أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

«ترامب المنتصر»: الشرق الأوسط بين اتفاقين نوويين


متاح أيضاً في English

26 حزيران/يونيو 2018

صورة الرئيس الأميركي دونالد ترامب، إذ يوقع «اتفاق نزع السلاح النووي» إلى جانب الزعيم الكوري الشمالي كيم جونغ أون، في سنغافورة يوم الثاني عشر من حزيران يونيو الجاري، تقدم مادة خصبة إضافية لكل من السرديتين المتنافستين في الإطار العربي، لتدفعهما باتجاه تأكيد الرؤيتين المتضادتين لواقع الأمور في الشرق الأوسط. فالرؤية الأولى تدرج اللقاء في سياق تصحيح شامل لسياسات القوة العظمى الوحيدة في مختلف الملفات الدولية، بما يخدم تحقيق الاستقرار في منطقة الشرق الأوسط، فيما الرؤية المضادة ترى في اللقاء عينه إرهاصاً بالمزيد من التوتر والنزاع في المستقبل المنظور للمنطقة. أما المفارقة فهي أن الرؤيتين تتفقان أن ترامب هو الممسك بزمام المبادرة، وأن الولايات المتحدة هي في موقع القوة، وإن اختلفتا في تقييم هذا الإنجاز، سلباً وإيجاباً.

وإدارة الرئيس ترامب، إذ هي تشهر تخليها عن سياسات الرئيس السابق باراك أوباما، بل تجاهر بإدانتها لهذه السياسات، تجد تأييداً يكاد أن يكون دون تحفظ من ثلاث عواصم شرق أوسطية، هي القدس والرياض وأبو ظبي. وكان وجه الاعتراض الأول في هذه العواصم إزاء الإدارة الأميركية السابقة أن واشنطن تزاحمت للاستحصال على اتفاق مع إيران، وفق شروط يرى البعض أنها غير موائمة للمصالح الأميركية، ودون اعتبار لمصالح الشركاء والحلفاء في المنطقة، ودون إصغاء لنصائحهم. بل شكواهم هي أيضاً أن إدارة الرئيس أوباما قد أخفت عنهم تفاصيل تواصلها مع إيران رغم الأثر البالغ للموضوع على أمنهم الوطني.

فمن وجهة نظر كل من السعودية والإمارات وإسرائيل يظهر انسحاب إدارة الرئيس ترامب من الاتفاق النووي الإيراني، وإعلانها السعي إلى توجه جديد بعيد المدى للتصدي للتوسع الإيراني، كتصويب لشطح في المواقف على درب تصحيح لعلاقات كانت قد تضررت. وبعد أن كانت الوسائل الإعلامية المرتبطة بكل من السعودية والإمارات قد سايرت الاهتمام العام بمتابعة مواقف الرئيس ترامب، بعيد انتخابه، كنموذج جديد في الرئاسة، غير مقيّد بأصول معتادة وميّال إلى المعارك الجانبية، فإنها قد شهدت تدريجياً إعادة تصوير لترامب بما يتيح فهم مواقفه وأقواله على أنها منسجمة مع ذاتها ومندرجة في إطار خطة محكمة متجانسة، وإن لم تكن جليّة للمشاهد العادي.

والواقع أن هذا النموذج لشخص القائد، والذي جرى اعتماده أخيراً لقراءة ترامب، متوافق مع الصيغة السائدة في التأطير المعياري للحكم والحاكم لدى كافة الوسائط الإعلامية الخليجية، وإن اعترى بعض الإعلام المرتبط بقطر قدر من الارتباك بهذا الشأن، وفق منطق أبوية الحاكم كمسؤولية واستحقاقه إزائها للولاء. أبوية الحاكم جلية في الإعلام المدعوم إماراتياً بالتركيز على دور قادة الإمارات في دفع بلادهم قدماً إلى التطور، ولكنه واضح كذلك في النقد الضمني والصريح لمسارات «الربيع العربي» على أنها تجارب هدّامة في تحديها لمشروعية الحكام الوطنيين وهيبة الدول. والأبوية قد نالت زخماً جديداً في السياق السعودي، في التركيز على شخصية الأمير الشاب ولي العهد محمد بن سلمان، وفي تصويره على أنه الحاكم المسؤول الراشد صاحب الرؤية والصائب على الدوام.

