أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 2832

تدابير بناء الثقة والأمن في سهل نينوى

مايكل نايتس و يوسف قليان

متاح أيضاً في English

14 تموز/يوليو 2017


انطلقت المعركة لتحرير الموصل من قبضة تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» من سهل نينوى، وهو عبارة عن قرى زراعية متعددة الأعراق والطوائف تنتشر في الأراضي الشمالية الشرقية المحيطة بالمدينة. وكان هذا هو الاتجاه الذي بدأت منه قوات الأمن العراقية والتحالف المدعوم من الولايات المتحدة عملية تحرير المدينة في تشرين الأول/أكتوبر 2016. فقد كانت مناطق سهل نينوى مثل قرقوش وتللسقف وتلكيف وبعشيقة وبرطلة خاضعة لسيطرة تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» طيلة 27 شهراً، أي لفترة توازي تقريباً سيطرته على الموصل نفسها. والآن، بعد سبعة أشهر على تحرير سهل نينوى، لا تزال أجزاء كبيرة منه خالية من السكان، كما أنه مقسّم بين قوات الحكومة العراقية والقوات الكردية، إلى جانب ميليشياتهما التي تعمل بالوكالة والمكوّنة من المجتمعات المحلية للمسيحيين والشبك.

إن المنطقة الآن بحاجة ماسة إلى التحالف الذي تقوده الولايات المتحدة للمساعدة في تطوير تدابير بناء الثقة- والأمن التي من شأنها الحدّ من خطر اندلاع اشتباكات بين القوات وتحسين التنسيق الأمني ودعم إعادة الإعمار، وبالتالي تمهيد الطريق أمام إعادة المشردين داخلياً من المخيمات التي يقيمون فيها في «إقليم كردستان» إلى ديارهم. وتعني الطبيعة المسالمة نسبياً التي تطغي على العلاقات السائدة بين الطوائف في سهل نينوى أن التدخل ينطوي على فرصة جيدة للنجاح إذا ما حصل قبل أن تسمّم الميليشيات العلاقات بين المجتمعات المحلية.

السيطرة المتنازع عليها على سهل نينوى

هناك فارق ضئيل بين سهل نينوى و "الحدود الداخلية المتنازع عليها" في العراق، المنطقة التي كانت تخضع للعراق أثناء حكم صدام حسين حتى عام 2003، والتي يدّعي «إقليم كردستان» أنه يجب توحيدها إدارياً مع «كردستان العراق». وتنتشر البلدات المسيحية اوالمجتمعات الزراعية القديمة في السهل حيث تمتزج مع المستوطنات العربية القديمة والمجتمعات اليزيدية والكردية. وتعيش أقليات صغيرة مثل الكاكائيين والشبك في سهل نينوى، وهو المكان الوحيد في العالم الذي يقطنه الشبك. وعلى الرغم من أن السهل هو بمعظمه جزء من محافظة نينوى الخاضعة لإدارة اتحادية ومقرها الموصل، إلّا أن الأكراد لطالما أعربوا عن رغبتهم في تقديم الحماية لأي مجتمعات تعيش في السهل وترغب في الانضمام إلى «إقليم كردستان».

وعندما هاجم تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» الموصل في حزيران/يونيو 2014، كان سهل نينوى خاضعاً لسيطرة مزيج متعدد اللغات والجنسيات من قوات الأمن. (في آب/أغسطس من ذلك العام، نجح التنظيم في بسط سيطرته الكاملة على سهل نينوى). وقد تمكنت قوات الأمن الكردية من إحكام قبضتها الفعالة على المناطق المسيحية بواسطة عناصر الاستخبارات الكردية والميليشيات المسيحية التي تلقت الأموال من الأكراد وحامية جيش عراقي تتألف إلى حد كبير من جنود أكراد يتلقون الأوامر من قيادة «إقليم كردستان». وقد وفر العراق الاتحادي قوات الشرطة، وبدأت بغداد في اختبار رعاية ميليشيات الشبك، مستغلة مخاوف المجتمع الشبكي المسلم الشيعي، الذي استُبعد بشكل عام من ترتيبات الحماية الكردية وتعرض لهجمات تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» بشكل متكرر. ورغم أن سهل نينوى بدا هادئاً للغرباء، إلا أن المنطقة ضمت قطبة خفية مظلمة: فقد شعر الشبك بأنه قد تم التخلي عنهم، وخشي المسيحيون من معدلات المواليد المرتفعة في أوساط المسلمين المحليين فضلاً عن تدفق الأكراد.

