أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

أي دبلوماسية أمريكية للأكراد في سوريا؟


متاح أيضاً في English

25 أيلول/سبتمبر 2020

مصير الأكراد في شمال شرق سوريا غامضٌ وحافلٌ بالتهديدات، لا سيما في الفترة الراهنة مع انسحاب غالبية القوات الأمريكية من البلاد. فالوجود العسكري الروسي في تلك المنطقة يتخذ طابعًا عدوانيًا بين الحين والآخر، ومع اقترانه بالعدوان التركي على القوات الكردية المدعومة من الولايات المتحدة، بات يزعزع أكثر فأكثر وضع الأكراد في المنطقة. وحتى المدنيون الأكراد أنفسهم يتعرضون للعنف على أيدي ميليشيات إسلامية متطرفة مدعومة من تركيا ترتكب جرائم الحرب في المدن الكردية المحتلة من تركيا. في ضوء ذلك، يتعين على الولايات المتحدة اتخاذ عدة خطوات لمعالجة هذه التهديدات وضمان سلامة حلفائها الأكراد في سوريا.

في هذا الإطار، لا بد أن يدرك المسؤولون الأمريكيون أن الولايات المتحدة – وشركاؤها الأكراد والعرب والمسيحيون في المنطقة – فقدوا الكثير من نفوذهم في سوريا. ذلك أن التوسع العسكري في شمال شرق سوريا والعدوان التركي المتزايد زعزع استقرار المنطقة وأضعف الاستراتيجية الدولية لدعم مكافحة الإرهاب وزاد من تعقيد المهمةٍ الصعبة أصلاً، ألا وهي إيجاد حل سياسي شامل للأزمة السورية.

وجدير بالذكر أن القرار الذي أخذه الرئيس ترامب في تشرين الأول/أكتوبر 2019 بسحب القوات الأمريكية من سوريا ساهم إلى حدٍّ كبير في تراجع النفوذ الأمريكي في البلاد، فوجد الأكراد أنفسهم معرّضين بالنتيجة للمزيد من أعمال العنف والشكوك. وقد أكدت الأمم المتحدة في تقرير خاص يغطي الفترة الممتدة بين تموز/يوليو 2019 وشباط/فبراير 2020 أن المتمردين المدعومين من تركيا قتلوا المدنيين ونهبوا الشركات المحلية في المدن الكردية أمثال عفرين وتل أبيض ورأس العين - وهي أعمالٌ تقع في خانة جرائم الحرب.

فضلاً عن ذلك، أثار وضع الأكراد المقلقل تنافرًا سياسيًا بين القيادتين الكردية والأمريكية. وفي اجتماعٍ عُقد خلال شهر تشرين الأول/أكتوبر 2019 مع الدبلوماسي الأمريكي الرفيع المستوى ويليام روباك، ناشد قائد "قوات سوريا الديمقراطية" الجنرال مظلوم عبدي الولايات المتحدة بحماية الأكراد في سوريا، قائلاً: "لستُم مستعدّين لحماية الشعب، ولكنكم لا تريدون أن تأتي قوة أخرى لتحمينا. لقد بعتمونا، وهذا عملٌ غير أخلاقي". وأصرّ الجنرال مظلوم على ضرورة أن تسهم الولايات المتحدة في وقف الهجمات التركية أو السماح للمسؤولين الأكراد بإبرام صفقة مع نظام الأسد وروسيا لحمايتهم من القصف التركي. وفي نهاية المطاف، نجحت الولايات المتحدة في وقف العدوان التركي من خلال التهديد بالعقوبات وسحب المقاتلين الأكراد من حدود تركيا. ولكن تركيا تواصل استهداف الأكراد عبر احتلال المدن الكردية وتوطين العرب والتركمان والمتطرفين الإسلاميين في منازل الأكراد.

