أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

دور العشائر السورية: رهانات على أحصنة خاسرة


متاح أيضاً في English

26 آذار/مارس 2019

توصف مجتمعات المناطق الشمالية الشرقية في سورية، بأنها "مجتمعات ذات بنية عشائرية"، حيث يسكنها عدد كبير من العشائر العربية، التي لها امتدادات تتجاوز حدود الإقليم، لتشمل الأردن والعراق ودول الخليج عامة. ومع ذلك، ركزت معظم الأبحاث التي أجريت حتى الآن على الانتفاضة السورية على العنصر الطائفي للنزاع، متناسين أن هناك بعدًا قبليًا للنزاع، حيث بدأت شرارة الثورة السورية في درعا، وهي منطقة قبلية في الغالب. وفى الوقت الذي تسببت فيه الثورة السورية في تفتيت البنية التحتية لمجتمع العشائر العربية التي تتبع في غالبيتها المذهب الإسلامي السني، إلا أنها مثَّلت فرصة لعشائر الأقليات والديانات الأخرى، مثل العشائر الكردية والتركمانية والعلوية والدرزية والمسيحية، لإعادة حضورهم في المشهد العام.

 الآن، وفى الوقت الذي بدأ فيه صانعو السياسة في فحص ودراسة الولاءات القبلية، فمن المهم أن ندرك أنه على الرغم من الدور الرئيسي الذي لعبته القبائل في الصراع السوري في وقت سابق، فإن هذه الحرب نفسها قد أدت إلى تآكل سلطة تلك العشائر إلى درجة أنه لا ينبغي التعويل عليهم كوسطاء سياسيين فعالين. في سوريا.

لعبت العشائر السورية دورا اجتماعيا وسياسيا أساسيا في المشهد السوري، ففي فترة الحكم العثماني لسوريا تم دعم دور العشائر في إدارة المناطق، ومنح زعماء العشائر ألقابا ودعما ماليا، وتم إمدادهم بالسلاح، وذلك لتمتين سيطرة الإدارة المركزية، وضمان توفير إمدادات بشرية لرفد القطعات العسكرية. وخلال فترة حكم فرنسا لسورية (1920-1946)، تراجع دور العشائر في إدارة مناطق نفوذهم، ليستمر خلال فترة الاستقلال حيث شهدنا تقلص عدد ممثلي العشائر في المجلس النيابي (البرلمان) من 9 إلى 6 نواب، ليبلغ ذروته في فترة حكم عبد الناصر (1958-1961)، حيث ألغى "قانون العشائر" الذي كان معمولاً به، والذي قام الاحتلال الفرنسي بسنه عام 1940 لمنح تلك العشائر بعض الامتيازات الانتخابية والاقتصادية، بغية كسب دعمهم واعترافهم الانتداب الفرنسي.

وحين استلم حافظ الأسد السلطة عام 1970 اعتمد على نهج مختلف إلى حد ما في التعامل مع العشائر، ففي الوقت الذي قام فيه بتهميش دور الزعامات التقليدية في الحياة السياسية والاجتماعية، عمل الأسد على استبدال تلك القيادات بأفراد ليس لهم أهمية حيث كلفهم بمناصب في عدد من المؤسسات الأمنية والمدنية مثل وزارة الداخلية والزارعة، والمكاتب التابعة للرئاسة، وذلك لضمان كسب دعمهم لأسرة الأسد. كما ارتفع التمثيل القبلي في البرلمان السوري ليصل إلى 12 %، حيث ينتمي اليوم 30 من أصل 250 "منتخبا" من أعضاء البرلمان إلى القبائل العربية.

