقت إجراءاتها بشكل وثيق مع دول غربية ذات مصلحة طويلة الأمد في استقرار البلاد.

 

مايكل نايتس هو زميل ليفر في معهد واشنطن، متخصص في الشؤون العسكرية والأمنية للعراق وإيران وليبيا واليمن ودول الخليج العربي.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 1929

Could the Gulf States Intervene in Syria?

Michael Knights

Also available in العربية

April 17, 2012


The participation of Qatar and the United Arab Emirates in the Libyan conflict demonstrated the Gulf Cooperation Council's activism and capability. In recent months, therefore, speculation has focused on possible GCC intervention in the Syrian civil war. On February 27, Qatari prime minister Hamad bin Jassim al-Thani told the Friends of Syria conference in Tunis that "we should do whatever is necessary to help [Syrian oppositionists], including giving them weapons to defend themselves." On March 31, Saudi foreign minister Saud al-Faisal echoed this statement: "The arming of the [Syrian] opposition is a duty." What capabilities, then, would the Gulf states bring in terms of support to armed proxies? And what would be the risks related to their intervention?

BACKGROUND

External security assistance to states and substate groups can be divided into two broad categories: foreign internal defense (FID) and unconventional warfare. FID support comprises security assistance provided to a government for the purpose of overcoming insurgent or terrorist groups, while unconventional warfare refers to support provided by external actors to the insurgents. In either case, foreign support may include provision of training, equipment, or operations, in some cases via direct involvement of foreign combat forces.

GCC states have a significant track record in FID and are quickly gaining experience in unconventional warfare missions. Both FID and unconventional warfare accentuate funding, technology, airpower, and special forces -- attributes possessed by the Gulf Arab monarchies. Likewise, factors that have traditionally hindered GCC military effectiveness -- limited manpower, inability to field large numbers of high-quality units -- are deemphasized. The partial deniability afforded by the use of militant proxies is also attractive to the cautious Gulf monarchies.

PRECEDENTS FOR SYRIA INTERVENTION

Saudi Arabia offers a significant pedigree in terms of unconventional warfare campaigns: the kingdom was centrally involved in both the eight-year North Yemen civil war and the decade-long anti-Soviet jihad in Afghanistan. In the Yemeni conflict, Riyadh orchestrated a long-running aerial program of armament supply; in Afghanistan, it provided hundreds of millions of dollars in support (peaking at $630 million in 1987). More recently, GCC involvement in FID and unconventional warfare missions has involved more states (particularly the UAE and Qatar) in the following conflicts:

  • Afghanistan. Since 2006, the UAE has deployed a battalion-size group of mechanized and special forces to Afghanistan. The special forces component operates in Kandahar, in collaboration with Jordanian special forces, conducting full combat operations against Taliban militants. This deployment follows on significant battalion-size UAE peacekeeping deployments to Lebanon, Somalia, and the Balkans since the 1970s.
  • Yemen. Since Egyptian troops departed in 1970, Saudi Arabia has never diminished its influence on Yemeni politics and continues to intervene militarily in the country, both directly and via proxies. In 2009, Riyadh launched a nine-week aerial bombing campaign against Houthi rebels in northern Yemen, losing 137 troops during the resultant clashes. More recently, the kingdom upped its support of Salafist mosques and sheikhs in northern Yemen, including provision of salaries, armored vehicles, and weapons. For its part, the UAE has provided significant stocks of armored vehicles and weapons to Yemen via the Jordanian military, in addition to funding the deployment of Jordanian special forces trainers.

  • Libya. Qatari and UAE armed forces played a major role in the recent campaign to unseat Muammar Qadhafi. Both nations deployed special forces inside Libya, placing them in the thick of the fighting. Qatari and UAE aircraft were used to shuttle arms and armored vehicles to the Libyan rebels in Benghazi and the Nafusa Mountains south of Tripoli. And both countries were directly involved in organizing the resistance and coordinating with NATO air forces. As Qatari armed forces chief of staff Maj. Gen. Hamad bin Ali al-Attiyah noted in October 2011, "The numbers of Qataris on the ground were hundreds in every region [and focused on] running the training and communications operations...and planning the battles." Since the fall of Qadhafi's regime, the UAE and Qatar have vied over who will provide the most security assistance to the new government and individual militias, using Jordanian and Turkish training academies to deliver the training packages.

  • Lebanon. Since 2006, the UAE has provisioned Lebanon with several hundred vehicles, shipments of small arms and ammunition, body armor, and anti-riot gear for paramilitary police forces. The outbreak of fighting between the Fatah al-Islam militant group and Lebanese units at Tripoli's Nahr al-Bared refugee camp in May 2007 prompted the UAE to supply nine SA-342L Gazelle helicopters from its own stores, deployed within two weeks of the outbreak of fighting and armed with machine guns, unguided rocket pods, sensors, and self-defense systems.

Most recent episodes of GCC military intervention have been conservative or defensive in nature, such as FID support to Afghanistan, Lebanon, Yemen, Bahrain, and post-Qadhafi Libya. Although cases of unconventional warfare against a target state are less prevalent, Saudi support was central to two of the region's longest-running insurgent campaigns, while the Qatari and UAE intervention in Libya marks a watershed in the offensive military confidence shown by these states.

The formula that seems to facilitate GCC involvement in unconventional warfare against regional states comprises three elements: a preexisting grudge or interest in unseating the regime; a strong international mandate or major allied power underpinning the operation; and the cooperation of a trusted regional partner with strong military capacity (such as Pakistan, Jordan, or Turkey). Libya showed that the Gulf states could act boldly when they possessed an international mandate and faced an unpopular and isolated regime. GCC military ties to the Jordanian special forces community could result in a particularly powerful combination in a Syria intervention.

POLICY IMPLICATIONS

GCC military intervention in Syria's civil war could provide a significant boost to the opposition Free Syrian Army's viability as a military force. But such intervention will only come about if Saudi Arabia, Qatar, and the UAE receive a mandate from a major international forum, and if a military ally such as Turkey or Jordan strongly commits to the endeavor. Lethal aid would also probably remain indirect and low volume (e.g., small pots of Gulf money given to Lebanese and Iraqi arms smugglers) until either the United States or France provides antitank weapons, secure communications equipment, and other vital resources.

Perhaps the key consideration regarding GCC intervention is not whether it can meaningfully affect the conflict, but how Gulf Arab involvement might shape the future environment in Syria and the region. In Afghanistan and, most recently, Libya, GCC sponsorship of proxies continued after the conflict and may have had deleterious consequences for state stability and central government control. Gulf support for rebel groups tends to empower radical Islamist currents within the insurgent and political milieus.

Furthermore, if the Gulf monarchies do become involved in covert action in Syria, the Iraqi and Syrian conflicts could become intertwined, with Arab rebels in both countries facing Iranian-influenced Shiite-led governments. If Washington wished to, it would probably have little trouble deterring the Gulf states from providing significant lethal aid to the Syrian opposition, since a fragile constellation of factors is required to encourage these conservative states to act in the first place. And if the Gulf states are given the green light to militarily intervene in Syria, it would pay dividends to closely coordinate their actions with Western nations who have a long-term interest in the country's stability.

Michael Knights is a Lafer fellow with The Washington Institute, specializing in the military and security affairs of Iraq, Iran, Libya, Yemen, and the Gulf Arab states.