أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

صفحات رأي ومقالات

نفوذ روسيا المتنامي في شمال أفريقيا

آنا بورشفسكايا

متاح أيضاً في English

"آتلنتيك كوميونيتي" ("المجتمع الأطلسي")

26 شباط/فبراير 2019


بينما استرعى تدخل موسكو في سوريا على الكثير من انتباه العالم، لطالما تخطت رؤية الرئيس الروسي فلاديمير بوتين في المنطقة حدود سوريا وحدها. فمنذ أن تولّى بوتين زمام السلطة، وضع ضمن أولوياته استعادة صورة روسيا كقوّة عظمى. وترتّب عن هذا الهدف، من جملة أمورٍ أخرى، عودة إلى المناطق التي اعتادت أن تكون فيها موسكو جهة فاعلة أساسيّة. ويحتل كلٌّ من الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا أعلى القائمة على جدول أعمال السياسة الخارجية الروسية. وتُظهِر الزيارة الأخيرة التي قام بها وزير الخارجية الروسي سيرغي لافروف إلى المغرب في شباط/فبراير والتي ركّزت من بين مسائل أخرى على "تسوية المشاكل القائمة في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا، فضلاً عن منطقة الصحراء الكبرى - الساحل"، الأهمية التي توليها موسكو إلى الدور الذي تلعبه في عملية صنع السلام.

وتشكّل منطقة شمال أفريقيا، على نحو متزايد، جزءاً من هذه الجهود التي أُعيد إحياؤها في السنوات الأخيرة. وتُعتبر بداية "الربيع العربي" في هذه المنطقة جانباً أساسياً من الاستراتيجية الإقليمية لموسكو. واضطلعت هذه الأحداث بأهمية لصانعي السياسات في موسكو لسببيْن أساسييْن: أولاً، رأتها موسكو على أنها استمرارية لما تعتبره تغييراً للنظام الذي ترعاه الولايات المتحدة، وامتداداً للثورات الملوّنة التي حصلت بشكلٍ أساسي في مرحلة ما بعد الحكم السوفياتي في منتصف العقد الأول من القرن الحالي. وبالنسبة إلى موسكو، طال هذا الميل أيضاً الشرق الأوسط، لا سيما مع ثورة الأرز في لبنان. ويبدو أن روسيا لا تعتقد أنه بإمكان شعبٍ ما أن ينتفض على حاكمه بنفسه، من دون دعم الولايات المتحدة. وفي هذا السياق، اتّهم بوتين الولايات المتحدة برعاية الاحتجاجات ضده في أواخر عام 2011 وأوائل عام 2012. وثانياً، تسببت هذه الأحداث بفقدان بوتين مؤقتاً للنفوذ الذي جاهد لاكتسابه مع الأنظمة التي أُطيح بها. لكن فضلاً عن "الربيع العربي"، تمتعت موسكو بمصالح سياسية واقتصادية وجغرافية استراتيجية في هذه المنطقة. وفي السنوات الأخيرة، تنامى نفوذ موسكو في المنطقة، خصوصاً في مصر وليبيا والجزائر، وبدرجة أقل في المغرب وتونس.

نظرة موسكو إلى المنطقة

تطمح روسيا في الوصول إلى البحر الأبيض المتوسط، وهذا جلّ ما يقدّمه الحلفاء في شمال أفريقيا. وقد حاولت موسكو الحصول على وصول بحري منذ عهد كاترين العظمى، التي اعتقدت أن البحر المتوسط شكّل مكوناً أساسياً في جعل روسيا قوةً عظمى. وفي هذا السياق، لم تتغير تطلعات الكرملين نسبيّاً حتى هذا اليوم. وترى موسكو أن الوصول إلى البحر المتوسط قد يحوّل روسيا إلى جهة فاعلة أساسية في منطقة النفوذ الأوروبي، وقد يقلل أيضاً من قدرة الولايات المتحدة على المناورة. وتتجلّى هذه الصورة أيضاً في البحر الأسود وبحر قزوين حيث تتنافس موسكو من أجل النفوذ. وقد وضعت موسكو عتادها العسكري في سوريا في محاولةٍ لإنشاء منطقة محرّمة (منطقة منع الوصول/تحريم الدخول)، وحققت نجاحاً جزئيّاً. ويعقّد موقع موسكو العسكري قدرة الولايات المتحدة على المناورة. ويمكن أن تساعد زيادة النفوذ في شمال أفريقيا على تحقيق هذا الهدف من خلال تأمين إمكانية ولوج إضافية إلى المرافئ على طول البحر الأبيض المتوسط، وبالتالي توسيع نطاق المنطقة المحرّمة من الجو إلى المياه. ويتمثل الهدف النهائي لمختلف أجزاء المنطقة المحرّمة في حرمان حرية التصرف، أو بمعنى آخر في الردع - وتعمل موسكو على تحقيق هذا الهدف في المنطقة.