 ومن ثم، عمل حافظ الابن على الاستعانة بالقبائل لمنع انفجار الاضطرابات في سوريا خلال الربيع العربي، فعندما زار بشار الأسد مدينة الرقة في يونيو 2011، عقد اجتماعاً جانبياً مع بعض الشيوخ والشخصيات العشائرية في المنطقة، دعاهم فيه إلى الوقوف معه في مواجهة المنادين بإسقاط نظامه، مرفقاً ذلك بوعود من أجل تقديم كل أشكال الدعم التي يطلبونها، إلا أن تسارع الأحداث، آنذاك، والتي انتهت إلى إعلان تحرير الرقة كأول محافظة سورية خرجت عن سيطرة نظام الأسد، ذهب بدعوته أدراج الرياح.

وبعد هذه زيارة الأسد لمدينة الرقة، برز اهتمام القوى السياسية والعسكرية، التي أصبحت فاعلة في المشهد السوري بالعشائر، حيث تم الإعلان عن ظهور تجمعات عشائرية عدة، أعلن كل منها انحيازه وتعبيره عن مطالب الجهة السياسية، التي وقفت وراء ظهوره، وقدمت له الدعم المالي، ووفرت لفصائله العسكرية التي تتبعه وتأتمر بأمره السلاح اللازم.

 وبعد سيطرة تنظيم "داعش" على عدة مناطق كان قد احتلها في سوريا، أعلن التنظيم عن تأسيس مكتب خصصه لأمور العشائر (مكتب العلاقات العامة)، كانت مهمته الأساسية المساهمة في نشر رسائل وقرارات التنظيم، وتقديم العون له في تجنيد الشباب للقتال في صفوفه. وقد عقد لهذه الغاية اجتماعات عدة مع عشائر المنطقة، طالباً مبايعتها، وحضها على القتال إلى جانبه بعد خسائره الكبيرة، وتوفير احتياجه إلى العناصر المقاتلة نتيجة "قلة المنتسبين الجدد إليه، وتراجع توافد المقاتلين الأجانب".

ومع بدء هزيمة تنظيم الدولة، وسيطرة قوات سورية الديمقراطية على المناطق التي كان يسيطر عليها، دعا أحمد الجربا، رئيس تيار الغد السوري، في أيلول 2017 إلى لقاء تشاوري بيم العشائر عقد في القاهرة، انبثق عنه المجلس العربي للجزيرة ذو الصبغة العشائرية  ببعض الناشطين المدنيين، وذلك بالتوازي مع إعلان بن عمه حميدي دهام الجربا عن تشكيل "قوات الصناديد"، و ضمت عناصر من قبيلة شمر التي ينتميان إليها، بقصد محاربة تنظيم "داعش" .وقد حظيت هذه القوات بدعم من التحالف الدولي ، فيما حظي "المجلس العربي للجزيرة" بدعم سعودي/إماراتي. كذلك قامت المجالس "المدنية" التابعة لقوات سوريا الديمقراطية بإنشاء ما أسمته ب "مجلس صلح العشائر"، وقدمت له الدعم المالي، ليقوم بالترويج لمشروعها العسكري والسياسي.

عمل النظام السوري باستمرار على كسب دعم العشائر التي تقع في نطاق نفوذه، حيث أعلن النظام السوري أواخر شهر كانون الثاني الماضي، عن عقد اجتماع عشائري في منطقة أثريا (125 كم جنوب مدينة الرقة)، وقد حضر هذا الاجتماع المئات من الشخصيات العشائرية، المساندين للنظام، والذين يعيشون في مناطق سيطرته، إضافة لحضور بعض الشخصيات العشائرية العراقية المعروفة بولائها لإيران. وقد خرج الاجتماع ببيان مطول عكس خطاب النظام ورؤيته وسياسته في المحافظات الشرقية السورية.

