أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

محاضرة حول مكافحة الإرهاب

دراسة حول الشرق الأدنى: التداعيات على الأمن القومي للولايات المتحدة

ديفيد كاتلر

متاح أيضاً في English

13 آذار/مارس 2018


"في 13 آذار/مارس، استضاف معهد واشنطن منتدى سياسي مع ديفيد كاتلر كجزء من سلسلة محاضرات برنامج "ستاين" لمكافحة الإرهاب التي يقدمها المعهد. ويشغل كاتلر منصب "مدير الاستخبارات القومية للشرق الأدنى في مكتب مدير الاستخبارات الوطنية الأمريكية". وفيما يلي ملاحظاته المعدة مسبقاً".

 

أود أن أقدم لمحة عامة عن أهم التطورات السياسية والأمنية والإنسانية في الشرق الأدنى.

دعونا نبدأ بما يسمى بتنظيم "الدولة الإسلامية". بفضل الجهود العظيمة والتضحيات التي قدمها التحالف الذي تقوده الولايات المتحدة، خسر تنظيم "داعش" أكثر من 98 في المائة من الأراضي التي كان يسيطر عليها سابقاً في العراق وسوريا. كما خسر الآلاف من مقاتليه وتقلّص حجم قواته بشكل جذري، وانكشفت أسطورة "الخلافة" التي كان يدعي بها. إلا أنّ "المعركة لم تنته بعد"، كما أكد ذلك وزير الدفاع الأمريكي جيمس ماتيس. وتستمر القوات التي تدعمها الولايات المتحدة في تطهير الجيوب المتبقية التي يسيطر عليها تنظيم "الدولة الإسلامية". لكن فيما يتعلق بالعراق وسوريا على الأقل، يتجه مسار التنظيم نحو خط النهاية.

وبالنظر إلى ذلك، هل يمكننا أن نتوقع "فوائد من السلام"؟ وما هي تداعيات الهزيمة الاستراتيجية لتنظيم "داعش" كقوة شبه تقليدية؟

في حين أن هذا الخبر مرحب به، يجب علينا مقاومة تقييم النتائج في فراغ. وعلينا أن نأخذ دائماً التأثيرات من الدرجة الثانية والثالثة في عين الاعتبار.

فعلى سبيل المثال، بالرغم من القضاء على تنظيم "الدولة الإسلامية" في العراق وسوريا، ما زال صدى أيديولوجيته يتردد في جميع أنحاء العالم، الأمر الذي له تداعيات خطيرة على الأمن القومي للولايات المتحدة. وفي حين أثبت السفر أنه أمراً صعباً، سيحاول عدد كبير من مقاتلي "داعش" على الأرجح العودة إلى بلدانهم الأصلية، التي تشمل أوروبا والولايات المتحدة لشن هجمات، أو التوجه إلى بلدان جديدة مثل الفلبين. وتواصل الجهات التابعة للتنظيم خارج دول المشرق التخطيط للهجمات وتنفيذها. ومن المرجح أن يضاعف تنظيم "الدولة الإسلامية" جهوده لإلهام مؤيديه بشنّ الهجمات أينما كانوا، حتى لو لم ينضموا أبداً إلى القتال في الخارج.

ويشكل التحول في الدعاية لتنظيم "داعش" عبر الإنترنت أحد الاتجاهات الملحوظة التي شهدناها [مؤخراً]، بعد أن خسر التنظيم الكثير من الأراضي. فسابقاً، شددت رواية تنظيم "الدولة الإسلامية" على بناء الخلافة، وتضمنت مواضيع حول الحوكمة والمغامرة والنصر. أمّا الفيديو الأخير للتنظيم الذي يحمل عنوان "لبّوا النداء" فيركّز على الانتقام والقتل العشوائي، وهو أمر مروّع بشكل خاص حتى بالنسبة لـ"داعش".

والمغزى؟ تنظيم "الدولة الإسلامية" يتطوّر ويتكيّف مع الوضع الجديد.

