أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

صفحات رأي ومقالات

كوباني أكثر من معركة عسكرية

جون صالح

متاح أيضاً في English

منتدى فكرة

5 كانون الأول/ديسمبر 2014


كان هجوم تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية في العراق والشام» («داعش»)، أو «الدولة الإسلامية» على مدينة كوباني/عين العرب الكردية في شمال سوريا بمثابة المصيدة التي أوقع نفسه فيها مما سهّل من مهمة التحالف الدولي في تحقيق ضربات موجعة له. لكن تصميم تنظيم «داعش» على السيطرة على كوباني الواقعة على حدود تركيا هو بمثابة انتحار، ودعم سياسي غير مباشر للأكراد كونهم يحاربون الإرهاب وهو الأمر الذي أكسبهم تعاطفاً دولياً وإقليمياً مع حقهم في تحقيق المصير. لكن معركة كوباني ليست معركة عسكرية فحسب وإنما هي حرب سياسية باردة بين أطراف ثلاثة: تركيا والأكراد وواشنطن

تركيا التي هي دولة عضو في حلف "الناتو"، اتخذت موقف المتفرج والمتورط في دعم تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية»، كما كانت هناك محاولة من قبل الرئيس التركي، رجب طيب اردوغان، لمسك خيوط اللعبة في سوريا خشية الخروج من اللعبة في ظل التقارب الأمريكي- الإيراني، وبسبب قلقه من أن تتخذ واشنطن الأكراد كحلفاء لها في الحرب ضد الإرهاب. لكن المثير للجدل هو منح واشنطن دوراً لـ "حزب العمال الكردستاني" وفرعه السوري ("حزب الاتحاد الديمقراطي" ) في معركة كوباني وشنكال والتعاون مع "حكومة إقليم كردستان العراق" في قتال تنظيم «داعش»، رغم أن أربيل هي حليف أنقرة السياسي

أن تورط تركيا في دعم تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» وكتائب إسلامية في سوريا، هو ورقة ضغط وتعبير عن غضبها من تهميش دورها في سوريا والعراق بعد الحوارات السياسية بين واشنطن والرياض وطهران. فأنقرة تخلت عن حليفها رئيس "إقليم كردستان" ،مسعود البرزاني، حين قام التنظيم الإرهابي بمهاجمة "إقليم كردستان العراق" ولم تقدم له الدعم العسكري، كما رفضت أن تكون شريكة في الحرب على تنظيم «داعش»، الأمر الذي حوّلها إلى دولة تلعب بالنار وتسيء للمصالح الأمريكية في المنطقة. ولهذا أظهرت إدارة الرئيس باراك أوباما موقفاً حاسماً حين دعمت البيشمركة والمقاتلين الأكراد في كوباني.

وفي الواقع، لا تريد تركيا أن تصبح الورقة الكردية السورية في سلّة العمال الكردستاني، ولهذا ترغب أن يكون كل شيء عبر "إقليم كردستان" الراعي لعملية السلام الجارية بين الزعيم الكردي المسجون، عبد الله أوجلان، وتركيا. والحرب السياسية التي يشنها أردوغان على أمريكا تعكس الغضب التركي من حوارات دخلتها الخارجية الأمريكية مع فرع "حزب العمال الكردستاني" في سوريا ومساعدتها لهم في معركة كوباني. وهناك أصوات داخل واشنطن تطالب بإزالة "حزب العمال الكردستاني" من قائمة الإرهاب لسببين : أولاً كون "حزب العمال الكردستاني" وفروعه والبيشمركة يقاتلون تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية»، وثانياً لمعاقبة تركيا والضغط عليها عبر الورقة الكردية، وانعكاساتها على مستقبل أردوغان وحزبه في الداخل التركي قد تنتهي في المستقبل إلى فقدان السلطة التي اكتسبها أردوغان بأصوات الناخبين الأكراد. لكن ليس من السهولة أن تتخلى واشنطن عن تركيا و"حكومة إقليم كردستان" لأجل "حزب العمال الكردستاني" وخاصة أن الحزب ما زال على قائمة الإرهاب وله علاقات مع دمشق وموسكو

