أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 2399

سياسة الولايات المتحدة حيال التهديدات المزدوجة للدولة العربية

روبرت ساتلوف

متاح أيضاً في English

3 نيسان/أبريل 2015


"هذه نسخة معدّلة من عرض قُدِّم في منتدى سياسي في معهد واشنطن يوم الأربعاء 1 نيسان/أبريل، 2015، قبل يوم واحد من الإعلان عن اتفاق حول "المعايير الأساسية" للاتفاق النووي الإيراني. وقد نُشرت تصريحات المتحدثَيْن الآخرَيْن في المنتدى، جيمس جيفري ودينيس روس، في المرصد السياسي 2400."

 

لا تعتبر الحروب الدامية والوحشية بين الدول العربية أو بين المسلمين جديدة في الشرق الأوسط، لا بل على العكس أصبحت وللأسف تشكّل القاعدة في هذه المنطقة. وفي الواقع تُظهر المقارنة التاريخيّة أن العدد الإجمالي للقتلى من كافة الأطراف خلال تاريخ الصراع العربي الإسرائيلي - حوالي 125,000  شخص - يعادل ما يقرب من عدد القتلى في الحرب الأهلية اليمنية في الستينيات عندما تدخّلت مصر للمرة الأخيرة في تلك البلاد؛ ونصف عدد القتلى في الصراع السوري منذ آذار/مارس 2011؛ وعُشر عدد القتلى في الحرب العراقية - الإيرانية.

وعلى الرغم من هذا التاريخ المحزن، فإن الوضع الإقليمي الحالي لم يسبق له مثيل. إذ لا يتعلّق الأمر فقط بعدد الصراعات أو نطاقها أو طبيعتها المتداخلة بل بهدفها، الذي هو في الواقع نظام الدولة العربية. وعلى الرغم من كون هذا النظام غير عادل وفوضوي ودموي ومستبد في غالب الأحيان غير أنّه يبقى نظام دولة.  

ويواجه النظام العربي تهديدَيْن هما إيران و تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية في العراق والشام» («داعش»). ويهدف تنظيم «داعش»، المعروف أيضاً باسم «الدولة الإسلامية»، إلى إزالة الحدود بينما تريد إيران - الجمهورية الإسلامية - إنشاء المستعمرات. وتختلف التهديدات ولكنّ الدمار الذي يصيب نظام الدولة مماثل. ويسري هذا التهديد على جميع الدول العربية تقريباً بدءاً من شمال أفريقيا وصولاً إلى بلاد الشام فالخليج.

دور الولايات المتحدة وغيابها

من هنا، ينبغي أن يكون للولايات المتحدة دوراً تلعبه في هذه المعركة. فقد ساهمت هذه الأخيرة إلى حد كبير في وضع قواعد نظام الدولة الذي تزدهر فيه. حتى إن الأمر ينطبق على منطقة الشرق الأوسط الأكثر حصينة للقيم الأمريكية، ولكنها أيضاً المنطقة التي أحسنت فيها الولايات المتحدة صنعاً بشكلٍ معقول خلال نصف القرن الماضي بتأمين مصالحها الأساسية الأخرى. وعلى الرغم من جميع مشاكل الشرق الأوسط تبقى مصلحة الولايات المتحدة كبيرة في بقاء هذا النظام.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك، لا يؤدي التصوّر الإقليمي للانسحاب الأمريكي من المنطقة سوى إلى تفاقم الفوضى وعدم اليقين على الصعيد المحلي. وفي حين تشكّل قضية الإنسحاب الأمريكي موضع نقاش محتدم في واشنطن، إلا إن الحكم واضحاً في الشرق الأوسط حول هذا الموضوع، إذ تعمل المنطقة في الواقع كالسوق، فهي تدرك ما ترى وتحتسب الأمور وفقاً لذلك. 

