أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 2167

محاكمات ومحن جماعة «الإخوان» في الخليج

لوري بلوتكين بوغارت

متاح أيضاً في English

5 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر 2013


في الخامس من تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر، شرعت الإمارات العربية المتحدة في محاكمة ثلاثين مواطناً إماراتياً ومصرياً في "محكمة أمن الدولة" في أبوظبي، وهي المحاكمة الثانية خلال هذا العام لمتهمين تربطهم علاقات بـ جماعة «الإخوان المسلمين». وقد خضع أربعة وتسعون متهماً إماراتياً (فيما يعرف بقضية الـ "94 إماراتياً") مرتبطين بـ «الإخوان» للمحاكمة أمام نفس المحكمة بين آذار/مارس و تموز/يوليو. إذ أُدين تسعة وستون منهم بتأسيس وإدارة منظمة سرية تابعة لـ «الجماعة» سعت إلى إسقاط الحكومة؛ وهناك مزاعم بأن هذه المنظمة تقوم بأعمال مشابهة لتلك التي تقوم بها جماعة «الإخوان» في المجالات الاجتماعية والثقافية - تلك المؤسسة القائمة منذ مدة طويلة في دولة الإمارات ومعروفة باسم "جماعة الإصلاح". بيد، لا تظهر السجلات العامة أية أدلة على قيام نشاط تحريضي من قبل المتهمين المدانين، سوى اعتراف تم انتزاعه من أحدهم بعد أن تعرض للتعذيب وتراجع عنه في وقت لاحق.

إن وصول وزير الخارجية الأمريكي جون كيري المقرر إلى أبوظبي بعد وقت قصير من بدء المحاكمة الجديدة يخلق شعوراً غير مرحب به بأن الأمر أصبح اعتيادياً. فقد بدأت مُحاكمة الـ "94 إماراتياً" في عشية زيارته الأخيرة إلى أبوظبي في آذار/مارس. ورغم أن تزامن التوقيت جاء من باب المصادفة هذه المرة، إلا أنه يمثل رسالة تذكير حادة حول النهج المزعج تجاه حقوق الإنسان الأساسية الذي تتبعه دولة من الحلفاء المهمين للولايات المتحدة ويشكل تحدياً للدبلوماسي الأمريكي الأول لكي يعالج هذه المسألة بحكمة.

دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة و "جمعية الإصلاح"

من بين دول "مجلس التعاون الخليجي" الست، تبنت دولة "الإمارات" النهج الأكثر عدوانية تجاه العناصر المحلية لـ «الجماعة». وهي تظل الدولة العضو الوحيدة التي تحاكم أفراداً علانية بسبب علاقاتهم بـ «الإخوان» منذ بدء الانتفاضات العربية الأولى في عام 2011.

لقد كانت "جماعة الإصلاح" على مدى عقود المؤسسة المدنية الأكثر تنظيماً في دولة "الإمارات" وكان يُنظر إليها في بعض الأحيان على أنها تشكل تهديداً أمنياً داخلياً.  كما كان الإماراتيون المرتبطون بها من المشاركين الرئيسيين في الدعوات الأخيرة للإصلاح السياسي في دولة يُحظر فيها قيام المنظمات السياسية ويُستهجن فيها النقاش السياسي.

إن التهمة الأساسية ضد الإماراتيين العشرة والمواطنين المصريين العشرين الذين يواجهون المحاكمة حالياً هي تأسيس فرع غير قانوني لـ «الإخوان» في دولة "الإمارات" وسرقة أسرار تتعلق بأمن الدولة وإذاعتها وجمع الأموال بطريقة غير مشروعة. كما يقضي المتهمون في الإمارات العربية المتحدة أحكاماً بالسجن مرتبطة بقضية الـ "94 إماراتياً". وبعيداً عن الأدلة، لا توجد دلائل تشير إلى أن المحاكمة الجديدة ستمضي بصورة مختلفة عن تلك التي جرت للـ "94 إماراتياً"، حيث كانت المرافعات مقفلة رسمياً في وجه وسائل الإعلام الأجنبية والمراقبين الأجانب غير المعتمدين رسمياً، كما احتجزت الحكومة أقارب المتهمين الذين سعوا للوصول إلى المحاكمة أو نشروا تقارير عنها، وقامت السلطات بتعذيب المتهمين وحرّمتهم من حقوقهم القضائية الأساسية. وفي غضون ذلك، تواصل الإمارات العربية المتحدة اعتقال إماراتيين ومواطنين مصريين آخرين لارتباطهم بجماعة «الإخوان».

