أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

للحريري خسائر إضافية ولـ"حزب الله" مكاسب إضافية في الحكومة اللبنانية الجديدة


متاح أيضاً في English

22 تشرين الأول/أكتوبر 2018

في 24 أيار/مايو، وعقب الانتخابات البرلمانية التي جرت في وقت سابق من الشهر نفسه، تم تكليف رئيس الوزراء الحالي سعد الحريري بتشكيل الحكومة المقبلة. ولكن في حين يحافظ "تيار المستقبل" الذي يرأسه الحريري على مركزه كأكبر حزب بقيادة سنية، تمكّن "حزب الله" وحلفاؤه من الفوز بأغلبية المقاعد في البرلمان. وقد مضى نحو خمسة أشهر، وعلى الرغم من بروز بصيص أمل مؤخرًا، لا يزال تشكيل الحكومة معطلاً بسبب الخلافات بين مختلف الكتل السياسية - كحليف "حزب الله" "التيار الوطني الحر" المسيحي و"الحزب التقدمي الاشتراكي" الدرزي – التي تقاتل على الحقائب الوزارية. وتشمل العوامل الإضافية التي تؤدي إلى تعقيد هذه العملية تهديدات إدارة ترامب ضد إيران، وأزمة اقتصادية غير مسبوقة، وجلسات المرافعات الختامية للمحكمة الدولية الخاصة بلبنان التي عُهد إليها بمحاكمة أعضاء "حزب الله" بتهمة اغتيال رئيس الوزراء السابق رفيق الحريري، وهو والد سعد الحريري، في فبراير/شباط 2005.

ونظرًا لاستمرار التأخير في تشكيل حكومة لبنانية والتأثير السلبي الذي قد يحمله استمرار حالة عدم اليقين السياسي على "حزب الله"، ستكون من الحكمة أن يمتنع الحريري عن ترؤّس مجلس الوزراء القادم. فمن عجيب المفارقات أنه من خلال مواصلة مهامه كرئيس للوزراء، قد يكون الحريري في الواقع يساعد خصمه السياسي "حزب الله" في وقت تواجه فيه الجماعة العسكرية محنةً متزايدة. فإنّ الظروف المحلية والخارجية مهيّأة بطريقة بحيث إذا أجبَر الحريري "حزب الله" وحلفاءه على القيام بدور مباشر أكبر في الحكومة، فإن المسؤولية الإضافية قد تتفاقم مع تحديات أخرى أوسع تهدد "حزب الله" وتساعد على تقويض قاعدته الانتخابية.

فمن جهة، نجح "حزب الله" في تحقيق فوز كبير في الانتخابات الوطنية الأخيرة. ففي شهر أيار/مايو، مكّن النظام الانتخابي الجديد التحالف الشيعي المؤلّف من "حزب الله" و"حركة أمل" من الحصول على 26 مقعدًا من أصل 27 مقعدًا شيعيًا في البرلمان المؤلف من 128 مقعد. وبحسب الخبير الانتخابي كمال فغالي، تبلغ كتلة "حزب الله" النيابية الآن 45 مقعدًا برلمانيًا إذا أخذنا بعين الاعتبار تحالفاته مع "الحزب القومي السوري" و"حزب المردة" المسيحي. وفي حزيران/يونيو الماضي، أشاد الجنرال الإيراني قاسم سليماني بـ"حزب الله" والجماعات التابعة له على ما حققوه من مكاسب في الانتخابات البرلمانية اللبنانية، زاعمًا أن الحزب "فاز بـ74 مقعدًا من أصل 128 مقعدًا في البرلمان"، وهو رقم شمل المقاعد التي فاز بها حليف "حزب الله" "التيار الوطني الحر".

إلا أنّ هذه الزيادة في سلطة "حزب الله" لا تدعو إلى الدهشة. فعلى الرغم من خسارته الأغلبية البرلمانية عام 2005، أي في السنة التي اغتيل فيها رئيس الوزراء اللبناني السابق رفيق الحريري، ما انفكّ "حزب الله" يزداد رسوخًا وانتشارًا في لبنان على مدى السنوات الـ13 الماضية. كما أدّت حملة الاغتيالات التي نفذها "حزب الله" بدعم من إيران وسوريا، والتي استهدفت أعضاء تحالف 14 آذار المناهض لإيران وسوريا، إلى حدوث أزمة سياسية استمرت 18 شهرًا نتج عنها اشتباكات في الشوارع وشلل في البرلمان. علاوةً على ذلك، بالرغم من تصوير اتفاق أيار/مايو 2008 بين الحكومة اللبنانية وقوات المعارضة كوسيلة ضرورية لإنهاء الأزمة السياسية اللبنانية، كان الترتيب بمثابة نعمة بالنسبة إلى "حزب الله" لأنه مكّن التنظيم من استخدام حق الفيتو ضد قرارات الحكومة.

