أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 2793

بعد الجهاد: رد الولايات المتحدة على مشكلة المقاتلين الإرهابيين الأجانب

جاكوب واليس

متاح أيضاً في English

27 نيسان/أبريل 2017


"في 24 نيسان/أبريل، خاطب جاكوب واليس منتدى سياسي في معهد واشنطن كجزء من سلسلة محاضرات برنامج "ستاين" لمكافحة الإرهاب. والسيد واليس هو مستشار كبير سابق لشؤون المقاتلين الأجانب في "مكتب وزارة الخارجية الأمريكية لمكافحة الإرهاب ومكافحة التطرف العنيف". وفيما يلي موجز المقررة لملاحظاته".

 

عندما بدأت الولايات المتحدة تركّز للمرة الأولى على مشكلة المقاتلين الأجانب في عام 2012، قبل ظهور تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» بشكل كامل، كان هدفها يكمن في منع الأفراد من الانضمام إلى المعارك في العراق وسوريا. وحالياً حيث انخفض تدفق المقاتلين إلى مناطق الصراع في هذين البلدين بشكل حاد، حوّلت واشنطن ودول الحلفاء مسارها للتركيز على التعامل مع قضية المقاتلين الذين عادوا أو سيعودون إلى بلدانهم. وفي تونس - التي تتميز بالفارق المشكوك فيه بأنها أكبر مصدر للمقاتلين إلى العراق وسوريا - تواجه القوى الأمنية صعوبةً في رصد العدد المرتفع من العائدين. أما في الاتحاد الأوروبي، فإن حرية السفر ضمن منطقة "شنغن" تجعل القارة الأوروبية بأكملها [أكثر] عرضةً للمخاطر.

ويشكل بعض التركيز على المقاتلين الأجانب أمراً مضللاً؛ فقد تم شن معظم الهجمات الأخيرة في أوروبا على يد متطرّفين محلّيين، وهو الأمر بالنسبة لجميع الهجمات المتعلقة بـ تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» في الولايات المتحدة. إلاّ أنّ الهجمات التي يشنّها العائدون من الحرب، المدرّبون والتي عززت المعركة قواهم عادةً ما تكون أكثر فتكاً؛ وكانت الهجمات الجماعية في باريس عام 2015 وبروكسل في عام 2016 قد أثبتت هذه النقطة. ولكن، لحسن الحظ أنّ معظم أدوات التعامل مع العائدين هي نفس الأدوات المستخدمة في إدارة التطرّف العنيف المحلي، مثل برامج تبادل المعلومات الاستخباراتية والقضاء على التطرف. ولا تملك الولايات المتحدة خبرة كبيرة في مكافحة الإرهاب الداخلي، لذلك حاولت، عوضاً عن ذلك، إقامة صلات بين حلفائها وتبادل الدروس المستفادة.

وفي هذا الإطار، تندرج الجهود الأمريكية لمعالجة مشكلة المقاتلين الأجانب ضمن فئتين واسعتين: البرامج متعددة الأطراف والبرامج الثنائية. وتجري الجهود المتعددة الأطراف بشكل خاص داخل "الائتلاف العالمي لمكافحة تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» في العراق وسوريا"، ولكن أيضاً ضمن "المنتدى العالمي لمكافحة الإرهاب"، وهو مجموعة منفصلة كانت قائمة قبل تكوين الائتلاف. ويتكون "الائتلاف العالمي" بشكل رئيسي من حلفاء الولايات المتحدة المستعدين [للمشاركة في العمليات] من الشرق الأوسط وأوروبا وأماكن أخرى، في حين يتمتع "المنتدى العالمي لمكافحة الإرهاب" بعضوية أوسع ويركز [على الأمور] بصورة مختلفة قليلاً. وتعالج المنظمتان مشكلة المقاتلين الأجانب مع الأفرقة العاملة المتعددة الأطراف، التي تبقى أفضل وسيلة لزيادة الوعي وتقاسم أفضل الممارسات. وتقتصر معظم مساهمات التحالف على ساحة المعركة، حيث يمكن للجيوش استهداف القادة والميسّرين الإرهابيين. وفي المقابل، يمكن للوكالات المدنية التصدي للتحدي الذي يفرضه العائدون بشكل أفضل ضمن إطار ثنائي، مما يوفر المجال اللازم لتبادل المعلومات الاستخبارية وتحسين أمن الحدود ومنع التطرف عند الجبهة الأمامية.

