أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

تنبيه سياسي

مروحيات الأباتشي في سيناء

ديفيد شينكر

متاح أيضاً في English

16 كانون الثاني/يناير 2014


في مطلع الأسبوع المقبل سوف يوافق الكونغرس الأمريكي على تشريع جديد يُحد من القيود على نقل الأسلحة الأمريكية إلى مصر. وحتى الآن، يحظر القانون على إدارة أوباما توفير ذخائر إلى الدول التي يطيح فيها الجيش بالحكومات المنتخبة ديمقراطياً. وعلى الرغم من أن الإدارة الأمريكية لم تُصنف الإجراء العسكري في 3 تموز/يوليو الذي أطاح برئيس جماعة «الإخوان» محمد مرسي على أنه انقلاب عسكري، إلا أنها علّقت تسليم بعض نظم الأسلحة - أبرزها عشر طائرات أباتشي هجومية - الأمر الذي شكل ضغوطاً على العلاقات الثنائية. ويتحاشى القانون الجديد ضرورة عدم وقوع انقلاب عسكري، ويربط بدلاً من ذلك تقديم المساعدات العسكرية بإجراء مصر استفتاء على الدستور (وهو ما أكملته البلاد لتوها هذا الأسبوع) إلى جانب إجراء انتخابات برلمانية ورئاسية (والتي تقرر مؤقتاً إجراؤها في وقت لاحق من هذا العام).

وقد يرى البعض أن هذا التغيير التشريعي يشكل تحولاً بعيداً عن دعم الولايات المتحدة للديمقراطية؛ وقد يراه آخرون اعترافاً بالواقع على الأرض في مصر. ومهما كان الحال، فإن التسليم المعلق لطائرات الأباتشي هو البند الذي يحظى بأكبر قدر من الاهتمام في القاهرة وواشنطن. بيد أنه حتى مع تحسين مناخ العلاقات الثنائية، فإن القانون الجديد وتسليم مروحيات هجومية إضافية من غير المرجح أن يُحدثا وحدهما تأثيراً ملموساً على مسار التمرد الناشئ في مصر.

تمر القاهرة حالياً في وسط حملة لإرساء الأمن في سيناء، حيث كسب المنتسبون لـ تنظيم «القاعدة» موطئ قدم هناك خلال السنوات الأخيرة، الأمر الذي يثير مخاوف بشأن انتقال عدوى الإرهاب إلى وادي النيل. فمنذ تموز/يوليو 2013 - عقب الإطاحة بمرسي مباشرة - قُتل نحو 350 فرد من الشرطة والجيش في شبه الجزيرة. وفي أواخر آب/أغسطس، أطلق الجهاديون قذائف صاروخية على سفينة عابرة لقناة السويس، ولحسن الحظ لم تتعرض السفينة لأضرار جسيمة. وبعدها بأيام، نجا وزير الداخلية محمد إبراهيم بأعجوبة من تفجير بسيارة مفخخة في العاصمة.

وبالإضافة إلى الرؤى الإيجابية المرتبطة بتجدد تدفق الأسلحة، ترى واشنطن والقاهرة أن تسليم المزيد من طائرات الهليوكوبتر ربما يفيد في الحملة ضد المقاتلين الذين مقرهم في سيناء. وتستخدم مصر طائرات الأباتشي الحالية المزودة بصواريخ هيلفاير، باعتبارها المنصة المفضلة في شبه الجزيرة، ووفقاً لروايات الجيش قتلت هذه المروحيات 184 مسلحاً حتى الشهر الأخير. وقد حصلت على خمس وثلاثين من هذه الطائرات من الولايات المتحدة منذ عام 1995، ودفعت 164 مليون دولار من "التمويل العسكري الخارجي" مقابل الطائرات العشر التي جرى تعليق استلامها، أو ما يقرب من ثمن الشراء بالكامل البالغ 171 مليون دولار.

وتمثل تلك الطائرات العشر الأخيرة أهمية في ضوء عدم وضوح العدد الصالح للتشغيل من بين الطائرات الخمس والثلاثين الأولية. وفي ضوء ما تشتهر به مصر من ضعف الصيانة وقدرات الاستدامة - ناهيك عن مهارات طياريها التي تحيط بهم الشكوك - ربما يكون العديد من المروحيات خارج الخدمة. ورغم عدم ورود أي تقارير عن تحطم أي طائرات أباتشي خلال العمليات الأخيرة في سيناء، إلا أن طائرتين نفاثتين - من بينهما واحدة من طراز إف 16 - تحطمتا أثناء التدريبات خلال الشهور الأربعة الماضية وحدها.

