أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 1408

إعادة النظر في حل الدولتين

و

متاح أيضاً في English

3 أكتوبر 2008


"في 23 أيلول/سبتمبر، 2008، ألقيت كلمتان من قبل اللواء المتقاعد جيورا آيلاند والسفير مارتن إنديك، في اجتماع غداء منتدى السياسة في معهد واشنطن. اللواء آيلاند رئيس سابق لمجلس الأمن القومي الإسرائيلي ويعمل حالياً أحد كبار الباحثين في معهد دراسات الأمن القومي التابع لجامعة تل أبيب. والسفير إنديك مدير مركز سابان لسياسة الشرق الأوسط في معهد بروكينغز. فيما يلي خلاصة المقرّر لملاحظاتهما".

جيورا آيلاند

في إطار الصراع الإسرائيلي-الفلسطيني تكمن مفارقة. فبالرغم من أنّ حل الدولتين معروف جيداً ومقبول على نطاق واسع، وبالرغم من وجود إجماع دولي على الحاجة إليه، لم يحرز تقدم يذكر لتحقيق هذه الغاية. يعني هذا أن أياً من الطرفين لا يرغب في الحل وليس على استعداد لإتخاذ ما يلزم من مخاطر للمضي قدماً والتوصل إلى اتفاق. وفي نهاية المطاف، فإن أقصى ما تستطيع حكومة إسرائيل تقديمه للفلسطينيين – والبقاء سياسياً -- هو أقل بكثير مما يمكن أن تقبله أي قيادة فلسطينية. وعلى هذا النحو، هناك فجوة بين الجانبين تستمر في الإتساع على مر السنين.

في كثير من الجوانب، الوضع الحالي أسوأ مما كان عليه قبل ثمانية أعوام. في عام 2000، كان هناك ثلاثة زعماء مصممون وقادرون على التوصل إلى اتفاق: الرئيس الأمريكي بيل كلنتون، ورئيس الوزراء الإسرائيلي ايهود باراك، والزعيم الفلسطيني ياسر عرفات. هذا النوع من القيادة مفقود اليوم. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، في حين تمتّع الجانبان بمستوى معقول من الأمن والتعاون والثقة في عام 2000، خلقت الانتفاضة بعد ذلك وضعاً مختلفاً تماماً على أرض الواقع كما نراه اليوم. كذلك يشكل صعود حركة حماس على الحلبة السياسية الفلسطينية تهديداً خطيراً لأي حل محتمل. ففي عام 2000، كانت حماس جماعة معارضة وكانت السلطة الفلسطينية قادرة على التصرف ضد إرادتها. أما اليوم، فيبدو أنه حتى لو فقدت حماس سيطرتها على غزة وفقدت أغلبيتها في المجلس التشريعي الفلسطيني، ستكون قوية سياسياً وعسكرياً بما فيه الكفاية لتقويض أي اتفاق سياسي. وأخيراً، هناك عدد متزايد من المستوطنين الإسرائيليين في الضفة الغربية وقد لا تكون الحكومة الإسرائيلية مستعدة أو حتى قادرة على إجلائهم.

فعلى أي أساس يمكن للمرء أن يعتقد بأنّ ما فشل قبل ثمانية أعوام في ظروف مثلى يمكن أن ينجح اليوم وقد أصبح الوضع أسوأ بكثير؟ لقد بات واضحاً اليوم أن الحل التقليدي القائم على دولتين -- أي إقامة دولتين مستقلتين بين نهر الأردن والبحر المتوسط -- ليس جذاباً بما فيه الكفاية لدفع أي من الطرفين للمضي قدماً في هذا السبيل. وهكذا، ولتجنب إطالة أمد الصراع، من الضروري تعديل حل الدولتين أملاً بإقناع كلا الطرفين لإتخاذ المزيد من المخاطر أو تقديم المزيد من التنازلات.

إحدى التغييرات المتصورة هي إعطاء الأردن المسؤولية الأمنية عن الضفة الغربية. سيكون من المفضل إعطاء هذا الدور إلى الأردن بدلاً من السلطة الفلسطينية لسبب رئيسي واحد: هو حماس. هناك قلق مشروع من أنه إذا أقيمت دولة فلسطينية في الضفة الغربية، فسوف تسيطر عليها حماس لا محالة. لذلك، فإن إيكال المسؤولية الأمنية إلى الأردن مع ضمان الإستقلال السياسي الفلسطيني يمكن أن يمنع التهديد الذي يشكله حماس على إسرائيل. وعلاوة على ذلك، في ضوء سيطرة حماس على غزة، قد يكون الفلسطينيون أكثر استعداداً للعيش تحت حكم الأردن من العيش في دولة حماس إذا تم إنشاء دولة في الضفة الغربية.

