أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 2712

احذروا مقتدى الصدر

فيليب سميث

متاح أيضاً في English

19 تشرين الأول/أكتوبر 2016


في أيلول/سبتمبر من هذا العام، سلّط مقال نشرته صحيفة "ماكلاتشي" الأمريكية الضوء على اختطاف ثلاثة مقاولي دفاع أمريكيين في العراق، وأشار إلى كيفية احتجازهم لمدة واحد وثلاثين يوماً وتعذيبهم عقب اختطافهم في كانون الثاني/يناير. بيد، لم يتم اختطافهم من قبل تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» أو الحركات التي تدعمها إيران مثل «كتائب حزب الله» و «عصائب أهل الحق»، كما تكهّن الكثير من المحللين والمحررين في ذلك الوقت. فالمجرمون الحقيقيون كانوا عناصر تابعة لـ «سرايا السلام»، الميليشيا الشيعية التي يرأسها رجل الدين العراقي المؤثر مقتدى الصدر. ولا يزال من غير المعروف ما إذا كانت تلك الخطوة بمثابة تحذير إلى الولايات المتحدة من الصدر نفسه، أو حركة مخادعة ومضلّلة نفذّتها جماعة منشقة، أو إشارة على بذل جهود أكبر من قبل «التيار الصدري» ضدّ القوات الأمريكية في العراق. ومع ذلك، جاءت تلك الأخبار على الأرجح كمفاجأة للكثير من المراقبين نظراً إلى التركيز العلني والصريح الذي أولاه الصدر للأعمال السياسية غير العنفية خلال الأشهر القليلة الماضية، ناهيك عن مساعي واشنطن المتكررة للانخراط معه. وقد التزم المسؤولون الأمريكيون الصمت حتى الآن حول ذلك الحادث - وسواء بقوا كذلك أم لا، يجب أن يراقبوا معسكر الصدر عن كثب مع توسع المعركة لتحرير الموصل وغيرها من التطوّرات الهامة. 

سجل حافل مناهض للولايات المتحدة

لمقتدى الصدر تراث إيديولوجي قوي مناهض لأمريكا. فوالده الراحل آية الله محمد محمد صادق الصدر عُرف بخطابه الحادّ اللهجة تجاه الولايات المتحدة. وبعد أن أعلن مقتدى الصدر عن إنشاء «جيش المهدي» في أعقاب غزو العراق واحتلاله في عام 2003، شاركت هذه الجماعة في العديد من الاشتباكات الدموية مع قوات التحالف، كما فعل خلفها الجزئي «لواء اليوم الموعود».    

ومنذ عام 2014، وفقاً لوزارة الخارجية الأمريكية من مصادر مقرها في العراق، رفض مقتدى الصدر عدداً من المحاولات الأمريكية للإنخراط معه. كما أصدر تهديدات متفرقة ضدّ القوات الأمريكية. وفي 21 تموز/يوليو، أعلن علاء عبود - المتحدث باسم «سرايا السلام»، أحدث خلف لـ «جيش المهدي» - أنه ليست هناك حاجة لأي مشاركة أمريكية في معركة الموصل وأن قوات الصدر "متعطشة للدم الأمريكي".

وعلى الرغم من ذلك الخطاب، قد يكون قرار استهداف الأمريكيين في كانون الثاني/يناير (وربما في المستقبل) مرتبطاً بالسياسة العراقية الداخلية أكثر من ارتباطه بالإيديولوجية المناهضة للغرب. والأهم من ذلك، قد يكون موقف الصدر العدائي وسيلة لاكتساب نفوذ في علاقته المعقّدة والمضطربة غالباً مع إيران.     

محاصراً بين بغداد وطهران

على الساحة السياسية العراقية، واصل الصدر الاستعانة بالقوات الخاضعة لسيطرته من أجل إظهار قدرته على إبراز قوته متى شاء. وقد شمل ذلك الاحتجاجات المناهضة للفساد التي أثارها ضدّ حكومة رئيس الوزراء حيدر العبادي في وقت سابق من هذا العام، والتي سيطر خلالها أنصاره على "المنطقة الخضراء" في بغداد. كما انتقد الصدر تعاون الحكومة مع الولايات المتحدة.  

