أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

صفحات رأي ومقالات

ملكة جمال تساعد الجالية المصرية في إسرائيل على إيصال صوتها

هيثم حسنين

متاح أيضاً في English

مجلة "تابلت"‬‎

16 آب/أغسطس 2017


كان الفوز بلقب ملكة جمال العرب في إسرائيل لعام 2009 سيفًا ذي حدين بالنسبة إلى نجلاء سليمان التي ولدت لأب مصري وأم من عرب إسرائيل. انتقلت سليمان إلى إسرائيل مع عائلتها في سن الخامسة وترعرعت في الناصرة. وقد استقطبت الشهرة التي اكتسبتها بفضل هذا اللقب في السادسة عشر من عمرها اهتمام وسائل الإعلام المصرية، التي شنت حملة تشهير ضدّها بصفتها مواطنة تحمل الجنسيتين المصرية والإسرائيلية. وإذ كانت تعتز بهويتها المصرية، رفضت تمثيل إسرائيل في مسابقة ملكة جمال العالم. ومع ذلك، لم تستقبلها أي جامعة مصرية لأنها تحمل الجنسية الإسرائيلية.  ومع ذلك قام رئيس الحكومة المصرية شريف إسماعيل في العاشر من تشرين الثاني/ نوفمبر 2015 بإسقاط جنسيتها المصرية، على اعتبار أنها لم تحصل على الإذن اللازم من وزارة الداخلية لحمل جنسيتين.

ورغم أن قضية سليمان بصفتها ملكة جمال مصرية-إسرائيلية فريدة من نوعها، لا ينطبق ذلك على المشاكل التي واجهتها كمواطنة مصرية-إسرائيلية.

وفي حين أنه ما من تعداد رسمي، أبلغني رئيس تجمع الناصرة أن هناك ما بين 3 و7 آلاف مصري يعيشون في إسرائيل. ومعظمهم متزوجين من إسرائيليات مسلمات أو مسيحيات، بينما لا يتجاوز عدد المتزوجين من يهوديات الاثني عشر. وينقسم هذا المجتمع إلى ثلاث مجموعات.

تشمل المجموعة الأولى المهاجرين غير الشرعيين الذين يتمثل هدفهم الأساسي بادخار أكبر قدر ممكن من الأموال قبل عودتهم إلى مصر. أما المجموعة الثانية، فتتألف من المقيمين الدائمين الذين يدفعون الضرائب ويتمتعون بالحقوق والمزايا الكاملة على غرار الرعاية الصيحة والضمان الاجتماعي والمشاركة في الانتخابات البلدية. وتضم المجموعة الثالثة أولئك الذين قرروا أن يصبحوا مواطنين إسرائيليين رغم الوصمة المحيطة بهذا القرار في مصر - بما فيه حظر محتمل مدى الحياة على العودة إلى بلدهم الأم - ويُعزى السبب بشكل رئيسي إلى المزايا المترافقة مع حمل جواز سفر إسرائيلي.

فتعود جذور المجتمع المصري في إسرائيل إلى معاهدة السلام المهمة المبرمة بين مصر وإسرائيل عام 1979، عندما تدفق مئات الآلاف من الإسرائيليين عبر الحدود لزيارة جارتهم من الجهة الجنوبية. وفي حين كان هذا الحدث بمثابة نعمة للإسرائيليين على اختلاف مشاربهم، كانت لحظة عظيمة لعرب إسرائيل على وجه الخصوص، فهي الفرصة الأولى التي تتاح أمامهم منذ قيام إسرائيل بالسفر إلى الدول العربية المحيطة بها.