البديل الآخر هو حل إقليمي. إن الحل التقليدي القائم على دولتين يترك مشكلتين رئيسيتين دون حل: الاحتمال الرهيب لإجلاء نحو 100,000 إسرائيلي من الضفة الغربية، وافتقار غزة إلى الأراضي والموارد اللازمة لتكون جزءاً من دولة قابلة للحياة. وفي نهاية المطاف، ستكون هناك حاجة إلى المزيد من الأراضي -- وهذا الشيء الواحد الذي يستطيع العالم العربي أن يوفره. وهكذا، يمكن حل المشكلة بالمبادلة المتعددة الأطراف للأراضي تشمل مصر وإسرائيل والأراضي الفلسطينية. ففي استطاعة مصر التنازل عن مساحة متواضعة من الأرض تؤدي إلى زيادة كبيرة في حجم قطاع غزة. وتحتفظ إسرائيل بعد ذلك بقسم من الضفة الغربية يعادل ما تعطيه مصر لغزة من أرض. في المقابل، تمنح إسرائيل جزءاً معادلاً من الأرض من صحراء النقب إلى مصر وتخلق بذلك ممراً مباشراً من مصر إلى الأردن.

وبالرغم من أن العديد من القضايا المركزية في الصراع الفلسطيني-الإسرائيلي صعبة الحل، فإنّ المثبطات الرئيسية لحل هذه القضايا هي الأرض والأمن. فقطعة الأرض التي نحن بصددها هي ببساطة صغيرة جداً وغير كافية لإرضاء كلا الجانبين، ويرجع الأمر إلى الدول المجاورة لتقدم إسهاماتها إذا كان لحل الدولتين أن ينجح. وإذا كان هذا الخيار لا يبدو ممكناً، من الضروري التوصل إلى قرارات بديلة لهذا الصراع. وسيكون سد الفجوة المتزايدة الاتساع بين الجانبين مستحيلاً إذا استمر هاجس الحل الواحد فقط قائماً. لقد حان الوقت لاستكشاف إمكانيات أخرى بدلاً من الإستمرار في النهج نفسه الذي فشل مراراً في الماضي. وإلا، فسيبقى هذا الحل يرواغنا – ولو أن الجميع يريد ذلك.

مارتن إنديك

بالرغم من أن جيورا آيلاند يقدم أفكاراً مثيرة للاهتمام، إلا أنها ليست خيارات قابلة للتطبيق. تحدّيه مهم لتوفير حلول بديلة، لكنه يتخذ نهجاً غربياً جوهرياً للوضع، ينجذب إليه الأمريكيون بدافع الاعتقاد أنّ لكل مشكلة حلاً، لكنّ في حلوله عيوب جوهرية.

بخصوص الخيار الأردني، في نهاية المطاف لن تكون هناك حكومة أردنية واحدة مستعدة لتولي مسؤولية الأمن من إسرائيل والقيام بمهام ضبط الفلسطينيين. فالفلسطينيون في الضفة الغربية يشكلون تهديداً ديموغرافياً للأردنيين. وعلاوة على ذلك، يمر آيلاند على قضية الهوية الفلسطينية بسرعة كبيرة جداً بإشارته بأن الفلسطينيين في الضفة الغربية سيكونون مستعدين لقبول الهوية الوطنية الأردنية. ومن المشكوك فيه جداً أن يوافق الفلسطينيون على ذلك بسهولة. أما بخصوص الخيار الإقليمي، فمن الناحية التاريخية لم تكن الدول العربية راغبة في الدخول في هذا النوع من الحل. ونظراً لإصرار مصر في ثمانينات القرن الماضي على رفع مسألة منطقة طابا الحدودية الصغيرة جداً في سيناء إلى التحكيم الدولي، من غير الواقعي أن نتوقع بأن يتخلّى المصريون عن طيب خاطر عن أي شبر من سيناء لمصلحة جيرانهم الفلسطينيين.