واليوم ليست الترتيبات الأمنية سوى نسخة مضخمة للوضع الذي كان سائداً قبل عام 2014، مع بعض التقلبات الجديدة غير السارة. وفي الواقع، تتشارك العديد من قوات الأمن حالياً في عمليات المراقبة وفرض النظام في مدن الأشباح المهجورة في سهل نينوى:

  • تفرض قوات "البيشمركة" الكردية و"الزيرفاني" سيطرتها على خط محصن يشمل مدناً مثل تلكيف وبعشيقة وبرطلة.
  • تسيطر قوات الفرقة 16 في الجيش العراقي على نقاط التفتيش على الطريق السريع بين الموصل وأربيل وعلى ضواحي الموصل.
  • تتولى الشرطة العراقية بشكل اسمي المسؤولية عن مراكز الشرطة في سهل نينوى.
  • تُعتبر "كتائب بابليون" ["لواء بابل"] البالغ قوامها 1,000 عنصر جزءاً من «وحدات الحشد الشعبي»، القوات المتطوعة التي تتقاضى رواتبها من بغداد. وهذا اللواء الذي يقوده الزعيم المسيحي ريان الكلداني ويتمركز شمال منطقة تلكيف ليس محلياً في الواقع بل يشمل أفراداً من الشبك والعرب الشيعة الذين جلبتهم «منظمة بدر» المدعومة من إيران من خارج نينوى عند انتهاء المعركة على سهل نينوى.
  • تعمل "وحدات حماية سهل نينوى" ذات الغالبية المسيحية والتي يبلغ عدد أفرادها حوالي 500 عنصر، اسمياً تحت مظلة «وحدات الحشد الشعبي»، لكنها تنفذ عملياتها بشكل مستقل عن قيادة «قوات الحشد الشعبي» في بغداد. وقد تلقت عناصر "وحدات حماية سهل نينوى" تدريباً أمريكياً وحصل أفرادها على عتاد غير فتاك من منظمة غير ربحية مقرها في الولايات المتحدة تحمل اسم "صندوق دعم سهل نينوى". وقد قاتلت هذه الوحدات إلى جانب قوات التحالف بقيادة الولايات المتحدة والقوات العراقية في المعركة لاسترداد سهل نينوى، وتقيم الآن نقاط تفتيش في المناطق الشرقية المسيحية مثل قرقوش وبرطلة.
  • "حرس سهل نينوى" البالغ قوامه 1500 عنصر هو قوة كردية تعمل بالوكالة وترتبط بـ"المجلس الشعبي الكلداني السرياني الآشوري"، وهو حزب سياسي أسسه عضو «الحزب الديمقراطي الكردستاني» سركيس أغاجان. ويركز "حرس سهل نينوى" على المنطقة الشمالية من بعشيقة إلى ألقوش، قرب بحيرة الموصل.
  • تشكّل "قوات سهل نينوى" التي تضمّ نحو 500 عنصر مجموعة كردية أخرى تعمل بالوكالة وترتبط بـ"حزب بيت نهرين الديمقراطي"، وتركز أيضاً على المنطقة الشمالية. 
  • ترتبط "دويخ نوشا" ("الذين يضحون بأنفسهم" بالسريانية) بـ"الحزب الوطني الآشوري"، وكلاهما يتركزان في الجزء الشمالي من سهل نينوى.

