أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

تنبيه سياسي

عباس أمام مجلس الأمن

غيث العمري

متاح أيضاً في English

20 شباط/فبراير 2018


في سابقة لرئيس السلطة الفلسطينية، ألقى محمود عباس كلمةً أمام مجلس الأمن الدولي في 20 شباط/فبراير توجّه فيها إلى فئتين مختلفتين من الجمهور، هما الشعب الفلسطيني والدبلوماسيون الدوليون. ففي الشق المخصص لأبناء بلده، أعاد التأكيد على الأقوال والشكاوى الفلسطينية المعهودة مشدداً على رفضه المساومة على المصالح الفلسطينية الجوهرية، ومكرراً رفضه للقرار الأمريكي بالاعتراف رسمياً بالقدس عاصمةً لإسرائيل. وبالنسبة للمستمعين في المجتمع الدولي، كرر التزامه بحل الدولتين، واستعداده للتفاوض، ورفضه للعنف. كما عرض خطةً سلام لا تختلف كثيراً عن المقترحات السابقة التي تقدمت بها السلطة الفلسطينية، قبل أن يطالب بإطار عمل متعدد الأطراف وبإطار زمني للتوصل إلى اتفاق.

ومع أن كلمته أمام المجلس كانت من الممكن أن تكون فرصة مناسبة للرجوع عن المزاعم التي جاء بها في 15 كانون الثاني/يناير حين نفى وجود أي رابط بين اليهود والقدس، إلا أن ذلك لم يحدث، بل صرّح بأن العاصمة الفلسطينية المستقبلية في القدس الشرقية ستكون مفتوحة للمسلمين والمسيحيين واليهود.

وإذا وضعنا جانباً التهديد والوعيد، نرى أن خطاب عباس يُظهر اعتزامه الحفاظ على مساره الدبلوماسي الحالي. فصحيحٌ أنه دعا إلى عقد مؤتمر دولي، ولكن احتمالات إقامته ضئيلة جداً - كما أن النموذج نفسه الذي طرحه في "مؤتمر باريس للسلام" في كانون الثاني/يناير 2017 أظهر مدى هشاشة هذا النهج. وفي الواقع، يبدو أنه مصمماً على الدفع بمقاربة دولية تنطوي على مجابهة الدبلوماسية الأمريكية دون تجاوز الخطوط الحمراء التي وضعتها الولايات المتحدة.

وعلى وجه التحديد، أشار إلى أنه سيحاول مرة أخرى الحصول على تصويت داخل مجلس الأمن لقبول فلسطين عضواً كاملاً في الأمم المتحدة. بيد، أن مصير هذه الخطة الفشل - فحتى لو نجحت في كسب الأصوات التسعة اللازمة، الأمر الذي لم تحققه في المحاولات السابقة، إلّا أنّ الولايات المتحدة سوف تستخدم حق "الفيتو" ضدها. لكن عباس يعتقد على الأرجح أن "الفيتو" الأمريكي سيصب في مصلحته بكافة الأحوال حيث سيتيح له الظهور بمظهر المتحدي أمام شعبه.

كما أشار في كلمته إلى السعي لإدخال فلسطين في أكثر من 500 منظمة ومعاهدة دولية. ولكنه حتى على هذا الصعيد تجنّب اتخاذ أي تدابير قد تضغط على واشنطن للتصرف رغماً عنها. فالقانون يُلزم الحكومة الأمريكية بقطع التمويل عن أي وكالة تابعة للأمم المتحدة تقبل بالعضوية الكاملة لفلسطين كما حدث لـ "اليونسكو" منذ بضع سنوات. وتفادياً لتكرر حالة "اليونسكو"، قال عباس إنه لن ينضم إلى 22 من تلك الوكالات التي يستدعي الانضمام إليها حكماً قطع التمويل الأمريكي عنها.

وحول الإجراءات على الأرض، ألمح عباس إلى أنه لن ينفّذ قرار "المجلس المركزي الفلسطيني" من الشهر الماضي الذي طالب بقطع العلاقات مع إسرائيل. ومع أن خطابه كان زاخراً بالانتقادات الموجهة ضد إسرائيل، إلا أنه أعرب عن التزامه بالحفاظ على "مؤسسات وإنجازات" السلطة الفلسطينية. وبالفعل فقد استمر التعاون الأمني الفلسطيني - الإسرائيلي منذ صدور قرار "المجلس المركزي"، كما عقد مسؤولون مدنيون رفيعو المستوى من كلا الجانبين اجتماعات عديدة منذ ذلك الحين.