ففي العراق، بدأ تنظيم "داعش" يغير تكتيكاته ويعود إلى طبيعته القديمة، أي إلى تمرد سري - مثلما فعل سلفه تنظيم "القاعدة في العراق" سابقاً. وفي حين لم يتردد تنظيم "الدولة الإسلامية" قط في منع المدنيين غير المقاتلين من الفرار من مناطق القتال واستخدامهم كدروع بشرية، إلّا أنّ مقاربته الجديدة تشير إلى أنه سيسعى على الأرجح إلى التغلغل بين المدنيين إلى حد أكبر.

ومن المرجح أن يؤدي هذا بدوره إلى إجبار الجيش العراقي الكفوء بل المُتعَب في الوقت نفسه على تطوير نهج جديد تماماً لمكافحة التمرد. ورغم اختلاف الطبيعة والنطاق، سوف يستمر القتال بين الجيش العراقي والمتمردين.

وإلى جانب المسألة الأمنية، يواجه العراق أيضاً تحديات هائلة في مجالَي إعادة الإعمار والحوكمة. فمعظم العراقيين الذين تشرّدوا ونزحوا من ديارهم والبالغ عددهم 2.6 مليون نسمة هم في محافظة نينوى ومن الطائفة السنية. ومع اقتراب موعد الانتخابات القادمة المقرر إجراؤها في أيار/مايو، لا يزال من غير الواضح ما إذا كان هؤلاء الأشخاص المشردون داخلياً سيتمكنون من التصويت في مدنهم، وهي مسألةٌ شدد عليها القادة السنّة مراراً وتكراراً خشية تعرضهم إلى المزيد من التهميش السياسي. وفيما يخص إعادة الإعمار، مرت ثمانية أشهر على تحرير الموصل عاصمة نينوى، ولا تزال المدينة القديمة دون كهرباء أو مياه جارية، وستتطلب إعادة بنائها مليارات الدولارات.

ولا يزال الكثير من العراقيين السنّة يخشون من نوايا الميليشيات والحكومة الوطنية ذات الأكثرية الشيعية التي تزعم أنّ السنّة كانوا يدعمون "داعش". فلنتذكّر أنه في أول ظهور تنظيم "الدولة الإسلامية"، استغلت هذه الجماعة مخاوف السنّة من الهيمنة الشيعية. وحتى لو كانت هذه المخاوف لا تؤدي إلى عودة ظهور تنظيم "داعش"، فإن المخاوف من الانتقام والمظالم السنية الناجمة عن التهميش السياسي والتمييز والتأخير في إعادة الإعمار قد تعرقل المصالحة اللازمة لتحقيق السلام المستدام، الذي هو أحد الأهداف الرئيسية للولايات المتحدة.

ولا أقصد التقليل من النجاح المثبت للحملة العسكرية. ولكن يجب أن يُسفر الانتصار النهائي على تنظيم "الدولة الإسلامية" عن فائدة إلى الولايات المتحدة وحلفائها.

إلا أنّ الحرب ضد "داعش" ليست نزاعاً تقليدياً ثنائياً. إذ يقوم كل من "حزب الله" والولايات المتحدة وإيران وروسيا بمحاربة تنظيم "الدولة الإسلامية". فنحن نحارب العدو نفسه، مثلنا مثل خصومنا. وبالتالي، من المرجح أن يجنوا هم أيضاً "فوائد من السلام."

فلنأخذ على سبيل المثال المقاتلين الشيعة المدعومين من إيران، الذين كانوا حتى الآونة الأخيرة يصبون تركيزهم أولاً على تنظيم "الدولة الإسلامية". لقد أصبحت هذه الجماعات تتمتع حالياً بكامل الحرية لتوسيع نفوذها وتعزيز مكاسبها السياسية والمساحات التي تسيطر عليها، الأمر الذي يمكن أن يزيد من تأجيج التوترات مع المجتمعات السنية.