وتشكّل أحداث الأسبوعين الماضيين أفضل مثال على ذلك: ففي أعقاب إعادة إنتخاب رئيس وزراء إسرائيل اليميني بعد أن أعلن بأنه لن تُقام دولة فلسطينية خلال فترة رئاسته للوزارة، شكّل القادة العرب أقوى تحالف عسكري منذ حرب 1967. ولكن بدلاً من التوجّه نحو القدس، هاجم التحالف قوات الحوثيين المدعومين من إيران في اليمن. إن ذلك يوضح الأولويات والدوافع في الشرق الأوسط على أفضل وجه.

ومع ذلك، لا تتفق كافة الدول العربية على طبيعة التهديد. وقد ظهر ذلك جليّاً على سبيل المثال في المناظرة بين الرئيس المصري عبد الفتاح السيسي ووزير الخارجية السعودي الأمير سعود الفيصل خلال القمة العربية التي انعقدت الشهر الماضي في القاهرة. فقد اختلفا علانية بسبب رسالة خطية وجّهها الرئيس الروسي فلاديمير بوتين إلى مؤتمر القمة يذكر فيها الدور الذي يمكن أن تؤديه روسيا في المساعدة على فرض الاستقرار في الشرق الأوسط. ولا بد من الإشارة إلى أن  خلافهما الفعلي لم يكن حول روسيا بل حول أفضل طريقة لإنقاذ "الدولة العربية" المحاصرة. فالسيسي قد يتقبّل بقاء الرئيس السوري بشار الأسد في الحكم والتهديدات الإيرانية وكافة الأمور الأخرى خوفاً من أن يكون تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» هو البديل. بينما يرى السعوديون أن إيران هي التي تدعم الأسد، تماماً كما يرون إيران تدعم للحوثيين، ويرفضون أي اقتراح للتوافق مع الأسد. ولكن في الصميم، يعلم كلاهما أنّ الدولة - وربما دولتيهما - في مأزق.

وبالعودة الى "اتفاقية الدفاع العربي المشتركة" لعام 1950، ناقش العرب فكرة التحالفات العسكرية لأكثر من نصف قرن ولكن المناقشات بمعظمها كانت من دون جدوى. ونظراً لخطورة الوضع الذي يواجه الدول في جميع أنحاء المنطقة، قد يدفعهم الخوف إلى التحرّك. وبالفعل، شهدت الأشهر الأخيرة عمليات عربية عسكرية بعيدة المدى أكثر من أيّ وقت في التاريخ الحديث، ونذكر على سبيل المثال عمليات القوات الجويّة الإماراتية في ليبيا وعمليات القوات البحرية المصرية في جنوب البحر الأحمر. وبما أنّ القدرات مقيّدة، من المرجح أن تعمل الدول العربية على الهامش - كما هو الحال في اليمن، وربما في ليبيا - بدلاً من التحرّك في سوريا والعراق اللتان تشكلان قلب المنطقة العربية. ولكن حتى هناك، لا ينبغي استبعاد هذا الإحتمال.

سياسة "الأصدقاء الأعداء المزدوجة"

قد ينظر البعض في واشنطن إلى فكرة أنّ العرب يتحركون بنفسهم ببعض من الرضا الحزين. فهذا يعني، وفقاً للبعض، أنّ الولايات المتحدة قد حققت إنجازاً كبيراً إذ أصبح بإمكانها إبقاء قواتها بعيدة والحد من تعرّضها للخطر. وإذا استطاعت الولايات المتحدة خلال العمليات الدبلوماسية المناورة في المنطقة للتوصل إلى موازنة في القوى بين السنة والشيعة، تكون قد حقّقت إنجازاً أكبر شرط عدم استخدام سياسة "الركائز المزدوجة" أو سياسة "الإحتواء المزدوج"  بل اتباع سياسة "الأصدقاء الأعداء المزدوجة"، مع تحول حلفاء واشنطن العرب السابقين إلى خصوم وتحول خصومها السابقين الإيرانيين إلى حلفاء بينما تؤدي الولايات المتحدة الدور القائم على فرض التوازن الحساس بين هذه الأوضاع.

