أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

قانون الجمعيات الأهلية في مصر


متاح أيضاً في English

12 كانون الثاني/يناي 2017

في نهاية نوفمبر الماضي وافق البرلمان المصري على قانون "الجمعيات الأهلية" الجديد ليبث قلقا في نفوس المهتمين بالشأن المصري بشكل عام. ويأتي هذا القانون كخطوة أولى للإجهاز على المنظمات الحقوقية في مصر.

وبالإضافة إلى استهداف هذا القانون العاملين في المنظمات الحقوقية، فأنه سيخل حرفيا بالتركيبة الاجتماعية المصرية. فالقانون لم يوجه ضربته للمنظمات الحقوقية فحسب بل طال كل قطاع المنظمات الأهلية منها المنظمات التنموية والخدمية التي تقع تحت مظلته.  ووفقا للأرقام الرسمية يوجد أكثر من 46الف منظمة أهلية، عدد المنظمات المشتغل بقضايا حقوقية لا يتجاوز بأي حال 25 منظمة أما باقي المنظمات فتعمل في مجالات الصحة والتعليم والخدمات المجتمعية.

ويمكن القول أنه في حال تصديق رئيس الجمهورية على القانون، سيعتبر القانون بمثابة رصاصة الرحمة التي ستقضي نهائيا على المنظمات الأهلية والمجتمع المدني في مصر. كما أن تغليظ أي مخالفة إدارية في القانون الجديد لتصبح السجن بدلاً من الغرامة المالية في القانون الحالي، ستجعل أي موظف في هذا المجال مهدد دائما بالسجن حال ارتكابه أي خطأ إداري.  ولم يكتف القانون الجديد بذلك بل قرر أن أي جمعية تغير مقرها دون الحصول على موافقة رسمية سيتعرض مديرها لعقوبة السجن التي تتراوح ما بين سنة إلى خمس سنوات، فضلا عن غرامة تصل إلى نصف مليون جنيه، وهو ما يعادل خمسة وخمسين ألف دولار أمريكي. كما أن “معاونة أي منظمات أجنبية لممارسة نشاط أهلي في مصر أو إجراء أبحاث ميدانية دون الحصول على تصريح"، سيعرض المنظمة المعنية لذات العقوبة.

ولم يكتف القانون الجديد بتكبيل الجمعيات بكل تلك القوانين، بل سيجفف أيضا منابع التمويل حتى لو داخليا بنصه على أنه لا يجوز قبول تبرعات نقدية تزيد قيمتها على عشرة آلاف جنيه إلا بموجب شيك بنكي، وهو ما يعد شرط تعجيزي في دولة لا يتعامل أهلها بالشيكات مطلقا. كما نص القانون على انه في حالة جمع التبرعات من داخل مصر "يشترط الحصول على موافقة رسمية قبل الجمع بثلاثين يوم عمل. وعليه فإن حدثت كارثة طبيعية وقررت جمعية أهلية جمع تبرعات لمساعدة المنكوبين أصبح عليهم اليوم الانتظار شهر كامل قبل التحرك هذا حال حصولهم على الموافقة أصلا.

باختصار أصبحت أنشطة الجمعيات مقترنة بموافقة الدولة، وهنا قرر المشرع تكوين جهاز جديد لمباشرة تلك العملية باسم "الجهاز القومي لتنظيم عمل المنظمات الأجنبية غير الحكومية". وعلى الرغم من كون هذا الجهاز بمثابة جهاز معاون للمجتمع المدني، إلا انه سيضم ممثلين من: وزارة الدفاع، الداخلية، الخارجية، العدل، المخابرات العامة، الرقابة ألإدارية، التعاون الدولي، وحدة غسيل الأموا.. ومن المدهش أن الجهاز المنوط به التعامل مع الجمعيات الأهلية لم يضم ممثل واحد للمجتمع المدني.