ومن المحتمل أن تكون إيران وعميلها اللبناني "حزب الله" من المستفيدين أيضاً، إذ سيتمكنان من توجيه الموارد والاهتمام نحو أماكن أخرى. وكما ورد في "تقييم التهديد العالمي" Worldwide Threat Assessment الذي أصدرناه الشهر الماضي، تبقى إيران أبرز الدول الراعية للإرهاب وتسعى لتوسيع نفوذها في جميع أنحاء المنطقة.

ويتفق ذلك مع تصريحات الرئيس الأمريكي في تشرين الأول/أكتوبر من العام الماضي، عندما أعلن عن الاستراتيجية الإيرانية حيث قال: "يبقى النظام [الإيراني] الدولة الراعية للإرهاب الأولى في العالم، ويقدم المساعدة لتنظيم "القاعدة" وحركة "طالبان" و"حزب الله" وحركة "حماس" وشبكات إرهابية أخرى. ويعمل على تطوير ونشر وانتشار الصواريخ التي تهدد القوات الأمريكية وحلفائنا. كما يضايق السفن الأمريكية ويهدد حرية الملاحة في الخليج العربي وفي البحر الأحمر. ويسجن الأمريكيين بتهم باطلة ويطلق هجمات إلكترونية ضد بنيتنا التحتية الحيوية والنظام المالي والجيش".

لقد أرسلت إيران المئات من المسؤولين في "حرس الثورة الإسلامية" إلى العراق للمساعدة في توجيه عشرات الآلاف من أعضاء الميليشيات الشيعية، وستسعى على الأرجح إلى التلاعب بالشؤون العراقية من خلال الاستفادة من هذا النفوذ. ومن خلال حملتهم في سوريا والعراق، اكتسب العسكريون الإيرانيون ومقاتلو "حزب الله" خبرةً في ميدان المعركة، وأتيحت لهم الفرصة لاختبار التكتيكات والإجراءات العسكرية الميدانية. ومع مشارفة المعركة ضد تنظيم "داعش" على نهايتها، تظهر أمامهم الآن فرصةً لإعادة توجيه جهودهم.

وبالنسبة إلى "حزب الله"، يعني ذلك إعادة التركيز على لبنان، وإنفاق المزيد من الموارد وتصويب التركيز ضد إسرائيل - بمساعدة إيران، إما بشكل مباشر وإما من خلال دعم الجماعات المسلحة في الأراضي الفلسطينية. والنتيجة؟ تفاقم حالة عدم الاستقرار في لبنان وحرب محتملة مع إسرائيل.

أما بالنسبة إلى إيران، فيعني ذلك تعزيز مكاسبها وإنشاء ما يسمى بـ "الهلال الشيعي" الذي سيربط شبكتها المؤلفة من الوكلاء والحلفاء في جميع أرجاء الشرق الأدنى، والذي يمكن أن يهدد مجموعةً من المصالح الأمريكية.

ولننظر إلى اليمن، حيث دعمت إيران قوات الحوثيين المتورطة في نزاع عسكري مع التحالف الذي تقوده السعودية، والذي تقوم القوات الأمريكية بمساعدته وتقديم المشورة له. فقد عرضت الحكومة الأمريكية مؤخراً أجزاءً من صواريخ بالستية إيرانية المصدر، مما يدل على دعم إيران للحوثيين في انتهاكٍ للعقوبات الدولية المفروضة عليها.

وحتى الآن، هدد الحوثيون مطاراً مدنياً في السعودية، وأطلقوا صواريخ على الناقلات الإماراتية في مضيق باب المندب، وهددوا بقطع الشحن البحري في البحر الأحمر، مما قد يؤدي إلى عواقب اقتصادية وخيمة في جميع أنحاء العالم.

ليس هناك حل عسكري للنزاع في اليمن. فأي دعم عسكري إيراني متزايد أو أي مساعدة تقدمها إيران للحوثيين لن يؤديا سوى إلى التقليل من احتمالات التوصل إلى حل سياسي تسعى إليه بنشاط الولايات المتحدة وشركائها في المجتمع الدولي.

