أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

السوريون يقرون بشكل متزايد بدور تركيا المعطِل في سوريا


متاح أيضاً في English

13 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر 2020

أفرجت السلطات التركية منذ أسبوعين عن العميد السوري أحمد رحال- الذي انشق بالأساس عن النظام السوري- بعد أشهر على اعتقاله على خلفية انتقاده القوي والعلني للجيش الوطني السوري وسياسات القوات المدعومة من تركيا في المناطق المحررة، كما يزعم المراقبون. ويمثل اعتقال رحال ذروة الاستياء في الأوساط العسكرية السورية العاملة في المنطقة الشمالية الخاضعة لسيطرة المعارضة في سوريا، بسبب نقص الدعم وتحديات التهجير التي يواجهها المدنيون السوريون، وكلاهما بتسهيل جزئي من قِبل تركيا.

ليست هذه هي المرة الأولى التي تتعرض فيها تركيا لانتقادات من قِبل سوريين كانوا مؤيدين لها في السابق. فمنذ أشهر، تعاملت القوات السورية المدعومة من تركيا مع الاستقالة غير المتوقعة للعقيد المنشق فضل الله الحجي من منصبه في قيادة الجبهة الوطنية للتحرير ومن هيئة الأركان العامة للجيش الوطني في قطاع إدلب. وشكلت استقالته صدمة لافتة بما أن العقيد كان يُعتبر مدعومًا من الحكومة التركية.

كما لم تكن هذه ظاهرة محصورة بالضباط الأفراد. فقد انسحب قرابة 2000 جندي -تعود أصولهم الى مدينة حمص- من الجيش الوطني ليؤسسوا فصيلًا مستقلًا باسم خالد بن الوليد، وذلك على الرغم من الضغط على  تلك القوات للعودة بعد ذلك.  وكذلك، استقال ضباط وجنود من الجيش الوطني السوري- التابع لوزارة الدفاع في الحكومة المؤقتة، التي تشكلت من مجموعة فصائل لا تزال تعمل في مناطق المعارضة- احتجاجًا على التدخل التركي المباشر في تعيين القادة ومنح المناصب من دون مراعاة التراتبية العسكرية. ويشير هذا إلى شرخ كبير في السياسة التركية تجاه حلفائها الظاهرين على الأرض وبين دعم تركيا المزعوم لقضية السوريين ضد استبداد الأسد.

وشملت الاتهامات الموجهة إلى تركيا على الصعيد العسكري ضبط الإمدادات وشروطها وفرض التبعية على تشكيلات القوات وعدم التعاون مع القادة والعسكريين السوريين في توجيه الدورات. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، أصبح بعض الضباط السوريون قلقين بشكل متزايد من توقيت المعارك وإدارتها، خصوصًا عندما باتوا يلاحظون كيف تؤدي هذه المعارك إلى تسويات بين روسيا وتركيا وأنها مصممة وفقًا لمصالح الدولتين بغض النظر عما يراه المقاتلون السوريون مفيدًا لسوريا.

بالرغم من أن تركيا تشير في الكثير من الأحيان إلى حلفائها السوريين كدليل على الترحيب بدورها في سوريا، يعتقد الكثيرون في الجيش السوري الحر المدعوم من تركيا أن وقف الدعم من مصادر أخرى كان بمثابة بداية لتعزيز الهيمنة التركية عليهم مما أضعفهم في نهاية المطاف كقوة مقاتلة. فهم يعتبرون أن الدعم التركي يؤثر على استقلالية صنع القرار لديهم ويحوّل الجيش الوطني السوري من مؤسسة سورية تقف بوجه نظام الأسد إلى ذراع تركي ممتد في سوريا.