ونظراً إلى عدم وجود آلية تنسيق، من المرجّح أن تحتدم التوترات بين قوات الأمن خلال الأشهر المقبلة، مما قد يسفر عن اشتباكات مسلحة ويعيق على أقلّ تقدير اتخاذ إجراءات فعالة لمنع تشتت مسلحي تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» من الموصل المحررة وانتشارهم في المنطقة.  

التعمير وإعادة التوطين

لا تشكّل الحرب ضد تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» الأساس المنطقي الوحيد لإعداد هيكل أمني أفضل تنظيماً في سهل نينوى. فقد كان العديد من اللاجئين في «إقليم كردستان» يترقبون الانتهاء من امتحانات أبنائهم في حزيران/يونيو قبل التفكير في العودة إلى نينوى، لكن الآن تزداد ضغوط العودة. ووفقا للقادة المحليين الذين استطلعهما كاتبيْ هذه المقالة، لا يزال90,000  شخص من أصل سكان سهل نينوى الذين بلغ عددهم120,000  شخص قبل عام 2014 مشردين. وتشير استطلاعات الرأي إلى أن 41 في المائة من المسيحيين المشردين من سهل نينوى يرغبون في العودة، ولكن لم يعد حتى الآن سوى3,365  مسيحياً إلى منازلهم. وأحد الأسباب هو أضرار الحرب: وكانت "مساعدة الكنيسة المحتاجة"، وهي منظمة غير ربحية ملتزمة بإعادة بناء سهل نينوى، قد قدّرت وجود12,970  منزلاً بحاجة إلى إعادة بناء بتكلفة محتملة تتجاوز 200 مليون دولار. غير أنه لغاية الآن، لم يتمّ تجديد سوى 232 منزلاً. وحتى إذا كان بالإمكان البدء بإعادة البناء، لن تشهد المنطقة إعادة توطين جماعية من دون ثقة الشعب بقدرة قوات الأمن على حماية العائدين، وعدم مقاتلة هذه القوات بعضها البعض. ولا يزال الخوف يسيطر بشكل كبير على الشعب من نهوض تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» مجدداً، كما أنهم لا يؤمنون كثيراً بأن قوات الأمن الكردية أو العراقية ستنجح الآن حيث فشلت في عام 2014. 

دور الائتلاف في إعادة بناء الثقة والاستقرار

يقدّم سهل نينوى أرضاً خصبة لتطوير تدابير بناء الثقة والأمن بدعم من الولايات المتحدة. ويعود السبب في ذلك إلى أنه رغم سوء العلاقات بين قوات الأمن في المنطقة، إلا أنها ليست "سيئة للغاية" إلى درجة تمنع التعاون. وإذا كان تمكين الجهات الفاعلة المحلية أمراً ممكناً، فمن المرجّح أن تختار التنسيق فيما بينها نظراً لأن سهل نينوى مكاناً صغيراً جداً وأن مصير عائلاتهم ومنازلهم ومجتمعاتهم المحلية على المحك. وإذا أقدمت جهات فاعلة خارجية مثل «منظمة بدر» و«الحزب الديمقراطي الكردستاني» على فرض وتيرة سير الأحداث، قد تصبح المنطقة ببساطة ساحة معركة بالوكالة تسكنها القوات الوطنية التي لا تحتاج إلى تحمّل تكاليف الصراع. لذلك، يجب استثناء القوات الخارجية (مثل الميليشيات التي جُلبت من وراء سهول نينوى) من ترتيبات الأمن المحلية حيثما أمكن ذلك، وربما استبدالها برجال محليين. وفي كركوك، تمّ تخفيف حدة التوترات جزئياً بين «وحدات الحشد الشعبي» والقوات المحلية من خلال إقامة تفاهمات بأنه يٌرحب بالرجال المحليين للانضمام إلى «وحدات الحشد الشعبي»، غير أنه لن يُسمح للغرباء - سواء كأفراد أو وحدات كاملة - بالخدمة في المنطقة.

