أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

القوة في الحوار: هذه هي حال برلمان حكومة إقليم كردستان


متاح أيضاً في English

12 أيلول/سبتمبر 2018

من المقرر إجراء الانتخابات البرلمانية الكردية في 30 أيلول/سبتمبر، إلا أنّ حكومة إقليم كردستان تواجه عددًا من الأزمات - السياسية والاقتصادية والاجتماعية بصورة عامة. وتتراوح تلك الأزمات ما بين عدم كفاية الخدمات، والبيروقراطية المختلة ، والتفتت السياسي، وانعدام الثقة بين النخب السياسية على نطاق واسع ، والتدخل الإقليمي القوي ، وأكثر من ذلك. ويظهر تأثير هذه الأزمات بشكل واضح على شعب كردستان، وقد يؤثر على إقبال الناخبين ومشاركتهم، وكذلك على الثقة العامة في المؤسسات السياسية. وإن لم يسلّط السياسيون الضوء على هذه القضايا ويضمنوا قدرًا أكبر من الشفافية بين العملية السياسية والشعب الكردي، فإن الثغرة بين المواطنين والنخبة ستستمر في الاتساع. كما أنّ التأكيد على دور البرلمان وضمان قوته - بدلاً من التحول إلى شكل من أشكال الحكومة يوفر صلاحيات متزايدة للرئيس - يشكّل أحد السبل الرئيسية لضمان عكس مسار الاتجاهات السلبية في السياسة الكردية.

وتشكّل المؤسسة البرلمانية قلب الأزمات الحالية في الحياة السياسية الكردية. وفي حين تتوقع فيه أصوات عامة الشعب في غالب الأحيان أنه سيتم منح البرلمان المزيد من السلطة، تحاول النخب السياسية الآن "ترشيد" المؤسسة على النمط الفرنسي، ما يُضعف قدرة الهيئة التشريعية على الحكم. وتمثّل المعركة التي تدور حول دور البرلمان المستقبلي في ما يتعلق بالسلطة التنفيذية أحد التحديات الكثيرة التي تواجه المنطقة، لكن الحفاظ على هذه المؤسسة أمر حاسم من أجل تزويد حكومة إقليم كردستان بالسلطة الحاكمة المناسبة لمواجهة التحديات الأخرى. كما يعمل البرلمان كمساحة هامة حيث يمكن للجهات المختلفة أن تجتمع وتتعامل مع اختلافاتها بسلام بدلاً من الاعتماد على حروب وسائل الإعلام أو حتى القوة. فعندما تم تطبيق هذين التكتيكَين في الماضي، تمزّقت المنطقة، وقد يحدث ذلك مجددًا. لذلك، من خلال السماح بوجود مساحة يمكن فيها الاستماع إلى جميع أطراف النقاش على قدم المساواة، لن يشعر أي جانب بالتهميش الذي بدوره يدفع المجموعات بعيدًا عن السياسة ويأخذها نحو أخطر أشكال النقاش.

ومن الضروري عقد اجتماعات وجهًا لوجه وإجراء مناظرات وتبادلات لضمان صحة السياسة الكردية أكثر من أي وقت مضى. ولطالما واجه الأكراد تحديات خارجية، لكن الاحتكاك الداخلي في الوقت الراهن أصبح يشكل خطرًا على المصالح الكردية أكثر من أي طرف آخر. وتجدر الإشارة إلى إنّ عدم توافر السبل للتوسط في النزاعات السياسية يعني أن الحجج السياسية تستهلك بشكل متزايد وقت السياسيين وطاقتهم، حيث بإمكانهم أنّ يركزوا على تحديات عدة أخرى تواجه إقليم كردستان، مثل التضخم والبطالة. كما أنّ إسناد الأولوية للنزاع السياسي بدلاً من التحديات التي تواجه عامة الشعب ينفّر الناخبين، ولا سيما الشباب منهم. أمّا الشباب الذين يشكلون أغلبية السكان في إقليم كردستان فلا يرون أمامهم الآن سوى فرصةً ضئيلةً للاستفادة من ثروة المنطقة، الأمر الذي يؤدي إلى إحباط شديد.