ولسوء الحظ يعتبر هذا التحليل وهميّاً. فلا يمكن إعتبار انسحاب قوات العمليات الخاصة الأمريكية بشكل قسري ومتسرّع من اليمن في الشهر الماضي وفقدان القاعدة الجوية هناك على أنه مقدمة لنجاح جديد، أو تطبيقاً ناجحاً لموازنة استراتيجية، والأمر مماثل بالنسبة إلى القوة العسكرية الإيرانية في العراق وللتقييم الزائف حول بقاء الأسد في السلطة.

الزاوية الإسرائيلية

مع نشوب النزاعات على عدد كبير من الجبهات، تجدر الإشارة إلى أنّ الإدارة الأمريكية قد ركزت الكثير من طاقتها على مدى الأسبوعين الماضيين على مواجهة إعادة انتخاب رئيس الوزراء الإسرائيلي بنيامين نتنياهو. وليس هناك شك أنّه في الجولة الأخيرة من الانتخابات قدّم نتنياهو للإدارة الأمريكية ذخيرة قوية من خلال تصريحاته التي سيتوجب عليه قبل كل شيء، أن يواجهها في محكمة الرأي العام الإسرائيلي. ولكن مع ارتفاع نسبة مشاركة الناخبين العرب فضلاً عن التمثيل العربي في الكنيست بشكل غير مسبوق، وتوجّه عدد أكبر من الإسرائيليين إلى صناديق الاقتراع خلال أكثر من خمسة عشر عاماً - بمعدل أعلى بنحو 20 في المائة من معدل الناخبين المؤهلين في الولايات المتحدة - فمن اللافت للملاحظة أن تشكّك الإدارة الأمريكية في صحة الديمقراطية الإسرائيلية. وقد عارضت واشنطن تاريخياً، بعض سياسات إسرائيل ولكنّها لم تشكك أبداً بديمقراطيّتها، وهذه كانت القاعدة الأساسيّة للعلاقة بين البلدين على مدى أكثر من ستين عاماً.

ومن ناحية تصريح نتنياهو حول عملية السلام يمكن للمرء أن يناقش بصورة مشروعة ما إذا كان تصريحه تحليليّاً أو توجيهيّاً، ولكن من الصعب النفي بأنه كان يشير إلى الوضع الراهن دون أن يتخلى عن إمكانية التغيير في المستقبل. وعلى أي حال، جاءت ملاحظته في خضم الحملة الانتخابية وعمل جاهداً على توضيح هذا البيان في الأيام التالية.

قد يعتقد المرء أن الرئيس أوباما سيكون أكثر تفهماً للذين يدلون بتصريحات في اللحظة الاخيرة بهدف استقطاب بعض الناخبين. فكما صرح بنفسه في المناظرة الرئاسية النهائية عام 2012، رداً على سؤال حول عناصر الاتفاق المستقبلي بشأن برنامج إيران النووي حيث قال: "هدفنا هو حث إيران على الإعتراف بأنها تحتاج إلى التخلي عن برنامجها النووي والالتزام بقرارات الأمم المتحدة. المتخذة سابقاً.. ونأمل أن تتخذ قيادتها القرار الصحيح، ولكنّنا لن نوافق سوى على تخلّيها عن برنامجها النووي. وهذا أمر واضح جدّاً".

وسرعان ما اعتبر المفاوضون الأمريكيون موقف الرئيس "متشدداً" و"غير قابل للتحقيق"، ويعتبر البيت الأبيض اليوم مناصري موقف الرئيس في عام 2012 على أنّهم دعاة حرب.