ولكن في حين أن الجماعة المسلحة قد عززت قبضتها في موطنها، تجد نفسها في موقف محفوف بالمخاطر بشكل متزايد بسبب تورطها على الصعيد الدولي. وفي أيلول/سبتمبر، ركزت المرافعات الختامية للمحكمة الدولية الخاصة بلبنان على تورط المتهمين الأربعة التابعين لـ"حزب الله" في اغتيال رفيق الحريري. وبما أن إعادة فرض العقوبات الأمريكية في 4 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر ستؤدي بالتأكيد إلى انخفاض حاد في عائدات النفط الإيراني، سيزداد التمويل الذي توفره إيران لوكلائها شحًا. علاوةً على ذلك، تستهدف الولايات المتحدة حلفاء طهران أيضًا كجزء من سياستها المناهضة لإيران: فقد أصدر الكونغرس هذا الشهر مشروع قانون جديد (S.1595) يفرض عقوبات جديدة على الأشخاص الأجانب ووكالات الحكومات الأجنبية التي تزود "حزب الله" بالمساعدات المالية والأسلحة أو أي مساعدات أخرى. كما سبق أن فرضت الولايات المتحدة وشركاؤها الخليجيون عقوبات إضافية على قيادة "حزب الله" في أيار/مايو من هذا العام.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك، إلى جانب التعامل مع ساحة دولية عدائية وتهديد المنافسين الإقليميين، يتعين على "حزب الله" الآن أن يجد طريقةً لاسترضاء قاعدته السياسية الشيعية، التي ترزح في ظل الممارسات السيئة للحكم في لبنان. وبالفعل، مع استمرار ارتفاع مخاطر المالية الكلية، تراجعت معدلات النمو السنوية إلى ما بين 1 و2 في المئة، واستمر الدين العام - الذي بلغ في أواخر عام 2017 أكثر من 150 في المئة من الناتج المحلي الإجمالي - في الارتفاع، وأصبح المحللون اللبنانيون أكثر حذرًا من أزمة مالية وشيكة.

كما تواجه البلاد أيضًا أزمة سيولة كبيرة أدّت إلى حالات من الإفلاس وتقليص حجم الشركات في القطاع الخاص. ويبدو الآن أن شركات مثل العملاق العقاري "سايفكو" تكافح من أجل البقاء، غير أنه لا توجد بنية أساسية مؤسسية كافية للحد من انهيارها أو انهيار الشركات الكبرى الأخرى. وما يزيد الطين بلةً هو أن الفساد المتفشي في البلاد يبدو أنه في ازدياد. ففي الواقع، وبحسب بعض المؤشرات، ارتفع تصنيف الفساد العالمي للدولة اللبنانية بين عامَي 2005 و2017 من 63 إلى 143.

وبالتالي، من خلال رفضه قيادة عملية تشكيل الحكومة، سيجبر الحريري "حزب الله" وحلفاءه على التعامل مع هذا العبء بمفردهم. وبهذه الطريقة، قد يتمكن للحريري أيضًا من وضع "حزب الله" تحت ضغط مالي كبير. ففي نهاية المطاف، تستند قدرة الحكومة اللبنانية على تأمين الاستثمار البالغ 11 مليار دولار الذي تعهدت به الجهات المانحة الدولية خلال اجتماع في باريس في نيسان/أبريل الماضي، بشكل كبير إلى الثقة في رئيس الوزراء وحلفائه – وهذه الثقة لا تشمل "حزب الله".

وإذا وضعنا الاقتصاد جانبًا، فإن دعم الحريري يمنح "حزب الله" أيضًا شكلاً من أشكال الشرعية الدولية. فاليوم، يجادل عدد كبير من النقاد في الولايات المتحدة بأن الدولة اللبنانية و"حزب الله" هما كيان واحد. لذا، يمكن لغياب الحريري أن يثبت صحة هذه الحجة وأن يزيل غشاء الاحترام الذي يوفّره.

وبالتالي، يُعد رئيس الوزراء الحالي في موقع القوة. ولا شك في أن انسحاب الحريري من الحكومة سيحمل عواقب مؤلمة على المدى القصير، لكن لبنان قد يكون بحاجة إلى صدمة سياسية قاسية لإنهاء التدهور البطيء لكن المرتقب الذي تواجهه البلاد.

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

Why Hariri Has More to Lose and Hezbollah More to Gain in the New Lebanese Government


Also available in العربية

October 22, 2018

On May 24, in the aftermath of the parliamentary elections held earlier that month, Lebanon’s incumbent Prime Minister Saad Hariri was tasked with forming the next cabinet. Nonetheless, while Hariri’s Future Movement remains the biggest Sunni-led party in the Lebanese government, Hezbollah and its allies were able to win the majority of seats in the parliament. Nearly five months later, despite a recent glimmer of hope, cabinet formation remains stalled. The main reason for the delay is disputes between various political blocks, such as Hezbollah’s ally, the Christian Free Patriotic Movement, and the Druze Progressive Socialist Party, which are fighting for a place in the cabinet. Additional factors encumbering the process also include the Trump administration’s threats against Iran, an unprecedented economic crisis, and the closing sessions of the Special Tribunal for Lebanon (STL) entrusted with trying Hezbollah members for the assassination of former PM Rafiq Hariri, Saad’s father, in February 2005.

