أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 2763

بعد آيات الله: الشرق الأوسط في مرحلة ما بعد خامنئي

علي المعموري و سوزان مالوني

متاح أيضاً في English

10 شباط/فبراير 2017


"في 6 شباط/فبراير، خاطب علي المعموري وسوزان مالوني منتدى سياسي في معهد واشنطن. والمعموري هو محرر من مكتب نبض العراق في موقع "المونيتور" وأستاذ العلوم السياسية في "جامعة سيدني". ومالوني هي نائبة مدير "برنامج السياسة الخارجية" في "معهد بروكينغز" والعضو السابق في "فريق تخطيط السياسات" بـ "وزارة الخارجية الأمريكية". وفيما يلي ملخص المقررة لملاحظاتهما".

 

علي المعموري

يعمل المركزان الرئيسيان للمرجعية الشيعية، مدينتا قُم في إيران والنجف في العراق، انطلاقاً من نموذجين مختلفين إلى حد كبير. فيرتكز نموذج قم على "ولاية الفقيه"، العقيدة التي منحت المرشد الأعلى الإيراني سلطته، كما تم إنشاؤه على يد آية الله روح الله الخميني واستمر في عهد خلفه علي خامنئي. وفي المقابل، يُعتبر نموذج النجف الشكل التقليدي للمذهب الشيعي بقيادة آية الله علي السيستاني. وبالرغم من غياب العدائية الواضحة بين المركزين، لطالما تم الشعور بالتوترات وراء الكواليس، الأمر الذي يطرح تساؤلات حول الكيفية التي سيؤثر فيها رحيل السيستاني الطاعن في السن في النهاية على النفوذ الإيراني في النجف.

منذ عام 2003، حاول السيستاني تأسيس نظام سياسي أكثر ديمقراطية في العراق. إلا أنّ خامنئي تدخل في ذلك النظام من خلال حشد نفوذه لدى الأحزاب السياسية الشيعية العراقية ورئيس الوزراء السابق نوري المالكي، وهي جهود حاربها السيستاني بدعمه رئيس الوزراء الحالي حيدر العبادي، الذي تبوّأ السلطة في عام 2014. واليوم، يظهر اصطفاف العبادي مع السيستاني والتزامه بالحد من النفوذ الإيراني على أفضل نحو من خلال جهود بغداد الرامية إلى وضع الميليشيات المعروفة باسم «وحدات الحشد الشعبي» تحت سلطتها المباشرة.

وقد سلطت الفتوى التي أصدرها السيستاني عام 2014 لحث المسلمين على محاربة تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» الضوء بشكل أوضح على التوترات القائمة بينه وبين خامنئي. ففي حين توافد العديد من المقاتلين إلى العراق استجابةً إلى نداء السيستاني، طوّع خامنئي ممثليه السياسيين والأمنيين في «وحدات الحشد الشعبي» لاجتذاب هؤلاء المحاربين إلى دائرة نفوذه. وعندما اتخذ السيستاني خطوات لضمان بقاء بعض فصائل «وحدات الحشد الشعبي» تحت نفوذه (على سبيل المثال: فصائل "المرجعية" و"العتبات" و"علي الأكبر")، ردّت طهران من خلال وقف دعمها العسكري والمالي لها.

وخلافاً لخامنئي، يتجنب السيستاني الخطابات الطائفية التي تتناول السلفيين، أو السنة أو الخصومة بين إيران والسعودية، بل يثبّط عزيمة مواطني دول الخليج والدول العربية عن دعم حركات التمرد ضد حكوماتهم. وبالمثل، حث أتباعه على عدم حمل السلاح على خلفية قضايا شيعية ساخنة مثل دعم بشار الأسد في سوريا أو معارضة الحكومة السنية في البحرين ذات الأغلبية الشيعية.

وإذا ما توفي خامنئي أو السيستاني، سيبرز فراغ في السلطة، ما سيسمح للطرف الآخر بتوسيع دائرة نفوذه. فعلى مر التاريخ، خلال السنوات الخمس إلى العشر التي تلي وفاة مرجع كبير، يتنافس المرشحون فيما بينهم على تأسيس قاعدة شعبية داعمة لهم. ومن الأمثلة السابقة على ذلك وفاة عبد الكريم الحائري اليزدي وحسين البروجردي ومحسن الحكيم وأبو القاسم الخوئي.