وباختصار، في حين أن فرصة إلقاء زعيم فلسطيني كلمة أمام مجلس الأمن تعتبر ظاهرة جديدة، يمكن القول إن الخطاب بحد ذاته حمل لمسة عباس التقليدية، وهي: أنه وازن بين حاجته إلى الظهور بهيئة المتحدي والاستباقي على الساحة الوطنية، بينما تجنّب إحداث أي ضرر دبلوماسي يتعذّر إصلاحه. ومن المرجح أنه لن يبذل سوى أدنى جهد لازم في كلتا المسألتين من دون أن يرضي أي من الجمهورين. وعلى الرغم من الخطاب المحتد والموقف الدبلوماسي الأخير، فإنه لم يجد بعد طريقة للخروج من الجمود الراهن.

وقد تُرجّح خطة سلام أمريكية كفة الميزان لصالح العودة إلى المفاوضات، ولكنها تحتاج إلى تلبية الحد الأدنى من متطلبات إسرائيل والسلطة الفلسطينية. كما يجب تنسيقها مسبقاً مع الحلفاء العرب والدوليين من أجل تلبية احتياجاتهم وتعبئتهم في محاولة للتأثير على عباس. وإذا تم القيام بما هو أقل من ذلك، فمن الممكن أن ينتهي الأمر بالخطة الأمريكية بأن ترجح كفة الميزان في الاتجاه المعاكس.

 

غيث العمري هو زميل أقدم في معهد واشنطن، وقد شغل سابقاً مناصب استشارية مختلفة مع السلطة الفلسطينية.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

Policy Alert

Abbas at the Security Council

Ghaith al-Omari

Also available in العربية

February 20, 2018


While the occasion of a Palestinian leader addressing the council was novel, the speech itself was classic Abbas: balancing his domestic need to appear defiant, but avoiding irretrievable diplomatic damage.

In a first for the Palestinian Authority leader, President Mahmoud Abbas addressed the UN Security Council today, offering remarks that addressed two distinct audiences: the Palestinian public and international diplomats. For his home audience, he reiterated the traditional Palestinian narrative and grievances, emphasized his unwillingness to compromise on core Palestinian interests, and repeated his rejection of the U.S. decision to formally recognize Jerusalem as Israel's capital. For international listeners, he repeated his commitment to a two-state solution, his willingness to negotiate, and his rejection of violence. He also presented a peace plan that does not deviate much from previous PA proposals, then demanded a multilateral framework and a timeframe for reaching an agreement.

While addressing the council would have been a good opportunity to retract claims he made on January 15, when he denied the Jewish connection to Jerusalem, his speech fell short. Instead, he stated that the future Palestinian capital in East Jerusalem will be open to Muslims, Christians, and Jews.

Bluster aside, the speech indicated Abbas's intention to maintain his current diplomatic course. Although he called for an international conference, there is very little chance of that happening—the very model he cited, the January 2017 Paris Peace Conference, demonstrated how untenable that approach is. In reality, he seems set on energizing an international approach that entails confronting U.S. diplomacy without crossing U.S. redlines.

Specifically, he indicated that he will once again try to obtain a Security Council vote to admit Palestine as a full UN member. That plan is bound to fail—even if it garners the necessary nine votes, which it has failed to do in previous attempts, the United States would veto it. Yet Abbas likely believes that an American veto would still work in his favor, allowing him to exhibit defiance to his public.

His speech also mentioned seeking Palestine's entry into more than 500 international organizations and treaties. Even on this front, however, he avoided measures that would force Washington's hand. By law, the U.S. government is obligated to cut funding to any UN agency that admits Palestine as a full member, as happened to UNESCO years ago. To avoid a repeat of the UNESCO situation, Abbas said he would not join twenty-two similar agencies that would trigger mandatory U.S. cuts.

Regarding actions on the ground, Abbas hinted that he will not implement last month's Palestinian Central Council decision demanding the severing of relations with Israel. Although his speech was replete with criticism of Israel, he nonetheless stated his commitment to maintaining the PA's "institutions and achievements." Indeed, Palestinian-Israeli security cooperation has continued since the Central Council decision, and high-level civilian officials have held numerous meetings.

In short, while the occasion of a Palestinian leader addressing the UN Security Council was novel, the speech itself was classic Abbas: balancing his domestic need to appear proactive and defiant, but avoiding irretrievable diplomatic damage. He will likely meet the bare minimum on both points without satisfying either audience. And despite the heightened rhetoric and diplomatic posturing of late, he has yet to find a way out of the current stalemate.

An American peace plan may tip the balance in favor of returning to negotiations, but it would need to meet Israel and the PA's minimum requirements. It would also need to be coordinated in advance with Arab and international allies in order to address their needs and recruit them in the effort to influence Abbas. Short of that, a U.S. plan may end up tipping the balance in the opposite direction.

Ghaith al-Omari, a senior fellow at The Washington Institute, previously served in various advisory positions with the Palestinian Authority.