أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

صفحات رأي ومقالات

جولة الصين الشرق أوسطية

مايكل سينغ

متاح أيضاً في English

"فورين آفيرز"

24 كانون الثاني/يناير 2016


حتى بينما كان الاتفاق النووي الإيراني وإمكانية التقارب بين طهران والغرب يشكلان موقع إلهام لعدد لا يحصى من مقالات الرأي، إلا أن العلاقة الناشئة بين الصين وإيران مرت مرور الكرام. لكن في 23 كانون الثاني/ يناير، أصبح الرئيس الصيني شي جين بينغ أول زعيم في العالم يزور إيران بعد دخول الاتفاق [حيز التنفيذ]. وصرّح الرئيس شي بأنه يسعى إلى فتح "صفحة جديدة" في العلاقات بين الصين وإيران. في هذا الإطار قال المرشد الأعلى، آية الله علي خامنئي، إن "الجمهورية الإسلامية لن تنسى أبداً تعاون الصين معها خلال عصر العقوبات".

الجدير بالذكر أن رحلة شي إلى المنطقة، والتي شملت أيضاً زيارة مصر والمملكة العربية السعودية، كانت استمراراً لمنهجية تعزيز مشاركة بكين في الشرق الأوسط. فقد تكون خطوات الصين أقل تأثيراً من غزوات القوى العظمى الأخرى في المنطقة (منها التدخل الروسي الأخير في سوريا)، إلا أنها لا تقل أهمية عنها. فهذه الخطوات تشير إلى أن الأولوية التي كانت تتمتع بها واشنطن من دون منازع في الشرق الأوسط لعقود طويلة تقترب من نهايتها.

من جانب آخر، فإن الطموحات التجارية الصينية في الشرق الأوسط آخذة في التوسع. ومع تحقيق الولايات المتحدة الاكتفاء الذاتي من حيث الطاقة بشكل متزايد، تحركت الصين بالاتجاه المعاكس. ومن المتوقع أن تتفوق على الولايات المتحدة كأكبر مستهلك للطاقة في العالم بحلول عام 2030، نظراً إلى أن طلبها من النفط المستورد ينمو من ستة ملايين برميل يومياً إلى 13 مليون برميل بحلول عام 2035. ومن المرجح أن تحصل على الجزء الأكبر من إمداداتها الجديدة من منطقة الشرق الأوسط، والتي تحتاجها الصين أيضاً لدخول أسواق جديدة لإنتاج سلعها، واستثمار رؤوس أموالها، وتأمين عمالة جديدة. وفي هذا السياق وضعت الصين استراتيجيتها تجاه الشرق الأوسط، مع التركيز على مجالات [محددة] مثل التعاون في مجال الطاقة والاستثمار في البنية التحتية. وقد سعت إلى دمج المنطقة في مبادرة "حزام واحد طريق واحد" التي أعلن عنها الرئيس شي في عام 2013 والتي ستربط الصين بمنطقة أوراسيا.

ومع ذلك، فإن توسيع المصالح الاقتصادية للصين يخلق نقاط ضعف استراتيجية قد جرّت بكين على نحو متزايد دبلوماسياً وعسكرياً نحو المنطقة. على سبيل المثال، ازدادت مشاركة البلاد في المحادثات النووية الإيرانية، وذلك جزئياً بسبب قلقها المتزايد من أن يهدد الصراع الأمريكي الإيراني أو الإسرائيلي الإيراني صادرات النفط عبر مضيق هرمز، إذ إن اثنين وخمسين في المائة من واردات الصين النفطية تأتي من منطقة الخليج. وفي الآونة الأخيرة، وفي عدة مناسبات، استضافت الصين ممثلي الفصائل السورية المتنازعة. حتى إنها في عام 2013 حاولت اقتراح خطة سلام إسرائيلي فلسطيني خلال زيارات منفصلة لرئيس الوزراء الإسرائيلي بنيامين نتنياهو ورئيس السلطة الفلسطينية محمود عباس. ومع ذلك، ففي جميع الحالات لم تبتعد الصين عن منهجيات السياسة التقليدية بل استخدمت بدلاً من ذلك الفرص لعرض نفوذها الإقليمي والعالمي المتنامي.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك، بدأت الصين نشر جيشها على نحو أكثر تواتراً في المنطقة. على سبيل المثال، أعلنت في أيار/ مايو 2015، أنها ستُجري مناورات بحرية مع روسيا في البحر المتوسط. كما تمت إعادة تزويد الطائرات الصينية المقاتلة بالوقود في إيران، وهي أول وحدات عسكرية أجنبية يُسمح بها على الأراضي الإيرانية منذ الثورة الإسلامية عام 1979. كما وتوقفت السفن الحربية الصينية في الموانئ في كل من إيران والإمارات العربية المتحدة.

