أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 2724

الرئيس الأمريكي الجديد والشرق الأوسط

جمال خاشقجي, جمانة غنيمات, ديفيد هوروفيتس, نورمان أورنستين, و دينيس روس

متاح أيضاً في English

15 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر 2016


"في 10 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر، خاطب جمال خاشقجي، جمانة غنيمات، ديفيد هوروفيتس، نورمان أورنستين، ودينيس روس منتدى سياسي في معهد واشنطن. وخاشقجي هو رئيس تحرير "قناة العرب الإخبارية" (السعودية). وغنيمات هي رئيسة تحرير صحيفة "الغد" (الأردن). وهوروفيتس هو مؤسس ورئيس تحرير صحيفة "تايمز أوف إسرائيل". وأورنستين هو باحث مقيم في "معهد أمريكان إنتربرايز". وروس هو مستشار وزميل "ويليام دافيدسون" المتميز في المعهد. وفيما يلي ملخص المقرر لملاحظاتهم".

 

جمال خاشقجي

عندما يتعلق الأمر بالشرق الأوسط، تُعتبر مواقف دونالد ترامب متناقضة، لا سيما في ما يخص إيران. ففي حين أن السعودية قلقة حتماً حيال وجود تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» في سوريا والعراق، إلا أنها أكثر قلقاً إزاء أفعال إيران الشيعية. وقد جاهر ترامب بعداوته لإيران، لكنه يقف أيضاً في صف بشار الأسد في الصراع السوري، مما يعزز في النهاية هيمنة إيران على المنطقة. وبالتالي، فإن السعودية محقةٌ في قلقها إزاء تسلُّم ترامب سدّة الرئاسة.

إن التوقُّع بأن تكون مواقف "ترامب الرئيس" مختلفة إلى حدّ كبير عن مواقف "ترامب المرشح" هي مجرد آمال زائفة في أحسن الأحوال. على السعودية أن تستعد لبعض المفاجآت التي قد تبرز على الأرجح على شكل خطابات سلبية تُصدرها إدارة ترامب. وفي نهاية المطاف، تحتاج المملكة إلى إقامة تحالف من الدول السنّية ليكون حصناً منيعاً في وجه ترامب إذا ما اتخذ مقاربةً معادية للسنّة.

 

جمانة غنيمات

يشكّل انتخاب ترامب انتكاسةً كبيرة للقضايا الإنسانية، وقد صدم فوزه الأردن تماماً كسائر دول العالم. لكن هذا لا يعني أن الخبر أثار استياء جميع الأردنيين: ففي الواقع، رحّب الكثيرون به رغم خطاباته المتعلقة بالمسلمين والنساء والأقليات. ومع ذلك، يتمثّل مصدر القلق الأكبر بأن عدداً كبيراً من الأسئلة التي نطرحها حول مقاربته إزاء الشرق الأوسط ستبقى دون إجابة حالياً لأنه يفتقر إلى الخبرة في السياسة الخارجية بكل ما للكلمة من معنى.

من الأسلم أن نقول أن مؤسسات أمريكية مثل "معهد واشنطن" ستستمر في الحفاظ على قدرتها على التأثير في قرارات ترامب الخارجية. لكن إحراز تقدّم في قضايا على غرار الصراع الفلسطيني يبدو بعيد المنال؛ وعلى الرغم من أنه سيكون هناك دائماً أمل في وضع حد لهذا الصراع، من المستبعد جداً أن يبذل ترامب جهوداً من أجل السلام، وحقوق الإنسان، والمساواة في أي بلد، ناهيك عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط.

وبغض النظر عن كل ذلك، تبدو استمرارية العلاقات بين الولايات المتحدة والأردن مؤكّدة. ففي نهاية المطاف، يتوقّع الأردنيون أن تبقى العلاقة مستقرة، ونظراً إلى التاريخ الطويل بين البلدين، يأمل الكثيرون أن تصبح الروابط الثنائية أكثر وثوقاً.

