أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

مقابلات وعروض تقديمية

لإسرائيل في الأمم المتحدة احترامٌ صامت وعدائيةٌ علنية مستمرة

روبرت ساتلوف, دوري غولد, دان غيلرمان, و رون بروسور

متاح أيضاً في English

8 كانون الأول/ديسمبر 2017


في الخامس من كانون الأول/ديسمبر 2017، كرّم "معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى" ثلاثة سفراء إسرائيليين سابقين دافعوا عن العدالة والإنصاف في الأمم المتحدة وهم: دوري غولد ودان غيلرمان ورون بروسور. وجرى حفل التكريم، الذي أقيم في مدينة نيويورك، عشية الذكرى السبعين للمصادقة على خطة تقسيم فلسطين الصادرة عن الأمم المتحدة. وقد أجرى المدير التنفيذي للمعهد روبرت ساتلوف حديثاً ممتعاً مع السفراء الثلاثة غولد وغيلرمان وبروسور حول علاقة إسرائيل بهذه المنظمة العالمية، والتحيز المؤسسي ضد الدولة اليهودية، واحتمالات الاستفادة من العلاقات الثنائية المحسنة لخلق فرص تصب في مصلحة إسرائيل في المحافل المتعددة الأطراف.

ورداً على سؤال حول أهمية الأمم المتحدة  بالنسبة لإسرائيل بعد مرور 70 عاماً على قرار التقسيم، قال غيلرمان: "لا أعتقد أن هناك ميداناً آخر في العالم يسمح لدبلوماسي إسرائيلي بنقل رسالة مماثلة إلى 193 بلداً عن واقع إسرائيل كدولة، وكم تختلف في الحقيقة عن التصوّر العام لها، ومدى جمالها وإبداعها وابتكارها وتعاطفها ومساهمتها في العالم. وإذا لا تعتذر، إذا لا تشعر بالخجل، إذا كنت فخوراً ببلدك وتحارب من أجله، فيمكنك تحقيق إنجازات عظيمة حتى في ذلك المبنى الزجاجي في الجادة الأولى".

ومن جهته، أوضح بروسور السبب الذي يدفعه إلى الاعتقاد بأن الأمم المتحدة "منحازة ضد إسرائيل من الناحيتين الهيكلية والمؤسسية"، بإشارته إلى عدم شغل أي مواطن إسرائيلي مناصب رفيعة المستوى [في المؤسسة الدولية]، واستثناء إسرائيل من عدة مجموعات ولجان إقليمية. غير أن العلاقات الثنائية تمنح إسرائيل الفرصة لتحسين مكانتها في الأمم المتحدة. وأردف في هذا السياق قائلاً، أنه "لا بدّ من التركيز على واقع أن إسرائيل تفتح عدة قنوات اتصال مع دول تقدّر العمل المذهل الذي نقوم به".

وكمثال على الثمار التي قد تأتي بها الدبلوماسية الثنائية الفعالة في المحافل المتعددة الأطراف، أشار بروسور إلى أنه حين احتاجت إسرائيل إلى تصويت الجمعية العامة للأمم المتحدة على إجراء ما واضطر وفد جمهورية السيشيل إلى مغادرة نيويورك مؤقتاً، فوضته الدولة الجزرية - التي تتلقى المساعدات من إسرائيل - ليكون ممثلها خلال ذلك اليوم وصوّت لصالح الاقتراح الإسرائيلي.

أما غولد، فأسهب في الحديث عن الارتباط بين علاقات إسرائيل الثنائية ومعاملتها في المحافل المتعددة الأطراف، قائلاً: "نشهد حالياً نهضةً على صعيد طريقة عمل إسرائيل في شرق المحيط الهادئ وفي أفريقيا وفي أمريكا اللاتينية وفي العالم أجمع عموماً حتى مع الأوروبيين الذين يخرجون بأفكار سيئة عندما يجتمعون سوية في بروكسل"، وأضاف "أما على المستوى الفردي، فالأمر مذهل. فتكمن المشكلة في أنه ما أن تَضع هذه العلاقات الجيدة للغاية في إطار متعدد الأطراف، حتى تنقلب ديناميكيات الدول التي تتعاون معاً ضدنا".

ونظراً إلى انحياز الأمم المتحدة على الصعيدين الهيكلي والمؤسسي، اتفق السفراء الإسرائيليون الثلاثة السابقون على أهمية علاقة بلادهم بالولايات المتحدة. وفي هذا الإطار، قال بروسور أنه "من دون الولايات المتحدة لكانت إسرائيل كَبَدْ مُقَطَّعْ (أي مهمشة) في الأمم المتحدة".

وقد شملت نقاط التوافق الأخرى بين السفراء رفض اضطلاع الأمم المتحدة بدور في عملية السلام الإسرائيلية- الفلسطينية والدعوة إلى إصلاح وتحسين "وكالة الأمم المتحدة لإغاثة وتشغيل اللاجئين الفلسطينيين في الشرق الأدنى" ("الأونروا").