ونظرا لإدراك تركيا بأهمية الدور الذي تعبه العشائر في المشهد السوري الحالي، دعت تركيا - في الفترة نفسها- إلى اجتماع آخر للعشائر السورية في منطقة اعزاز الحدودية، تلاه اجتماع في منطقة سجو، حضره نحو 150 شخصية عشائرية إضافة لرئيس الائتلاف المعارض، وانتهى إلى الإعلان عن تشكيل المجلس الأعلى للقبائل والعشائر السورية، ومجلس الأعيان (150 شخصية). وقد اكد شيوخ العشار في البيان الختامي للقاء على الالتزام "بثوابت" الثورة السورية .كما أعربت القبائل والعشائر خلال المؤتمر عن دعمها للعملية  العسكرية التركية المرتقبة ضد قوات سوريا الديمقراطية شرق الفرات.

النتيجة المشتركة للتفتت العشائري

ومن الملاحظ هنا انه على الرغم من أن هذه التجمعات العشائرية، تدين بالولاء لجهات متصارعة ومتناقضة في أهدافها، فإنها تتلاقى في نقاط عدة، من أبرزها أن تلك العشائر عانت من تفتيت بنتيها التحتية على يد النظام السوري حيث عمل نظام الأسد على إبعاد الزعامات العشائرية التقليدية التي كانت قائمة، واستبدالها بأشخاص من الدرجات الدنيا في التراتبية العشائرية.  ونتيجة لجالة التمزق العشائري هذه، وكما هو حال كل السوريين لم يعد هناك أمكنة تجمع أبناء العشيرة الواحدة.

ومع توزع أبناء العشائر في أصقاع الأرض لاجئين ونازحين، موزعين في ولاءاتهم، وأصبحنا أمام واقع جديد، حيث تجد أبناء العشيرة الواحدة، وأحيانا العائلة الواحدة، موزعين في موالاتهم بين النظام والمعارضة والدول المتصارعة في الساحة السورية. ومن ثم، تُعدّ هذه الميوعة في الولاءات سمة أخرى يعتبرها العديد من الأبحاث جزءا من ثقافة العشائر.

إضافة إلى ذلك، فقدت الزعمات العشائرية مصداقيها ين قطاع كبير من السوريين، حيث انحاز قسم كبير منها للنظام، وقام بعضهم بمشاركة الأجهزة الأمنية في قمع المعارضين، وعلى الطرف الآخر فإن الذين انحازوا للمعارضة من هذه الزعامات، لم يستطيعوا تجميع أبناء عشائرهم، وتقديم العون لهم، بل إن قسماً منهم شارك في خلق الفساد، الذي أصبح السمة الأبرز للمعارضة السورية. كما يتم استغلال تلك العشائر من قبل الأطراف المتنازعة في سوريا وتنشيطها إعلاميا فقط وقت الحاجة إليها، مما يجعل وعودها في التغيير "حبراً على ورق"، ويفقدها ثقة المحيطين بها، بل والمشاركين فيها.

ونتيجة تلك التطورات، يبدو أن الرهان على دور إيجابي فعّال ل " العشائر السورية" في الصراع الجاري في سوريا، أشبه بالحرث في الماء، ويلاحظ المتابع أن ازدياد وتيرة البحث عن دور عشائري مساند للقوى الفاعلة في الساحة السورية، يتزامن مع فشل هذه القوى في إيجاد حلول مقنعة للازمة السورية، وعدم قدرتها على تحقيق وعودها في إنجاز الهدف الرئيسي الموعود وهو الخلاص من نظام الأسد وبناء مجتمع الكرامة والحرية المدنية والديمقراطية. من هنا، يبدو للكثير من السوريين، أنه من الأجدى للإدارة الأمريكية، في تعاملها مع الملف السوري، الالتفات إلى التجمعات المدنية، وتقديم الدعم بأنواعه لها، بعيداً عن انتماءات أفرادها العشائرية، وبعيدا عن العناصر القبلية غير المؤثرة وهذا يساعد على عودة الاستقرار بعد التخلص من سيطرة تنظيم: داعش" الخلاص الذي أصبح منجزاً من تنظيم الدولة الإسلامية.