ولا تكمن النقطة الرئيسية هنا في انتقاد سياسة إيران بل في التأكيد على أنّه لا بد من التركيز على ما هو أعمق في رد الإدارة الأمريكية المعادي لنتنياهو. وعندما أوضح رئيس الوزراء تصريحاته، كان بإمكان الإدارة الأمريكية القول: "شكراً على التوضيح، نحن نتطلع  قدماً إلى السياسات التي تعكس هذا الالتزام المتجدد في التوصّل إلى حل الدولتين". ولكن عوضاً عن ذلك قالت الإدارة إنّها لا زالت لا تثق بنتنياهو وإنها تدرس الصيغ الدبلوماسية البديلة، كإصدار قرار في مجلس الأمن الدولي لتعزيز قضيتها.

هل الهدف من ذلك هو جعل إسرائيل تدفع ثمن معارضتها للجوانب الرئيسية للسياسة الخارجية للإدارة الأمريكية ؟ هل هو الحد من قدرة إسرائيل على التأثير في النقاش الداخلي في الولايات المتحدة فيما يخصّ صفقة إيران؟ هل هو التعبير عن استياء شخصي على الرغم من احتجاجات الرئيس؟ لا جدوى من تحليل نفسي لهذا الموقف. فكلّ ما نعرفه هو أنّ ابتعاد الإدارة الأمريكية المتعمّد عن إسرائيل لا يؤدي سوى إلى تعزيز التصوّر الشائع القائم في المنطقة بأنّ حلفاء الولايات المتحدة هم الآن لوحدهم.

"البقاء على تواصل"

لا شكّ في أنّ هيكل العلاقة بين الولايات المتحدة والشرق الأوسط لا يزال سليماً - أي المساعدات العسكرية، والتعاون الاستخباراتي، وأوجه العلاقة الأخرى. ويسري هذا الأمر على العلاقة بين الولايات المتحدة وإسرائيل، وبين الولايات المتحدة ومصر، وغيرها من العلاقات الثنائية. ولكنّ طبيعة هذه العلاقات ونوعيتها - أي ما يحوّلها إلى شراكات وليس مجرد معاملات تجارية - قد تزعزعت.

إن قراءة ما ورد في نهاية مكالمة الرئيس أوباما الهاتفية مع الرئيس السيسي يشير إلى ذلك، حيث أبلغ الرئيس الأمريكي الرئيس المصري عن رفع الحظر عن شحنات الأسلحة. وجاء في المحادثة: "اتفق الزعيمان على البقاء على اتصال في الأسابيع والأشهر المقبلة". ولم يُذكر في تلك المكالمة الهاتفية "أنهما سيظلان على اتصال وثيق"، ولا "أنهما سينسقان من خلال ممثلين شخصيين لمناقشة المخاوف الاستراتيجية المشتركة." بل ذُكر ببساطة أنهما "سيبقيان على اتصال". لقد اكتفت الولايات المتحدة بإعطاء وعد بـ"البقاء على اتصال" في تلك المكالمة الهاتفية - التي جاءت بعد أربعة أيام فقط من الذكرى السنوية لمعاهدة السلام بين مصر وإسرائيل، والتي كان من المفترض أن تفتح صفحة جديدة في العلاقة الأمريكية مع القائد العربي الذي يقود الحملة الداعية إلى تشكيل ائتلاف عسكري إقليمي جديد بين الدول العربية. ويدوّي صدى هذه الكلمات الثلاث أعلى من أي صوت.

 

روبرت ساتلوف هو المدير التنفيذي لمعهد واشنطن.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 2399

U.S. Policy Toward the Dual Threats to the Arab State

Robert Satloff

Also available in العربية

April 3, 2015

With ISIS and Iran both threatening to upset the state system in the Middle East, Washington needs to adjust its approach accordingly.

The following is an edited version of a presentation delivered a Washington Institute Policy Forum on April 1, 2015, one day prior to the announcement of "key parameters" for an Iran nuclear agreement. Remarks by the forum's other speakers, James Jeffrey and Dennis Ross, were published as PolicyWatch 2400.

