أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

تنبيه سياسي

وفاة أمير الكويت تترك البلاد عرضة للخصوم في الخليج

سايمون هندرسون و إلينا ديلوجر

متاح أيضاً في English

29 أيلول/سبتمبر 2020


لم تكن وفاة الأمير صباح الأحمد الصباح غير متوقعة - للأسف، كان الزعيم الكويتي مريضاً منذ عدة أشهر وتم نقله مؤخراً إلى إحدى المستشفيات في الولايات المتحدة. وسيكون خلفه هو أخوه غير الشقيق نواف الأحمد الصباح، ولكن الأمير المعيّن حديثاً الذي يبلغ من العمر 83 عاماً، يعاني بدوره من حالة صحية غير مؤكدة ولم يكن ناشطاً في السياسة أو الحكومة. وبالتالي، ستتحول التكهنات بسرعة إلى ولي العهد الذي سيختاره. يُذكر أنه قبل تولي الشيخ صباح السلطة في عام 2006، كان دور الأمير أكثر رمزية، حيث كان ولي العهد يتولى الشؤون اليومية للحكم. وإذا ما أحيت وفاته هذا النموذج، فقد يصبح دور ولي العهد أساسياً عاجلاً وليس آجلاً.

وبخلاف الأنظمة الملكية العربية الأخرى في الخليج، فإن عائلة الصباح الحاكمة في الكويت ليست بارزة ويتعين عليها عملياً مشاركة السلطة مع عائلات قيادية أخرى وبرلمان صاخب. وبالتالي، لا بدّ من موافقة الجمعية الوطنية على اختيار الأمير الجديد لخلفه في وقت ما خلال العام المقبل - وربما لن يكون ذلك قبل انتخاب مجلس الأمة المقبل في تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر. والمرشح الأكثر ترجيحاً لمنصب ولي العهد هو نجل الأمير الراحل البالغ من العمر 72 عاماً، وزير الدفاع ناصر الصباح. ولكنه قد يواجه منافسة من ابن عمه أحمد الفهد الصباح، خصمه منذ فترة طويلة.  

وهناك تطور آخر وهو أن قيادة الكويت اعتادت على التنقل بين فرعيْ الجابر والسالم من عشيرة الصباح. لكن هذا التقليد تم كسره في عام 2006، عندما تم تعيين الشيخ سعد العبدالله السالم حاكماً لفترة وجيزة ولكنه اعتبر بعد ذلك غير مؤهل لأداء القسم لتولي المنصب. وفي تصويت بالإجماع، أوصى مجلس الأمة بأن يتنازل لصالح الشيخ صباح. وتجدر الملاحظة أن الأمير الجديد والمرشحَيْن الأكثر ترجيحاً لخلافته، الشيخان ناصر وأحمد، ينحدرون جميعاً من فرع الجابر، لذلك قد يستمر هذا المنحى من كسر التقاليد.   

كما أن التعقيدات الإقليمية كثيرة أيضاً. فالاضطرابات في العراق المجاور هي مصدر قلق متواصل للكويتيين، بما أن غزو صدام حسين للبلاد عام 1990 لا يزال راسخاً في ذاكرتهم الجماعية. كما أنهم قلقون بشأن قرب إيران، التي تبعد بضعة أميال فقط عبر الخليج وتتشارك في بعض حقول النفط البحرية الكويتية. وتشكّل الموارد الهيدروكربونية موضع خلاف مع السعودية أيضاً - حيث أن البلدين اقتسما "المنطقة المحايدة" الغنية بالنفط على الساحل، وتسببت المنافسة في السوق الناتجة عن ذلك بتوترات في بعض الأحيان. وفي عام 2017، استضاف الأمير صباح ولي العهد السعودي والحاكم الفعلي للمملكة محمد بن سلمان في الكويت، لكن ذلك الاجتماع الغريب مع أحد أفراد العائلة المالكة الأصغر سناً بكثير انتهى فجأة ولم يلتق الاثنان معاً ثانية.  

ومن المرجح أن يكون الإرث الأساسي الذي سيتركه الأمير صباح هو سمعته في محاولته التوسط في الخلافات الخليجية، على الرغم من أن محاولاته الفاشلة في السنوات الأخيرة كانت تفوق نجاحاته عدداً. وفي الآونة الأخيرة، سعى إلى رأب الصدع بين قطر والدول الأربع، البحرين ومصر والسعودية والإمارات، التي قاطعت الدوحة لأكثر من 3 سنوات.

أما بالنسبة للسياسة الأمريكية، فلطالما كانت الكويت حليفاً ثابتاً وممتناً للولايات المتحدة، خاصة منذ طرد القوات العراقية عام 1991. وقد ردت الجميل من خلال تأمين الكثير من المرافق للجيش الأمريكي، من بينها مقر "قوة المهام المشتركة - عملية العزم الصلب/»عملية الحل المتأصل«"، والتي تنطوي على السماح بشن ضربات من القواعد الكويتية ضد أهداف تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» في العراق وسوريا. ومن المرجح أن يستمر مثل هذا التعاون، على الرغم من أن بضعة أشهر من عدم اليقين قد تلوح في الأفق على المدى القريب بينما يفرض الأمير الجديد نفسه كحاكم ويحدد اتجاه حكمه للفترة المقبلة.