 

 

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

The Role of Syrian Tribes: Betting on a Lost Cause


Also available in العربية

March 26, 2019

Northeastern Syria is often described as a “clan-based society” due to its large number of Arab tribes. These tribes are transnational, extending beyond Syria’s borders to include Jordan, Iraq, and the Gulf. Until recently, analysis of the Syrian uprising often prioritized the sectarian dimension over the tribal one. Yet the Syrian revolution first broke out in Daraa, a mostly tribal region, and the revolution has had a major impact on Syrian tribal structure, albeit a mostly negative one. The conflict has done much to tear apart Arab tribes, a majority of which are Sunni Muslim. At the same time, it has also presented an opportunity for religious and ethnic minority tribes, including Kurdish, Turkmen, Alawite, Druze, and Christian tribes, to develop a more robust position within the current landscape. Thus, it is important to understand that despite the important earlier role tribes played in the conflict, this same war has eroded their authority to the point that they should no longer be viewed as effective political brokers in Syria.

Syrian tribes have historically played a crucial role in the country’s social and political landscape. During Ottoman rule, tribes were encouraged to manage various regions. Tribal leaders were granted titles, monetary support, and arms in order to strengthen the control of the central administration and to ensure ground support of military contingents. The role of the tribes in managing their areas of influence decreased during the period of French rule in Syria (1920-1946), a trend that continued during the period of independence. After independence, the number of tribal representatives in parliament was reduced from nine to six representatives. This weakening of tribal power culminated in the repeal of the “Law of Tribes” during the rule of Gamal Abdel Nasser under the short-lived union with Egypt as the United Arab Republic (1958-1961). The Law of Tribes was enacted by the French occupation in 1940 to provide some electoral and economic concessions to the tribes in order to gain their support to the French mandate.

When Hafez Al-Assad came to power in 1970, he adopted a somewhat different approach to dealing with the country’s tribes. While marginalizing the role of traditional leaders in political and social life, he also worked to replace those leaders with other individuals of lesser social and political standing. These new leaders were given posts in a number of security agencies and civil institutions, such as the Ministry of the Interior, the Ministry of Agriculture, and in positions serving the president, with the limitations of their previous social standings ensuring their support of the Assad family. Tribal representation has also increased in the Syrian parliament; today, 30 of 250 'elected' parliamentary representatives (12 percent) belong to Arab tribes.

Thus, Hafez’s son looked to the tribes to prevent unrest in Syria during the Arab spring. When Bashar Al-Assad visited the city of Raqqa in June 2011, he held an ancillary meeting with several sheikhs and tribal figures in the area and called upon them to stand with him in confronting those calling to bring down his regime—promising to offer any kind of support they requested. Nevertheless, the quickly developing situation ultimately culminated in the declaration of Raqqa’s liberation, the first Syrian province to shake off the control of Assad’s regime.

After Assad’s visit to Raqqa, the variety of military and political forces with an interest in influencing the outcome of the war began to reach out to tribes as one means of gaining on-the-ground support. Through this process, a large number of clan-based groups emerged, each expressing the same demands as their domestic, regional, or international backers. These forces in turn provided the clan structures with financial support and offered the necessary arms to supply the clans’ military factions.

When ISIS gained control over certain areas of northeastern Syria, for example, it quickly sought to enlist tribal support. ISIS announced the opening of the Office of Public Relations, a special office managing tribal matters. The primary task of the office was to assist with the dissemination of ISIS’s messages and decisions, in addition to providing help in recruiting youth to fight in their ranks. The office arranged a number of meetings with tribes in the region for this purpose, asking for their allegiance, exhorting them to fight by ISIS’s side after their major losses, and offering aid to militant elements as a result of “the small number of new recruits, and a decline in the influx of foreign militants.”