وغالبًا ما ظهرت شرارات الحب على طول النيل حيث وجد عرب إسرائيل والمصريون شركاء حياتهم بين أخصامهم السابقين. فتزوج بعض المصريين وسافروا مع زوجاتهم إلى إسرائيل، في حين بقي آخرون وعاشوا في مصر. ولكي يتمكن عرب إسرائيل من الإقامة في مصر، اضطرت الحكومة المصرية إلى منح تراخيص تجدد كل ثلاث سنوات. ومع مرور الوقت، ازداد الوضع تعقيدًا، إذ أصبحت الحكومة تصدر تصاريح الإقامة لستة أشهر فقط. وفي نهاية المطاف، توقفت سلطات الأمن المصرية عن إصدار تأشيرات الدخول نهائيًا، ما أرغم الزوجات الإسرائيليات على مغادرة البلاد وترك عائلاتهن هناك. بعد ذلك، وجد عدد كبير من المصريين أنفسهم مرغمين على الانتقال إلى إسرائيل مع أولادهم للم شمل العائلة.

يُذكر أن إسرائيل توفر بيئة مضيافة. فلدى وصولهم، يُمنح المصريون إقامة مؤقتة لستة أشهر لكن لا يُسمح لهم بالعمل. وعند انقضاء هذه الفترة، يحصلون على بطاقة هوية مؤقتة، تجدد كل عام، ويُعاملون كمواطنين إسرائيليين يتمتعون بمزايا تشمل تصريح العمل والضمان الصحي. إلا أن القيد الوحيد الذي يبقى مفروضًا عليهم هو حظر الاقتراع في الانتخابات الوطنية.

وبعد مرور خمس سنوات، يُمنح المصري إقامةً دائمة، ما يتيح له تقديم طلب الحصول على الجنسية الإسرائيلية. ويفضل معظمهم عدم نيلها لأن ذلك سيجعل عودتهم إلى مصر مستحيلة ويهدّد بسحب الجنسية المصرية منهم. وكما أخبرني صاحب سوبرماركت مصري في الناصرة، "عندما نذهب إلى السفارة [المصرية] في [تل أبيب] لتجديد جوازات سفرنا، تشعر أنهم يقبلون وجودنا هنا على مضض لكن الوضع يبقى جيدًا طالما أننا لم نحصل على الجنسية الإسرائيلية".

وبالنسبة إلى المصريين الذين نالوا الجنسية الإسرائيلية، فقد فعلوا ذلك عمومًا لأنهم فقدوا الأمل بالعودة إلى بلادهم. وفي هذا الإطار، شرح رجل أعمال مصري-إسرائيلي الوضع قائلًا: "لا يطرح السفر إلى مصر من مطار بن غوريون مشكلة، بل العودة إليه. فسلطات المطار المصرية تطلب منا الاستحصال على إذن بالسفر من الجهاز الأمني في البلاد لكي نتمكن من العودة إلى إسرائيل". وقد يستغرق الاستحصال عليه بين شهر إلى سبع سنوات لأنه لا بدّ من الحصول على موافقة الأجهزة الأمنية والاستخبارية على السواء

وقد أخبرني أحد المصريين الذين يحملون إقامة إسرائيلية دائمة ما يلي: "أعود لأسبوعيْن من أجل زيارة عائلتي ورؤية أصدقائي، لكن الشيء الوحيد الذي يشغل بالي هو ما إذا كنت سأتمكن من السفر أو لا". وشرح: "لا يأخذون بعين الاعتبار أنه لدينا عائلة في إسرائيل تعتمد علينا، وأنه لدينا قروض لدفعها وغيرها من الموجبات المالية التي يجب استيفاؤها إلى جانب زوجاتنا. حتى أن مجتمعنا شهد على حالات حيث توفي أهل بعض الأشخاص ولم يتمكنوا من العودة لحضور مراسم الدفن إذ يعلمون أن السلطات ستصعّب عليهم العودة". 

ونتيجة هذه العملية، بدأ المصريون الذين يعيشون في إسرائيل بإيجاد وسائل بديلة لمغادرة مطار القاهرة من دون التسبب بمشاكل. وبدلًا من حجز رحلة مباشرة إلى تل أبيب، كانوا مستعدين لتحمل عبء تكبّد مصاريف إضافية لشراء تذكرة ذهاب وإياب إلى الأردن، من أجل إقناع السلطات أنهم سيعودون إلى مصر. ومن الأردن، يحجزون رحلات إلى تل أبيب.     