وقد شهدت احتجاجات أخرى نُظِمت هذا العام إقدام مناصريه على تمزيق رايات الميليشيات الشيعية التي تدعمها إيران كما زُعم، واجتياح مكاتبها، وإطلاق شعارات معادية للجمهورية الإسلامية. وما يؤكد من جديد حدوث انشقاق في العلاقة بين الصدر وكل من طهران وبغداد، هو إقدام «سرايا السلام» على التحرّك بشكل مستقل عن «وحدات الحشد الشعبي»، التي هي شبكة الميليشيات الشيعية الجامعة المعترف بها من قبل الحكومة. يُذكر أن الصدر نفسه وصف العناصر المهيمنة التي تدعمها إيران ضمن «وحدات الحشد الشعبي» بـ "الميليشيات الوقحة".

ويقيناً، أن الصدر اعتذر علناً عن ​​الهتافات المعادية لإيران التي أُسمِعت خلال مظاهرات هذا العام، وأن طهران تواصل توفير الدعم العسكري المباشر لقواته. حتى أن الصدر حضر مصالحة في 18 تشرين الأول/أكتوبر مع قادة بارزين يعملون بالوكالة عن إيران، بمن فيهم اثنان انشقا عن معسكره هما: قائد «عصائب أهل الحق» قيس الخزعلي وزعيم «حركة حزب الله النجباء» أكرم الكعبي. وعبّر خلال هذا الحدث عن دعمه للعمليات العراقية في الموصل ورفض تدخّل تركيا في المعركة. ومع ذلك، لا تزال الانقسامات مع طهران عميقة للغاية، وتظهر المزيد من التقارير حول قيام حملات اغتيال تحرّض موالين للصدر ضد جماعات منشقة تخضع لسيطرة إيران، لا سيما «عصائب أهل الحق».  

وفي الوقت الذي تتنافس فيه إيران والصدر من أجل بناء الولاء لهما في أوساط المجتمع الشيعي في العراق، فإن اتخاذ خط أكثر تشدّداً إزاء واشنطن يصبّ في صالح النزعة المناهضة للولايات المتحدة بين عامة السكان. كما أن الوقوف في وجه القوة العسكرية الأكبر في العالم قد يساعدهم على إظهار علامات القوة أمام المكوّنات المحلية وبعضهم البعض.

وعلى المدى القريب، إذا شعر الصدر أن أياً من طهران أو بغداد تضعه في موقف حرج، فإن اتخاذه خطوات عنيفة ضدّ القوات الأمريكية قد يمنحه سبيلاً سهلاً للفت الانتباه وتعزيز ادعاءاته بأنه "الوطني" العراقي الحقيقي الوحيد الذي يرغب في مواجهة "المحتلين" الأجانب. كما يمكن الاستفادة من مثل هذه الهجمات لإظهار ضعف حكومة العبادي وزرع بذور الانقسامات بين بغداد وواشنطن. 

الخلايا المنشقة

لفترة دامت أكثر من عقد من الزمن، استمرت الجماعات المنشقة كما واصل المنشقون الأفراد ينغصون صفوف «التيار الصدري». وبالفعل، إن احتمال تشكيل المزيد من هذه الجماعات المنشقة - بما فيها البعض التي تزعم أنها تحمل راية الصدر - يجعل من الصعب على نحو فريد تقييم التهديدات الناشئة عن معسكر الصدر.

وفي حين يمكن أن تتسبّب خلايا مستقلة ضمن «سرايا السلام» و«لواء اليوم الموعود» بحدوث مشاكل خاصة بها، يبدو أن الجماعات التي ترعاها إيران تطرح التحدي الأكبر. فمع ارتفاع حدة التوتر، قد تنفّذ هذه الجماعات هجمات ضد القوات الأمريكية ومن ثم تلقي مسؤولية وقوعها على «التيار الصدري». وفي إطار هذا السيناريو، قد يضطر مقتدى الصدر إلى مواجهة تداعيات تلك الهجمات، التي يمكن بدورها أن تدفعه إلى اعتماد موقف أكثر عدائية تجاه الولايات المتحدة.