 

ديفيد هوروفيتس

لا يثق الإسرائيليون كثيراً بالاقتراع، لذلك لم تأت نتائج الانتخابات كمفاجأة لهم. لكن بخلاف الأردنيين، كان الإسرائيليون سيصوتوا لصالح هيلاري كلينتون بفارق 15 في المائة وفقاً لبعض التقارير. وعموماً، يأمل الإسرائيليون أن يجمع الرئيس الأمريكي ثلاث سمات: التعاطف، والإدراك الجيد لمحاور الشر في المنطقة، والموثوقية المضمونة كحليف (عسكري). وفي حين أظهر ترامب تعاطفاً صادقاً مع إسرائيل والمصاعب التي تواجهها في الشرق الأوسط، لم يتمّ بعد اختبار العامل الأخير، أي أن يكون حليفاً يمكن التعويل عليه.

كما أن إسرائيل على خلاف مع الرئيس أوباما حول نقطتين أساسيتين يمكن لترامب الاستفادة منهما: الاتفاق [النووي] الإيراني والصراع الفلسطيني. وعلى الرغم من أن ترامب لم يدلِ بأي تصريحات بشأن الصراع الفلسطيني، وأن شرعية رئيس "السلطة الفلسطينية" محمود عباس قد تراجعت إلى أدنى مستوياتها على الإطلاق، فلم تعُد هذه النقطة بالنسبة للإسرائيليين بنفس خطورة الاتفاق النووي مع إيران - وهي صفقة انتقدها ترامب مراراً وبشكل صارخ. ورغم أن الإسرائيليين يرغبون في رؤية القيادة الأمريكية في الخارج، لا تزال بعض الضبابية تحيط بمسائل الأمن الوطني الرئيسية بالنسبة لهم، ما يؤدّي إلى انحراف الأمور عن مسارها بعض الشيء.

ويستعدّ الكثيرون في الحكومة الإسرائيلية، والمعارضة مثل زعيم حزب العمل يتسحاق هرتسوغ، إلى الاستفادة من انتصار ترامب. أما بالنسبة لرئيس الوزراء بنيامين نتنياهو، فالأمور ليست كلها على خير ما يرام كما قد يعتقد المرء. فرغم أنه يفهم المسائل الحساسة في المنطقة ويرى ضرورة الانفصال عن الفلسطينيين، إلا أن اليسار واليمين على حدٍ سواء ينتقدون سياساته الاستيطانية (ولو لأسباب مختلفة جداً). ونظراً إلى عدم ممارسة إدارة أوباما ضغوطاً للحدّ من أنشطة الاستيطان، فإن برنامج ترامب اليميني قد يزيد من دعمه لليمين الإسرائيلي، الذي شكّل عائقاً أمام المناورات السياسية الوسطية لنتنياهو.

 

نورمان أورنستين

استحوذ برنامج ترامب المرتكز على "عدم الثقة بواشنطن" بوضوح على عقول أعداد كبيرة من الأمريكيين، وقد عزا الكثيرون منهم سبب ذلك إلى الشعبوية الغاضبة والتعصّب الحزبي. وفي حين اشتكى المواطنون بشكل واضح من مسائل على غرار تفاوت الثروات، وقانون أوباما للرعاية الصحية، وفرص العمل المحدودة، كان انحيازهم الحزبي السلبي إلى حدّ كبير مجرد ردة فعل: وكأنهم قالوا من خلال تصويتهم "نحن نكره الجانب الآخر".

وفضلاً عن مهارة ترامب في المناورة بالموجة المناهضة للسلطة الحاكمة، أتقن مؤيدوه الجمهوريون دورهم في اللعبة، فضمنوا لأنفسهم السلطة على مجلسي النواب والشيوخ. وبات تعيين القضاة في "المحكمة العليا" من صلاحية حكومة جمهورية موحدة، مما سيؤثّر على السياسة الاجتماعية على مدى السنوات العشرين إلى الثلاثين القادمة. وفي نهاية المطاف، ستكون النتيجة أشبه بوصول فريق يفتقر إلى الخبرة والدراية للمضي قدماً.