أخيراً، على الرغم من أن الكويت هي دولة مرادفة للثروة النفطية، إلا أنها شهدت ضائقة اقتصادية في الآونة الأخيرة بسبب تراجع أسعار النفط وانخفاض الإنتاج. لذلك قد يعتبر المنافسون في المنطقة أن الوقت قد حان لزرع بذور الاستغلال السياسي، ربما من خلال التدخل بالخصومات داخل عشيرة الصباح أو مجلس الأمة.

 

سايمون هندرسون هو زميل "بيكر" ومدير "برنامج برنستاين لشؤون الخليج وسياسة الطاقة" في معهد واشنطن، والمحرر المشترك لمقال "الخلافة المفاجئة" لعام 2019 بعنوان "الكويت: نظام متغير تحت الضغط". إلينا ديلوجر هي "زميلة روبن فاميلي" في المعهد.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

Policy Alert

Emir’s Death Leaves Kuwait Vulnerable to Gulf Rivals

Simon Henderson and Elana DeLozier

Also available in العربية

September 29, 2020


From family competition and parliamentary rumblings to potential friction with various neighbors, the oil-rich U.S. ally may face a challenging transition.

The passing of Emir Sabah al-Ahmad al-Sabah was not unexpected—sadly, the Kuwaiti leader had been unwell for many months and was recently hospitalized in the United States. His successor will be his half-brother Nawaf al-Ahmad al-Sabah, but at eighty-three years old, the new emir-designate is himself of uncertain health and has not been active in politics or government. Hence, speculation will quickly shift to his choice of crown prince. Before Sheikh Sabah ascended to power in 2006, the role of emir was more symbolic, with the crown prince handling the day-to-day affairs of ruling. If his passing restores that model, the role of crown prince may become paramount sooner than later.

Unlike other Gulf Arab monarchies, Kuwait’s ruling al-Sabah family is not preeminent and effectively has to share power with other leading families and a vociferous parliament. Thus, the new emir’s choice of successor will need to be confirmed by this national assembly sometime within the next year—perhaps not until the next parliament is elected in November. The likeliest candidate for crown prince is the late emir’s seventy-two-year-old son, Defense Minister Nasser al-Sabah. But he could face a challenge from his cousin Ahmad al-Fahd al-Sabah, a longtime rival.

A further twist is that Kuwait’s leadership used to flip between the al-Jaber and al-Salim branches of the al-Sabah clan. This tradition was broken in 2006, however, when Sheikh Saad al-Abdullah al-Salim was briefly named ruler but then deemed incapable of taking the oath of office. In a unanimous vote, the assembly recommended he abdicate in favor of Sheikh Sabah. The new emir and his two most probable succession candidates, Sheikhs Nasser and Ahmad, are all from the Jaber branch, so the break might continue.

Regional complications are legion as well. Unrest in neighboring Iraq is a continual source of anxiety for Kuwaitis, since Saddam Hussein’s 1990 invasion is deeply etched into their collective memory. They also worry about the proximity of Iran, which lies just a few miles across the Gulf and shares some of Kuwait’s offshore oil fields. Hydrocarbons have been an issue with Saudi Arabia as well—the two countries partitioned the oil-rich “Neutral Zone” on the coast, and the resultant market competition has caused tension at times. In 2018, Emir Sabah hosted Saudi crown prince and de facto ruler Muhammad bin Salman in Kuwait, but the awkward powwow with the much-younger royal ended abruptly and the two did not meet again.

Emir Sabah’s principal legacy will likely be his reputation for attempting to mediate Gulf disputes, though in recent years his successes were outnumbered by attempts that fell short. Most recently, he endeavored to heal the rift between Qatar and the quartet of Bahrain, Egypt, Saudi Arabia, and the United Arab Emirates, which have embargoed Doha for more than three years.

As for U.S. policy, Kuwait has long been a firm and grateful ally, especially since the 1991 expulsion of Iraqi forces. It has reciprocated by providing generous facilities to U.S.  military forces, including the headquarters of Combined Joint Task Force-Operation Inherent Resolve, which entails allowing strikes to be launched from Kuwaiti bases against Islamic State targets in Iraq and Syria. Such cooperation will likely continue, though a few months of uncertainty could loom in the near term while the new emir establishes himself and sets the tone for his rule going forward.

Finally, despite being almost synonymous with oil wealth, Kuwait has experienced economic hardship of late due to low oil prices and reduced production. Regional competitors may therefore think the time is ripe for political exploitation, perhaps by meddling in Sabah clan rivalries or the National Assembly.

Simon Henderson is the Baker Fellow at The Washington Institute, director of its Bernstein Program on Gulf and Energy Policy, and joint editor of its 2019 Sudden Succession essay “Kuwait: A Changing System Under Stress.” Elana DeLozier is the Institute’s Rubin Family Fellow.