وبعد إعادة هيكلة «جيش المهدي» في عام 2008 وإنشاء «لواء اليوم الموعود»، غالباً ما أكّد الصدر (بشكل صحيح) أن الجماعات المنشقة، وليس مقاتليه، هي التي كانت تستهدف القوات الأمريكية. وبعض هذه الجماعات كانت خلايا متباينة مرتبطة بـ «عصائب أهل الحق»، التنظيم الذي يعمل بالوكالة عن إيران وكان في طور الإنشاء في ذلك الوقت، في حين أن [خلايا] أخرى كانت فصائل محلية تابعة لـ «جيش المهدي» رفضت وقف أنشطتها المسلّحة.

وحين تمّ الإعلان عن «سرايا السلام» في منتصف عام 2014، ذكر الصدر أنها ستكون الميليشيا الوحيدة التي تمثّل اسمه وقضيته. ومع ذلك، سُمح باستمرار «لواء اليوم الموعود»، مما يُظهر أنه تعيّن على الصدر مواصلة التعامل مع عناصر نافذة ومستقلة أحياناً ضمن أجهزة الميليشيا التابعة له. ونتيجة لذلك، غالباً ما استخدم الصدر تكتيكاً عمل على تحسينه عندما كان «جيش المهدي» في أوج نشاطه وهو: تقويض الميليشيا التابعة له ومراقبة أي من الفصائل تلتزم بأوامره. وفي الفترة بين شباط/فبراير - آذار/مارس 2015 على سبيل المثال، جمّد كلاً من «سرايا السلام» و«لواء اليوم الموعود»، زاعماً أنها خطوة لتشجيع التفاعل السياسي بدلاً من العنف بين مختلف الأحزاب العراقية. وفي تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر 2015، أمر بتجميد عمليات عناصر «سرايا السلام» في ديالى، مدعياً أنهم تورطوا في أنشطة إجرامية. وخلال أيار/مايو الحالي، دعا كوادره إلى سحب وجودهم المسلّح من بعض أجزاء بغداد التي دمّرتها تفجيرات تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية». وفي حين كان الهدف من تلك الخطوات على الأرجح الإشارة للحكومة أنها بحاجة إليه وإظهار عجزها عن حماية العاصمة، لا سيما الأحياء التي تتولى حراستها القوات التي تدعمها إيران، إلا أنها ربما شكّلت أيضاً اختبار آخر للولاء لقوات الصدر. 

وعلى أي حال، برز المزيد من المنشقين في أعقاب تقدّم تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» في العراق عام 2014، لكن هذه المرة مع إعلان العديد من الجماعات المشكلة حديثاً عن وجودها. وحين تمّ الإعلان عن إنشاء «كتائب الإمام علي»، التي تعمل بالوكالة عن إيران في  أواخر حزيران/يونيو من ذلك العام، سجل القائد السابق في «جيش المهدي» شبل الزيدي شريط فيديو يظهر فيه إلى جانب مقاتليه وهم يحملون رؤوساً مقطوعة زعموا أنها تعود لأعدائهم أفراد تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية». وأعلن بعدها أن «كتائب الإمام علي» متحالفة مع «سرايا السلام» وكانت جزءاً لا يتجزأ من «جيش المهدي». وبعد ثلاثة أشهر، نقض الصدر هذه المزاعم ومحاولات تلطيخ حملته في خطاب علني أعلن خلاله أن سمعة الميليشيا التابعة له أكثر طهراً من ذلك. لكن اعتباراً من أواخر عام 2015، كانت بعض العناصر المرتبطة بـ «كتائب الإمام علي» تواصل عرض ملصقات لقادة شهداء سقطوا في أرض المعركة تحمل صور الصدر.

