أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 3399

أمريكا تصوّت والشرق الأوسط يتفاعل: آراءٌ حول الانتخابات الأمريكية من مختلف أنحاء المنطقة

عبد الرحمن الراشد, محمد أنور السادات, أسلي أيدنتاسباس, و ديفيد هوروفيتس

متاح أيضاً في English

9 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر 2020


"في 5 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر، عقد معهد واشنطن منتدى سياسي افتراضي مع عبد الرحمن الراشد، ومحمد أنور السادات، وأسلي أيدنتاسباس، وديفيد هوروفيتس. والراشد هو رئيس هيئة تحرير قناة العربية والمدير العام السابق لقناتها الإخبارية. والسادات هو عضو سابق في مجلس النواب المصري ورئيس "حزب الإصلاح والتنمية". وأيدنتاسباس هي زميلة أقدم في "المجلس الأوروبي للعلاقات الخارجية" وكاتبة عمود سابقة في صحيفة ميلييت التركية. وهوروفيتس هو المحرر المؤسس لصحيفة "تايمز أوف إسرائيل" ورئيس التحرير السابق لصحيفتي "جيروساليم بوست" و"جيروساليم ريبورت". وفيما يلي ملخص المقرر لملاحظاتهم".

 

عبد الرحمن الراشد

الخبر السار هو أن جو بايدن ملمٌّ بالشرق الأوسط إلماماً يفوق على الأرجح أي رئيس أمريكي تعاقب على السلطة منذ جورج بوش الأب. ومن غير المرجح أن تنحرف إدارة بايدن كثيراً عن مسار السياسات الأمريكية التقليدية في المنطقة.

في الخليج، نظراً للقواسم المشتركة الثابتة بين المصالح الأمريكية والسعودية - الأمن والطاقة وإيران وما إلى ذلك - من المرجح أن يرسي بايدن والرياض علاقات جيدة، فهذا ما كان عليه الحال مع جميع الرؤساء الأمريكيين السابقين، حتى أولئك الذين كان من المتوقع أن يغتاظوا من القادة السعوديين. وبذلك، فإن هذه المصالح المشتركة تجعل من الانسحاب الأمريكي الكامل من المنطقة أمراً غير مرجح، على الرغم من الكلام المتداول عن إنهاء "الحروب التي لا نهاية لها".

وفيما يتعلق بإيران، من المرجح أن يواصل بايدن النهج الحالي للرئيس ترامب باستخدام عقوبات صارمة للبحث عن حلٍّ سياسي. وقد يرى القادة الإيرانيون أن بايدن هو أملهم الوحيد في تحقيق السلام والازدهار في المستقبل القريب، وبالتالي فقد يقررون تقديم تنازلات من أجل التوصل إلى اتفاق جديد.

ومن ناحية التقدم الذي أُحرز مؤخراً في العلاقات العربية الإسرائيلية، أظهر بايدن دعمه لاتفاقيات التطبيع المبرمة مع الإمارات والبحرين والسودان. وإذا بذلت الأطراف الفاعلة الإقليمية مجهوداً كافياً، فقد تتمكن من الاستفادة من هذا التقدم لوضع اتفاق أكثر شمولاً بين الإسرائيليين والفلسطينيين يتجاوز إطار الاتفاقيات الثنائية.

أما بالنسبة للدعوات داخل الحزب الديمقراطي للضغط بشكل أكبر في قضايا حقوق الإنسان في المنطقة، يبقى الواقع أن هذه القضايا سببت التوتر بين دول الخليج والرؤساء الأمريكيين في الماضي، ليتوصلا في نهاية المطاف إلى تفاهمات بهذا الشأن. ولا تخطط السعودية ودول أخرى التورط في تعقيدات السياسة الداخلية الأمريكية، بما في ذلك نفوذ الأعضاء التقدميين في الحزب الديمقراطي، بل ستبذل قصارى جهدها للحفاظ على روابط وثيقة مع البيت الأبيض كما فعلت في الماضي.

محمد انور السادات

يتابع المصريون هذه الانتخابات عن كثب. وبينما قد تفضل الحكومة المصرية رئاسة ترامب، إلا أن الشعب بمعظمه يعلّق آمالاً كبيرة على بايدن. وصحيحٌ أن بعض الناس يربطون إدارة أوباما، وبالتالي إدارة بايدن، بالإسلام السياسي، إلا أن الكثير من المصريين يأملون في أن يركز الرئيس المنتخب بشكلٍ أكبر على الجهود الأكثر أهمية المتمثلة بتعزيز حقوق الإنسان والديمقراطية في الشرق الأوسط.