وفيما قرر الرئيس ترامب إبقاء عدد صغير من القوات الأمريكية في شمال شرق سوريا لمواصلة الحرب ضد "داعش" وحماية حقول النفط، توسّع زحف القوات الروسية إلى المناطق الكردية، وها هي اليوم تتعاون مع القوات التركية في مهام المراقبة العسكرية المشتركة عند الحدود بين سوريا وتركيا. أضف إلى ذلك أن القوات الروسية ووكلائها المحليين لا يزالون يضايقون القوات الأمريكية والقوات المتحالفة بغية توسيع نطاق سيطرتهم وصولاً إلى آبار النفط. في الوقت نفسه، تتعاون تركيا وميليشياتها المتطرفة لمهاجمة القوات الكردية، فيما تواصل الميليشيات الشيعية الإيرانية و"حزب الله" الأنشطة العسكرية في المنطقة.

على المستوى الدبلوماسي، تسعى كل من تركيا وإيران وروسيا إلى تحقيق هدف مشترك، ألا وهو لجم الطموحات السياسية الكردية. وهي تواصل مع نظام الأسد استهداف الأكراد في سوريا لمنعهم من تحقيق الاستقلالية الفيدرالية أو نيل حقوقهم المستقبلية، مع رفض أي تمثيل فعلي للأكراد في مفاوضات جنيف المتعلقة بالحل السياسي في سوريا.

وحيث أن هذه التطورات كلها تهدد عناصر القوات الأمريكية والدبلوماسيين الأمريكيين والمبادرات الاستراتيجية الرامية إلى تحقيق الاستقرار والتطوير، يتعين على الولايات المتحدة اتخاذ عدة خطوات للتصدي للعدوان المتزايد الذي يتعرّض له حلفاؤها الأكراد، وضمان أمن المصالح الأمريكية في المنطقة.

في البداية، يجب على الولايات المتحدة إعادة إرساء وجودها العسكري في المنطقة وإعلان شمال شرق سوريا منطقة حظر جوي. فإنشاء منطقة الحظر الجوي يساعد على حماية القوات المدعومة من الولايات المتحدة من  الأكراد  والعرب والمسيحيين ، ويمنع في الوقت نفسه الأسد من الاستحواذ على منطقة مهمة للإنتاج الغذائي. كما يمكن استغلال منطقة الحظر الجوي للضغط على روسيا والأسد من أجل قبول قرار مجلس الأمن رقم 2254 بشأن الحل السياسي للصراع السوري.

وفي النهاية، يجب على الولايات المتحدة أن تضغط على القوات التركية للانسحاب من المناطق الكردية لأجلٍ غير مسمّى، ولكن يجب في هذه الأثناء أن يسعى المسؤولون الأمريكيون إلى منع أردوغان من إعادة توطين العرب في الأراضي ذات الغالبية الكردية.

فضلاً عن ذلك، يجب على الولايات المتحدة أن تدعو إلى انعقاد مؤتمر في واشنطن لمناقشة آلية ضمان مستقبل شركائها في سوريا وحمايتهم، سواء الأكراد أو سواهم. فالانقسامات الراهنة في صفوف القوات الكردية وبين حلفاء أمريكا الآخرين تستدعي تفاهمًا مشتركًا واستراتيجية دبلوماسية أمريكية واضحة في المنطقة. ويستطيع الدبلوماسيون الأمريكيون الاستفادة من النجاحات التي حققوها مع أكراد العراق - الذين يتمتعون اليوم بمنطقة فيدرالية خاصة بهم – لتشجيع التماسك والتعاون بين القوات الكردية في سوريا.

ولابد للولايات المتحدة من تقديم المزيد من الدعم الدبلوماسي والعسكري والاقتصادي لحلفائها الأكراد. وتشمل الخطوات المهمة في هذا الإطار برامج التدريب على القيادة والحكم الرشيد ومبادئ الديمقراطية، وهي للأسف برامج يحتاجها الحلفاء بشدة. وبوسع الوكالة الأمريكية للتنمية الدولية (USAID) أن تساهم أيضًا في تطوير البنية التحتية في المناطق الكردية وتحسين الإنتاج الاقتصادي والزراعي. ويجب أيضًا على الولايات المتحدة أن تعرض على أكراد سوريا برامج للتبادل الثقافي والتعليم ومشاريع لتطوير الإعلام وحرية التعبير.