إذاً ما هي أفضل وأسوأ السيناريوهات المحتملة؟ نأمل أن تسير خطة ترامب الخاصة بالبنية التحتية على قدم وساق، حيث قد يتمّ استحداث وظائف للمجتمعات ذات الدخل المنخفض. ويبدو أيضاً أنه يرغب في استبدال قانون أوباما للرعاية الصحية بنموذج آخر منه وربما حتى توسيع نظام الرعاية الصحية الوطني. لكن بشكل أساسي تواجه أمريكا احتمال بروز نظام حكم فاسد [أو ما يسمّى بدولة اللصوص]، وهو ما أكّده رفض ترامب التصريح علناً بأنه سيضع كافة أصول ممتلكاته المالية في صندوق يدير الأمانات من دون إبلاغ صاحبه بسير الأمور أو بالاستثمارات. فما الذي سيحصل عندما يتعين عليه اتخاذ قرار جدي يؤثّر على أمواله الشخصية ومستقبل الولايات المتحدة على حدّ سواء؟

وقد أذكى ترامب أيضاً خطاب "الحرب على الإسلام"، وقد يؤدّي تنامي الخوف من الإسلام وكراهيته (المعروف بـ "الإسلاموفوبيا") الناتج عن ذلك إلى ازدياد تعذيب المسلمين الأمريكيين وفرض الحظر عليهم، والتفجيرات العشوائية في الشرق الأوسط -  وجميعها أمور قد تفاقم مشكلة الإرهاب الدولي. وعوضاً عن ذلك، قد يميل ترامب إلى إسناد سياساته الخاصة بالشرق الأوسط إلى روسيا.

 

دينيس روس

لا يملك المجتمع الدولي أدنى فكرة حول ما يمكن توقّعه من ترامب، وتُعتبر هذه الضبابية الدبلوماسية تجربة مهينة في أحسن الأحوال. فعلى ترامب أن يطمئن حلفاء الولايات المتحدة قبل أن يستلم سدة الرئاسة؛ إذ إن التطمينات والتعهدات تكتسي أهمية مميزة في الأوقات الصعبة المماثلة لتلك التي نشهدها حالياً. فحلف شمال الأطلسي ("الناتو)" مهم، وهو الأمر بالنسبة للدول العربية السنّية. ونظراً إلى أن أحد أهداف ترامب القليلة الواضحة يتمثل بتدمير تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية»، فمن الضروري للغاية إشراك المملكة العربية السعودية ودول مماثلة في تحقيق هذا الهدف، حيث لا يمكن تجريد إيديولوجية التنظيم من مصداقيتها من دون هذه الدول.

وسيكون التودّد إلى روسيا جيداً من الناحية النظرية إذا كانت العلاقة متبادلة. لكن إذا أراد ترامب استمالة السنّة إليه، سيحتاج إلى توخي الحذر في تعامله مع الموضوع السوري. وحالياً، تبدو روسيا عازمةً على إخضاع شرق حلب عبر إمطارها بالقصف، ومن شأن أي حملة مماثلة أن تؤدّي على الأرجح إلى نزوح نحو 100 ألف لاجئ إضافي خلال الأسابيع القادمة. وبالتالي، عندما يتم تنصيب ترامب في كانون الثاني/يناير، فقد يكون في موقع جيد للدعوة إلى وقف إطلاق النار وإقامة روابط دبلوماسية - أي تمهيد الطريق بشكل أساسي أمام عودة الأسد إلى السلطة [الكاملة في سوريا]. وإذا كان هذا ما يصبو إليه فعلياً، عليه أن يُطلع موسكو بأن الولايات المتحدة ستردّ على ما يقوم به الأسد إذا واصل سجله الرهيب في مجال حقوق الإنسان. وعلاوة على ذلك، تدرك روسيا أن عدم إطاعة القواعد العالمية سيؤدي إلى فرض عواقب وخيمة.