بدورها، أعلنت جماعات منشقة أخرى تحارب في سوريا ولاءها للصدر على الرغم من أنه عارض علناً أي تدخل شيعي مسلّح في البلد المجاور. وعند التدقيق عن كثب، يظهر جلياً أن هذه الجماعات لم تعد موالية له - فبالنسبة للعديد من أفرادها، لا تزال سوريا تمثّل أداة جيدة لتجنيد المقاتلين وإضعاف سيطرته بشكل متزايد.

ومن بين أبرز القادة الآخرين المنشقين عن «التيار الصدري»، أحمد الحجي الساعدي، الذي أعلن عبر وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي في عام 2014 أنه يعمل مع «سرايا السلام» في العراق - وهو تصريح غريب نظراً إلى علاقاته الوطيدة مع عدد من المنظمات الجهادية الشيعية التي تدعمها إيران وادّعائه الشهرة بأنه الشريك المؤسس لأول جماعة جهادية شيعية رئيسية عابرة للحدود الوطنية في سوريا وهي «لواء أبو الفضل العباس». كما أعلن «لواء الإمام الحسين»، الذي يُعدّ فرعاً من «لواء أبو الفضل العباس»، أنه ينتمي إلى «التيار الصدري» رغم ولائه العلني لبشار الأسد وطهران. واستفادت كذلك جماعات أخرى تدعمها إيران وتقاتل في العراق وسوريا، مثل «قائدة قوات أبو الفضل العباس» والحركة الأحدث «جيش المؤمل»، من إرثها في «جيش المهدي» و«سرايا السلام» لتجنيد شبكات متشددة وتأهيلها.  

مراقبة الصدر عن كثب

للمساعدة على منع حدوث مشاكل محتملة مع الصدر والمنشقين عنه أو الاستعداد لوقوعها، يتعيّن على صنّاع السياسة في الولايات المتحدة النظر في تجديد تركيزهم على التحركات المتغيّرة داخل معسكره الغامض في كثير من الأحيان. ويشمل ذلك تقييم الشخصيات والشبكات التي تستخدمها إيران من أجل رعاية المزيد من الجماعات المنشقة. وإذا ما تمّ استهداف العناصر الأمريكية من جديد، قد تكون مثل هذه المعلومات مفيدة في التخطيط لردّ مناسب ومحدّد الأهداف. 

وفي حين ظلت واشنطن صامتة علناً ​​بشأن قيام «سرايا السلام» باختطاف مقاولين أمريكيين في كانون الثاني/يناير، حيث تُفضّل على ما يبدو العمل من وراء الكواليس، قد لا يكون لديها ترف القيام بذلك في المستقبل. وإذا كان الصدر يسير حقاً باتجاه شنّ نزاع آخر، ستحتاج القوات الأمريكية إلى الردّ بطريقة مدروسة - ليس للحد من التصعيد فحسب، بل لإرسال إشارة قوية عن قدرة أمريكا وعزمها أيضاً.

 

فيليب سميث، باحث في جامعة ماريلاند، ورئيس تحرير المدونة "موكب «حزب الله»"، ومؤلف تقرير معهد واشنطن "الجهاد الشيعي في سوريا وآثاره الإقليمية".

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 2712

Beware of Muqtada al-Sadr

Phillip Smyth

Also available in العربية

October 19, 2016


Whether the popular Shiite cleric's motivations are ideological or political, Washington should make sure that neither his loyal militias nor any rogue splinter groups are tempted into further acts of violence against American personnel and interests.

This September, a McClatchy article outlined the kidnapping of three American defense contractors in Iraq, noting how they were held for thirty-one days and tortured after being snatched in January. Yet they were not taken by the Islamic State, nor by Iranian-backed stalwarts such as Kataib Hezbollah or Asaib Ahl al-Haq (AAH), as many analysts and columnists speculated at the time. The true culprits belonged to Saraya al-Salam (the Peace Companies, or SAS), a Shiite militia headed by influential Iraqi cleric Muqtada al-Sadr. It is still unknown if this was a warning to the United States from Sadr himself, a rogue move by a splinter group, or a sign of a larger Sadrist effort against American forces in Iraq. Yet the news likely came as a surprise to many observers given Sadr's high-profile focus on nonviolent political action in recent months, not to mention Washington's repeated attempts to engage him. U.S. officials have been mum on the incident thus far -- whether or not they remain so, they should keep a close eye on Sadr's camp as the battle for Mosul and other important developments unfold.

