أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 2736

معارك الحدود قد تغيّر حسابات السعودية لحرب اليمن

لوري بلوتكين بوغارت و مايكل نايتس

متاح أيضاً في English

6 كانون الأول/ديسمبر 2016


في 3 كانون الأول/ديسمبر، أدّى قصف عبر الحدود في جازان إلى جرح إمرأة سعودية وطفلها ومغترب يمني - في إطار أحدث تذكير بمئات الضحايا في أرواح المدنيين والعسكريين التي شهدتها الحدود الجنوبية الغربية للمملكة خلال العام والنصف الماضي. ويوفّر ذلك بعض الرؤى المتبصرة حول السبب الذي يزيد عزم الرياض على كسر المقاومة العسكرية والسياسية للحوثيين في اليمن. وكان المتمردون الحوثيون وعناصر الجيش اليمني الموالية للرئيس السابق علي عبدالله صالح قد أطلقوا القذائف والصواريخ باتجاه السعودية وشنوا غارات عبر الحدود رداً على الضربات الجوية السعودية على المعاقل العسكرية والمناطق المدنية للحوثيين. وتمثّل الحدود منطقة توتر مستمرة يتوجب على الولايات المتحدة وغيرها من الجهات الفاعلة الدولية أخذها في الحسبان في مواقفها الدبلوماسية والعسكرية بشأن إيجاد حلّ لحرب اليمن.

هجمات عبر الحدود

من شأن طبيعة جغرافيا الحدود السعودية-اليمنية أن تجعلها عرضةً للهجمات التي يقودها الحوثيون في مناطق جازان وعسير ونجران. فأرض الحوثيين في محافظة صعدة هي أشبه بنتوء تلتف حوله الحدود السعودية. وتُعتبر منطقة جازان قطعة من الأراضي السعودية الواقعة بين الحدود اليمنية والبحر الأحمر، مما يجعل معظم المحافظة (بما فيها مدينة جازان وميناؤها ومصفاة جديدة بطاقة تكريرية تبلغ 400 ألف برميل يومياً، ومنطقة صناعية جديدة) تحت مرمى صواريخ الحوثيين البالستية القصيرة المدى وقذائفهم التكتيكية البعيدة المدى. وتبعد مدينة نجران 20 كيلومتراً فقط عن الحدود، ما يجعلها عرضةً حتى لأسلحة الحوثيين التكتيكية القصيرة المدى على غرار الراجمة من طراز ""BM-27 Uragan، وهي منظومة مدفعية صاروخية متعددة الأنابيب من عيار 220 ملم.

ومنذ نيسان/أبريل 2015، شنّ الحوثيون وحلفاؤهم حرباً حدودية مكثفة وناجحة على نحو متزايد عبر استخدام أساليب مختلفة:

·         غارات عبر الحدود. شنّ الحوثيون حملة توغّل مسلح فعالة للغاية في المملكة العربية السعودية. فبالإضافة إلى نصبهم الكمائن للقوافل العسكرية واجتياحهم حصون حدودية صغيرة، استولوا على منشآت كبيرة تابعة لـ "حرس الحدود السعودي" ودمروها واحتلوا أجزاء من قرى غير مأهولة مثل الربوعة في جنوب شرق عسير. وأعلن مسؤولون سعوديون أنهم لن ينشروا محصلة القتلى العسكريين إلى حين انتهاء الحرب، لكن تقديرات غير مؤكدة تُشير إلى أن الرقم الحالي هو عدة مئات على الأقل.

·         هجمات صاروخية قصيرة المدى. يُعتبر إطلاق صواريخ متعددة الأنابيب على البلدات الحدودية ومدينة نجران مصدر الخطر الأكبر الذي يحدق بالمدنيين إذ لا يمكن لبطاريات الدفاع الصاروخي السعودية "باتريوت" اعتراضها. ووفقاً لمسؤولين سعوديين، تعرضت مدينة نجران وحدها لأكثر من عشرة آلاف قذيفة مدفعية صاروخية منذ بدء الحرب.

