أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 2115

هل السلفيون السياسيون في المغرب ملتزمون بالسلام؟

ڤيش سكثيفيل

متاح أيضاً في English

12 آب/أغسطس 2013


في أعقاب الثورات العربية من عام 2011، شرعت تونس واليمن ومصر، وغيرها من البلدان بتقنين وضع الأحزاب السلفية التي تعرضت للقمع في السابق باحتوائها في النظام الديمقراطي. وحدث في المغرب أيضاً أن تم إدخال السلفيين في إطار العمل السياسي، بيد أن ذلك تم في بيئة مجتمعية لم تشتمل على تغيير شامل للنظام. ولهذا السبب تواجه الحكومة إشكالية كبيرة: فالحفاظ على سياسات ما قبل عام 2011 والتي وضعت العقبات واحدة تلو الأخرى أمام أي محاولة لانخراط السلفيين اجتماعياً وسياسياً يتناقض مع هدف المملكة المعلن بالانفتاح السياسي، في حين قد يؤدي السماح بالمزيد من الانخراط إلى نتائج كتلك التي نشاهدها في مصر وتونس. ففي هاتان الدولتان، يكتسب السلفيون دعماً مستمراً، في محاولة للسيطرة على المزيد من المناحي الثقافية والسياسية (بما في ذلك التجارة والسياسة الخارجية)، وزيادة الضغط على حكومتيهما لتنفيذ إصلاحات تتسم بالمحافظة.

"اجتثاث التطرف" السلفي؟

في العام الماضي، شمل العفو الملكي السنوي للملك محمد السادس إطلاق سراح قادة سلفيين مغربين بارزين في ظل مزاعم بتورطهم في تفجيرات كازابلانكا (الدار البيضاء) عام 2003. وصدر عفو فوري عن آخرين بعد أن انضم السلفيون إلى "حركة 20 شباط/فبراير" (M20F)، وهي الحركة الديمقراطية التي قادت "ثورة الربيع المغربي" منذ 2011.

وفي جميع الاحتمالات، كان العفو الملكي عن هؤلاء السجناء البارزين تحركاً صحيحاً لكنه ينقصه الكثير من جانب الملك لاحتوائهم سياسياً ومحاولة أكبر لتهدئة المتظاهرين من "حركة 20 شباط/فبراير" والمتشددين السلفيين السابقين. كما أن القصر نظر بعين الاعتبار للسلفيين على أنهم قوة لها ثقل في مواجهة المد الشيعي المتنامي المنتشر غرباً القادم من إيران والذي تراه الرباط يشكل تهديداً طائفياً محتملاً أخطر بكثير من ذلك الذي يشكله السلفيون.

وعقب العفو الملكي، سُمح للسلفيين المطلق سراحهم بالانضمام إلى "حزب النهضة والفضيلة" وهو حزب إسلامي معتدل. وكما صرح الخبير المغربي محمد ضريف "من مصلحة الدولة أن تكون هناك قطط مدجنة تعمل داخل الأحزاب السياسية عوضاً عن التعامل مع قطط متوحشة تعمل خارج الأحزاب". وقد استخدم زعيم "حزب النهضة والفضيلة" محمد الخالدي نفس هذه اللغة في تفسير هذه الخطوة للملك.