في أماكن أخرى في الخليج

تأتي المحاكمة الإماراتية وسط مرحلة جديدة في ديناميكيات «الجماعة» في الخليج بعد قيام الجيش بالإطاحة بالحكومة في مصر بزعامة «الإخوان» في شهر تموز/يوليو. وقد فاقم عزل الرئيس المنتخب ديمقراطياً محمد مرسي، من الخلافات والتباعد بين الحكومات الخليجية وأنصار «الجماعة» المحليين. وكان القلق قد انتاب القادة السعوديين والإماراتيين والكويتيين من أن يؤدي وصول «الإخوان» إلى الحكم في القاهرة إلى إلهام المتعاطفين معهم في الخليج ودفعهم إلى الثورة ضدهم. وعليه، فقد سارعوا إلى تهنئة القيادة العسكرية الجديدة في مصر والتعهد بتقديم مساعدات قدرها 12 مليار دولار، بينما أدان أنصار «الإخوان» في هذه الدول سراً وعلناً الانقلاب ومساندة حكوماتهم له.

ومنذ ذلك الحين، سعت المملكة العربية السعودية والكويت إلى الحد من نفوذ أنصار «الإخوان»، بل استئصالهم أحياناً، وسط إجراءات أمنية مشددة. إن الضرر الذي لحق بسمعة «الجماعة» بين جمهور الخليج عقب أدائها الضعيف في حكم مصر ساعد على تقوية هذا النهج. على سبيل المثال، قامت الدولتان بإيقاف الأئمة الذين أدانوا عزل مرسي، عن العمل أو أعربوا عن تأييدهم للمتظاهرين المؤيدين لـ «الإخوان» في مصر خلال خطب الجمعة. كما أن الشجار الذي نشب في مسجد الفردوس في الرياض في 23 آب/أغسطس يبرز التوتر الذي يحيط بهذه المسألة. فخلال خطبة ذلك اليوم، قام إمام المسجد بانتقاد وزير الدفاع المصري عبد الفتاح السيسي  - وهو الجنرال الذي ترأس عملية الإطاحة. وعندما اعترض أحد المصريين الذين كانوا يشاركون في الصلاة على تلك التعليقات، قام أحد الحاضرين السعوديين بضربه مراراً وتكراراً بعقاله.

ومن جانبها، استهدفت الكويت المواطنين المصريين - الذين يشكلون أكبر عدد من السكان العرب الأجانب في البلاد - من خلال ترحيلهم وفرض قيود على دخولهم البلاد. وتشمل إحدى تلك الحوادث ترحيل القيادية في "حركة شباب 6 أبريل" في مصر، أسماء محفوظ، التي طُلب منها مغادرة الكويت في 28 أيلول/سبتمبر لكي لا تخل بالبيئة السياسية الحساسة في البلاد. وفي منتصف آب/أغسطس، أعلنت السلطات الكويتية عن ترحيل العديد من المصريين الذين شاركوا في المظاهرات في الكويت ضد حملة القمع التي جرت ضد المتظاهرين الموالين لمرسي في القاهرة؛ وقد تم تنظيم المسيرات المحلية من قبل أعضاء سابقين في البرلمان الكويتي وذلك بالقرب من كل من القنصلية المصرية والسفارة الأمريكية. ووفقاً لنبأ نشرته صحيفة "كويت تايمز" في 22 آب/أغسطس، علّقت الكويت أيضاً آنذاك إصدار التأشيرات العائلية والتجارية للمصريين إلى أن تهدأ الأوضاع في القاهرة.

