أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 1989

نتنياهو يدعو إلى إجراء انتخابات جديدة

ديفيد ماكوفسكي

متاح أيضاً في English

11 تشرين الأول/أكتوبر 2012


"يُعد غياب منافس واضح واحداً من العديد من الأسباب التي دعت نتنياهو الواثق من نفسه إلى الدعوة لإجراء انتخابات مبكرة."

 

استشهاداً بعدم قدرته على تمرير ما يطلق عليه بـ "ميزانية مسؤولة" في الكنيست، أعلن رئيس الوزراء الاسرائيلي بنيامين نتنياهو الثلاثاء عن دعوته لعقد انتخابات مبكرة. ولم يكن من المقرر أن يذهب الناخبين إلى صناديق الاقتراع قبل شهر تشرين الأول/أكتوبر المقبل، ولكن نتنياهو حث على إجراء الانتخابات في أقرب وقت ممكن. ويوم الخميس أعلن مكتب رئيس الوزراء أن الانتخابات ستُجرى في 22 كانون الثاني/يناير.

الأساس المنطقي لإجراء انتخابات مبكرة

جاء إعلان نتنياهو من المنطلق الأكثر مباشرة نتيجة عجزه عن ضمان دعم شركائه المتشددين في الائتلاف حزبا "شاس" و"يهَدوت هتورا"، لميزانية تتضمن تخفيضاً للنفقات بنحو 4 مليار دولار. فمعدلات المواليد بين أعضاء هذه الأحزاب هي الأعلى في إسرائيل ومن ثم فهم يرفضون جوهر التخفيضات المقترحة - المتمثل في إجراء تخفيضات كبيرة في مخصصات الأطفال.

وبمعنى أوسع، غالباً ما تتعثر الحكومات الإسرائيلية بشأن المسائل المالية. فالإخفاق في الموافقة على الميزانية عادة ما يمكِّن الأحزاب الصغيرة من تعزيز وضعها بشكل جيد أمام الناخبين في الفترة التي تسبق عام الانتخابات. وبموجب القانون الإسرائيلي، يجب على الحكومة أن تتنحى إذا لم تتمكن من الاتفاق على الميزانية خلال ثلاثة أشهر من السنة التقويمية الجديدة، وإذا استمر الجمود، سيكون الأمر مسألة وقت فقط قبل الدعوة لإجراء انتخابات مبكرة.

ومع ذلك، من المفيد لنتنياهو أن يقول إن القرار قد فُرض عليه، حيث ينظر الإسرائيليون إلى الانتخابات المبكرة بشيء من التوجس. وعلى وجه الخصوص، عندما يُقبِل رئيس وزراء حالي يحظى بتصنيفات عالية في استطلاعات الرأي على مثل هذه الخطوة، يعتبر الناخبون أن ذلك يرجع إلى حسابات ماكرة وقد يصل بهم الأمر إلى السعي لإسقاطه.

والواقع أن نتنياهو يرى الانتخابات المبكرة بمثابة ميزة سياسية. فلو كانت الميزانية هي المشكلة الوحيدة الحالية، فربما كان بوسعه تقديم تنازلات، مثلما فعل عندما [قررت حكومته] زيادة الضرائب خلال العام الماضي. والائتلاف الحالي هو إحدى الإئتلافات الأقل انقساماً في تاريخ إسرائيل، حيث لم تكن لدى المعارضة - بمفردها - أي فرصة لاسقاط الحكومة. وإذا كانت سهولة الموافقة على الميزانيات تعد مؤشراً موثوقاً على إذعان الائتلاف، فقد كان نتنياهو أول زعيم إسرائيلي على الإطلاق ينجح في تمرير ميزانية لمدة عامين.

وبعيداً عن المشاكل المالية، يسعى نتنياهو إلى إجراء انتخابات مبكرة للعديد من الأسباب. أولاً، تضاءل كثيراً الخوف من أن تقوم إسرائيل بشكل أحادي بمهاجمة إيران قبل تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر. ويبدو أن حليف نتنياهو الرئيسي، وزير الدفاع ايهود باراك، بدأ يفكر ثانية في هذا الموضوع، معتقداً أن القيام بهجوم قد يكون مكلفاً لإسرائيل من الناحية السياسية في حال القيام به بصورة متحدية لموقف واشنطن عشية الانتخابات الأمريكية. ويشير خطاب نتنياهو مؤخراً أمام الأمم المتحدة إلى أن المسألة قد أرجئت لمدة ستة إلى تسعة أشهر أخرى. وإذا كان احتمال توجيه ضربة قبل تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر هو ما أبعد الانتخابات المبكرة، فبإمكان رئيس الوزراء الإسرائيلي الآن السعي إلى وضع أجندة لموسم الحملة الانتخابية القادم، مع إبراز مركزية المسألة الإيرانية في حين تركز بعض الأحزاب الأخرى على القضايا الاجتماعية والاقتصادية.