علاوةً على ذلك، يجب على الولايات المتحدة أن تتخذ خطوة صغيرة ولكن مهمة من الناحية الرمزية في تعزيز العلاقات الأمريكية الكردية، وهي فتح مكتب للشؤون الكردية في وزارة الخارجية الأمريكية. فمن شأن هذا المكتب أن يحدّد بوضوح أكبر الدور الدبلوماسي للقوى الكردية في سوريا ويبيّن التزام الولايات المتحدة تجاه حلفائها الأكراد.

وأخيرًا، يجب على المسؤولين الأمريكيين التواصل الدبلوماسي  مع تركيا، من أجل مواجهة التهديدات المحدقة بالشعب الكردي جرّاء انسحاب القوات الأمريكية من سوريا.

ويجدر بالولايات المتحدة أن تتبنى موقفًا أكثر صرامة ووضوحًا مع تركيا، إذ أن تعاون تركيا مع روسيا وإيران يهدد المصالح الأمريكية، ويجب على المسؤولين الأمريكيين مطالبة تركيا بشكل أقوى بحماية حلفاء أمريكا وأهدافها. كما يجب على الولايات المتحدة على الأقل أن تردع تركيا عن توطين النازحين السوريين العرب والمتطرفين في منازل الأكراد وأراضيهم.

تجدر الإشارة إلى أن الأكراد يُعتبرون منذ عقود طويلة شركاء ودودين ومخلصين للولايات المتحدة. وبالتالي، من مصلحة الولايات المتحدة تطوير هذه الشراكة، ليس لمكافحة الإرهاب وحسب، بل لترسيخ التعاون المؤكد في القضايا الأخرى ذات الأهمية المشتركة. وتُعتبر هذه الخطوات مهمةً، ليس بهدف منع العدوان الموجّه ضد الأكراد السوريين فحسب، بل لتعزيز النفوذ الأمريكي في سوريا أيضًا على حساب القوى المعادية أمثال إيران وروسيا.

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

What U.S. Diplomacy for the Kurds in Syria?


Also available in العربية

September 25, 2020

Kurds in Syria’s northeastern region face an uncertain and threatening future, especially now that most American forces have withdrawn from the country. A sporadically belligerent Russian military presence, coupled with Turkish aggression against U.S.-backed Kurdish forces, has produced an increasingly precarious situation for Kurds in the area. Even Kurdish civilians face violence as Turkish-backed extremist Islamic militias perpetrate war crimes in Kurdish cities occupied by Turkey. The U.S. should take several steps in addressing these threats and securing safety for its Kurdish allies in Syria.

American officials will need to recognize that the United States – along with local Kurdish, Arab, and Christian partners – has lost significant influence in Syria. Russian military expansion in northeastern Syria, along with increased Turkish aggression, has created regional instability, weakened the international strategy to support anti-terrorism efforts, and further complicated the already difficult task of finding a comprehensive political solution for Syria.

President Trump’s decision in October 2019 to withdraw American forces from Syria has largely contributed to the United States’ diminishing influence in the country. As a result, Kurds are facing increased violence and uncertainty. The United Nations confirmed in a special report covering the period from July 2019 to February 2020 that Turkish-backed rebels have killed civilians and looted local businesses in Kurdish cities like Afrin, Tal Abyad, and Ras al-Ain – acts that amount to war crimes.

Moreover, the Kurds’ precarious situation has provoked political strife between Kurdish and American leadership. In an October 2019 meeting with senior U.S. diplomat William Roebuck, General Mazlum Abdi, commander of the Syrian Democratic Forces, appealed to the United States to protect Kurds in Syria: "You are not willing to protect the people, but you do not want another force to come and protect us. You have sold us. This is immoral." General Mazloum insisted that the U.S. should help stop Turkish attacks or allow Kurdish officials to strike a deal with the Assad regime and Russia to protect them from Turkish bombing. Ultimately, the U.S. succeeded in halting Turkish aggression by threatening the imposition of sanctions and withdrawing Kurdish fighters from Turkey's borders. Nonetheless, Turkey continues to target Kurds by occupying Kurdish cities and settling Arabs, Turkmens, and Islamic extremists in Kurdish homes.