وفي حين أعرب ترامب مراراً عن رغبته في عدم التدخل في شؤون الشرق الأوسط، غالباً ما يغيّر المرشحون مواقفهم عندما يضطرون إلى اتخاذ قرارات صعبة لدى استلامهم سدّة الرئاسة. لكن النتيجة النهائية لأي أزمة إقليمية ستتوقّف إلى حدّ كبير على أعضاء الحكومة والمستشارين الذين يحيطون به. ومهما كان عليه الحال، نظراً إلى وضع المنطقة الراهن - حيث يبقى الفلسطينيون منقسمين أكثر من أي وقت مضى، ويميل الإيرانيون نحو التوسّع الإقليمي، في حين يجد السعوديون أنفسهم في قلب "ثورة مقنّعة بوجه الإصلاح الاقتصادي" - يحتاج الحلفاء التاريخيون للولايات المتحدة في إسرائيل والدول العربية السنّية الآن إلى أمريكا قوية أكثر من أي وقت مضى.

 

أعد هذا الموجز عمر الحاشاني.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 2724

A New President and the Middle East

Jamal Khashoggi, Jumana Ghunaimat , David Horovitz , Norman Ornstein, and Dennis Ross

Also available in العربية

November 15, 2016


How will the election's outcome shape the direction of U.S. Middle East policy, and how do America's friends in the region view the prospect of a new administration? Read or watch a conversation between leading Middle Eastern journalists and U.S. policy experts.

On November 10, Jamal Khashoggi, Jumana Ghunaimat, David Horovitz, Norman Ornstein, and Dennis Ross addressed a Policy Forum at The Washington Institute. Khashoggi is editor-in-chief of Al-Arab News Channel (Saudi Arabia). Ghunaimat is editor-in-chief of al-Ghad newspaper (Jordan). Horovitz is founding editor of the Times of Israel. Ornstein is a resident scholar at the American Enterprise Institute. Ross is the Institute's counselor and William Davidson Distinguished Fellow. The following is a rapporteur's summary of their remarks.

JAMAL KHASHOGGI

When it comes to the Middle East, Donald Trump's stances are contradictory, especially regarding Iran. Saudi Arabia, while certainly concerned about the Islamic State's presence in Syria and Iraq, is much more perturbed by the actions of Shiite Iran. Trump is vocally anti-Iranian, but he also supports Bashar al-Assad in the Syrian conflict, which ultimately bolsters Iranian regional control. Thus, Saudi Arabia is rightfully nervous about a Trump presidency.

The expectation that "Trump as president" will be starkly different from "Trump as candidate" is a false hope at best. Saudi Arabia should be ready for some surprises, likely in the form of negative rhetoric from the Trump administration. Ultimately, the kingdom needs to create an alliance of Sunni countries to serve as a bulwark against a potentially anti-Sunni Trump.

JUMANA GHUNAIMAT

Trump's election is a massive setback for humanitarian issues, and Jordan was just as shocked as the rest of the world by his victory. This is not to say that all Jordanians were upset by the news: in fact, many welcome him, despite his rhetoric on Muslims, women, and minorities. Most troubling, however, is that many of our questions about his approach to the Middle East cannot be answered right now because he literally has no experience in foreign policy.

It is safe to say that American institutions like The Washington Institute will still have the ability to influence Trump's decisions abroad. Yet progress on issues such as the Palestinian conflict seems farfetched; although there will always be hope for an end to that conflict, Trump is highly unlikely to push for peace, human rights, and equality anywhere, let alone the Middle East.

Regardless, the continuity of U.S.-Jordanian relations seems assured. Jordanians ultimately expect the relationship to remain stable, and given the long history between the two countries, many hope that bilateral ties will grow even stronger.

DAVID HOROVITZ

Israelis tend to have little faith in polling, so they were not surprised by the election results. Unlike Jordanians, however, Israelis would have voted for Hillary Clinton by a 15 percent margin according to some reports. In general, Israelis hope for three traits in an American president: empathy, a good understanding of the region's evils, and guaranteed dependability as a (military) ally. While Trump has shown credible empathy for Israel and its hardships in the Middle East, the last factor -- being a dependable ally -- remains untested.

