أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 2067

التعاون بين أذربيجان وإسرائيل يتجاوز التوترات الإيرانية

بريندا شيفر

متاح أيضاً في English

16 نيسان/أبريل 2013


في السنوات الأخيرة، كثفت إسرائيل وأذربيجان من تعاونهما على الصعيد الأمني والعسكري. كما شهد الوقت ذاته تصاعد حدة التوترات بين أذربيجان وإيران. ومع ذلك، فإن هذه المستجدات مستقلة إلى حد بعيد عن بعضها البعض على الرغم من جهود طهران الرامية إلى تعزيز المفاهيم الخاطئة التي تعكس خلاف ذلك.

العلاقات الإسرائيلية الأذربيجانية

اعترفت إسرائيل باستقلال أذربيجان في عام 1991، وفتحت سفارة في العاصمة باكو في 1993. ومنذ ذلك الحين، زار البلاد العديد من الوفود الإسرائيلية: ففي عام 1997، اجتمع رئيس وزراء إسرائيل بنيامين نتنياهو مع الرئيس آنذاك حيدر علييف؛ وفي عام 2009، انضم ثلاثة وزراء إسرائيليين وخمسون من رجال الأعمال إلى الرئيس شمعون بيريز في زيارته للقاء الرئيس الحالي إلهام علييف، الذي يحتفظ معه بيريز بعلاقات قريبة، كما زار وزير الخارجية الإسرائيلي الأسبق أفيغدور ليبرمان أذربيجان في شباط/فبراير 2010 ونيسان/أبريل 2012.

إلا أن باكو لم تقابل الخطوة الإسرائيلية بالمثل ولم تفتح سفارة في إسرائيل، مبررة ذلك بمخاوفها من إقدام الدول ذات الأغلبية المسلمة في الأمم المتحدة على التصويت ضدها بشأن صراعها مع أرمينيا حول إقليم "ناغورنو كاراباخ" المتنازع عليه. ومع ذلك، فقد قام عدة مسؤولين من أذربيجان بزيارات إلى إسرائيل، بما في ذلك وزير البيئة والموارد الطبيعية دعا حسين باغيروف (كانون الأول/ديسمبر 2002 و تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر 2006)، ووزير الاتصالات وتكنولوجيا المعلومات علي عباسوف (تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر 2003)، ووزير حالات الطوارئ كمال الدين حيدروف (آذار/مارس 2007)، ووزير النقل ضياء محمدوف (حزيران/يونيو 2007). وعلاوة على ذلك، تقوم شركة الطيران الأذربيجانية الوطنية "آزال" برحلات منتظمة إلى تل أبيب منذ عام 1993، كما أن الإسرائيليين هم من بين عدد قليل من حاملي جوازات السفر المؤهلين للحصول على تأشيرات الدخول في مطار باكو.

وعلى نطاق أوسع،  تأتي إسرائيل ضمن أكبر خمس شركاء تجاريين لأذربيجان في السنوات الأخيرة. كما تُعد باكو أكبر مورد للنفط لإسرائيل، حيث تزودها بحوالي 40 بالمائة من استهلاكها السنوي، بينما تُعتبر إسرائيل سادس أكبر مستورد لصادرات النفط الأذربيجاني. ويصل النفط الأذري عن طريق خط أنابيب يمر عبر تركيا، واستمر في العمل حتى في ظل تدهور العلاقات الإسرائيلية التركية في السنوات الأخيرة. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، تشارك إحدى المؤسسات التابعة لـ "شركة النفط الحكومية لجمهورية أذربيجان" ("سوكار") في أعمال التنقيب عن النفط والغاز قبالة سواحل إسرائيل. وهذا المشروع هو الأول من نوعه لشركة "سوكار" خارج منطقة بحر قزوين والذي من شأنه أن يسهم في تحقيق أهداف المؤسسة بأن تصبح إحدى شركات النفط الدولية.

وفي الوقت ذاته، أصبحت أذربيجان إحدى المستهلكين الرئيسيين للأسلحة والخبرة العسكرية الإسرائيلية. وفي شباط/فبراير 2012، صدّق الجانبان على اتفاقية تم توقيعها سلفاً تبلغ قيمتها 1.6 مليار دولار، وتشمل طائرات اسرائيلية بدون طيار ونظم مضادة للطائرات /الدفاع الصاروخي. كما تشارك شركات إسرائيلية في نقل المعلومات التكنولوجية كجزء من جهود أذربيجان الرامية إلى إقامة صناعة أسلحة محلية؛ وتقوم بالفعل إحدى الشركات المشتركة بإنتاج آليات عسكرية بدون متحكم بشري في باكو.