ويلاحظ أن الإعلام المدعوم قطرياً (والمدان سعودياً وإماراتياً للمساحة الانتقائية والمتفاوتة) التي يمنحها للقراءات النقدية)، لم يعتنق التصوير المضاد لترامب كزعيم متهور طائش، رغم شيوع هذا التصوير في الإعلام الغربي عامة وفي الولايات المتحدة خاصة. ففيما ترد التعليقات في هذا الاتجاه الطاعن ضمن المساحة المخصصة للرأي في هذا الإعلام، فإن الجهد التحريري ينحو إلى ما يظهره على أنه موضوعية أو حيادية، لتأتي التغطية الجمالية منافية للتصوير السلبي لدونالد ترامب. بل إن طاقة النقد اللاذع لدى قناة الجزيرة وغيرها من الوسائل الإعلامية التي تدعمها قطر أمست تقتصر أو تكاد على شؤون الخصوم الخليجيين.

والأسلوب المعتاد في الإعلام العربي لتغطية أخبار القادة السياسيين هو من خلال التركيز على الشكل مع تطرق ضئيل للمضمون، وعليه فإن قمة سنغافورة الأميركية الكورية الشمالية، قد وافقت هذا الأسلوب في تقديمها استفاضة استعراضية كدليل مرئي على أهميتها. والعبارات المستعملة على مدى الإعلام الناطق بالعربية، بما فيه المحطات الدولية التي تبثّ من أوروبا، لم تميّز في تغطيتها لحفل التوقيع عند نهاية اللقاء بين بيان قمة واتفاق مبرم. بل، وعلى الرغم من تنويه متكرر من عدد من الضيوف والمراسلين، جرى التأكيد على الطبيعة «التاريخية» للقاء وعلى مفصليته في العلاقات الدولية وعلى الإنجاز غير المسبوق المتحقق على مستوى نزع السلاح النووي. وقد لا تكون هذه المواقف الإعلامية تعبيراً عن قراءة متأنية للمجريات بقدر ما هي إعادة تموضع عملي إزاء الولايات المتحدة في ظل إدارة ترامب.

ففي الإعلام العربي الذي يدعمه حلفاء الولايات المتحدة وشركاؤها، يظهر ترامب بصورة الرئيس الحازم صاحب المبادرة والإقدام والقادر على تمزيق اتفاق نووي لا يفي مصالح بلاده حقها (مع إيران)، وعلى تحقيق اتفاق آخر ينسجم مع مطالبه (مع كوريا الشمالية). ولا فارق سواء شكل هذا التصوير قناعة لدى أصحاب القرار في السعودية والإمارات وقطر، أم لا. فكوريا الشمالية هي خارج الأفق السياسي لهذه الدول، فيما همّ اجتراح البديل للاتفاق النووي مع إيران قد تراجع إلى المرتبة الثانية أو الثالثة بالنسبة لها.

إيران، دون شك، تبقى في صلب الهمّ الأول، غير أن الخطر الذي تشكله إيران بالنسبة لكل من السعودية والإمارات هو ذو بعد جغرافي أولاً، وليس نووياً. فعلى مدى أعوام استطالت إلى الثلاثة وتزيد، تجد القوات العسكرية السعودية والإماراتية نفسها متورطة في حرب مكلفة في اليمن، تهدف إلى منع سقوط اليمن بالكامل بيد القوات المسلحة غير النظامية الحوثية، ذات الانتماء الزيدي الشيعي، والتي تجتهد إيران في استمالتها سياسياً وعقائدياً. وفي حين أن الهجوم السعودي الإماراتي على اليمن كان قد انطلق ابتداءاً دون استشارة واشنطن، وذلك قبل انتخاب دونالد ترامب، فإنه قد فشل في تحقيق مبتغاه، في حين أنه قد ضاعف من الأزمة الإنسانية في اليمن، عبر قطعه لخطوط إمداد المساعدات، وعبر إيقاعه أعداد مرتفعة من الضحايا في صفوف غير المحاربين، بما لا يمكن تبريره.

