أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

عن اللا-دولة في العراق


متاح أيضاً في English

25 أيلول/سبتمبر 2020

 

من أكثر المصطلحات التي تُستخدم في أوساط النخب العراقية لدى انتقاد الوضع الراهن مفهوم اللا-دولة. من الصعب لأي فردٍ يراقب الشأن السياسي في العراق عن كثب ألا يصادف هذه العبارة مرات عدة في اليوم، فهي تبرز سواء خلال المناظرات التلفزيونية أو في الدردشات عبر تطبيق "واتساب" أو في المقالات الافتتاحية للصحف المحلية أو في التغريدات على تطبيق "تويتر" وغيره من وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي. ولهذه العبارة التي تعني "الدولة غير الرسمية" في العراق أو وجود مجموعة من الأطراف التي تتصارع مع الدولة الرسمية على السلطة، جذور وأوجه استخدام تنطوي على مشاكل معقدة، رغم أنها قد تشير أيضًا إلى مسار يمكن للعراق سلوكه قدمًا.   

يعني مفهوم "اللا-دولة" نوعًا من الحكم غير الرسمي وهو ينطبق بأوجه عدة في السياسة العراقية. ولهذه العبارة الكثير من الاستعمالات والمعاني، فهي تستخدم سواء لتصنيف استخدام العنف أو إدانته وحتى تبريره من قبل أطراف سياسية في العراق. كما يستخدمها العراقيون لوصف الصراع السياسي الدائر في بلدهم حاليًا عمومًا. ولا يمكن اعتبار اللا-دولة دولةً عميقة ولا دولةً موازية، إنما مزيج متنوع من الأطراف داخل منظومة الدولة وخارجها، تشمل عملياتها سياسات عامة رسمية وكما وعنف خارج عن إطار الحكومة وتجاذب للخطاب الشعبي.

وكان الرجل الذي وضع هذا المفهوم هو عالم الاجتماع السياسي العراقي البارز فالح عبد الجبار فالح عبد الجبار الذي صدر أحدث كتاب له بعد وفاته تحت عنوان "اللا-دولة" والذي يمكن ترجمته بـ"الدولة غير الرسمية" أو "معاداة الدولة"، ولكن ليس كأمرٍ منفصل عن الدولة. وكان الجبار قد أصدر سابقًا كتابًا تحت عنوان "كتاب الدولة: اللوياثان الجديد"، الذي استند الى أفكار توماس هوبز القديمة في وصف الدولة. لا يعدّ الانتقال من مفهوم اللوياثان أو الدولة القوية/الصلبة (استنادًا إلى مفهوم نزيه الأيوبي) إلى اللا-دولة انتقالًا من دولة قوية إلى دولة ضعيفة فحسب، بل هو أيضًا بمثابة بروز موجة من التجاذب والتأرجح القوي بين أشكال مختلفة من السياسات المضللة في العراق. ولهذا التجاذب حضور قوي في السياسة العراقية الحديثة.

لطالما كان الحكم الفعال للدولة مسألةً حساسة في السياسة العراقية. ومع اقتراب الدولة العراقية من الذكرى المئوية لتأسيسها، يبدو ظاهرًا كم أنّ المئة سنة الفائتة كانت مليئةً بالأحداث. فعلى مر تاريخها، شهدت الدولة العراقية منعطفات سياسية كبيرة جمة من حكم ملكي ما بعد الاستعمار وانقلاب وجمهورية وديكتاتورية الحزب الواحد وحرب أهلية. 

وعلى مر هذا القرن الحافل بالأحداث، قدم خبراء ومؤرخون شروحات كثيرة لهذا التاريخ السياسي العاصف. وعزا الخبراء سببه إلى أصول الدولة الاستعمارية بطبيعتها ومجتمعاتها المحلية المتصدعة وغياب الهوية الوطنية والانقلابات والتدخلات الخارجية والنزعة القومية (التي عززتها الدكتاتورية) كما والطائفية. وتعود في الواقع أسباب الاضطرابات السياسية في العراق إلى مزيج من هذه العوامل، علمًا أن العراق لا يزال يواجه مشاكل على صعيد الوحدة الوطنية ووحدة الأراضي ووحدة الطبقات. وبالتالي، لم تكن طبيعة الدولة العراقية يومًا فكرة بسيطةً أو ثابتةً، ويتجذر مفهوم اللا-دولة في جانب أساسي للغاية في تاريخ العراق.