ومنذ ذلك الحين، قبل بعض السلفيين بهذه التطورات وحتى أن بعضهم دافع عن شرعية الملك في مقابل منحهم فرصة في الانخراط السياسي. وكانت بوادر هذا التحول واضحة في الوقت الذي كانوا لا يزالون في السجن واستمر هذا التحول بعد إطلاق سراحهم في إشارة إلى وجود انسلاخ حقيقي عن الفكر السلفي التقليدي والرغبة في الانخراط في العمل السياسي. فعلى سبيل المثال، أصدر الشيخ محمد الفيزازي، أحد القادة المطلق سراحهم، فتاوى ضد المظاهرات ولصالح الحفاظ على وحدة البلاد تحت قيادة الملك. وأثناء وجوده في السجن في عام 2009، انتقد الفيزازي صراحة دفاع تنظيم «القاعدة» عن الإرهاب. وعلى نحو مواز، فإن مبادرة "أنصفونا" وهي عبارة عن وثيقة كتبها أحد القادة السلفيين يُدعى أبو حفص خلال فترة سجنه، تغاضى فيها عن الحكم الملكي وانتقد استخدام العنف. كما تعهد سلفيون آخرون بالتخلي عن خطاب التكفير. ودعم أيضاً القادة المعفى عنهم علناً الاستفتاء على الإصلاح الذي جرى في تموز/يوليو 2011 في المغرب عندما كانوا لا يزالون في السجن على الرغم من مقاطعة العديد من القادة الشبان لهذا الاستفتاء إلى جانب بعض الجماعات اليسارية و"جماعة العدل والإحسان" (أقوى الجماعات الإسلامية المعارضة في المملكة).

وباختصار، فقد برزت علاقة تكافلية من نوع ما بين السلفيين السياسيين والنظام الملكي. ويريد بعض منهم الانخراط داخل إطار العمل السياسي الحزبي، بينما يرغب القصر في الوقت نفسه في الظهور على أنه تعددي مع قمع المعارضين واختيار تيار المعارضة.

هل هم ملتزمون بالسلام؟

على الرغم من هذه التحولات، فبات من غير الواضح ما إذا كان سلوك السلفيين يشير إلى انسلاخ حقيقي عن ماضيهم أم أنه مجرد خوف من العودة إلى السجن أم كلا الأمرين. فعلى سبيل المثال، تعطي المواقف الأخيرة لمحمد الفيزازي انطباعاً بالدعم الدؤوب للنظام الملكي ولكن الحد الذي يبدون فيه مناقضين للفكر السلفي المغربي التقليدي يشير بقوة إلى أنهم جزء من إستراتيجية سياسية مؤقتة.

وفي بداية هذا الشهر، عندما اجتاحت مظاهرات حاشدة كافة أرجاء البلاد احتجاجاً على العفو الملكي للمجرم الأسباني الشاذ جنسياً، وصف الفيزازي المتظاهرين بأنهم منافقون، مدعياً أنهم "آخر من يتحدث عن كرامة الأطفال". ويتسم هذا الدفاع المستميت عن الملك - ضد المتظاهرين الذين رأوا العفو الملكي الذي تم سحبه بعد ذلك بأنه تضحية بالكرامة الوطنية مقابل استمرار العلاقات الإيجابية مع أسبانيا - بالشكل الكوميدي أو انفصام الشخصية غالباً، عند مقارنته بالانتقادات القاسية التي وجهها الفيزازي للسياسة الخارجية المغربية قبل سجنه. وعلى نحو مشابه، تم النظر إلى خطابه المفتوح في أيار/مايو 2013 الذي طالب فيه الرئيس الجزائري عبد العزيز بوتفليقه "بالتوبة بسبب تأجيج النزعة الانفصالية والفتنة" و"التصالح مع المغرب وإعادة فتح الحدود" على أنه تعهد منطوي على تذلل وخنوع بالولاء إلى الملك أكثر من كونه محاولة واقعية للتقارب بين الجزائر والمغرب.

وتتناقض تصريحات قادة سلفيين آخرين بصفاقة أكثر مع ادعاءاتهم بفتح صفحة جديدة. فعلى سبيل المثال، يعتبر البربر من الأقليات المعروفة جيداً ذات العدد الكبير الذي يتزايد يوماً بعد يوم في المغرب، والتي شكلت أهدافها الأساس الذي انطلقت منه "حركة 20 شباط/فبراير" والتي يعتبر بعض السلفيين جزءاً منها. ولكن في شهر آذار/مارس، أدان حسن الكتاني، أحد القادة السلفيين المطلق سراحهم، الاحتفال بالسنة البربرية الجديدة واصفاً إياه بأنه من بقايا الجاهلية وطالب بإنكاره، في الوقت الذي أعلن فيه أحد رموز السلفية المطلق سراحهم عمر الحدوشي صراحة أن البربر "ملحدين وعملاء لليهود وأبناء القردة والخنازير". وقد ترك هذا البيان المراقبين في حالة تشكك من قدرة السلفيين السياسيين على المحافظة على وعودهم بالانخراط السلمي والتخلي عن التكفير.