وفي غضون ذلك، يستمر الشعب اليمني في معاناته. ووفقاً للتقديرات الأخيرة، يحتاج نحو 21 مليون شخص في اليمن إلى نوع من الدعم الإنساني أو الحماية، بينهم نحو 10 ملايين شخص بحاجة ماسة جداً للمساعدة. وقد تجاوز العدد التقديري لحالات الإصابة بالكوليرا المليون حالة، ومن المتوقع أن تشهد هذه الأعداد ارتفاعاً بسبب موسم الأمطار القادم. ويفتقر ما يقدر بنحو 17 مليون شخص - أي 60 في المائة من مجموع السكان - إلى الأمن الغذائي، في حين أن هناك سبعة ملايين شخص معرّضين لخطر المجاعة.

وبالطبع، ليست اليمن سوى واحدة من عدد من الأزمات الإنسانية التي تواجه الشرق الأدنى. وللأسف، هناك مستفيد محتمل آخر من "فوائد السلام" بعد فترة تنظيم "الدولة الإسلامية"، وهو النظام السوري الذي قتل المدنيين من دون تمييز- بدعم من روسيا، مستخدماً الأسلحة الكيميائية أيضاً. وقد أدّت الحملة الحالية التي يقوم بها النظام في ضاحية الغوطة الشرقية في دمشق إلى محاصرة 400,000 شخص وتركهم مع قليل من الطعام أو الدواء، أو من دونهما، كما أسفرت عن مقتل أكثر من ألف مدني.

وعلى نطاق أوسع، أدى الصراع السوري إلى أسوأ أزمة إنسانية ألمّت بعصرنا. فقد لقي أكثر من 11 مليون شخص حتفهم أو اضطروا إلى مغادرة منازلهم. ووفقاً للأمم المتحدة، هناك حالياً 13.1 مليون شخص بحاجة إلى المساعدة في سوريا، و6.1 مليون شخص مشرد داخلياً، و2.98 مليون شخص في مناطق محاصرة يصعب الوصول إليها.

واسمحوا لي أن أشدد على نقطة واحدة هنا. عندما يفكر الناس في مجتمع الاستخبارات، فإن الصورة التي تتبادر إلى الأذهن عادةً هي أنشطتنا الاستخبارية الحساسة أو الدعم الذي نقدمه للجهود السياسية أو العسكرية لبلادنا. وغالباً ما يغيب عن البال التركيز الذي نضعه على القضايا الإنسانية وقضايا حقوق الإنسان.

إن تسليط الضوء على هذه الوحشية لا يصب فقط في مصلحتنا الاستراتيجية ، بل هو أيضاً واجبنا الأخلاقي. وهناك ميل إلى أن يصبح الفرد فاقداً للحس، نظراً للعديد من المآسي التي تتجلّى في جميع أنحاء المنطقة. ومن المهم أن نتذكر أن كل واحد من هذه الإحصائيات يمثّل نفساً فارقت الحياة أو تعيش المعاناة. وببساطة، يستحق سكان هذه المنطقة، الذين شهدوا ويلات الحروب لفترة طويلة، مستقبلاً أفضل، وحاضراً أفضل.

وللأسف، يشمل ذلك ملايين اللاجئين السوريين، بمن فيهم أولئك الذين فروا إلى الأردن ولبنان وتركيا. وقد أظهرت هذه البلدان سخاءً هائلاً من خلال إيوائها السوريين، لكن ذلك أدى إلى تكبد ثمن اقتصادي باهظ وتزايد التوترات الاجتماعية، خاصة في الأماكن التي تندر فيها الموارد العامة والوظائف.

