أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

الرد على اتفاق "إبراهيم" يشير إلى تضاؤل دور القدس في الخطاب الإرهابي السني


متاح أيضاً في English

21 تشرين الأول/اكتوبر 2020

نظرًا لأهمية الدور الذي لعبته القدس في الخطاب العام للعديد من المنظمات الإرهابية السنية في الماضي، قد يتوقع المرء أن يكون الرد على اتفاق إبراهيم من قبل هذه المنظمات قوياً وصارخا. ومع ذلك، ومما يثير الدهشة هو تجاهل المنظمات الإرهابية السنية الرئيسية إلى حد كبير للاتفاق حيث أشارت إليه فقط بشكل عابر. وفي المقابل، استمر أردوغان وغيره من الجهات الإسلامية الفاعلة في إظهار مدى ارتباط هويتهم العامة بالقضية محاولين استغلالها كأداة مفيدة في مساعيهم المستمرة للحصول على الشعبية الإقليمية.

كما حذرت قيادة تنظيم "داعش" من الإفراط في التأكيد على إعادة السيطرة على المسجد الأقصى تحت القيادة الإسلامية لبعض الوقت. وبالمثل، ركزت الجماعات الجهادية السلفية بشكل ضئيل نسبيًا على القضية الفلسطينية بعد توقيع الاتفاق.

شرعت معظم التنظيمات الإرهابية السنية في نشر تقارير إخبارية غير ملحوظة مستخدمة ذات اللغة التي تستخدمها مواقع الممانعة. وبالنظر إلى الاعتراضات الفلسطينية العميقة على الاتفاق – الذي وصفته بعض القيادات الفلسطينية على أنه طعنة في ظهر الفلسطينيين - فإن ردود المنظمات المتطرفة كانت صامتة بشكل مثير للفضول خاصة إذا أخذنا في الاعتبار الدعم الصريح الذي قدمته الجماعات السلفية الجهادية للقضية الفلسطينية في الماضي.

حتى الآن، لم يولي تنظيم "داعش" اهتماما أكبر لاتفاقية إبراهيم في منشوراته الخاصة، فمنذ الثالث عشر من آب /أغسطس والكشف عن "اتفاق إبراهيم"، أصدر التنظيم ثمانية أعداد من إصداره النبأ، ولم يتطرق للاتفاق سوي في عدد واحد. وفي حين تناول التنظيم اتفاق إبراهيم في مقال افتتاحي في جريدة النبأ، لم تتطرق أي منظمة إرهابية أخرى للاتفاق بصورة رسمية. وعند مقارنة الدعم العلني وغير المسبوق الذي وفرته تلك التنظيمات للقضية الفلسطينية في الماضي، بردود الأفعال الغاضبة على قرار ترامب لعام 2017 بنقل السفارة الأمريكية إلى القدس، فان موقف تلك التنظيمات الصامت بات ملحوظا للغاية.

يمثل تنظيم القاعدة مثال رائع آخر، فتنظيم القاعدة الذي تعج أدبياته بالقضية الفلسطينية، والتي كانت من ثوابت انطلاقه، والذي أسرع داعياً المسلمين في كافة الأرجاء بالتحرك صوب القدس، في كانون الأول/ ديسمبر 2017- عندما أعلنت الإدارة الامريكية عزمها على نقل سفارتها الى القدس، انتظر أكثر من شهر من توقيع اتفاق إبراهيم لإصدار بيان تحت عنوان "بشأن تطبيع صهاينة العرب مع اليهود". وعلى الرغم من أن هذه الوثيقة تدين صراحة دول الخليج باعتبارها مسؤولة عن "البيع الكامل للقضية الفلسطينية"، إلا أنها تدعوا إلى حملة أوسع "لاستهداف الصهاينة - اليهود وغير اليهود - أينما كانوا، في شبه الجزيرة العربية أو في مناطق أخرى من العالم الإسلامي". كما دعت إلى التمرد داخل هذه البلدان نفسها "للإطاحة بأنظمتها الاستبدادية" عوضاً عن استهداف القدس على وجه التحديد.

إضافة إلى ذلك، أصدر تنظيم القاعدة بيان بإسم "قاعدة الجهاد بجزيرة العرب"، حمل عنوان "بيان حول ما تناقلته وسائل الإعلام من إنشاء قاعدة عسكرية إسرائيلية في جزيرة سقطرى"، حيث ركز البيان على شائعة بناء الإمارات وإسرائيل لقاعدة تجسس في جزيرة سقطرى اليمنية، وأنطلق منها في انتقاد الإمارات، وليس اتفاقية السلام والموقف بالنسبة للصراع الفلسطيني الإسرائيلي.