وتصبح المشكلة أكثر تعقيدًا بالنسبة إلى أطفال مثل نجلاء سليمان حصلوا على الجنسية الإسرائيلية تلقائيًا بما أن أحد والديهم إسرائيلي. كما تمّ طرد رجل آخر، من والد مصري ووالدة من عرب إسرائيل، من مصر بموجب إشعار مدته 48 ساعة بعدما سحبت إحدى المحاكم جنسيته المصرية لأنه يحمل جنسيتين. وانتقل إلى إسرائيل تاركًا وراءه زوجة وأطفالًا لا يمكنهم الانضمام إليه لأن السلطات المصرية لا تسمح لمواطنيها بالسفر إلى إسرائيل.    

ورغم السلام والتمثيل الدبلوماسي المتبادل والتعاون السياسي والأمني الرفيع المستوى القائم منذ نحو 40 عامًا، لا تزال الحكومة المصرية تتردد في قبول إسرائيل بالكامل. وينعكس هذا السلوك في موقفها تجاه المصريين المقيمين في إسرائيل: حيث يعتريها الشك بروابطهم بمصر في أحسن الأحوال، والارتياب المطلق في أسوئها. فهل من الممكن ألا يكون شخص يحمل الجنسيتين المصرية والإسرائيلية جاسوسًا؟      

وقد شرح مساعد سابق لوزير الخارجية المصري السفير حسين هريدي وجهة النظر هذه بوضوح خلال مقابلة أُجريت معه مؤخرًا: "مصر هي العدو الأول لإسرائيل في المنطقة العربية نظرًا إلى أنها القوة الأكبر والأقوى في المنطقة. وطريقة التفكير الإسرائيلية لن تتغير أبدًا وستحاول دومًا إضعاف مصر باعتبارها قوة عربية".

وتابع قائلًا إن الذين يحملون الجنسيتين المصرية والإسرائيلية يمكن أن يكونوا أداةً في حرب الحكومة الإسرائيلية على مصر: "فاستنادًا إلى القانون الإسرائيلي، يصبح ابن رجل مصري تزوج يهودية مواطنًا إسرائيليًا؛ بالتالي، يشكّل هذا خطرًا فعليًا إذ إن السؤال الذي يطرح نفسه هو: لأي بلد سيكون ولاؤه؟ بالطبع لإسرائيل لأنه تربى هناك. من جهة أخرى، نحن نجهل العلاقة التي تجمع المرأة اليهودية التي تزوجها بالجهاز الأمني الإسرائيلي و"الموساد". بعدها، يأتي الابن إلى مصر بصفته رجل أعمال ويحصل على كل المعلومات التي يريدها ضدّ مصر لصالح إسرائيل". 

ونقلت وسائل الإعلام المصرية، التي تعكس إلى حدّ كبير خط الحكومة الرسمي، هذا الهجوم على المصريين الذين يعيشون في إسرائيل من وصف سلبي في البرامج الحوارية إلى قصص منحازة في الصحف. ولسنوات، منعت هذه الحملة أي دعم مصري علني للمجتمع المصري في الدولة اليهودية في وقت كان يخشى فيه عدد كبير من المقيمين في إسرائيل الدفاع عن حقهم في التنقل بحرية بين البلدين.

لكن هذا العام، تمكّنت هذه المجموعة من الناس من التعبير عن رأيها بحرية وصراحة. فبعد سنوات طويلة من ممارسة الضغوطات على الحكومة المصرية من خلال الإعلانات في الصحف والرسائل إلى وزارة الهجرة، طلبت السفارة المصرية في تل أبيب من هذا المجتمع إضفاء الطابع الرسمي على وضعه. وفي شباط/فبراير، وافقت الحكومة الإسرائيلية على إنشاء "الجالية المصرية بإسرائيل “التي لا تبغي الربح "بهدف تسيير شؤون الأقلية المصرية في إسرائيل". وتمّ تعريب نظام الجمعية وإرساله إلى السفارة المصرية.