يُذكر أنّ دور اللا-دولة كمفهوم وعبارة تستخدم لانتقاد الدولة العراقية متعدد الأوجه وغني المعاني. فهو لا يجسد الأزمات التي تعيشها الدولة فحسب، بل يكشف أيضًا عن تلك المرتبطة بفهم الدولة وتقييمها. ويتضمن مفهوم اللا-دولة مجموعةً من مختلف القوى والجماعات: ميليشيات الأحزاب السياسية والجماعات الإجرامية والجماعات القبلية المسلحة وغيرها. فاللا-دولة لا تتخطى الدولة نفسها ولا تهدف إلى إلغائها؛ هي داخل الدولة وخارجها في الوقت عينه.

وعليه، وصف البعض قوات اللا-دولة بـ "الأطراف الهجينة"، حيث وفر تقرير تحت عنوان الأطراف الهجينة تعريفا موسعا لها على أنها " جماعات مسلحة اكتسبت أهميةً سياسيةً وعسكريةً دائمةً من خلال إنشاء قواعد شعبية لها وسط احتفاظها بالأراضي والانخراط في نزاعات مسلحة. غالبًا ما تستولي أهم هذه الجماعات على مؤسسات الدولة وتشارك في الحكم الرسمي بدرجات متفاوتة. غير أنها تطوّر في الوقت عينه هياكل موازية للدولة، ما يمنحها استقلالية غير قانونية. إذ تنخرط هذه الجماعات الهجينة في الحروب والحياة الدبلوماسية والسياسة والحملات الدعائية وبناء القواعد الشعبية. هي ليست دولًا بحد ذاتها، لكنّها تبني مع ذلك علاقات طويلة الأمد مع الدول الأخرى كما وترسم معالم الدول المضيفة لها في العديد من الحالات من خلال علاقات تكافلية أو قتالية."

غير أنّ مفهوم "الأطراف الهجينة" لا ينطبق سوى على بعض الجماعات التي تُعتبر جزءًا من اللا-دولة. فاللادولة أكثر تعقيدًا سواء لجهة المفهوم أو كنظام التصنيف، ففي معظم الحالات، يعتمد معنى اللا-دولة على نية الوكيل. فاللا-دولة ليست عبارةً عن جماعات مسلحة فحسب، بل تستخدم هذه الجماعات طابعها شبه العسكري كأداةٍ لتغيير الدولة لتصبح لا-دولة واستحداث شكلٍ خاصٍ من أشكال السلطة وعلاقات المصلحة. هذه الجماعات تأخذ ولا تعطي وتُضعِف من دون أن تقتل، ما يجعل من اللا-دولة كيانًا مبهمًا وغير واضح.

حين تُستخدم عبارة اللا-دولة في سياق انتقادي، تكون شكلًا من أشكال الإدانة. إذ تحمل بادئة "اللا" معنى سلبيًا، وللعبارة بحد ذاتها دلالات سلبية، ولا سيما بحسب وصف الفيلسوف توماس هوبز للفوضى خارج إطار الدولة. تبرز الدلالات السلبية لمثل هذه الفوضى بشكل خاص في السياق العراقي حيث يلعب الأمن، أو انعدامه بالأحرى، دورًا جليًا في حياة الأفراد العاديين. وبما أنّ الأمن، وهو شرط أساسي من شروط التطور، ينبثق من الدولة، يمكن اعتبار أنّ الدولة العراقية مرادفة للأمن والتطور في الخطاب الشعبي في حين أنّ اللا-دولة تعني انعدام الأمن والفقر.