وفيما يتعلق بفوائد السلام، تشكّل هزيمة تنظيم "الدولة الإسلامية" في سوريا عاملاً أساسياً لحل معضلة الحرب الأهلية في تلك البلاد. وفي حين لا يُظهِر ذلك أية مؤشرات عن نهاية قريبة، إلّا أن وقف الأعمال العدائية وعودة اللاجئين من شأنهما أن يخففا من الضغط على البلدان الثلاثة.

لكن ذلك ليس التحدي الوحيد الذي تواجهه هذه البلدان. فبالإضافة إلى انعدام الاستقرار الاقتصادي، تواجه المملكة الهاشمية مستوىً غير مسبوق من الغضب العام والشكاوى حول الإصلاح السياسي والفساد والبطالة.

وفي مواجهة أمتداد العنف من قبل الإرهابيين المتمركزين في سوريا، يتخبّط لبنان أيضاً في صراع مع تزايد النفوذ الإيراني من خلال "حزب الله"، الأمر الذي زاد من تفاقم التوترات الطائفية.

وبالاستناد إلى الروابط التي تجمع الأكراد السوريين التابعين لـ"وحدات حماية الشعب" بـ "حزب العمال الكردستاني"، بدأت تركيا حملةً ضدهم في عفرين، وبدورهم قاموا بسحب عدد كبير من المقاتلين الذين يحاربون تنظيم "داعش" في وادي نهر الفرات الأوسط. وعلى خلاف الحملة ضد تنظيم "الدولة الإسلامية" التي نتشاركها مع خصومنا، يُعد هذا مثالاً على محاربة اثنين من حلفاء الولايات المتحدة بعضهما البعض.

سأترككم مع ثلاث أفكار أساسية. أولاً، قد تكون هذه المنطقة الأكثر ديناميكيةً في العالم. وفي هذا الصدد، يكرس مجتمع الاستخبارات الأمريكي قدراً هائلاً من الموارد والطاقة لتقييم النوايا والتداعيات المحتملة، ولكن طبيعة المنطقة بحد ذاتها تجعل هذه المهمة صعبةً للغاية. وكما سبق وذكرتُ، تتوافق المصالح الأمريكية في الشرق الأدنى مع خصومنا وحلفائنا على حد سواء.

ثانياً، لا تزال العوامل ذاتها التي أدت إلى بروز كل من الانتفاضات العربية وتنظيم "الدولة الإسلامية" قائمة. وتشمل هذه عدم الاستقرار السياسي والاقتصاديات الضعيفة والفساد والطائفية. وإلى أن تتم معالجة هذه العوامل الأساسية، سنواجه على الأرجح نفس المشكلات أو قضايا مماثلة في المستقبل.

وأخيراً، إنّ قضايا الشرق الأدنى مهمة وذات صلة مباشرة بمجموعة من أولويات الولايات المتحدة، من بينها (1) مكافحة الإرهاب وحماية الوطن و(2) الحفاظ على مصالحنا الاقتصادية والأمنية الأوسع ومصالح حلفائنا و(3) حماية حقوق الإنسان ومعالجة الأزمات الإنسانية. وفي حين أن تحديد كيفية معالجة هذه التحديات أو حلها هو من وظائف صنّاع السياسات في نهاية المطاف، فإن النجاح يتطلب إجراء تقييمات دقيقة في الوقت المناسب وتكون ذات صلة بالديناميات الاقتصادية والسياسية والأمنية في المنطقة.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

Counterterrorism Lecture

A Survey of the Near East: Implications for U.S. National Security

David Cattler

Also available in العربية

March 13, 2018

The national intelligence manager for the Near East discusses the post-ISIS 'peace dividend,' the intelligence facets of Syria's humanitarian crisis, the sectarian hurdles to Iraq's reconstruction, and more.

On March 13, The Washington Institute hosted a Policy Forum with David Cattler as part of its long-running Stein Counterterrorism Lecture Series. Cattler serves as National Intelligence Manager for the Near East in the Office of the Director of National Intelligence. The following are his prepared remarks.