ثانياً، يبدو أن نتنياهو يؤمن بأن الوقت قد لا يكون في صالحه، ومن الأفضل أن يؤمِّن وضعه الانتخابي القوي مبكراً بدلاً من المخاطرة لاحقاً. وبالنظر إلى احتمالية انزلاق أوروبا - الشريك التجاري الأكبر لإسرائيل - نحو كساد اقتصادي خلال العام المقبل، فسوف يبدأ الاقتصاد الإسرائيلي أيضاً في مواجهة بعض الصعوبات. ومن ثم، فإن إجراء الانتخابات في أواخر 2013 لن يكون في مصلحة نتنياهو. وعلاوة على ذلك، لا تزال التداعيات المحتملة للانتخابات الأمريكية غير مؤكدة. ويخشى مستشارو نتنياهو أن يكون أوباما خلال فترته الثانية أكثر مواجهة معه - وهي مخاطرة سياسية نظراً لأن الإسرائيليين يتوقعون من قادتهم إيجاد التوازن المناسب في التعامل مع واشنطن، مع تجنب الرضوخ الكامل أو التحدي الكامل وإدارة العلاقات بطريقة مثمرة وبناءة. وتعظِّم الانتخابات المبكرة من فرص نتنياهو في تحقيق مكاسب على الأرض في صناديق الاقتراع مع الحد من احتمالات ظهور مشاكل سياسية مع الولايات المتحدة.

ثالثاً، من الواضح أن فكرة إجراء انتخابات مبكرة تروق لنتنياهو لأنها تجعل من الصعب على منافسيه التنظيم. بيد أن الخريطة السياسية تبدو مختلفة اليوم عما كانت عليه عندما خاض الانتخابات السابقة في أوائل 2009. فحينها كان حزب "كاديما" المنافس هو الحاكم وكان قد فاز على حزب "الليكود" بفارق 28 مقابل 27 مقعداً في الكنيست المكون من 120 مقعداً، إلا انه لم يتمكن من جمع الواحد وستين مقعداً المطلوبة للحكم إلا بعد جهود مكثفة لبناء تحالف. بيد أن حزب "كاديما" منقسم اليوم، ولذلك يعتبر نتنياهو هو المفضَّل بشكل كبير. ووفقاً لاستطلاع للرأي أجرته صحيفة "هآرتس"، إذا أجريت الانتخابات اليوم سيحافظ ائتلاف نتنياهو الحالي على ريادته البرلمانية الواسعة بهامش 68-52.

ويمكن أن يعزى تراجع حزب "كاديما" إلى صعوبة الحفاظ على وحدة الحزب: فالمعارضة لا تمتلك أي حقائب وزارية لتخصيصها من أجل ضمان دعم الحزب، بل تفتقر إلى قيادة مؤثرة ومقنعة؛ كما أن قضيتها الرئيسية - وهي عملية السلام الفلسطينية - قد أصبحت مهمشة بشكل متزايد. ويحصل حزب "كاديما" الآن على أرقام هزيلة في استطلاعات الرأي، كما أن شخصياته الرئيسية وأنصاره أصبحوا مشتتين. وقد دعا زعيمه الحالي - رئيس أركان الجيش السابق شاؤول موفاز - إلى مدّ فترة التجنيد الإلزامي ليشمل اليهود المتشددين ["الطائفة الحريدية"]، وهي مسألة أدت إلى تفتيت ائتلاف قصير الأجل مع نتنياهو - مكوّن من 94 عضو - هذا الصيف. كما أن زعيمته السابقة، وزيرة الخارجية السابقة تسيبي ليفني، قد تشكل حزباً جديداً يكرس جل اهتمامه على إحياء عملية السلام. بالإضافة إلى ذلك أعلنت شخصية رئيسية أخرى - كاتب العمود يائير لابيد - عن تشكيل حزب جديد يركز على التعليم والطبقة الوسطى.

وفي غضون ذلك، يبدو أن بعض ناخبي "كاديما" قد انتقلوا إلى "حزب العمل"، الذي تركز رئيسته - المضيفة الحوارية شيلي يحيموفيتش - على المساواة في الدخل وارتفاع التكاليف التي تحدق بالعزاب والفرديين والأسر الشابة من الإسرائيليين. وقد بدأ الدعم الذي يحصل عليه الحزب في التزايد عقب الحركة الاحتجاجية الاجتماعية التي شهدها صيف عام 2011 التي أخرجت مئات الآلاف من الإسرائيليين إلى الشوارع.