وعلى الصعيد الثقافي، كانت أذربيجان وما زالت موطناً لجالية يهودية تتركز في باكو وشمال مدينة قباء، تعيش في البلاد فترة دامت أكثر من2,000  عام. ويبلغ عدد سكان هذه الطائفة حالياً ما يتراوح بين 20,000 - 25,000 نسمة، على غرار السكان اليهود في إيران وتركيا. ويتمتع اليهود الأذربيجانيين بالأمن وحرية العبادة والثقافة؛ ويقوم الرئيس علييف كل عام بزيارة مؤسسات الجالية في قباء ويوجه لهم برقيات التهنئة في الأعياد اليهودية، وبياناً تضامنياً في يوم ذكرى المحرقة.

العلاقات الإيرانية الأذربيجانية

قام المسؤولون الإيرانيون ووسائل الإعلام بمحاولات مضنية لوصف عداء طهران المتصاعد ضد أذربيجان كرد على علاقات باكو الوثيقة مع إسرائيل، حيث يصورون الجمهورية الإسلامية بأنها ضحية التعاون بين الدولتين. ومع ذلك، لا يدعم التاريخ هذا الادعاء -- فقد عملت طهران ضد أذربيجان المستقلة منذ إنشائها في عام 1991، قبل وقت طويل من إقامتها علاقات وثيقة مع اسرائيل.

ويُعد التفسير الأكثر قبولاً لهذا العداء هو الخوف من أن الرخاء والنزعة القومية الأذرية قد يثيران المجتمع الأذربيجاني في إيران الذين يشكل ثلث سكان البلاد. وأياً كان السبب، فقد دأبت طهران على تهديد أمن جارتها وتقدمها الاقتصادي، كما قدمت الدعم لأرمينيا في حرب "ناغورنو كاراباخ" في مطلع التسعينات فضلاً عن محاولتها إحباط مشروعات تصدير الطاقة في أذربيجان. وفي مؤتمر عقد مؤخراً في جامعة "جونز هوبكنز"، اعترف علناً دبلوماسيون أرمن بأن إيران قدمت مساعدات لبلادهم خلال الحرب.

كما تقدم طهران الرعاية للإسلاميين وغيرهم من الجماعات المناهضة للحكومة أو تحتفظ بعلاقات معهم في البلد المجاور. وقد نجحت باكو في إحباط عدد من المؤامرات الإرهابية الداخلية كادت أن تقوم بها جماعات ذات صلة بإيران كانت تستهدف السفارات الأمريكية والإسرائيلية فضلاً عن مؤسسات الطائفة اليهودية في العاصمة. ففي عام 2008، على سبيل المثال، أعلن مسؤولون عن نجاحهم في إحباط خطة لتفجير سيارات مفخخة بالقرب من السفارة الإسرائيلية؛ وفي وقت لاحق أُدانت محكمة أذربيجانية اثنين من المواطنين اللبنانيين لهما علاقات مع ايران، لتورطهما في تلك العملية الإرهابية. وفي عام 2011، حاول عملاء يرتبطون بعلاقات مع ايران اغتيال السفير الأمريكي في أذربيجان.

ومن جانبها، اتخذت باكو جوانب الحيطة والحذر إلى حد كبير في سياستها تجاه الأقلية الأذربيجانية في إيران. على سبيل المثال، يتم بشكل واضح استبعاد الوفود الايرانية من مؤتمرات الشتات التي يتم رعايتها رسمياً في باكو خلال عقدين من الزمن. ومع ذلك، فخلال فترات العداء الإيراني المكثفة كثيراً ما تستغل باكو قضية "جنوب أذربيجان"، لتذكير طهران بأن في جعبتها الوسائل التي تمكنها من تهديد استقرار إيران. ففي تموز/يوليو 2001، على سبيل المثال، هددت الزوارق الحربية الإيرانية إحدى سفن الاستكشاف التابعة لشركة "بي پي" في القطاع الخاضع للسيطرة الأذرية من بحر قزوين، كما خرقت الطائرات الحربية الإيرانية أجواء البلاد عدة مرات. وما كان من باكو إلا الرد بنشر كتب مدرسية تحتوي على خرائط لأذربيجان تضم شمال غرب إيران، بينما جددت منافذ التلفزيون بث سلسلة من البرامج حول ثقافة "جنوب أذربيجان.".

