أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 3385

احتدام القتال في ناغورنو كاراباخ: البعد الإيراني

فرزين نديمي

متاح أيضاً في English فارسی

6 تشرين الأول/أكتوبر 2020


تربط إيران حدود مع أذربيجان وأرمينيا وتجمعها معهما علاقات وطيدة بشكل عام، لذلك لديها مصلحة كبيرة في رؤية البلدين يخففان من حدة التصعيد الأخير في الأعمال العدائية حول منطقة ناغورنو كاراباخ المتنازع عليها ويعودان إلى الوضع الاعتيادي السابق. لكن في الوقت الحالي، تبدو طهران منشغلة للغاية بقضايا أخرى وعاجزة عن التأثير على الصراع. ولطالما افتقرت وزارة خارجيتها إلى المهارات اللازمة للتوسط في مثل هذه النزاعات - فقد كانت آخر جهود بذلتها لوقف إطلاق النار في عام 1992، لكن ذلك الاتفاق اندثر فور توقيعه. وبالمثل، لا يرغب «الحرس الثوري الإسلامي» الإيراني بالانخراط عسكرياً، على الأقل في الوقت الحالي. وبالتالي فالسؤال الذي يطرح نفسه هو، كيف سيكون رد إيران إذا استمرت الأعمال العدائية - أو إذا وُفِّرت لها فرصاً جديدة لتعزيز مصالحها.

على سبيل المثال، تقلق طهران من أنه إذا استعادت أذربيجان مساحات شاسعة من ناغورنو كاراباخ بدعم فعلي من تركيا، فقد يؤدي ذلك إلى إثارة انشقاق كبير في أوساط الأذريين الإيرانيين الذين لديهم إحساس قوي بالهوية العرقية أو الميول الانفصالية. وشهدت المناطق ذات الأغلبية الأذرية في شمال غرب إيران أساساً احتجاجات ودعوات لإغلاق معبر نوردوز الحدودي مع أرمينيا، الأمر الذي من شأنه وقف شحنات البضائع وعبور الشاحنات العسكرية الروسية. ورداً على ذلك، أصدر الممثلون المحليون للمرشد الأعلى علي خامنئي بياناً مشتركاً نادراً يدعم سيادة أذربيجان على ناغورنو كاراباخ، في محاولة واضحة لنزع فتيل القلق الأذري في الداخل. وبالمثل، شدد بيان وزارة الخارجية الإيرانية في 5 تشرين الأول/أكتوبر الذي دعا إلى وقف فوري لإطلاق النار، على أهمية "احترام وحدة أراضي أذربيجان"، وحث أرمينيا على الانسحاب من "الأراضي المحتلة لأذربيجان" من دون ذكر ناغورنو كاراباخ على وجه التحديد. (قوات يريفان تسيطر أيضاً على أجزاء من أذربيجان تقع بين المنطقة الانفصالية وحدود أرمينيا).

وتتماشى مثل هذه البيانات مع حرص إيران المتزايد على تعزيز علاقاتها الاستراتيجية مع باكو، لأسباب ليس أقلها أن البلدين يتشاركان في أكثر من 200 كيلومتر من الحدود البحرية في بحر قزوين الغني بالموارد الهيدروكربونية والتي من الضروري تحديدها. وفي شباط/فبراير 2018، زار وزير الدفاع الإيراني أمير حاتمي أذربيجان لمناقشة توثيق التعاون بين قطاعي الدفاع في البلدين. وبعد عام، تبادل رئيسا القوات المسلحة في البلدين الزيارات لتعزيز هذه الروابط، وعقدت "اللجنة العسكرية المشتركة" في شباط/فبراير 2020 اجتماعها الثاني. كما بحث جيشا البلدين توثيق علاقات التدريب وتبادل الطلاب، بالإضافة إلى إجراء مناورات بحرية مشتركة بين الحين والآخر قبالة شواطئ بحر قزوين، حيث تقع كلتا الأكاديميتين البحريتين الإيرانيتين. فضلاً عن ذلك، لا تخفي إيران نيتها في أن تصبح مزوّداً رئيسياً للأسلحة إلى باكو - ففي أيلول/سبتمبر، بدأت بالمشاركة في "معرض أذربيجان الدولي للصناعات الدفاعية" ("أديكس"). يُذكر أن رفع الحظر الذي فرضته الأمم المتحدة على توريد الأسلحة في 18 تشرين الأول/أكتوبر سيفتح فرصاً إضافية لتعميق كافة هذه الروابط العسكرية.

