أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 2815

قانون انتخابي جديد في لبنان: استمرارية أو تغيير؟

ديفيد شينكر

متاح أيضاً في English

6 حزيران/يونيو 2017


في 21 حزيران/يونيو، تنتهي ولاية المجلس النيابي اللبناني. وفي ظل عجز الفرقاء عن التوصل إلى قانون انتخابي جديد، صوّت المجلس الراهن مرتين على التمديد لنفسه في عامي 2013 و2014. وبذلك، تكون الانتخابات التي جرت في 2009 هي المرة الأخيرة التي توجه فيها اللبنانيون فعلياً إلى صناديق الاقتراع لانتخاب ممثليهم. ومع اقتراب انتهاء ولاية المجلس بسرعة، فإن المفاوضات المتعثرة منذ فترة طويلة قد شهدت تقدماً في الأسبوع الماضي. فبدلاً من العودة إلى الوضع القائم منذ عقود، تمّ التوصل إلى اتفاق مبدئي لاعتماد نظام التمثيل النسبي لمرة واحدة فقط.

ويُعتبر هذا القانون الجديد نوعاً ما انتصاراً للميليشيا الشيعية المدعومة من إيران التي تعمل كحزب سياسي أي «حزب الله». غير أن الحزب لم يحصل على كل ما أراده، علماً بأن المجتمع المسيحي الآخذ في التقلص في لبنان قد يستفيد أيضاً من هذا القانون. وسواء استُكملت تفاصيل هذا الاتفاق بشكل نهائي أم لا، يبدو أن عملية التفاوض بين «تيار المستقبل» (السنّي) وخصومه السياسيين (المسيحيين) في «التيار الوطني الحر» قد قوّضت علاقات التيار بشريكه في التحالف، «حزب الله».

قانون جديد ومعقّد

في كانون الثاني/يناير، أبلغ الرئيس المنتخب حديثاً ومؤسس «التيار الوطني الحر» ميشال عون مجلس الوزراء بأنه لن يسمح للبرلمان بتمديد ولايته مرة أخرى من دون قانون انتخابي جديد، قائلاً إنه يفضل "الفراغ" على تمديد آخر إلى أجل غير مسمى. ولا شك أن نهج التفكير هذا ينبع من شغور منصب رئاسة الجمهورية نفسه لفترة طويلة - فقد استغرق البرلمان أكثر من عامين لملء هذا المنصب، إلى أن انتُخب عون أخيراً في تشرين الأول/أكتوبر الماضي. ومنذ ذلك الحين، يتفاوض السياسيون على صيغ مختلفة، الأمر الذي أدى إلى بروز قانون جديد معقد يحافظ على مبدأ المناصفة 50-50 بين المسيحيين والمسلمين (64 مقعداً لكل منهما)، الذي اعتُمد بعد الحرب الأهلية، لكنه ينص على ضرورة انتخاب النواب وفقاً للتمثيل النسبي في أقضية أعيد تنظيمها (مقابل النهج الحالي المتمثل بحصول "الفائز على كل الغنيمة").

وحتى الآن لم يتم التوصل إلى وضع كافة تفاصيل هذا الاتفاق، لكن التقارير الأولية تشير إلى أنه سيجري تقسيم لبنان إلى 15 دائرة انتخابية مع تخصيص مقاعد وفقاً لكل قضاء على أساس الانتماء الديني. وسيكون أمام الناخبين صندوقان - أحدهما للحزب والآخر للمرشح المفضل من لائحة الحزب. وستخصص المقاعد حسب النسبة المئوية التي تحصل عليها اللائحة، حيث يحدد الناخبون ترتيب اللائحة من خلال تصويتهم الثاني. وفي إطار الاتفاق، سيتم تمديد ولاية المجلس النيابي الحالي لفترة تصل إلى عام لإفساح المجال أمام إعداد الانتخابات وتثقيف الناخبين. وسيحلّ القانون الجديد محل ما يسمى بـ"القانون السوري"، وهو ترتيب استمر لعقود كان الناخبون غير المسيحيين يختارون بموجبه نحو نصف النواب المسيحيين في عدة أقضية، مما أضعف الصوت المسيحي.