·         هجمات صاروخية متوسطة المدى. أطلقت القوات الموالية لصالح 18 صاروخاً باليستياً على الأقل في المجال الجوي السعودي، لا سيما النسخ المختلفة المطوّرة من صواريخ "سكود- سي" (الكورية الشمالية "هواسونغ 6") بمدى 500 كيلومتر. وفي 26 أيار/مايو، أعلن الحوثيون عن تطوير منظومة صواريخ تكتيكية بمدى 75 كيلومتراً تدعى "Piercing Star-2" ("النجم الثاقب")، مماثلة لصواريخ "أم-75" التي طوّرتها حركة "حماس" في قطاع غزة. ويبدو أنه تمّ استخدام هذا السلاح للسماح بشكل خاص للحوثيين والعناصر المتحالفة معهم باستهداف مواقع مثل مدينة جازان وميناؤها من دون استهلاك مخزونهم المتضائل من الصواريخ بعيدة المدى. ورغم أن بيانات المتمردين حددت القواعد الجوية السعودية كأهداف لهجماتهم الصاروخية، سقطت الأسلحة عموماً في مناطق مأهولة بالمدنيين. وفي حين اعترضت بطاريات "باتريوت" التي باعتها الولايات المتحدة إلى المملكة العديد من الصواريخ، يسقط أحياناً الحطام الناتج عن الاعتراض على المنازل، والمناطق التجارية، والمناطق الأخرى المأهولة بالسكان في جنوبي غرب البلاد. وتجدر الملاحظة أنه تمّ إغلاق جميع المطارات المدنية في جازان، وعسير، ونجران منذ تموز/يوليو 2015 بسبب خطر الهجمات الصاروخية.

·         هجمات صاروخية بعيدة المدى. خلال الأشهر القليلة الماضية، كانت الصواريخ موجهة بشكل أكبر شمالاً باتجاه ساحل البحر الأحمر، بما في ذلك نحو الطائف وجدة، الواقعتين على جانبي مكة المكرمة. ومنذ أيلول/سبتمبر، أعلنت القوات الموالية لصالح عن استخدامها النسخة المطوّرة بمدى أبعد  من "سكود- سي" التي تحمل اسم "بركان 1" ويُزعم أنها تصل إلى مدى 800 كيلومتر - وهي مسافة بعيدة بما فيه الكفاية لضرب جميع المدن الثلاث المذكورة أعلاه.

التأثيرات الداخلية

لا يمكن فعلياً مقارنة تداعيات الحرب في جنوب السعودية بالكوارث الإنسانية التي حلّت باليمن. لكن الهجمات عبر الحدود قد غيّرت بشكل كبير نمط الحياة في المدن والقرى السعودية. وتُعتبر الأصوات المتكررة للأعيرة النارية والطائرات العسكرية بمثابة تذكير بالخطر الفعلي للغاية الذي تمثّله أعمال العنف. ووفقاً للسلطات السعودية، لقي أكثر من خمسمائة من المدنيين حتفهم في المناطق الحدودية الواقعة جنوبي غرب البلاد منذ آذار/مارس 2015. وفي نجران، تضرّرت مئات المنازل والمتاجر والسيارات، وأُغلقت المدارس عموماً، حيث سُمح أحياناً للتلاميذ بالعودة إلى مدارس مختارة تعمل بنظام الفترات (وفق خطة "التوأمة" التي تقوم بموجبها عدة مدارس بإعطاء دروس في مبنى واحد بدوامات مختلفة للحدّ من المخاطر وتركيز قدرات الدفاع المدني).

وقد تسبّبت الحرب أيضاً قيام توترات اجتماعية جديدة في نجران. فالبعض من مئات المرتزقة اليمنيين الذين وظفتهم الرياض للمساعدة على حماية المنطقة الحدودية غالباً ما يجوبون المدينة ملوّحين بأسلحتهم. يُذكر أن نجران هي مدينة تفتخر بغالبيتها الإسماعيلية الشيعية، في حين أن المرتزقة هم من السنّة من عدن ويقومون بتزيين سياراتهم بعبارات جهادية مثل "أسود السنّة". وبالنسبة للإسماعيليين، تُعتبر مثل هذه العبارات هجومية ومهدّدة في الوقت نفسه. وقد تصاعدت حدة التوترات في أوائل تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر عندما زار مقاتل يمني جندياً من فصيلته في مستشفى في نجران وقال لطاقم العمل، "هناك بعض [الإسماعيليين] في هذا المستشفى. لو كنت مكانكم، لكنت قضيت عليهم"؛ لكنه لم يكن يعلم أن أفراد طاقم العمل أنفسهم هم إسماعيليون. ورداً على ذلك، حثّت الحكومة شيوخ القبائل على إيجاد حلّ للوضع.