ومن الناحية الاقتصادية، تسعى موسكو إلى المنافسة للحصول على دور مصدّرة الأسلحة المعتمدة لمنطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا بأكملها. وتُعدّ هذه المنطقة بالفعل ثاني أكبر مشتر للأسلحة الروسية، بينما تبقى روسيا أكبر مصدّر للأسلحة في العالم بعد الولايات المتحدة. وفيما يتخطى الأسلحة، توفّر هذه المنطقة فرصاً للشراكات في قطاع الطاقة والاستثمارات في تطوير البنى التحتية. وفي الوقت نفسه، تبرر موسكو وجودها في المنطقة حيث تدّعي مواصلة الحرب ضد الإرهاب هناك، والحاجة إلى تعزيز الشراكات مع الحلفاء الإقليميين. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، تقدّم شمال أفريقيا أيضاً نقطة انطلاق أعمق جنوباً في أفريقيا جنوب الصحراء الكبرى، حيث أصبحت موسكو ناشطة بشكل متزايد في السنوات الثلاث الأخيرة لأسبابٍ اقتصادية وسياسية. ومن غير المرجح أن يتراجع هذا الميل في أي وقت قريب.

وأخيراً، خلّف الانسحاب الأمريكي من المنطقة الذي بدأ في عهد إدارة أوباما ويستمر مع إدارة ترامب فراغاً سهّل على بوتين التدخل وترسيخ نفوذه - وما كانت لتتوفّر له هذه الفرص في ظلّ وجود أمريكي أقوى. فخلافاً للولايات المتحدة، لا تضع موسكو أي شروط مسبقة على دبلوماسيتها. وتميل هذه الشروط المسبقة، مثل تحسين حقوق الإنسان أو حظر مبيعات الأسلحة الثانوية، إلى دعم ما يفضّله الحكّام الإقليميون.

مصر وليبيا

منذ "اتفاقية كامب ديفيد"، شكّلت مصر حجر الزاوية للسياسة الأمنية الإقليمية الأمريكية. ولكنّ روسيا قامت أيضاً بتطوير العلاقات مع مصر بطرق متعددة في السنوات الأخيرة: فقد شهدنا نشوء علاقات ثنائية جديدة في المجالات السياسية والعسكرية والاقتصادية، من خلال استغلال تدهور العلاقات المصرية مع إدارة أوباما. وفي غضون ذلك، يبدو أن القاهرة مهتمة فعلاً بالتنويع وعدم الاكتفاء بالولايات المتحدة، ولا ينبغي أن يُهمِل واضعو السياسات احتمال التوجّه نحو روسيا. وتستمر التجارة الثنائية في النمو، وتعزز المنطقة الصناعية الاقتصادية التي أُنجزت مؤخراً مصالح موسكو السياسية في مصر بشكل متزايد. ووقّع البلَدان اتفاقاً يسمح لموسكو ببناء أول محطة للطاقة النووية في مصر، ونظّما مناورات بحرية مشتركة وتدريبات عسكرية أوسع نطاقاً، وازداد اعتماد مصر على واردات الأسلحة الروسية لتزويد جهازها العسكري والدفاعي. وفي هذا السياق، أصبح موقف موسكو بشأن الرئيس السوري بشّار الأسد يحظى بقبول مصر، ورفضت القاهرة في العام الماضي طلباً أمريكيّاً بإرسال قوّاتٍ مصرية إلى سوريا.

