أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

صفحات رأي ومقالات

الانتخابات العراقية تعمّق خطوط الصدع السياسية وسط التوتر الأمريكي - الإيراني

بلال وهاب

متاح أيضاً في English

"أكسيوس"

14 أيار/مايو 2018


وصلت نسبة المشاركة في الانتخابات العراقية التي أُجريت في الثاني عشر من أيار/مايو إلى مستوى منخفض بلغ أقل من 45 في المائة، بعد أن كانت 60 في المائة في انتخابات عامي 2014 و 2010. وقد خاب أمل الجمهور من العدد الكبير من الأحزاب التي شاركت في الانتخابات، والتي يُنظر إلى أعضائها على أنهم سياسيون فاسدون يتنافسون على مناصب في سوق سياسي في أعقاب كل انتخابات.

لماذا الأمر مهم: كانت الحكومات العراقية السابقة ضعيفة وغير فعالة بسبب التقاسم العرقي - الطائفي على السلطة. وقد أراد العراقيون حكومة جديدة خالية من الفساد تقوم بتوفير الخدمات والوظائف والأمن، و[قائمة مرشحين] تفوز في الانتخابات وتتمتع بجدول أعمال واضح وتفويض وطني قوي. وبدلاً من ذلك، أسفرت الانتخابات التي أجريت يوم السبت المنصرم عن تعميق الشقوق السياسية في البلاد.

وحيث فشلت سياسة الهوية في إبقاء الأحزاب موحّدة، فقد ظهر التحزّب داخل المجتمع، فضلاً عن قيام انقسامات داخلية في صفوف الشيعة والسنة والأكراد واحتدام التنافس على الأصوات. وقد حصل مقتدى الصدر، الذي فاز في الانتخابات هذه المرة، على حوالي 55 من أصل 329 مقعداً. ومن أجل تشكيل حكومة، ستحتاج أربع كتل رئيسية على الأقل إلى توحيد صفوفها، ولكن بدون تفويض صريح أو أجندة واضحة، ستلجأ الأحزاب إلى الممارسات القديمة في المساومة على المناصب الحكومية بطريقة ذكية وستعمل على ضمان رعاية مؤيديها.

وقد يؤدي مثل هذا التباين بين الحصول على حكومة أفضل وأكثر قوة وبين نتائج الانتخابات إلى إبقاء العراق في حلقة مفرغة. لكن نظام الحكم لا يتمتع هذه المرة بالدعم العام الذي اختبأ وراءه في الماضي، متسبباً في ازدياد السخط العام وعدم الاستقرار.

الصورة الكلية: تحدث هذه الخلافات الداخلية في الوقت الذي تتجه فيه القوتان الأجنبيتان الرئيسيتان في العراق، الولايات المتحدة وإيران، نحو المزيد من العداء. وقد يؤدي انسحاب الولايات المتحدة من الاتفاق النووي مع إيران واحتمالات التصعيد، بالإضافة إلى المكاسب البرلمانية التي حققها أعضاء المليشيات العراقية السابقة، إلى تحويل العراق مرة أخرى إلى مسرح حرب. وحيث خفف العراق لتوه من فظائع تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية»، فلا يمكنه أن يتحمل جولة أخرى من هذه الاضطرابات.

 

بلال وهاب، زميل "ناثان واستير ك. واغنر" في معهد واشنطن. وقد تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل من على موقع "أكسيوس" ("Axios").

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

Articles & Op-Eds

Iraqi Elections Deepen Political Fault Lines amid U.S.-Iran Tensions

Bilal Wahab

Also available in العربية فارسی

Axios

May 14, 2018


The U.S. withdrawal from the Iran nuclear deal, along with the parliamentary gains made by former militia members, could turn Iraq once again into a war theater.

Turnout in the Iraqi election on Saturday hit a record low at less than 45%, down from 60% in the 2014 and 2010 elections. The public was disillusioned with the buffet of parties, whose members are seen as corrupt politicians vying for positions in a political bazaar after every election.

Why it matters: The product of ethno-sectarian power sharing, past governments have been weak and ineffective. Iraqis wanted a new, corruption-free government that would offer services, jobs and security, and a victor with a clear agenda and a strong national mandate. Instead, this weekend's elections only deepened the country's political fractures.

As identity politics failed to keep parties unified, intra-community factionalism emerged, with Shia, Sunni and Kurdish houses all internally divided and competing for votes. The winner this time around, Muktada al-Sadr, has about 55 of the 329 seats. In order to form a government, at least four of the major blocs will need to coalesce, but without a clear mandate or agenda, parties will resort to old practices of horse-trading for government positions and doling out patronage to their supporters.

Such a mismatch between demand for better, stronger government and the election results will keep Iraq in a vicious cycle. This time around, however, the system does not have the public support it hid behind in the past, foretelling public discontent and instability.

The big picture: These internal disputes are taking place as the two main foreign forces in Iraq, the U.S. and Iran, head toward greater hostility. The U.S. withdrawal from the Iran nuclear deal and the possibility of escalation, as well as the parliamentary gains made by former militia members, could turn Iraq once again into a war theater. Having just eased the horrors of ISIS, Iraq cannot stomach another round of such turmoil.

Bilal Wahab is the Nathan and Esther K. Wagner Fellow at The Washington Institute. This item was originally published on the Axios website.