أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

صفحات رأي ومقالات

هل المسلمون إسلاميون؟

سونر چاغاپتاي

متاح أيضاً في English

"حريت ديلي نيوز"

18 أيار/مايو 2015


الهجوم الأخير على مسابقة الرسوم المتحركة المتعلقة بالنبي محمد في دالاس والاقتراحات اللاحقة التي كتبها النقاد والسياسيون، بمن فيهم المشرع الهولندي خيرت فيلدرز بأن الإسلام يجب أن يكون محظوراً في الغرب، أثارت مجدداً السؤال المتكرر على مدى العقد الماضي: هل الإسلام يتوافق مع الغرب؟

إلا أن مثل هذا السؤال يرتكز على افتراض مضلل بشكل أساسي. فالإسلام لا يعني الإسلام السياسي، بل أن الإسلام هو الإيمان؛ والإسلام السياسي هو أيديولوجية متطرفة وعنيفة أحياناً وغير تاريخية تسعى إلى كسب شرعيتها عبر الإسلام وتركّز جهود التجنيد التي تقوم بها على المسلمين. ويهدف الإسلام السياسي إلى خلق نظام عالمي غير ليبرالي جديد يأخذ تبريره من الماضي المتخيّل والصارم من فترة الصحارى في القرن السابع الميلادي.

إن العلاقة بين الإسلام والإسلام السياسي هي أقرب إلى العلاقة بين الطبقة العاملة والشيوعية في الحرب الباردة. فقد حاولت الإيديولوجية الشيوعية استخلاص شرعيتها من الطبقة العاملة وسعت إلى التحدث باسمهم. ويحاول الإسلام السياسي أن يفعل الشيء نفسه. ومع ذلك، فبما أن الشيوعية لم تمثل الملايين من الطبقة العاملة من الرجال والنساء الذين لم يتعاطفون مع الشيوعيين، فإن الإسلام السياسي لا يمثل المسلمين في أيامنا هذه.

وتشمل المظاهر الحالية للإسلام مجموعة متنوعة من الحركات الإسلامية، مثل جماعة «الإخوان المسلمين»، و تنظيمي «القاعدة» و «الدولة الإسلامية في العراق والشام» («داعش»)/«الدولة الإسلامية». وعلى الرغم من أن هذه الجماعات تستخدم تكتيكات مختلفة، إلا أن ما يجمعها في الأساس هو أيديولوجية غير ليبرالية مشتركة لا تحترم القيم العالمية ولا تتبناها.

وفي أقصى نهاية الطيف الإسلامي السياسي، هناك الجهاديون الإسلاميون - مثل تنظيمي «القاعدة» و «الدولة الإسلامية» - الذين يستخدمون العنف لنشر رسالتهم وترويع السكان لحملهم على الخضوع. ويستخدم «داعش»، على سبيل المثال، الوحشية والهمجية لإجبار الملايين في سوريا والعراق على الخضوع إلى إيديولوجيته المشوّهة، وأسلوبه الشمولي للحكومة.

وعلى الجانب الآخر تتواجد جماعة «الإخوان المسلمين»، التي على الرغم من كونها غير عنيفة، إلا أنها لا تمتنع عن استخدام السلطة السياسية لفرض أيديولوجيتها الصارمة على الجماهير غير المستعدة لتقبّلها. فبعد انتخاب الرئيس محمد مرسي المنتمي لجماعة «الإخوان المسلمين» في عام 2012، بدأت «الجماعة» حملة لفرض ايديولوجيتها المبنية على عدم المساواة على الشعب المصري. وتولًى «الإخوان» السيطرة على وسائل الإعلام والمحاكم وأشاروا إلى نواياهم المتعلقة بتنفيذ الشريعة الإسلامية. وأدّى ذلك إلى قيام تظاهرات حاشدة في معظم المدن الرئيسية في البلاد، كما ثار المصريون ضد ما اعتبروه على نحو محق بأنه الاستبداد الإسلامي السياسي الآخذ في التنامي.