وتدرك واشنطن أن جمع "حزب العمال الكردستاني" و"إقليم كردستان العراق" وتركيا في سلة واحدة هو أمر صعب جداً، ولهذا نجد أن "حزب العمال الكردستاني" قدم تنازلات كبيرة لتركيا واستنجد بها في معركة كوباني، كما قدم تنازلات لواشنطن كي يضمن حصته من الكعكة السورية في المستقبل. كذلك ستتبنى تركيا خطاباً مختلفاً وأكثر مرونة مع واشنطن مع إبقاء أربيل مرجعية سياسية لها في الملف الكردي في سوريا، وهذا ما يتقاطع مع سياسة الولايات المتحدة التي تعتبر البرزاني الحليف الرئيسي. لهذا ما زالت المعارك العسكرية في كوباني مستمرة لحين تحقيق واشنطن لتوافقات سياسية بين الفرقاء الذين يستخدمون كوباني كساحة معارك سياسية غير متكافئة. لكن الجميع يدرك أن إدارة الرئيس أوباما هي التي تملك المفاتيح وتستطيع أن تحسم معركة كوباني.

 

جان صالح هو صحفي سوري مقيم في العاصمة الأمريكية، واشنطن

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

Articles & Op-Eds

The Battle for Kobane Is Also Political

John Saleh

Also available in العربية

Fikra Forum

December 5, 2014


By launching its assault on the Kurdish city of Kobane in northern Syria, the Islamic State of Iraq and al-Sham (ISIS) has inadvertently walked into a trap that has made it easier for the international coalition to strike the group. ISIS's determination to seize control of Kobane, which lies on the Turkish border, is foolish: now that the Kurds seem embroiled in an existential fight against the jihadist group, there is greater regional and international support for Kurdish self-determination. So the battle for Kobane is not just military, but political, too. It is part of a cold war between Turkey, the Kurds, and the United States.

Turkish president Recep Tayyip Erdogan has been trying to influence events in Syria, both to avoid being cast aside by a rapprochement between Iran and the United States and due to worries that Washington will embrace the Kurds as allies. However, the real controversy is that Washington has given the Kurdistan Workers Party (PKK) and its Syrian affiliate, the Democratic Union Party (PYD), a role in the battles of Kobane and Sinjar. Moreover, there has been cooperation between the PKK and the Kurdistan Regional Government (KRG) in the fight against ISIS, even though Erbil is allied with Ankara.

Turkish support for some Islamists in Syria is a way for Ankara to express its anger at being sidelined in discussions between Washington, Riyadh, and Tehran regarding Syria and Iraq. When ISIS attacked Iraqi Kurdistan, Turkey left KRG president Masoud Barzani in the lurch by failing to provide any military support and refusing to fight against ISIS. In doing so, Turkey was effectively undermining American interests in the region, which prompted the Obama administration to take a decisive stance by backing the peshmerga and other Kurdish fighters in Kobane.

In reality, Turkey does not want the Syrian Kurds to fall into the PKK's camp; it prefers that the KRG, which is sponsoring the peace process between the Kurds and Ankara, represent Kurdish interests. On the other hand, Erdogan's campaign against the United States reflects Turkey's outrage that the United States has made contact with the PKK's affiliate in Syria and provided them with assistance in Kobane. Voices in Washington are even calling for the PKK to be removed from the Foreign Terrorist Organizations list for two reasons: first, because the PKK, its affiliates, and the peshmerga are fighting ISIS, and second, because they think that Ankara could be pressured by exploiting Turkish-Kurdish tension. Such a move could have negative implications for the future of Erdogan and his Justice and Development Party -- including losing some of the power they gained thanks to Kurdish votes. However, it is not easy for the United States to abandon Turkey and the KRG for the PKK, especially since the PKK is still considered a terrorist group and has ties to both Damascus and Moscow.

Washington realizes that bringing together the PKK, the KRG, and Turkey will be very tricky. Thus we see that the PKK offered Turkey major concessions and even sought Turkey's aid during the battle for Kobane. It has also offered concessions to Washington in order to secure its future position in Syria. Turkey has likewise mitigated its rhetoric and shown flexibility in keeping Erbil as its political point of reference for the Kurdish issue in Syria, which dovetails with U.S. policy. For this reason, the battle for Kobane will continue until the United States manages to broker political agreements between these parties. Only Washington holds the key to such a solution.

John Saleh is a Syrian journalist based in Washington DC.