Thanks to Matt Levitt for that kind introduction, and to everyone at The Washington Institute for inviting me to speak. WINEP continues to be an indispensable institution at a time when assessing our interests in the Near East could not be more complex or challenging. I am truly grateful for this opportunity, and for your commitment to "Improve the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy."

As the National Intelligence Manager for the Near East, I share this same goal. I serve as Director of National Intelligence Coats' principal advisor on this critical region. Every day, the "NIM-Near East" team works to ensure that our partners and consumers in the White House and across the interagency have access to the best possible intelligence.

We do this by directly supporting the development and implementation of national policies and strategies. We also integrate the intelligence community—managing and guiding all aspects of the intelligence cycle. This means (1) working with policymakers to identify and articulate their needs; (2) managing and directing collection; (3) assessing the quality of the Intelligence Community's analysis; (4) ensuring that our products—information and assessments—reach consumers, often at "the speed of war"; and (5) helping determine and mitigate risk by providing unvarnished assessments of what intelligence we can and can't do to illuminate a situation.

This also means setting expectations and balancing demands for increased emphasis in emerging hotspots while ensuring we have adequate coverage in areas of ongoing concern. This is particularly important in the Near East, where there is an abundance of both, representing some of the hardest choices facing U.S. policymakers. Matt and I were just talking about the fact that I could easily fill my allotted time by discussing just one of the fourteen countries my team covers, not to mention the Palestinian territories.

What I would like to do is provide an overview of key political, security, and humanitarian developments in the Near East, and then use the balance of our time to answer questions. But let me emphasize two initial points. First, given the open nature of this forum, some of my responses may be limited due to classification considerations. Second, while I previously served as a policymaker at the White House, my current position is in the IC. As such, I will probably need to defer any policy questions that are not intelligence related.

Let's begin with the so-called "Islamic State." Due to the tremendous efforts and sacrifices of the U.S.-led coalition, ISIS has lost more than 98 percent of the territory it once controlled in Iraq and Syria. It has lost thousands of its fighters and is a fraction of its former self. The myth of its "caliphate" has been exposed. However, as Secretary of Defense Mattis has emphasized, "the fight is not over." U.S.-assisted forces are continuing to clear the remaining pockets under ISIS control. But at least in Iraq and Syria, the group's trajectory is headed downward.

Given this, can we expect a "peace dividend?" What are the implications of ISIS's strategic defeat as a quasi-conventional force?

While this news is welcome, we should resist assessing outcomes in a vacuum. And we must always be mindful of second- and third-order effects.

For example, although ISIS has been decimated in Iraq and Syria, its ideology still resonates globally, which has serious implications for U.S. national security. While travel has proven difficult, many ISIS fighters will likely attempt to return to their countries of origin, including in Europe and the United States, to conduct attacks, or will travel to new theaters such as the Philippines. Its affiliates outside the Levant are continuing to plot and conduct attacks. And ISIS will likely redouble its efforts to inspire adherents to commit attacks where they are, even if they never joined the fight overseas.

One notable trend we have witnessed is the shift in ISIS's online propaganda following its territorial losses. Previously, ISIS's narrative emphasized building the caliphate and included themes on governance, adventure, and victory. Its recent video titled "Answer the Call" focuses on revenge and indiscriminate killing, and is particularly gruesome even by ISIS's standards.

The key takeaway? ISIS is evolving and adjusting.

In Iraq, ISIS has already begun shifting tactics and returning its form to a clandestine insurgency—much as its predecessor AQI did. While ISIS was never above preventing civilian noncombatants from fleeing combat zones and making them human shields, its new approach means it will likely seek to blend in with civilians to an even greater extent.

This in turn will likely force a competent but weary Iraqi military to develop an entirely new counterinsurgency approach. While different in nature and scope, their fight will continue.