وبطبيعة الحال فإن طائرات الأباتشي وحدها لن تكون كافية لسحق التمرد. وفي الواقع أن أساليب الجيش الخشنة في سيناء، مثل نشر صواريخ هيلفاير المضادة للدبابات والتي يتم إطلاقها من مروحيات في مناطق كثيفة السكان، قد تغذي الدعم الذي تحصل عليه «القاعدة». ويمكن استلهام النموذج الأكثر فعالية من اغتيال إسرائيل للزعيم الإرهابي علي أبو مصطفى في عام 2001، عندما أطلقت طائرات الأباتشي صاروخين مضادين للأفراد من خلال نافذة في رام الله، أفضيا إلى قطع رأس مصطفى أثناء جلوسه في مكتبه - ويبدو أن الاستهداف المصري لم يصل إلى تلك الدرجة من الدقة.

وفي أغلب الأحوال، جرى منع الصحفيين المصريين من تغطية الأضرار الجانبية، بل وجرى اعتقالهم بسبب تلك التغطية. بيد أن الشيخ إبراهيم المنيعي، رئيس اتحاد قبائل سيناء، أخبر أحد الصحفيين أن أكثر من خمسين مدنياً لقوا حتفهم حتى بداية أيلول/سبتمبر، وتم تدمير أكثر من 200 منزل حتى تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر. وليس هناك شك بأن الأرقام قد زادت منذ ذلك الحين.

إن الجيش المصري ملتزم في الوقت الحالي بحملة مكافحة الإرهاب في سيناء بل إنه يهدد باستهداف «حماس» عبر الحدود في غزة. وكان حفظ الأمن في سيناء يقتصر منذ فترة طويلة على "دائرة المخابرات العامة"، ومن ثم فإنه يشكل مسؤولية جديدة نسبياً للجيش المصري. وهذا تطور مرحب به بالنسبة لواشنطن التي كانت تمارس ضغوطاً على الجيش لكي يقوم بدور أكثر قوة في محاربة الإرهاب داخل شبه الجزيرة منذ انهيار "دائرة المخابرات العامة" في عام 2011. بيد أن قدرات قوات الجيش الضعيفة ربما لا تكون مناسبة بشكل مثالي لأداء هذه المهمة.

لقد أثبتت سيناء منذ زمن بعيد أنها تشكل تحدياً للقاهرة، حتى عندما كانت شبه الجزيرة تخضع لـ "دائرة المخابرات العامة" التي ركزت على مكافحة الإرهاب في ذروة نشاط هذه "الدائرة". فعلى سبيل المثال، نفذ الإرهابيون بين عامي 2004 و 2006 سلسلة من الهجمات الكبيرة التي أودت بحياة أكثر من 100 أجنبي ومصري. والدرس المستفاد من سيناء والعراق والضفة الغربية وغيرها من الأماكن هو أن سياسات مكافحة الإرهاب الناجحة لا تتطلب أنشطة حركية من الجيش فحسب، بل تواجداً طويل الأجل لأفراد الشرطة/المخابرات وفي كثير من الأحيان التزاماً حقيقياً بالتنمية الاقتصادية.

ورغم أنه قد يكون من السابق لأوانه أن نحكم على الحملة الوليدة للجيش المصري في سيناء، إلا أن التقارير ومقاطع اليوتيوب الواردة من المنطقة تفيد بأن الأضرار التي لحقت بالمنازل والبنية التحتية كانت هائلة إلى حد ما. ولهذا، فعلى الرغم من أن تسليم طائرات الأباتشي الإضافية ونشرها قد يزيد من ضحايا الإرهابيين، إلا أن استمرار الأضرار الجانبية سوف يزيد من جموح سكان سيناء البدو الذين لا يحصلون على ما يستحقونه من خدمات، وربما يجعلهم متعاطفين مع «القاعدة».

وإذا جاز لنا أن نعيد صياغة ما ورد في مذكرة وزير الدفاع الأمريكي السابق دونالد رامسفيلد في عام 2003 تحت عنوان "الحرب على الإرهاب"، لا يتضح ما إذا كانت أعداد الإرهابيين الذين تأسرهم مصر في سيناء أو تقتلهم أو تردعهم أو تثنيهم تزيد عن أعداد الإرهابيين الذين تجندهم «القاعدة» وتدربهم وتنشرهم جراء حملة مكافحة الإرهاب المستمرة. ورغم أن قليلين سيثيرون تساؤلات حول الحكمة من وراء الهجوم الحالي الذي تشنه القاهرة، إلا أن الحكومة ستحسن صنعاً إذا عززت استراتيجيتها العسكرية بعناصر أخرى أقل فتكاً من القوة الوطنية لكي تضمن أن لا تكون انتصاراتها باهظة الثمن أو قصيرة الأجل.

 

ديفيد شينكر هو زميل أوفزين ومدير برنامج السياسة العربية في معهد واشنطن.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

Policy Alert

Apaches in the Sinai

David Schenker

Also available in العربية

January 16, 2014


While delivering more Apache helicopters to Egypt may well increase the terrorist body count in the Sinai, Cairo must find a way to reduce the reportedly heavy collateral damage caused by such weapons.