وحتى الآن لا نعرف الجواب حول الكيفية التي ينبغي على الغرب أن يتفاعل مع الحركات الإسلامية السياسية الاستبدادية غير العنيفة. فالنموذج التونسي، على سبيل المثال، هو أمر مشجع. ففي أعقاب الثورة التونسية في عام 2011، حصل "حزب النهضة" - حركة المقاومة الاسلامية الرئيسية في البلاد - على أكثرية الأصوات في انتخابات "الجمعية التأسيسية" في البلاد. لكن الدستور التونسي العلماني، وكتل التصويت العلمانية القوية والنقابات وجماعات الضغط التجارية ساعدت الحزب على تجنب التدهور السريع الذي واجهه مرسي وجماعة «الإخوان المسلمين» في مصر؛ وهكذا، تنحّى الحزب من الحكومة في كانون الثاني/يناير 2014.

إلا أن العكس من ذلك حدث في تركيا. فقد شهدت البلاد عشر سنوات من النمو الاقتصادي الهائل أثناء حكم «حزب العدالة والتنمية» الإسلامي، الذي جاء إلى السلطة في عام 2002. وبقيامه بذلك، بنى الحزب قاعدة شعبية قوية. ومنذ ذلك الحين استغل شعبيته لتقويض الوسائل الديمقراطية المسؤولة عن تحقيق التوازن بين السلطات، بما فيها دستور البلاد العلماني، ووسائل الإعلام، والمحاكم وجماعات الضغط التجارية.

وإذا وضعنا هذا السؤال جانباً، هناك شئ واحد في هذا السياق وهو: أن الإسلاميين لا يمثلون الإسلام، بغض النظر إذا كان هؤلاء من «الإخوان» أو من تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية». إن الخلط بين الإسلام والإسلام السياسي أثار خطاباً خطيراً مفاده أن غالبية المسلمين، الذين ليسوا إسلاميين، يتحملون العبء الأكبر. إن الادعاءات التهكّمية التي يأتي بها النقاد بأن الإسلام والمسلمين لهم عيوب بالفطرة، تشبه إلى حد كبير الرسائل المتعصبة المتطرفة التي ينشرها تنظيم «داعش» عن الديانتين اليهودية والمسيحية.

وتشكل مهاجمة الإسلام، وليس الإسلام السياسي، أمراً خطيراً، فهي تغذّي فقط فكرة "صراع الحضارات" التي تنادي بها جماعات مثل تنظيمي «القاعدة» و «الدولة الإسلامية» اللذان يستغلان مثل هذه الانقسامات. ومن خلال وصفنا لجميع المسلمين كإسلاميين، فإننا نمنح فقط مصداقية لنظرتهم الخاصة للعالم من خلال الإيحاء بأن الإسلاميين هم الممثلين الوحيدين للإسلام. ولا يمكن للغرب أن ينحدر الى مستواهم ولا ينبغي أن ينجر إليه.

كنت أود لو كان هناك مصطلحاً آخر للإشارة إلى عقيدة الإسلاميين، التي من شأنها أن تتجنب بعض من هذا الخلط. ولكن ليس هناك كلمة مناسبة. وفي غيابها يتعين علينا أن نحدد تعريفاً يشير إلى هذه العقيدة.

ليتخيل المرء ما الذي كان سيحدث خلال الحرب الباردة لو كان النقاد وصناع القرار قد أشاروا إلى أن جميع الناس من الطبقة العاملة كانوا شيوعيين، وأن الولايات المتحدة كانت قد استهدفت جميع الناس من الطبقة العاملة في مجتمعها. لحسن الحظ، إن ذلك لم يحدث. ولكن عوضاً عنه، عملت الولايات المتحدة مع الاشتراكيين الديمقراطيين، والاشتراكيين والنقابات التي تحترم الديمقراطية، وقامت بتوجيه غالبية الطبقة العاملة بعيداً عن الشيوعية. إن استهداف الإسلام ليس هو العلاج للإسلام السياسي.

 

سونر چاغاپتاي هو زميل "باير فاميلي" ومدير برنامج الأبحاث التركية في معهد واشنطن.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

Articles & Op-Eds

Are Muslims Islamists?