استخدم آخر رئيسي وزراء عراقيين عبد المهدي والكاظمي هذا المفهوم لتحذير العراقيين من الأخطار المحدقة. وقد قاما من خلال خطاباتهما، بدعوة الشعب العراقي إلى الاختيار ما بين الدولة واللا-دولة. ويقسّم هذا الخطاب الشخصيات النافذة في البلاد إلى مجموعتين متعاديتين: مجموعة الدولة ومجموعة اللا-دولة. يعتبر البعض في العراق أنّ اختيار الدولة هو السبيل الوحيد للخروج من الأزمات الحالية، بينما يزعم آخرون أنّ هذا الخيار ليس واضحًا بما يكفي، معتبرين أنه ما من فرق واضح بين الدولة واللا-دولة. كما يعتبر آخرون أنّ الدولة بحد ذاتها هي دولة غير رسمية.

وإن كان مفهوم اللا-دولة ضبابيًا على المستوى السياسي، فهو يطرح على المستوى الفكري إشكالية أكبر بعد، حيث أنه يقوم على درجة من التفكير الانفصامي المتطرف الذي لا يستوعب طبيعة التاريخ العراقي بكاملها. فمفهوم اللا-دولة هو بمثابة استمرارية لنمط تفكير عراقي شائع للغاية يقوم على التفكير المزدوج أو الثنائي، والذي روّج له عالم الاجتماع العراقي البارز على الوردي. استند الوردي إلى التفكير الاجتماعي لابن خلدون وفهم أنّ تاريخ العراق لا يمكن اعتباره تطورًا خطيًا مستقيمًا لأشكال التنظيم الاجتماعي ما قبل الحداثة إلى أشكال حديثة، إنما هو صراع مستمر بين الحضارة والبداوة، أي بين ثقافات الحياة الحضرية والولاءات الأساسية للقبائل والطوائف.

وقد أصبح هذا التفكير الثنائي والمزدوج شائعًا وتتمّ ممارسته على الدوام شأنه شأن ممارسة الطقوس في أوساط المثقفين العراقيين. وازدواجية الدولة واللا-دولة ليست سوى عبارة عن شكل آخر من أشكال ذلك التفكير.

وكما هي حال أي ازدواجية، فهي عادةً ما تعاني من المشاكل الملازمة للتفكير الثنائي والهيمنة الراسخة. عمومًا، فإن التاريخ العراقي الحديث معقد للغاية بحيث يستحيل حصره بأسلوب تفكير ثنائي. وإن كانت اللا-دولة تطرح مشكلة، فهذا لا يعني أنّ الدولة وبخاصة دولة صلبة وقوية ستكون هي الحل. إذ يمكن للدولة أن تطرح بدورها إشكالية كما أظهر نظام صدام حسين الدكتاتوري. فتاريخ العالم حافل بالأمثلة الواضحة عن أنّ لا الدولة القوية ولا المجتمع القوي من شأنه أن يسفر بالضرورة عن نشأة دولة ليبرالية.

وعلى نحو مماثل، يتناول تعريف ماكس ويبر للدولة الصعوبة في اعتبار الدولة حلًا لمشاكل العراق. إذ يعرّف ويبر الدولة على أنها "ذريعة لاحتكار الاستخدام المشروع للقوة البدنية ضمن أرض محددة". وفي السياق العراقي، فهي على الأرجح مرادفة للدكتاتورية.

وعليه، ليس من المستحيل إقامة دولة ديمقراطية تعاقدية في العراق، إلاّ أنّه أمرٌ صعب مع ذلك. فقد أدت مشاعر القومية المتنافسة إلى تهميش المجتمعات الإثنية وتقسيم الهوية الوطنية في العراق. وبغية تكوّن هوية وطنية فعلية، يتطلب شكل القومية المحلية العراقية حديث المنشأ والمعروف بالوطنية (مقارنة بالقومية العربية) عملية اجتثاثٍ للتطرف. فمن شأن أي شكل من أشكال الهوية القائم على الطائفة أو الدين أو الإثنية أن يصطدم مباشرة مع واقع العراق باعتبارها دولة موحدة.

ومع ذلك، ثمة أمل في مستقبل عراقي ينعم بدولة مستقرة ولامركزية. لقد حفّز سقوط دولة العراق حماسة قوى إقليمية أخرى (ومنها إيران وتركيا في المقام الأول) على التوسع، وها إنّ المنطقة تعيد اليوم هيكلة منظومتها للتعامل مع هذه القوى التوسعية. فالكثير من القوى في اللا-دولة تجمعها روابط أمنية وأيديولوجية بهذه القوى الأجنبية. والآن، يواجه العراق مسارًا عسيرًا ليعود من حكم اللا-دولة إلى حكم الدولة. 