ومن جهة أخرى، فإن الصراعات في العراق وليبيا واليمن قد هددت العمال الصينيين الذين يعملون في البنية التحتية والطاقة والمشاريع الأخرى في المنطقة. ففي عام 2011، اضطرت الصين إلى إجلاء 35 ألف مواطن صيني من ليبيا عندما كانت البلاد تغرق في حرب أهلية. وكانت تلك العملية هي الأكثر تطوراً والأبعد مدى التي تجريها البحرية الصينية حتى الآن. وقد قام نجاحها على حقيقة أن سفنها كانت متمركزة بالفعل في خليج عدن في مهمة لمكافحة القرصنة. ومن المرجح أن تلك التجربة قد أكدت لقادة الصين على قيمة الأصول البحرية المنشورة بشكل مسبق وأضافت زخماً على حملة بكين لبناء منشأة بحرية في جيبوتي، وهي أول قاعدة بحرية لها في الخارج.

وعلى الرغم من تعزيز مشاركتها في المنطقة، سعت الصين حتى الآن إلى تجنب الوقوف مع جانب ضد آخر في الصراعات الدائرة في الشرق الأوسط. فقد تراجعت عن سعيها إلى إقامة علاقات وثيقة مع إسرائيل والدول العربية وإيران في الوقت نفسه، وهو أمر بعيد الاحتمال. وبالنسبة إلى هذه الدول، لا تؤدي هذه العلاقات الجيدة مع بكين إلى تعزيز التجارة والاستثمار فحسب، بل إلى حصولها أيضاً على التكنولوجيا العسكرية (على الرغم من أنها ليست بجودة المعدات الأمريكية) من دون شروط سياسية. فعندما ترددت واشنطن في بيع الطائرات المسلحة من دون طيار للإمارات العربية المتحدة، عرضت الصين تقليداً للطائرة من دون طيار من طراز "بريديتور" بسعر أدنى، وهي طائرة "وينغ لونغ".

لكن على المدى الطويل، سيكون من الصعب على الصين إلتزام الحياد في إطار نمو المنطقة بشكل ينقسم ما بين قطبين على نحو متزايد. وبالفعل، بذلت الصين جهوداً للرد على الأزمات التي تحرّض حلفاءها ضد بعضهم البعض. وفي هذا السياق، افادت بعض التقارير أن بكين عرضت على الزعيم الليبي السابق معمر القذافي تقديم أسلحة إليه حتى في الوقت الذي امتنعت فيه عن عرقلة قرار مجلس الأمن الدولي الذي يسمح بالضربات الجوية الدولية في ليبيا، وذلك بجزء منه احتراماً لرغبات الدول العربية. كما وعرضت المساعدة على حركة «حماس» في قطاع غزة رغم صداقتها مع إسرائيل وحذرها من الإسلام. وقد ذكرت بعض التقارير أن الرئيس شي أغضب المملكة العربية السعودية عندما ألغى أول رحلة كانت مقررة له إلى الرياض بعد اندلاع الحرب في اليمن. ومن المحتمل أن يكون الرئيس الصيني قد خشي من أن تُصوره تلك الزيارة على أنه يميل جزئياً إلى السعوديين مما سيثير استياء إيران. لكن في نهاية المطاف، لا بد لهذا النهج المتعرج من أن يتعارض مع أحد الأطراف، [ولن يُرضي الجهات كافة].

وإذا اضطرت بكين في النهاية إلى اختيار حليف رئيسي واحد، فمن المرجح أن تختار إيران. فطهران بحد ذاتها تطرح فرصاً استراتيجية هامة بالنسبة إلى الصين، ويمكنها أن تساعد في التخفيف من مخاوف بكين حول أمن الطاقة بحكم موقعها على مضيق هرمز، إلا إذا هيمن عليه حلفاء الولايات المتحدة، فضلاً عن تمتعها بإمكانات لتقديم طرق للصين لمرور خطوط الأنابيب عبر آسيا الوسطى.

إلى جانب ذلك، تقدم إيران للصين احتمال التمتع بأمن إقليمي أعمق. فهي تتشارك مع بكين رغبتها في إعادة تشكيل النظام الدولي عن طريق التقليل من هيمنة الولايات المتحدة. وعلى الرغم من أن الدول العربية وإسرائيل ترحب بمبادرات الصين باعتبارها وسيلة لزيادة نفوذها مع واشنطن، إلا أنها، وبالإجماع تقريباً، تتشارك الرغبة في قيادة أمريكية أكبر، وليس في تقلصها.