وبالمثل، سارعت حركة الشباب المجاهدين الصومالية أيضا في الرد على موقف ترامب 2017 عام، ببيان قوى تحت عنوان "الملتقى بيت المقدس"، دعت فيه المسلمين للجهاد بالنفس والمال من اجل القدس، ولم تلق بالاً بالإعلان الثلاثي. وفي حين أصدرت وكالة أنباء "شهداء" التابعة لحركة الشباب المجاهدين بيانًا بعنوان "بيت المقدس نقطة التقاء"، يدعو المسلمين إلى الجهاد بحياتهم وأموالهم من أجل القدس، امتنع البيان عن أي ذكر لاتفاق إبراهيم.

كما لم تصدر هيئة تحرير الشام السورية بيانًا رسميًا بشأن الاتفاق، وذلك على الرغم من نشرها بيانا سابقا حول إعلان القدس عاصمة لإسرائيل في ديسمبر 2017، جاء فيه "وإننا في الشام نعبر عن وقوفنا مع قضية القدس، لأنها قضية كل المسلمين والأحرار والشرفاء في العالم... ولكن الطريق إلى القدس تبين أنه الطريق إلى كل مدينة سنية في سوريا في الوقت الذي ينعم فيه "الإسرائيلي" بالأمان، تعيش مدن الشام ويلات تدمير النظام وحلفائه لها".

كل هذه التنظيمات تعاملت مع القرار الأمريكي السابق بنقل السفارة الأمريكية إلى القدس على انه فرصة رئيسية للدعاية، فما الذي يجعل اتفاق إبراهيم مختلف؟

الحقيقة أن موقف تنظيم "داعش" من الصراع الفلسطيني الإسرائيلي، والقدس والمسجد الأقصى، كان واضحا منذ البداية، كما أن رد فعل التنظيم على اتفاقيات إبراهيم يعكس ذلك التاريخ، حيث استنكر التنظيم في الماضي فكرة التذرع وتكريس قضية المسجد الأقصى على حساب مشاكل أخرى أكثر أهمية للأجندة السلفية الجهادية. وفي هذا الصدد، يتماشى الموقف الداعشي مع آراء ابن تيمية (توفي 1328م)، المرجع الرئيسي لدي السلفية الجهادية. وفي هذا الصدد، يرى التنظيم أن "الجهاد المشروع يكون بقتال اليهود في فلسطين وبقتال الطواغيت وأتباعهم من المرتدين في كل مكان في الوقت نفسه، وكذلك الصليبيين، وكل المشركين في العالم، أما حصر الجهاد باليهود فقط فهو تبديل لشرع الله، واتباع لأهواء الطواغيت الذين يريدون منع المسلمين من جهاد المشركين والمرتدين في البلدان التي يحكمونها".

ومع ذلك، قد يكون السبب وراء ذلك أيضًا أن القضية الفلسطينية ببساطة لم تعد أداة  فعالة للخطاب العام لهذه الجماعات بعد الآن، ولم تعد تجني ثمارها من حيث الحشد والتأييد بالنسبة لتلك التنظيمات في السنوات الماضية، وهذا ما دلل عليه توماس هيغامر وآخرون، بكون تمثيل الفلسطينيين في القاعدة ضئيل مقارنة بغيره من الجنسيات، أو في كون الدعوات التي أطلقتها التنظيمات بعد خطاب الرئيس الأمريكي ترامب، وحث أتباعهم والمؤمنون بأفكارهم، على الجهاد من أجل القدس والقضية الفلسطينية، لم تظهر أي نتائج ملموسة على أرض الواقع.

خارج السلفية الجهادية، ما زالت المتاجرة بالقضية مستمرة من قبل الخطاب الإخواني المتطابق مع خطاب الرئيس التركي أردوغان، حيث لعبت القضية الفلسطينية دورًا تأسيسيًا في خطاب جماعة الإخوان المسلمين منذ نشأتها، حيث يتجلى ذلك بوضوح في كتابات مؤسس الجماعة حسن البنا خلال حقبة الثلاثينيات. ومع ذلك، وبعد أن فقدت الجماعة شعبيتها خلال فترة الربيع العربي، صار الخطاب الذي استخدمته الجماعة وسيلة لتحسين صورتها لدى الرأي العام.