وحتى الآن، دعم سكان نجران علناً الحرب التي تشنّها الرياض. وحين تم إرسال التعزيزات السعودية في بادئ الأمر إلى المنطقة، رحّب العديد من العشائر بها وقدّم لها الجِمال والخراف، في عرض تقليدي للدعم. وفي الوقت نفسه، احتدمت حدة التوتر مع الإسماعيليين المحليين منذ سنوات؛ فلطالما عانى هؤلاء السكان من التمييز الاقتصادي والاجتماعي والديني على يد السلطات السنّية في المملكة، ويقول البعض إنهم يُعتبرون خونة إلى حين "إثبات" ولائهم. ونتيجةً لذلك، من الصعب تقييم شعورهم الحقيقي تجاه المجهود الحربي إذ يواجهون خطر تعرّضهم لإجراءات عقابية إذا تحدثوا ضده.   

وفي موازاة ذلك، تمّ إجلاء آلاف السكان من البلدات الحدودية على طول الجانب الجنوبي الغربي لإنشاء منطقة عازلة. ويمثّل ذلك استمراراً للتكتيكات التي استُخدمت أثناء نزاع الحدود في عامي 2009 و2010، حين تمّ إجلاء مئات القرى وتدمير العديد منها لمنع المنازل الخالية من أن تصبح ملاذاً آمناً للمتسللين. وفي نيسان/أبريل 2015، أفاد "حرس الحدود السعودي" بأنه يجري تقييم ست وتسعين قرية إضافية لهدمها. وفي بعض الحالات، أُجبر السكان على إخلاء منازلهم أو أنهم رفضوا ببساطة مغادرتها. وفي محافظة جيزان، على سبيل المثال، يقول بعض السكان المحليين أنهم [يشعرون] بالأمان بسبب [توقيع] اتفاقات عدم اعتداء مع اليمنيين على الجانب الآخر من الحدود، وذلك بفضل تاريخ قوي من التزاوج. وتتمثّل إحدى النقاط الخلافية الأخرى في التوزيع غير المتساوي للتعويضات عند مغادرة السكان منازلهم وأراضيهم الزراعية. وقد تم إيقاف وسجن بعض السكان السعوديين لمعارضتهم علناً ممارسات الإخلاء التي تعتمدها الدولة.  

التداعيات على السياسة الأمريكية

حتى بما يتخطى معاناة المدنيين الأكثر كارثية في اليمن، لدى الولايات المتحدة مصلحة استراتيجية كبيرة في إنهاء الحرب. فالقتلى والأضرار التي لحقت بجنوب غرب المملكة العربية السعودية، وهو أمر يسبّب القلق بحدّ ذاته، قد تبدّل حسابات الرياض وتدفع بالمملكة إلى تمديد الحرب أو تكثيف حدتها. وثمة أيضاً خطر فعلي كبير للغاية يتمثّل بوقوع حادثة دولية تخلّف "أضراراً جانبية" - على سبيل المثال إصابة مطار رئيسي في جدة أو غيرها بصاروخ بعيد المدى يُطلقه الحوثيون. 

وبالتالي، على الولايات المتحدة طمأنة الرياض من خلال تشديد حظر الأسلحة المفروض على الحوثيين. وقد يساعد ذلك على منع إعادة إمدادهم بالصواريخ البالستية والقذائف التكتيكية، لا سميا منظومة "Piercing Star-2" التي يبدو أنها أصبحت في خدمة الحوثيين بمساعدة إيرانية. فضلاً عن ذلك، قد تعزّز واشنطن دعمها المتواصل لدفاعات صواريخ "باتريوت" الحيوية إلى جانب تقديم مساعدة إضافية في جوانب أخرى من أمن الحدود والدفاع المدني. ومن أجل مساعدة السعوديين على تنفيذ هجمات بعيدة المدى مضادة للبطاريات تكون دقيقة وفي الوقت المناسب ضد منصات إطلاق الصواريخ والقذائف الحوثية، قد تُرسل واشنطن أصولاً مختارة مع طاقم أمريكي (على سبيل المثال "نظام راجمة الصواريخ المدفعية عالية التنقل" HIMARS) إلى مدن رئيسية كجدة، التي هي مقر القنصلية الأمريكية الكبيرة والعديد من المدنيين الأمريكيين. وقد يعمل تعزيز الدعم الأمريكي بهذه الطريقة على إيجاد مناخ تسوده النوايا الحسنة الكافية لإقناع القيادة السعودية بتخفيض حدة الحملة الجوية ضدّ معقل الحوثيين في محافظة صعدة - وقد يشكل ذلك خطوة حاسمة نحو إعادة وضع قيود على استهداف المدنيين واستئناف محادثات السلام التي تحظى بدعم دولي.