وفي إطار مواجهة استراتيجية الصين تجاه الشرق الأوسط، لا تحتاج الولايات المتحدة إلى اتخاذ منهجية لن تخرج منها بمكاسب فعلية. إذ إن مصالحها في المنطقة تتداخل إلى حد ما مع مصالح الصين، بما في ذلك حرية التدفق التجاري ومكافحة الإرهاب.

ومع ذلك، سيتم تقويض أي أساس للتعاون إذا كررت الصين خطوتها السابقة المتمثلة في إرسال التكنولوجيا النووية الخطرة لإيران، أو إذا نقلت إليها خبرة كبيرة في الأسلحة الدفاعية، مثل الصواريخ الباليستية وأنظمة المكافحة البحرية والجوية. وبينما تكثف الصين مشاركتها في الشرق الأوسط، ينبغي على الولايات المتحدة أن تواصل الضغط على بكين لاحترام الاتفاق النووي الإيراني والعقوبات المتبقية، كما وينبغي عليها أن تحث حلفاءها، ولاسيما دول «مجلس التعاون الخليجي»، وغيرها من الأطراف القلقة من تمكين إيران، لإيصال الرسالة نفسها. وفي الماضي، فرضت واشنطن عقوبات على الكيانات الصينية وبعثت برسائل دبلوماسية قوية لإجبار بكين على الامتثال للعقوبات المفروضة على إيران. لكن الرسالة ستكون ذات أثر أقوى إذا تم تضخيمها من قبل دول أخرى تتقرب الصين منها. وفي الوقت نفسه، يجب على واشنطن تعزيز مشاركتها بالذات مع بكين حول القضايا الإقليمية والسعي إلى توجيه الأنشطة الصينية نحو الآليات متعددة الأطراف القائمة بالفعل، على غرار المحادثات حول إيران والبعثات القائمة لمكافحة القرصنة.

وكما تُبيّن ردة فعلها غير المدروسة على مغامرة روسيا في سوريا، فإن الولايات المتحدة لا تتمتع بخبرة كبيرة في التعامل مع القوى الأخرى التي تُعنى بأمور الشرق الأوسط. فلا بد لواشنطن من أن تدرك كيفية التعامل مع الوجود المتزايد للصين في المنطقة، حيث أن هذه الخطوات الأولى ستمهد الطريق لكيفية تصادم أعظم قوتين في العالم وتعاونهما في هذه المنطقة المضطربة.

 

مايكل سينغ هو زميل أقدم في زمالة "لين- سويغ" والمدير الإداري في معهد واشنطن. وقد نُشرت هذه المقالة في الأصل من على موقع "فورين آفيرز".

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

Articles & Op-Eds

China's Middle East Tour

Michael Singh

Also available in العربية

Foreign Affairs

January 24, 2016


To ensure that Beijing's post-sanctions ambitions in the region do not include transferring dangerous nuclear and military technology to Iran, Washington and its allies need to set clear boundaries sooner rather than later.

Even as the Iran nuclear deal and the potential for rapprochement between Tehran and the West have inspired countless op-eds, China's budding relationship with Iran has gone relatively unremarked upon. But on January 23, Chinese President Xi Jinping became the first world leader to visit Iran after the deal. Xi stated that he sought to open a "new chapter" in China's relations with Iran. Supreme Leader Ayatollah Ali Khamenei said, "The Islamic Republic will never forget China's cooperation during [the] sanctions era."

Xi's trip to the region, which also included stops in Egypt and Saudi Arabia, was a continuation of Beijing's increased involvement in the Middle East. It may be less dramatic than other great powers' forays into the region (Russia's recent intervention in Syria, for one), but it is no less significant. It signals that Washington's decades-long period of unchallenged preeminence in the Middle East is drawing to a close.

China's commercial ambitions in the Middle East are expanding. As the United States becomes increasingly energy self-sufficient, China has moved in the opposite direction. It is projected to overtake the United States as the world's largest energy consumer by 2030, as its demand for imported oil grows from six million barrels per day to 13 million by 2035. The bulk of its new supply is likely to come from the Middle East, which China also needs for tapping new markets to produce its goods, invest its capital, and secure new labor. It is in this context that China has articulated its Middle East strategy, focusing on areas like energy cooperation and infrastructure investment. It has sought to integrate the region into its One Belt, One Road initiative, which Xi announced in 2013 and which would connect China with Eurasia.

