أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

Protesters deface a poster of Syrian president Bashar al-Assad

تنبيه سياسي

هل يمكن أن يزداد الوضع سوءاً في سوريا؟ لقد ازداد بالفعل

جيفري وايت

متاح أيضاً في English

13 تموز/يوليو 2012


زادت حدة تدهور الأوضاع في سوريا وارتفعت معدلات العنف إلى مستويات غير مسبوقة كما حدث في الثاني عشر من تموز/يوليو. ففي سبيل سعي النظام اليائس إلى البقاء في السلطة اتخذ الصراع القبيح بالفعل منحنى مشؤوماً مع ورود تقارير مفادها عن قيام النظام بنقل ذخيرته الكيميائية ووقوع ما يبدو بأنها أسوأ مجزرة ضد المدنيين حتى الآن.

نقل الأسلحة الكيميائية

رغم غياب التفاصيل حول الأخبار المتعلقة بقيام النظام بنقل أسلحته الكيميائية في الثاني عشر من تموز/يوليو، إلا أن التطورات تشير إلى أن شيئاً هاماً ربما قد تغير في سوريا. لقد كانت البنية التحتية للأسلحة الكيميائية التي بحوزة النظام ثابتة ومستقرة منذ سنوات، والنقل المفاجئ لها يشير إلى احتمالية اتخاذ قرار كبير. بيد أن مجرد نقلها يعرضها في جميع الأحوال إلى المخاطر. لقد كان "الجيش السوري الحر" المعارض يهاجم نظام الطرق على نطاق واسع، بما في ذلك القوافل العسكرية - وإذا تعرضت شحنات الأسلحة الكيميائية للهجوم فقد يصيبها التلف، كما أن المواد الكيميائية قد تتسرب أيضاً أو أن الذخائر قد تقع في أيدي عناصر من "الجيش السوري الحر".

وقد يكون قرار النظام مستنداً على إحدى عدة عوامل. وإذا كان يجري تركيز الذخائر في عدد أصغر من المرافق الآمنة فإن ذلك يشير إلى قلق النظام بشأن فقدان السيطرة على الأسلحة الكيميائية جراء القتال أو الانشقاقات. كما سيكون ذلك مؤشراً آخر على تدهور وضع النظام.

وبدلاً من ذلك، ربما يستعد النظام لاستخدام تلك الأسلحة. فإذا كان يجري نقل ذخائر الأسلحة الكيميائية إلى وحدات عملياتية، فسيشير ذلك إلى أن النظام يعمل على التحضير لاستخدامها. وسيكون استخدام الأسلحة الكيميائية التطور المحتمل الأكثر سوءاً في الحرب، وسيؤدي حتماً إلى تدخل خارجي.

ربما يكون النظام قلقاً من استهداف جهات خارجية - كالولايات المتحدة - لمخازن الأسلحة الكيميائية. وبمجرد البدء في نقلها، فإن تحديد موقع واستهداف هذه الأسلحة يصبح مشكلة استخباراتية أكثر صعوبة بكثير. وعلى الرغم أنه من المفترض           أن تقوم الاستخبارات الأمريكية بفحص جميع مرافق الأسلحة الكيميائية والوحدات العملياتية المعروفة (الجوية والأرضية والصاروخية) مع بعثة الأسلحة الكيميائية في أعقاب التقارير التي تداولتها وسائل الإعلام في الثاني عشر من تموز/يوليو، إلا أن باستطاعة النظام إرسال الأسلحة فعلياً إلى أي مكان في البلاد وإخفاءها جميعاً بكل بساطة. وإذا كان النظام راغباً في تحمل المخاطر المرتبطة بنقل الأسلحة الكيميائية بهذه الطريقة، فقد يؤشر ذلك إلى قلق دمشق بصورة جدية من احتمال قيام تدخل خارجي.

المجزرة

أفادت التقارير عن مقتل حوالي 200 شخص في مجزرة بقرية التريمسة في الثاني عشر من تموز/يوليو، ومن الواضح أن مسؤولية تلك المذبحة تقع على عاتق النظام. إذ يبدو أن المدينة - التي يبلغ عدد سكانها حوالي 7000 شخص - قد تعرضت لهجوم مكثف من قبل قوات الجيش السوري (بما في ذلك استخدامه المروحيات والمدفعية والدبابات) ثم تعرضت للنهب على أيدي قوات "الشبيحة" غير النظامية، وهو ما يعود بنا إلى العصور الوسطى. ويأتي هذا الإجراء متوافقاً مع الأساليب التي يستخدمها النظام في عملياته الهجومية. لقد كانت تلك المذبحة حادثاً متوقعاً عقب مجزرة الحولة التي حدثت في أيار/مايو، ويمكن أن تقع هجمات مماثلة في المستقبل أو حتى أسوأ من ذلك مع يأس النظام على نحو متزايد من سحق المعارضة.