ويدرك المصريون أن الولايات المتحدة تعاني من انقسامٍ حاد، ولكنهم يريدون أن تعود واشنطن إلى الساحة العالمية وتطالب بتحقيق قيم العدالة والمساواة والديمقراطية التي تؤمن بها. ويحتاج العالم إلى قائدٍ يتولى مجدداً قيادة المعزوفة العالمية، وبوسع الولايات المتحدة أن تعمل كقوة موازنة فعالة ضد الجهات الفاعلة الأخرى الأكثر إشكاليةً. كما أن العالم بحاجة إلى أن تواجه القيادة الأمريكية التحديات المختلفة كالاحتباس الحراري وجائحة فيروس كورونا. وفي هذه المنطقة على وجه التحديد، تُعد مشاركة الولايات المتحدة أمراً بالغ الأهمية.

ومع ذلك، سيواجه الرئيس الأمريكي المقبل العديد من التحديات الكبيرة. وتُعتبر اتفاقيات التطبيع بين العرب وإسرائيل خطوةً إيجابية، لكن بعض المصريين يخشون من أنها ستؤدي إلى "سلام بارد" يشبه ما شهدوه بعد معاهدة السلام بين مصر وإسرائيل. إن المنطقة بحاجة إلى اتفاق أوسع نطاقاً وأكثر شمولاً بين إسرائيل والفلسطينيين.

وبالنظر إلى ما ستكون عليه رئاسة بايدن، فإن الكثير من الأمور ستتغير في خطاب الحكومة المصرية ونهجها، حيث ستبذل المزيد من الجهود للالتزام بمعايير حقوق الإنسان، ليس بسبب بايدن فحسب، ولكن أيضاً لأن الكونغرس الأمريكي سيضغط على مصر لتحقيق تلك الخطوات. وعلى المدى المتوسط، من المرجح أن يحافظ البلدان على علاقة جيدة وقوية.

أسلي أيدنتاسباس

لدى بايدن سجلٌ حافل في تركيا. فعندما بدأت علاقة الرئيس أوباما مع الرئيس التركي رجب طيب أردوغان في التدهور، أصبح نائب الرئيس بايدن المسوؤل الأول عن التواصل مع الرئيس التركي. ومع ذلك، كان ترامب هو الخيار الأول لأنقرة في هذه الانتخابات، كونه حافظ على علاقات شخصية طيبة مع أردوغان، وسمح لتركيا بالمضي قدماً في أجندتها التوسعية من خلال سحب القوات الأمريكية من سوريا، والتزم الصمت نسبياً بشأن القضايا في شرق البحر المتوسط وليبيا.

ولكن بصورة عامة، أصبحت المواقف بين أنقرة وواشنطن عدائيةً. ومن المحتمل أن يرحب القادة الأتراك بتراجع الوجود الأمريكي في الشرق الأوسط، لأنهم يرون أن خروج الولايات المتحدة سيُحدث فراغاً يمكنهم ملؤه بأنفسهم. لكن قد يتبين في النهاية أن هذا الرأي قصير النظر. فالأكثر ترجيحاً هو أن يؤدي الانسحاب الأمريكي إلى إحداث فوضى متزايدة واضمحلال لحكم القانون في الشرق الأوسط حيث ستفتح التصدعات السياسية المجال أمام تأجج الصراعات وانعدام الاستقرار، الأمر الذي من شأنه أن يضر بتركيا في النهاية.

وفي المقابل، قد يكون من المفيد لتركيا أن تجدد أمريكا تركيزها على حقوق الإنسان، لأن مثل هذا الضغط سهّل التنمية الداخلية للبلاد في الماضي. ولكن العالم مختلفٌ الآن، فقد تنامت المشاعر المعادية لأمريكا بشكل كبير في أنقرة، وسيكون من الصعب على بايدن تحقيق تقدّم كبير فيما يخص المطالب المتعلقة بحقوق الإنسان في تركيا.

وفي الوقت نفسه، قد تفضل الحكومة التركية فعلياً التعرض لعقوبات خفيفة من إدارة ترامب بسبب شرائها منظومة الصواريخ "أس-400" من روسيا، لأن مثل هذه العقوبات قد تكون أكثر شدّة إذا تُرك قرار فرضها بيد بايدن. وثمة احتمالٌ أكبر أيضاً في أن يفكر أردوغان بالانخراط في النزاع بين أذربيجان وأرمينيا في فترة ترامب أكثر منه في عهد بايدن. ومع ذلك، كانت أنقرة شديدة الحذر في عدم الحديث عن الانتخابات الأمريكية أو التورط فيها.