ANTI-U.S. TRACK RECORD

Sadr has a strong ideological heritage of anti-Americanism. His late father, Ayatollah Muhammad Muhammad Sadiq al-Sadr, was known for his fiery rhetoric against the United States. And after the younger Sadr declared the existence of Jaish al-Mahdi (the Mahdi Army, or JAM) following the 2003 invasion and occupation of Iraq, the group was involved in numerous bloody clashes with coalition forces, as was its partial successor Liwa al-Youm al-Mawud (the Promised Day Brigades, or LYM).

Since 2014, Sadr has rebuffed numerous U.S. attempts to engage him, according to Iraq-based contacts from the State Department. He has also issued sporadic threats against U.S. forces. On July 21, Alaa Aboud -- the spokesman for SAS, the latest successor to JAM -- stated there was no need for American participation in the battle for Mosul, and that Sadr's forces were "thirsty for American blood." 

Despite such rhetoric, the decision to target Americans in January (and perhaps down the road) may have more to do with internal Iraqi politics than anti-Western ideology. Most notably, Sadr's hostile posture could be a means of gaining leverage in his complex and often tumultuous relationship with Iran. 

SANDWICHED BETWEEN BAGHDAD AND TEHRAN 

In the Iraqi political arena, Sadr has continually used forces under his control to demonstrate that he can project power anytime he likes. This includes the anticorruption protests he fomented earlier this year against Prime Minister Haider al-Abadi's government, during which his supporters took over Baghdad's Green Zone. Sadr has also criticized the government's cooperation with the United States.

Other protests this year have seen his supporters allegedly ripping down the banners of Iranian-backed Shiite militias, raiding their offices, and yelling anti-Iranian slogans. Further highlighting Sadr's rupture with Tehran and Baghdad, SAS has been acting independently of the government-recognized umbrella network for Shiite militias, al-Hashd al-Shabi (aka the Popular Mobilization Units, or PMUs). Sadr himself has called the dominant Iranian-backed elements in the PMUs "brazen militias." 

To be sure, Sadr has publicly apologized for the anti-Iranian chants heard during this year's demonstrations, and Tehran continues to provide direct military support to his forces. Sadr even attended an October 18 reconciliation event with leading Iranian proxy commanders, including two who split from his camp: AAH chief Qais al-Khazali and Harakat Hezbollah al-Nujaba leader Akram Kaabi. There, he expressed support for Iraqi operations in Mosul and rejected Turkey's involvement in the battle. Yet the divisions with Tehran are still deep, and more reports are emerging of assassination campaigns pitting Sadr loyalists against Iranian-controlled splinter groups, particularly AAH. 

As Iran and Sadr compete to build loyalty within Iraq's Shiite community, taking a stronger line against the United States plays to the widespread anti-Americanism among the general population. Going up against the world's foremost military power could also help them demonstrate strength to domestic constituents and each other.

In the near term, if Sadr feels he is being pushed into a corner by Tehran or Baghdad, taking violent action against U.S. forces may give him an easy way to gain attention and bolster his claims that he is the only true Iraqi "nationalist" willing to oppose foreign "occupiers." Such attacks could also be used to demonstrate the impotence of the Abadi government and sow divisions between Baghdad and Washington. 

SPLINTER CELLS

For over a decade, splinter groups and individual defectors have continually plagued Sadr's ranks. Indeed, the potential for more such splinters to form -- including some that claim to carry Sadr's banner -- makes it uniquely difficult to assess threats arising from the cleric's camp. 