And while President Trump decided to keep a small amount of U.S. forces in northeastern Syria to protect oilfields and continue combating ISIS, Russian forces have expanded into Kurdish areas and are cooperating with Turkish forces for joint military observation on the Syrian-Turkish border. Moreover, Russian forces and their local proxies continue to harass American and allied forces to expand their control towards the oil wells. Meanwhile, Turkey and its extremist militias are cooperating to attack Kurdish forces, while Iranian Shia militias and Hezbollah continue conducting military activities in the region.

On a diplomatic level, Turkey, Iran, and Russia share the common goal of suppressing Kurdish political ambitions. In conjunction with the Assad regime, they continue to target the Kurds in Syria to prevent them from achieving federal autonomy or future rights, rejecting any authentic Kurdish representation in negotiations related to a political solution for Syria.

All these developments threaten U.S. military personnel, diplomats, and strategic initiatives for stability and development. As such, the United States should take several steps to combat increasing hostility against its Kurdish allies and secure American interests in the region.

First, the United States should re-establish a military presence in the region and declare northeastern Syria as a no-fly zone. Establishing a no-fly zone would help protect U.S.-backed forces like Kurds and Assyrian Christians, while preventing Assad’s acquisition of the significant food-producing region. The no-fly zone would also provide leverage in pressuring Russia and Assad to accept UNSC resolution 2254 on a political solution to the Syrian conflict.

Ultimately, the U.S. should pressure Turkish forces to withdraw from the Kurdish areas indefinitely. In the interim, however, U.S. officials should work to prevent Erdogan from resettling Arabs in predominantly Kurdish lands.

In addition, the U.S. ought call a conference in Washington to discuss a mechanism for guaranteeing and protecting the future of U.S. partners in Syria, Kurdish or otherwise. Current divisions within Kurdish forces and between other U.S. allies necessitate a common understanding and clear American diplomatic strategy in the region. American diplomats can use their successes with Iraqi Kurds, who currently enjoy their own federal region, to encourage cohesion and cooperation among Kurdish forces in Syria.

The U.S. must provide further diplomatic, military, and economic support for its Kurdish allies. Critical in this support are training programs in leadership, good governance, and the principles of democracy, programs which are unfortunately badly needed. USAID can also contribute to infrastructure development in Kurdish areas and to the improvement of economic and agricultural production. Moreover, the U.S. should offer Syria’s Kurds cultural exchange programs, education, and projects to develop media and freedom of expression.

As a small but symbolically important step in strengthening U.S.-Kurdish relations, the U.S. should open an office for Kurdish affairs in the State Department. This office would help define more clearly the diplomatic role of Kurdish forces in Syria and clarify U.S. commitment to its Kurdish allies.

Finally, American officials should engage Turkey diplomatically to address the threats to Kurdish people resulting from the withdrawal of U.S. forces from Syria.

The United States needs to be more assertive and clear with Turkey. Turkish cooperation with Russia and Iran threatens U.S. interests, and American officials need to make stronger demands of Turkey to protect American allies and goals. At the very least, the U.S. should stop Turkey from resettling Syrian Arab refugees and extremists in the homes and lands of the Kurds.

Broadly speaking, the Kurds have been amicable and loyal partners to the United States for decades. It is therefore in the United States’ interest to develop this partnership, not only as a means to combat terrorism, but also to solidify assured cooperation on other issues of common interest. The above-mentioned steps are important, not only to prevent against aggression directed towards Syrian Kurds, but also to bolster American influence in Syria at the expense of adversarial powers like Iran and Russia.

Customize your RSS Feed