وتنشط موسكو في ليبيا. وتميل أكثر نحو التعاون مع خليفة حفتر، قائد الجيش الليبي الذي يسيطر على شرق ليبيا الغني بالنفط. ولكن بوتين بنى أيضاً علاقاتٍ قوية مع حكومة السرّاج كجزءٍ من نهج "الصداقة مع الجميع" الذي يعتمده بوتين في المنطقة. وفي غضون ذلك، لا تزال الولايات المتحدة غائبة إلى حد كبير في ليبيا. لذلك تحتلّ روسيا موقعاً مثالياً لممارسة النفوذ هناك في ظل غياب أمريكا. وفي هذا السياق، أفاد الجنرال توماس د. والدهاوزر من فيلق مشاة البحرية الأمريكية في شهادته (أمام "لجنة مجلس الشيوخ الأمريكي للخدمات المسلحة") في شباط/فبراير من هذا العام أن موسكو تسعى إلى إبرام عقود اقتصادية وعسكرية والوصول إلى شاطئ البحر المتوسط. ويزيد هذا المسعى الأخير من إمكانية وصول روسيا إلى الحدود الجنوبية لأوروبا - وهو أمر بالغ الأهمية للتأثير في مسألة اللاجئين في مختلف أنحاء أوروبا. ووفقاً للمفوضية الأوروبية، تشكّل ليبيا "نقطة الانطلاق لـ 90% من أولئك الذين يسعون للسفر إلى أوروبا".

الجزائر والمغرب وتونس

لطالما بقيت الجزائر في معسكر موسكو الذي يضم أقرب الحلفاء الإقليميين. فمنذ عام 2001، تعاون البلدان بشكلٍ أساسي في القطاع العسكري. وفي عام 2006، ألغى بوتين ديناً إلى موسكو قيمته 4.7 مليار دولار يعود إلى الحقبة السوفيتية، ووقّع اتفاق أسلحة بقيمة 7.5 مليار دولار شمل برنامج تحديث وتدريب عسكريين. واستمرت موسكو على مر السنين في بيع الأسلحة إلى الجزائر وتزويدها بالمعدات العسكرية، واتّسع نطاق التعاون العسكري في عام 2016 ليشمل تبادل المعلومات الاستخباراتية حول الجماعات الإرهابية في شمال أفريقيا. وتقرّبت تونس والمغرب، الحليفتان التقليديتان للولايات المتحدة، من موسكو في السنوات الأخيرة. ففي تونس، يتجلّى نفوذ موسكو بشكلٍ خاص في قطاع السياحة الذي يُعتبَر حيويّاً لاقتصاد البلاد، والذي انتعش ببطءٍ بعد هجوم سوسة عام 2015 الذي أسفر عن مقتل 38 سائحاً أجنبيّاً. وبالفعل، من المألوف جدّاً سماع أصحاب المتاجر التونسية يتحدثون باللغة الروسية مع الزبائن.

وفي عام 2016، زار ملك المغرب محمد السادس موسكو للمرة الأولى منذ عام 2002، ووقّع اتفاقاتٍ لتحسين العلاقات الاقتصادية. ومؤخّراً، بدأت موسكو تدعم برنامج الطاقة النووية المغربي. وقد ترتبط سياسة الرباط بخيبة الأمل المغربية من التعاطف المتصوَّر لكل من إدارتيْ أوباما وترامب مع "جبهة البوليساريو" وافتقارهما إلى الحماس إزاء الموقف المغربي بشأن النزاع على الصحراء الغربية. إن المفارقة هي كوْن "جبهة البوليساريو" وكيلة للسوفيت في الحرب الباردة، ولكنّ ذلك لم يشكّل عائقاً يصعب على موسكو تخطيه للوصول إلى الرباط.