 

لوري بلوتكين بوغارت هي زميلة "باربارا كاي فاميلي" في معهد واشنطن. مايكل نايتس هو زميل "ليفر" في المعهد.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 2736

Border Fight Could Shift Saudi Arabia's Yemen War Calculus

Lori Plotkin Boghardt and Michael Knights

Also available in العربية

December 6, 2016


The mounting risk of a mass-casualty missile strike in southern Saudi Arabia should intensify U.S. efforts to deescalate the war.

On December 3, cross-border shelling in Jizan wounded a Saudi woman, her child, and a Yemeni expatriate -- one of the latest reminders of the hundreds of civilian and military casualties that have occurred on the kingdom's southwestern frontier over the past year-and-a-half. This provides some insight into why Riyadh is so determined to break Houthi military and political resistance in Yemen. Houthi rebels and Yemeni army elements loyal to former president Ali Abdullah Saleh have launched missiles and rockets into Saudi Arabia and mounted cross-border raids in retaliation against Saudi airstrikes on Houthi military strongholds and civilian areas. The border represents an enduring flashpoint that the United States and other international actors need to factor into their diplomatic and military positions on resolving the Yemen war.

CROSS-BORDER ATTACKS

The geography of the Saudi-Yemen border makes it vulnerable to Houthi-led attacks on Jizan, Asir, and Najran provinces. The Houthi homeland of Saada province is a salient around which the Saudi border is wrapped. Jizan province is a finger of Saudi territory located between the Yemeni border and the Red Sea, placing most of the governorate (including Jizan city and port, a new 400,000-barrel-per-day refinery, and a new industrial zone) within reach of Houthi short-range ballistic missiles and long-range tactical rockets. The city of Najran is just twenty kilometers from the border, making it vulnerable to even shorter-range Houthi tactical weapons such as the BM-27 Uragan, a 220-millimeter multi-tube rocket artillery system.

Since April 2015, the Houthis and their allies have undertaken an increasingly intense and successful border war using a variety of methods:

  • Cross-border raids. The Houthis have mounted a highly effective campaign of armed incursions into Saudi Arabia. In addition to ambushing military convoys and overrunning small border forts, they have seized and demolished large facilities belonging to the Saudi Border Guards and occupied sections of depopulated towns such as al-Raboah in southeastern Asir. Saudi officials have stated that they will not release military death tallies until after the war, but anecdotal estimates suggest the current figure is at least several hundred.
  • Short-range rocket attacks. Houthi multi-tube rocket salvoes against border towns and Najran city are the most disconcerting threat to civilians because they cannot be intercepted by Saudi Patriot missile-defense batteries. According to Saudi officials, Najran city alone has been hit by over ten thousand rocket artillery rounds since the war began.
  • Medium-range missile attacks. Saleh loyalist forces have launched at least eighteen ballistic missiles into Saudi airspace, mainly Scud C variants (the North Korean Hwasong-6) with a range of 500 kilometers. On May 26, the Houthis announced the development of a 75-kilometer tactical rocket system called Piercing Star-2 (al-Najim al-Thaqib), similar to the M-75 fielded by Hamas in the Gaza Strip. This weapon seems to have been introduced specifically to allow the Houthis and allied elements to strike targets like Jizan city and port without expending their diminishing stock of longer-range missiles. Although rebel communiques identify Saudi airbases as the targets of their missile strikes, the weapons generally fall in civilian areas. And while Patriot batteries sold to the kingdom by the United States have intercepted many missiles, debris from the interceptions sometimes falls on homes, commercial areas, and other populated portions of the southwest. All civilian airports in Jizan, Asir, and Najran have been closed since July 2015 due to the risk of missile strikes.
  • Long-range missile attacks. In recent months, missiles have been aimed further north up the Red Sea coast, including toward Taif and Jeddah, which lie on either side of Mecca. Since September, pro-Saleh forces have publicized their use of an extended-range Scud C variant called the Burkan-1, with a claimed reach of 800 kilometers -- long enough to hit all three of the above cities.