ومن المهم أيضاً أن نلاحظ أن العديد من السلفيين المغاربة غير راغبين في الانضمام إلى الأحزاب القائمة أو تأسيس منظمات غير حكومية أو تأسيس حزب خاص بهم أو حتى دخول المجال السياسي. وبدلاً من ذلك، هم يفضلون البقاء في طمأنينة تماشياً مع التحريم التقليدي الذي تتبعه فرقتهم لهذه الأشكال من الطائفية.

خيارات السياسة الأمريكية

على الرغم من وجود النذر اليسير الذي يمكن أن تفعله الولايات المتحدة للتأثير على السلفيين المغاربة بشكل مباشر، إلا أن حث الرباط على الانخراط في هذه القضية ربما يكون مفيداً. وعلى وجه الخصوص، ينبغي على واشنطن الاستمرار في دبلوماسية القوة الناعمة مع تشجيع الحكومة على الاستمرار في سياسة "الانتظار والترقب" في تعاملها مع الضغوط السلفية المتزايدة. وقد ساهم الخلاف بين القادة السلفيين - لاسيما بين الفيزازي ومحمد المغراوي (فقيه مشهور تم نفيه إلى المملكة العربية السعودية بعد إصداره فتوى بأنه يجب تزويج البنات في سن التاسعة) في إضعاف قدرتهم على حشد أتباعهم لذا فإن اتخاذ موقف فعال وصريح ضد السلفية أو إثناء الملك عن إشراكهم في العملية السياسية ربما يكون غير ضروري الآن. ففي واقع الأمر، من المحتمل أن ترسخ مثل هذه الإجراءات وجهة النظر السلفية/الإسلامية القائمة والتي مفادها أن الولايات المتحدة تدعم الحكام المستبدين حفاظاً على مصالحها وتعارض بقوة أي نجاح للإسلاميين.

وربما يعتقد البعض أن سياسة القوة الناعمة تمنح المتطرفين المزيد من الحرية في العمل والاختيار. ومع ذلك، فقد قامت الرباط بإنشاء جهاز أمني متيقظ وتبني سياسة واضحة من عدم التسامح مع الإرهاب بهدف تقليل التهديدات الموجهة ضد الملك والعلاقات المغربية مع واشنطن وأوروبا. وينبغي أن يحول هذا الواقع - مقترناً بالمنهج السلمي الجديد للسلفيين (وإن كان قائماً على الانتهازية) بالانخراط داخل المجتمع - دون وقوع أعمال عنف واسعة الانتشار ناجمة عن بقايا الراديكالية.

واستشرافاً للمستقبل، فمن غير المرجح أن يقوم الملك بالتصريح للأحزاب السياسية السلفية على المدى القريب، ورغم ذلك فإنه قد يأتي الوقت الذي يتعين فيه على الملك مجابهة هذه الاحتمالية بشيء من الجدية والحسم. وفي هذه الأثناء، ينبغي على الرباط أن تأخذ بعين الاعتبار السلوك السياسي للسلفيين وطبيعة دعوتهم ومحتوى مناهجهم التعليمية. إن اتخاذ إجراءات مثل الإغلاق الأخير لمدارس المغراوي في مراكش ترسل إشارة بعدم التسامح مع السلفيين. لكن بدلاً من غلق المدارس القرآنية، ينبغي على الحكومة أن تنبههم أو تمنحهم حوافز لتبني المعايير المتفق عليها في وزارة التربية والتعليم.