في هذه المرحلة، لا يبدو أن بإمكان الإسرائيليين والفلسطينيين تحقيق حل الدولتين وحدهما؛ ولابد من تدخل طرف ثالث لإقامة سلام دائم. مصر والأردن -- الجاران العربيان الأشد تأثراً بهذا الوضع مباشرة – يساهمان في تحقيق الحل، لكن ربما أقل مما تود واشنطن. ومع ذلك، لا ينبغي الإستهانة بمساهمتهما: من دور مصر في التفاوض على وقف إطلاق النار وضبط الحدود مع غزة، إلى إسهام الأردن في تدريب أجهزة الأمن الفلسطينية. فمشاركتهما تساعد على تهيئة الظروف التي يمكن أن تجعل حل الدولتين أكثر قابلية على الإستمرار في الحياة رغم ما يعانيه من صعوبات. يحب علينا أن نحاول دعم أولئك الذين يملكون الإرادة لتحقيق السلام وتعزيز قدراتهم. وقد ساعدنا الأردنيين في ذلك، لكن بالرغم من إحراز بعض التقدم، لم تكن تلك المساعدة كافية. فمشاركة بقية الدول العربية ضرورية لدفع العملية إلى الأمام.

ومع ذلك، فإنّ التقدم الذي أحرزته إسرائيل منذ أن وقعت على اتفاق سلام مع مصر يتغلّب على العقبات آنفة الذكر. كحد أدنى، تتمتع إسرائيل اليوم بالسلام مع مصر والأردن، وقد خطت الحكومات الإسرائيلية خطوات كبيرة في سبيل قبول الحل القائم على الدولتين. كذلك، بالرغم من صعود حركة حماس على الحلبة السياسية الفلسطينية، يمكن المرء أن يجادل بأنها بدأت تقبل تدريجياً الأمر الواقع حول حقيقة قيام إسرائيل، كما تبيّن في مفاوضاتها غير الرسمية مع إسرائيل على وقف إطلاق النار في غزة. وعلاوة على ذلك، فإنّ معظم المشكلات التي يطرحها آيلاند هي في الواقع قابلة للحلول، لكنها تتطلب إرادة سياسية من كلا الجانبين. فالعقبات مثل إجلاء جماعي للمستوطنين الإسرائيليين ومشكلة اللاجئين ليست مستعصية على الحل. إنها تتطلب قيادة شجاعة مستعدة لقول الحقيقة لشعبها.

وكلما زادت الشكوك المثارة وكلما زادت البدائل المطروحة، كان حل الدولتين أفضل. لقد أجرت الحكومتان الإسرائيلية والفلسطينية مفاوضات جادة في السنة الماضية ووصلتا إلى النقطة التي كانتا عليها في عام 2000 بعد تطوير معايير كلينتون. هذا التقدم يثبت صلاحية الأفكار الأساسية التي طرحها كلينتون قبل ثماني سنوات. وعلى المدى الطويل، ليست هذه هي اللحظة المناسبة للتخلي عن حل الدولتين: إنه وقت السعي لبذل المزيد من الجهود ولكن بإلحاح أكبر.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 1408

Rethinking the Two-State Solution

Giora Eiland and Martin Indyk

Also available in العربية

Policy #1408

October 3, 2008


On September 23, 2008, Maj. Gen. (Ret.) Giora Eiland and Ambassador Martin Indyk addressed a Policy Forum luncheon at The Washington Institute. General Eiland is former head of the Israeli National Security Council and currently a senior researcher at the Institute for National Security Studies in Tel Aviv. Ambassador Indyk directs the Saban Center for Middle East Policy at the Brookings Institution. The following is a rapporteur’s summary of their remarks.

GIORA EILAND

Within the Israeli-Palestinian conflict lies a paradox. Although the two-state solution is well known and widely accepted, and although there is international consensus regarding the need for it, little progress has been made to that end. This means that neither side desires the solution nor is willing to take the necessary risks to move forward and come to an agreement. Ultimately, the most the Israeli government can offer the Palestinians -- and survive politically -- is far less than what any Palestinian leadership can accept. As such, there is a gap between the two sides that continues to widen as the years go on.

In many aspects, the current situation is worse than it was eight years ago. In 2000, there were three leaders who were both determined and capable of reaching an agreement: U.S. president Bill Clinton, Israeli prime minister Ehud Barak, and Palestinian leader Yasser Arafat. That type of leadership is missing today. In addition, while the two sides enjoyed a reasonable level of security, cooperation, and trust in 2000, the subsequent intifada has created a completely different situation on the ground today. The rise of Hamas also poses a serious threat to any potential solution. Hamas was an opposition group in 2000, and the Palestinian Authority was capable of acting against its will. Today, it seems that even if Hamas were to lose control of Gaza and its majority in the Palestinian legislature, it would be strong enough politically and militarily to undermine any political agreement. Finally, there are a growing number of Israeli settlers in the West Bank that the Israeli government may not be willing or even capable of evacuating.

On what basis can one believe that what failed eight years ago during optimal circumstances could possibly be successful today when the situation is much worse? It has become clear that the conventional two-state solution -- the establishment of two independent states between the Jordan River and the Mediterranean Sea -- is not attractive enough for either side to move forward. Thus, in order to avoid prolonging the conflict, it is necessary to modify the solution in the hope of persuading both parties to take additional risks or make further concessions.