العقوبات وغيرها من المشاكل

على الرغم من أن «حزب الله» استفاد من الفراغ الذي دام سنوات طويلة في السياسة اللبنانية، إلا أن الأمين العام للحزب السيد حسن نصرالله عارض بشدة فراغ البرلمان في 2 أيار/مايو، محذراً من أن البلاد تقف على "حافة الهاوية". واستناداً إلى مقال نشرته صحيفة "الحياة" العربية اليومية في 4 حزيران/يونيو، لم يتمّ التوصل إلى الاتفاق الأخير إلا بعد اجتماع "حاسم" بين نصرالله  ورئيس «التيار الوطني الحر» وصهر رئيس الجمهورية جبران باسيل. وتردد أن نصرالله استغل الاجتماع كفرصة لرسم المبادئ العامة للقانون الجديد. ولطالما أيّد «حزب الله» النظام النسبي، لذلك فإن الترتيب الجديد مناسب له. وعملياً، كان الحزب ليفضل دائرة واحدة لكي يعزز هيمنته السياسية، ولكن هناك أمور أكثر إلحاحاً تشغله في الوقت الراهن.

وتجدر الإشارة إلى أن «حزب الله» اضطر إلى فتح مقبرة كبيرة ثانية في ضاحية بيروت الجنوبية لاستيعاب أعداد "شهدائه" الذين سقطوا في سوريا. وكانت الضاحية مركز معارك مسلحة بين مجرمين - بعضهم مرتبط بـ «حزب الله» - وعناصر الشرطة. ومحلياً، تعتبر هذه الحوادث من أعراض تزايد الضغوط الاقتصادية على المجتمع الشيعي التي تُعزى ربما إلى تراجع سخاء إيران تجاه «حزب الله» أو إلى ازدياد العقوبات الأمريكية المفروضة على الحزب.

إن " قانون مكافحة تمويل «حزب الله» دولياً" الذي أصدرته واشنطن عام 2015 قد أثقل كاهل الميليشيا بشكل خاص، إذ عقّد نفاذها إلى القطاع المالي وفاقم الوضع الاقتصادي الصعب في المناطق ذات الأغلبية الشيعية والخاضعة لسيطرة «حزب الله» في لبنان. وتجدر الملاحظة أن «حزب الله» و«حركة أمل» الشيعية قلقان من أن يؤدي القانون الأمريكي الجديد - الذي يحمل اسم قانون مكافحة تمويل «حزب الله» دولياً - II" - إلى زيادة الأمور سوءاً. وتعود هذه المخاوف جزئياً إلى أنه قد يردع الاستثمار الأجنبي المباشر. وفي حزيران/يونيو 2016، تم استهداف تفجير واجهة أحد فروع "بنك لبنان والمهجر" في بيروت، وهو من أبرز المؤسسات المالية في البلاد. وفي حين لم تقع أي إصابات جراء الانفجار الذي حصل ليلاً، اعتُبر الحادث إلى حدّ كبير بمثابة طريقة غير متقنة استخدمها «حزب الله» لتحذير "المصرف المركزي" بألا يطمح كثيراً إلى تطبيق العقوبات الأمريكية. 