فإذا توفي السيستاني أولاً، سيطالب العراقيون على الأرجح بزعيم جديد بارز في النجف لتقديم المشورة الدينية والاضطلاع بدور في السياسات والحوكمة المحلية. وبدا عددٌ من المرشحين في الحوزة العلمية في النجف مهيأين لأن يخلفوه، لا سيما محمد باقر الإيرواني وعبد الأعلى السبزواري و(ابنه) محمد رضا السيستاني. وسيسعى خامنئي بلا شك إلى توسيع دائرة نفوذه في النجف أيضاً، إلا أنّ سلطته هناك ستكون مقيّدة بعدة عوامل. أولاً، تنبثق سلطته العظمى في إيران من مكانته السياسية في طهران أكثر من مكانته الدينية في قم. ثانياً، ليس لديه الكثير من الممثلين الذين يستطيعون ممارسة نفوذهم في النجف. فمحمود الهاشمي الشاهرودي، العضو في "مجلس خبراء القيادة" الإيراني من مواليد النجف، ليس لديه سوى مكتب صغير وبضعة تلاميذ هناك. أما كمال الحيدري، وهو مرجع [عراقي] درس في النجف ومقيم في مدينة قم، فينتمي إلى مذهب شيعي إصلاحي لا يحظى بشعبية بين الكثير من العراقيين.

وفي المقابل، يملك السيستاني شبكة قوية تضم أكثر من 600 ممثل في كافة أنحاء العراق يمكنهم أن يشكلوا حصناً ضد نفوذ خامنئي. ومن شأن التلاميذ الناشطين في الحوزة العلمية في النجف أن يؤدّوا دوراً أيضاً في دعم معلميهم ليخلفوا السيستاني. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، تملك النجف مجموعة متنوعة من المصادر المالية المستقلة في جميع أنحاء العالم، بما فيها بريطانيا والولايات المتحدة ولبنان.

 

سوزان مالوني

خلال الأعوام الأربعين الماضية، حاولت الإدارات الأمريكية المختلفة أسلوبي الإقناع والضغط لدفع سياساتها تجاه إيران. أما الخيط المشترك بين هذه الجهود فهو أن تغيير طبيعة النظام الإيراني بقي يحتل الأولوية بالنسبة للمصالح الأمريكية.

واعتمدت إدارة أوباما على ممارسة الضغط أحياناً، لا سيما من خلال العقوبات الاقتصادية، ولكن التواصل كان نهجها المفضل. ولم تروج لـ «خطة العمل المشتركة الشاملة» كآلية لدعم التغيير في إيران. فالبيت الأبيض ووزارة الخارجية في عهد أوباما كانا يوردان بانتظام تعليقات مفادها أن الاتفاق النووي ليس مشروطاً بالتغيير السياسي. إلا أن الإدارة الأمريكية أكدت أيضاً على أن عوامل قوية أخرى، بما فيها زيادة الوصول إلى الاقتصاد العالمي واستمرار الانخراط الدبلوماسي، يمكنها أن تشجع الضغوط العملية داخل الحكومة الإيرانية.

وتبدو إدارة ترامب على استعداد لاتخاذ المسار المعاكس تماماً. فهي تعتبر أن جهود التكييف والتوفيق قد عززت الطموحات الإيرانية، وأن المواجهة ضرورية لتقييد هذه الطموحات. وسيقوم فريق الرئيس الأمريكي على الأرجح باستخدام «خطة العمل المشتركة الشاملة» كآلية ضبط صارمة لضمان عدم ارتكاب إيران لأي انتهاكات. وقد تتبنى الإدارة الأمريكية موقفاً أكثر تشدداً أيضاً تجاه التدخل الإيراني في سوريا واليمن. وعلى الرغم من أن الإدارة الأمريكية لن تنتهك بشكل صريح «خطة العمل المشتركة الشاملة»، إلا أنها ستعاود ممارسة الضغوط الاقتصادية التي مورست بين العامين 2010 و2013 وتبدي اهتماماً أكبر بالأنشطة التي تشير إلى تغير النظام الإيراني.

وفي حين أنّ مقاربة الرئيس ترامب القائمة على المزيد من المواجهة قد لا تساهم إلى حد كبير في التخفيف من سلوك طهران السلبي، إلا أن الاستمرار في انتهاج مقاربة أوباما، التي تسعى إلى تليين الموقف الإيراني من خلال مبدأ التواصل، كان يمكن أن يقود إلى فشل محتم. فمن غير المرجح أن يتغير سلوك النظام الإيراني ما لم يتغير موقف المرشد الأعلى، وحتى في هذه الحالة، ليس الأمر مضموناً. وبالرغم من الاهتمام الأمريكي بنتائج الانتخابات الرئاسية والبرلمانية وانتخابات "مجلس خبراء القيادة" في إيران، تبقى عملية الخلافة بعد خامنئي العامل الفعلي الحاسم للتغيير في طهران.