ويرى النقاد أن الشخصية الوحيدة في إسرائيل القادرة على حشد معارضة موحدة وقوية لنتنياهو هو سابقه، إيهود أولمرت، الذي يفكر في العودة إلى العمل السياسي. ويبدو أن نتنياهو يؤمن بأن الانتخابات المبكرة تضعف بقوة من احتمالات تلك العودة. ورغم تبرئة ساحة أولمرت في اتهامين بالفساد هذا الصيف، إلا أنه أُدين في التهمة الأقل حدة وهي "خيانة الأمانة"، وهناك تهمة أخرى من المتوقع أن يصدر حكم بشأنها خلال الأشهر المقبلة. وبغض النظر عن النتيجة فقد أعلنت يحيموفيتش بالفعل أن حزب العمل لن يندمج تحت قيادة أولمرت.

المستجدات المتوقعة

مع اقتراب الموسم السياسي الإسرائيلي الجديد هناك عدد من التطورات التي يجدر تتبعها:

أولاً، إلى أي مدى سيشير نتنياهو إلى رغبته في تشكيل حكومة ذات قاعدة أوسع من الحكومة الحالية التي تضم الأحزاب المتشددة والمهاجرين الروس؟ إن مثل هذا التحالف يجب أن يتضمن عدداً كبيراً من معارضيه من أجل التعامل مع التحديات الكثيرة التي تواجهها إسرائيل في الشرق الأوسط الثائر. هل سيخبر دوائر حزب "الليكود" بأنه يريد تفويضاً لتشكيل حكومة ذات قاعدة عريضة؟

ثانياً، أي نوع من قائمة برلمانية سيتم تشكيلها عقب انتخابات "الليكود" الأولية؟ فغالباً ما يستشهد نتنياهو بخطابه من عام 2009 الذي دعا فيه إلى حل يقوم على دولتين مع الفلسطينيين، لكن من غير المؤكد كم هم عدد المرشحين من حزب "الليكود" الذين يؤيدون هذه الرؤية ويفوزون في انتخابات الحزب الأولية ليتم ضمهم في القائمة الانتخابية - إذ تشير بعض التقارير إلى أن المعتدلين السياسيين يمكن تنحيتهم أثناء الانتخابات الأولية.

ثالثاً، هل سيكتسب "حزب الاستقلال" بقيادة باراك قوة دافعة، أم هل سيتبخر سياسياً كما يتوقع البعض؟ إن باراك هو المهندس الرئيسي وراء مفهوم مهاجمة إيران، ورغم أنه لم يعد زعيماً لـ "حزب العمل"، إلا أنه يؤمن بأن القاعدة السياسية المتقلصة سوف تمنحه بعض القوة لشغل حقيبة الدفاع بعد الانتخابات المبكرة. وبدون ذلك، سوف يواجه نتنياهو صعوبة أكبر في إعادة تعيينه في منصبه الحالي.

رابعاً، هل سيحدث انقسام في حزب "شاس" المتشدد - الذي يشكل قاعدة نتنياهو الرئيسية منذ منتصف التسعينيات؟ إن مثل هذا التطور يقوم على فكرة أنه من الخطأ لحركة متشددة أن تضع كل البيض في نفس سلة حكومة نتنياهو الحالية.

خامساً، كيف سيتم تحديد الأجندة للانتخابات القادمة؟ إذا أصبحت إيران القضية الأساسية، ستكون أمام نتنياهو فرصة أفضل لتحقيق فوز ساحق، لكن إذا ظهرت القضايا الاجتماعية والاقتصادية في المقدمة، فإنها سوف تُضر به. ومن غير الواضح ما إذا كانت المشكلة التي كثيراً ما تُغفل والمتعلقة بالاضطرابات الإقليمية سوف تؤثر على نتائج الانتخابات. ويرجح أن نتنياهو يرى الصعود الأخير للإسلاميين في دول عديدة كمؤشر على أن تشككه العميق في التزام العرب بالسلام له ما يبرره، وأنه يجب على إسرائيل توخي الحذر. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، ربما سيستشهد بهذه التطورات الإقليمية في محاولة لإضفاء الطابع الشخصي على الانتخابات، بقوله أنه لا يوجد بديل عن الخبرة في التحرك والتنقل في المياه الضحلة الصعبة في الشرق الأوسط. بيد أن معارضيه سوف يدعون أن إسرائيل فقدت زمام المبادرة في القضية الفلسطينية تحت قيادته، وأن الوضع الإقليمي للبلاد سوف يشهد مزيداً من التدهور في حالة إعادة انتخابه.