فهل يمكن لهذه الجمعية أن تكسر كافة العوائق بين إسرائيل ومصر من أجل تحسين حياة أصحاب الجنسيتين المصرية والإسرائيلية؟ يُعتبر السماح بالسفر الحر لهذه المجموعة الصغيرة بين البلدين مشكلة ثانوية مقارنةً بالمشاكل الأضخم بكثير الموجودة على أجندة القاهرة-القدس - ابتداءً من تنظيم "داعش" في سيناء مرورًا بمستقبل غزة ووصولًا إلى التجارة الثنائية. لكن رغم أنه خطوة صغيرة باتجاه إنشاء علاقات أوثق، سيشكل منصةً مهمة للانطلاق.  

 

هيثم حسنين هو زميل "غليزر" في معهد واشنطن لعام 2016-2017.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

Articles & Op-Eds

A Beauty Queen Helps Israel's Egyptian Community Find Its Voice

Haisam Hassanein

Also available in العربية

Tablet

August 16, 2017


In February, the Israeli government approved the creation of a nonprofit "to advance the affairs of the Egyptian minority in Israel," potentially a small step toward warmer bilateral relations.

Winning the Arab Miss Israel contest in 2009 was a double-edged sword for Naglaa Suleiman.

The daughter of an Egyptian father and Arab-Israeli mother, Suleiman moved to Israel with her family at age five and grew up in Nazareth. The notoriety she gained as Miss Arab Israel at age 16 caught the attention of the Egyptian media, which began a smear campaign against her as a dual Egyptian-Israeli national. Proud of her Egyptian identity, she refused to represent Israel in the Miss World pageant. Nevertheless, no Egyptian university would accept her because of her Israeli citizenship.

Finally, on Nov. 10, 2015, then Egyptian Prime Minister Sherif Ismail revoked her Egyptian citizenship, ruling that she had failed to gain the proper permission from the Interior Ministry to be a dual national.

Although Suleiman's case as an Egyptian-Israeli beauty queen is unique, the problems she has faced as an Egyptian-Israeli are not.

While there is no official count, the head of the community in Nazareth informed me that there are between 3,000 and 7,000 Egyptians living in Israel. Most are married to Muslim or Christian Israelis, with no more than 12 married to Jews. The community breaks down into three groups.

The first comprises illegal ex-pats whose main objective is to save as much money as they can before returning to Egypt. The second group consists of permanent residents who pay taxes and enjoy full rights and benefits such as health care, social security, and participation in municipal elections. The third is made up of those who chose to become Israeli citizens despite the stigma surrounding it back in Egypt -- including a possible lifetime ban on returning to their native country -- primarily due to the advantages of holding an Israeli passport.

The Egyptian community in Israel has its roots in the breakthrough peace treaty between Egypt and Israel in 1979, when hundreds of thousands of Israelis poured over the border to visit their southern neighbor. A boon to Israelis of all backgrounds, this was a profound moment for Arab-Israelis in particular, their first opportunity since the establishment of Israel to travel to surrounding Arab countries.

Often, love blossomed along the Nile, as Arab-Israelis and Egyptians found spouses from among their former adversaries. Some Egyptians married and traveled with their spouses to Israel, while others stayed to live in Egypt. For Arab-Israelis to reside in Egypt, the Egyptian government had to grant permits that were renewed every three years. As time went on, the situation became more complicated, as these accommodations were granted for only six months. Eventually, Egyptian security authorities stopped granting visas at all, forcing Israeli spouses to leave the country and their families behind. Ultimately, many Egyptians moved to Israel with their children to reunite the family.

Israel offers a hospitable environment. Upon arrival in Israel, Egyptians are granted six months of temporary residency but are not permitted to work. At the end of this period, they receive a temporary identification card, to be renewed every year, and are treated as Israeli citizens with benefits, including a work permit and health insurance. The only restriction: They are barred from voting in national elections.

After five years, permanent residency is granted, opening the door to apply for Israeli citizenship. Most prefer not to obtain citizenship, as this would make their return to Egypt impossible and endanger their Egyptian citizenship. As an Egyptian supermarket owner in Nazareth told me, "When we go to the [Egyptian] embassy [in Tel Aviv] to renew our passports, you could feel they hardly accept our presence here, but as long as we did not take the Israeli citizenship they are fine."