يجب أن يكون هذا المبدأ، الذي يشدّد على تجنيد السكان المحليين، حجر الزاوية في الهندسة الأمنية في سهل نينوى وقد يحظى بتأييد شعبي. إنه أفضل طريقة للحد من رد الفعل السلبي لدى الأكراد تجاه «وحدات الحشد الشعبي» في المنطقة، حتى أنّه قد يمهّد الطريق أمام اندماج قوات كردية تعمل بالوكالة مثل "حرس سهل نينوى" و"قوات سهل نينوى" و"دويخ نوشا" ضمن «وحدات الحشد الشعبي» بالطريقة نفسها كما حصل مع "وحدات حماية سهل نينوى". وعلى غرار العديد من «قوات الحشد الشعبي» القبلية السنّية، تتلقى "وحدات حماية سهل نينوى" أجورها من بغداد، لكنها تتمتع بقيادة وسلطة محلية تجعلها تعمل بطريقة شبه مستقلة عن قادة «وحدات الحشد الشعبي» المدعومين من إيران مثل أبو مهدي المهندس، نائب رئيس «وحدات الحشد الشعبي» الذي أدرجته الولايات المتحدة على لائحتها الخاصة بالإرهاب.     

ومن شأن سهل نينوى أن يكون موقعاً مثالياً لنظام مماثل لـ"الآلية الأمنية المشتركة" التي طبقها الجيش الأمريكي بين 2009 و2011 من أجل إنشاء مجموعة ثلاثية الأطراف - أمريكية-عراقية-كردية- من الدوريات ونقاط التفتيش ومراكز القيادة. وقبل عام 2014، تمثّلت إحدى نقاط ضعف الترتيبات الأمنية المحلية في التصوّر المحدود الذي كان لدى القوات المؤيدة للأكراد والقوات الموالية لبغداد إزاء تحركات وأنشطة بعضها البعض. فضلاً عن ذلك، لم تدخل القوات الكردية القادرة إلى مناطق الشبك أو تقدّم لهم الحماية. ويمكن أن تشعر مجتمعات الشبك باطمئنان كبير من الدوريات ونقاط التفتيش ومراكز القيادة المشتركة التي تضمّ ضباط مخابرات "الأسايش" الكردية وقوات «وحدات الحشد الشعبي» المحلية بالإضافةً إلى الجيش العراقي أو وحدات الشرطة العراقية. وقد يساهم ذلك في الحدّ من الميل المتنامي للشبك نحو الحصول على الدعم من الجماعات المدعومة من إيران مثل «منظمة بدر».    

 

مايكل نايتس هو زميل "ليفر" في معهد واشنطن ومؤلف التقرير الذي أصدره المعهد بعنوان "كيفية تأمين الموصل". وقد عمل في جميع محافظات العراق وأمضى بعض الوقت ملحقاً بقوات الأمن في البلاد. يوسف كليان مساعد باحث سابق في المعهد وكان قد عمل سابقاً مع المنظمات الكلدانية والسريانية والآشورية واليزيدية.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 2832

Confidence- and Security-Building Measures in the Nineveh Plains

Michael Knights and Yousif Kalian

Also available in العربية

July 14, 2017


In the aftermath of Mosul's liberation, the adjacent Nineveh Plains could be a cockpit for new ethno-sectarian conflict or a test case of cooperative security arrangements, with the anti-IS coalition having strong incentives to ensure the latter.

The battle to liberate Mosul from the Islamic State began in the Nineveh Plains, the belt of multiethnic and cross-sectarian farming villages spread across the northeastern approaches to the city. This was the direction from which Iraq's security forces and the U.S.-backed coalition began their liberation of the city in October 2016. Nineveh Plains areas such as Qaraqosh, Tal Asqaf, Tal Kayf, Bashiqa, and Bartella were under Islamic State (IS) control for twenty-seven months, almost as long as Mosul itself. Now, seven months after its liberation, the Nineveh Plains is still largely depopulated and is divided between Iraqi government and Kurdish forces, along with their proxy militias from the local Christian and Shabak communities.