المخاطر السياسية والأمنية

لا تزال ليبيا المرشّح الأساسي لخطوة موسكو الاستراتيجية التالية في شمال أفريقيا. وتشمل البلاد بحدّ ذاتها أولويات متعددة للسياسة الخارجية لموسكو، على سبيل المثال: سبيل الوصول إلى أسواق النفط والأسلحة، والوصول إلى البحر المتوسط، والضغط الإضافي على أوروبا من خلال التحكم بتدفق اللاجئين. ويولّد غياب الولايات المتحدة فراغاً يسمح لموسكو بترسيخ نفوذها من دون منازع. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، تُعتبَر مصر وليبيا حيويّتان من الناحية الاستراتيجية لأنهما تتيحان إمكانية الوصول إلى المنطقة بأكملها. وبذلك تشكّلان المدخل المثالي لاكتساب النفوذ في أوروبا ومعبراً للوصول إلى عمق أفريقيا، علماً أن موسكو تتمتع بالفعل بنفوذ كبير في مصر - وهو اتجاه من غير المرجح أن يضعف. وبعد مصر وليبيا، يثير نفوذ موسكو في المغرب قلقاً أيضاً، إذ يُعتبر أهم حليف إقليمي للولايات المتحدة بعد مصر.

ومؤخراً، أشار أوليغ أوزيروف، نائب مدير لشؤون أفريقيا في وزارة الخارجية الروسية وسفير روسيا لدى المملكة العربية السعودية، إلى أن بلدان أفريقية طلبت مساعدة روسية بعد ملاحظة "نجاح روسيا في عمليات مكافحة الإرهاب في سوريا". ويُظهر تعليقه التأثيرات البعيدة المدى لعمليات موسكو في سوريا. ويتمثل الخطر السياسي الناتج عن تنامي نفوذ موسكو في الفقدان المستمر للمصداقية الأمريكية، والغربية بشكلٍ أكثر شمولاً، في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا التي تصبح مكسباً روسيّاً.

أما الخطر الأمني بالنسبة للمنطقة فيتمثل بعجز موسكو في النهاية عن إرساء الأمن الحقيقي وحل النزاع في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا وعدم رغبتها في ذلك. وتتحدث موسكو عن السلام والاستقرار ولكنها تستفيد من النزاع المتدني المستوى. فتسعى عبر بناء العلاقات مع كافة الأطراف أن تكون الحكَم النهائي حيث تقوم بإدارة النزاع بدلاً من حله، وتبيع الأسلحة إلى كافة الجهات. ويولّد تنامي النفوذ الروسي في شمال أفريقيا مخاطر سياسية وأمنية لأوروبا، حيث تستعد روسيا اكتساب المزيد من التأثير فيها. ويفتح هذا التنامي أيضاً المزيد من الأبواب أمام النفوذ الروسي في الشرق الأوسط، والتوسع الروسي داخل أفريقيا، في حين ستؤدي لامبالاة موسكو إلى تعزيز النزعات المناهضة للديمقراطية بدلاً من تشجيع الإصلاح. وعلى نطاقٍ أوسع، تُنذر هذه النزعات بالمزيد من الانقسام بين الحلفاء الغربيين، وهو الشقاق الذي ليس من شأنه إلا أن يعقّد الجهود العالمية لمواجهة الأنشطة الروسية بفعالية.

 

 آنا بورشفسكايا هي زميلة أقدم في معهد واشنطن. وقد تم نشر هذا المقال في الأصل على موقع "آتلنتيك كوميونيتي" ("المجتمع الأطلسي").

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

Articles & Op-Eds

Russia’s Growing Influence in North Africa

Anna Borshchevskaya

Also available in العربية

Atlantic Community

February 26, 2019


Moscow casts itself as a reliable mediator and security partner, but in actuality it benefits from playing all sides of regional disputes and fostering perpetual low-level conflict.

While Moscow’s Syria intervention has captured much of the world’s attention, Russian President Vladimir Putin’s vision in the region always spanned beyond Syria alone. Since coming to power, Putin prioritized restoration of Russia’s image as a great power. This goal entailed, among others, a return to regions where Moscow used to be a key player. The Middle East and North Africa are both at the top of Russia’s foreign policy agenda. That Russian foreign minister Sergei Lavrov’s most recent trip to the Maghreb in February focused among other issues on “the settlement of the problems existing in the Middle East and North Africa, as well as the Sahara-Sahel region” shows the importance Moscow places on its own peacemaking role.