Early next week, Congress will pass new legislation lowering the bar for transferring U.S. weapons to Egypt. Until now, the Obama administration had been prohibited by law from providing munitions to states in which democratically elected governments were removed by the military. Although the administration did not characterize the July 3 military action that deposed Muslim Brotherhood president Muhammad Morsi as a coup d'etat, it did suspend delivery of some weapons systems -- most prominently, ten Apache attack helicopters -- thereby straining the bilateral relationship. The new law obviates the no-coup requirement, instead conditioning the provision of military assistance on Egypt holding a constitutional referendum (which the country just completed this week) as well as parliamentary and presidential elections (tentatively slated for later this year).

Some may view the legislative change as a shift away from U.S. democracy promotion; others may view it as recognition of the reality on the ground in Egypt. Whatever the case, the pending Apache delivery is the line item receiving the most attention in Cairo and Washington. Yet even as they improve the climate of bilateral relations, the new law and the transfer of additional attack helicopters by themselves are unlikely to have a discernable impact on the trajectory of Egypt's burgeoning insurgency.

Cairo is currently in the midst of a campaign to establish security in the Sinai, where al-Qaeda affiliates have gained a foothold in recent years, raising concerns about terrorist spillover into the Nile Valley. Since July 2013 -- just after Morsi's removal -- some 350 policemen and soldiers have been killed in the peninsula. In late August, jihadists fired rocket-propelled grenades at a ship traversing the Suez Canal; fortunately, the vessel sustained no serious damage. Days later, Interior Minister Muhammad Ibrahim narrowly survived a car-bomb attack in the capital.

In addition to the positive optics associated with renewed weapons flows, Washington and Cairo see the delivery of more helicopters as potentially helpful in the campaign against Sinai-based militants. Egypt has been employing its existing Apaches, armed with Hellfire missiles, as its platform of choice in the peninsula, killing 184 militants as of last month, according to the military. It has acquired thirty-five of these helicopters from the United States since 1995, and paid $164 million in Foreign Military Financing dollars toward the ten awaiting delivery, or nearly all of the $171 million purchase price.

Those last ten aircraft are important because it is unclear how many of the initial thirty-five are still operational. Given Egypt's historically deficient maintenance and sustainment capabilities -- not to mention the questionable skills of its pilots -- several of the helicopters may be out of commission. While no Apaches have reportedly wrecked in recent Sinai operations, two jets -- including an F-16 -- have crashed during training exercises in the past four months alone.

Of course, Apaches alone will not be sufficient to quell the insurgency. In fact, the army's heavy-handed tactics in the Sinai, such as deploying helicopter-fired Hellfire antitank missiles in heavily populated areas, may be fueling support for al-Qaeda. A more effective model is the 2001 Israeli assassination of terrorist leader Ali Abu Mustafa, in which Apaches fired two antipersonnel missiles through a window in Ramallah, decapitating Mustafa as he sat at his desk -- Egyptian targeting is apparently not so precise.

For the most part, Egyptian journalists have been prevented from -- and even arrested for -- reporting on collateral damage. Yet Sheikh Ibrahim al-Manei, head of the Sinai tribal coalition, told one journalist that more than fifty civilians had been killed as of September, and more than 200 homes destroyed as of November. The numbers have no doubt increased since then.

Currently, the Egyptian military is committed to the counterterrorism campaign in the Sinai and is even threatening to target Hamas across the border in Gaza. Long the preserve of the General Intelligence Directorate (GID) or Mukhabarat, Sinai security is a relatively new responsibility for the Egyptian military. This is a welcome development for Washington, which had been pressing the military to take a more robust counterterrorism role in the peninsula since the GID's collapse in 2011. Yet the military's blunt-force capabilities may not be ideally suited to this mission.

Sinai has long proven a challenge for Cairo, even when the counterterror-focused GID in its prime administered the peninsula. For example, between 2004 and 2006, terrorists perpetrated a series of high-profile attacks, killing more than 100 foreigners and Egyptians. The lesson from Sinai, Iraq, the West Bank, and elsewhere is that successful counterterrorism policies require not just kinetic military activities, but a long-term intelligence/policing presence and oftentimes a real commitment to economic development.

Although it may be premature to judge the Egyptian military's nascent Sinai campaign, reporting and YouTube videos from the area suggest that damage to housing and infrastructure has been fairly extensive. Thus while the delivery and deployment of additional Apaches may well increase the terrorist body count, continued collateral damage would likely make the underserved Sinai Bedouin population even more resentful and, perhaps, sympathetic to al-Qaeda.

To paraphrase former defense secretary Donald Rumsfeld's 2003 "war on terrorism" memo, it is not clear that Egypt is capturing, killing, deterring, or dissuading more terrorists in the Sinai than al-Qaeda is recruiting, training, and deploying as a result of the ongoing counterterrorism campaign. Although few would question the wisdom of Cairo's current offensive, the government would be well advised to augment its military strategy with other, less lethal elements of national power to ensure that its victories are neither Pyrrhic nor short lived.

David Schenker is the Aufzien Fellow and director of the Program on Arab Politics at The Washington Institute.