Beyond security, Iraq also faces enormous reconstruction and governance challenges. Most of the 2.6 million Iraqis displaced from their homes are in the Ninawa governorate and are Sunni. With the upcoming elections scheduled for May, it is unclear whether these internally displaced persons will be able to vote in their home locations, a point Sunni leaders—fearing further political marginalization—have made repeatedly. On reconstruction, it's been eight months since the liberation of Mosul, Ninawa's capital, yet its Old City still remains without electricity or running water, and billions will be required to rebuild the city.

And many Iraqi Sunnis remain fearful of the intentions of the Shia-dominated national government and militias, who allege that they supported ISIS. Recall that during its rise, ISIS exploited Sunni fears of Shia domination. Even if these do not lead to the group's resurgence, fears of reprisals and Sunni grievances due to political marginalization, discrimination, and delays in reconstruction may hamper the reconciliation necessary for a sustained peace, which is a key U.S. objective.

My intention is not to take anything away from what has proven to be a successful military campaign. An eventual victory against ISIS should yield a dividend to the United States and our allies.

But the fight against ISIS is not a traditional, binary conflict. The United States, Iran, Hezbollah, and Russia are all combatting ISIS. We are fighting the same enemy as our adversaries. As such, they too will likely reap the benefits of a "peace dividend."

Take, for example, the Iranian-supported Shia militants, who until recently were primarily focused on ISIS. These groups are now free to expand their influence and consolidate political and territorial gains, which could further inflame tensions with Sunni communities.

Iran and its proxy Lebanese Hezbollah are also potential beneficiaries who can now expend resources and attention elsewhere. As stated in the Worldwide Threat Assessment we released last month, Iran remains the most prominent state sponsor of terrorism and is seeking to expand its influence across the region.

This is consistent with the President's remarks from October of last year, when he announced the Iran Strategy: "The [Iranian] regime remains the world's leading state sponsor of terrorism, and provides assistance to al-Qaeda, the Taliban, Hezbollah, Hamas, and other terrorist networks. It develops, deploys, and proliferates missiles that threaten American troops and our allies. It harasses American ships and threatens freedom of navigation in the Arabian Gulf and in the Red Sea. It imprisons Americans on false charges. And it launches cyberattacks against our critical infrastructure, financial system, and military."

In Iraq, Iran has sent hundreds of Revolutionary Guard Corps officials to help direct tens of thousands of members of Shia militia groups, and will likely seek to manipulate Iraqi affairs by leveraging these nodes of influence. Through their campaign in Syria and Iraq, Iranian military personnel and Hezbollah fighters have acquired battlefield experience and have had the opportunity to field-test military tactics and procedures. And with the ISIS fight largely over, they now have an opportunity to redirect their efforts.

For Hezbollah, this means refocusing on Lebanon and—together with Iran—spending increased resources and attention against Israel, either directly or by supporting militant groups in the Palestinian territories. The result? Increased instability in Lebanon and a potential war with Israel.

For Iran, this means consolidating its gains and establishing a so-called "Shia Crescent" that will connect its network of proxies and allies across the Near East, and which could threaten a range of U.S. interests.

Consider Yemen, where Iran has supported Houthi forces that are embroiled in a military conflict with the Saudi-led coalition, which U.S. forces are advising and assisting. The U.S. government recently displayed Iranian-origin ballistic missile parts, which evidence Iran's support to the Houthis in violation of international sanctions.

To date, the Houthis have threatened a civilian airport in Saudi Arabia, fired missiles at Emirati tankers in the Bab al-Mandab strait, and threatened to cut off shipping in the Red Sea, which could cause dire economic consequences across the globe.

There is no military solution to the conflict in Yemen. Any increased Iranian military support and assistance to the Houthis would only further dim prospects for a political solution, which the United States and our partners in the international community are actively seeking.

Meanwhile, the Yemeni people continue to suffer. According to recent estimates, approximately 21 million people in Yemen need some kind of humanitarian or protection support, with some 10 million in acute need of assistance. The estimated number of cholera cases has crossed one million, which we expect to rise given the upcoming rainy season. And an estimated 17 million people—60 percent of the total population—are food insecure, while seven million are at risk of famine.