فالهمّ السعودي والإماراتي الأول في واشنطن هو أن تتمكن إدارة الرئيس ترامب من تجاوز اعتراضات الكونغرس وأن تقدم الدعم الميداني والإمداد بما يتيح للتحالف العربي الانتصار في اليمن. أما الهمّ الثاني هنا لكل من السعودية والإمارات فهو أن تسمح الولايات المتحدة بتحركهما المشترك ضد قطر، أو على الأقل أن تلتزم موقفاً حيادياً إزاء مضاعفتهما للضغوط الاقتصادية والسياسية والإمدادية لإرغام الدوحة على الانكسار. أما من وجهة النظر القطرية، فالهمّ الأعلى هو الرغبة المعاكسة، أي المحافظة على المظلة الأميركية المعترضة للخطوات العدائية السعودية الإماراتية. ففي هذه الدول الثلاث، وفي غيرها في عموم المنطقة، الشأن الكوري الشمالي بحد ذاته ليس ذا اعتبار، فالإشادة بالإنجاز المفترض في سنغافورة هي وسيلة متوفّرة دون تحفظ، ودون كلفة، لتمتين العلاقة المرجوة مع إدارة الرئيس ترامب.

أما في الإعلام العربي المعادي للولايات المتحدة، فالغالب عند تقييم خطوات الرئيس ترامب ومواقفه وصولاً إلى لقاء القمة مع الزعيم الكوري الشمالي في سنغافورة، هو التشديد على المناورات الوصولية والتي تراوحت من التهديد المدوي بالنار والغضب، إلى الوعود الناعمة بالحماية والدعم، ومن الإلغاء المباغت للقاء المرتقب إلى العودة المفاجئة كذلك إليه، بما يحفظ للرئيس الأميركي اليد العليا، وذلك كله في سياق التشديد على أن الولايات المتحدة متعنتة في فرضها لمشيئتها وملتزمة فقط بمصالحها. البعض، في هذا الإعلام المعادي للولايات المتحدة، تناغم مع الموقف الإيراني القائل بأن هذا الرئيس الأميركي حديث العهد بالسياسة ويفتقد لسلامة الرأي. ولكن حتى عند الجنوح إلى هذا التصوير، فإن الميل كان بالإبقاء على التأكيد على خبث الولايات المتحدة إذ تحكمها، وفق هذا القول، «الدولة العميقة» والتي تتأصل فيها النوايا السيئة. وهدف الإقرار السريع للاتفاق النووي مع كوريا الشمالية، وفق كافة هذه القراءات، هو الانتهاء من قضية دولية شائكة، أي التوتر في شبه الجزيرة الكورية، أو التخفيض من حدتها، وذلك لحصر الاهتمام والجهود بقضية أخرى، أي إيران تحديداً. فالإشارات التي وردت على لسان الرئيس الأميركي بشأن إيران خلال مؤتمر الصحافي في سنغافورة لم تكن عرضية على الإطلاق. بل إن الهدف النهائي من لقاء كيم جونغ أون هو تحسين موقع الولايات المتحدة في عدائها لإيران.

والآراء السياسية العربية قد ذهبت في اتجاهين متعارضين حول المقتضى من لقاء القمة الأميركي الكوري الشمالي. الأوساط المعادية للولايات المتحدة اعتمدت النصيحة الإيرانية لكوريا الشمالية بألا تثق بالولايات المتحدة، والتي إذ أخلّت بتعهداتها وفق الاتفاق مع إيران، لن تفي بالتزاماتها ضمن الاتفاق الجديد مع كوريا الشمالية. أما الإعلام المدعوم من حلفاء الولايات المتحدة فقد توجه بالتنبيه إلى إيران حول وجوب السير على خطى كوريا الشمالية والإقرار بمتوجبات التصميم والعزم لدى الرئيس الأميركي الجديد.