وفي إشارة إلى أن مقاعد الوفود الأعضاء في الأمم المتحدة تأتي بحسب الترتيب الأبجدي، حيث يجلس ممثلو إسرائيل على بُعد بضعة مقاعد فحسب من نظرائهم الإيرانيين، تحدث غيلرمان عن التطور البطيء لتواصله مع سفير طهران لدى الأمم المتحدة في ذلك الوقت قائلاً، "خلال العامين الأوّلين، كنا نتجاهل بعضنا البعض، في حين كانت تجمعني علاقات وثيقة جداً مع كافة السفراء باستثناء اثنين، هما السفيران السوري والإيراني. فمحمد جواد ظريف كان يرفض حتى الاعتراف بوجودي. وبعد حوالي عامين تقريباً، بدأنا نتبادل الابتسامات. وفي مرحلة ما، تبادلنا حتى أطراف الحديث في الرواق، حيث رآه أحد زملائه يبتسم لي وتمّ استدعاؤه إلى طهران لمدة ثلاثة أشهر لأنه، وأَقْتبِس: "لطيف جداً مع السفير الإسرائيلي". يُذكر أن ظريف يشغل حالياً منصب وزير خارجية إيران.

وإذ تحدث بروسور عن معنى دوره كسفير في الأمم المتحدة، قال "في كل يوم كنت آتي فيه إلى مقر المنظمة، كنت أرى 193 علماً، يحمل 25 منها إشارة الصليب، و15 إشارة الهلال، في حين لم أرَ سوى علم واحد يحمل نجمة داود. وعلينا جميعنا أن نعمل على إبقاء هذا العَلَم يرفرف عالياً وبفخر ضمن هذه المنظمة الجامعة للدول التي ينتمي إليها".

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

Interviews and Presentations

For Israel at the UN, Quiet Respect and Continued Public Hostility

Robert Satloff, Dore Gold, Dan Gillerman, and Ron Prosor

Also available in العربية

December 8, 2017


Watch the full conversation between Institute executive director Robert Satloff and 2017 Scholar-Statesman Award honorees Dore Gold, Dan Gillerman, and Ron Prosor, who each served as Israeli ambassador to the United Nations.

On December 5, 2017, the Washington Institute for Near East Policy honored three former Israeli ambassadors who fought for justice and fairness at the United Nations: Dore Gold, Dan Gillerman, and Ron Prosor. The awards ceremony, held in New York City, took place on the eve of the 70th anniversary of the ratification of the UN's Partition Plan for Palestine. Institute executive director Robert Satloff led a lively conversation with Ambassadors Gold, Gillerman, and Prosor about Israel's relationship with the world body, institutional bias against the Jewish state, and prospects for leveraging improved bilateral ties to create opportunities for Israeli interests in multilateral forums.

Asked about the relevance of the UN to Israel 70 years after partition, Gillerman said, "I don't think there's another arena in the world which enables  an Israeli diplomat to bring that message to 193 countries of what a country Israel really is, how different it is in reality to the perception - its beauty, its creativity, its innovation, its compassion, its contribution to the world. If you do not apologize, if you're not ashamed, if you're proud of your country and you fight for it, you can achieve great things - even at that glass building on First Avenue."

Prosor explained why he believes that the UN is "structurally and institutionally biased against Israel," pointing to the lack of Israeli citizens in senior staff positions and the exclusion of Israel from many regional groups and committees. But bilateral relations offer Israel the opportunity to improve its standing at the UN. "Under the radar screen, Israel is building a lot of inroads to countries that appreciate the amazing work we are doing."

As an example of how effective bilateral diplomacy can pay dividends in multilateral forums, Prosser noted that when Israel needed General Assembly votes for a measure and the Seychelles delegation had to leave New York temporarily, the island nation – and Israeli aid recipient --  deputized him to be its representative for the day and he voted in favor of the Israeli proposal.

Gold expanded on the relationship between Israel's bilateral relations and its treatment in multilateral forums. "We're having a renaissance right now in terms of how Israel is operating in the Pacific East, in Africa, in Latin America, and just basically worldwide - even with Europeans, who tend to come up with bad ideas when they work together in Brussels," he said. "On an individual level, it's extraordinary. The problem is, once you take these extraordinarily good relations and you put them in a multilateral framework, the dynamics of countries working together works against us."

Given the structural and institutional biases of the UN, all three former Israeli ambassadors agreed on the importance of their country's relationship with the United States. "Without the United States," Prosor said, "Israel would be chopped liver at the United Nations."

Other areas of agreement among the ambassadors included rejecting a UN role in the Israeli-Palestinian peace process and a call to reform and improve UNRWA, the UN's relief agency for Palestinian refugees.

Noting that the UN seats member delegations alphabetically, with Israeli representatives typically just a few chairs away from their Iranian counterparts, Gillerman described the slow evolution of his contacts with Tehran's UN ambassador at the time. "For the first two years we used to pass each other and I had really very close relations with every ambassador except two: The Syrian, and the Iranian. Mohammad Javad Zarif wouldn't even acknowledge me. After about two years, we exchanged smiles. At a certain point we even had some discussions in the corridor whereupon one of his colleagues saw him smiling at me and he was recalled to Tehran for three months for being, quote, 'too nice to the Israeli ambassador.'" Zarif now serves as Iran's foreign minister.

Speaking about what service as UN ambassador meant to him, Prosor said, "Every day, when I came to the United Nations and saw 193 flags out there, I saw 25 flags with crosses on them. I saw 15 flags with a crescent on them. I only saw one flag with a Magen David. We all should be working every day to make sure that this flag hangs tall and proud in the family of nations, where it belongs."