The area desperately needs the U.S.-led coalition to help develop confidence- and security-building measures that can reduce the risk for clashes between the forces, improve security coordination, support reconstruction, and thus pave the way for repatriation of internally displaced persons from camps in the Kurdistan Region. The relatively peaceful nature of intercommunal relations in the Nineveh Plains means that intervention stands a good chance of success if it is attempted before militias poison relations between local communities. 

Contested Control of the Nineveh Plains

The Nineveh Plains is subtly different from Iraq's Disputed Internal Boundary (DIB), the area that was controlled by Saddam Hussein's Iraq until 2003 but which the Kurdistan Region claims should be administratively reunited with Iraqi Kurdistan. Ancient Christian towns and farming communities dot the plains, mixed in with old Arab settlements and Yazidi and Kurdish communities. Micro-minorities such as the Kakai and the Shabak live in the Nineveh Plains, the only place in the world inhabited by the latter. Although the Nineveh Plains is mostly part of Nineveh province, a federal-administered governorate headquartered in Mosul, the Kurds have long expressed their willingness to extend protection to any communities on the plains that wish to join the Kurdistan Region.

When the Islamic State attacked Mosul in June 2014, the Nineveh Plains was controlled by a polyglot patchwork quilt of security forces. (That August, IS extended full control over the plains). Kurdish security forces exercised effective control over the Christian areas using Kurdish intelligence personnel, Kurdish-paid Christian militias, and an Iraqi army garrison made up largely of Kurdish troops answering to the Kurdistan Region leadership. Federal Iraq provided the police forces, and Baghdad was beginning to experiment with sponsorship of Shabak militias, exploiting fears of the Shia Muslim Shabak community, which was generally excluded from Kurdish protective arrangements and was regularly attacked by IS. Though the Nineveh Plains looked calm to outsiders, the area had a dark undercurrent: the Shabak people felt abandoned, and Christians fretted over the high birth rates of local Muslims as well as the influx of Kurds.

Today's security arrangements are simply an amplified version of the pre-2014 situation, with some unpleasant new twists. Indeed, numerous security forces now share the policing of the depopulated ghost towns of the Nineveh Plains:

  • Kurdish Peshmerga and Zerevani forces hold a fortified line that encompasses towns such as Tal Kayf, Bashiqa, and Bartella.
  • Iraqi Army 16th Division troops control checkpoints on the Mosul-Erbil highway and on Mosul's outskirts.
  • Iraqi police nominally maintain responsibility for the police districts in the Nineveh Plains. 
  • The 1,000-strong Babylon Brigade is part of the al-Hashd al-Shabi (Popular Mobilization Units, PMU), the volunteer forces paid by Baghdad. Led by Christian militiaman Rayan al-Kildani and focused in the northern Tal Kayf area, the brigade is not actually local but rather comprises Shabak people and Shia Arabs brought by the Iran-backed Badr Organization from outside Nineveh at the end of the battle for the Nineveh Plains.
  • The approximately 500-strong, predominantly Christian Nineveh Plains Protection Units (NPU) is nominally under the PMU umbrella but operates independently of the PMU leadership in Baghdad. The NPU received U.S. training and nonlethal equipment from a U.S.-based nonprofit named the Nineveh Plain Defense Fund. The NPU fought alongside U.S.-led coalition and Iraqi forces in the battle for the Nineveh Plains and now undertakes checkpoint security in eastern Christian areas such as Qaraqosh and Bartella.
  • The 1,500-strong Nineveh Plains Guards (NPG) is a Kurdish proxy force connected to the Chaldean Syriac Assyrian Popular Council, a political party founded by Kurdistan Democratic Party (KDP) member Sarkis Aghajan. It focuses on the northern area from Bashiqa to al-Qosh, next to Mosul Lake.
  • The approximately 500-strong Nineveh Plains Forces (NPF) is another Kurdish proxy group, this one aligned with the Bet-Nahrain Democratic Party, again focused on the northern area.
  • The Dwekh Nawsha (Syriac for "one who sacrifices") is connected to the Assyrian Patriotic Party, both of which are concentrated in the northern part of the Nineveh Plains.