وتتبنى دول "مجلس التعاون الخليجي" الثلاث الأخرى - البحرين وعمان وقطر - علاقات مختلفة مع «الإخوان»، فـ  «الجماعة» لا تخضع لنفس النوع من الإستهداف في هذه البلدان. وعلى وجه التحديد، يعمل «الإخوان» بالتعاون مع الحكومة في البحرين، ولا يُنظر إليهم على أنهم يتمتعون بتأثير كبير في سلطنة عمان، ويُعتبرون كمن قُلمت أظافرهم في قطر من خلال الدعم الرسمي لعناصر إسلامية محلية.

خارج دول الخليج

امتدت جهود السعودية والإمارات العربية المتحدة والكويت للحد من نفوذ «الإخوان» في دولها، إلى ما وراء حدود بلدانها، كما رأينا في مصر. إذ يبدو أن إضعاف «الجماعة» في موطنها الأصلي شكل عاملاً رئيسياً في قرارها بتوفير مليارات الدولارات في شكل مساعدات اقتصادية، فضلاً عن إمدادات الأسلحة الواضحة والدعم السياسي القوي للحكومة المصرية المؤقتة المدعومة من الجيش. وقد أشارت تقارير صحفية إماراتية في 9 تشرين الأول/أكتوبر، أن محاكمة مرسي ستجري في 4 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر، والمحاكمة الإماراتية الأخيرة في 5 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر. وقد ألمحت تقارير شبه متزامنة عن وجود تنسيق جيد في الجهود الخليجية المصرية ضد «الإخوان».

ومع ذلك، إذا نظرنا إلى الأمر من منظور أوسع، فإن العلاقات الخليجية مع «الجماعة» تعود إلى عقود طويلة وهي معقدة للغاية، ويرجع ذلك في جزء منه إلى المكانة البارزة التي يتمتع بها «الإخوان» في المؤسسات التعليمية والقانونية وغيرها في الخليج. على سبيل المثال، وفقاً لتقرير نشره الموقع الإخباري العربي "الموجز" في 10 تشرين الأول/أكتوبر، يسمح الدبلوماسيون الكويتيون في القاهرة بتحويل الأموال عن طريقهم إلى جماعة «الإخوان» المصرية. وإذا صحت تلك التقارير، فلا يتضح إن كانت الحكومة الكويتية تدعم «الجماعة» بشكل مباشر، أو تغض النظر عنها، أو أنها ليست على دراية بذلك كلية. وعلى أي حال، فإن هذا الوضع يبرهن على العلاقة الراسخة القائمة بين بعض المسؤولين الخليجيين و «الإخوان». وعلى نحو مماثل، كانت المملكة العربية السعودية تدعم جمعيات خيرية دولية مرتبطة بجماعة «الإخوان» على مدى عقود.

النهج الأمريكي

تأتي المحاكمة الإماراتية في وقت تشهد فيه العلاقة بين واشنطن ودول "مجلس التعاون الخليجي" توترات بشأن الخلافات حول تغير العلاقات مع إيران، والتورط في حرب أهلية في سوريا، وتقديم الدعم للحكومة المؤقتة في مصر. وعلاوة على ذلك، إن التحديات التي تواجه الدبلوماسية الأمريكية في البحرين أضعفت بشكل حاد من النفوذ الأمريكي المحدود في قضايا الحقوق الأساسية في الخليج. وقد رفض المسؤولون في الإمارات العربية المتحدة مراراً وتكراراً التدخل الخارجي في الشؤون الداخلية، بما في ذلك الاعتراضات الأمريكية على القرار الذي صدر عام 2012 بإغلاق منظمتين تعملان على تعزيز الديمقراطية وهما، "المعهد الديمقراطي الوطني" ومؤسسة "كونراد أديناور ستيفتونغ" الألمانية.