غير أنه في الوقت نفسه، شعرت طهران أحياناً بأنها مضطرة للانحراف عن علاقاتها التقليدية الجيدة مع أذربيجان من أجل انتقاد العلاقات العسكرية والأمنية المتزايدة للبلاد مع إسرائيل. بل أنها اتهمت باكو بشكل غير مباشر بالسماح للطائرات الإسرائيلية بدون طيار بالتجسس على منشآت نووية في عمق إيران. وفي عام 2014، ادعى «الحرس الثوري» الإيراني بأنه أسقط إحدى هذه الطائرات بدون طيار قرب محطة نطنز (نانتز) لتخصيب اليورانيوم على بعد 600 كيلومتر تقريباً من حدود أذربيجان - على الرغم من أن الصور التي نشرها «الحرس الثوري» أشارت إلى أن الطائرة بدون طيار كانت في الواقع نموذجاً إيرانياً.

وبصرف النظر عن مزاعم طهران، تُعَد أذربيجان بلا منازع إحدى أكبر الجهات التي تشتري أسلحة إسرائيلية، بما فيها طائرات استطلاع بدون طيار وطائرات صغيرة بدون طيار محمّلة بالذخائر (مجهزة برؤوس حربية)، وصواريخ مضادة للدبابات وصواريخ مضادة للطائرات، وصواريخ مدفعية، وصواريخ شبه باليستية موجهة بدقة يصل مداها إلى 400 كيلومتر. وخلال المعارك العدائية الأخيرة، تمّ استخدام الطائرات الصغيرة بدون طيار المحمّلة بالمتفجرات والصواريخ الباليستية من نوع المدفعية البعيدة المدى (LORA) والواسعة النطاق (EXTRA) والراجمة من نوع "لينكس" على نطاق واسع وفعال.

أما بالنسبة للطرف الرئيسي الآخر في النزاع، فإن الروابط العسكرية الإيرانية مع أرمينيا هي أقل علنية لكن تاريخها طويل. فعلى سبيل المثال، لطالما استخدمت طهران شركات واجهة أرمينية لتجاوز العقوبات الدولية المفروضة على نقل الأسلحة وحركة الطيران. وفي عام 2008، اتهمت الولايات المتحدة شركة أرمينية واحدة على الأقل تجمعها علاقات وثيقة بالنخبة السياسية في يريفان بشراء أسلحة روسية لصالح إيران. وحصلت عملية الشراء المشتبه بها في عام 2003، وفي نهاية المطاف وصلت الأسلحة إلى يد الميليشيات الشيعية التي تحارب القوات الأمريكية في العراق.

وفي الآونة الأخيرة، قاد وزير الدفاع الأرميني السابق فيغين سركسيان بعثة رفيعة المستوى إلى طهران في شباط/فبراير 2017 لمناقشة الروابط العسكرية. وفي تموز/يوليو 2020، تابع سفير إيران في يريفان هذا الموضوع خلال اجتماع عقده مع وزير الدفاع الحالي ديفيد تونويان.

تدخل عسكري محتمل؟

إذا لم تتدخل روسيا في النزاع، فقد تساهم الفعالية المستمرة للمنظومات التركية والإسرائيلية في قلب التوازن تدريجياً لصالح أذربيجان، وربما تساعد قوات باكو على الاستيلاء على ما يكفي من الأراضي في الجنوب والشمال لفصل ناغورنو كاراباخ عن أرمينيا. وعلى الرغم من مصلحة إيران في منع مثل هذا الخلل، من المستبعد إلى حدّ كبير أن تُقْدِم طهران على تزويد أرمينيا بمنظومات أسلحة مهمة مثل الصواريخ الباليستية. ومع ذلك، فقد تسمح للأسلحة الروسية بالوصول إلى أرمينيا إذا قررت موسكو إرسالها عن طريق الجو على الأرجح. وعلى المدى الطويل، قد تساعد إيران أرمينيا في تطوير قطاعها الخاص لصناعة الصواريخ والطائرات بدون طيار.