Given the lack of a coordination mechanism, tensions between the security forces will likely boil over in the coming months, potentially resulting in armed clashes and, at the very least, preventing effective action to prevent Islamic State militants from dispersing from liberated Mosul into the area.

Reconstruction and Resettlement

The fight against the Islamic State is not the only rationale to create a better-organized security architecture in the Nineveh Plains. Many refugees in the Kurdistan Region were waiting for their children's exams to finish in June before considering a move back to the plains, but now the pressure to return is growing. According to local leaders canvassed by the authors, 90,000 people out of the Nineveh Plains' pre-2014 population of 120,000 are still displaced. Opinion polling suggests that 41 percent of Christian displaced persons from the Nineveh Plains want to return, but thus far only 3,365 Christians have returned to their homes. One reason is war damage: Aid to the Church in Need, a not-for-profit committed to rebuilding the Nineveh Plains, has estimated that 12,970 homes must be rebuilt, at a likely cost of more than $200 million. Thus far, however, only 232 houses are currently being renovated. Even if rebuilding can be started, no mass resettlement will occur without public trust that the security forces can protect the returnees and that such forces will not fight each other. There is still great public fear of an IS resurgence, and little faith that Kurdish or Iraqi security forces will succeed now where they failed in 2014.

Coalition Role in Rebuilding Trust and Stability

The Nineveh Plains offers fertile ground for the development of U.S.-backed confidence- and security-building measures. This is because while the relationships between the security forces in the area are bad, they are not yet too bad to cooperate. If local actors can be empowered, they are likely to opt for coordination because the Nineveh Plains is a very small place and their families, homes, and communities are at stake. If outside actors such as Badr and the KDP dictate events, then the Nineveh Plains may simply become a proxy battlefield populated by national forces that need not bear the costs of the conflict. Outside forces (such as militiamen brought from beyond the Nineveh Plains) should be excluded from local security arrangements wherever possible, perhaps being displaced by local men. In Kirkuk, tensions have been partly reduced between the PMU and local forces by establishing understandings that local men were welcome to join the PMU but that outsiders -- whether as individuals or whole units -- should not be allowed to serve in the area.

This principle, emphasizing enlistment of locals, should be a cornerstone of security architecture in the Nineveh Plains, and it may be popular. It is the best way to reduce the negative reaction Kurds have toward the PMU in the area, and might even pave the way for Kurdish proxy forces such as the NPG, NPF, and Dwekh Nawsha to be folded within the PMU in the same way that the NPU has been. Like a lot of Sunni tribal PMU forces, the NPU receives its wages from Baghdad but enjoys localized command and control that operates semiautonomously from Iran-backed PMU leaders such as Abu Mahdi al-Muhandis, the deputy PMU commander and a U.S.-designated terrorist.

The Nineveh Plains would be an ideal setting for a system akin to the Combined Security Mechanisms, implemented by the U.S. military in 2009-11 to create trilateral U.S.-Iraqi-Kurdish patrols, checkpoints, and headquarters. Prior to 2014, one weakness of the local security arrangements was the limited insight that pro-Kurdish and pro-Baghdad forces had regarding each other's movements and activities. Furthermore, the capable Kurdish forces did not enter Shabak areas or protect them. Shabak communities could gain great reassurance from joint patrols, checkpoints, and headquarters involving Kurdish Asayesh intelligence officers, local PMU forces, and Iraqi army or police units. This could reduce the growing tendency of the Shabak to look toward Iran-backed groups such as Badr for support.

Michael Knights is a Lafer Fellow with The Washington Institute and author of its report How to Secure Mosul. He has worked in all of Iraq's provinces and spent time embedded with the country's security forces. Yousif Kalian is a former research assistant at the Institute who has previously worked with Chaldean, Syriac, Assyrian, and Yazidi organizations.