ديفيد هوروفيتس

كما هو الحال في البلدان الأخرى، كان الإسرائيليون يراقبون الانتخابات عن كثب. فقد اتخذ الرئيس ترامب بعض الخطوات الشعبية حيال إسرائيل كنقل السفارة الأمريكية إلى القدس وتطبيق حملة "الضغط الأقصى" على إيران. ويعتقد اليهود الإسرائيليون إلى حد كبير أن ترامب مفيدٌ لبلدهم.

ولكن الإسرائيليين كانوا ينتقدون بشدة موقف الرئيس أوباما من إسرائيل ومقاربته التي اعتبروها نهجاً مهووساً تجاه مستوطنات الضفة الغربية. وهم اليوم يعتقدون أن بايدن سيكون أقل تركيزاً على هذه القضية، ويتوقعون علاقة وديةً وإيجابية بين البيت الأبيض والقدس.

ونظراً لأن نتائج الانتخابات الأمريكية كانت قريبةً جداً من التعادل، فمن المحتمل ألا تكون هذه اللحظة نقطة تحوّل كبيرة للحزب الديمقراطي عندما يتعلق الأمر بإسرائيل. وبالنظر إلى العديد من القضايا الأخرى التي تندرج على الأجندة العالمية والمحلية وتستدعي الاهتمام، فمن المفترض ألا يكون بايدن متشوقاً لبدء معركة مريرة مع إسرائيل، بالصورة التي كان فيها أوباما على استعداد للقيام بذلك. وقد يكون بايدن الدقيق والبراغماتي، والذي لا يتفاءل بشكل مفرط بشأن إمكانية تحقيق تقدم مفاجئ مع الفلسطينيين أو يكون ساذجاً لا يدرك مدى تعنتهم، مناسباً جداً لمستقبل العلاقات الإسرائيلية الفلسطينية وحل الدولتين.

وفي الوقت الحالي، حاولت حكومة رئيس الوزراء بنيامين نتنياهو بشكل عام التزام الصمت بشأن إمكانية وصول بايدن إلى سدة الرئاسة. فقد منع نتنياهو جميع وزرائه من الإدلاء بأي تصريح عن الانتخابات، ويعود ذلك جزئياً إلى الرغبة في تجنب تأجيج الانتقادات بأنه حوّل إسرائيل إلى قضية حزبية داخل الولايات المتحدة. ونظراً للانقسامات الداخلية التي تشهدها إسرائيل بالفعل حول نتنياهو، ومع تزايد الانتقادات من اليمين، لا بد لنتنياهو من إيجاد حل وسط مناسب.

 

أعد هذا الملخص أوستن كورونا.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 3399

America Votes, the Middle East Reacts: Views on U.S. Elections from Across the Region

Abdulrahman al-Rashed, Mohamed Anwar E. al-Sadat, Asli Aydintasbas, and David Horovitz

Also available in العربية

November 9, 2020


Experts from the Gulf, Egypt, Turkey, and Israel respond to the initial voting results and discuss factors that may help or hinder the next administration.

On November 5, The Washington Institute held a virtual Policy Forum with Abdulrahman al-Rashed, Mohamed Anwar E. al-Sadat, Asli Aydintasbas, and David Horovitz. Rashed is the chairman of Al-Arabiya’s editorial board and former general manager of its news channel. Sadat is a former Egyptian parliamentarian and chairman of the Reform and Development Party. Aydintasbas is a senior fellow with the European Council on Foreign Relations and a former columnist for Milliyet. Horowitz is founding editor of the Times of Israel and former editor-in-chief of the Jerusalem Post and Jerusalem Report. The following is a rapporteur’s summary of their remarks.

ABDULRAHMAN AL-RASHED

The good news is that Joe Biden already knows the Middle East probably better than any past incoming U.S. president since George H. W. Bush. A Biden administration is unlikely to diverge much from America’s traditional policies in the region.

In the Gulf, given the persistent commonalities between U.S. and Saudi interests—security, energy, Iran, et cetera—Biden and Riyadh would likely establish good relations. This has been the case with all past American presidents, even those who were expected to chafe with Saudi leaders. These shared interests also make a total U.S. withdrawal from the region unlikely, despite rhetoric about ending “endless wars.”

Regarding Iran, Biden will likely build on President Trump’s current approach by using tough sanctions to seek a political solution. Iranian leaders may see that Biden is their only chance at peace and prosperity in the near future, and therefore decide to compromise toward a new agreement.

Regarding the recent progress in Arab-Israel relations, Biden was supportive of the normalization agreements struck with the United Arab Emirates, Bahrain, and Sudan. If regional actors try hard enough, they might be able to build on this progress and create a more comprehensive Israeli-Palestinian deal that goes beyond bilateral agreements.