وعلى وتيرة الخطاب الإخواني، يمكن قراءة الخطاب الأردوغاني في سياق محاولاته المستميتة للظهور كخليفة للمسلمين، والمدافع عن المسلمين والمقدسات الإسلامية، حيث استغل أردوغان الخطاب المؤيد للفلسطينيين بحرفية، في حين أكد على ارتباط تركيا بالأرض.

ورداً على توقيع اتفاقيات إبراهيم، هدد أردوغان بقطع العلاقات مع الإمارات، وانتقد الدولة الخليجية على "سلوكها المنافق"، وأعلنت وزارة الخارجية التركية في وقت سابق أن القيادة الفلسطينية كانت على حق في رفض الصفقة. لكن أردوغان أكد أيضًا وبشكل ملحوظ على الحقبة العثمانية في القدس قائلا: "في هذه المدينة التي اضطررنا التي اضطررنا لمغادرتها مكرهين دامعي الاعين خلال الحرب العالمية الأولى، لا يزال من الممكن العثور على آثار المقاومة العثمانية. لذا القدس مدينتنا، مدينة منا."

وبصورة عامة، فإن آراء "داعش" حول القيمة المبالغ فيها للمسجد الأقصى بالنسبة للحركة السلفية الجهادية ربما تكون قد انتصرت على النموذج السابق الذي تبنته القاعدة، مما أدى إلى تراجع خطاب المنظمات الإرهابية حول القضية الفلسطينية. وعلى هذا النحو، وفي حين يبدو أن العديد من الجهاديين السلفيين قد فقدوا إيمانهم بالقضية الفلسطينية كأداة خطابية لتعزيز وضمان الدعم لقضيتهم، يرى أردوغان والجماعات الإسلامية أن هناك مصلحة في الاستمرار في تقديم مطالبات تتعلق بالقضية، وهو ما يعكس نموذجا بديلا يتذرع بالقضية الفلسطينية لتحقيق مكاسب شخصية.

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

Response to Abraham Accords Suggests Dwindling Role of Jerusalem in Sunni Terrorist Rhetoric


Also available in العربية

October 21, 2020

Given the importance of the role Jerusalem has played in many Sunni terrorist organizations’ public rhetoric in the past, one might have expected the response to the Abraham Accords to be correspondingly strong. Surprisingly, major Sunni terrorist organizations have largely disregarded or made only passing reference to the recently signed Abraham Accords. In contrast, Erdogan and other Islamist actors have continued and even increased their public identification with the cause as a useful tool in their ongoing bids for regional popularity. 
 
ISIS leadership has cautioned against overemphasis on re-taking the Al-Aqsa Mosque under Islamic leadership for some time, and other Salafi jihadist groups have similarly placed relatively little emphasis on the Palestinian cause following the signing of the accords.  
 
At most, a number of major Sunni terrorist organizations have published unremarkable news reports using language typical of rejectionist websites. Considering the deep Palestinian objections to the agreement—with some Palestinian leaders describing it as a stab in the back to Palestinians—extremist organizations’ responses are curiously muted given the vocal support these jihadist groups have given to the Palestinian cause in the past. 
 
So far, ISIS has given the Abraham Accords little weight in its regular publications. Since the August 13 announcement of the accords, ISIS has published eight editions of its newsletter Al-Naba, but only mentioned the agreement in one of them. Other organizations have either made no response at all, or addressed the issue with the same lack of energy exhibited in the ISIS response. The weakness of response is notable given the past vocal support these groups have expressed for the Palestinian cause, especially when compared with fiery public responses to the 2017 decision by Trump to move the U.S. embassy to Jerusalem. 
 
Al-Qaeda is another fascinating example: its public writings frequently tout the Palestinian cause, and the cause has been a fixture of the group’s ideology since its founding. Back in December 2017, the group quickly called on Muslims everywhere to go to Jerusalem in response to the plan to move the U.S. embassy. However, Al-Qaeda waited over a month from the signing of the Abraham Accords to issue a statement “on the Normalization of Ties with Israel by Arab Zionists.” And though this document explicitly condemns the Gulf as responsible for “the complete sell out of the Palestinian cause,” they call for a broader campaign to “target thereby Zionists- Jews and non-Jews- wherever they may be, in the Arabian Peninsula or in other parts of the Muslim World” and call for revolt within these countries themselves to “overthrow their despotic regimes” rather than the targeting of Jerusalem specifically.
 