وفي 3 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر، تطرق الوزير كيري إلى قضية أعضاء «الإخوان» الذين يخضعون للمحاكمة في مصر، حيث أخبر الصحفيين في القاهرة أنه اتفق مع وزير الخارجية نبيل فهمي "على الحاجة إلى اتباع الإجراءات القانونية الواجبة مع المصريين وضمان منحهم محاكمات عادلة وشفافة". وفي ظل ذلك المناخ، لا يرجح محاكاة تلك التعليقات بشأن محاكمة أعضاء «الإخوان» في أبوظبي. وفي الوقت نفسه، تحرص الإمارات العربية المتحدة بصورة كبيرة على تعزيز صورتها الدولية كدولة تقدمية عصرية. ومن شأن الإفراج عن أدلة مقنعة عن قيام أعمال تحريض مثيرة للفتنة أن يوصم الجماعة محلياً ودولياً ويشوه سمعتها، لكن بدون تلك الإثباتات، ستظل دولة "الإمارات" عرضة للاتهامات الدولية بأنها تستهدف التعبير السياسي. ووفقاً لذلك، ينبغي على واشنطن أن تشجع سراً حليفتها المقربة على تعزيز صورتها في الخارج من خلال تقديم أدلة علانية ضد المتهمين الخاضعين للمحاكمة حالياً.

 

لوري  بلوتكين بوغارت هي زميلة في برنامج سياسة الخليج في معهد واشنطن.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 2167

Brotherhood Trials and Tribulations in the Gulf

Lori Plotkin Boghardt

Also available in العربية

November 5, 2013


Secretary Kerry's planned visit to Abu Dhabi to reinforce the U.S.-UAE strategic partnership comes at an awkward time, as the country opens another controversial trial.

Today, the United Arab Emirates began the trial of thirty Emirati and Egyptian nationals linked to the Muslim Brotherhood in Abu Dhabi's State Security Court, the second such trial this year. Ninety-four Emirati defendants (known as the "UAE 94") associated with the Brotherhood were tried in the same court between March and July. Sixty-nine of them were found guilty of establishing and managing a secret Brotherhood organization that sought to overthrow the government; the organization allegedly ran parallel to the UAE's longstanding social and cultural Brotherhood association, al-Islah. Yet public records show no evidence of seditious activity by the convicted defendants, aside from a confession that one of the men gave under torture and later retracted.

Secretary of State John Kerry's scheduled arrival in Abu Dhabi shortly after the new trial's commencement creates an unwelcome sense of deja vu. The UAE 94 trial began on the eve of his last visit to Abu Dhabi in March. Although the parallel timing is a coincidence this time around, it serves as a poignant reminder of the disturbing approach to basic rights taken by an important U.S. ally and challenges America's top diplomat to address the issue prudently.

THE UAE AND AL-ISLAH

Among the six Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC) countries, the UAE has adopted the most aggressive approach to local Brotherhood elements. It remains the only member state to try individuals explicitly for links to the group since the initial Arab uprisings in 2011.

Al-Islah has been the UAE's most organized civil society group for decades and has at times been perceived as a domestic security threat. Emiratis linked to it were key participants in recent calls for political reform in a country where political organizations are outlawed and political debate is discouraged.

The primary charges against the ten Emiratis and twenty Egyptian nationals currently on trial are establishing an illegal Brotherhood branch in the UAE, stealing and airing state security secrets, and collecting funds illegally. The Emirati defendants are also serving jail sentences in conjunction with the UAE 94 case. Evidence aside, there are no indications that the new trial will proceed any differently from the UAE 94 trial, in which the proceedings were closed to officially unapproved foreign media and observers, the government detained relatives of the accused who sought access to or reported on the trial, and authorities tortured defendants and denied them their basic judicial rights. In the meantime, the UAE continues to detain other Emiratis and Egyptians for Brotherhood links.

ELSEWHERE IN THE GULF

The UAE trial comes amid a new phase in Gulf-Brotherhood dynamics following the July military ouster of Egypt's Brotherhood-led government. The removal of democratically elected president Muhammad Morsi exacerbated fault lines between Gulf governments and local Brotherhood supporters. The leaders of Saudi Arabia, the UAE, and Kuwait had been concerned that the Brotherhood's rise to power in Cairo would inspire the group's Gulf sympathizers to rise up against them. Accordingly, they rushed to congratulate the new military leadership in Egypt and promise $12 billion in aid, while Brotherhood supporters in these states privately and publicly condemned the coup and their governments' backing of it.

