أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المناسبات الخاصة

حفل العشاء السنوي السابع لتسليم جائزة "رجل الدولة- الباحث"

كوندوليزا رايس و مورتيمر زوكرمان

متاح أيضاً في English

1 تشرين الأول/أكتوبر 2013


"في 1 تشرين الأول/أكتوبر، قدم معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى جائزة «رجل الدولة- الباحث» لعام 2013 إلى وزيرة الخارجية الأمريكية الأسبق الدكتورة كوندوليزا رايس، كما قدم تكريم خاص إلى الناشر والمحسن مورتيمر بي. زوكرمان خلال حفل عشاء جرى في مدينة نيويورك. وفيما يلي مقتطفات مختارة من تصريحات الدكتورة رايس."

 

أثناء استلامها جائزة "رجل الدولة- الباحث": إنني في غاية الامتنان لاستلامي هذه الجائزة لأنها تأتي من معهد واشنطن. فعلى مدار ثلاثة عقود تقريباً، ما يقرب من ثلاثين عاماً، شاركتم في العمل الهام والمذهل الذي يتمثل في إبراز أهمية الأفكار في بعض المناقشات الأكثر احتداماً وحيوية في الوقت الحالي. إن الأفكار تمثل أهمية بالفعل لكنها لا تكون كذلك إلا إذا جرى اختبارها من قبل أناس هم على استعداد للانخراط في حوار مدني مع من قد يعارضون تلك الأفكار - أشخاص لديهم بالفعل الرغبة في البحث عن الحقيقة. وكانت هذه هي سمعة وواقع معهد واشنطن منذ تأسيسه.

حول وضعية المفاوضات الأمريكية تجاه إيران: أخشى أن يكون الأمل يراود الإيرانيين في أننا بحاجة ماسة جداً للتوصل إلى اتفاق لدرجة أننا على استعداد أن ننحي جانباً العديد من الجوانب بالغة الأهمية التي يجب أن نضمِّنها في أي [اتفاق] نبرمه. لا يمكن - بأية طريقة وبأي شكل ولا بأي نسبة - أن يستمروا في تخصيب اليورانيوم وإعادة معالجته. فذلك أمر غير مقبول. ثانياً، يجب شحن ما تم إعادة معالجته وتخزينه خارج البلاد إلى مكان آمن. وثالثاً، يجب أن تكون هناك ضمانات يمكن التحقق منها - لدرجة أن نستطيع التحقق من ضمانات كهذه - لتدمير المواقع القادرة على إنتاج تلك المادة. وتكمن المشكلة في أنه إذا أُتيح لإيران امتلاك تلك القدرات، حتى إن لم يتم تفعيلها بنشاط، فسوف يكون أمامها خيار تصنيع سلاح نووي في الوقت الذي تختاره. خاصة ونحن نعلم أنهم ربما حصلوا على الأرجح على تصميم القنبلة ووسائل التوصيل، والأمر أصبح متوقف فقط على الوقود. لذا فهم قد قطعوا بالفعل شوطاً طويلاً.

فيما يتعلق بمصداقية التهديد الأمريكي باستخدام القوة: إننا نواجه العديد من الأمور التي هي بحاجة للإصلاح. هناك مقولة شائعة في المكان الذي نشأت فيه في ولاية ألاباما "لا تصوب السلاح ما لم تكن تخطط لإطلاق النار". أعتقد أن المشكلة الآن هي أننا قمنا بتصويب السلاح ومن ثم وضعناه على الطاولة، وقد أضعف ذلك من المصداقية [الأمريكية] بشكل كبير.

حول خيارات الولايات المتحدة بشأن سوريا: لدينا الآن عدد قليل جداً من الخيارات الجيدة في سوريا. أعتقد أن المسألة هي ما إذا كان هناك ما نستطيع فعله في هذه المرحلة، لكن علينا أن نقاتل حتى النهاية - وإن كنت أكره استخدام هذا التعبير حيث أن ذلك ليس من طبيعتي. ويعتقد الأسد الآن أنه يفوز ومن المحتمل أن يكون الأمر كذلك. هل هناك شيء يمكنك فعله لكي تمنح عدداً معقولاً من القوات - ممن كانوا ذات يوم في "الجيش السوري الحر" - فرصةً للتأثير على الوضع على أرض الواقع، بحيث عندما تذهب إلى طاولة المفاوضات تكون لديك بعض الأوراق التي تستطيع استغلالها؟ فالدبلوماسية تتبع الوضع على أرض الواقع، وليس العكس من ذلك.

وفيما يتعلق بالسعي إلى تحقيق السلام بين فلسطين وإسرائيل على مدار عقود طويلة: عرض إيهود أولمرت اتفاقاً لا أعتقد أن الفلسطينيين سيحصلون على مثله من أي رئيس وزراء إسرائيلي آخر. وأتذكر أنني قلت للرئيس عباس "سيدي الرئيس، كان عليكم أن تقبلوا الاتفاق عام 48، كان عليكم أن تقبلوا الاتفاق عام 67، كان عليكم أن تقبلوا الاتفاق عام 2000، أقبلوا الاتفاق. إن دولتكم تصغر في كل مرة ترفضون فيها اتفاقاً. فما الذي في كل ذلك الذي لا تراه؟"

لا أعتقد أن الفلسطينيين قد أعدوا شعبهم لما يتطلبه السلام وفي النهاية عندما يحصلون على اتفاق لا يستطيعون قبوله، لأنهم يخشون من شعوبهم. لذا، أعتقد أن هناك ما يجب فعله.