وأخيراً، كيف ستؤثر نتيجة الانتخابات الأمريكية على عملية الاقتراع الإسرائيلية؟ يرجح أن نتنياهو يرى أن انتصار المرشح الجمهوري ميت رومني سيكون بمثابة هدية لإعادة كسب أصوات ناخبي "الليكود" الذين يدعمون الآن حزب "كاديما" - ومثل هذا التطور سيخفف من حدة الاتهام الموجه إليه بأنه المسؤول عن تردي العلاقات مع واشنطن، مما يجعل من السهل عودة هؤلاء الناخبين. وفي المقابل، يمكن أن يؤدي فوز أوباما إلى نتائج مختلطة، حيث سيدفع بعض الناخبين إلى تجنب نتنياهو للحيلولة دون وقوع أي احتكاك بينما سيدفع آخرين إلى الاعتماد على احتمالية أن يستجيب رئيس الوزراء الإسرائيلي بطريقة مماثلة إذا اختارت واشنطن مساراً أكثر مواجهة.

 

ديفيد ماكوفسكي هو زميل زيغلر المميز ومدير مشروع عملية السلام في الشرق الأوسط في معهد واشنطن.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 1989

Netanyahu Calls for New Elections

David Makovsky

Also available in العربية

October 11, 2012


The lack of a clear challenger is just one of the many reasons why a confident Netanyahu is calling for early elections.

Citing his inability to pass what he called a “responsible budget” in the Knesset, Israeli prime minister Binyamin Netanyahu announced Tuesday that he is calling for early elections. The country was not slated to go to the polls until next October, but Netanyahu urged that elections be held as soon as possible. It was announced today by the prime minister’s office that the elections will be held on January 22.

RATIONALE FOR EARLY ELECTIONS

In the most immediate sense, Netanyahu’s announcement was driven by his inability to ensure that his ultraorthodox coalition partners, the Shas Party and United Torah Judaism, would support a budget that included approximately $4 billion in cuts. Members of these parties have the highest birthrate in Israel and therefore reject the centerpiece of the proposed cuts -- major decreases in child allowances.

In a broader sense, Israeli governments often fall over fiscal issues. Failure to pass a budget traditionally enables smaller parties to position themselves advantageously among voters in the lead-up to an election year. And according to Israeli law, a government must step down if it cannot pass a budget three months into a new calendar year; if the stalemate continued, it was only a matter of time before early elections were called.

Nevertheless, it behooves Netanyahu to say that the decision was imposed on him, as Israelis view snap elections with suspicion. In particular, when an incumbent with high poll ratings makes such a move, voters tend to regard it as too calculating and may even seek to stymie it.

Netanyahu does in fact see early elections as politically beneficial. If the budget were the only issue at hand, he may well have compromised, just as he did in raising taxes over the past year. The current coalition has been one of the least fractious in Israeli history, as the opposition had no chance to bring down the government on its own. And if the ease of enacting budgets is a reliable indicator of coalition compliance, Netanyahu was the first Israeli leader to ever pass a two-year budget.

Fiscal issues aside, then, Netanyahu seeks early elections for a variety of reasons. First, the concern that Israel would unilaterally attack Iran before November has very much abated. Netanyahu’s main ally, Defense Minister Ehud Barak, apparently had second thoughts, believing a strike could be politically costly to Israel if done in defiance of Washington on the eve of U.S. elections. Netanyahu’s recent UN speech suggests that the issue has been deferred for another six to nine months. If the prospect of a pre-November strike was what kept early elections at bay, he can now seek to define the agenda for the upcoming campaign season, highlighting the centrality of the Iran issue while some other parties focus on socioeconomic issues.

Second, Netanyahu seems to believe that time may not be on his side, and that it is better to lock in his strong electoral position early rather than take risks down the road. Considering the likelihood that Israel’s largest trading partner, Europe, will slide into recession in the coming year, the Israeli economy will begin to feel some measure of pain as well. Therefore, late-2013 elections would not be to Netanyahu’s advantage. Moreover, the potential ramifications of the U.S. elections remain uncertain. Netanyahu’s advisors are concerned that a second-term Obama could be more confrontational with him -- a political risk given that Israelis expect their leaders to find the right balance in dealing with Washington, avoiding the extremes of utter compliance and utter defiance and managing relations in a productive manner. Early elections maximize Netanyahu’s chances to gain ground in the polls while minimizing the prospect of policy bruises with the United States.