As for calls within the Democratic Party to press harder on human rights in the region, the reality is that the Gulf states and U.S. presidents have experienced tension over these matters in the past, and in the end they have come together and worked out understandings. Saudi Arabia and other countries do not plan to involve themselves in the complexities of American domestic politics, including the influence of progressives in the Democratic Party. Rather, they will do their best to maintain close ties with the White House as they have done in the past.

MOHAMED ANWAR E. AL-SADAT

Egyptians have been following this election very closely, and while the government may favor a Trump presidency, most of the public has big hopes for Biden. It is true that some people associate the Obama administration, and therefore Biden, with political Islam, but many Egyptians hope that he might put greater emphasis on the more fundamental effort to advance human rights and democracy in the Middle East.

Egyptians realize that the United States is deeply divided, but they want to see Washington back on the global scene pushing for its values of justice, equality, and democracy. The world needs a maestro to conduct the global symphony again, and the United States can act as an effective counterbalance against other, more problematic actors. The world also needs U.S. leadership to face challenges such as global warming and the coronavirus pandemic. In this region specifically, U.S. engagement is critical.

That said, the next president will face many significant challenges. The Arab-Israel normalization deals are positive, but some Egyptians fear they will lead to a “cold peace” like what they saw after the Egypt-Israel treaty. The region needs a more comprehensive agreement between Israel and the Palestinians.

Looking ahead to a Biden presidency, a lot of things would change in the Egyptian government’s rhetoric and approach. There will be more of an effort to adhere to human rights standards, not only because of Biden, but also because the U.S. Congress will be pushing for those things in Egypt. In the medium term, the two countries are likely to maintain a good, strong relationship.

ASLI AYDINTASBAS

Biden has a history in Turkey. When President Obama’s relationship with Recep Tayyip Erdogan began to deteriorate, Vice President Biden became the point-person for communicating with the Turkish leader. That said, Ankara’s first choice in this election is Trump, who has maintained good personal relations with Erdogan, allowed Turkey to progress its expansionist agenda by pulling U.S. troops out of Syria, and stayed relatively silent on issues in the East Mediterranean and Libya.

More generally, however, attitudes between Ankara and Washington have become adversarial. Turkish leaders would probably welcome a reduced U.S. presence in the Middle East, seeing an American departure as a vacuum for them to fill. That view may be shortsighted in the end, though. A U.S. withdrawal is more likely to create an increasingly lawless Middle East where political fault lines make space for heightened conflict and instability, which would ultimately be detrimental to Turkey.

In contrast, a renewed U.S. emphasis on human rights could be good for Turkey, since such pressure has facilitated the country’s internal development in the past. Yet the world is different now, and anti-American sentiment has grown substantially in Ankara. It will be difficult for Biden to achieve much traction with human rights demands in Turkey.

In the meantime, the Turkish government might actually prefer to receive light sanctions from the Trump administration for its acquisition of S-400 missiles from Russia, since such sanctions may be harsher if left for Biden to apply. Erdogan is also more likely to consider heavier engagement in the Azeri-Armenian conflict under Trump than he would be under Biden. Even so, Ankara has been very careful not to talk about the U.S. election or get involved in it.

DAVID HOROVITZ

As in other countries, Israelis have been watching the election very closely. President Trump has taken some popular steps in Israel such as moving the U.S. embassy to Jerusalem and applying “maximum pressure” on Iran. Israeli Jews largely believe that Trump is good for their country.

In contrast, they were very critical of President Obama’s stance on Israel and what they viewed as his obsessive approach toward West Bank settlements. They believe Biden is less likely to be so focused on that issue, however, and expect to see a warm, positive relationship between the White House and Jerusalem.

Because the U.S. election has been very close, this moment is probably not a big turning point for the Democratic Party when it comes to Israel. And given the many other issues requiring attention on the global and domestic agenda, Biden will presumably be uneager to start a bitter battle with Israel, as Obama was willing to do. A nuanced, pragmatic Biden, who is not unduly optimistic about the potential for breakthrough with the Palestinians or naive to their intransigence, could be very good for the future of Israeli-Palestinian relations and a two-state solution.

For now, Prime Minister Binyamin Netanyahu’s government has generally tried to stay quiet about the possibility of a Biden presidency. He has prohibited all of his ministers from saying anything about the election, in part to avoid exacerbating criticism that he has turned Israel into a partisan issue within the United States. Israel is already internally divided over Netanyahu, and with criticism from the right increasing, he needs to find a good middle ground.

This summary was prepared by Austin Corona.