وفي الآونة الأخيرة، سمحت باكو لـ "حركة التحرير الوطني لجنوب أذربيجان" بعقد مؤتمر في العاصمة في 30 آذار/مارس، يهدف إلى تسليط الضوء على أحدث ما شهدته التوترات مع طهران. ورداً على ذلك، طالب حسين شريعتمداري -- ناشر صحيفة كيهان (أكبر صحف إيران) ومستشار مقرب من المرشد الأعلى علي خامنئي -- أذربيجان بإجراء استفتاء حول ما اذا كانت ستنضم إلى إيران.

ومع هذا، فكما هو موضح أعلاه، فإن أجواء التوتر الأخيرة على وجه التحديد ليست استثنائية على الإطلاق. وقد اصطدمت طهران مع باكو مرات عديدة على مدى العقدين الماضيين، ولم تكن طبيعة علاقتهما متأتية كنتيجة مباشرة لتعاملات أذربيجان مع إسرائيل. ومن المؤكد أن التقارب الأذري الإسرائيلي هو شكل من أشكال التحدي الاستراتيجي الأوسع نطاقاً الذي تواجهه باكو(بما في ذلك محاولات متكررة لزعزعة الاستقرار تقوم بها إيران وروسيا في محاولاتهما لاستعادة السيطرة على منطقة بحر قزوين)، ولكن طهران لا تشكل سوى جزء من هذه الحسابات.

وباختصار، لدى أذربيجان أسباب استراتيجية وجيهة ومستقلة وراء تعاونها مع إسرائيل وعلاقتها الضعيفة مع إيران. وعلى الرغم من تصريحات طهران التي تأتي على النقيض من ذلك، هناك توجهات إقليمية مشتركة تربط باكو وإسرائيل، كما يوجد تعاون استراتيجي قوي مع الولايات المتحدة، بينما تشكل إيران تهديداً أمنياً قوياً على البلاد.

 

بريندا شيفر هي باحثة زائرة في مركز الدراسات الأوروبية الشرقية والروسية والأوراسية في جامعة جورج تاون، وأستاذة للعلوم السياسية في جامعة حيفا. وقد عملت سابقاً أستاذة زائرة في "أكاديمية أذربيجان الدبلوماسية". وتشمل منشوراتها الكتاب "الحدود والاخوة: إيران وتحدي الهوية الأذربيجانية"، الذي صدر عام 2002.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 2067

Azerbaijan's Cooperation with Israel Goes Beyond Iran Tensions

Brenda Shaffer

Also available in العربية

April 16, 2013


Azerbaijan has ample, independent strategic reasons for its cooperation with Israel and poor relations with Tehran, notwithstanding the recent spike in Iranian tensions.

In recent years, Israel and Azerbaijan have intensified their security cooperation and military trade. At the same time, tensions between Azerbaijan and Iran have increased. Yet these two developments have been largely independent of each other, despite Tehran's efforts to promote misconceptions to the contrary.

ISRAELI-AZERBAIJANI RELATIONS

Israel recognized Azerbaijan's independence in 1991 and opened an embassy there in 1993. Since then, several Israeli delegations have visited the country: in 1997, Prime Minister Binyamin Netanyahu met with then-president Heydar Aliyev; in 2009, three Israeli ministers and fifty businessmen joined President Shimon Peres to visit current president Ilham Aliyev, with whom Peres is close; and former foreign minister Avigdor Liberman visited in February 2010 and April 2012.

Baku has not reciprocated by opening an embassy in Israel, citing fears that Muslim-majority states in the UN would vote unfavorably on its conflict with Armenia over the disputed Nagorno-Karabakh region. Yet several Azerbaijani officials have visited Israel, including Minister of Ecology and Natural Resources Huseyn Bagirov (December 2002 and November 2006), Minister of Communications and Information Technologies Ali Abbasov (November 2003), Minister of Emergency Situations Kemaleddin Heydarov (March 2007), and Transportation Minister Ziya Mammadov (June 2007). Moreover, the Azerbaijani national airline AZAL has had regular flights to Tel Aviv since 1993, and Israelis are among the few passport holders eligible for visas at the Baku airport.

More broadly, Israel has been among Azerbaijan's top five trade partners in recent years. Baku is Israel's top oil supplier, providing around 40 percent of its annual consumption, while Israel is the sixth highest importer of Azerbaijani oil exports. The oil arrives via a pipeline through Turkey that continued to function even when Israeli-Turkish relations hit rock bottom in recent years. In addition, a subsidiary of the State Oil Company of the Azerbaijan Republic (SOCAR) participates in oil and gas exploration off Israel's coast. The project is the first of its kind for SOCAR outside the Caspian region and could contribute to the firm's quest to become an international oil company.