North Africa is increasingly part of these revived efforts in recent years. The fact that the Arab Spring originated in this region is one critical aspect towards regional strategy for Moscow. For policy makers in Moscow these events mattered for two reasons: First, Moscow saw them as a continuation of what it perceives as US-sponsored regime change, an extension of colour revolutions that occurred primarily in the post-Soviet space in the mid-2000s. For Moscow this trend also touched the Middle East, notably with Lebanon’s Cedar Revolution. It appears that Russia does not believe it’s possible for people to rise up against their ruler on their own, without US backing. In this vein, Putin accused the US of sponsoring protests against himself in late 2011-early 2012. Second, these events caused Putin to temporarily lose the influence he laboured to gain with the now-overthrown regimes. But beyond the Arab Spring, Moscow had political, economic, and geostrategic interests in this region. In recent years Moscow’s influence has grown in the region, especially in Egypt, Libya and Algeria, and to a lesser extent in Morocco and Tunisia.

MOSCOW’S VIEW OF THE REGION

Moscow covets access to the Mediterranean, and allies in North Africa offer just that. Moscow has attempted to gain naval access since the time of Catherine the Great, who believed the Mediterranean was a crucial component of making Russia a great power. In this sense, the Kremlin’s aspirations remain relatively unchanged to this day. Moscow believes that access to the Mediterranean could turn Russia into a key player in the European sphere of influence and would also reduce US ability to maneuver militarily. This follows a pattern that could already be observed in the Black Sea and the Caspian Sea where Moscow is vying for influence. Moscow has positioned its military hardware in Syria in an attempt to create an anti-area access denial (A2AD), which partially succeeded. Moscow’s military position complicates US ability to maneuver. Greater influence in North Africa can help further this goal by providing additional port access along the Mediterranean and thus extending an A2AD perimetre from air into water. The ultimate aim of A2AD bubbles is to deny freedom of action, in other words, to deter—and Moscow is working towards this aim in the region.

Economically, Moscow is vying for the role of an arms exporter of choice for the entire MENA region. The region is already the second largest purchaser of Russia’s arms, while Russia remains the world’s top arms exporter after the US. Beyond arms, the region offers opportunities for partnerships in the energy sector and investments in infrastructure development. Meanwhile, Moscow justifies its presence in the region as it claims to continue the fight against terrorism there, and the need to solidify partnerships with regional allies. In addition, North Africa also offers a springboard deeper south into sub-Saharan Africa, where Moscow has been increasingly active in the last three years for economic and political reasons. This trend is unlikely to abate any time soon.

Finally, American retreat from the region that began under the Obama administration and continues under the Trump administration has created a vacuum that has made it easier for Putin to step in and assert his own influence—opportunities he would not have had in a context of a stronger American presence. Moscow, unlike the US, attaches no preconditions on its diplomacy. These preconditions, such as improvement of human rights, or prohibition of secondary arms sales, tend to also play into the preferences of regional rulers.

EGYPT AND LIBYA

Since the Camp David accords, Egypt has been the cornerstone of American regional security policy. But Russia has also cultivated ties with Egypt in multiple ways in recent years: We have seen new bilateral ties in the political, military and economic spheres, taking advantage of Egypt’s deteriorating relations with the Obama administration. Meanwhile, Cairo appears genuinely interested in diversifying away from the US, and policy makers shouldn’t discount the possibility of a pivot towards Russia. Bilateral trade continues to grow, and the recent completion of an economic industrial zone further plays on Moscow’s political interests in Egypt. The two countries signed an agreement for Moscow to build Egypt’s first nuclear power plant, held joint naval drills and broader military exercises, and Egypt increasingly depends on Russian weapon imports to supply its military and defense apparatus. In this context, Egypt has come to accept Moscow’s position on Syrian President Assad, and last year declined a US request to send Egyptian troops to Syria.