While autonomous cells within SAS and LYM could cause their own problems, groups sponsored by Tehran seem to pose the greatest challenge. As tensions rise, such groups could take action against American forces and then blame the attacks on Sadr. In that scenario, he might have to face the repercussions of the attacks, which could in turn spur him to adopt an even more hostile position toward the United States.

Following Sadr's restructuring of JAM in 2008 and the creation of LYM, he often (correctly) asserted that splinter groups, not his own fighters, were the ones targeting U.S. forces. Some of these groups were disparate cells linked to the then-developing Iranian proxy AAH, while others were localized JAM factions that disagreed with halting their armed activities. 

When SAS was announced in mid-2014, Sadr stated that it would be the only militia to represent his name and cause. Yet LYM was allowed to continue, showing that Sadr still had to deal with powerful and at times autonomous elements within his militia apparatuses. Accordingly, the cleric has often used a tactic he honed during JAM's heyday: freezing his militias and monitoring which factions adhere to his orders. In February-March 2015, for example, he froze both SAS and LYM, claiming it was a gesture to encourage political interactions rather than violence between different Iraqi parties. In November 2015, he ordered a freeze on SAS elements in Diyala, claiming they were engaged in criminal activities. And this May, he called for his cadres to withdraw their armed presence from sections of Baghdad hit by Islamic State bombings. While this was likely meant to show the government that it needed him and demonstrate its impotence in protecting the capital, particularly those neighborhoods guarded by Iranian-backed forces, it may also have been another loyalty test for Sadr's forces. 

Whatever the case, more splinters emerged following the Islamic State's 2014 advance in Iraq, this time with multiple new formalized groups declaring their presence. When the Iranian proxy Kataib al-Imam Ali (the Imam Ali Battalions, or KIA) was announced in late June of that year, former JAM commander Shebl al-Zaidi recorded video of himself and his fighters holding the severed heads of what they claimed were their Islamic State enemies. He then stated that KIA was aligned with SAS and was an integral element of JAM. Three months later, Sadr countered these claims and the attempted smearing of his campaign in a public address, declaring that his militias had a more cleaned-up reputation. Yet as of late 2015, some KIA-linked elements were still putting up martyrdom posters for fallen commanders that featured photos of Sadr.

Other splinter groups fighting in Syria have similarly claimed loyalty to Sadr even though he publicly opposed any armed Shiite intervention next door. On closer inspection, it is clear that these groups are no longer loyal to him -- for many of them, Syria still serves as a good tool for recruiting fighters and further weakening his control. 

Another major Sadrist splinter commander, Ahmed Hajji al-Saadi, announced on social media in 2014 that he was operating with SAS in Iraq -- a curious assertion given his close relations with numerous Iranian-backed Shiite jihadist organizations and his claim to fame as cofounder of Syria's first major transnational Shiite jihadist group, Liwa Abu Fadl al-Abbas (LAFA). The LAFA offshoot Liwa al-Imam al-Hussein has also claimed to be Sadrist despite its open loyalties to Bashar al-Assad and Tehran. Other Iran-backed groups fighting in Iraq and Syria, such as Qaeda Quwat Abu Fadl al-Abbas and the newer Jaish al-Muwamal (Army of the Hopeful), have banked on their respective JAM and SAS legacies to recruit and craft militant networks. 

KEEPING A CLOSE EYE ON SADR 

To help prevent or prepare for potential troubles with Sadr and his splinters, U.S. policymakers should consider renewing their focus on the shifting moves made within his often opaque camp. This includes assessing which figures and networks Iran is using to foster more splinter groups. In the event American personnel are attacked again, such information could be beneficial in planning an appropriate, targeted response. 

While Washington has remained publicly silent about Saraya al-Salam's kidnapping of American contractors in January, seemingly preferring to work behind the scenes, it may not have the luxury of doing so in the future. If Sadr is truly embarking on a path of further conflict, U.S. forces will need to respond in a measured way -- not only to discourage escalation, but also to send a strong signal of American power and resolve. 

Phillip Smyth is a researcher at the University of Maryland and author of the Washington Institute report The Shiite Jihad in Syria and Its Regional Effects.