Those Egyptians who obtained Israeli citizenship did so mainly because they lost hope of returning to Egypt. One Egyptian-Israeli businessman explained: "Traveling to Egypt from Ben-Gurion Airport is not the issue. Coming back is the problem. Egyptian airport authorities ask us to obtain a travel permit from the security apparatus in the country in order to be able to travel back to Israel." Travel permits can take from one month to seven years because both the security and intelligence agencies have to sign off.

One Egyptian who has an Israeli permanent residency told me, "I go back for two weeks to visit my family and see friends, but the only thing occupying my mind is whether I will be able to travel or not." He explained: "They do not take into consideration that we have family in Israel who are dependent on us, have a mortgage to pay and other financial obligations that need to be taken care of alongside our wives. There have been cases in our community that people had their parents passed away but they could not go back for the funeral service since they know the authorities would give them a hard time coming back."

As a result of this process, Egyptians living in Israel began to find alternate ways to leave the Cairo airport without causing trouble. Instead of booking a direct flight to Tel Aviv, they would shoulder the extra expense of purchasing a round-trip ticket to Jordan, to convince authorities that they would return to Egypt. From Jordan, they would book flights to Tel Aviv.

The problem becomes more complicated for children like Naglaa Suleiman who receive Israeli citizenship automatically through their Israeli parent. Another man, the son of an Egyptian father and Arab-Israeli mother, was thrown out of Egypt with a 48-hour notice after a court revoked his Egyptian citizenship because he holds dual citizenship. He moved to Israel, leaving behind a wife and children who cannot join him because Egyptian authorities do not allow their citizens to travel to Israel.

Despite nearly 40 years of peace, mutual diplomatic representation, and high-level political and security cooperation, the Egyptian government remains reluctant to fully embrace Israel. This attitude is reflected in its position toward Egyptians living in Israel: It remains skeptical of their ties to Egypt at best, and downright suspicious at worst. Is it possible for a dual Egyptian-Israeli to be anything but a spy?

Ambassador Hussein Haridy, a former assistant to the Egyptian foreign minister, explained this point of view plainly in a recent interview. "Egypt is the first enemy to Israel in the Arab region since it is the biggest and strongest power in the region," he said. "Israeli thinking will never change and it will always try to weaken Egypt as an Arab power."

Egyptian-Israelis, he continued, could be a tool in the Israeli government's war on Egypt: "According to the Israeli law, the son of an Egyptian who is married to a Jew will become an Israeli citizen; hence, it is a real danger because his loyalty would be to what country? Of course, it would be Israel since he was raised there. On the other hand, we do not know the relationship between the Jew he married and the Israeli security apparatus and the Mossad. The son could come afterward to Egypt as a businessman and obtain all the information he wants against Egypt for Israel."

The Egyptian media, which largely reflects the official government line, has taken up this assault on Egyptians living in Israel, from negative depictions on talk shows to biased stories in the newspapers. For years this campaign suppressed Egyptian public support for the Egyptian community in the Jewish state while many living in Israel were afraid to stand up for their right to move freely between the two countries.

But this year the group found its voice. After many years of lobbying the Egyptian government through newspaper ads and letters to the Ministry of Immigration, the Egyptian embassy in Tel Aviv asked the community to formalize its status. In February, the Israeli government approved the creation of a nonprofit, Algaliyah Almasriya B'israel, the Egyptian Community in Israel, "to advance the affairs of the Egyptian minority in Israel." The group's charter was translated into Arabic and sent to the Egyptian embassy.

Can this organization break through the many obstacles between Israel and Egypt to better the lives of Egyptian-Israelis? Permitting free travel for this tiny community between the countries is a minor issue compared to the much weightier problems on the Cairo-Jerusalem agenda -- everything from ISIS in the Sinai to the future of Gaza to bilateral trade. But as a small step toward warmer relations, it would be a great place to start.

Haisam Hassanein is the 2016-17 Glazer Fellow at The Washington Institute.