والتركيز على مفهوم اللا-دولة وعلاقتها بالدولة لمؤشر واضح على أنّ الشعب بدأ يبتعد عن الأيديولوجيات ويمنح الأولوية للخدمات والأمن والازدهار وذلك وفق في توقعاتهم لما يجب أن تقدمه الدولة الوظيفية. ويمكن لهذه النقلة أن توفر وسيلةً جديدةً لإعادة تصوّر الديناميكيات السياسية العراقية في المستقبل.

 

 

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

On the Non-state (Ladaula) in Iraq


Also available in العربية

September 25, 2020

One of the most common terms used among Iraqi elites to criticize the current state is the concept of the non-state, or al-ladaula. Anyone closely observing Iraq’s political affairs cannot avoid reading and hearing this word multiple times a day, given its prominent usage on TV debates, Whatsapp chats, local newspaper op-eds, tweets, and other social media accounts. The term, which signifies the Iraqi “non-state,” or a group of actors contending with the formal state for authority, has problematic roots and applications, though an exploration of its nuances may indicate a path forward for Iraq.

This concept of ladaula signifies a widespread characterization of a kind of non-state governance that has salient applications to Iraqi politics, though the term has a variety of uses and meanings. It has been used to classify, condemn, and even justify the use of violence by political actors in Iraq, while Iraqis also use it to describe the general current political struggle in their country. In the Iraqi case, ladaula refers neither to a deep state nor a parallel state, but rather a mixed constellation of actors inside and outside the state organization whose operations include formal policy, extra-governmental violence, and polarizing popular rhetoric.

The man behind the concept is the prominent Iraqi political sociologist Faleh A. Jabar. His last, posthumously published book is entitled Al-Ladaula, which could be translated as “the non-state,” or “the anti-state,” but it describes an entity inseparable from the state itself. Jabar had previously written a book entitled The Book of State: New Leviathan, drawing on Hobbes’ perennial imagery. The shift from the leviathan, or the strong/hard state—to use political scientist Nazih N. Ayubi’s conceptualization of Arab states—to the non-state, or ladaula, is not only a shift from a strong state to a weak one, but is also the rise of strong polarization and vacillation between different forms of misguided policies in Iraq, a significant and enduring presence in modern Iraqi politics.

Effective state governance has always been a critical question in modern Iraqi politics. The Iraqi state, approaching its centenary in the coming years, has had an eventful history with a slew of drastic political junctures, including a postcolonial monarchy, coups, a republic, a single-party dictatorship, and a civil war.

Throughout this eventful century, experts and historians have presented a number of explanations for the country’s tumultuous political history. Experts have blamed, for example, the inherently colonial origin of the state, fractured local communities, a lack of national identity, coups, external interventions, nationalism promoted by a dictatorship, and sectarianism. But while Iraq’s political turmoil can be attributed to a mix of these factors, Iraq must also face problems of national, territorial, and class unity. The nature of the Iraqi state has therefore never been a simple or static idea, and the concept of ladaula strikes at a very elementary aspect of Iraqi history.

As such, ladaula’s role as a concept and term used to criticize the Iraqi state is multifaceted and rich. It not only illustrates the crises of the state, but also exposes the challenges involved in understanding and critiquing it. The mention of ladaula contains a spectrum of different forces and groups: political parties’ militias, criminal groups, armed tribal groups, and others. In this sense, ladaula is not beyond the state, nor does it aim at ending the state; it is both inside and outside the state.

Some have described ladaula forces as ‘hybrid actors.’ An extended definition is provided in a Century Foundation report: hybrid actors are “armed groups that have acquired enduring political and military significance by creating constituencies while holding territory and engaging in armed conflict. The most important of these groups often capture state institutions and participate, to varying extents, in formal governance. However, these groups also develop structures parallel to the state, affording them extralegal autonomy. These hybrid groups engage in war, diplomacy, politics, propaganda, and constituency building. They are not states as such, and yet they manage long- term relationships with states, and in many cases shape their host states through symbiotic or combative relationships.”