وعلى الرغم من استياء البعض من عامة الشيعة من الصعوبات الاقتصادية في لبنان والعدد المرتفع من الضحايا الذين يسقطون في سوريا، يبدو «حزب الله» واثقاً من وضعه. فبفضل مساعدة الحزب، استعاد نظام الأسد قدراته على الهجوم في سوريا المجاورة بدعم من إيران وروسيا والميليشيات الشيعية العراقية. أما على المستوى المحلي، فقد تفاخر الحزب مراراً وتكراراً بسيطرته المستمرة على الجنوب وعلاقة العمل الممتازة التي تجمعه بعناصر الاستخبارات الوطنية التي تقف على نقاط التفتيش الممتدة على الطريق المؤدي إلى الحدود. فعلى سبيل المثال، نظم في نيسان/أبريل جولة لأكثر من 12 صحافياً من وسائل إعلام دولية على حدود لبنان مع إسرائيل. وفي أيار/مايو، سلّم عدداً كبيراً من مراكز مراقبة الحدود السورية التي كانت تحت سيطرته إلى الجيش اللبناني. وعلى الرغم من أن هذا التسليم السلس والمفاوضات الودية المستمرة حول المواقع الحدودية الأكثر حساسية قد يوحيان إلى ازدياد قدرات الجيش اللبناني، إلا أنهما يشيران أيضاً إلى ارتياح «حزب الله» من مستوى التنسيق مع الجيش والتواصل ومنع وقوع صدامات معه. ومن خلال تسليم المراكز الحدودية، بإمكان الحزب أن يحرر أعداداً إضافية من الجنود والموارد لسوريا و/أو الجنوب.

انفراج مسيحي سني؟

في الوقت نفسه، ربما تزداد مخاوف «حزب الله» بسبب الروابط المتنامية بين «التيار الوطني الحر» و«تيار المستقبل». فحين كان عون يتولى منصب رئيس التيار في شباط/فبراير 2006، وقّع مذكرة تفاهم وحّدت الصفوف بين تياره و «حزب الله». لكن حين انتُخب رئيساً في العام الماضي، تلقى عون دعماً أقل ما يقال عنه أنه بارد من «حزب الله». وتماشياً مع المذكرة، واصل عون الدفاع عن امتلاك الحزب لأسلحة خارج سيطرة الدولة وعن أجندة "مقاومته" لإسرائيل. لكن في مسائل أخرى، قد لا يتمكن الحزب من الاعتماد على الجنرال المتمرد السابق. فعلى سبيل المثال، يُقال إنه خيب آمال هذه الميليشيا باختياره قائد الجيش اللبناني والكثير غيره من كبار المسؤولين في الجيش، بمن فيهم رئيس الاستخبارات العسكرية. 

وفي غضون ذلك، جاء انتخاب عون بموافقة زعيم «تيار المستقبل» سعد الحريري رغم التناحر الطويل الأمد بين حزبيهما. ويتردد أن رئيس «التيار الوطني الحر» الحالي جبران باسيل يقيم علاقة عمل وثيقة مع مستشار «تيار المستقبل» نادر الحريري، كما يظهر من مشاوراتهما اليومية، والعطل المشتركة لعائلتيهما، والتنسيق الكبير بينهما بشأن قانون الانتخابات، والصفقات التجارية المتنوعة [المبرمة بينهما] والتي وصفها بعض النقاد بأنها غامضة. ويبقى علينا الانتظار لمعرفة ما إذا كان هذا الانفراج سيستمر - وإذا كان الأمر كذلك، ما إذا كان سيساهم في تعزيز المصالح التجارية المشتركة أو إعادة تنظيم التحالفات السياسية الراكدة.     

ويكمن تطور آخر مثير للاهتمام في تقارب عون الواضح من خصمه السابق قائد الحزب المسيحي «القوات اللبنانية» سمير جعجع. وفي حين يستمر جعجع في انتقاده اللاذع لأعمال الفساد الهائلة التي يُزعم أن باسيل وراءها، إلا أنه أصبح يتقبّل رئاسة عون، مما عزّز احتمالات وجود كتلة مسيحية أكثر توحداً في الانتخابات النيابية المقبلة. ومع ذلك، من غير الواضح ما إذا كان هذا القبول عبارة عن تغيير استراتيجي طويل الأمد أو خطوة تكتيكية مؤقتة في نزاعه مع باسيل من أجل أن يخلف الرئيس الثمانينيّ الذي يُزعم أنه مريض. وعلى أي حال، فوفقاً لصحيفة "الحياة"ربما شكّل تدخل نصرالله في القانون الانتخابي بمثالة رسالةً "من العيار الثقيل" إلى «التيار الوطني الحر» مفادها أنه "لا يجب أن يذهب بعيداً جداً في تحالفاته الجديدة" سواء مع «تيار المستقبل» أو «القوات اللبنانية». 