As the Syrian Democratic Forces (SDF) began to take control of formerly ISIS-controlled areas, the president of Syria’s Tomorrow Movement, Ahmed Jarba, called for an advisory meeting with the tribes in September 2017 in Cairo. This meeting produced the Arab Council for Jazira, a tribal group with some civilian activists. At the same time, Hemaydi Deham Al-Jarba announced the establishment of the “Forces of the Brave”/”Al-Sanadid Forces” to fight ISIS. This group included elements from the Shammar tribe to which both Ahmed Jarba and Haymadi Deham al-Jarba belonged. The Forces received support from the international coalition, while Saudi Arabia and the UAE backed the Arab Council for Jazira. The “civilian” councils loyal to the SDF founded what they called the “Council for the Tribes,” financially backed by the SDF, in order to promote their military and political project. This split along the lines of international backing within a single tribe helped erode the tribal authority that these international backers had hoped to take advantage of.

The Syrian regime also continued to work towards winning the support of tribes located in their areas of influence. The regime announced in late January 2019 that they had held a meeting with tribes in the Ithriyah region (125 km south of the Raqqa), stating that hundreds of tribal figures who supported the regime had attended. Also reportedly in attendance were several Iraqi tribal figures known to be loyal to Iran. Afterwards, a statement was released echoing the regime’s policy and manner of discourse on issues related to the eastern governorates of Syria.

Turkey has also acted to take advantage of tribes in the current Syrian landscape. It arranged a similar style of meeting with the last of the Syrian tribes in the border region of Azaz, followed by a meeting in the Sajo region, which was attended by about 150 tribal figures in addition to the president of the opposition coalition. This culminated with the announcement of the establishment of the High Council for Syrian Tribes and Clans and a Council of Elders, which consisted of 150 people. In the final statement from the meeting, the tribal sheikhs involved made statements echoing Turkey’s interests in the region and expressing support for a potential Turkish operation against the SDF while couching their letter in terms of continued support for the original principles of the Syrian revolution.

Thus, many of northeastern Syria’s tribes have become aligned with one or another of the war’ s different factions, loyal to groups with contradictory and conflicting goals. However, tribal participation also shares some commonalities: most tribes have suffered from the fragmentation of their internal structure at the hands of the Syrian regime, a process that has been in place since the elder Assad reduced the influence of existing traditional tribal leaders and replaced them with people from the lowest levels of the tribal order. These divided loyalties highlight the fact that it is no longer possible for a tribe coming together as a cohesive force–as is the case with Syrians as a whole.

And as with other Syrians, tribes have been dispersed to all corners of the Earth as refugees and displaced people. Thus a new reality has emerged, in which the people of a single tribe, and sometimes a single family, have conflicting allegiances: some loyal to the regime, some to the opposition, some to rival countries in the Syrian arena. This fluidity of loyalties has become a feature of the conflict that many studies view as a more permanent part of tribal culture.

During the war, tribal identity was further eroded as tribal leaders lost their credibility among a large sector of Syrians as many sided with the regime. Some even participated in security agencies that attacked the opposition. On the other hand, those leaders who did support the opposition were not able to effectively aid it or even gather their tribes together. Instead, some contributed to the corruption that became a distinguishing feature of the Syrian opposition. The tribes were also exploited by conflicting elements in Syria and only given renewed media attention when they were needed, which rendered promises of change nothing more than “words on paper.” As a result, the tribes lost confidence in what was going on around them, and even what they were directly participating in.

Due to these developments, it seems that any bets on the positive role of the Syrian tribes as a player in the country’s current conflict are bets on a lame horse. Moreover, the increasing frequency of research on the role of tribes supporting the main forces in the Syrian arena coincides with the failure of these forces to find convincing solutions to the Syrian crisis. At the same time, these forces have been unable to deliver on their promises on achieving their main goal of defeating the Assad regime and building a society based on dignity, civil freedom, and democracy. Thus, it seems to many Syrians that it would be most productive for the U.S. administration, in dealing with the Syrian issue, to turn their attention to supporting civil groups rather than focusing on tribal-affiliated entities. Civil support—rather than a continued reliance on eroded tribal power—is one of the few available options that may help in restoring stability after liberation from ISIS control.

Customize your RSS Feed