Third, Netanyahu clearly likes the idea that early elections make it more difficult for his challengers to organize. The political map looks different today than it did when he ran in early 2009. At the time, the rival Kadima Party was the incumbent and had edged out his Likud Party by a 28-27 margin in the 120-seat Knesset; only after intensive coalition-building efforts was he able to garner the 61 seats required to govern. Today, however, Kadima has split, and Netanyahu is viewed as the overwhelming favorite. According to a poll by Haaretz, if elections were held today, Netanyahu’s current coalition would maintain its wide parliamentary lead by a 68-52 margin.

Kadima’s decline can be attributed to the difficulty of maintaining party unity: the opposition has no cabinet portfolios to allocate in order to ensure party support; it lacks charismatic leadership; and its signature issue, the Palestinian peace process, is increasingly marginalized. Kadima now polls in the single digits, and its key figures and supporters are fragmented. Its current leader -- former chief of staff Shaul Mofaz -- has called for extending the military draft to ultraorthodox Jews, an issue that broke a very short-lived 94-member coalition with Netanyahu this summer. And its previous leader, former foreign minister Tzipi Livni, may start her own party dedicated to reviving the peace process. Another key figure, columnist Yair Lapid, has announced a new party focusing on education and the middle class.

Meanwhile, some of Kadima’s voters seem to have moved to the Labor Party, whose leader -- talk-show host Shelly Yechimovich -- focuses on income equality and the high costs besetting Israeli singles and young families. Support for the party began to grow following the summer 2011 social protest movement, which brought hundreds of thousands of Israelis to the streets.

According to pundits, the only figure in Israel who could galvanize strong, unified opposition to Netanyahu is his predecessor, Ehud Olmert, who is considering a political comeback. Netanyahu seems to believe that early elections sharply reduce the prospects of such a comeback. Although Olmert was acquitted on two accusations of corruption this summer, he was convicted on the lesser charge of “breach of trust,” and one remaining allegation is expected to be decided in the coming months. Whatever the outcome, Yechimovich has already announced that Labor would not merge under Olmert.

DEVELOPMENTS TO FOLLOW

As the new Israeli political season opens, a number of developments bear watching:

First, to what extent will Netanyahu signal that he wants a government with a wider base than the ultraorthodox and Russian immigrant parties? Such a coalition would have to include a significant number of his opponents in order to deal with the many challenges Israel faces in a convulsive Middle East. Will he tell his Likud constituents that he wants a mandate for this broad-based government?

Second, what sort of parliamentary slate will emerge from the Likud primary? Netanyahu often cites his 2009 speech calling for a two-state solution with the Palestinians, but it is uncertain how many Likud candidates who favor that vision will prevail -- some reports indicate that political moderates could be pushed aside during primary voting.

Third, will Barak’s Independence Party gain momentum, or will it be politically vaporized as some predict? Barak is the chief architect behind the concept of attacking Iran, and although he no longer leads the Labor Party, he believes that even a diminished political base will give him some claim on the coveted defense portfolio after early elections. Failing that, Netanyahu would have more difficulty reappointing him to his current post.

Fourth, will the ultraorthodox Shas -- the key to Netanyahu’s base since the mid-1990s -- split? Such a development would be predicated on the idea that it is wrong for the ultraorthodox movement to put all its eggs in the same configuration of the current Netanyahu government.

Fifth, how will the agenda for the next election be defined? If Iran becomes the main issue, Netanyahu will have a better chance of claiming a major victory, but if socioeconomic issues come to the fore, they will work to his detriment. It is unclear whether the often-overlooked issue of regional upheaval will affect the race. Netanyahu likely views the recent rise of Islamists in various countries as a sign that his deep-seated suspicion of Arab commitment to peace is warranted, and that Israel must remain cautious. In addition, he will probably cite these regional developments in a bid to personalize the election, saying there is no substitute for experience in navigating the tricky shoals of the Middle East. Yet his opponents will charge that Israel has lost the initiative on the Palestinian issue under his watch, and that the country’s regional standing will deteriorate further if he is reelected.

Finally, how will the outcome of the U.S. elections affect Israeli balloting? Netanyahu would likely view a Mitt Romney victory as a boon in wooing back Likud voters who now support Kadima -- such a development could take the sting out of the charge that he is responsible for worsening relations with Washington, making it easier for such voters to return. In contrast, an Obama victory could cut both ways, spurring some voters to avoid Netanyahu to forestall friction and others to bank on the possibility that Netanyahu would respond likewise if Washington chooses a more confrontational course.

David Makovsky is the Ziegler distinguished fellow and director of the Project on the Middle East Peace Process at The Washington Institute.