قليل ما وردت في الإعلام والسياسة في الوسط العربي مساءلة لهذا النجاح المفترض لدونالد ترامب هل نتج عن لقاء سنغافورة بالفعل إنجاز ملموس، وهل بيان اللقاء قد أرسى بالفعل، فيما يتعدى النوايا المبهمة، عملية نزع سلاح نووي؟ لا تصوير ترامب على أنه قد استدرج من خصم فاقه دهاءاً، ولا أنه نمر من ورق يسوّق انتصارات وهمية لأغراضه السياسية، من القراءات المفيدة، لا للمواقف المؤيدة للسياسة الأميركية إزاء إيران، ولا المعارضة لها. فبالنسبة للمؤيدين للولايات المتحدة إثارة قراءات من هذا النمط يشتت القدرة على استنهاض تأييد واشنطن لقضاياها، فيما بالنسبة للإعلام الداعم للموقف الإيراني، تضعف هذه القراءات الزخم للتعبئة لمواجهة الغطرسة والاستكبار والقوة الغاشمة، والمنسوبة للولايات المتحدة. بل والتقييم الراجح لدى وسائل الإعلام العربية هي أن المتابع العربي غير معني بتفاصيل من واشنطن ذات دوافع وأبعاد محض داخلية أميركية. فبالنسبة لأصحاب القرار، وبالنسبة للمولجين بتعميم الآراء بشأنه، في كل من المعسكرين الموالي والمعادي للولايات المتحدة، فيما يتعلق بهذه المقايضة التي أطاحت باتفاق نووي ونصّبت آخر، التوافق متحقق حول اعتماد مقولة «ترامب المنتصر».

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

“Trump Triumphant”: The Middle East between Two Nuclear Deals


Also available in العربية

June 26, 2018

The June 12 image of U.S. President Donald Trump and North Korean Leader Kim Jong-Un signing an “agreement on denuclearization” in Singapore has provided Arab political discourse’s two competing narratives new tools to push their diametrically opposed characterizations of the future awaiting the Middle East. One view hails the meeting as part of a global course correction from the world’s superpower, towards, among other things, restoring stability in the Middle East, while the other assesses the same encounter as a harbinger of increased tensions and conflict for the region in the foreseeable future. Yet, paradoxically, both readings agree that Trump has gained the upper hand for himself and for the United States, even as they differ on the value judgment of his achievement.

Proclaiming an open departure from—or even a denunciation of—the policies of former U.S. President Barrack Obama, the Trump administration has benefitted from nearly unqualified support from a triad of Middle Eastern states: Israel, Saudi Arabia, and the United Arab Emirates. Each states’ main point of contention towards the previous U.S. administration was its hastened pursuit of a “deal” with Iran, which contained stipulations arguably disadvantageous to the United States itself and disregarded the interests and warnings of regional allies. The Obama administration, they furthermore complained, had kept them in the dark during much of the process on an issue that deeply impacted their national security.

The Trump administration’s repudiation of the JCPOA and its announced pursuit of a new proactive strategy to counter Iranian expansionism were welcome as a rectification of a policy deviation, as each state proved eager to restore their damaged partnership with Washington. Conscious of the pressure Donald Trump faced personally as a newly-elected, unconventional President who eschewed expected norms of behavior and engaged in digressive battles, the media outlets loyal to Saudi Arabia and the UAE have transitioned their coverage of Trump from an initial catering to public bewilderment to a portrayal of his actions and positions as consistent, coherent, and deliberate―even if not readily discernible as such by the general public.

In fact, the model of leadership thus assigned to Trump fit the template of government already promoted in Gulf media (with the confused exception of Qatar)―a model that is duly and actively paternalistic. Ruler paternalism in UAE-based media is evident in internal coverage, where benign rulers usher the Emirates to progress, and even more explicitly in the underlying critique of the “Arab Spring” as destructive in its challenge to the gravitas and organic legitimacy of national leaders. Paternalism has also been recently sharpened and enhanced in the Saudi context, centering around Crown Prince Muhammad Bin Salman as the responsible and irreproachable leader with foresight.

It is also noteworthy that Qatar-supported media—which is faulted and targeted by the UAE and Saudi Arabia for the selective and uneven space it accords for critical politics—has not embraced the counter-model of Trump as an erratic, unthoughtful leader. While its opinion pieces have some allusions to such a portrayal, an editorial effort presenting itself as seeking objectivity or neutrality insures that the overall balance of coverage avoids negative characterizations of Donald Trump. Consequently, the iconoclasm of Al Jazeera and other Qatari funded media has largely retreated to a focus on Gulf foes.