ومن الحجج الشائعة التي قُدّمت لإضعاف النظام البرلماني أن برلمان حكومة إقليم كردستان لا يعمل بشكل مثالي، غير أنّ البرلمان الذي يعمل بطريقة سليمة لا يأتي تلقائيًا، بل يتطور مع مرور الوقت من خلال الممارسة والتعلم من أخطاء السياسيين السابقين. وفي نهاية المطاف، لم يتم تأسيس البنية البرلمانية في إقليم كردستان سوى من ربع قرن. فبدلاً من التركيز على عيوبها، ينبغي فهم النظام في سياق بدائله، أي الثورات والانقلابات. وإنّ هذه البدائل معقدة، إذ في الشرق الأوسط غالبًا ما يكون هناك التباس بين الاثنين.

وفي المقابل، يقدم النظام البرلماني عادةً الاستقرار والتطوير المُقاس للأهداف السياسية. فتكون هيبة السلطة والسياسة غير متمحورة حول بضعة أشخاص فحسب، كما يتم تشجيعها على الارتباط بنجاحات الأطراف عند التشريع. وفي هذا الإطار، يجادل العالِم الإيراني همايون كاتوزيان بأن الافتقار إلى البرلمانات الفعالة والقوية هو أحد العوامل الرئيسية لغياب الاستقرار في الأنظمة السياسية في الشرق الأوسط، وهي حقيقة يمكن تطبيقها على إقليم كردستان العراق أيضًا. أمّا إحدى العقبات الرئيسية في المنطقة، بشكلها الحالي، فتكمن في استمرار الاقتتال بين السياسة - كما تشجع البرلمانات على التسويات السياسية والتحالفات التي يمكن أن تحمي من الأساليب القبلية المعتمدة في السياسة والتي تفضل مصلحة الجماعات الأصغر على المصالح الفردية والإقليمية. وإذا كانت الديمقراطية هي النموذج السياسي المطلوب، فعندئذ لا بد من وجود برلمان فعال.

وبالنظر إلى الأهمية الشديدة للنظام البرلماني في التوصل في النهاية إلى نتيجة إيجابية بالنسبة إلى السياسة الكردية، تظهر بعض الخطوات التي يمكن اتخاذها من أجل تحسين الأزمة الحالية. أولاً، يجب أن يتم التركيز على تعزيز المؤسسة بهدف جعلها مركز تنسيق لكافة القضايا الإقليمية، ومن بينها التحديات مثل القوى المجزأة، وغياب العلاقة المدنية - العسكرية، وسيادة القانون، والحكومة الرشيدة، إلى جانب التحديات الأخرى التي تتم مناقشتها في الكثير من الأحيان في أطر غير منظمة خارج البرلمان. ثانيًا، يجب منح البرلمان مجالاً أكبر للعمل بصورة سليمة، أي منحه سلطة الحكم لوضع حلول تشريعية من أجل توحيد قوات البشمركة، ودعم المجتمعات المدنية، وتعزيز القضاء والتنظيم المنهجي للاقتصاد على أساس مناقشات المؤسسة.

ويحتل البرلمان الكردي مكانةً فريدةً في المنطقة. فعندما يعمل بشكل فعّال، يمكن أن يكون قدوةً لعملية إرساء الديمقراطية في منطقة الشرق الأوسط الأوسع، ولا سيما بصفته البرلمان الوطني الفرعي الوحيد. ومن ناحية أخرى، يشير ضعف البرلمان إلى ضعف الديمقراطية في الشرق الأوسط. وإذا كانت سياسة الولايات المتحدة داعمةً لـ"كردستان قوي وعراق قوي"، فلا بد من إقامة برلمان فعّال يمثّل الشعب في أربيل.

وفي الماضي، عندما تعاملت القوى الخارجية مع حكومات تنفيذية قوية وأصحاب نفوذ في الشرق الأوسط، تجلّت الحكومات الهشة التي قمعت مواطنيها ردًا على ضعفها هي، وأقصت الكتل التي لا تثق في حكوماتها. وفي حين قد يبدو النظام الرئاسي للولايات المتحدة نموذجًا جذابًا يُحتذى به، يتطلب تاريخ العراق ومجتمعه نظامًا - وليس فردًا - من أجل الجمع بين مختلف الأطراف مع تجنب التجزئة أو المركزية القمعية. فمن خلال برلمان فعّال قوي، يمكن للحكومة العمل من أجل تقليص الفجوة بين الشعب والنخب الحاكمة – ما يدل على وجود حكومة قوية بحق.