Yet Israel also has two major disagreements with President Obama that Trump can capitalize on: the Iran deal and the Palestinian conflict. Although Trump has no stance on the latter issue, Palestinian Authority president Mahmoud Abbas enjoys less legitimacy today than ever, so it is not as grave a matter to Israelis as the Iran nuclear agreement -- a deal that Trump has frequently and vociferously criticized. Although Israelis want to see American leadership abroad, some uncertainty persists on their fundamental national security issues, engendering a sense of drift.

Many in the Israeli government, such as Labor Party leader Isaac Herzog, are positioning themselves to benefit from Trump's victory. As for Prime Minister Binyamin Netanyahu, not all is as wonderful as one might believe. While he understands the region's sensitivities and sees the imperative of separating from the Palestinians, both the left and the right are criticizing his settlement policies (albeit for very different reasons). Given the lack of pressure from the Obama administration to reduce settlement activity, Trump's right-wing platform might further embolden the Israeli right, who have been an obstacle to Netanyahu's centrist political maneuvering.

NORMAN ORNSTEIN

Trump's platform of "no confidence in Washington" clearly gripped large swaths of the American population, many of whom ascribed to angry populism and partisan tribalism. While citizens had definite grievances about issues such as wealth disparity, Obamacare, and limited job opportunities, their negative partisanship was largely reactionary: "We hate the other side," they said with their vote.

In addition to Trump's skillful maneuvering of the antiestablishment wave, his Republican supporters also played the game well, guaranteeing themselves control over the House and Senate. The appointment of Supreme Court justices is now the prerogative of a unified Republican government, which will influence social policy for the next twenty to thirty years. Ultimately, the outcome is a case of the dog catching the bus.

So what are the best and worst-case scenarios? Hopefully, Trump's infrastructure plan will go forward, possibly creating jobs for low-income communities. He also seems bent on replacing Obamacare with another form of Obamacare, and perhaps even expanding national healthcare. Essentially, though, America is facing a potential kleptocracy, evidenced by Trump's refusal to explicitly state that he will put all of his business holdings in a blind trust. What will happen when a serious decision arises that affects both his personal funds and the future of the United States?

Trump has also enflamed the "War on Islam" rhetoric, and the resultant spike in Islamophobia could conceivably lead to increased torture, bans on American Muslims, and indiscriminate bombings in the Middle East -- all of which would exacerbate the problem of international terrorism. Alternatively, Trump may be inclined to outsource his Middle East policies to Russia.

DENNIS ROSS

The international community has no idea what to expect from Trump, and such diplomatic uncertainty is a humbling experience at best. Trump needs to reassure our nation's allies before he becomes president; assurances and commitments are especially crucial when times are tough, as they are now. NATO is important, but so are the Sunni Arab states. Given that one of Trump's few clear aims is to destroy the Islamic State, it is absolutely imperative that Saudi Arabia and similar countries be involved, since the group's ideology cannot be discredited without them.

Cozying up to Russia would be fine in theory if the relationship were a two-way street. But if Trump wants the Sunnis on his side, he will need to be careful when handling Syria. At the moment, Russia seems intent on subjugating East Aleppo through bombing, and any such campaign would likely result in around 100,000 additional refugees in the coming weeks. Thus, by the time Trump is inaugurated in January, he may be well positioned to call for a ceasefire and diplomatic ties -- essentially paving the way for Assad's return to power. If that is in fact his aim, Trump needs to tell Moscow that the United States will respond if Assad continues his abysmal human-rights track record. Furthermore, Russia needs to understand that there will be consequences for disobeying global norms.

While Trump has long signaled a desire to get out of the Middle East, candidates often flip positions when they face difficult decisions as president. Yet the ultimate outcome of any given regional crisis will depend heavily on the cabinet members and advisors surrounding him. Whatever the case, given the region's current situation -- the Palestinians more divided than ever, the Iranians bent on regional expansion, and the Saudis in the midst of a "revolution disguised as economic reform" -- our historical allies in Israel and the Sunni Arab countries need a strong America now more than ever.

This summary was prepared by Omar Alhashani.