نبذة عن الجائزة

تحتفل جائزة "رجل الدولة - الباحث" بالقادة البارزين الذين يجسدون، من خلال الخدمة العامة والإنجازات المهنية، الفكرة المتمثلة في أن الدراسة السليمة والمعرفة المتبصرة بالتاريخ أمران ضروريان لتطبيق سياسة حكيمة وفعالة وتعزيز عملية السلام والأمن في الشرق الأوسط. وتشمل قائمة المكرمين السابقين الرئيس الأمريكي بيل كلينتون، ورئيس الوزراء البريطاني توني بلير، ووزيرا الخارجية الأمريكية هنري كيسنجر وجورج شولتز، وناشطا حقوق الإنسان ناتان شارانسكي وسعد الدين إبراهيم، والدبلوماسيان المخضرمان والمستشاران دينيس روس وإليوت أبرامز، والمؤرخ البارز برنارد لويس.

 

فيديوهات ذات صلة باللغة الإنكليزية

 الرئيس جورج دبليو بوش يقدم الدكتورة كوندوليزا رايس

تكريم خاص لمورتيمر بي. زوكرمان

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

Special Events

The Seventh Annual Scholar-Statesman Award Dinner

Condoleezza Rice and Mortimer Zuckerman

Also available in العربية

October 1, 2013


On October 1, The Washington Institute for Near East Policy presented its 2013 Scholar-Statesman Award to former secretary of state Dr. Condoleezza Rice and paid special tribute to publisher and philanthropist Mortimer B. Zuckerman at a gala dinner in New York City. The following is a selection of excerpts from Dr. Rice's remarks.

On receiving the Scholar-Statesman Award: I am so grateful to receive this award because it comes from The Washington Institute. For almost three decades now, for almost thirty years, you have been engaged in the extraordinarily important work of making ideas matter in some of the most vexing and critically important debates of our time. Ideas do matter, but they matter only if they are ideas that are tested by people who are willing to engage in civil discourse with those who might disagree -- people who are willing, indeed, to search for the truth. That has been the reputation and the reality of The Washington Institute since your founding.

On U.S. negotiation posture toward Iran: I fear that the Iranians hope that we are so desperate for a deal that we are prepared to put aside several extremely important elements that we have to have [in a deal]. They cannot continue -- in any fashion, in any shape, at any percentage -- to enrich and reprocess uranium. It's unacceptable. Secondly, what they have reprocessed and stored should be shipped out of the country into safekeeping. And third, there needs to be verifiable -- to the degree that one can verify -- destruction of the sites that can produce that. Because the problem is, if you leave Iran with the capability, even if they're not actively engaged, you leave them with the option for a nuclear weapon at the time of their choosing. Since we know that bomb design and delivery vehicles have already been probably acquired, it's only a matter of the fuel. So, they're already very far along.

On the credibility of the U.S. threat of the use of force: We have a lot to repair. There's a saying where I come from down in Alabama, "Don’t cock it if you don’t plan to shoot it." I think that the problem now is that we cocked the pistol and then laid it on the table, and that has seriously undermined [American] credibility.

On U.S. options regarding Syria: We now have very few good options in Syria. I think the issue is whether there is anything you can do at this point -- and I hate to use this terminology, because it's not my nature -- to fight to a stalemate. Right now, Assad thinks he's winning, and he probably is. Is there anything that you can do to give more reasonable forces on the ground, people who were at one time in the Free Syrian Army, a chance to affect the situation on the ground, so that when you go to the diplomatic table, you've got some cards to play? Diplomacy follows the situation on the ground, not the other way around.

On the decades-long pursuit of Israeli-Palestinian peace: Ehud Olmert laid down a deal that I don't know the Palestinians will ever get from another Israeli prime minister. And I remember saying to President Abbas, "Mr. President, you should've taken the deal in '48, you should've taken the deal in '67, you should've taken the deal in 2000, take the deal. Every time you don't take a deal, your state gets smaller. What about this don't you see?"

I don't think the Palestinians have prepared their people for what is needed for peace, and ultimately when they get a deal, they can't take it, because they fear their own people. So I think that work has got to be done.

About the Award

The Scholar-Statesman Award celebrates outstanding leaders who, through their public service and professional achievements, exemplify the idea that sound scholarship and a discerning knowledge of history are essential to wise and effective policy and the advancement of peace and security in the Middle East. Previous honorees include President Bill Clinton, British prime minister Tony Blair, Secretary of State Henry Kissinger, Secretary of State George P. Shultz, human rights activists Natan Sharansky and Saad Eddin Ibrahim, veteran diplomats and advisors Dennis Ross and Elliott Abrams, and eminent historian Bernard Lewis.

Related Video

President George W. Bush Introduces Dr. Condoleezza Rice

Paying Special Tribute to Mortimer B. Zuckerman