التداعيات

تدل مجزرة التريمسة ونقل الأسلحة الكيميائية على أن النظام السوري ينتهج أسلوب العنف القاتل على نحو متزايد ولن تثنيه المفاوضات عن غايته. وقد أصبح الوضع أكثر سوءاً بشكل متسارع، كما أن الجهود الدبلوماسية لإنهاء القتال ستستمر بالفشل. لقد أصبحت جهود مبعوث الأمم المتحدة كوفي عنان غير متماسة - على نحو متزايد - مع الحقائق على أرض الواقع، وتعطي النظام غطاءاً من الشرعية وتمنحه الوقت لكسر المعارضة. وباختصار، إن نقل الأسلحة الكيميائية يبعث برسالة مفادها أن هذا النظام يشكل خطورة - فهو خطراً على شعبه، وخطراً على المنطقة.  لقد انقضى وقت الحديث مع بشار الأسد وحان وقت إعطاء الإنذارات الأخيرة - وفي حالة فشلها فلن يبق هناك بديل سوى التدخل المسلح للإطاحة بالنظام.

 

جيفري وايت هو زميل لشؤون الدفاع في معهد واشنطن.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

Policy Alert

Can It Get Worse in Syria? It Just Did

Jeffrey White

Also available in العربية

July 13, 2012


Syria's descent into ever-greater violence steepened yesterday. Driven by the regime's desperate attempt to stay in power, an already ugly conflict took an ominous turn with the reported movement of chemical munitions and what appears to be the worst massacre of civilians yet.

CHEMICAL WEAPONS MOVEMENT

Although details are lacking on yesterday's news that the regime is moving some of its chemical weapons (CW), the development signals that something important may have changed in Syria. The regime's CW infrastructure has been well established for years, and sudden movement within it suggests a major decision may be in the making. After all, the very act of moving them puts them at risk. The opposition Free Syrian Army has been widely attacking the road system, including military convoys -- if CW transports come under attack, the weapons could be damaged, chemical agents could be released, or munitions could fall into the hands of FSA elements.

The regime's decision could be based on one of several factors. If the munitions are being concentrated at a smaller number of secure facilities, that would suggest the regime is worried about losing control of its CW as a result of combat or defections. It would also be another indication that the regime's position is deteriorating.

Alternatively, the regime may be preparing to use the weapons. If CW munitions are being deployed to operational units, that would suggest preparation for use. Use of CW would be the worst possible development of the war, one that should almost certainly trigger outside intervention.

Perhaps the regime is concerned that outside actors such as the United States are preparing to target its CW stocks. Once these weapons begin moving around, locating and targeting them becomes a much more difficult intelligence problem. Although the U.S. intelligence community will presumably be checking on all known CW facilities and operational units (air, ground, and missile) with a CW mission in the wake of yesterday's reports, the regime can send the weapons virtually anywhere in the country and could simply hide them altogether. If the regime is willing to take the risks associated with moving CW in this manner, it could indicate that Damascus is seriously worried about the prospect of outside intervention.

THE MASSACRE

As many as 200 people were reportedly massacred in the village of Tremseh yesterday, and responsibility for the killings clearly lies at the regime's feet. The town of some 7,000 people was apparently subjected to concerted attack by Syrian military forces (including helicopters, artillery, and tanks) and then sacked, in the medieval sense, by shabbiha irregulars. The action is consistent with tactics the regime routinely employs in its offensive operations. That this kind of incident would happen at some point was predictable following the Houla massacre in May, and similar or even worse attacks could occur in the future as the regime becomes increasingly desperate to crush the opposition.

IMPLICATIONS

The Tremseh massacre and the movement of chemical weapons show that the Syrian regime is on an increasingly deadly path and will not be diverted by negotiations. The situation is becoming rapidly worse, and diplomatic efforts to end the fighting will continue to fail. UN envoy Kofi Annan's efforts are increasingly out of touch with realities on the ground, giving the regime a fig leaf of legitimacy and time in which to break the opposition. In short, this is a dangerous regime -- dangerous to its people and, as the CW movement suggests, dangerous to the region. The time for talking with Bashar al-Assad has passed. It is time for ultimatums -- and, if those fail, armed action to topple the regime.

Jeffrey White is a defense fellow at The Washington Institute.