وخلال العقد الماضي، تمّ استخدام الطائرات بدون طيار خلال النزاع على منطقة ناغورنو كاراباخ، لكن التبادلات الفتاكة التي شهدتها الجولة الأخيرة تعزز فعالية حرب الطائرات بدون طيار والأسلحة الدقيقة. وتعتمد أذربيجان في الغالب على إسرائيل وتركيا لبناء أسطولها من الطائرات بدون طيار، لكن قطاع الصناعة الصغير لهذه الطائرات في أرمينيا قد يستفيد من خبرة إيران الواسعة في هذا المجال. ومنذ سنوات، حصلت القوات الخاصة بمنطقة ناغورنو كاراباخ على طائرات بدون طيار إيرانية من طراز "شاهد-123"، كما شوهد ذلك خلال استعراض عسكري في ستيباناكرت عام 2011. وهذا النظام هو نفس النوع الذي استخدمه «الحرس الثوري» الإيراني في السنوات الأخيرة لتنفيذ دوريات استطلاعية في أفغانستان وسوريا؛ كما أن بحرية «الحرس الثوري» أرسلت نسخة مسلحة منها إلى الميدان.

ومع ذلك، تدرك إيران جيداً التفاوت الكبير بين المجتمعين الأذري والأرميني، اللذين يشكلان 16-24 في المائة و0.2 في المائة من سكان البلاد على التوالي. ولهذا السبب، وعلى افتراض استمرار النزاع، فمن المرجح أن يكون أي تعاون عسكري مستقبلي لإيران مع أرمينيا سرياً، ربما من خلال قيام مستشاري «فيلق القدس» التابع لـ «الحرس الثوري» بمساعدة تلك البلاد في تنظيم "الميليشيات المساعدة" التي تهدف إيران الاستعانة بها بالاستناد إلى الخبرة التي اكتسبتها في العراق وسوريا. أخيراً، فإن أداء الطائرات الإسرائيلية الصغيرة بدون طيار المحمّلة بالمتفجرات والصواريخ الباليستية الموجهة في ناغورنو كاراباخ يمنح إيران دليلاً قاطعاً على قوتها، مما يزيد من شبح انتشارها في المنطقة بشكل أكبر.

 

فرزين نديمي هو زميل مشارك في معهد واشنطن، ومتخصص في شؤون الأمن والدفاع المتعلقة بإيران ومنطقة الخليج.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 3385

Flare-Up in Nagorno-Karabakh: The Iranian Dimension

Farzin Nadimi

Also available in العربية فارسی

October 6, 2020


New hostilities between Armenia and Azerbaijan are forcing Tehran to balance domestic demographic concerns and its desire to expand military ties with Yerevan.

Because it shares borders and generally good relations with Azerbaijan and Armenia, Iran has a great interest in seeing the two countries defuse their latest surge in hostilities over the disputed Nagorno-Karabakh region and return to the status quo. At present, however, Tehran seems too preoccupied with other issues and too powerless to influence the conflict. Its Foreign Ministry has long lacked the skills required to mediate such disputes—its last ceasefire effort was in 1992, and that agreement was dead in the water from the moment it was signed. Likewise, the Islamic Revolutionary Guard Corps (IRGC) is not eager to get involved militarily, at least for now. The question, then, is how Iran will react if the hostilities persist—or if they open new opportunities to further its interests.

For example, Tehran worries that if Azerbaijan were to recapture large swaths of Nagorno-Karabakh with active support from Turkey, the situation could foment serious dissent among those Iranian Azeris who harbor a strong sense of ethnic identity or separatist views. Azeri-majority areas in northwest Iran have already seen protests and calls for closing the Norduz border crossing with Armenia, which would bar shipments of goods and the passage of Russian military trucks. In response, Supreme Leader Ali Khamenei’s local representatives issued a rare joint statement supporting Azerbaijan’s sovereignty over Nagorno-Karabakh, a clear attempt to defuse Azeri unease at home. Similarly, the Iranian Foreign Ministry’s October 5 statement calling for an immediate ceasefire also emphasized the importance of “respect for Azerbaijan’s territorial integrity,” urging Armenia to withdraw from “occupied territories of Azerbaijan” without specifically naming Nagorno-Karabakh. (Yerevan’s forces also control parts of Azerbaijan that lie between the breakaway region and Armenia’s borders.)