 ونظراً لأن السلفيين يكتسبون أتباع ومؤيدين، ينبغي على القصر التفكير أيضاً في تجنب أشكال أخرى من القمع (مثل فرض إجراءات صارمة على حرية الكلام، والتمييز القائم على أساس الملبس، والحد من حرية التجمع) وهو ما قد يدفعهم نحو التطرف أو قد يتسبب في مزيد من الاستقطاب). وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، فإن دمج السلفيين في العملية السياسية سيهدئ شيئاً من الغضب المستمر القائم منذ فترة طويلة - بما في ذلك بين السواد الأعظم من المغربيين - فيما يتعلق بقرار الملك بالانضمام إلى ركب واشنطن في "الحرب على الإرهاب". وفي الوقت الراهن، فإن الإجابة على السؤال الخاص بكيفية التعامل مع السلفيين يقع على عاتق السياسيين المغربيين وما تحتاجه الولايات المتحدة فقط هو أن تبقى على علم بنشاطهم وتحركاتهم.

 

ڤيش سكثيفيل هي زميلة الجيل القادم في معهد واشنطن.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 2115

Are Morocco's Political Salafists Committed to Peace?

Vish Sakthivel

Also available in العربية

August 12, 2013

Despite apparent strategic shifts among Moroccan Salafists and the king's "wait and see" policy toward them, it remains unclear whether they will truly moderate as part of the political integration process.

Following the Arab uprisings of 2011, Tunisia, Yemen, Egypt, and other countries legalized previously repressed Salafist parties in the spirit of democratic inclusion. In Morocco too, Salafists have been entering the political mainstream, but in an environment that did not involve comprehensive regime change. The government therefore faces a conundrum: maintaining pre-2011 policies that stymied the Salafists' political and social integration would be antithetical to the monarchy's stated aim of political openness, yet allowing too much integration might yield results like those seen in Egypt and Tunisia. In those countries, Salafists are steadily gaining support, attempting to control more aspects of culture and politics (including trade and foreign policy), and increasing pressure on their governments to implement conservative reforms.


Last year, King Muhammad VI's annual royal pardon included the release of prominent Moroccan Salafist leaders allegedly linked to the 2003 Casablanca bombings. Others were summarily pardoned after Salafists aligned themselves with the February 20 Movement (M20F), the democratic faction that has spearheaded the "Moroccan Spring" since 2011.

In all likelihood, the king's pardon of such high-profile prisoners was less a genuine move to involve them politically, and more an attempt to pacify M20F protestors and former Salafist hardliners. The palace also regarded the Salafists as a popular counterweight to the growing Shiite wave spreading westward from Iran, which Rabat saw as a potential sectarian threat far greater than that posed by Salafism.

Following the pardon, the released Salafists were permitted to join the Renaissance and Virtue Party (PRV), a moderate Islamist faction. As Moroccan expert Mohamed Darif put it, "It is in the interests of the state to have tame cats working within political parties, rather than having to deal with wild cats operating outside them." PRV leader Mohamed Khalidi used this same language in explaining the move to the king.

Since then, some Salafists have accepted and even defended the king's legitimacy in exchange for a chance at political integration. Signs of this transformation were evident while they were still in prison, and the shift continued after their release, hinting at a genuine break from traditional Salafist thought and a willingness to embrace political engagement. For example, released leader Mohamed Fizazi has come out with fatwas against the protests and in favor of preserving the country's unity under the king. And while in prison in 2009, he spoke out against al-Qaeda's defense of terrorism. Similarly, "Ansifouna" (Do us justice), a tract written by Salafist leader Abu Hafs during his prison term, condoned the monarchy and criticized the use of violence. Other Salafists have vowed to renounce the practice of takfir (accusing other Muslims of heresy). The pardoned leaders also publicly supported Morocco's July 2011 reform referendum while they were still in jail, despite boycotts by many youth leaders, some left-wing groups, and al-Adl wal-Ihsan (the monarchy's most significant Islamist opposition).

In short, a symbiotic relationship of sorts has emerged between political Salafists and the monarchy. Some of them want to integrate into mainstream party politics, while the palace wants to appear pluralistic, quell dissent, and co-opt the opposition.