However, China's expanding economic interests create strategic vulnerabilities, which have increasingly drawn Beijing into the region diplomatically and militarily. For example, the country's involvement in the Iran nuclear talks increased partly because of its mounting concern that a U.S.-Iranian or Israeli-Iranian conflict could endanger oil exports through the Strait of Hormuz. Fifty-two percent of China's oil imports come from the Gulf region. China has recently, on several occasions, hosted representatives of opposing Syrian factions. In 2013, it even took a stab at an Israeli-Palestinian peace plan during separate visits by Israeli Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu and Palestinian Authority leader Mahmoud Abbas. In all cases, however, China did not deviate from conventional policy approaches but instead used the opportunities to showcase its growing regional and global clout.

In addition, China has begun deploying its military more frequently in the region. For example, in May 2015, China announced that it would hold naval exercises with Russia in the Mediterranean. Chinese fighter jets have also refueled in Iran, the first foreign military units permitted on Iranian soil since the 1979 Islamic Revolution. Chinese warships have made port calls in both Iran and the United Arab Emirates.

Conflicts in Iraq, Libya, and Yemen have likewise threatened Chinese workers who are engaged in infrastructure, energy, and other projects in the region. In 2011, China was forced to evacuate 35,000 Chinese nationals from Libya when the country dissolved into civil war. It was the Chinese navy's most sophisticated and longest-range operation to date. And its success rested on the fact that its vessels were already stationed in the Gulf of Aden on a counter-piracy mission. That experience most likely underscored for Chinese leaders the value of forward-deployed naval assets and added momentum to Beijing's drive to build a naval facility in Djibouti -- its first overseas base.

Despite its deepening involvement in the region, China has so far sought to avoid taking sides in the Middle Eastern conflicts. It has pulled off the improbable feat of cultivating close ties with Israel, the Arab countries, and Iran all at the same time. For these states, good relations with Beijing bring not only trade and investment but also military technology (though inferior to American materiel) without the political strings. When Washington hesitated to sell armed drones to the United Arab Emirates, China offered its lower-priced Predator knockoff, the Wing Loong.

In the long run, however, China's impartiality will be difficult to sustain as the region grows increasingly polarized. Already, China has struggled to respond to crises that pit its allies against one another. Beijing reportedly offered arms to the former Libyan leader Muammar al-Qaddafi even as it declined to block a UN Security Council resolution that permitted international air strikes in Libya, partly in deference to the wishes of the Arab states. It reached out to Hamas in the Gaza Strip despite its friendship with Israel and wariness of Islam. And Xi reportedly angered Saudi Arabia when he cancelled his first scheduled trip to Riyadh after war broke out in Yemen. Xi likely feared that his visit would make him appear partial to the Saudis and anger Iran. Eventually, such zigzagging has to cross someone.

If Beijing is eventually forced to pick one key ally, it will most likely choose Iran. Tehran, by itself, presents significant strategic opportunities for China. It can help mitigate China's energy security concerns by virtue of its position on the Strait of Hormuz -- otherwise dominated by U.S. allies -- and has potential to offer China routes for pipelines through Central Asia.

Iran also offers China the prospect of deeper regional security. Iran shares Beijing's desire to reshape the international order by minimizing U.S. dominance. Even though the Arab states and Israel welcome China's overtures as a way to increase their leverage with Washington, they are nearly unanimous in their desire for greater, not diminished, U.S. leadership.

In confronting China's Middle East strategy, the United States does not need to take a zero-sum approach. To an extent, their interests there -- including the free flow of commerce and in countering terrorism -- overlap.

Nevertheless, any basis for cooperation will be undermined if China repeats its past practice of sending sensitive nuclear technology to Iran, or if it transfers considerable expertise in defensive weaponry, such as ballistic missiles and counter-maritime and air systems. As China steps up its involvement in the Middle East, the United States should continue pressuring Beijing to honor the Iran nuclear deal and the remaining sanctions, and it should urge its allies, particularly the Gulf Cooperation Council member states, and others concerned about Iran's empowerment, to deliver the same message. In the past, Washington has imposed sanctions on Chinese entities and delivered strong diplomatic messages to compel Beijing to comply with the sanctions on Iran. But the message will have a stronger impact if amplified by other countries that China is courting. At the same time, Washington should step up its own engagement with Beijing on regional issues and seek to channel Chinese activities into established multilateral mechanisms, along the lines of the Iran talks and ongoing counter-piracy missions.

As its flat-footed response to Russia's Syria adventure reveals, the United States has little experience in dealing with other powers involved in the Middle East. It is vital that Washington gets a grip on how to approach China's growing presence in the region, as these first steps will set the stage for how the world's two great powers clash and collaborate over this troubled region.

Michael Singh is the Lane-Swig Senior Fellow and managing director at The Washington Institute. This article was originally published on the Foreign Affairs website.