Such statements align with Iran’s growing eagerness to enhance its strategic relations with Baku, not least because the two countries share more than 200 kilometers of maritime boundaries in the hydrocarbon-rich Caspian Sea that need to be delimited. In February 2018, Iranian defense minister Amir Hatami visited Azerbaijan to discuss closer cooperation between their defense industries. A year later, the chiefs of each country’s armed forces exchanged visits to further strengthen those ties, and February 2020 saw the second meeting of their joint military commission. The two militaries have also explored closer training ties and student exchanges, in addition to conducting occasional joint naval drills off the shores of the Caspian, where both of Iran’s naval academies reside. Moreover, Iran does not hide its intent to become a major arms supplier to Baku—in September 2018, it began participating in the Azerbaijan International Defence Exhibition (ADEX). The lifting of UN arms restrictions on October 18 will open additional opportunities to deepen all of these military ties. 

At the same time, however, Tehran has occasionally felt compelled to deviate from its traditionally good relations with Azerbaijan in order to criticize the country’s growing military and security ties with Israel. It has even indirectly accused Baku of allowing Israeli drones to spy on nuclear facilities deep inside Iran. In 2014, the IRGC claimed to shoot down one such unmanned aerial vehicle near the Natanz enrichment plant almost 600 kilometers from the Azerbaijan border—though images released by the Corps indicated that the UAV was in fact an Iranian model.

Tehran’s claims aside, Azerbaijan is indisputably one of the biggest buyers of Israeli weapons, including reconnaissance drones, loitering munitions (i.e., drones armed with warheads), antitank and antiaircraft missiles, artillery rockets, and precision-guided semi-ballistic missiles with ranges up to 400 kilometers. The loitering munitions and LORA, EXTRA, and Lynx ballistic missiles have been extensively and effectively used in the latest hostilities.

As for the conflict’s other main combatant, Iran’s military ties with Armenia are more low key but enjoy a longer history. For example, Tehran has long used Armenian front companies to bypass international sanctions on arms and aviation transfers. In 2008, the United States accused at least one Armenian firm with close ties to the political elite in Yerevan of buying Russian arms for Iran. The suspected purchase occurred in 2003, and the arms eventually turned up in the hands of Shia militias fighting U.S. forces in Iraq.

More recently, former Armenian defense minister Vigen Sargsyan led a high-ranking mission to Tehran in February 2017 to discuss military ties. And in July 2020, Iran’s ambassador in Yerevan further pursued the subject in a meeting with current defense minister David Tonoyan.

POTENTIAL MILITARY INVOLVEMENT?

If Russia does not intervene in the conflict, the continuing effectiveness of Turkish and Israeli systems may gradually tip the balance toward Azerbaijan, perhaps helping Baku’s forces seize enough territory in the south and north to cut Nagorno-Karabakh off from Armenia. Despite its interest in preventing such an imbalance, Iran is highly unlikely to supply Armenia with any significant weapons systems such as ballistic missiles. Yet it may allow Russian weapons to reach Armenia if Moscow decides to send them, most likely by air. And in the longer term, Iran might help Armenia develop its own missile and drone industries.

The Nagorno-Karabakh dispute has been no stranger to drone activities over the past decade, but the deadly exchanges seen in the latest eruption are reinforcing the efficacy of UAV warfare and precision weaponry. Azerbaijan relies mostly on Israel and Turkey for its drone fleet, but Armenia’s small UAV industry could benefit from Iran’s extensive experience in that field. Nagorno-Karabakh’s own forces acquired Iranian Shahed-123 drones years ago, as seen during a 2011 military parade in Stepanakert. This system is the same type that the IRGC has used in recent years for surveillance missions in Afghanistan and Syria; the IRGC Navy has also fielded an armed version.

Even so, Iran is well aware of the major disparity between its Azeri and Armenian communities, which constitute 16-24 percent and 0.2 percent of the country’s population, respectively. For this reason, and assuming the conflict persists, Iran’s future military engagement with Armenia will most likely be covert, perhaps with IRGC-Qods Force advisors helping the country organize its planned “auxiliary militia” using the experience they gained in Iraq and Syria. Finally, the performance of Israeli loitering drones and guided ballistic missiles in Nagorno-Karabakh is giving Iran definitive evidence of their potency, raising the specter of further proliferation in the region.

Farzin Nadimi is an associate fellow with The Washington Institute, specializing in the security and defense affairs of Iran and the Gulf region.