With the established record of Arab media covering the activities of political leaders through a formula that focuses on form instead of content, the Singapore U.S.–North Korea summit offered media sources the full range of pomp and circumstance. Even on international and Europe-based Arabic language networks, the language used to characterize the signing failed to distinguish between a summit statement and a ratified treaty. Even accounting for repeated qualifications by invited guests and reporting journalists, the channels ubiquitously affirmed the “historic” nature of the event as a tipping point in international affairs and a major breakthrough in denuclearization. This hyperbole, however, may be less a bona fide assessment of the event than representative of a pragmatic position towards the Trump administration.

In the Arab media sponsored by U.S. allies and partners, Trump comes across as a proactive decision-maker who is capable of both scraping a nuclear deal that does not meet the U.S. interest litmus test (Iran) and concluding another that satisfies his requirements (North Korea). Whether this is indeed the conviction of the leaders in Saudi Arabia, the UAE, and Qatar is irrelevant. North Korea is beyond the political horizon of virtually all regional capitals, while the concern in gulf capitals over shaping a policy alternative to the JCPOA has retreated to a distant second or third place.

Iran is still an integral, primary concern for Saudi Arabia and the Emirates, but the threat that commands urgency is geographic, not nuclear. For more than three years, Saudi and Emirati forces have been trapped in a costly war in Yemen designed to interdict a complete takeover of the country by the Zaydi Shi‘i tribal Houthi militia, whom Iran recruited as an ideological ally. Initiated without thorough consultation with Washington prior to the election of Donald Trump, the war has failed to achieve its goals while exacerbating Yemen’s humanitarian crisis―disrupting frail aid routes and inflicting an indefensible toll on civilians.

The current primary interest of Riyadh and Abu Dhabi in Washington is that the Trump administration overcome pressure from Congress and provide logistic and strategic support for the Arab coalition in Yemen. A secondary Saudi-UAE interest is for Washington to allow further action against Qatar, even if merely through a neutral stance towards their current approach of applying economic, diplomatic, and logistic pressure to force Doha’s retreat. On the Qatari side, the paramount concern is the opposing desire of maintaining the U.S. umbrella while denying Saudi Arabia and the UAE the backing to make good on their threatened aggressive steps. In these three capitals, and in others across the region agnostic to North Korean issues, the endorsement of the “achievement” in Singapore is a readily available no-cost means of enhancing relations with the Trump administration.

In Arab media hostile to the United States, the actions and positions of Trump at the Singapore summit are assessed as Machiavellian maneuvers that alternated loud threats of fire and fury, soft promises of protection and support, abrupt cancellations, and reinstatements, all intended to maintain the upper hand. In this light, the United States is relentless in dictating its will and will only honor its own self-interest. Some in the anti-U.S. media have echoed the Iranian portrayal of Trump as a political novice who lacks good judgment. Even then, however, the tendency has been to ascribe malevolent intent to the United States through its presumed governance by a “Deep State.” The purpose of the swift conclusion of a “nuclear deal” with North Korea, according to these narratives, is to downgrade the priority of one hot international issue in order to dedicate efforts and attention to another, namely Iran. The references to Iran by Donald Trump in the course of his press conference in Singapore are thus treated as all but incidental. The ultimate purpose of the meeting with Kim Jong-Un was to better position the United States in its hostile stand towards Iran.

Arab political culture has issued opposing policy recommendations: its anti-U.S. circles have recycled Iranian advice to North Korea not to trust the United States as, having reneged on its Iran deal, it is not prone to honor its North Korean equivalent. Outlets supported by U.S. allies featured warnings to Iran to follow the course of North Korea and resign itself to the implications of the determination displayed by the new U.S. President.

Few in politics and media in the Arab Middle East have engaged in the question of whether in fact Trump secured any tangible achievement in the Singapore meeting, or whether the summit statement has set the course for an actual denuclearization process. The portrayal of Trump as out-maneuvered by a foe, or as a “paper tiger” claiming false victories, serves neither those supportive of a proactive U.S. policy against Iran nor the Iranian call for a mobilization against U.S. arrogance and brute force. Media outlets have further determined that the Arabic speaking public has no objective reason to follow the intricacies of a Washington policy motivated by and centered on internal considerations. For policy-makers and their opinion propagators in either camp, regarding the new denuclearization agreement all concur on “Trump triumphant.”

Customize your RSS Feed