وقد ترسخ هذا الانطباع لدى الضباط السوريين من خلال استيلاء الروس والنظام بسرعة وسهولة على مدن كبرى واستراتيجية مثل سراقب وكفرنبل ومعرة النعمان. وتمت خسارة هذه المدن بسبب عدم وجود الإمدادات التركية المتفق عليها لدعم الفصائل. ولعبت هذه المسألة دورًا أساسيًا في التراجع التركي من الطريقين السريعين الدوليين الحيويين M4 وM5 . فقد قال عناصر عسكريون من المنطقة إن دخول القوات التركية إلى تلك المنطقة لم يكن لدعم نقاط المراقبة الاستراتيجية التي تسيطر عليها القوات السورية، ولا لردع النظام عن التقدم، بل للتحضير لوقف إطلاق نار استراتيجي، تم التوصل إليه بين روسيا وتركيا في آذار/مارس.

ومذّاك، قامت روسيا وتركيا بتسيير دوريات مشتركة على هذه الطرق السريعة- بالرغم من غياب روسيا عن بعضها- بعد إفراغ محيطهما من السكان والفصائل العسكرية، من ترنبة شرق إدلب إلى عين الحور شمال اللاذقية. وبالرغم من محاولات السيطرة على هذه المنطقة، فلا تزال تشهد تفجيرات وأعمال عنف تتسبب في سقوط قتلى وجرحى في صفوف الجيشين الروسي والتركي.

أدت المواجهات العسكرية السابقة بين مليشيات النظام والقوات التركية إلى سقوط عدد كبير من القتلى في صفوف الجيش التركي للمرة الأولى في الصراع المستمر منذ سنوات، ما أثار غضبًا شعبيًا داخل تركيا. واستطاعت الحكومة التركية استغلال هذا الغضب كذريعة لحشد تواجد عسكري أكبر في سوريا. في هذه الحالات، لم يؤدِ تدفق الجيش التركي إلى إنقاذ القوات السورية المدعومة من تركيا، بل إلى تمركزها بشكل مقصود واستراتيجي لتحقيق الأهداف التركية. ودفع الضغط التركي على روسيا الناتج عن ذلك الدولتين إلى مسارات التفاهمات الثنائية السابقة التي حصلت في سوتشي وموسكو وأماكن أخرى.

فيما ينتاب الوحدات العسكرية السورية غيظ تجاه تركيا، يعاني المدنيون السوريون أيضًا من سياسات تركيا، بما أن تركيا وروسيا، من بين دول أخرى، تواصلان الصراع القائم على المصالح واتباع السياسات التي تناسب مصالحهما على أفضل وجه. فعلى الرغم من الاختلاف الظاهر، فقد عكست استجابة تركيا للتهجير الجماعي للمدنيين السوريين حقيقة موقفها، كما يحدث اتجاه الوحدات العسكرية السورية التي تدعمها ظاهريًا.

من خلال القراءة بين السطور، يتضح أن التهجير القسري والعنيف للسوريين كان هدفًا بحد ذاته للنظام السوري منذ بداية الحرب. فالدعوة إلى "سوريا المتجانسة" طالبت بالتصفية العرقية والتغيير الديموغرافي. وتجدر الإشارة هنا إلى اتفاقيات التبادل في المدن الأربع (الزبداني وداريا وكفريا والفوعة)، ضمن اتفاق إيراني مع المقر الرئيسي لهيئة تحرير الشام، التي تم الاتفاق بحضورها على إفراغ حمص القديمة وحي الوعر في حمص، بعد تجويع للمدنيين برعاية إيرانية.

انتهى المطاف بالعديد من سكان الداخل السوري- الذين فرّوا من هذه التصفية- في إدلب، حيث حشدتهم تركيا مع سكان إدلب ليشكلوا بشكل أساسي جدارًا حدوديًا بشريًا من المكوّن العربي السني المعارض لنظام الأسد. كما تعرّض هؤلاء المدنيين للاستنزاف والتهجير وإعادة التوطين في مناطق الصراع الكردي-التركي من أجل حماية الحدود التركية، ما يجعلهم جدارًا حامياً للهدف القومي التركي، بحسب قادة تركيا، كونهم يشكلون رادعًا أمام الميول الانفصالية الكردية في تلك المنطقة، تحت عنوان إنشاء منطقة آمنة يسكنها المهجرون، حتى لو كان ذلك تهجيرًا جديدًا لسكانها الأصليين، كما حدث في عفرين.