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

Strength in Dialogue: A Case for the KRG Parliament


Also available in العربية

September 12, 2018

While Kurdish parliamentary elections are scheduled for September 30, the Kurdish Regional Government (KRG) is facing a number of crises—political, economic, and more broad social issues. These range from inadequate services, a dysfunctional bureaucracy, political fragmentation, widespread distrust among political elites, strong regional intervention, and more. The impact of these crises is clearly visible on the people of Kurdistan, and may affect voter turnout and participation, as well as the more general trust in political institutions. If politicians do not focus on these issues and ensure a greater sense of transparency between the political process and the Kurdish people, the gap between citizens and the elite will continue to widen. Emphasizing the role of parliament and ensuring its strength—rather than shifting to a form of government that provides increasing powers to the president—is one key way of ensuring that the negative trends in Kurdish politics are reversed.

The institution of parliament lies at the center of the current crises in Kurdish political life. While voices from the general population often expect that there will be more power given to parliament, political elites are now attempting to ‘rationalize’ the institution in the French style, weakening the ability of the legislative body to govern. The battle over the future role of parliament in relation to the executive branch is one of many challenges facing the region, but the preservation of this institution is crucial in order to provide the KRG with the governing power adequate to face other challenges of governance. Parliament operates as an important space where different parties can come together and deal with their differences peacefully rather than relying on media wars or even force. Both tactics, when applied in the past, have torn the region apart and threaten to do so again. By allowing for a space where all sides of a debate are able to be heard on an equal footing, this negates a sense of disenfranchisement that pushes groups away from politics and into these more dangerous forms of conflict.

Face-to-face meetings, debate, and exchange are necessary for the health of Kurdish politics more than ever. While Kurds have long faced external challenges, the internal friction is now the most dangerous to Kurdish interests. More importantly, the lack of avenues to mediate political conflicts has meant that political arguments increasingly consume the time and energy of politicians who could be focusing on the many other challenges facing Kurdistan, such as inflation and unemployment. A prioritization of political conflict over the challenges facing the general population alienates voters, especially the youth. Demographically in the majority, the KRG’s youth now sees little chance to benefit from the region’s wealth, leading to deep frustration.

A common argument made in order to weaken the parliamentary system is that the KRG parliament is not optimally functional. Yet a well-functioning parliament does not appear spontaneously; it develops over time through practice and by learning through the mistakes of previous politicians. After all, the parliamentary structure in the Kurdistan region is only a quarter-century old. Instead of emphasizing its defects, the system should be understood in the context of its alternatives: revolutions and coups. These alternatives are complicated by the fact that in the Middle East, there is often a confusion between the two.

In contrast, the parliamentary system introduces the habit of stability and measured development of political goals; power and political prestige is less likely centered around a few individuals and is encouraged to be linked to parties’ successes at legislating. Parliament introduces the habit of stability and accumulation; which Iranian scholar Homa Katouzian argues is one of the major factors of stability missing in the Middle East political systems, a reality that can apply to Iraqi Kurdistan as well. One of the major obstacles of the region as it stands today is the continued in-fighting between political groups—parliaments also encourage political compromises and alliances that can protect from tribal political methods, which favor smaller groups over the good of both individual and regional interests. If democracy is the desired political model, then there must be a functioning parliament.

Given the deep importance of the parliamentary system to an eventual positive outcome for Kurdish politics, there are a few steps that can be taken in order to ameliorate the current crisis. First, there must be a focus on enhancing the institution to make it the focal point of all regional issues, including challenges such as fragmented forces, the absence of a civil-military relationship, rule of law, good government and other challenges that are often discussed in unregulated frameworks outside of parliament. Second, parliament must be given greater latitude to function properly, allowing it the power of governance to develop legislative solutions for the unification of Peshmerga forces, the support of civil society, the enhancement of judiciary, and a systemization of the economy based on the institution’s debates.

The Kurdish parliament occupies a unique position in the region; when running effectively, it can serve as an example for the process of democratization in the wider Middle East region, especially as it is the only sub-national parliament there. On the other hand, its weakening is also a sign of weakened democratization in the Middle East. If U.S. policy is to support a ‘strong Kurdistan and strong Iraq,’ then a functional representative parliament in Erbil is crucial.

In the past, when external powers dealt with strong executive governments and strongmen in the Middle East, the result was both fragile governments that repressed their citizens in response to their own weakness and alienated masses with little trust in their own governments. While the United States’ presidential system may appear an appealing model to follow, the history and society of Iraq require a system—not an individual—in order to bring together different interests while avoiding fragmentation or repressive centralization. Through a robust, functional parliament, the government can work towards narrowing the gap between the people and governing elites—the sign of a truly strong government.

Customize your RSS Feed