Soner Cagaptay

Also available in العربية

Hurriyet Daily News

May 18, 2015


Conflating Islam with Islamism has sparked a dangerous discourse in which the majority of Muslims, who are not Islamist, bear the brunt.

The recent attack on the Muhammad cartoon contest in Dallas and the subsequent suggestions by pundits and politicians, including Dutch legislator Geert Wilders, that Islam should be banned in the West has reignited a recurring question over the past decade: Is Islam incompatible with the West?

However, such a question is grounded on a fundamentally misguided assumption. Islam is not Islamism. Islam is a faith; Islamism is an extremist, and at times violent, ahistorical ideology that seeks to ground its legitimacy in Islam and focuses its recruitment efforts on Muslims. Islamism aims to create a new illiberal world order grounded in the imagined and austere past of 7th century deserts.

The relationship between Islam and Islamism is akin to the relationship between the working class and communism in the Cold War. The communist ideology attempted to derive its legitimacy from the working class and sought to speak on their behalf. Islamists try to do the same. Yet, just as communism did not represent the millions of working-class men and women who did not identify with communists, today, Islamism does not represent Muslims.

Current manifestations of Islamism include a variety of Islamist movements, such as the Muslim Brotherhood, al-Qaeda and the Islamic State of Iraq and the Levant (ISIL). Although these groups employ different tactics, at their core, they share a common illiberal ideology that will neither respect nor adopt universal values.

At the extreme end of the Islamist spectrum are jihadi-Islamists, such as al-Qaeda and ISIL, who use violence to spread their message and terrorize populations into submission. ISIL, for example, uses brutality and savagery to force millions in Syria and Iraq to submit to its distorted ideology and totalitarian style of government.

On the other side stands the Muslim Brotherhood, who, although nonviolent, will not shy away from using political power to impose their austere ideology on unwilling masses. Following the election of Egyptian Muslim Brotherhood president Mohamed Morsi in 2012, the group launched a campaign to impose its non-egalitarian ideology on the Egyptian population; the Brotherhood took over the media and the courts and signaled its intentions to implement Sharia law. This prompted massive demonstrations across most major cities in the country, as Egyptians revolted against what they correctly saw as a burgeoning Islamist autocracy.

The jury is still out on how the West should interact with nonviolent, authoritarian Islamist movements. The Tunisian model, for example, is encouraging. In the wake of Tunisia's revolution in 2011, the country's primary Islamist movement, Ennahda, received the plurality of votes in the country's Constituent Assembly elections. But Tunisia's secular constitution, powerful secular voting blocks, unions and business lobbies helped the party avoid Morsi and the Brotherhood's rapid decline in Egypt, and in January 2014 the party stepped down from the government.

However, in Turkey the opposite has happened. The Islamist Justice and Development Party (AKP), which came to power in 2002, delivered a decade of phenomenal economic growth and, in doing so, built a strong popular base. It has since exploited its popularity to subvert the democratic checks and balances, including the country's secular constitution, media, courts and business lobbies.

This question aside, one thing is clear: Be it the Brotherhood or ISIL, Islamists do not represent Islam. Conflating Islam with Islamism has sparked a dangerous discourse in which the majority of Muslims, who are not Islamist, bear the brunt. The pundits' caustic claims that Islam and Muslims are inherently flawed bear too similar a resemblance to ISIL's radically bigoted messages on Judaism and Christianity.

Attacking Islam, and not Islamism, is dangerous, and it only feeds the "clash of civilizations" narrative advocated by groups like al-Qaeda and ISIL who exploit such divisions. In labeling all Muslims as Islamists, we only lend credence to their worldview in suggesting that Islamists are the sole representatives of Islam. The West cannot and should not sink to their level.

I wish there was a different term to refer to the ideology of Islamism, which would avoid some of this confusion. But there is not. In its absence, we need to identify.

Imagine what would have happened during the Cold War if pundits and policymakers suggested that all working-class people were communist and we had targeted all working class people in the West. Fortunately, this did not happen. Instead, the United States worked with social democrats, socialists and democracy-respecting unions, peeling working class majorities away from communism. Targeting Islam is not the cure for Islamism.

Soner Cagaptay is the Beyer Family Fellow and director of the Turkish Research Program at The Washington Institute.