DOMESTIC IMPACT

The war's impact in southern Saudi Arabia is hardly comparable to the human catastrophe seen in Yemen. Yet the cross-border attacks have significantly altered life in local Saudi cities and villages. The frequent sounds of gunfire and military planes are a reminder of the very real threat of violence. According to Saudi authorities, more than five hundred civilians have been killed in the southwestern border areas since March 2015. In Najran, hundreds of homes, stores, and cars have been damaged, and schools have been mostly closed, with students sometimes allowed to return to select schools in shifts (a plan called "twinning" is in place whereby several schools hold classes in one building during different time blocks in order to decrease the risk and concentrate civil defense capabilities).

The war has also brought new social tensions to Najran. Some of the hundreds of Yemeni mercenaries hired by Riyadh to help protect the border area often walk around the city brandishing their weapons. Najran is a proud Ismaili Shiite-majority city, while the mercenaries are Sunnis from Aden who decorate their cars with jihadist phrases like "Sunnah Lions." To Ismailis, such displays are both offensive and threatening. Tensions escalated in early November, when a Yemeni fighter visited a soldier from his platoon in a Najran hospital and told staff, "There are some [Ismailis] in this hospital. If I were you, I would finish them"; he did not know that the staff members in question were themselves Ismaili. In response, the government encouraged tribal sheikhs to resolve the situation.

Thus far, residents of Najran have openly supported Riyadh's war. When Saudi reinforcements were initially deployed to the area, many tribes welcomed them and offered them camels and sheep, a traditional show of support. At the same time, tensions with local Ismailis have been elevated for years; these residents have long suffered economic, social, and religious discrimination at the hands of the kingdom's Sunni authorities, and some say they are perceived as traitors until they "prove" their loyalty. Thus, their true sentiment about the war effort is difficult to gauge because they face the threat of punitive action if they speak out against it.

Meanwhile, thousands of residents have been evacuated from border towns across the southwest to create a buffer zone. This represents a continuation of tactics employed during the 2009-2010 border conflict, when several hundred villages were evacuated and many demolished to prevent empty houses from becoming safe havens for infiltrators. In April 2015, the Saudi Border Guards reported that ninety-six additional villages were being assessed for demolition. In some cases, evacuations have been forced upon residents, or they have simply refused to leave; in Jizan province, for example, some locals argue that they are safe due to nonaggression agreements with Yemenis on the other side of the border, bolstered by a strong history of intermarriage. Another point of contention is that when residents do evacuate homes and farmland, compensation is provided unevenly. Saudi citizens have been arrested and imprisoned for speaking out against state evacuation practices.

IMPLICATIONS FOR U.S. POLICY

Even beyond the devastating civilian suffering in Yemen, the United States has a major strategic interest in ending the war. The deaths and damage being caused in southwestern Saudi Arabia, which are troubling in their own right, could distort Riyadh's calculus and drive the kingdom to extend or intensify the war. There is also a very real risk of a dangerous international "collateral damage" incident -- say, a long-range Houthi missile hitting a major airport in Jeddah or elsewhere.

Accordingly, the United States should reassure Riyadh by tightening the arms embargo on the Houthis. This could help prevent resupply of ballistic missiles and tactical rockets, particularly the Piercing Star-2 system that seems to have entered Houthi service with Iranian assistance. Moreover, Washington could augment its ongoing support to vital Patriot missile defenses with further assistance on other aspects of border security and civil defense. To help the Saudis perform timely and accurate long-range counter-battery fire on Houthi missile and rocket launchers, Washington could deploy select U.S.-crewed assets (e.g., the High Mobility Artillery Rocket System, or HIMARS) to key cities such as Jeddah, which is home to a large U.S. consulate and numerous American civilians. Bolstering U.S. support in this manner could generate enough goodwill to convince the Saudi leadership to deescalate their air campaign against the Houthi heartland in Saada province -- a potentially crucial step toward reestablishing limits on targeting civilians and resuming the internationally backed peace talks.

Lori Plotkin Boghardt is the Barbara Kay Family Fellow at The Washington Institute. Michael Knights is a Lafer Fellow with the Institute.