وفي هذا السياق، من المهم أن ندرك من هم اللاعبون الذين سيؤثرون على الخلافة من وراء الكواليس. ففي عام 1989، تولى أكبر هاشمي رفسنجاني وأحمد الخميني - الابن الأصغر لآية الله الخميني - قيادة هذه العملية، ولكن من الصعب توقع من سيضطلع بهذا الدور هذه المرة. وتصف واشنطن أحياناً إيران بالدكتاتورية العسكرية، غير أنها تبالغ بذلك بالدور الذي يقوم به «الحرس الثوري الإسلامي». ومن الصعب أيضاً معرفة نتيجة الخلافة. فقد يقع الاختيار على محمود الهاشمي الشاهرودي أو رئيس السلطة القضائية الإيرانية صادق لاريجاني أو ربما أحد أعضاء شبكة المحسوبية التابعة لخامنئي، مثل إبراهيم رئيسي، الرئيس الحالي لمؤسسة "آستان قدس رضوي" في مدينة مشهد.

أما بالنسبة إلى ما سيحدث داخل إيران بعد وفاة خامنئي، فيبقى الأمر مجهولاً. فبينما قد يتخذ النظام على الأرجح تدابير استباقية لمنع حدوث أي ردة فعل اجتماعية عارمة، من الصعب تنبؤ مسار الأمور، لا سيما في ضوء رد الفعل غير المتوقع على الانتخابات الرئاسية المتنازع عليها عام 2009.

وأخيراً، يملك حسن روحاني حظوظاً قوية بالفوز بولاية أخرى في الانتخابات الرئاسية المقبلة المقرر إجراؤها في أيار/مايو. ويعود ذلك إلى حد كبير إلى التزامه بـ "ولاية الفقيه" بخلاف الرئيس السابق محمود أحمدي نجاد وثوار آخرين من الجيل الثاني.

 

أعدت هذا الموجز إيميلي برلينغهوز.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 2763

After the Ayatollahs: The Middle East Post-Khamenei

Ali Mamouri and Suzanne Maloney

Also available in العربية

February 10, 2017


Two leading experts on clerical succession in Iran and Iraq discuss how the passing of Ayatollah Sistani and Supreme Leader Khamenei would affect American interests across the Middle East.

On February 6, Ali Mamouri and Suzanne Maloney addressed a Policy Forum at The Washington Institute. Mamouri is the editor of Al-Monitor's Iraq Pulse Desk and a professor of political science at the University of Sydney. Maloney is deputy director of the Foreign Policy Program at the Brookings Institution and a former member of the State Department Policy Planning Staff. The following is a rapporteur's summary of their remarks.

ALI MAMOURI

The two main centers of Shiite authority -- Qom in Iran and Najaf in Iraq -- operate on two very different models. The Qom model is based on velayat-e faqih, the doctrine granting the Iranian Supreme Leader his authority, as established by Ayatollah Ruhollah Khomeini and perpetuated by his successor Ali Khamenei. Conversely, the Najaf model is the traditional form of Shiism led by Ayatollah Ali al-Sistani. Despite the absence of open hostility between the two centers, tensions have been felt behind the scenes, raising questions about how the eventual death of the elderly Sistani will affect Iranian influence in Najaf.

Since 2003, Sistani has tried to create a more democratic system of politics in Iraq. Yet Khamenei has interfered in that system by garnering influence with Iraqi Shiite political parties and former prime minister Nouri al-Maliki -- an effort Sistani combatted by promoting current prime minister Haider al-Abadi, who came to power in 2014. Today, Abadi's alignment with Sistani and commitment to limiting Iranian influence are best evidenced by Baghdad's efforts to draw the militias known as Popular Mobilization Units (PMUs) under its direct authority.

Sistani's 2014 fatwa encouraging Muslims to fight the Islamic State further highlighted his tensions with Khamenei. While many fighters came to Iraq in response to Sistani's call, Khamenei used his political and security representatives in the PMUs to draw these fighters into his own sphere of influence. And when Sistani took steps to ensure that some PMU factions remained under his influence (e.g., the Marjaiya, Atabat, and Ali al-Akbar factions), Tehran retaliated by cutting their military and financial support.