Moscow is active in Libya. It leans more towards cooperation with Khalifa Haftar, the head of the Libyan National Army who controls Libya’s oil-rich east. But, Putin has also built strong ties with the Serraj government as part of Putin’s “friends with everyone” approach to the region. Meanwhile, the US remains largely absent in Libya. Moscow is ideally positioned to exert influence there in America’s absence. US Marine Corps Gen. Thomas D. Waldhauser testified in February this year that Moscow seeks economic and military contracts and to gain access to the Mediterranean coast. The latter would provide Russia greater access to Europe’s southern border—critical for leveraging the issue of refugees over Europe. According to the European Commission, Libya “represents the departure point for 90% of those seeking to travel to Europe.”

ALGERIA, MOROCCO AND TUNISIA

Algeria has long remained in Moscow’s camp of closer regional allies. Since 2001, the two countries have cooperated primarily in the military sector. In 2006 Putin cancelled a $4.7 Soviet-era debt to Moscow and signed a $7.5 billion arms deal that included a military modernization and training program. Over the years Moscow’s arms sales and military equipment to Algeria continued and in 2016 military cooperation expanded to sharing intelligence on terrorist groups in North Africa. Traditional US allies Tunisia and Morocco have edged closer to Moscow in recent years. In Tunisia, Moscow’s influence is especially visible in the tourism industry which is vital to the country’s economy, and has slowly rebounded after the 2015 Sousse attacks in which 38 foreign tourists were killed. Indeed, it is very common to hear Tunisian shop keepers speak Russian to customers.

In 2016, Morocco’s King Mohammed VI came to Moscow for the first time since 2002, and signed agreements on improving economic relations. Most recently, Moscow began support for Morocco’s nuclear energy programme. Rabat’s policy may be linked to Moroccan frustration with the perceived sympathy from both the Obama and Trump administration toward the Polisario Front and their lack of enthusiasm for Morocco’s position on the Western Sahara conflict. That the Polisario Front was a Soviet Cold War proxy is ironic, but has not been an insurmountable obstacle in Moscow’s outreach to Rabat.

POLITICAL AND SECURITY RISK

Libya remains the primary candidate for Moscow’s next strategic move in North Africa. The country itself encapsulates many of Moscow’s foreign policy priorities: access to oil and arms markets, access to the Mediterranean and additional leverage over Europe through controlling the tap of refugee flows. US absence creates a vacuum for Moscow to assert its influence unchallenged. Moreover, Egypt and Libya are strategically vital because they provide access to the entire region. It is the perfect gateway to gain leverage over Europe and a springboard deeper into Africa, and Moscow already wields much influence in Egypt—a trend that is unlikely to decline. After Egypt and Libya, Moscow’s influence in Morocco, the most important US regional ally after Egypt, is also worrisome.

Oleg Ozerov, the Russian Foreign Affairs Ministry’s deputy director for Africa and ambassador to Saudi Arabia, noted recently that African countries requested Russian assistance after observing Russia’s “success in counterterrorism operations in Syria.” His comment shows the far reaching implications of Moscow’s Syrian operations. The political risk of Moscow’s growing influence is the continued loss of American, and more broadly, Western credibility in the Middle East and North Africa that becomes Russia’s gain.

The security risk for the region is ultimately Moscow’s inability and lack of desire to bring genuine security and conflict resolution to the MENA region. Moscow talks about peace and stability but benefits from low-level conflict. Through building relationships with all parties it aims to emerge as the ultimate arbiter as it manages rather than resolves conflict, and sells arms to all sides. Russia’s growing influence in North Africa creates political and security risks for Europe, over whom Russia is poised to gain greater leverage. It also further opens doors for Russia’s influence in the Middle East, and expansion into Africa, while Moscow’s cynicism will reinforce anti-democratic trends rather than encourage reform. On a broader scale, these trends bode greater disunity among Western allies that can only complicate worldwide efforts to effectively counter Russia’s activities.

Anna Borshchevskaya is a senior fellow at The Washington Institute. This article was originally published on the Atlantic Community website.