أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

تنبيه سياسي

السعودية تواجه عملية تدقيق في مؤتمر القمة

سايمون هندرسون

متاح أيضاً في English

20 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر 2020


بمعزلٍ عن اصطفاف قادة العالَم لالتقاط الصور، يحظى عادةً مؤتمر القمة الاقتصادي السنوي لـ"مجموعة العشرين" بتغطية إعلامية محدودة. ومن المرجح أن يكون اجتماع هذا العام، المقرر انعقاده افتراضيّاً في 21-22 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر مختلفاً - ولكن ليس بالطرق التي قد يريدها مضيفوه السعوديون.

وتحمل القمة شعار "توفير فرص القرن الحادي والعشرين للجميع"، ويسلّط موقع "مجموعة العشرين" الضوء على بعض الأفكار مثل "تمكين الإنسان" و"الحفاظ على كوكب الأرض" و"فتح آفاق جديدة". ومن المتوقع أن يصادق الحاضرون من ممثّلي الاقتصادات الرئيسية في العالم - 19 دولة بالإضافة إلى "الاتحاد الأوروبي" - على مجموعة متنوعة من المبادرات التي اتّفق عليها سابقاً وزراء المال وحكّام المصارف المركزية، وتشمل آليةً لتعزيز التمويل الذي يقدّمه "صندوق النقد الدولي" إلى الدول الفقيرة.

ومن المرجح أن يمثل السعوديون ولي العهد الأمير محمد بن سلمان، الذي وقف مبتسماً في الصف الأمامي بين الرئيس الأمريكي ترامب ورئيس الوزراء الياباني شينزو آبي خلال مجموعة الصور التي التُقطت العام الماضي في أوساكا. وتناقضَ ذلك مع اجتماع عام 2018 الذي عُقد في بوينس آيرس، حين حاول قادة العالَم بوضوح تجنّب ولي العهد بعد شهرين فقط من مقتل الصحفي السعودي المنشَقّ جمال خاشقجي. وزاد الأمير محمد بن سلمان من هذا الانزعاج الواضح حين ضربَ كفّه بكفّ الرئيس الروسي فلاديمير بوتين في إحدى الجلسات الرسمية.

وتتضمن قائمة الأمور التي لا بدّ من النظر فيها في هذا العام ما يلي:

هل سيظهر الملك سلمان؟ على  الرغم من أنّ الأمير محمد بن سلمان أصبح عمليّاً صانع القرار الأوّل في المملكة العربية السعودية، إلا أن والده المريض البالغ من العمر أربعة وثمانين عاماً يستمر في رئاسة الاجتماعات الأسبوعية لمجلس الوزراء في المملكة من استوديو مجهَّز بشكلٍ خاص في قصره. وقد يرغب أيضاً في حضور القمة افتراضيّاً، على الرغم من أن قدرته على القيام بأي شيء فيما يتخطى قراءة خطاب مُعد مسبقاً أمر مشكوك فيه. فهو لا يستطيع على الأرجح أن يدير النقاشات، ولكن مجرّد ظهوره سيعزّز الانطباع بأنه ما زال يشكّل السلطة العليا في المملكة - خاصة عندما يتعلق الأمر بتعليق التحركات السعودية نحو التطبيع مع إسرائيل في ظل مبادرات السلام الجديدة التي تقوم بها دول الخليج المجاورة، وحماس ابنه المفترض نحو توطيد العلاقات مع القدس.

مَن هم القادة العالميون المشاركون؟ منذ مقتل خاشقجي، تراجعَ حماس قادة الدول الديمقراطية للقاء الأمير محمد بن سلمان، على الرغم من أنه قد يخلَف والده ويتولّى الحكم على مدى الخمسين عاماً القادمة. وتَسبَّب اعتقال الناشطات العلني جدّاً في المملكة بزيادة هذا التردد. ويشكّل اعتقال لجين الهذلول المَثَل الأشهر، إذ دافعت عن حق المرأة في قيادة السيارة قبل أن يُعلن الأمير محمد بن سلمان عن هذا الحق كأحد إصلاحاته الخاصة. وتُضرِب هذه الناشطة عن الطعام في زنزانتها منذ الشهر الماضي، علماً أنها سُجنت منذ عام 2018 وتعرّضت للتعذيب وفقاً لبعض التقارير. ويزعم تقريرٌ جديدٌ أعدّته عضو مجلس اللوردات البريطاني، البارونة هيلينا كينيدي، أنّ المعتقلات السعوديات تعرّضنَ أيضاً لسوء المعاملة الجنسية.

مَن هي الدول المدعوة مِن بين البلدان غير الأعضاء في مجموعة العشرين؟ يَحقّ للرياض كمضيفة القمة أن تدعو بعض البلدان غير الأعضاء، وقد تعكس لائحتها النهائية على وضع السياسة الملكية السعودية. ويصحّ ذلك بشكلٍ خاص إذا عمدت إلى إقصاء الإمارات العربية المتحدة، حيث قاد ولي العهد الشيخ محمد بن زايد - الزعيم الفعلي للبلاد ويُعرَف بتقديم المشورة إلى الأمير محمد بن سلمان - عملية التطبيع الخليجية الأخيرة مع إسرائيل.