Moreover, AQAP—one of the more active branches of Al-Qaeda, based in Yemen—appeared to actively ignore the Accords in a statement under the heading, “Statement on Media Reports of the Establishment of an Israeli Military Base on Socotra Island.” The statement focused on rumors of the UAE and Israel building a spy base on the Yemeni island of Socotra, and while critical of the UAE, did not address the peace agreement or the Emirati position regarding the Palestinian-Israeli conflict. 
 
Similarly, the Somali jihadist group al-Shabaab, which also quickly responded to Trump’s 2017 announcement, made no direct reference to the accords after their signing. While al-Shabaab’s Shahada news agency did release a statement titled “Bayt al-Maqdis as the Meeting Point,” calling Muslims to join a jihad with their lives and finances for the sake of Jerusalem, the statement refrained from any mention of the Abraham Accords. 
 
Neither did the Syrian Hayat Tahrir al-Sham (HTS) issue an official statement about the accords, though it had previously published a statement on the announcement of Jerusalem as the capital of Israel in December 2017, saying “We in Syria express our support for the Jerusalem cause, as it is the cause for all the Muslims, the free, and the honorable around the world. But the road to Jerusalem has turned out to be the road to every Sunni city in Syria, and while Israelis enjoy security, Syrian cities suffer from the ravaging destruction caused by the regime and its allies.”
 
All these organizations saw the earlier U.S. decision to move the U.S. embassy to Jerusalem as a key moment for propaganda, so what makes the Abraham Accords different? 
 
There is a potential argument here that ISIS’s position on the Palestinian-Israeli conflict, Jerusalem, and the Al-Aqsa Mosque has been steady for a long time now, and its reaction to the Abraham Accords reflects that history. In the past, ISIS has decried the act of invoking and enshrining the issue of Al-Aqsa Mosque at the expense of other more important problems for the Salafi jihadist agenda. This position is a potential reflection of the view of Ibn Taymiyyah, a fourteenth century Islamic thinker who has become a primary source of inspiration for Salafi-jihadists.: “The legitimate jihad is fighting the Jews in Palestine and the apostate tyrants (rulers of Muslim countries) and their followers everywhere at the same time, as well as the Crusaders and all the polytheists in the world. As for restricting jihad to the Jews only, it is a change to the law of God and follows the wishes of tyrants who want to prevent Muslims from waging jihad against the polytheists and apostates in the countries they rule.”
 
However, it may also be that the Palestinian cause simply isn’t an effective conduit for these groups’ public rhetoric as it once was. These groups may be seeing that the Palestinian cause is no longer providing the same results in terms of mobilization and support for these groups as in past years. Thomas Hegghammer and others have shown that the representation of Palestinians in Al-Qaeda is very small compared with other nationalities. Moreover, after President Trump’s speech regarding Jerusalem, terrorist organizations’ calls urging their followers to fight for Jerusalem and the Palestinian cause had no tangible results on the ground.
 
On the other hand, Erdogan and Islamists like those in the Muslim Brotherhood are still exploiting the Palestinian cause; the Palestinian cause has played a foundational role in the Brotherhood’s discourse since its conception, evident in the writings of the group’s founder Hassan Albana in the 1930s. Yet after the group lost its popularity during the Arab Spring period, the rhetoric used by the group appeared to become a means of improving its public image.
 
And like the Brotherhood, President Erdogan has taken up the Palestinian cause as a political implement. In his attempts to appear as the caliph of the world’s Muslims and the defender of Muslims and Islamic sanctities, Erdogan has utilized pro-Palestinian rhetoric handily while emphasizing a Turkish connection to the land.. 
 
In response to the signing of the Abraham Accords, Erdogan threatened to cut ties with the UAE, criticizing the Gulf country for its “hypocritical behavior,” and Turkey’s foreign ministry earlier declared that Palestinian leadership was right to reject the deal. But Erdogan also notably emphasized Jerusalem’s Ottoman period by stating: “In this city that we had to leave in tears during the First World War, it is still possible to come across traces of of the Ottoman resistance. So Jerusalem is our city, a city from us.” 
 
Put broadly, the ISIS views on the exaggerated value of the Al-Aqsa Mosque to the Salafi-jihadist movement may be winning out over Al-Qaeda’s earlier model, influencing a reduction of rhetoric around the Palestinian cause by terrorist organizations. As such, while many Salafi-jihadists seem to have lost their faith in the Palestinian cause as a rhetorical tool to boost support for their cause, Erdogan and Islamist groups see continued value in staking claims to the cause for themselves, demonstrating an alternative model of relying on this popular issue for self-gain.
 
Customize your RSS Feed