Despite these shifts, it remains unclear whether the Salafists' behavior indicates a real break with their past, a fear of returning to prison, or both. For example, Mohammed Fizazi's recent positions give the impression of dogged support for the monarchy, but the extent to which they seem to contradict traditional Moroccan Salafist thought strongly indicates that they are part of a temporary political strategy.

Earlier this month, when mass protests against the royal pardon of a Spanish pedophile swept the country, Fizazi called the demonstrators hypocrites, arguing that they should be the "last to talk of dignity of children." This diehard defense of the king -- against protestors who saw the since-revoked pardon as sacrificing national dignity for favorable relations with Spain -- seems almost comedic or schizophrenic when compared to Fizazi's scathing criticisms of Moroccan foreign policy prior to his imprisonment. Similarly, his May 2013 open letter calling on Algerian president Abdelaziz Bouteflika to "repent for fueling separatism and fitna" and "to reconcile with Morocco and reopen the border" was seen more as an obsequious pledge of fealty to the king than a realistic attempt at Algerian-Moroccan rapprochement.

The statements of other Salafist leaders more brazenly contradict their claims of turning a new leaf. For example, the Berber people are a large and increasingly well-defined minority constituency in Morocco whose aims formed the basis of the M20F, of which some Salafists were a part. Yet in March, released Salafist leader Hassan al-Kettani denounced the Berber New Year as a remnant of jahiliyya (pre-Islamic ignorance) and called for its renunciation, while released Salafist icon Omar Haddouchi publicly declared that Berbers are "apostates, agents of Jews, and the sons of pigs and apes." Such rhetoric leaves onlookers doubtful that political Salafists will keep their promises of peaceful integration and abandonment of takfir.

It is also important to note that many Moroccan Salafists are uninterested in joining existing parties, establishing NGOs, forming their own party, or otherwise entering the political sphere. Instead, they prefer to remain quietist in accordance with their sect's traditional ban on such forms of factionalism.


Although there is little the United States can do to influence Morocco's Salafists directly, engaging Rabat on the issue could be helpful. In particular, Washington should continue its soft-power diplomacy while encouraging the government's "wait and see" approach to the burgeoning Salafist strain. Discord between Salafist leaders -- particularly Fizazi and Mohamed al-Maghraoui (a notorious cleric exiled to Saudi Arabia after issuing a fatwa that girls as young as nine ought to marry) -- has weakened their ability to mobilize followers, so taking an active and vocal stance against Salafism or discouraging the king from engaging them may be unnecessary for now. In fact, such measures would likely entrench the existing Salafist/Islamist view that the United States props up dictators for its own interests and is dead set against Islamist success.

Some may believe that a soft-power approach gives extremists too much latitude. Yet Rabat has already established a vigilant security apparatus and a zero-tolerance policy against terrorism, with the aim of minimizing threats to the sovereign and to Morocco's relations with Washington and Europe. This fact -- combined with the Salafists' new peaceful (albeit opportunistic) approach to societal inclusion -- should prevent any widespread violence stemming from residual radicalism.

Going forward, the king is unlikely to legalize Salafist political parties in the near term, though there may come a time when he must confront that prospect with some level of seriousness. In the interim, Rabat should take note of the Salafists' political behavior, the nature of their dawa (outreach activities), and the content of their educational curriculum. Actions such as the recent closure of Maghraoui's madrasas in Marrakesh send a signal of intolerance to Salafists. Rather than shuttering Quranic schools, the government should nudge them or give them incentives to adopt the standards agreed upon in the Ministry of Education.

As Salafists gain followers, the palace should also consider avoiding other forms of repression (e.g., clamping down on speech freedoms, profiling based on attire, limiting freedom of assembly) that might push them toward radicalism or otherwise cause polarization. In addition, integrating Salafists would quell some of the longstanding anger -- including among mainstream Moroccans -- regarding the king's decision to join Washington's "war on terror" bandwagon. For the time being, the question of how to handle the Salafists is one for Moroccan politics to answer, and the United States need only remain apprised of their activity.

Vish Sakthivel is a Next Generation fellow at The Washington Institute.