وتتجسد المبادئ التوجيهية لمكافحة المقاتلين الأجانب في قرار مجلس الأمن الدولي رقم 2178 الذي يقضي بأن تتخذ الدول الأعضاء إجراءات في أربعة مجالات واسعة هي: إنشاء دوريات حدودية فعالة، وتبادل المعلومات في مجال العمليات، والتعاون على منع التطرف والتجنيد، واعتماد قوانين محلية تجرّم السفر والتجنيد والتمويل الجهادي. وكان هجوم باريس عام 2015 قد حوّل تركيز الولايات المتحدة نحو أوروبا، انطلاقاً من تخوّف هذه الأخيرة من قدرة المقاتلين العائدين حاملي جوازات السفر الأوروبية على السفر إلى الولايات المتحدة دون تأشيرات دخول. وقد ساهم هجوم سان برناردينو في العام نفسه في إثارة جو الذعر السائد في أمريكا، [مما أدى إلى قيام] الكونغرس مباشرة بعد ذلك بالتشديد على متطلبات التنازل عن تأشيرة الدخول الأوروبية.

ومن خلال استعادة الأحداث، يبدو أنّ الجانب الأمريكي قد أفرط في مخاوفه. ومع ذلك، كان مستوى التهديدات التي ساد الاتحاد الأوروبي مرتفعاً في ذلك الوقت، كما كانت هناك مصلحةً كبيرة ومباشرة للولايات المتحدة في استتباب الأمن الأوروبي. وفي الوقت الذي بدأت فيه السلطات الأمريكية بالتقرب من حلفاء لها بعد هجوم باريس، فسرعان ما حدّدت نقاط ضعف نظام "شنغن" وأوجه القصور في تبادل المعلومات داخل أوروبا. وتجاوباً مع هذا الأمر، صاغت وزارة الخارجية الأمريكية مبادرة "فريق الحالات الطارئة المتعلقة بالمقاتلين الأجانب" (FFST) وساعدت الاتحاد الأوروبي على وضع خارطة طريق العمل البيني [التشغيل البيني] الخاصة به.

وشكلت مبادرة "فريق الحالات الطارئة المتعلقة بالمقاتلين الأجانب" جزءاً من برنامج للتعاون بين الوكالات، بين الولايات المتحدة وست دول من الاتحاد الأوروبي هي بلجيكا وفرنسا والمانيا وإيطاليا واليونان والسويد. وبدأت هذه الجهود بعقد اجتماعات مشتركة بين الوكالات لتحديد مجالات التنسيق الفني، أعقبتها إنشاء برامج تعاونية فردية. وتشمل الأنشطة المضطلع بها في إطار هذه البرامج مكافحة تمويل الإرهاب، وتحسين الكشف عن جوازات السفر المزوّرة، والتوصل إلى اتفاقات بشأن تبادل المعلومات وتبادل الأدلة. وقد تم تصميم كل برنامج لكي يتناسب مع احتياجات كل بلد على حدة وبما يعكس خبرة واشنطن الفنية القيّمة في القضايا الرئيسية. وتم في وقت لاحق توسيع نطاق مبادرة "فريق الحالات الطارئة المتعلقة بالمقاتلين الأجانب" لتشمل البلقان في برنامج منفصل بل مماثل هو، "فرق المشاركة الثنائية"؛ وتمكنت السلطات الأمريكية من استخدام أموال المساعدات الخارجية لتمويل بعض من هذه البرامج نظراً لتركيزها على التنمية.