اللافت للنظر هنا - كما ذكر ناصر أمين المحامي الحقوقي البارز ورئيس المركز العربي لاستقلال القضاة والمحاماة- أن القانون الجديد يخالف تماما النص الدستوري الخاص بتشكيل الجمعيات بالإخطار في مصر، ولم يراعي أيضا أحكام المحكمة الدستورية المصرية بشأن الحرص الدائم في أحكامها على عدم التدخل في شؤون الجمعيات الأهلية، سواء فيما يتعلق بحل الجمعية أو اختيار الأنشطة وحتى اختيار مجال الإدارات. كما يأتي القانون أيضا مخالفا للعديد من المواثيق الدولية التي تلتزم بها مصر، مثل العهد الدولي للحقوق المدنية والسياسية، وإعلان حماية المدافعين عن حقوق الإنسان، واللذان ينصان صراحة على حق هذه المنظمات أن تعمل بحرية وان تختار الأشكال القانونية التي ستعمل من خلالها.

ويأتي القانون الجديد تتويجا للصراع الدائر بين الدولة ومنظمات المجتمع المدني، وهو الصراع الذي بدأ في أعقاب ثورة يناير أثناء حكم "المجلس العسكري" لمصر. وقد وجهت أول ضربة لهذا القطاع في عهد المجلس العسكري في 2012 بتحريك قضية عرفت حينها باسم "قضية التمويل الأجنبي" حيث اتهمت النيابة 43 ناشطا من بينهم 19 أمريكياً، بتأسيس وإدارة فروع لمنظمات دولية بدون ترخيص، وتسلم وقبول تمويل أجنبي من الخارج بما يخل بسيادة الدولة المصرية. “وتشمل قائمة المنظمات المتهمة في القضية المعهد الجمهوري الدولي، والمعهد الديمقراطي الدولي، ومؤسسة فريدوم هاوس، والمركز الدولي الأمريكي للصحفيين، ومؤسسة كونراد أديناور الألمانية.

وقد بدى السيسي منذ اللحظة الأولى لصعوده إلى السلطة انه سيتبنى نفس الخط الذي انتهجه المجلس العسكري تجاه المنظمات الحقوقية. لذا لم يكن مستغربا أن تستأنف الدولة حربها على تلك المنظمات، وفتحت القضية من جديد واستدعت ابرز الأسماء المصرية العاملة في المجال الحقوقي للنيابة من جديد. وسرعان ما صدرت قرارات بالمنع من السفر لنشطاء بارزين، وذلك قبل أن يتخذ قرارا بالتحفظ على أموال كثير من المراكز الحقوقية ومؤسسيها.
وعملياً في دولة مثل مصر، تعاني الغالبية العظمى من سكانها من أوضاع اقتصادية متردية، تلعب تلك المنظمات والجمعيات الأهلية دور بارز في الحفاظ على الأمان الاجتماعي وهو ما ينعكس بشدة على الاستقرار السياسي.

إن الإطاحة بتلك الجمعيات وترهيبها وإجبارها على الغلق تعني ببساطة أن الحكومة ستفاجأ بفجوة كبيرة تتمثل في احتياجات مئات الألاف (إن لم يكن ملايين) من المصريين كانت تسدها تلك الجمعيات، فكيف ستنجح الدولة في الوفاء بما التزمت به الجمعيات، خصوصا أننا نتحدث عن لحظة تمر به مصر بأزمة اقتصادية خانقة تزامنت مع ارتفاع جنوني لسعر الدولار واختفاء كثير من السلع الغذائية والأدوية من الأسواق.

عملت الحكومة المصرية على خنق الألاف من تلك المنظمات التي تحمل أعباء لا تطيق الحكومة تحملها، وذلك بهدف إسكات حفنة من الجماعات الحقوقية. ومن المفارقات، إن تلك الإجراءات ستتسبب في خلق قلاقل اجتماعية ستؤثر حتما على الاستقرار السياسي المنشود، والذي من اجل الحفاظ عليه (كما تقول السلطة) قررت محاربة المنظمات الحقوقية.

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

NGO Law in Egypt


Also available in العربية

January 12, 2017

January 12, 2017

At the end of November, Egyptian parliament approved a new law on non-governmental organizations (NGOs), spreading worry in the minds of those interested in Egyptian affairs in general. This law is the latest step toward finishing off rights organizations in Egypt.