Yet the “hybrid actors” concept only applies to some groups described as part of the ladaula. Ladaula is more complex, both as a concept and as a system of categorization, especially as its meaning in most circumstances depends on the agent’s intention. The ladaula does not only refer to armed groups themselves, as paramilitaries are used as an apparatus to change the state itself to non-state ladaula and establish a particular relationship with state institutions built on shared power and common interests. These groups take from the institution of the state without giving and weaken without killing, making the boundaries of ladaula, or non-state, ambiguous and unclear.

When ladaula is used as a critical term, it is a form of condemnation. The prefix la (no) is negative, and the word bears inherently negative connotations, especially in the Hobbesian sense of stateless chaos. The negative connotations of such chaos are particularly salient in the Iraqi context in which security, or rather the lack of it, plays a very visible role in the lives of the ordinary people. Because security, an essential condition for development, is derived from the state, the Iraqi state is synonymous with security and development in popular discourse while the ladaula signifies insecurity and poverty.

Recent Iraqi Prime Ministers Adel Abdul-Mahdi and Al-Kadhimi have used the concept to warn Iraqis of the dangers ahead. Rhetorically, they have called Iraqi people to choose between the state or the ladaula. The discourse divides the country’s influential figures into two antagonistic groups: state and ladaula (non-state). For some in Iraq, choosing the state is the way out of the current crises. Yet others claim the choice is not so clear, arguing that there is not a defined separation between the state and the ladaula. Still others go further to claim that the state is a non-state.    

If the ladaula concept is fuzzy on a political level, then on the intellectual level it is even more problematic, employing a degree of black-and-white thinking that doesn’t fully capture the nature of Iraqi history. The concept of ladaula is a continuation of a very common Iraqi style of thinking, built on dualistic or binary thought, which was popularized by the prominent 20th century Iraqi sociologist Ali Al-Wardi. Al-Wardi drew on the sociological thinking of Ibn Khaldun, understanding the history of Iraq not as a linear progression from pre-modern forms of social organization to modern ones, but as a continuous struggle between hadara and badawa, between the cultures of urban settled life and the primordial allegiances to tribe and sect.

This dualism and binary thinking has become popular and frequently practiced as ritual within Iraqi intelligentsia circles. The dualism of state (daula) and nonstate (ladaula) is another way of replicating this way of thinking.

And as with any dichotomy, it suffers from problems inherent to binary thinking and the overemphasis of one path as a correction to the other. Contemporary Iraqi history is far too complicated to be captured in a binary style of thinking. If the non-state is a problem, that does not indicate that the state, especially a hard and strong state, is the solution. The state can be problematic also, as shown by the dictatorial regime of Saddam Hussein. The history of the world clearly shows that neither a strong state nor a strong society necessarily results in the emergence of a liberal country.

The Weberian definition of the state likewise exposes the difficulty in treating the state as a solution to Iraq’s problems. Weber defines the state as a “claim to the monopoly of the legitimate use of physical force within a given territory.” In an Iraqi context, that most likely means a dictatorship.

As such, a contractual democratic state in Iraq is possible, but will be difficult to attain. Competing senses of nationalism have led to the marginalization of ethnic communities and the division of national identity in Iraq. For a real national identity to emerge, the rising form of Iraqi local nationalism, known as wataniya (as opposed to pan-Arab nationalism, or qawmiya) requires a process of de-radicalisation. Any form of identity based on sect, religion, or ethnicity immediately clashes with the reality of Iraq as a unified state.

Nonetheless, there is hope for a future Iraq with a stable, decentralized state. The fall of the Iraqi state whetted other regional powers’ appetites for expansion, especially in Iran and Turkey, and today the region is restructuring to deal with those expansionist forces. Many forces in the ladaula have security and ideological links to these foreign powers. Now, Iraq faces a difficult path back from governance by the ladaula to governance by the daula (the state).

The focus on the concept of ladaula and its relationship to the state is a clear sign that people are stepping away from ideologies and prioritizing services, security, and prosperity in there expectations of what a functional state should provide. This shift—if it can avoid leaning too hard into the alternative of a strong state- could provide a new way to re-imagine Iraq’s political dynamics in the future. 

Customize your RSS Feed