مَن هم المسؤولون الأتراك الذين سيحضرون؟ رغم سعي أنقرة إلى الحفاظ على العلاقات الرسمية مع الملك سلمان، إلّا أن الرئيس رجب طيب أردوغان يُعرف بنفوره من الأمير محمد بن سلمان. وقد يعتمد اختيار تركيا للوفد الافتراضي على المدى الذي تعتقد أن حضورها للقمة يبدو وكأنه تأييد للأمير محمد بن سلمان. فإذا لم يكن ممثّل أنقرة إلّا سفيراً أو أحد كبار المسؤولين، فسيتم تفسير ذلك على أنه ازدراء دبلوماسي.

عندما تم تسمية السعودية في البداية كمُضيفة في تموز/يوليو 2017، اعتُبرت قمة "مجموعة العشرين" لهذا العام إلى حدٍّ كبيرٍ بمثابة فرصة لتعزيز مكانة ولي العهد والترويج لخطته «الرؤية 2030» الهادفة إلى إبعاد اقتصاد المملكة عن الاعتماد على النفط. ومع أنّ أسعار النفط المتدنية وأزمة وباء فيروس كورونا ("كوفيد-19") تسببت منذ ذلك الوقت بتخفيض الإيرادات والاستثمار، ادّعى الأمير محمد بن سلمان الأسبوع الماضي أنّ إصلاحاته الجارية أنقذت المملكة من المزيد من التقشف. ومع ذلك، قد يكون هذا ارتياحاً قليلاً للعديد من السعوديين الذين تضرروا من ارتفاع الأسعار، وتضاعف ضريبة القيمة المضافة ثلاث مرات، وتخفيضات الدعم لموظفي القطاع العام.

 

سايمون هندرسون هو زميل "بيكر" ومدير "برنامج برنستاين لشؤون الخليج وسياسة الطاقة" في معهد واشنطن.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

Policy Alert

Saudi Arabia Faces Summit Scrutiny

Simon Henderson

Also available in العربية

November 20, 2020


The virtual G20 meeting in Riyadh will be watched closely for insights on the kingdom’s royal politics at home and its standing abroad.

Apart from photo lineups of world leaders, the annual Group of Twenty economic summit normally gets limited media coverage. This year’s meeting, scheduled as a virtual event on November 21-22, will likely be different—though not in ways that its Saudi hosts may want.

The summit’s slogan is “Realizing Opportunities of the 21st Century for All,” with the G20 website highlighting ideas such as “Empowering People,” Safeguarding the Planet,” and “Shaping New Frontiers.” The representatives of the major world economies in attendance—nineteen countries plus the European Union—are expected to endorse a variety of initiatives previously agreed to by finance ministers and central bankers, including a mechanism to boost IMF funding for poorer nations.

The Saudis will likely be represented by Crown Prince Muhammad bin Salman (known as MbS), who stood smiling in the front row between President Trump and Japanese prime minister Shinzo Abe during last year’s photo lineup in Osaka. This contrasted with the 2018 meeting in Buenos Aires, when world leaders visibly tried to avoid the crown prince just two months after the murder of Saudi dissident journalist Jamal Khashoggi. MbS only heightened this apparent discomfort when he high-fived Russian president Vladimir Putin at one of the formal sessions.

A checklist of items to look out for this year includes the following:

Will King Salman make an appearance? Although MbS has become Saudi Arabia’s top decisionmaker in practice, his ailing eighty-four-year-old father still chairs the kingdom’s weekly Council of Ministers meetings from a specially outfitted video studio in his palace. He may want to have a virtual presence at the summit as well, even though his ability to do anything more than read a prepared speech is questionable. He likely cannot lead discussions, but his appearance alone would add to the impression that he is still the kingdom’s ultimate authority—particularly when it comes to holding back Saudi moves toward normalization with Israel amid new peace initiatives by Gulf neighbors and his son’s presumed enthusiasm for deeper relations with Jerusalem.

Which world leaders will participate? Since Khashoggi’s murder, leaders of democratic countries have been less eager to meet with MbS, even though he could succeed his father and reign for the next fifty years. The kingdom’s highly publicized detention of women activists has only increased this hesitance. The best known is Loujain al-Hathloul, who advocated women’s right to drive before MbS declared it as one of his own reforms. Imprisoned since 2018 and reportedly subjected to torture, she has been on a hunger strike in her cell for the past month. A new report by British parliamentarian Baroness Helena Kennedy alleges that Saudi female detainees have also been sexually mistreated.

Which non-G20 countries are invited? As the summit’s host, Riyadh has the right to invite a few non-member states, and its final list could say much about the status of Saudi royal politics. This is particularly true if it excludes the United Arab Emirates, where Crown Prince Muhammad bin Zayed—the country’s de facto leader and a known mentor to MbS—has spearheaded the recent Gulf normalization drive with Israel.

Which Turkish officials will attend? Although Ankara has sought to maintain formal ties with King Salman, President Recep Tayyip Erdogan’s antipathy toward MbS is well-known. Turkey’s choice of virtual delegation may depend on the extent to which it believes attending the summit looks like an endorsement of MbS. If Ankara’s representative is only an ambassador or senior official, this will be interpreted as a diplomatic snub.

When Saudi Arabia was originally named as host in July 2017, this year’s G20 summit was widely seen as an occasion to bolster the crown prince’s position and promote his “Vision 2030” plan to shift the Saudi economy away from oil dependence. Although low oil prices and the COVID-19 crisis have since reduced revenues and investment, MbS claimed last week that his ongoing reforms have saved the kingdom from even greater austerity. Yet that may be small relief for the many Saudis who have been hit by higher prices, a tripling of value-added tax, and subsidy cutbacks for public-sector workers.

Simon Henderson is the Baker Fellow and director of the Bernstein Program on Gulf and Energy Policy at The Washington Institute.