In addition to targeting NGO workers and organizations, the law will disrupt Egypt’s social composition. There are many non-political service and development organizations that fall under the NGO umbrella; according to official figures there are more than 46,000 NGOs and only 25 are specifically human rights groups.  The rest work in the fields of health, education, and social services.

If ratified by the president, this will be the coup de grace that will finally eliminate NGOs and civil society in Egypt. The law includes toughening the punishment for any administrative violation to imprisonment rather than a fine, as is the current law, which means anyone working in this field is constantly threatened with imprisonment if he makes even a minor administrative error. It also states that the manager of any organization that changes its headquarters without obtaining official permission will be subject to imprisonment of one to five years, in addition to fines of up to half a million Egyptian pounds, equivalent to approximately $55,000 USD. Helping or participating “with a foreign organization in performing a national activity in Egypt without obtaining a permit” or carrying out field research or opinion surveys without obtaining prior approval now carry the same punishment as well.

The law does not stop at shackling NGOs with new regulations, but dries up their financing sources as well — even domestically — by stipulating that they cannot accept monetary donations in excess of 10,000 pounds unless it is by bank check, which is a crippling condition in a country where people do not deal with checks at all. It adds that fundraising in Egypt requires obtaining official permission 30 working days before the fundraiser. So, if there is a disaster and an NGO decided to raise funds for relief to help the victims, they now have to wait a full month before doing so — assuming they can obtain the permit at all.

All NGO operations are now subject to state approval. The legislature formed a new agency to direct this process, entitled the National Regulatory Agency for the Work of Foreign Non-Governmental Organizations. Though concerned primarily with civil society, the agency will include representatives from the Defense Ministry, the Interior Ministry, the Foreign Ministry, the Justice Ministry, the General Intelligence Directorate, the Administrative Control Authority, the International Cooperation Ministry, and the Money Laundering Unit. The agency does not, however, include a single representative from civil society.

As Nasser Amin, a prominent rights lawyer and head of the Arab Center for the Independence of the Judiciary and the Legal Profession, has pointed out, the new law completely contradicts the constitutional text regarding notifications for the formation of NGOs in Egypt. It also failed to take into account the rulings of the Egyptian Constitutional Court, which has consistently chosen not to intervene in the affairs of NGOs, whether related to dissolving the organization, selecting activities, or even determining fields of administrations. The law also violates a number of international conventions to which Egypt is bound, such as the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights and the Declaration on Human Rights, which explicitly provide for the right of these organizations to work freely and choose the formats through which they will operate.

This is the legal culmination of the ongoing conflict between state and civil society organizations that began after the January revolution during the Supreme Council of the Armed Forces’ (SCAF) rule over Egypt. The first blow to this sector was struck during SCAF’s reign in 2012 in the case known in at the time as “the foreign funding case” during which the prosecutor accused 43 activists, including 19 Americans, of establishing and running international organizations without licenses receiving and accepting foreign funding from abroad in violation of the sovereignty of the Egyptian state. Among the NGOs accused were the International Republican Institute, Freedom House, the American International Center for Journalists, and the Konrad Adenauer Foundation.

When Sisi rose to power it appeared that he would adopt the same line as the SCAF. Thus it was no surprise when the state reopened the case and summoned the most prominent figures in the field of human rights. It quickly issued decisions preventing prominent activists from traveling and then froze the assets of many rights organizations.

In a country like Egypt where the vast majority of citizens are in precarious economic situations, non-governmental organizations and associations play an important role in preserving social stability, which is then strongly reflected by political stability. Overthrowing these organizations, terrorizing them, and forcing them to close down, will leave a huge demand in the needs of hundreds of thousands, if not millions, of Egyptians previously covered by NGOs. How will the state succeed in fulfilling what these groups were committed to doing — especially at a moment when Egypt is undergoing a suffocating economic crisis and shortages of food and medical supplies?

The Egyptian state, in order to silence a handful of human rights groups it found meddlesome, has strangled thousands of groups shouldering the burdens the government could not handle. Ironically, this will cause the very social unrest which the war against the rights organizations was intended, according to the authorities, to guard against.

Customize your RSS Feed