Since then, Saudi Arabia and Kuwait have sought to minimize the influence of, and in some cases root out, local Brotherhood supporters via stepped-up security actions. The organization's damaged reputation among Gulf publics following its poor performance in ruling Egypt has helped enable this approach. For example, both countries have suspended imams who condemned Morsi's ouster or expressed support for Egypt's pro-Brotherhood demonstrators during Friday sermons. The scuffle that broke out in Riyadh's al-Firdous Mosque on August 23 highlights the tension surrounding the issue. During that day's sermon, the mosque's imam criticized Egyptian defense minister Abdul Fattah al-Sisi, the general who helped spearhead the overthrow. When an Egyptian at the service objected to those comments, a Saudi attendee hit him repeatedly with his igal (traditional Gulf headwear).

For its part, Kuwait has targeted Egyptian nationals -- the country's largest foreign Arab population -- for deportation and entry restrictions. One such incident involved Asmaa Mahfouz, a leader of Egypt's April 6 Youth Movement who was asked to leave Kuwait on September 28 so as not to upset the country's delicate political environment. And in mid-August, authorities announced the deportation of several Egyptians who had participated in Kuwaiti demonstrations against the crackdown on pro-Morsi protestors in Cairo; the local rallies were organized by former Kuwaiti parliamentarians near the Egyptian consulate and the U.S. embassy. At the time, Kuwait also suspended the issuing of family and business visas for Egyptians until the situation in Cairo calmed down, according to an August 22 Kuwait Times report.

The other three GCC countries -- Bahrain, Oman, and Qatar -- have different relationships with the Brotherhood, and the organization is not subject to the same kind of targeting there. Specifically, the Brotherhood works in cooperation with the government in Bahrain, is not perceived as a formidable force in Oman, and is considered to be defanged in Qatar by official support for local Islamist elements.

BEYOND THE GULF

Saudi Arabia, the UAE, and Kuwait's efforts to limit the Brotherhood's influence at home have extended well beyond their borders, as seen in Egypt. Diminishing the organization in its birthplace appears to be a key factor in their decision to provide billions of dollars in economic aid, apparent weapons supplies, and robust political weight to Egypt's military-backed interim government. On October 9, UAE press reports noted that Morsi's trial would take place on November 4 and the latest Emirati trial on November 5. The near-simultaneous reports hinted at a well-coordinated Gulf-Egypt effort against the Brotherhood.

Viewed more broadly, however, Gulf relations with the group are decades long and quite tangled, due in part to the Brotherhood's prominent place in Gulf educational, legal, and other institutions. For example, according to an October 10 report by Arabic news site al-Mogaz, Kuwaiti diplomats in Cairo allow funds to be funneled through them to the Egyptian Brotherhood. If the reports are true, it is unclear whether the Kuwaiti government is directly supporting the group, turning a blind eye, or being caught completely unaware. In any case, the situation attests to the deeply entrenched relationship between some Gulf officials and the Brotherhood. Similarly, Saudi Arabia has supported Brotherhood-linked international charities for decades.

U.S. APPROACH

The UAE trial comes at a time of strained rapport between Washington and the GCC states over differences on shifting relations with Iran, involvement in Syria's civil war, and support for Egypt's interim government. Moreover, the challenges of U.S. diplomacy in Bahrain have brought into sharp relief America's limited leverage on issues of basic rights in the Gulf. In the UAE, officials have repeatedly rejected foreign meddling in internal affairs, including U.S. objections to the 2012 closure of two democracy-promoting organizations, the National Democratic Institute and Germany's Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung.

On November 3, Secretary Kerry addressed the issue of Muslim Brothers on trial in Egypt, telling reporters in Cairo that he and Foreign Minister Nabil Fahmy "agreed on the need to ensure that Egyptians are afforded due process with fair and transparent trials." In the current environment, such comments are unlikely to be echoed regarding Abu Dhabi's Brotherhood trial. At the same time, the UAE is profoundly interested in upholding its international image as a modern, progressive state. Releasing convincing evidence of seditious activity would stigmatize the Brotherhood locally and internationally, but without such proof, the UAE will remain vulnerable to international charges of targeting political expression. Accordingly, Washington should privately encourage its close ally to bolster its image abroad by publicly presenting the evidence against the defendants currently on trial.

Lori Plotkin Boghardt is a fellow in Gulf politics at The Washington Institute.