التداعيات على واشنطن

خلال السنوات القليلة الأخيرة، ركزّت السياسة الأمريكية تجاه لبنان على فرض عقوبات على «حزب الله» وتسليح الجيش اللبناني وتدريبه وتقديم المساعدة المالية للاجئين السوريين البالغ عددهم 1.5 مليون لاجئ في لبنان. وفي حين أن هذه المقاربة محدودة من حيث النطاق، إلّا أنها نجحت نسبياً في منع حدوث تدهور أكثر حدة داخل البلاد -  وعلى الرغم من تدفق اللاجئين ومشاركة «حزب الله» المستمرة في الحرب السورية، حافظ لبنان إلى حد كبير على استقراره وأمنه.

وفي الوقت نفسه، واصلت بيروت تقرّبها من إيران. وقد برز هذا المنحى جلياً خلال الأيام الأخيرة من ولاية إدارة أوباما، حين ضاقت السعودية ذرعاً من هذا الميل الملموس إلى طهران، وخفضت المساعدات التي تقدمها إلى لبنان، ونأت بنفسها عن سعد الحريري، حليفها السنّي الرئيسي في البلاد. 

وفي الوقت الراهن، لا يزال المسار الذي ستتبعه السياسة الأمريكية في عهد الرئيس ترامب غير واضح المعالم. ومن شأن مشروع ميزانية وزارة الخارجية لعام 2018 الذي قدمته إدارة الرئيس الأمريكي مؤخراً أن يمسح تمويلاً للجيش اللبناني وأن يخفض بشكل كبير المساعدات المقدمة للاجئين السوريين في لبنان. ومع ذلك، ثمة خطوات أخرى بإمكان الإدارة الأمريكية اتخاذها لتعزيز مصالح الولايات المتحدة في تلك البلاد. ومن شأن فرض المزيد من العقوبات التي تستهدف المصالح الاقتصادية لـ «حزب الله» في لبنان والخارج أن تفرض ضغوطاً أكبر على الحزب. كما أن زيادة تكاليف مشاركة «حزب الله» في سوريا من شأنها أن تزيد من صعوبات الحزب مع ناخبيه في البلاد. ومن ناحية أخرى، بإمكان الإدارة الأمريكية الاستفادة من علاقاتها المتجددة مع الرياض للتشجيع على سخاء سعودي أكبر تجاه سعد الحريري الموالي للغرب و«تيار المستقبل» الذي يرأسه. أخيراً، على الدبلوماسيين الأمريكيين في لبنان أن يحاولوا الاستفادة من أحدث المؤشرات على تحسّن الوحدة المسيحية والروابط السياسية السنّية-المسيحية. وبصرف النظر عن المسار الذي سيأخذه مسلسل القانون الانتخابي، فإن إعادة تنظيم التحالفات السياسية اللبنانية يمكنها أن تساعد إلى حدّ ما في الحد من هيمنة «حزب الله» وإيران.

 

ديفيد شينكر هو زميل "أوفزين" ومدير برنامج السياسة العربية في معهد واشنطن.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 2815

A New Electoral Law for Lebanon: Continuity or Change?

David Schenker

Also available in العربية

June 6, 2017


Although the new legislation constitutes another win for Hezbollah, potential shifts in Lebanese political alignments may not be in the militia's favor.

On June 21, Lebanon's parliamentary term is set to end. Unable to agree on a new electoral law, the current legislature has already voted to extend itself twice, in 2013 and 2014, making 2009 the last time the Lebanese people actually voted for their representatives. With the deadline fast approaching, the long-deadlocked negotiations saw a breakthrough last week. Instead of reverting to the decades-old status quo, a tentative agreement was reached to institute a proportional representation system on a one-time basis.