Bloody and brutal intra-Arab and intra-Muslim warfare is not new in the Middle East -- to the contrary, it is a regrettable norm of the region. Indeed, a historical comparison shows that the total killed, on all sides, in the history of the Arab-Israeli conflict -- about 125,000 -- is about as many as were killed in Yemen's civil war in the 1960s, the last time Egypt intervened there; half the number killed in the Syrian conflict since March 2011; and one-tenth killed in the Iran-Iraq War.

Despite this sad history, the current regional situation is unprecedented. It is not just the number, scope, or overlapping nature of conflicts; it is the fact that the target itself is the Arab state system -- a messy, unfair, bloody, often despotic state system but a system nonetheless.

There are two main sources of threat to the Arab order -- the Islamic State of Iraq and al-Sham (ISIS) and Iran. ISIS, also known as the Islamic State, wants to erase borders; Iran, the Islamic Republic, wants to create colonies. The threats are different, but the destruction befalling the state system is similar. And the threat is being felt almost everywhere -- from North Africa through the Levant and down to the Gulf.

America's Role, America's Absence

The United States should have a stake in this fight. The state system is one whose rules America largely set and a system in which it thrives. That has even been the case in the Middle East -- the region of the world most impervious to U.S. values but where America has actually done reasonably well over the last half-century in securing its other core interests. For all the problems of the Middle East, the United States has a powerful interest in the survival of this system.

The regional perception of America's withdrawal from the region only aggravates the local chaos and uncertainty. In Washington, the issue of American withdrawal is hotly debated; in the Middle East, however, the verdict is clear. Indeed, the region operates like a market -- it knows what it sees and it calculates accordingly.

Case in point, the events of the last two weeks: After Israel's rightist prime minister wins a convincing reelection after having declared that there will be no Palestinian state on his watch, Arab leaders forge the most potent military coalition since the 1967 war. But instead of marching on Jerusalem, they attack the Iran-backed Houthi forces in Yemen. Nothing could provide better clarity about priorities and motivations in the Middle East today. 

Arab states, however, are not all of the same mind about the nature of the threat. This was evidenced, for example, by the contest of wills between Egypt's president, Abdul Fattah al-Sisi, and Saudi foreign minister Saud al-Faisal during the Arab Summit last month in Cairo. They had a public spat over a letter written to the summit by Russian president Vladimir Putin and the role that Russia could play in helping stabilize the Middle East. But their dispute was not really about Russia but rather about the best way to rescue the embattled "Arab state." Sisi would swallow Syrian president Bashar al-Assad, Iranian warts and all, for fear that the alternative is ISIS; the Saudis see Iran's hand behind Assad, just as they see Iran behind the Houthis, and reject any suggestion of trucking with Assad. At the core, however, they both know that the State -- perhaps their State -- is in trouble.

Going back to the Arab Joint Defense Pact of 1950, Arabs have discussed the idea of military coalitions for more than a half-century; most of this has been empty talk. But given the gravity of the situation facing states across the region, they might just be fearful enough to act. Recent months have already seen more long-range Arab military action -- United Arab Emirates air force operations in Libya, Egyptian navy operations in the southern Red Sea -- than in recent memory. Capabilities, of course, are a limitation, which is why it is more likely that Arab states act on the periphery -- as in Yemen, perhaps in Libya -- than in the Arab heartland of Syria and Iraq. But even there, one should not rule it out.

A Policy of "Dual Frenemies"?

Some in Washington may view the idea of Arabs acting for themselves with a sense of rueful satisfaction. This, the argument goes, is a great achievement for the United States, which can stay offshore and limit its exposure. And if, in the process of diplomacy, the United States is able to maneuver the region into a balance of power between Sunnis and Shiites -- not a "twin pillar" policy or "dual containment" policy but a policy of "dual frenemies," with Washington's Arab former allies turned antagonists and its Iranian former antagonists turned allies while America serves as the critical balancer -- then all the better.