أصبحت تركيا مستعدة بشكل صارخ لاستخدام اللاجئين السوريين على أراضيها، إلى جانب واقع أنها تسيطر على الممر بين سوريا وأوروبا، كوسيلة للضغط على المجتمع الدولي عند الحاجة، سواء لطلب المساعدة أو لزيادة الضغط من أجل تنفيذ مشروعها المتمثل بالمنطقة الحدودية "الآمنة". واعتمدت تركيا على تهديداتها بدفع المهجرين عبر البحر لتحقيق ذلك ضمن نزاعها مع الدول ذات المصالح المتضاربة في الصراع السوري، كالحل الحتمي، ما يشكل على ما يبدو البند غير المعلن ضمن الشروط.

إن التفاهمات التركية-الروسية، التي أدت إلى تسليم النفوذ على كل من طريقي التجارة الدولية M4 وM5 والمدن الاستراتيجية إلى روسيا والنظام مقابل مناطق أخرى من النفوذ التركي، تُظهر التركيز على الأهداف الاستراتيجية التركية أكثر منه على القوات التي ما زالت تقاتل الأسد من أجل سوريا. بدلًا من ذلك، يبدو أن تركيا تعمل على تكوين مجموعة من النازحين السوريين على طول الحدود التركية السورية، على الرغم من أن منطقة كوباني/عين العرب لا تزال تحت السيطرة الروسية، ولا يُخفى على أحد أن كوباني هي نقطة الوصل لتحقيق الحاجز البشري الحدودي المتواصل المذكور بين تركيا والقوات الكردية، المبني على حساب الجياع والمشردين السوريين، الذين لم يتبقَ لهم سوى التطلع إلى حل يعيدهم إلى مدنهم الأصلية ومنازلهم المدمرة.

منذ سنوات، تتردد على مسامع السوريين رغبة دولية في حل سياسي في سوريا. ولكن يبقى هذا الحل الذي روّجت له الأسرة الدولية من خلال لجنة التفاوض ومن ثم اللجنة الدستورية غير مكتمل.

يدرك السوريون أنه لن يتم التوصل إلى حل ما لم تتم معادلة القوى بين أطراف الصراع. لذلك، يعتقدون أنه يجب أن يتوفر دعم وتمكين أمريكيين لمشروع الجيش الوطني السوري الذي يشمل الكفاءات العسكرية التي نأت بنفسها عن كل من النظام والسيطرة التركية. فهذه القوى المحبطة اليوم يمكن أن تشكل نواة لجيش يندرج تحت مظلة سياسية سورية شاملة، ولديه إمكانية الاتحاد ضمن كيان واحد منضبط وملتزم بمصالح سوريا الموحدة الداعمة لمواطنيها. إشارةً إلى أن هذه المنظمة من شأنها الاعتراف بالاتفاقيات الدولية ومراعاة الجوار والمصالح المشتركة.

في هذا السياق، يحتاج المدنيون السوريون إلى جيش يقاتل من أجلهم. فالجيش الوطني السوري الذي يقاتل من أجل الشعب السوري سيركز على تعزيز الأمن، فيفتح بذلك ممرات آمنة لإعادة اللاجئين من الخارج والنازحين داخليًا إلى مدنهم الأصلية، على النحو المنصوص عليه في قانون قيصر. وهذا النوع من القدرة والنفوذ في الداخل السوري لا تملكه تركيا أو أي قوة أخرى متواجدة حالياً، هو الذي سيكون قادرًا على العمل على تجفيف منابع التطرف الديني والعرقي في البلاد والعمل باتجاه بداية جديدة لسوريا مستقرة وآمنة وحرة.