أما مجال التعاون الرئيسي الآخر، فكان خارطة الطريق الأوروبية بشأن قابلية التشغيل البيني، وهي مبادرة قام بها الهولنديون خلال رئاستهم للاتحاد الأوروبي في عام 2016. ويتّبع الاتحاد الأوروبي نظاماً معقداً لقوائم مراقبة الإرهاب - وأحد بنوده هو لمراقبة الحدود، وبند آخر لإنفاذ القانون، وثالث لطلبات اللجوء. وفي معظم الحالات، لا يوجد اتصال بين قواعد البيانات هذه، كما أن القوانين الأوروبية قد حالت أحياناً دون تقاسم المعلومات. ويشبه هذا الوضع البيروقراطي حالة مجتمع الاستخبارات الأمريكي قبل أحداث 11 أيلول/سبتمبر، إلاّ أنّ المشكلة الأوروبية أكثر تعقيداً بـ 28 طبقة من المضاعفات لكل من الدول الأعضاء الثماني والعشرين. وقد بدأت خارطة الطريق بمسألة قابلية العمل البيني، إلاّ أنّها سرعان ما اتسعت لتتناول القواعد القانونية والتنظيمية التي تضبط خصوصية البيانات بشكل مُحكَم في أوروبا. وعملت الولايات المتحدة بشكل وثيق مع الهولنديين لدعم تطوير خارطة الطريق والموافقة عليها، وقد أذن بها مجلس الاتحاد الأوروبي رسمياً في عام 2016. ومنذ ذلك الحين ساعد الخبراء التقنيين الأمريكيين الاتحاد الأوروبي على تنفيذ مختلف القرارات المنبثقة عن ذلك الإذن، وبنَوا نظام سيستغرق تنفيذه بالكامل سنوات عديدة. وعموماً، كان التعاون بين الولايات المتحدة والاتحاد الأوروبي فعالاً للغاية، كما أن العلاقات الثنائية لمكافحة الإرهاب قد تحسنت بشكل كيبير منذ هجوم باريس، وخاصة مع فرنسا.

وامتدت جهود الولايات المتحدة أيضاً إلى ما هو أبعد من أوروبا لتشمل شمال أفريقيا وجنوب شرق آسيا والشرق الأوسط. غير أن العلاقات في هذه المناطق تتسم بالمساعدة أكثر من التعاون الفني. وانطوى الجزء الأكبر من عمل واشنطن هناك على دفع شركائها نحو تنفيذ قوانين مكافحة الإرهاب التي كانت قائمة بالفعل، إلاّ أنّ مستوى نجاحها في هذا الصدد كان متبايناً.

ففي تركيا [مثلاً]، تحسّن التعاون بشأن المقاتلين الأجانب في بادئ الأمر إلاّ أنّه عاد وأصيبَ بالركود، واندرج ضمن محادثات أخرى حول الإرهاب في سوريا. لدى الولايات المتحدة وتركيا مخاوف مختلفة في هذا الصدد، حيث ينظر الأتراك إلى الجماعات الكردية كونها تشكل أكبر تهديد. وقد أثّر هذا الاحتكاك على ما يمكن القيام به بشأن مسألة المقاتلين الأجانب. وعلى الرغم من محاولة الولايات المتحدة تنمية تعاون منظم ما بين الوكالات مع تركيا، إلاّ أنّ جهودها تبدّدت مع محاولة الانقلاب التي وقعت في تركيا في العام الماضي. وبالمثل، كانت الجهود الأوروبية - التركية المشتركة بشأن المقاتلين الأجانب والعائدين عشوائية؛ وفي الحالات التي يتمتع فيها الأتراك بعلاقات ضعيفة مع بلد معين (مثل هولندا)، تأثر التعاون بشأن هذه القضايا. وعلى الجانب الإيجابي، شددت أنقرة سيطرتها على حدودها التي يسهل اختراقها في أعقاب سلسلة من الهجمات التي شنّها تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» داخل تركيا. ونتيجة لذلك، من الصعب جداً اليوم عبور سوريا أكثر مما كان عليه الوضع في الماضي.

وعادةً ما يُطرح سؤالان أساسيان عند الحديث عن المقاتلين الأجانب: لماذا يوجد الكثير منهم (خاصة من تونس)؟ وما هي دوافعهم؟ تتطلب الإجابة على هذين السؤالين جهداً عالمياً للتعامل مع الفكر المتطرف، وتوفير خطاب مضاد، والانخراط في أعمال التنمية الأساسية. وقد أدت الطائفية ووسائل التواصل الاجتماعي إلى زيادة تعقيد الصراعات في الشرق الأوسط، في حين سارعت شبكة الإنترنت من عملية التطرف وسهولة السفر وتمويل الإرهابيين. وتعتبر النزاعات في سوريا والعراق صراعات طائفية أساساً، كما هو الحال في اليمن إلى حد ما. ويشكل المقاتلون الشيعة الأجانب مشكلة كبيرة. وتعمل الولايات المتحدة مع أوروبا وإسرائيل لمواجهة «حزب الله» على وجه الخصوص.

إن مشكلة الرئيس السوري بشار الأسد هي سيفٌ ذو حدّين. فعلى الرغم من أنّه بالتأكيد ليس حليفاً لـ تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية»، إلاّ أنّه لعب دوراً هاماً في تسهيل تدفّق المقاتلين من سوريا إلى العراق. وإذا بقي في السلطة، ستظل سوريا نقطة جذب للجهاديين السنّة، إلّا أنّ مجرد إزالته لن يصلح سوريا أيضاً.