One variation is to give Jordan security responsibility for the West Bank. It would be preferable to give this role to Jordan rather than to the Palestinian Authority for one main reason: Hamas. There is valid concern that if a Palestinian state were established in the West Bank, Hamas would inevitably gain control. Contracting out the security responsibility to Jordan while ensuring Palestinian political autonomy could prevent the threat Hamas poses to Israel. Moreover, in light of Hamas's control of Gaza, if a state were established in the West Bank, Palestinians might be more prepared to live under Jordan than Hamas.

The other alternative is a regional solution. The conventional two-state solution leaves two major problems unsolved: the daunting prospect of evacuating roughly 100,000 Israelis from the West Bank and Gaza's lack of the necessary land and resources to be part of a viable state. Ultimately, the need is for more space -- the one thing the Arab world can provide. Thus, the problem could be solved with a multilateral land swap involving Egypt, Israel, and the Palestinian territories. Egypt could cede a modest amount of land to significantly increase the size of the Gaza Strip. Israel would then keep a percentage of the West Bank equal to the amount of land being given by Egypt to Gaza. In return, Israel would grant an equivalent part of the Negev desert to Egypt and create a direct corridor from Egypt to Jordan.

Although many of the core issues of the Palestinian-Israeli conflict are difficult, the main inhibitors are territory and security. The piece of land in question is simply too small and too inadequate to satisfy both sides, and it is up to neighboring states to make their own contributions if a two-state solution is to succeed. If this option does not seem feasible, it is necessary to come up with alternative resolutions to the conflict. Bridging the ever widening gap between the two sides will be impossible if the obsession with only one solution persists. Instead of continuing with the same approach that has repeatedly failed in the past, it is time to explore other possibilities. Otherwise, the solution will continue to elude us -- even though everybody wants it.

MARTIN INDYK

Although Giora Eiland offers interesting ideas, they are not viable options. His challenge to provide alternative solutions is important, but he takes a quintessentially Western approach to the situation. Americans are drawn to it out of the belief that every problem has a solution, but his solutions are inherently flawed.

In terms of the Jordanian option, ultimately no Jordanian government would be willing to take over from Israel the responsibility for policing Palestinians. West Bank Palestinians pose a demographic threat to Jordanians. Furthermore, Eiland moves past the issue of Palestinian identity too quickly in suggesting that Palestinians in the West Bank would be willing to accept a Jordanian national identity. It is highly doubtful the Palestinians would easily consent to this. As for the regional option, Arab states have historically been unwilling to engage in this type of solution. Given Egypt's insistence that the tiny Sinai border area of Taba be brought to international arbitration in the 1980s, it is unrealistic to expect the Egyptians to willingly give up any territory in the Sinai for the sake of their Palestinian neighbors.

At this point, it seems that Israelis and Palestinians cannot achieve a two-state solution alone; third-party intervention is necessary to establish a lasting peace. Egypt and Jordan -- the two Arab neighbors most directly affected by this situation -- are contributing, but perhaps less than Washington would like. Still, from Egypt's role in negotiating a ceasefire and policing the border with Gaza, to Jordan's training of Palestinian security services, their contributions should not be underestimated. Their involvement is helping create circumstances that may make a two-state solution more viable. We must try to support those who have the will to make peace and strengthen their capabilities. We have helped the Jordanians, but while some progress is being made, that assistance is not enough. The participation of the rest of the Arab states is essential to moving the process forward.

Nevertheless, the progress since Israel made peace with Egypt prevails over the aforementioned obstacles. At a minimum, Israel enjoys peace with Egypt and Jordan, and Israeli governments have made great strides in accepting the two-state solution. Also, although Hamas is ascendant, one can argue that it is gradually coming to terms with Israel's reality, as demonstrated by the informal ceasefires negotiated with Israel in Gaza. Furthermore, most of the problems Eiland raises are actually amenable to solutions, but require political will on both sides. Obstacles such as the mass evacuation of Israeli settlers and the refugee problem are not insurmountable. They require courageous leadership and a willingness to speak the truth to one's people.

The more doubts that are raised and the more alternatives that are offered, the better the two-state solution looks. Palestinian and Israeli governments have had serious negotiations in the past year and have arrived back at the point they were in 2000 after the development of the Clinton parameters. This progression proves the viability of the basic ideas that Clinton presented eight years ago. In the long term, this is not the moment to abandon the two-state solution: It is the time to inject the effort with greater urgency.

This rapporteur's summary was prepared by Sana Mahmood.