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

Syrians Are Increasingly Recognizing Turkey’s Disrupting Role in Syria


Also available in العربية

November 13, 2020

Two weeks ago, Turkish authorities released the Syrian brigadier general Ahmed Rahal—who had originally defected from the Syrian regime—after months of detention that observers claim is due to his strong and public critique of the Syrian National Army and the policies of Turkish-backed forces in the liberated areas. Rahal’s detention represented the height of discontent in the Syrian military circles operating in the opposition-controlled northern region of Syria, due both to their own lack of support and the challenges of displacement faced by Syrian civilians, both facilitated in part by Turkey.

This is not the first time that Turkey has faced criticisms from Syrians that had previously aligned with it. Earlier this year, Turkish-backed Syrian forces dealt with the unexpected resignation of the dissident Commander Fadlallah Al-Hajji from his position in the leadership of the National Liberation Front and from the General Staff of the National Army in the Idlib sector. His resignation came as a particular shock since the commander-in-chief was considered to be supported by the Turkish government.

Nor has this been a phenomenon relegated to individual officers. Approximately 2,000 soldiers of Homsi origin withdrew from the Syrian National Army to establish an independent faction under the name of Khaled Ibn Al-Walid, though the troops were pressured into rejoining afterwards. Officers and soldiers from the Syrian National Army—affiliated with the Ministry of Defense in the interim government, which was formed from a group of factions that still operate in the areas under the opposition—have also resigned in protest against direct Turkish interference in naming leaders and granting positions without observing established military hierarchy. The trend suggests a major rift between Turkish policy towards its ostensible allies on the ground and Turkey’s claimed support for Syrians against Assad's suppression.

On the military front, Turkey has been accused of controlling supply shipments and their conditions, imposing subordination on troop formations, and not cooperating with Syrian leaders in directing the courses. What’s more, some Syrian officers have become increasingly concerned with the timing and management of the battles, especially when they notice how these battles have led to compromises between Russia and Turkey that are designed along the two countries' interests without regard for what the Syrian fighters see as a benefit to Syria.

Though Turkey often points to its Syrian allies as a sign that their role in Syria is welcomed, many in the Turkish-backed Free Syrian Army believe that the cessation of support from other sources marked the beginning of a strengthening Turkish hegemony over them that has ultimately weakened them as a fighting force. They see Turkish backing as affecting the independence of their decision-making and transforming the Syrian National Army from a Syrian institution standing against the Assad regime to a Turkish army extending into Syria.

This impression has been solidified among Syrian officers through the quick and easy takeover of major and strategic cities such as Saraqib, Kafranbel, and Maarat al-Numan by the Russians and the regime. These cities were lost from the lack of agreed-upon Turkish supplies that would support the factions. This issue has played a fundamental role in the Turkish retreat from the vital M4 and M5 highways. Military personnel from the area said that the entry of Turkish forces to this area was not to support the strategic observation points controlled by the Syrian forces, nor to deter the regime from advancing, but to prepare for a strategic ceasefire, reached between Russia and Turkey in March.

Russia and Turkey have since conducted joint patrols on these highways—though Russia has been absent from some—after emptying the surrounding area of the resident population and the military factions. This area goes from Turunbah, southeast of Idlib, to Ain al-Hour, north of Lattakia. Despite attempts to control this area, there are still bombings and violence that cause deaths and injuries among the ranks of the Russian and Turkish armies.

Previous military confrontations between the regime's militias and Turkish forces led to a large number of deaths in the ranks of the Turkish army for the first time in the years-long conflict, sparking popular anger within Turkey. The Turkish government was able to capitalize on this anger, using it as pretext to mobilize a larger military presence in Syria. In these cases, an influx of Turkish military did not bring rescue for Turkish-backed Syrian forces. They moved deliberately and strategically to achieve Turkish goals. The resulting Turkish pressure on Russia brought the two to paths of previous bilateral understandings that took place in Sochi, Moscow, and elsewhere.