وبغض النظر عما يحدث في العراق وسوريا، يجب على الولايات المتحدة مواصلة العمل عن كثب مع شركائها حول العالم بشأن مكافحة الإرهاب. ومن المرجح أن يتلاشى التركيز على الاتحاد الأوروبي، ليس لأن التهديد قد تضاءل في القارة، بل لأن القدرات الأوروبية قد تحسنت بشكل ملحوظ في العامين الماضيين.

وأخيراً، فإن هذا النوع من التعاون يستلزم بالضرورة أموال المساعدات الخارجية من أجل مساعدة البلدان الأخرى على تنفيذ برامج اجتثاث التطرّف، ومراقبة الحدود، ونُظم الاتصالات الداخلية. ولم يتضح حتى الآن ما إذا كانت إدارة الرئيس دونالد ترامب ستتيح االأموال اللازمة لمثل هذه البرامج المدنية. ومع ذلك، لن يمكن التوصل إلى حل لمشكلة المقاتلين الأجانب من خلال الوسائل العسكرية وحدها.

 

أعدت هذا الملخص ماكسين ريتش.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 2793

After the Jihad: The U.S. Response to Foreign Terrorist Fighters

Jacob Walles

Also available in العربية

April 27, 2017


A former counterterrorism official outlines what governments are doing to address the threat of militants returning home from Syria and Iraq.

On April 24, Jacob Walles addressed a Policy Forum at The Washington Institute as part of the Stein Counterterrorism Lecture Series. Walles is a former senior advisor on foreign fighters with the State Department's Bureau of Counterterrorism and Countering Violent Extremism. The following is a rapporteur's summary of his remarks.

When the United States first began to focus on the foreign terrorist fighter problem in 2012, before the Islamic State fully emerged, its objective was to prevent individuals from joining the battles in Iraq and Syria. Now that the flow of fighters to these conflict zones has sharply decreased, Washington and its allies have pivoted to dealing with fighters who have returned, or will return, to their home countries. In Tunisia -- which has the dubious distinction of being the top exporter of fighters to Iraq and Syria -- security forces are struggling to monitor the high number of returnees. And in the European Union, the freedom of travel in the Schengen Area makes the entire continent vulnerable.

Some of the emphasis on foreign fighters is misleading; most of the recent attacks in Europe have been committed by homegrown extremists, as have all of the Islamic State-related attacks in the United States. Nevertheless, attacks by trained, battle-hardened returnees tend to be more deadly; the mass-casualty attacks in Paris in 2015 and Brussels in 2016 proved this point. Fortunately, most of the tools for dealing with returnees are the same as those used to manage homegrown violent extremism, such as intelligence sharing and deradicalization programs. The United States does not have much expertise in countering homegrown terrorism, so it has instead tried to forge connections between its allies and share lessons learned.

U.S. efforts on the foreign fighter problem fall into two broad categories: multilateral and bilateral programs. Multilateral efforts take place most notably within the Global Coalition to Counter the Islamic State in Iraq and Syria, but also within the Global Counterterrorism Forum, a separate group that predates the coalition. The Global Coalition mainly consists of willing U.S. allies from the Middle East, Europe, and elsewhere, while the GCTF has a broader membership and a slightly different focus. Both organizations are addressing the foreign fighter problem with multilateral working groups, which remain the best means of raising awareness and sharing best practices. Most of the coalition's contributions are limited to the battlefield, where militaries can target terrorist leaders and facilitators. In contrast, the challenge of returnees is best undertaken by civilian agencies within a bilateral framework, which offers the space needed to share intelligence, improve border security, and prevent radicalization on the front end.

The guiding principles for countering foreign fighters are enshrined in UN Security Council Resolution 2178, which requires member states to take action in four broad areas: establishing effective border patrols, exchanging operational information, cooperating to prevent radicalization and recruitment, and adopting domestic laws that criminalize jihadist travel, recruitment, and financing. The 2015 Paris attack shifted the U.S. focus to Europe, based on the concern that returning fighters with European passports would be able to travel to the United States without visas. The San Bernardino attack that same year further stoked the atmosphere of fear in America, and Congress soon tightened European visa waiver requirements.