Meanwhile, Azerbaijan has become a major consumer of Israeli armaments and military expertise. In February 2012, the two countries confirmed the signing of an arms-supply agreement valued at $1.6 billion, to include Israeli drones and antiaircraft/missile-defense systems. Israeli firms are also involved in technology transfers as part of Azerbaijan's efforts to establish an indigenous arms industry; one joint company is already producing unmanned military vehicles in Baku.

On the cultural front, Azerbaijan has been home to a Jewish community for over 2,000 years, based in Baku and the northern city of Quba. Today, this community numbers around 20,000-25,000, similar to the Jewish populations in Iran and Turkey. Azerbaijani Jews enjoy safety and freedom of worship and culture; President Aliyev visits their community institutions in Quba annually and issues regular greetings on Jewish holidays and a solidarity statement on Holocaust Remembrance Day.

IRANIAN-AZERBAIJANI RELATIONS

Iranian officials and media outlets have attempted to portray Tehran's hostility toward Azerbaijan as a response to Baku's close ties with Israel, depicting the Islamic Republic as the victim of cooperation between the two states. History does not support this claim, however -- Tehran has acted against independent Azerbaijan from its inception in 1991, long before it formed close links with Israel.

The most plausible explanation for this antagonism is fear that Azerbaijani nationalism and prosperity could incite Iran's own Azerbaijani community, which comprises a full third of the country's population. Whatever the reason, Tehran has long threatened its neighbor's security and economic progress, supporting Armenia in the Nagorno-Karabakh war during the early 1990s and attempting to thwart Azerbaijan's energy export projects. In a recent conference at Johns Hopkins University, Armenian diplomats openly acknowledged Iranian support.

Tehran also sponsors or maintains ties with Islamist and other antigovernment groups next door. Baku has thwarted a number of local terrorist plots by Iranian-connected groups targeting the U.S. and Israeli embassies as well as Jewish community institutions in the capital. In 2008, for instance, officials announced that they had foiled a plan to explode car bombs near the Israeli embassy; two Lebanese citizens with ties to Iran were later convicted for the plot in an Azerbaijani court. And in 2011, Iranian-connected operatives attempted to assassinate the U.S. ambassador in Azerbaijan (for more details on the plot, see Matthew Levitt's recent study Hizballah and the Qods Force in Iran's Shadow War with the West).

For its part, Baku has been largely cautious in its policy toward the Azerbaijani minority in Iran. For instance, Iranian delegations have been conspicuously excluded from officially sponsored diaspora conferences in Baku for two decades. During periods of intense Iranian hostility, however, Baku often uses the "South Azerbaijan" issue to remind Tehran that it has the means to threaten Iran's stability. In July 2001, for example, Iranian gunboats threatened a BP exploration vessel in the Azerbaijani-controlled sector of the Caspian Sea, and Iranian warplanes violated the country's airspace several times. Baku responded by publishing schoolbooks containing maps of Azerbaijan that encompassed northwestern Iran, while television outlets renewed broadcasts of a series on the culture of "South Azerbaijan."

More recently, Baku allowed the South Azerbaijan National Liberation Movement to hold a conference in the capital on March 30, highlighting the latest spike in tensions with Tehran. In response, Hossein Shariatmadari -- the publisher of Kayhan (Iran's largest newspaper) and a close advisor to Supreme Leader Ali Khamenei -- demanded that Azerbaijan hold a referendum on whether to join Iran.

As described above, however, the particularly tense atmosphere of late is not exceptional. Tehran has clashed with Baku numerous times over the past two decades, and the character of their relations has not been a direct result of Azerbaijan's dealings with Israel. To be sure, Azerbaijani-Israeli rapprochement is a function of the wider strategic challenges Baku faces (including frequent destabilization attempts from Iran and Russia as they attempt to regain control over the Caspian region), but Tehran is only part of this calculus.

In short, Azerbaijan has good, independent strategic reasons for its cooperation with Israel and poor relations with Iran. Notwithstanding Tehran's rhetoric to the contrary, Baku and Israel share a common regional orientation, strong strategic cooperation with the United States, and a potent security threat from Iran.

Brenda Shaffer is a visiting researcher at Georgetown University's Center for Eurasian, Russian, and East European Studies, a political science professor with the University of Haifa, and a former visiting professor at the Azerbaijan Diplomatic Academy. Her publications include the 2002 book Borders and Brethren: Iran and the Challenge of Azerbaijani Identity.