Sadly, this analysis is delusional. Last month’s hasty, forced withdrawal of U.S. special operators from Yemen and the loss of the air base there cannot be viewed as the prelude to a new success, the successful application of strategic balancing. Nor can the application of Iranian military power in Iraq. Nor can a false assessment of Assad's staying power in Syria.

The Israel Angle

With conflicts on so many fronts, it is noteworthy that the administration focused so much of its energy over the last two weeks on pushing back against Israeli prime minister Binyamin Netanyahu's reelection. There is no doubt that, in the campaign's final lap, Netanyahu gave the administration powerful ammunition with statements that he will, first and foremost, have to answer for in the court of Israeli public opinion. But with Arab voter participation rising to unprecedented levels, Arab Knesset representation rising to unprecedented levels, and more Israelis going to the polls than in more than fifteen years -- at a rate about 20 percent higher than the U.S. rate for eligible voters -- it is remarkable that the administration could call into doubt the health of Israeli democracy. Historically, Washington disagrees with some of Israel's policies -- a reality that has been the norm of the relationship for sixty-plus years -- but has never questioned its democracy.

In terms of Netanyahu's statement about the peace process, one can legitimately debate whether he was making an analytical statement or a prescriptive statement, but it is difficult to dispute that he was referring to the current situation, not forswearing the potential for change in the future. In any case, his remark was in the heat of the campaign and he went out of his way to clarify it in the days thereafter.

One would think President Obama would have more understanding for incumbents who make last-minute statements designed to appeal to certain constituencies. As he himself said in the final 2012 presidential debate, when asked about the elements of a future agreement on Iran's nuclear program: "Our goal is to get Iran to recognize it needs to give up its nuclear program and abide by the UN resolutions that have been in place...We hope that their leadership takes the right decision, but the deal we'll accept is they end their nuclear program. It's very straightforward."

It was not long before U.S. negotiators characterized the president's own position as "maximalist" and "unattainable," and advocates of the president's 2012 position are today characterized by the White House as warmongers.

The key point here is not to critique Iran policy but to assert that something deeper must be at the heart of the administration's pushback against Netanyahu. When the prime minister clarified his remarks, the administration could have said, "Thanks for the clarification, we now look forward to policies that reflect this renewed commitment to the two-state solution." Instead, it said it still didn't trust Netanyahu and that it was considering alternative diplomatic formulas, including a UN Security Council resolution, to advance its case.

Is the goal to extract a price from Israel for its opposition to key aspects of the administration's foreign policy? Is it to limit Israel's ability to affect the domestic U.S. debate over the Iran deal? Is it, despite the president's protestations, personal pique? Psychoanalyzing this is not productive. All that one knows is that purposeful distancing from Israel only adds to the commonly held perception in the region that America's allies are on their own.

"Stay in Touch"

Of course, the skeletal structure of U.S.-Middle East relationships remains intact -- the military aid, intelligence cooperation, and so on. That remains true of U.S.-Israel relations, U.S.-Egypt relations, and others. But the flesh and blood of these relationships -- what makes these relationships partnerships and not business transactions -- is slipping away.

A sign of this can be found in the final sentence of the readout of President Obama's phone call to Egypt's President Sisi, informing him about lifting the hold on arms deliveries. The statement read: "The two leaders agreed to stay in touch in the weeks and months ahead." It did not say "they will remain in close contact," nor did it say "they will coordinate through their personal representatives to discuss common strategic concerns." Rather, it said simply that they would "stay in touch." Just four days after the anniversary of the Egypt-Israel peace treaty, in a phone call that was supposed to turn a new page in the U.S. relationship with the Arab leader who is driving the inter-Arab call for a new regional military coalition, all the United States could muster was a promise to "stay in touch." Those three words speak volumes.

Robert Satloff is executive director of The Washington Institute.