In some ways, the new legislation is a win for the Iranian-backed Shia militia cum political party Hezbollah. But the organization did not get everything it wanted, and Lebanon's shrinking Christian community may also benefit. Whether the deal is finalized or not, the negotiation process between the (Sunni) Future Movement and its (Christian) political adversaries in the Free Patriotic Movement (FPM) appears to have strained the latter's relations with its coalition partner, Hezbollah.

A COMPLEX NEW LAW

In January, recently elected president and FPM founder Michel Aoun told the cabinet that he would not allow the parliament to extend its term again without a new election law, saying that he would choose "a vacuum" over another indefinite extension. This mindset no doubt stemmed from the long void in the presidency itself -- the parliament took more than two years to fill that office, finally electing Aoun last October. Since then, politicians have haggled over various formulations, producing a complex new bill that maintains the post-civil war 50-50 allocation between Muslims and Christians (64 seats each), but stipulates that members of parliament must be elected by proportional representation in reorganized districts (versus the current winner-take-all approach).  

The full details of this arrangement have yet to be hammered out, but preliminary reports indicate that Lebanon will be divided into fifteen constituencies with seats allocated per district based on religious affiliation. Voters will have two ballots -- one for party, the other for a preferred candidate within that party's list. Seats will be allocated by list percentage received, with voters determining the order of the list via their second ballot. As part of the deal, the current parliament's term will be extended by up to a year to allow for preparation and voter education. The new law will replace the so-called "Syrian law," a decades-old arrangement in which nearly half the Christian legislators in multiple districts were chosen by non-Christian voters, diluting the Christian vote.

SANCTIONS AND OTHER PROBLEMS

Although Hezbollah has benefited from the years-long vacuum in Lebanese politics, the group's leader, Hassan Nasrallah, spoke forcefully against allowing a void in parliament on May 2, warning that the country stood "at the edge of the abyss." According to a June 4 article in the pan-Arab daily al-Hayat, the latest agreement was reached only after a "decisive" meeting between Nasrallah and FPM leader Gibran Basil, the president's son-in-law. Nasrallah reportedly used the meeting as an opportunity to dictate the outlines of the new law. Hezbollah has long advocated a proportional system, so the new arrangement is suitable; technically, the group would prefer a single constituency in order to further cement its political dominance, but it has more pressing concerns at the moment.

Consider that Hezbollah has had to open a second mammoth graveyard in Beirut's southern suburb of Dahiya to ease overcrowding for its "martyrs" killed in Syria. Dahiya has also been the epicenter of frequent gun battles pitting criminals -- some tied to Hezbollah -- against the police. These incidents are seen locally as a symptom of increasing economic pressures on the Shia community, perhaps related to diminished Iranian largess for Hezbollah or beefed-up U.S. sanctions against the group.

Washington's 2015 Hezbollah International Financing Prevention Act (HIFPA) has been particularly burdensome on the militia, complicating its access to the financial sector and exacerbating the difficult economic situation in primarily Shia and Hezbollah-controlled areas of Lebanon. Hezbollah and the Shia Amal Party are concerned that new U.S. legislation -- the so-called HIFPA II -- will make things even worse, in part by deterring foreign direct investment. In June 2016, a bomb was detonated outside a Beirut branch of Blom Bank, one of the state's leading financial institutions. While no one was hurt by the nighttime explosion, the incident was widely understood as Hezbollah's not-so-subtle way of warning the Central Bank not to be overly ambitious in implementing U.S. sanctions.