In light of the continued delay in the formation of a Lebanese government and the negative impact prolonged political uncertainty could have on Hezbollah, Hariri would be wise to recuse himself from becoming the leader of the next cabinet. Paradoxically, by continuing to serve as Prime Minister, Hariri may actually be helping his political opponent, Hezbollah, at a time when the military group is facing increasing adversity. Domestic and external conditions are such that if Hariri instead forces Hezbollah and its allies to play a more direct role in the government, the additional responsibility may compound with other broader challenges threatening Hezbollah and help erode its voter base.

On the one hand, Hezbollah has done very well in the most recent national elections. In May, the new proportional electoral system enabled the Shiite alliance, comprised of Hezbollah and the Amal movement, to win 26 out of 27 seats reserved for Shiites in the 128-seat parliament. According to electoral expert Kamal Feghali, if the group’s alliances with the Syrian Nationalist Party and the Christian Marada party are factored in, Hezbollah’s total bloc now stands at 45 parliamentary seats. Last June, Iranian General Qasem Soleimani even praised Hezbollah and its affiliates for their gains in the Lebanese parliamentary elections, claiming that the party had “won 74 out of parliament's 128 seats”, a number that included seats obtained by Hezbollah’s ally, the Free Patriotic Movement (FPM).

This increase in Hezbollah’s power is hardly surprising. Despite having lost its parliamentary majority in 2005, the year former Lebanese Prime Minister Rafiq Hariri was assassinated, for the past thirteen years Hezbollah has been gaining ground in Lebanon. The Iranian and Syrian-backed Hezbollah assassination campaign targeting members of the anti-Iranian and anti-Syrian March 14 Alliance sparked an 18-month political crisis resulting in street clashes and paralyzed of the parliament. Moreover, despite the depiction of the May 2008 agreement between the Lebanese government and opposition forces as necessary for ending Lebanon’s political crisis, the arrangement was a boon to Hezbollah as it enabled the organization to veto the government’s decisions.

Yet, while the militant group has consolidated power in its home turf, it is finding itself in an increasingly perilous position due to its international involvements. In September, the closing arguments of the STL focused on the involvement of four Hezbollah-affiliated suspects in the assassination of Rafiq Hariri. And as the re-imposition of US sanctions on November 4 will certainly lead to a drastic reduction in Iranian oil revenue, Iran will have increasingly limited funds to distribute to its proxies. Furthermore, as part of its anti-Iran policy, the US is also targeting Teheran’s allies: This month congress passed a new bill (S.1595) imposing sanctions on foreign persons and agencies of foreign governments providing Hezbollah with financial aid, arms, or other assistance. The United States and its Gulf partners have already imposed supplementary sanctions on Hezbollah leadership in May of this year.

Moreover, in addition to dealing with a hostile international arena and menacing regional rivals, Hezbollah must now also find a way to appease its political Shiite base, which is languishing in light of Lebanon’s poor governing practices. Indeed, as macro-financial risks remain extremely high, annual growth rates have fallen to between 1 and 2 percent, and the public debt – which in late 2017 stood at more than 150 percent of GDP – continues to rise, Lebanese analysts are increasingly wary of an impending financial crisis.

The country also faces a major liquidity crunch leading to bankruptcies and downsizings in the private sector. Companies such as the real-estate giant Sayfco now appear to be struggling, but little institutional infrastructure exists to mitigate their own or other large corporations’ potential collapse. To make matters worse, corruption in the country is rampant and appears to be on the rise. Between 2005 and 2017, the country’s world corruption rank rose from 63 to 143.

Thus, by refusing to spearhead the process of government formation, Hariri would be forcing Hezbollah and its allies into dealing with this burden by themselves. In this manner, Hariri could also place Hezbollah under significant financial pressure. After all, the Lebanese Government’s ability to secure the $11 billion investment pledged by international donors during a meeting in Paris this April largely rests on trust in Hariri and his allies – trust that is not extended to Hezbollah.

Economics aside, Hariri’s support also provides Hezbollah with a form of international legitimacy. Many pundits in the United States are now arguing that the Lebanese state and Hezbollah are one and the same. Hariri’s absence could validate this argument and pull away the veneer of respectability the Prime Minister provides.

The Incumbent Prime Minister is thus in an ironic position of power: Hariri’s withdrawal from the government would definitely have painful repercussions in the short term, yet Lebanon might be in need of a brutal political shock to end the slow but impending decay the country is facing.

Customize your RSS Feed