Unlike Khamenei, Sistani avoids sectarian rhetoric involving Salafis, Sunnis, or the rivalry between Iran and Saudi Arabia, instead discouraging citizens of Gulf and Arab states from supporting rebellion against their governments. Similarly, he has urged followers not to take up arms on hot-button Shiite issues such as supporting Bashar al-Assad in Syria or opposing the Sunni government in Shiite-majority Bahrain.

In the event of either Khamenei or Sistani's death, a power vacuum would open in which the other could expand his influence. Historically, the death of a great marja, or Shiite religious authority, is followed by a five-to-ten-year period during which candidates compete to establish a support base. Previous examples include the deaths of Abdul-Karim Haeri Yazdi, Hossein Boroujerdi, Mohsen al-Hakim, and Abu al-Qasim al-Khoei.

If Sistani dies first, Iraqis would likely demand a prominent new leader in Najaf, both to offer religious guidance and to play a role in domestic politics and governance. A number of candidates at Najaf seminary seem poised to try succeeding him, most notably Muhammad Baqir al-Irawani, Abdul Aala Sabzawari, and Mohammad Reza Sistani (his son). Khamenei would no doubt seek to expand his own influence in Najaf as well, but his power there would be limited by a number of factors. First, his paramount authority in Iran stems more from his political stature in Tehran than his religious stature in Qom. Second, he does not have many representatives who could wield influence in Najaf. Mahmoud Hashemi Shahroudi, a Najaf-born member of the Assembly of Experts, has only a small office and a few students there, while Kamal al-Haydari, a Qom-based scholar who studied in Najaf, belongs to a reformist school of Shiism unpopular among many Iraqis.

In contrast, Sistani has a strong network of over 600 representatives throughout Iraq who would serve as a bastion against Khamenei's influence. Active students in the Najaf seminary would also play a role in promoting their teachers to replace Sistani. Furthermore, Najaf has a variety of independent financial sources throughout the world, including in Britain, the United States, and Lebanon.

SUZANNE MALONEY

Over the past forty years, different U.S. administrations have tried both persuasion and pressure to advance their Iran policies. The common thread in these efforts is that transforming the nature of the Iranian regime has remained at the forefront of U.S. interests.

The Obama administration relied on pressure at times, especially through economic sanctions, but engagement and outreach were its preferred route. The Joint Comprehensive Plan of Action (JCPOA) was not sold as a mechanism to promote change in Iran; the Obama White House and State Department routinely commented that the nuclear deal was not contingent on political change. Yet the administration also emphasized that other forces -- including greater access to the global economy and continued diplomatic engagement -- would encourage pragmatic strains within the Iranian government.

The Trump administration seems ready to take a diametrically opposite tack. In its view, accommodation has encouraged Iran's ambitions, and confrontation is needed to restrain them. The president's team will likely use the JCPOA as a strict policing mechanism to ensure Iran does not commit any violations. They might also take a harder line on Iranian involvement in Syria and Yemen. Although the administration will not explicitly violate the JCPOA, it will revert to the economic pressures of 2010-2013 and express more interest in activities that point toward Iranian regime change.

While President Trump's more confrontational approach may do little to mitigate Tehran's negative behavior, continuing the Obama approach -- based on Iran moderating by virtue of engagement -- would have been a recipe for outright failure. The regime's behavior is unlikely to change until the position of Supreme Leader changes, and even then there is no guarantee. Despite America's interest in how Iran's presidential, parliamentary, and Experts Assembly elections turn out, the true determinant of change in Tehran will be the succession process post-Khamenei.

In this regard, it is important to understand which players will influence the succession behind the scenes. In 1989, individuals such as Akbar Hashemi Rafsanjani and Ayatollah Khomeini's youngest son Ahmad drove the process, but it is less clear who will do so this time around. Washington sometimes describes Iran as a military dictatorship, but that exaggerates the role played by the Islamic Revolutionary Guard Corps. The outcome of the succession is difficult to determine as well; it could be someone like Mahmoud Hashemi Shahroudi or judiciary chief Sadeq Larijani, or perhaps someone from Khamenei's patronage network such as Ebrahim Raisi, current head of the Astan-e Qods foundation in Mashhad.

As for what will happen inside Iran after Khamenei's death, no one is sure. While the regime will probably have preemptive measures in place to protect against any overwhelming social response, it is difficult to predict such things, especially given the unexpected response to the disputed 2009 presidential election.

Finally, Hassan Rouhani has a strong chance of winning another term in the next presidential election, scheduled for May. This is largely because he is committed to velayat-e faqih in a way that former president Mahmoud Ahmadinejad and other second-generation revolutionaries are not.

This summary was prepared by Emily Burlinghaus.