In retrospect, U.S. concerns may have been overwrought. At the time, however, the threat level in the EU was high, and the United States had a significant, direct interest in European security. As U.S. authorities began to reach out to allies after the Paris attack, they quickly identified the vulnerabilities of the Schengen system and the deficiencies of intra-European information exchange. In response, the State Department developed the Foreign Fighter Surge Team initiative and helped the EU establish its Roadmap on Interoperability.

The FFST initiative was part of a program of interagency cooperation between the United States and six EU countries: Belgium, France, Germany, Italy, Greece, and Sweden. These efforts began with interagency meetings to identify areas for technical coordination, followed by the creation of individual cooperative programs. The activities undertaken within these programs included countering terrorist financing, improving detection of fraudulent passports, and reaching agreements on information sharing and evidence exchange. Each program was tailored to the needs of the individual country and reflected Washington's valuable technical expertise on key issues. The FFST initiative was later expanded to include the Balkans in a separate but similar program, the Bilateral Engagement Teams; U.S. authorities were able to use foreign assistance money for some of these programs given their stronger development focus.

The other main area of cooperation was the European Roadmap on Interoperability, an initiative undertaken by the Dutch during their EU presidency in 2016. The EU has a complex system of terrorist watchlists -- one for border checks, one for law enforcement, and one for asylum applications. In most cases there is no communication between these databases, and European laws have sometimes prevented information sharing. This bureaucratic situation is similar to that of the American intelligence community before 9/11, but the European problem is multiplied by twenty-eight layers of complications for each of the twenty-eight member states. The roadmap began with the issue of interoperability but soon expanded to address the legal and regulatory regimes that tightly control data privacy in Europe. The United States worked closely with the Dutch to support the roadmap's development and approval, and the EU Council formally authorized it in 2016. American technical experts have since been helping the EU implement the various decisions that flowed from that authorization, building a system that will take years to fully realize. Overall, U.S.-EU collaborations have been highly effective, and bilateral counterterrorism relationships have greatly improved since the Paris attack, especially with France.

U.S. efforts also extended beyond Europe to include North Africa, Southeast Asia, and the Middle East. Yet relationships in these regions were characterized more by assistance than technical cooperation. Much of Washington's work there involved prompting partners to implement counterterrorism laws that were already in place, and its level of success in this regard varied.

In Turkey, cooperation on foreign fighters initially improved but then plateaued, subsumed within other conversations about terrorism in Syria. The United States and Turkey have different concerns in that regard, with the Turks viewing Kurdish groups as the biggest threat. This friction affected what could be done on the foreign fighter issue. The United States tried to develop structured interagency cooperation with Turkey, but its efforts were blown apart by last year's attempted coup. Similarly, joint European-Turkish efforts on foreign fighters and returnees have been haphazard; in cases where the Turks have poor relations with a given country (e.g., the Netherlands), cooperation on these issues has been affected. On the positive side, Ankara tightened the porous border with Syria following a string of Islamic State attacks inside Turkey. As a result, it is much more difficult to cross into Syria today than in the past.

Two underlying questions typically come up regarding foreign fighters: why are there so many of them (particularly from Tunisia), and what is their motivation? Addressing these questions requires a global effort to deal with extremist ideology, provide a counter-narrative, and engage in basic development work. Sectarianism and social media have further complicated Middle Eastern conflicts, while the Internet has accelerated the radicalization process, the ease of travel, and the financing of terrorists. Syria and Iraq are fundamentally sectarian conflicts, as is Yemen to a certain extent. Shiite foreign fighters are a significant problem; the United States is working with Europe and Israel to counter Hezbollah in particular.

The problem of Syrian president Bashar al-Assad cuts both ways. Although he is certainly no friend of the Islamic State, he played a major role in facilitating the flow of fighters from Syria into Iraq. If he remains in power, Syria will continue to be a magnet for Sunni jihadis, yet simply removing him will not fix Syria either.

Regardless of what happens in Iraq and Syria, the United States must continue working closely with its partners around the world on counterterrorism. The focus on the EU will likely fade, not because the threat on the continent is diminished, but because European capabilities have significantly improved in the past two years.

Finally, this kind of cooperation necessarily requires foreign assistance money to help other countries implement deradicalization programs, border controls, and internal communication systems. Thus far it is unclear whether the Trump administration will make funds available for such civilian programs. Yet the foreign fighter problem will never be solved through military means alone.

This summary was prepared by Maxine Rich.