Yet despite some low-level Shia discontent about economic difficulties in Lebanon and the high rate of casualties in Syria, Hezbollah is rather confident about its position. With the group's help, the Assad regime is on the offensive again next door, backed by Iran, Russia, and Iraqi Shia militias. At home, the group has repeatedly flaunted its ongoing control of the south and its excellent working relationship with the national intelligence organs that man checkpoints en route to the border. In April, for instance, it brought more than a dozen international journalists on a tour of Lebanon's frontier with Israel. And in May, it turned over several of its Syria border observation posts to the Lebanese Armed Forces (LAF). Although this smooth handover and the ongoing cordial negotiations about more sensitive border locations might suggest increased LAF capabilities, they also point to Hezbollah's comfort with the level of coordination, communication, and deconfliction it has achieved with the army. And by handing over border posts, the group could free up additional troops and resources for Syria and/or the south.

CHRISTIAN-SUNNI DETENTE?

At the same time, Hezbollah may be growing concerned about the burgeoning ties between the FPM and the Future Movement. While serving as FPM leader in February 2006, Aoun signed a memorandum of understanding that aligned his party with Hezbollah. Yet when Aoun was elected president last year, he received less-than-enthusiastic support from Hezbollah. Consistent with the memorandum, Aoun continues to defend the group's possession of weapons outside state control and its "resistance" agenda against Israel. But on other issues, Hezbollah may not be able to count on the former maverick general. For example, the militia is said to be disappointed in his choices for LAF chief and several other top army posts, including the head of military intelligence.

Meanwhile, Aoun's election came with the consent of Future Movement leader Saad Hariri, despite the longstanding rivalry between their two parties. And current FPM leader Basil is reportedly forging a close working relationship with Future Movement consigliere Nader Hariri, as evidenced by their daily consultations, joint family vacations, deep coordination on the electoral law, and assorted business deals that some critics have described as shady. It remains to be seen whether this detente will continue -- and, if so, whether it has more to do with boosting shared commercial interests or readjusting stagnant political alignments.

Another interesting development is Aoun's apparent rapprochement with his erstwhile rival Samir Geagea, leader of the Christian party Lebanese Forces. While Geagea remains a fierce critic of Basil's purportedly prodigious corruption, he has come to accept the Aoun presidency, raising the possibility of a more unified Christian bloc in the coming parliamentary elections. Yet it is unclear whether this acceptance is a long-term strategic shift or a temporary tactical step in his struggle with Basil to succeed the allegedly ailing octogenarian president. Either way, according to al-Hayat, Nasrallah's intervention on the electoral law may have been a "high caliber" message to the FPM that it "should not go very far in its new alliances," either with the Future Movement or the Lebanese Forces.

IMPLICATIONS FOR WASHINGTON

In recent years, U.S. policy toward Lebanon has focused on sanctioning Hezbollah, arming and training the LAF, and providing financial support for the state's 1.5 million Syrian refugees. While limited in scope, this approach has been relatively successful in preventing a more precipitous deterioration inside the country -- despite the flood of refugees and Hezbollah's ongoing participation in the Syria war, Lebanon has largely maintained its stability and security.

At the same time, Beirut has continued its slide toward Iran. This trend was accentuated during the waning days of the Obama administration, when Saudi Arabia grew fed up with the perceived tilt toward Tehran, cut aid to Lebanon, and distanced itself from Saad Hariri, its leading Sunni ally in the state.

For now, it is unclear what trajectory U.S. policy will take under President Trump. His administration's recently submitted State Department draft budget for 2018 would zero out funding for the LAF and dramatically cut assistance for the country's Syrian refugees. Even so, there are other steps the administration can take to promote U.S. interests there. Additional sanctions targeting Hezbollah economic interests in Lebanon and abroad would put more pressure on the organization. Raising the cost for Hezbollah in Syria would also increase the group's difficulties with its constituents at home. Meanwhile, the administration could leverage its revitalized ties with Riyadh to encourage greater Saudi generosity toward the pro-Western Saad Hariri and his Future Movement. Finally, U.S. diplomats in Beirut should try to build on the recent signs of improved Christian unity and Sunni-Christian political ties. Regardless of how the electoral law saga turns out, the realignment of Lebanese political coalitions could help marginally undercut Hezbollah and Iranian dominance.

David Schenker is the Aufzien Fellow and director of the Program on Arab Politics at The Washington Institute.