While Syrian military units chafe under Turkey, Syrian civilians have also suffered under Turkey’s policies, as Turkey and Russia, among others, continue their interest-based conflict and pursue what policies best suit their interests. Though different on the surface, Turkey’s response to the mass displacement of Syrian civilians has mirrored its attitude towards the Syrian military units it ostensibly supports.

Reading between the lines, it is clear that forced and violent displacement of the Syrian population has been an objective in and of itself for the Syrian regime since the beginning of the war. The call for a ‘homogeneous Syria’ has demanded racial liquidation and demographic change. Such trends appear in the exchange agreements in the four cities—Zabadani, Daraya, Kafraya and Al Fu’ah—within an Iranian agreement with the Headquarters for the Hay’at Tahrir al-Sham, before which it was agreed to empty Old Homs and the neighborhood of al-Waer after an Iranian-sponsored starvation of civilians.

Many of the inhabitants of the Syrian interior—fleeing this liquidation—ended up in Idlib. There, Turkey has mobilized them along with Idlib’s inhabitants into what essentially constitutes a human border wall of the Sunni Arab component opposed to the Assad regime. These civilians have also been depleted, displaced and resettled in the areas of the Kurdish-Turkish conflict of protection where they constitute a deterrent in the path of Kurdish separatist tendencies in that region. The Turkish government legitimizes this practice under the title of establishing a safe zone inhabited by the displaced, even if this is a new displacement of its original inhabitants as happened in Afrin.

Turkey has become blatant in its willingness to use the Syrian refugee population, along with the fact that it controls the corridor between Syria and Europe, as a means of pressuring the international community when needed, whether to request aid or to increase pressure to implement its "safe" border zone project. Turkey has relied on its threat to allow immigrants across its borders within the conditions of countries with conflicting interests in Syria. In this case, the preference of Turkey’s preferred solution is inevitable, and this is what appears to be the unspecified reasoning of these terms.

Meanwhile, the Turkish-Russian understandings led to Russia's and the regime's acquisition of influence over both international trade routes on the M4 and M5 along with strategic cities in reciprocation for other areas of Turkish influence. This demonstrates the focus on Turkish strategic goals over those still fighting against Assad for Syria. Instead, Turkey appears to be working to build a population of displaced Syrians along the Turkish-Syrian border. The Ain al-Arab District is still under Russian control, and it is no secret that the city of Kobani is the connecting point for the realization of that human barrier between Turkey and the Kurdish forces, built at the expense of starving and homeless Syrians, left hoping for a solution to bring them back to their original cities and destroyed homes.

For years, Syrians have heard the international desire for a political solution in Syria. Yet this solution that the international community has marketed through the High Negotiations Committee and then the Syrian Constitutional Committee remains incomplete.

Syrians know that no solution will emerge without equalizing the forces between the parties to the conflict. Therefore, they believe that there should be U.S. support and empowerment of a Syrian national army project that includes the military competencies that have distanced themselves both from the regime and Turkish control. These now-frustrated forces could form the nucleus for an army that falls under a comprehensive Syrian political umbrella and holds the possibility of uniting into a single disciplined entity committed to the interests of a unified Syria supportive of its citizens. Such an organization would recognize international agreements and take into account the neighborhood and common interests.

Here, Syrian civilians need a military to fight for them; a Syrian national army fighting for the Syrian people would focus on strengthening security, thereby opening up safe corridors to return refugees from abroad and internally displaced people to their original cities, as stipulated by the Caesar Act. It is this type of force that neither Turkey nor any other force located in Syria have, and that will help drying up the sources of religious and ethnic extremism in the country while working towards a new beginning for a stable, safe and free Syria.

Customize your RSS Feed