Of course, Yemen is only one of a number of humanitarian crises facing the Near East. Sadly, another potential beneficiary of the post-ISIS "peace dividend" is the Syrian regime, which—with Russian support—has indiscriminately killed civilians, including by using chemical weapons. The regime's current campaign in the Damascus suburb of East Ghouta has trapped 400,000 people with little to no food or medicine and has resulted in over 1,000 civilians deaths.

More broadly, the Syrian conflict has resulted in the worst humanitarian crisis of our time. More than 11 million people have died or have had to leave their homes. According to the United Nations, there are currently 13.1 million people in need in Syria, 6.1 million internally displaced persons, and 2.98 million people in hard to reach and besieged areas.

Let me emphasize one point here. When people think of the Intelligence Community, the image that often comes to mind is our sensitive intelligence activities, or the support we provide to our political or military efforts. What is often is forgotten is the emphasis we place on humanitarian and human rights issues.

Highlighting this brutality is not only in our strategic interest, it's also our moral obligation. There is a tendency to become numb, given the numerous unfolding tragedies across the region. It is important to remember that every one of these statistics represents a life that has been lost or is suffering. Simply, the people of this region, who have dealt with the ravages of war for too long, deserve a better future—and a better present.

Sadly, this encompasses millions of Syrian refugees, including those who have fled to Jordan, Lebanon, and Turkey. These countries have demonstrated tremendous generosity by taking in Syrians, but this has come with a steep economic price and increased societal tensions, particularly in locations where public resources and jobs are scarce.

Regarding a peace dividend, the defeat of ISIS in Syria is essential to resolving that country's civil war. While this shows no signs of ending, a conclusion of hostilities and the eventual return of refugees would likely ease pressure on all three countries.

But this is not the only challenge they are facing. In addition to economic instability, the Hashemite kingdom is facing an unprecedented level of public anger and complaints about political reform, corruption, and unemployment.

Facing spillover violence from terrorists based in Syria, Lebanon is also grappling with increased Iranian influence via Hezbollah, which has further exacerbated sectarian tensions.

And citing their links to the PKK, Turkey has initiated a campaign in Afrin against the Syrian Kurds of the YPG, who in turn have withdrawn numerous fighters battling ISIS in the Middle Euphrates River Valley. In contrast to the campaign against ISIS, which we share with our adversaries, this is an example of two U.S. allies fighting each other.

I have provided an overview of some of the key dynamics facing the Near East, but due to time constraints, I have not touched on a number of other crises and challenges relevant to U.S. national security. These include (1) the ongoing GCC rift, which pits the Saudi-led coalition against Qatar; (2) Egypt's upcoming election and its campaign against ISIS in the Sinai; and (3) prospects for peace between Israel and the Palestinians and the unfolding humanitarian crisis in Gaza. Like I said, there is no shortage of hotspots in the Near East.

Before answering your questions, let me leave you with three basic thoughts. First, this is perhaps the most dynamic region on the planet. The IC devotes a tremendous amount of resources and energy to assess intentions and potential outcomes, but the very nature of the region makes this task extremely difficult. As I mentioned, U.S. interests in the Near East align with both our adversaries and our allies.

Second, the same factors that gave rise to both the Arab Uprisings and ISIS remain. These include political instability, weak economies, corruption, and sectarianism. Until these underlying factors are addressed, we will likely be grappling with the same or similar issues well into the future.

Finally, the Near East matters and is directly relevant to a range of U.S. priorities, including (1) countering terrorism and protecting the homeland; (2) maintaining our broader economic and security interests and those of our allies; and (3) protecting human rights and addressing humanitarian crises. While determining how to address or resolve these challenges is ultimately a policymaker function, success requires accurate, timely, and relevant assessments of the region's economic, political, and security dynamics.

In this respect, it is an honor and privilege to lead the IC's Near East mission and work with colleagues who strive, every day, to provide our consumers the information they need to protect and advance our nation's interests in this critical region. Thank you very much.